Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement




AGE’s Mission

To protect and serve the public through uniform interpretation,
regulation and enforcement of the state’s liquor and gambling laws and
rules. To maintain stability and integrity in the alcoholic beverage and

gaming industries through management of licensing, education,
regulation and enforcement.



Repeal of Prohibition

AMENDMENT XXI: Passed by Congress
Feb. 20, 1933. Ratified Dec. 5, 1933.

Section 1.

The eighteenth article of amendment to
the Constitution of the United States is
hereby repealed.

Section 2.

The transportation or importation into
any State, Territory, or Possession of the
United States for delivery or use therein
of intoxicating liquors, in violation of the
laws thereof, is hereby prohibited.

http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution_amend
ments_11-27.html




“"Non-Intoxicating” Beer

In 1933, Congress passed a law stating that beer containing
3.2 percent alcohol by weight was non-intoxicating and
therefore could be sold during prohibition. Intoxicating
liguors over that percentage were prohibited.

Minnesota Rules Chapter 7515.1100 subpart 2 allows 3.2
licensed retail to sell 3.2 percent by weight beer. They can
also sell product labeled using similar expression of like
meaning which is 4 percent Alcohol By Volume (ABV).

Many coolers and seltzers are classified as beer in Minnesota
and labeled as 4 percent ABV.
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- Repeal of Prohibition gave
states control of alcohol

ALCOHOL CONTROL SYSTEMS

« Dry states IN THE UNITED STATES

.- No alcohol
« Control states

. Control distribution
« License states

- Minnesota

. State grants licenses for
alcohol

Exclusive State Licensing Dual Licensing




The Three Tier System

Producers (Breweries)

—— - - Import/Manufacture

Distributors

“-" * Wholesale Distribution

Retailers (bars, liquors
stores and grocers)

- « Retail Sale

Consumers (you)




Who Can Have an Alcohol License?
MN Statute 340A.301 subdivision 2, 340A.402

 Must be 21

 No direct or indirect interest in a member
of the other tiers.

« No felony conviction within five years.

« For retail, a felony conviction can affect
renewal as city/county may choose not to
renew.

 No liquor license revoked within five years.
« Good moral character and repute?

Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement




Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement

Liquor Manufacture

« License issued by AGE

No wholesale or retail allowed
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Distilled Spirit Manufacture

« Large scale manufacture

« Annual license fee set by DPS Commissioner; license issued
by AGE

« No wholesale allowed (can have retail cocktail room for

mtd\m Image ID: 196184268 www.depositphotos.com




Manufacturer of distilled spirits

Must be able to produce a proof gallon of spirits

« Small Micro Distiller produces up to 20,000 proof gallons

« Micro Distiller produces up to 40,000 proof gallons

« Fee set by AGE based on production

« Cannot self distribute

« Can provide 15 milliliter samples

« To qualify for retail distiller must produce 50 percent of the
annual production of the licensee is processed and distilled on
premises.



Distillery Cocktail Room

MN Statute 340A.22

Cocktail Room License can only be issued to
distillery licensed by AGE.

A micro distillery cocktail room license authorizes
on-sale of distilled liquor produced by the distiller
for consumption on the premises of or adjacent
to one distillery location owned by the distiller.
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Cocktail Room License is issued by the city,
license fee set by city.
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Distilleries can sell

« Up to 750 milliliters
. per person
- per visit
. per day
- any bottle size up to the 750ml limit

*Off-sale hours and days of sale apply

MN Statutes 340A.22 and 340A.504
License fee set by issuing authority.




Brewer’s License

Micro Brewer — less than 2,000 barrels
Small Brewer — less than 3,500 barrels
MN Brewer — more than 3,500 barrels

More than 20,000 barrels annually

* no self distribution
« MN Statute 340A.301
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Per MN Statute 340A.26

» “Brewer taproom license authorizes on-
sale of malt liquor produced by the
brewer for consumption on the
premises of or adjacent to one brewery
Jocation owned by the brewer. ™

« Brewer that brews more than 250,000 barrels
of malt liquor annually would not qualify

« On-sale Taproom license is issued and approved
by city.

 License fee set by city. City certifies issue to
AGED.




Brewer Growler

Off-Sale

MN Statutes 340A.28

Brewer’s who manufacture under 150,000
barrels annually may apply.

Limited to 750 barrels dedicated to off-sale
annually.

Growler Sunday sales permitted
Municipality issued state approved.

Issuing Authority sets fee base on limits set
forth in 340A.408

Alcohol & Gambling Enforcemen

64 ounce or 750 milliliter container (glass,
plastic, aluminum)

Twist-type closure, cork, stopper, or plug
Must have name and address of the

brewer
Must have label with type of malt beverage




Brewer Package
Off-Sale

IMINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
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MN Statutes 340A.29 Creates an additional off-sale

license. (brewer can hold this license in addition to their Growler Off-
Sale license)

Brewer’s who manufacture under 7,500 barrels annually may
apply.

Limited to 750 barrels dedicated to off-sale annually.

Allowed to sell up to 128 ounces
per customer per day

Sunday sales permitted — Hours and Days of Off-Sale Apply

Locally issued state approved.

Issuing Authority sets fee base on limits set forth in 340A.408




Wine Manufacturer

Intended to manufacture wine on a larger scale

Can also be a craft winery that is not a farm winery
Manufacture of wine can retail their wine at both on and off-sale
with no additional license (MN Statute 340A.301 subdivision 10)
CANNOT sell at wholesale to on/off retailers
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Farm Winery
MN Statute 340A.315

Winery located on a
MN Farm/Agricultural Land

Manufacture of wine: , :

. Wholesale to on/off retailers R —

. Can sell at on-sale and off-sale from the farm winery location

. An optional on-sale/county on-sale license to sell other alcoholic beverages




Importer License

MN Statute 340A.302 & 340A.3021

No retail or person may ship alcohol beverages or
ethyl alcohol without obtaining importer’s license

Alcohol brought in from out of state must go to a
licensed wholesaler’s warehouse; product must come
to rest at warehouse

Brands/labels imported must be registered within the
state by importer

It /s FELONY to import alcohol to re-sale without
license MN Statute 340A./01

Look for products that you do not see commonly,
distributors list the states they sell to on websites




Brand Label Registration

Minnesota Statute 340A.311
Minnesota Rules Chapter 7515.0850

. Minnesota wholesalers cannot sell unregistered brands.

- Wholesaler shall ascertain proper brand label registration
prior to selling any alcoholic beverage product to retail.

. Currently as of 2/24/2025 there are 78,920 brands
registered in MN.
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Unlicensed Manufacture
IN Minhesota
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“Creativity”

N

the Industry
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Wholesale/Distribution

MN Statute 340A.301, 340A.305, 340A.3055

Provide the second tier between
manufacturer and retail sales

Can work directly with importer or company
can also have import license

Must offer same prices and brands to all
retail sales

Distilled Spirits wholesale allows for all sales
of all alcohol product

Malt Beverage wholesale allows for sales of
malt beverages and wine
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Brew Pubs

MS 340A.24 Brew Pubs:

Retail on-sale liquor license (Full on-
sale or Wine & Beer license required)

Issued to a restaurant

Manufacture malt beverage on
premise to serve on premise

Off-Sale growler license (with
additional license)




Local Authorities Issue

. 3.2 Off-sales
. 3.2 On-sales

. City On-sales
Municipal Off-sale
Municipal On-sale
Municipal Combination
. Temporary licenses
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340A.509 LOCAL RESTRICTIONS.

A local authority may impose further
restrictions and regulations on the sale and

possession of alcoholic beverages within its
jurisdiction.

- Evacuation ordinance

. Sunday restrictions

- Number of On/Off Sale licenses
- Fee Structure




License Required

340A.401 LICENSE REQUIRED.

EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN THIS CHAPTER, NO PERSON MAY DIRECTLY OR
INDIRECTLY, ON ANY PRETENSE OR BY ANY DEVICE, SELL, BARTER, KEEP

Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement

FOR SALE, CHARGE FOR POSSESSION, OR OTHERWISE DISPOSE OF
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES AS PART OF A COMMERCIAL TRANSACTION
WITHOUT HAVING OBTAINED THE REQUIRED LICENSE OR PERMIT.




Licensing Info

Liquor Licenses are not a commodity, they [ il

cannot be sold or given to another J N‘M/‘\A‘\uﬂ
“'LIQUOR

I LICENSE 2

Not transferable - New owner = New License

Not movable - New location = New License
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On-Sale Intoxicating Liquor

License

MN Statute 340A.404

On-sale is the sale of alcoholic
beverages for consumption on the
licensed premises only.

Allows for the sale and service of all
liquor types:

- Intoxicating liquor 0, ﬁ

 Wine ¥ _‘ SOTA i
- Malt beverage {MI NE *‘4“’ s
« 3.2 beer | e ARTRER:

» Fee set by city



What is Licensed?

. Licensed premises is the premises described
in the approved license application (i.e. patio
or adjoining space)

Must be compact and contiguous
(MN Statute 340A.410 subd.7, MN Rules 7515.0430 subp.2)

No parking lots (areas where motor vehicles
are regularly parked or operated)

*Exception only for restaurants, clubs or

exclusive on-sale located on golf course
(MN Statute 340A.101 Subd.15)
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On-sale issued to:
(MN Statute 340A.404 subd.1)

« Hotels

» Restaurants — Can have wine with strong

beer or full liquor

» Bowling Centers

 Clubs full on-sale or sales to members and
bona fide guests

 Exclusive Liquor Stores

* Theater
« Convention Centers (not metro area)




Liquor Licenses
MN 340A.404 subdivision 1

City/County May Issue On-Sale License to: A resort as referenced in
Minnesota Statutes 157.15 subdivision 11.

A municipality may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor
license to a person who is the owner of a summer collegiate league
baseball team or baseball team competing in a league established by the
Minnesota Baseball Association. or to a person holding a concessions or
management contract with the owner, for beverage sales at a ballpark or
stadium.

A municipality may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
an auto racing facility located in the city municipality.




Off-Sale Liguor license A

MN Statute 340A.405

INNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Off-sale is the sale of alcoholic beverages in original packages for consumption off the licensed premises only
Exclusive liquor store" is an establishment used exclusively for the sale of the following items;

(1) alcoholic beverages;

(2) tobacco products;

(3) ice;

(4) beverages, either liquid or powder, specifically designated for mixing with intoxicating liquor;

(5) soft drinks;

(6) liqueur-filled candies;

(7) food products that contain more than one-half of one percent alcohol by volume;

(8) cork extraction devices;

(9) books and videos on the use of alcoholic beverages;

(10) magazines and other publications published primarily for information and education on alcoholic beverages;

(11) multiple-use bags designed to carry purchased items;

(12) devices designed to ensure safe storage and monitoring of alcohol in the home, to prevent access by underage drinkers;
(13) home brewing equipment;

(14) clothing marked with the specific name, brand, or identifying logo of the exclusive liquor store, and bearing no other name, brand, or
identifying logo;

(15) citrus fruit;

(16) glassware;

(17) edible cannabinoid products as defined in section 151.72, subdivision 1, paragraph (e); and

(18) products that detect the presence of fentanyl or a fentanyl analog.



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/151.72#stat.151.72.1

Combination License
Off-Sale

MN Statute 340A.406
Issued in combination with an On-Sale Intoxicating license that is
not a Wine License or a Club license.

Off-Sales may be from behind the bar or from a “bottle shop”
May have access to other business

Applies to counties, cities of the fourth class or a statutory city with
a population of 10,000 or fewer. A city who issues these types of

licenses may continue to do so when the population exceeds
10,000.
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AGE Agents Conduct Pre-license &
Routine Inspections

Alcohol & Gambling Enforcement

Iy

|

LAZY HAGADLR




Criminal Investigation - primarily result in criminal charges felony,
gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor.

Regulatory Investigations — primarily result in agency action taken by
AGED against an industry member’s license to do business in
Minnesota.

« This is a civil action and can result in a fine, license
suspension, license revocation, or a verbal or written warning

The imposition of civil penalties is provided for under the
provisions of M.S. Chapter 340A.304 and 340A.415. Fines go
to license holder per 340A.501.
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Common Types of
Investigations

Unlicensed sale, unlicensed import of alcohol

either at the retail, wholesale, or import level
M.S. 340A.302, 302 and 401.

Unregistered product brands being
manufactured/sold in the state

Illegal retail/wholesale related to tax
delinquent

Wholesale Credit List
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Questions?

NMINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
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