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Members of the Legislative Audit Commission: 

 

In May 2020, the Legislature enacted a law that directed the Office of the Legislative Auditor (OLA) 

to compare the salaries and benefits of Minnesota state troopers with those of police officers in cities 

the law specified for comparison.  This report is our response to the legislative directive.  

 

We compared wage rates for 2019, the most recent year for which complete data were available. 

As a result, the comparisons in this report do not include the impact of an across-the-board base wage 

increase the Legislature mandated for state troopers in an October 2020 special legislative session. 

 

In addition to salary comparisons, our report discusses contract and statutory provisions that create 

differences in supplemental wages, health insurance, and retirement contributions between state 

troopers and the city police officers that were part of our review. 

 

We received full cooperation from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Minnesota 

Department of Management and Budget, state retirement associations, and various city governments 

as we conducted our review and prepared this report.   

 
Sincerely, 

 

 

 

 

Joel Alter 

Director, Special Reviews 



 



 
 

Summary 

n 2020, the Minnesota Legislature directed the Office of the Legislature Auditor to 

compile surveys of compensation levels for the Minnesota State Patrol and law 

enforcement officers in 33 Minnesota cities.1  This report presents the results of our 

initial review, which was based on compensation levels in 2019.  We found that: 

 The 2019 starting base wage rate of a state trooper was about 5 percent below 

the median starting 2019 base wage rate of police officers in cities we 

examined.  In 2019, the highest wage level that a non-supervisory state trooper 

could attain over time was about 16 percent lower than the median of the top 

wage levels available to non-supervisory police officers in the cities we 

examined.   

 The 2020 Legislature mandated an 8.4 percent increase in state trooper salaries, 

effective in October 2020, and this increase mitigates the disparities we 

identified for 2019.  We did not examine 2020 wages in local police 

departments, but the amount of the 2020 state trooper increase was larger than 

the gap that existed in 2019 between starting state trooper salaries and the 

median starting salary of non-supervisory police officers in cities we examined. 

 State data indicate that at least 58 percent of state troopers were recently 

receiving wage supplements, which increased their salaries beyond what is 

reflected in the base wages summarized above.  As one example, nearly 

one-third of state troopers received “freeway trooper pay,” which supplemented 

their salaries by an amount equal to 2.6 percent of starting base pay.  City 

contracts in 2019 also provided for various types of supplemental pay for police 

officers performing particular duties, but we did not obtain information on the 

extent to which departments actually used these provisions. 

 All jurisdictions in our analysis paid law enforcement officers 1.5 times the base 

wage rate for overtime work. 

 State troopers were responsible for paying a smaller share of family health and 

dental insurance premiums than police officers in most of the cities we 

examined.  For employee-only insurance coverage, police officers in about half 

of the cities we examined paid no portion of the premiums; state troopers paid a 

small portion.  State troopers are eligible to receive employer-subsidized 

post-retirement health care coverage that is not available to most city police 

officers. 

 In recent years, Minnesota state troopers have paid a larger share of their 

salaries toward pensions than have city police officers.   

                                                      

1 Laws of Minnesota 2020, chapter 100, sec. 20, codified as Minnesota Statutes 2020, 299D.03, subd. 2a. 

I 



S-2 Law Enforcement Compensation 

 

 For the most part, the State Patrol and city police departments have paid for 

officers’ uniforms and equipment—either by providing items as needed or by 

making lump-sum payments to offset the cost of an officer’s purchases. 

 State troopers received somewhat more generous starting and maximum 

vacation leave than officers in most of the police departments we examined. 
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Introduction 

he Office of the Legislative Auditor (OLA) was directed by the 2020 Legislature 

to conduct ongoing salary and benefits surveys to allow for comparison of 

compensation provided to Minnesota State Patrol troopers with police officers working 

for selected Minnesota cities.1  The law said:  “It is the legislature’s intent to use the 

information in this study to compare salaries between the identified police departments 

and the State Patrol and to make appropriate increases to patrol trooper salaries.”2 

The law prescribed that the following cities be included in the comparison:  (1) cities 

with a population in excess of 25,000 located within a “metropolitan county” if the 

city’s police officers are represented by a union certified by the Bureau of Mediation 

Services; and (2) cities of the first class.3  There are 31 cities that meet the first part of 

this definition, and four cities (Minneapolis, St. Paul, Duluth, and Rochester) that meet 

the statutory definition of cities of the first class.  Minneapolis and St. Paul are included 

in both of the categories specified above, so our analysis examined compensation in a 

total of 33 cities, plus the State Patrol. 

The law mandating the OLA study said: 

The legislative auditor must base the survey on compensation and 

benefits for the past completed calendar year.  The survey must be based 

on full-time equivalent employees.  The legislative auditor must 

calculate compensation using base salary, overtime wages, and premium 

pay.  Premium pay is payment that is received by a majority of 

employees and includes, but is not limited to, education pay and 

longevity pay.  The legislative auditor must not include any payments 

made to officers or troopers for work performed for an entity other than 

the agency that employs the officer or trooper, regardless of who makes 

the payment.  The legislative auditor must also include in the survey all 

benefits, including insurance, retirement, and pension benefits.  The 

legislative auditor must include contributions from both the employee 

and employer when determining benefits.4 

Due to time constraints, we conducted this initial compensation analysis using a 

combination of (1) a review of State Patrol and police department contract provisions 

and (2) information we requested and obtained directly from the State Patrol, cities, and 

                                                      

1 Laws of Minnesota 2020, chapter 100, sec. 20, codified as Minnesota Statutes 2020, 299D.03, subd. 2a.   

2 Ibid. 

3 A “metropolitan county” is defined in Minnesota Statutes 2020, 473.121, subd. 4, to include Anoka, 

Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington counties.  Minnesota Statutes 2020, 410.01, 

defines cities of the first class as “[t]hose having more than 100,000 inhabitants provided that once a city 

is defined to be of the first class, it shall not be reclassified unless its population decreases by 25 percent 

from the census figures which last qualified the city for inclusion in the class.”  For more information 

about the statutory classification of cities, see Minnesota House of Representatives Research, 

Classification of Cities (St. Paul, November 2019). 

4 Laws of Minnesota 2020, chapter 100, sec. 20, codified as Minnesota Statutes 2020, 299D.03, subd. 2a. 
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state retirement associations.  Our analysis focused on compensation available to law 

enforcement officers in calendar year 2019.  We focused exclusively on 

non-supervisory police officers and state troopers because we were told that the 

responsibilities of these positions were comparable.5  We obtained information from 

contracts on provisions for overtime and other types of premium pay, but we did not 

obtain information on actual agency expenditures in 2019 for supplemental 

compensation to individual officers. 

The law required OLA to discuss each agency’s salary structure, including the 

“minimum and maximum salaries for each range or step.”6  We examined the number 

of steps in each agency’s salary structure, and, for simplicity, our report presents the 

starting and top wages available to employees in each agency we examined.  Our report 

presents comparative tables for the agencies we examined in cases where we thought 

this would be meaningful.  In addition, our website has appendices with additional 

information regarding individual agencies’ base wages and health insurance costs. 

Law enforcement contracts cover a wide range of negotiated topics related to 

compensation, and our analysis does not address all of these topics.  For example, we do 

not discuss differences in agency provisions for severance pay.  Our analysis focused on 

categories of compensation that likely account for the overwhelming share of ongoing 

personnel outlays by law enforcement agencies:  base wages; longevity pay; overtime and 

other supplemental wages; health care costs; retirement contributions; and provisions 

related to vacation leave, sick leave, and compensation for employee uniforms. 

 

                                                      

5 None of the state troopers represented by the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association have supervisory 

duties, according to the Minnesota Department of Management and Budget.  The department said State 

Patrol lieutenants who supervise state troopers are unrepresented employees whose terms and conditions 

of employment are covered by the State of Minnesota’s Commissioner’s Plan.   

6 Laws of Minnesota 2020, chapter 100, sec 20, codified as Minnesota Statutes 2020, 299D.03, subd. 2a. 



 
 

 

Chapter 1:  Base and Other Wages 

his chapter discusses the “base wages” paid to non-supervisory law enforcement 

officers, as well as other wage compensation available to them.1  We begin by 

reviewing the base salary structures in the jurisdictions we examined, including 

provisions for (1) base wage “steps” and (2) other pay linked directly to years of 

employment.  For each jurisdiction, we then review the base wage paid to newly hired 

law enforcement officers, as well as the maximum base wage level an officer could 

have attained over time if the officer remained employed within the same jurisdiction.  

We also discuss provisions in law enforcement labor contracts for certain supplemental 

wages, such as compensation for overtime and time spent in court appearances. 

Salary Structure 

All of the employment contracts we examined for city police and State Patrol officers 

have provisions for base wages that are paid in “steps.”  After the first wage step, each 

subsequent step has a higher wage rate than the step that preceded it.  Employees 

progress through the steps based on factors specified in the employment contract.   

For the law enforcement contracts we reviewed, officers typically moved from one step 

to another at time intervals specified in the contract.  For example, Chaska’s 2019 

police contract specified a starting pay rate for officers, with step increases after 6, 12, 

24, and 36 months.   

Some contracts supplemented step-based pay with provisions for “longevity pay.”  For 

example, while the Chaska police department’s base wage steps ended after 36 months 

of service, the department provided longevity pay increases after an employee had been 

with the department 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20 years.  Chaska’s step-based pay and longevity 

pay are both related to an employee’s length of service with the city. 

Some departments have opted not to include contract provisions for longevity pay.  For 

example, the 2019 Plymouth police contract said the following:   

The parties recognize that the base wage provided for in this Agreement 

is a more equitable way of compensating Employees than through the 

use of special supplemental forms of compensation, such as longevity 

pay or educational incentive pay, and the wage rates established hereby 

recognize this understanding.2   

Some law enforcement agencies allow their officers to choose between types of pay that 

supplement the base wage rate—for example, between pay based on longevity with the 

                                                      

1 None of the state troopers represented by the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association have supervisory 

duties, according to the Minnesota Department of Management and Budget.  The department said State 

Patrol lieutenants who supervise state troopers are unrepresented employees whose terms and conditions 

of employment are covered by the State of Minnesota’s Commissioner’s Plan.   

2 “Labor Agreement between the City of Plymouth and Law Enforcement Labor Services—Local 18 

(Police Officers), January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2020,” 22. 
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department and pay based on college credits achieved—so longevity pay is not always 

guaranteed.3 

Exhibit 1.1 shows the number of base wage and longevity pay steps in the contracts of 

the law enforcement agencies we examined.  The number of base wage steps ranged 

from 3 (Duluth) to 11 (Rochester).  The number of longevity pay steps ranged from 

none (in several agencies) to 20 (Minneapolis). 

Exhibit 1.1:  Base Wage Steps and Longevity Pay Steps, 2019 

Law Enforcement Agency 

Number of 
Base Wage 

Steps 

Number of 
Longevity 
Pay Steps 

Apple Valley 6 0 
Blainea 7 0 
Bloomington 5 3 
Brooklyn Centerb 4 4 
Brooklyn Parkc 5 3 
Burnsvilled 4 0 
Chaska 5 5 
Coon Rapids 4 3 
Cottage Grove 7 4 
Duluth 3 2 
Eagan 6 3 
Eden Prairie 5 0 
Edina 6 4 
Fridley 5 4 
Inver Grove Heightsb, e 10 4 
Lakevilleb 4 14 
Maple Grove 7 3 

a Only employees hired before 1991 were eligible for longevity pay. 

b Officers had to choose between longevity pay and education-based pay.  In Shakopee, officers chose between longevity pay and “incentive pay” 

(for education, fitness, community service, and/or foreign language proficiency). 

c Brooklyn Park had five base wage steps and three longevity steps for each patrol officer classification.  The city had five such classifications (Patrol 

Officer 1 through Patrol Officer 5).  Thus, overall, the city had 25 possible base wage steps and 15 longevity steps for patrol officers. 

d Officers hired before 1990 chose between longevity pay and education-based pay; longevity pay was not offered to more recently hired officers. 

e In addition to the four longevity pay steps, Inver Grove Heights provided one-time lump-sum payments to officers when they had worked for the city 

for 20 and 25 years. 

f Officers hired before 1986 chose between longevity pay and education-based pay; education-based pay was not offered to more recently hired 

officers. 

g Longevity pay was called “proficiency pay.” 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota Department of Public Safety and city police department contracts. 

                                                      

3 The 2019 contracts of Bloomington, Burnsville, Duluth, and Richfield provided supplemental pay for some 

or all employees based on education attained.  Four other cities (Blaine, Fridley, Maplewood, and Prior 

Lake) had similar provisions that only applied to employees hired years ago—in three of these cases, more 

than 30 years ago—so it is likely that those provisions applied to few, if any, officers in 2019.  Seven other 

cities (Brooklyn Center, Inver Grove Heights, Lakeville, Minnetonka, Roseville, Shakopee, and White Bear 

Lake) offered education-based pay as an option among other alternatives, such as longevity pay. 

Law Enforcement Agency 

Number of 
Base Wage 

Steps 

Number of 
Longevity 
Pay Steps 

Maplewoodf 7 5 
Minneapolis 7 20 
Minnetonka 5 0 
Oakdale 5 6 
Plymouth 10 0 
Prior Lake 4 4 
Ramseyg 5 4 
Richfield 5 0 
Rochester 11 0 
Rosevilleb 5 5 
St. Louis Park 9 0 
St. Paul 8 0 
Savage 7 0 
Shakopeeb 5 4 
White Bear Lakeb 5 5 
Woodbury 5 3 
Minnesota State Patrol 8 0 
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Although some agencies considered employee performance when determining which 

employees should move to new wage steps, the 2019 contracts we examined did not 

have explicit provisions for performance-based pay for law enforcement officers.4  

Starting Wages 

We reviewed the 2019 contracts of 33 city police departments and the State Patrol’s 

contract to determine the starting wage paid to a city police officer and a state trooper—

that is, the wage paid at the lowest step in the pay structure.5  We were told that the job 

duties of officers in these starting, non-supervisory positions are comparable.  In 

addition, because newly hired officers have not yet accumulated years of service within 

their departments (and would therefore not be eligible for longevity pay if their 

departments offered it), the starting wages in our analysis were based entirely on the 

departments’ base wage schedules.   

The base starting wage for a state trooper in 2019 was slightly below the 
median base starting wage for police officers in the cities reviewed. 

It is important to consider starting pay because the initial employee wage level may 

affect the ability of a law enforcement agency to recruit new employees.  Exhibit 1.2 

shows starting monthly wages for the agencies we examined. 

Starting 2019 wages for city police officers ranged from $4,429 per month in Fridley to 

$5,992 in Inver Grove Heights.  Among the 33 city police departments we reviewed, the 

median 2019 starting monthly wage was $5,053.  The starting monthly wage for a state 

trooper was $4,822, which was 4.6 percent below the median starting salary of the 

police departments we examined. 

This analysis of 2019 wages does not take into account some key issues we discuss later 

in this chapter:  (1) the Legislature’s mandated increase in state troopers’ wages, 

effective October 2020; and (2) supplemental pay provided to troopers or police 

officers.  Although we did not review city police officer wages for 2020, the 

legislatively mandated 8.4 percent increase in state trooper salaries in 2020 was larger 

than the gap (4.6 percent) between state trooper and median police officer salaries we 

reported for 2019.  Furthermore, as we discuss later, more than half of state troopers 

received some type of supplemental compensation, beyond the base wage rate.6  Even   

                                                      

4 The Eden Prairie 2019 contract said, “Advancement of steps will be granted based on a minimum of 

12 months served at each step, in addition to positive performance evaluation.”  The St. Louis Park 

contract said, “Employees must achieve above average performance as determined by the Police Chief to 

advance to the next step.”  But aside from these provisions that required acceptable performance to 

advance through wage steps, we did not see any 2019 contracts that provided performance-based pay for 

patrol officers. 

5 Employment contracts may authorize a department to determine the step at which a new employee 

should be placed; in such cases, newly hired officers might not start at the lowest step.  

6 One type of supplemental pay—freeway trooper pay—was not provided to troopers working in two 

outstate metropolitan areas (Duluth and Rochester) whose city police contracts we reviewed as part of our 

analysis. 
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Exhibit 1.2:  City Police Officer and State Trooper Starting Monthly 
Wages, 2019 

Law Enforcement Agency Starting Monthly Wage 

Inver Grove Heights $5,992.13 
Minnetonka 5,496.40 
Minneapolis 5,451.33 
St. Paul 5,352.53 
Shakopee 5,249.89 
Edina 5,235.38 
Plymouth 5,219.07 
St. Louis Park 5,200.00 
Eden Prairie 5,180.93 
Bloomington 5,166.00 
Richfield 5,162.84 
Brooklyn Park 5,146.27 
Eagan 5,109.35 
Lakeville 5,101.20 
Chaska 5,096.00 
Coon Rapids 5,056.13 
Cottage Grove 5,052.67 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota Department of Public Safety and city police department contracts. 

if considering only the impact of the across-the-board, 8.4 percent trooper wage 

increase, it seems plausible that state trooper starting base wages may now be closer to 

the median city police starting wage than they were in 2019, or may exceed it.7 

Top Wages 

While starting wages can affect the ability of law enforcement agencies to recruit new 

officers, the “top wages” may be one factor that affects agencies’ ability to retain 

officers for extended periods.8  For our analysis of “top wages,” we only considered 

those wages that were paid to non-supervisory officers who stayed with an agency long 

enough to obtain the highest compensation on the base wage and (if applicable) the 

longevity pay schedules.9  Our analysis of top wages did not consider the extent to 

which non-supervisory officers had opportunities to receive (or actually received) 

overtime or other types of supplemental pay. 

                                                      

7 An 8.4 percent increase in the 2019 state trooper starting monthly base wage ($4,822) yields a monthly 

base wage of $5,227.  The 2019 median starting base wage among the city police departments we 

reviewed was $5,053, and we did not collect information on the 2020 median wage of police departments. 

8 The Minnesota Department of Management and Budget told us that job retention has not been a problem 

among state troopers.  The department said the state retains 98.5 to 99.0 percent of state troopers from one 

year to the next, which is above the average retention rate for other executive branch job classifications. 

9 In the case of the City of Minnetonka, which offered no longevity pay, we assumed that the top possible 

wage included the full amount of “incentive pay” provided for by the contract.  Officers could receive 

incentive pay equal to as much as 10 percent of base pay if they (1) had at least a bachelor’s degree, 

(2) took specified amounts of training annually, (3) did at least 50 hours of community service per year, 

(4) passed an annual written skill assessment, and (5) made progress on personal wellness/fitness goals. 

Law Enforcement Agency Starting Monthly Wage 

Apple Valley $5,027.00 
Rochester 4,959.07 
Burnsville 4,902.00 
Woodbury 4,884.53 
Maple Grove 4,825.25 
Minnesota State Patrol 4,822.00 
Maplewood 4,812.68 
Duluth 4,728.00 
Prior Lake 4,725.00 
Savage 4,699.07 
Brooklyn Center 4,681.27 
Blaine 4,681.00 
Roseville 4,616.16 
Ramsey 4,597.17 
Oakdale 4,590.30 
White Bear Lake 4,481.92 
Fridley 4,428.67 
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For example, we determined that the 2019 contract for the Maplewood Police 

Department allowed for a top monthly salary of $7,638 for a police officer who was not 

a supervisor.  This was the amount that would have been paid to such an officer who 

reached the highest step of the base wage schedule ($6,912) and whose tenure of at least 

20 years of continuous employment with the department qualified the officer for 

longevity pay equal to 10.5 percent of the base wage rate.   

The top base wage that could be earned by non-supervisory state 
troopers in 2019 was substantially less than the top base wage available 
to non-supervisory police officers in most cities we reviewed. 

Exhibit 1.3 shows the top monthly wages available to police officers in the cities we 

examined and to state troopers. 

Exhibit 1.3:  Non-Supervisory Police Officer or State Trooper  
Top Wages, 2019 

NOTE:  The “top wage” available to officers in a given department is the combination of the highest base wage available in the employment contract 
and, if applicable, the highest amount available for “longevity pay” in the contract. 

a For the City of Minnetonka, we assumed that the top wage included the highest base wage level and the maximum amount of incentive pay 

provided for by that city’s contract. 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota Department of Public Safety and city police department contracts. 

  

Law Enforcement Agency Top Monthly Wage 

Brooklyn Park $8,304.40 
Inver Grove Heights 8,237.49 
Bloomington 8,044.00 
Eagan 8,042.70 
Eden Prairie 7,921.33 
Minneapolis 7,907.47 
St. Louis Park 7,895.96 
Edina 7,865.47 
Plymouth 7,836.40 
Minnetonkaa 7,708.65 
Lakeville 7,694.49 
Burnsville 7,690.10 
Coon Rapids 7,672.81 
Chaska 7,649.92 
Maplewood 7,637.99 
St. Paul 7,616.27 
Woodbury 7,578.12 

 

Law Enforcement Agency Top Monthly Wage 

Maple Grove $7,464.60 
Brooklyn Center 7,434.96 
Apple Valley 7,393.00 
Blaine 7,380.00 
Cottage Grove 7,358.95 
Oakdale 7,350.25 
Fridley 7,347.62 
Roseville 7,319.89 
White Bear Lake 7,249.69 
Shakopee 7,194.79 
Prior Lake 7,174.38 
Rochester 7,172.53 
Savage 7,118.80 
Ramsey 7,092.83 
Richfield 6,976.28 
Minnesota State Patrol 6,344.00 
Duluth 6,278.04 
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As shown in the table, the top wage available to police officers in the 33 city police 

departments we examined ranged from $6,278 in Duluth to $8,304 per month in Brooklyn 

Park.  The median of the top wages in these police departments was $7,578 per month. 

The top wage available to non-supervisory state troopers in 2019 was $6,344, or 

16.3 percent less than the median top wage for non-supervisory officers in the police 

departments we reviewed.  The state trooper top wage was higher than the top wage of 

only one police department (Duluth) we examined, and it was usually well below the 

top wage of the other police departments in our review.  There was no provision for 

longevity pay for state troopers in the State Patrol contract, in contrast to the practices 

of many police departments.   

The absence of longevity pay in a department does not necessarily mean the department 

will have lower overall wages than those in law enforcement agencies that offer longevity 

pay.10  Nonetheless, it is worth noting that troopers’ top 2019 wage lagged behind the 

median police department top wage by an amount (16 percent) that exceeded the amount 

by which troopers’ starting 2019 wage lagged behind the median police department 

starting wage (5 percent).  This suggests that state trooper and city police officer salaries 

tended to be more competitive at the early stages of their careers; over time, the salaries 

of state troopers tended to fall farther behind the salaries of city police officers. 

Again, it is important to note that our discussion of 2019 top wages does not take into 

account (1) the legislative mandated 2020 increase in state trooper salaries (discussed in 

the next section) or (2) supplemental pay received by law enforcement officers.  The 

8.4 percent increase in state trooper pay that took effect in October 2020 helped to 

offset the difference we noted above between the top pay of state troopers and the 

median top pay of city police officers, but the increase did not eliminate this pay gap; 

for base wages, state troopers still have top pay levels below those of most cities. 

2020 State Trooper Salary Increase 

The focus of our review was wages in 2019, the most recent year for which we had 

contracts for all of the law enforcement agencies we examined.  However, it is 

important to note that in its Fifth Special Session of 2020, the Legislature mandated an 

increase in the wages paid to state troopers.  Specifically, language passed in October 

2020 said:  “The commissioner of public safety must increase the salary paid to state 

patrol troopers by 8.4 percent.”11  While the law specified the effective date of the 

increase as “the day following final enactment” (the increase took effect 

October 22, 2020), the law was silent on other implementation specifics.  The 

Minnesota Department of Management and Budget told us the increase was made as a 

permanent adjustment to the base salary paid to state troopers.12 

                                                      

10 The top wages calculated in our analysis reflected a combination of regular (or “base”) wages and any 

supplements given for longevity.  It is possible that departments that did not offer longevity pay had 

higher base wage rates, thus offsetting the fact that they did not have longevity pay adjustments. 

11 Laws of Minnesota 2020, Fifth Special Session, chapter 3, art. 9, sec. 6. 

12 As of February 2021, negotiations between the State of Minnesota and the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

Association regarding a contract covering the period from July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2021, were still 

ongoing.   



Base and Other Wages 9 

 

 

A March 2020 fiscal note prepared by the executive branch and signed by the 

Legislative Budget Office expressed concerns about this language in an earlier bill.  The 

fiscal note said this language would not eliminate the Minnesota Department of 

Management and Budget’s obligation to negotiate a contract with the Minnesota Law 

Enforcement Association, but it would define a key part of the agreement through a 

process other than collective bargaining.  The fiscal note also said: 

It is also unclear how processes that establish compensation for only 

some but not of all the union will impact negotiating for the collective 

as a whole.  The proposed language only speaks to pay increases for one 

of the thirteen job classifications within the bargaining unit, which will 

have significant but unknown impacts on [the Minnesota Department of 

Management and Budget’s] ability to settle the contract given the 

potential resistance of the twelve job classifications that are not subject 

to the benefits of this bill.13 

The fiscal note said that the 8.4 percent increase for state troopers would probably result 

in many troopers having higher salaries than their supervisors, which might then 

necessitate wage increases for those supervisory positions.  The fiscal note also said that 

such an increase would probably result in some inequities between state troopers and 

(1) other state law enforcement officers, such as Department of Natural Resources 

conservation officers and Bureau of Criminal Apprehension special agents and (2) some 

female-dominated job classifications.  Wage adjustments made in response to these 

differences could result in “potentially significant” fiscal impacts beyond those for state 

troopers, the fiscal note said.14 

Overtime 

Law enforcement contracts define overtime as hours worked at the employer’s direction 

in excess of an officer’s regularly scheduled shifts. 

As a general rule, all police departments we reviewed, as well as the 
State Patrol, paid their officers 1.5 times their regular salary rate for 
overtime work. 

Although all contracts we reviewed provided for paying time-and-a-half to officers for 

overtime, a few contracts had limited exceptions to this general rule.  For example, the 

Chaska police contract required that officers receive double time for any hours worked 

beyond 14 continuous hours.  Some contracts required payment of rates above 1.5 times 

the regular pay rate for overtime hours worked on holidays. 

Contracts had some differing provisions about the way that overtime was paid—for 

example, whether employees had the option of receiving overtime pay in the form of 

                                                      

13 Consolidated Fiscal Note for Senate File 9117-0, 2019-2020 Legislative Session, 9.  The lead agency for 

this fiscal note was the Department of Public Safety.  On March 16, 2020, a lead analyst for the Legislative 

Budget Office said:  “I have reviewed this fiscal note for reasonableness of content and consistency with the 

LBO’s Uniform Standards and Procedures.” 

14 Ibid., 10. 
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compensatory time.  In addition, a majority of contracts we reviewed provided for 

overtime to be calculated to the nearest 15 minutes, but a few specified shorter periods 

(to the nearest 6 minutes or the nearest 12 minutes), and some did not specify how 

overtime would be calculated. 

We also examined overtime provisions for law enforcement officers appearing in court 

outside of their regular work shifts.  All contracts we reviewed provided for paying 

employees 1.5 times their regular rate of pay if they were required to appear in court on 

a day they were not otherwise scheduled to work.  However, as shown in Exhibit 1.4, 

the contracts differed in their provisions about the minimum number of hours for which 

employees would receive pay for “court time.”  Contracts for state troopers and police 

officers in two cities we reviewed (Edina and White Bear Lake) required payment for a 

minimum of two hours for court appearances on off-days.  Four cities (Duluth, 

Maplewood, Rochester, and St. Paul) required payment for at least four hours.  Other 

cities required payment for at least 2.5 or 3.0 hours, except for Minneapolis, whose 

police contract did not specify a minimum number of hours. 

Exhibit 1.4:  Minimum Number of Hours of “Court Time” 
Overtime Pay Received by Off-Duty Law Enforcement Officers 

Minimum Hours Paid Law Enforcement Agency 

2.0 hours Edina, White Bear Lake, Minnesota State Patrol 

2.5 hours Bloomington, Minnetonka 

3.0 hours Apple Valley, Blaine, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Burnsville, Chaska, 
Coon Rapids, Cottage Grove, Eagan, Eden Prairie, Fridley, Inver Grove Heights, 
Lakeville, Maple Grove, Oakdale, Plymouth, Prior Lake, Ramsey, Richfield,  
Roseville, St. Louis Park, Savage, Shakopee, Woodbury 

4.0 hours Duluth, Maplewood, Rochester, St. Paul 

Unspecified minimum Minneapolis 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota Department of Public Safety and city police 
department contracts. 

Contracts also differed regarding the conditions under which off-duty officers would be 

paid for scheduled court appearances that were subsequently cancelled.  For example, a 

Savage officer—who would have received at least 3.0 hours of time-and-a-half pay for 

appearing in court on an off-day—would have received 2.0 hours of regular base pay if 

the appearance was cancelled with less than 16 hours advance notice.  In contrast, an 

off-duty Maplewood officer would have received the same payment—a minimum of 

4.0 hours of time-and-a-half pay—for a court appearance cancelled less than 36 hours 

beforehand as for a court appearance that occurred at the scheduled time.  Under the 

Minnesota State Patrol contract, a state trooper whose appearance in court was 

cancelled after 4:00 p.m. on the day prior to the scheduled appearance had to be paid for 

two hours of work at time-and-a-half pay. 
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All but one contract we reviewed had provisions for paying law enforcement officers 

1.5 times their regular rate of pay if they were “called back” to work on a work day 

during their off-duty hours.15  But, as Exhibit 1.5 shows, the minimum number of hours 

of “call-back pay” an officer would receive ranged from two hours to four hours, 

depending on the department for which the officer worked. 

Exhibit 1.5:  Minimum Number of Hours of “Call-Back” 
Overtime Pay Received by Off-Duty Law Enforcement Officers 

Minimum Hours Paid Law Enforcement Agency 

2.0 hours Brooklyn Center, Coon Rapids, Cottage Grove, Eden Prairie, Maple Grove, 
Maplewood, Minnetonka, Plymouth, Prior Lake, Ramsey, Richfield, Roseville,  
Savage, White Bear Lake, Woodbury, Minnesota State Patrol 

2.5 hours Bloomington, Burnsville 

3.0 hours Apple Valley, Blaine, Brooklyn Park, Chaska, Eagan, Edina, Fridley, Inver Grove 
Heights, Lakeville, Oakdale, St. Louis Park, Shakopee 

4.0 hours Duluth, Minneapolis, St. Paul 

NOTE:  The Rochester contract did not have provisions for a minimum number of hours of overtime pay for officers called 
back to duty. 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota Department of Public Safety and city police 
department contracts. 

Other Wage Provisions 

In addition to the categories of law enforcement wages we have discussed so far, there 

were some other wage provisions that deserve mention. 

The state trooper contract and the city police contracts we reviewed all 
had provisions for premium or supplemental pay for officers performing 
certain specialized tasks. 

For example, according to data we obtained from the Minnesota Department of 

Management and Budget, at least 58 percent of state troopers were recently receiving 

wage supplements, which increased their salaries above the base wages shown earlier.16  

While it was common for law enforcement contracts to have provisions for “specialty” 

pay, the arrangements for this type of pay defy easy comparison.  The 2019 contract for 

state troopers had provisions for several types of specialized pay for which we saw no 

                                                      

15 The Rochester contract said employees were eligible to receive call-back pay as specified in the labor 

agreement.  But the agreement for 2019 had no specific discussion of call-back pay, except for a provision 

to pay double time if the officer was called in to work on a holiday when otherwise scheduled to be off duty. 

16 The data provided by the Minnesota Department of Management and Budget did not show wage 

supplements provided to state troopers for special duties that were assigned by the individual districts in 

which the troopers worked.  According to the state trooper contract, these “special assignments within 

district” include field training officers, background investigators, and recruit academy staff officers. 



12 Law Enforcement Compensation 

 

 

counterpart premiums in jobs performed by local police officers.  For example, the state 

trooper contract provided for the following types of supplemental pay: 

 “Freeway trooper” pay.  Officers who were permanently assigned to freeway 

duty received a supplemental amount equal to 2.6 percent of the starting trooper 

wage level.  As of early 2021, 31 percent of state troopers received freeway 

trooper supplemental pay. 

 Accident reconstruction pay.  Officers who were assigned to supplement their 

regular patrol duties by conducting accident reconstructions received an 

additional amount equal to 3 percent of their base wage level.  As of early 2021, 

less than 4 percent of state troopers received accident reconstruction 

supplemental pay. 

 Pilot pay.  State troopers who were designated by the State Patrol as pilots and 

licensed by the Federal Aviation Administration received a supplement to their 

base pay of 11 percent (for “fixed wing” airplane pilots) or 13 percent (for 

helicopter pilots).  As of early 2021, just over 1 percent of state troopers 

received supplemental pay for working as pilots.17 

The city police departments we examined did not provide premium pay to officers for 

freeway duties, accident reconstruction, or pilot duty.  The most common types of 

supplemental pay we observed in local police contracts were available to patrol officers 

who performed the following specialized duties: 

 Detective or investigative duties. 

 Duties as a “school resource officer” or juvenile officer. 

 Duties as a “field training officer,” providing training to other officers within 

the city police department. 

 Responsibilities for training, handling, or caring for police canines. 

A majority of the 33 local police departments we reviewed had contract provisions for 

supplemental compensation for officers in the categories above.  However, there were 

many other provisions—in smaller numbers of police departments—that provided for 

supplemental pay for officers performing various other specialized positions, such as 

narcotics officers, special weapons and tactics (SWAT) specialists, and crime 

prevention specialists.  

                                                      

17 Besides these three categories, the state trooper contract also established supplemental pay for 

non-supervisory troopers who were designated as:  station sergeants; technical sergeants; safety education 

coordinators; crash reconstruction coordinators; field training officers; background investigators; and 

recruit academy staff officers.  Statewide data assembled by the Minnesota Department of Management 

and Budget in early 2021 indicated that 15 percent of state troopers received an 8 percent wage 

supplement as technical sergeants, and 13 percent received a 3 percent wage supplement as station 

sergeants.  Some troopers received more than one type of supplemental pay. 
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While we examined contract provisions for specialized pay, we did not collect complete 

information on the actual use of these provisions from each of the law enforcement 

agencies in our analysis.  Therefore, we did not assess the impact of specialized pay on 

compensation for individual officers or across agencies. 

Several law enforcement agencies paid supplemental wages to officers 
based on whether they worked certain time slots—such as overnight 
shifts—specified in their contracts. 

Eight city police departments we examined had contracts that required payment of 

“shift differentials” to officers who worked during specified hours, typically at night.18  

For officers working during these hours, the contract specified a supplemental amount 

that would be added to their wages.  Most contracts specified a supplement to the 

hourly wage amount, and these supplements ranged from $0.25 to $1.44 per hour.  

St. Paul’s police contract specified a supplemental percentage increase in base pay; in 

2019, a St. Paul police officer who worked between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 

6:00 a.m. received a wage supplement of 6.5 percent for hours worked in that time 

frame.   

The contract for state troopers provided for a uniform supplemental monthly payment to 

each officer instead of differing payments based on the shifts that individual troopers 

worked.  This amounted to supplemental pay of $720 per year for each trooper.  The 

contract said: 

Because of the frequency of changes in shift assignments, starting and 

stopping times, and rotation of shifts, thereby making shift premiums 

difficult to determine, effective the first payroll period after 

October 3, 2018, the Employer will increase the wages of all employees 

sixty ($60.00) dollars per month in lieu of any shift differential.19

                                                      

18 The cities were Chaska, Eagan, Fridley, Minneapolis, Oakdale, St. Paul, and Savage. 

19 “Agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association and the State of Minnesota, July 1, 

2017 through June 30, 2019,” 68. 



 

 

 

 



 
 

Chapter 2:  Health Insurance Costs 

mployee health insurance can be very complex, making it challenging to 

comprehensively compare insurance provisions and costs across multiple health 

plans and jurisdictions.  This chapter provides a starting point for comparing the health 

insurance costs paid by state troopers and the city law enforcement officers included in 

our review (and the costs paid by their employers).  To make comparisons, we adopted 

some simplifying rules. 

First, we focused on the cost of insurance premiums, not on the array of insurance 

benefits provided.  Insurance plans vary in the extent to which they cover health-related 

procedures and medications.  We did not examine differences in insurance coverage; we 

focused instead on the monthly cost of the insurance, especially the portion borne by the 

employee.1 

Second, in each of the jurisdictions we examined, we focused exclusively on the 

medical insurance plan that had the highest monthly premium cost.  Jurisdictions may 

offer multiple health plan options for employees to choose from, with a range of costs.  

By focusing on health plans with higher premiums, we compared the costs of plans that 

were the most comprehensive ones offered by the jurisdictions we examined.2  

Third, we limited our focus to employee-only coverage and family coverage.  Health 

insurance costs vary depending on who is covered by the health plan.  Insurance 

arrangements that only cover the employee typically have the lowest monthly 

premiums.  On the other hand, it is more expensive to provide full family coverage—

insurance for the employee, a spouse or domestic partner, and dependent children.  

Jurisdictions may offer options other than employee-only and family coverage, such as 

coverage for only the employee and a spouse, or for only the employee and a child.  

Rather than looking at all available options, we focused on employee-only and family 

coverage. 

Fourth, there are various types of employer-provided insurance, but we examined only 

medical and dental insurance.  We did not compare separate provisions for life 

insurance or vision care, for example.  In addition, our analysis assumed that employees 

enrolled in both medical and dental insurance, although dental insurance is optional in 

some jurisdictions we reviewed.3 

To make comparisons, we relied largely on “rate sheets” that jurisdictions have 

prepared to summarize their health insurance costs—particularly, the premiums 

charged, and the respective shares of those premiums paid by the employer and the 

                                                      

1 We focused largely on premium costs.  Insurance plans also vary in the deductibles or co-payments for 

which an enrollee may be responsible, but we did not compare these. 

2 We did not obtain data on the number of enrollees in high-premium plans, or assess how the number of 

enrollees in high-premium plans compared with enrollments in other plans the jurisdictions offered. 

3 For cases in which employees could choose from multiple dental plans, we assumed that employees 

enrolled in plans that provided “basic” or “comprehensive” coverage, even if the employees had options 

for broader coverage (such as plans including orthodontics).  We did not consider scenarios in which 

employees might choose not to purchase medical or dental insurance from their employer. 

E 
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employee.4  We generally did not look at more detailed documents regarding specific 

types of coverages or exclusions, so there may have been nuances regarding the health 

plans that we did not fully consider. 

In addition to looking at the costs of employee-only and family health insurance 

coverage for current employees of law enforcement agencies, this chapter examines 

post-retirement provisions for law enforcement officers’ health insurance. 

Family Coverage 

We examined 2019 contract provisions for employees who selected “family 

coverage”—that is, insurance that would cover the employee and members of the 

employee’s immediate family. 

State troopers typically paid a smaller share of family health insurance 
premiums in 2019 than police officers in the cities we reviewed. 

Exhibit 2.1 provides a summary of health and dental premiums for family insurance 

coverage in the various jurisdictions we examined, along with the employer and 

employee shares of these premiums.  The exhibit indicates that combined medical and 

dental premiums ranged from $1,378 per month (Prior Lake) to $2,815 (Rochester).  

The share of this coverage paid by employees ranged from $269 per month (Rochester) 

to $1,643 (Maple Grove). 

The amounts of the employee premium payments were partly offset in some 

jurisdictions by ongoing city contributions to “health reimbursement accounts” (HRAs) 

or “voluntary employee beneficiary association” (VEBA) plans.  Such accounts are 

intended to help employees pay for their out-of-pocket health care costs.5  While a 

majority of the jurisdictions shown in Exhibit 2.1 did not provide ongoing employer 

contributions to HRAs or VEBAs, the amounts of the contributions in some 

jurisdictions were substantial. 

For the health and dental insurance plans we examined, state troopers had the third 

lowest employee share of premiums (13.5 percent, or $274 per month) in 2019 of the 

state and local agencies we examined.  Rochester police officers had the lowest share, 

with 9.6 percent, while Duluth officers had the second lowest share, with 12.2 percent.  

The highest employee share of family health and dental insurance premiums was 

64 percent (St. Paul).6 

                                                      
4 An appendix provided at the Office of the Legislative Auditor’s website for this report provides 

additional details on each agency’s health insurance costs. 

5 Some jurisdictions also have employer contributions to “health saving accounts” (HSAs).  These 

accounts were not very common for the high-premium plans we included in Exhibit 2.1, and city 

contributions to those accounts are not shown in the exhibit.  HSAs are employee-owned, while HRAs are 

owned by the employer and remain with the employer if the employee changes jobs. 

6 The St. Paul plan with the highest premium (called the “$35 co-pay choice plan”) had employee costs 

that were significantly higher than the city’s other plans, so we also looked at the cost of the plan with the 

second highest premium (called the “PPO $2,500 deductible plan”).  For that plan, the employee share of 

the family health and dental insurance premiums was about 14 percent. 
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Exhibit 2.1:  Health and Dental Monthly Premiums and Employer/ 
Employee Shares for Highest Premium Plan with Family Coverage, 2019 

Law Enforcement Agency 
Total Medical and 
Dental Premium 

Employer 
Share 

Employee 
Share 

Employer HRA or 

VEBA Contributiona 

Apple Valley $2,442.50 $   939.50 $1,503.00 $    0.00 
Blaine 2,596.50 1,240.00 1,356.50 0.00 
Bloomington 2,389.24 1,583.72 805.52 0.00 
Brooklyn Center 1,936.60 1,198.00 738.60 0.00b 
Brooklyn Park 2,479.43 1,535.08 944.35 125.00 
Burnsville 2,058.61 920.00 1,138.61 170.00 
Chaska 2,365.43 1,428.00 937.43 0.00 
Coon Rapids 1,996.25 1,066.67 929.58 208.34 
Cottage Grove 1,504.36 1,079.60 424.76 0.00b 
Duluth 2,293.00 2,012.80 280.20 0.00 
Eagan 1,950.46 1453.10 497.36 250.00 
Eden Prairie 1,851.62 1,222.06 629.56 95.00 
Edina 1,979.05 1,524.71 454.34 208.34 
Fridley 2,500.49 1,706.04 794.45 0.00 
Inver Grove Heights 2,315.46 957.05 1,358.41 0.00 
Lakeville 1,838.32 1,101.20 737.12 205.00 
Maple Grove 2,683.07 1,040.00 1,643.07 0.00 

Maplewoodc 1,972.11 1,380.59 591.52 0.00 
Minneapolis 1,899.00 1,589.00 310.00 190.00 
Minnetonka 2,579.43 1,390.50 1,188.93 0.00 
Oakdale 1,889.07 1,507.38 381.69 80.00 
Plymouth 1,850.40 1,094.62 755.78 187.50 
Prior Lake 1,378.06 990.00 388.06 0.00 
Ramsey 2,066.35 1,169.25 897.10 130.00 
Richfield 1,866.00 1,389.75 476.25 0.00 
Rochester 2,814.67 2,545.45 269.22 0.00 
Roseville 1,708.60 1,255.00 453.60 125.00 
St. Louis Park 2,512.54 1,355.00 1,157.54 0.00 
St. Paul 2,211.40 796.32 1,415.08 0.00 
Savage 2,130.47 1,386.98 743.49 0.00 
Shakopee 2,230.65 1,345.00 885.65 0.00 
White Bear Lake 1,814.06 1,147.09 666.97 0.00 
Woodbury 1,812.77 1,246.71 566.06 333.33 
Minnesota State Patrol 2,028.50 1,754.36 274.14 0.00 

NOTES:  Additional details on agency health insurance costs are in an appendix at the Office of the Legislative Auditor’s website.  We assumed that 
employees enrolled in dental coverage, although it is voluntary in some jurisdictions.  If a city’s insurance contribution exceeded the amount of the 
medical premium, we applied the remaining city contribution to dental (up to the full amount of the dental premium).  If employees had an option to 
enroll in a wellness program to get lower health insurance premiums, we assumed that they did so.   

a A Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) or Voluntary Employees Beneficiaries Association (VEBA) plan is funded by the employer to pay for health 

care costs that are not covered by the standard health insurance plan.  The amounts shown in this column include ongoing agency contributions to 
individuals’ HRAs or VEBAs.  Some cities contribute to HRAs to pay for a portion of the employee’s health care expenses up to an insurance 
deductible limit, and those HRA expenditures are not reflected here.   

b The city made contributions to HRAs to help cover the cost of employees’ health insurance deductibles, and these contributions are not reflected here. 

c The rates shown are those for employees hired before January 1, 2013. 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of information provided by individual cities and the Minnesota Department of 
Management and Budget. 
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It is important to reiterate the limitations of our analysis, outlined at the beginning of 

this chapter.  For example, we reviewed only the high-premium plan in each 

jurisdiction, and the plans vary in what they covered.  In addition, our exhibit does not 

comprehensively assess the fiscal impact on employees of the health-related provisions 

of law enforcement contracts.  For example, some cities provide a standard city 

contribution that can be applied toward any of the employee’s insurance costs, and they 

allow employees to receive as income any amount of the city contribution that exceeds 

the employee’s insurance costs.  We considered city contributions only up to the 

amount of employee health insurance premiums.  In addition, we did not consider 

employer practices for providing “health savings account” options to employees. 

Employee-Only Coverage 

We also examined costs for “employee-only” health insurance—that is, insurance 

which, by choice of the employee, covered only the employed law enforcement officer 

in the jurisdictions we examined and not other members of the officer’s family.   

Police officers did not pay any share of the premium cost for 
employee-only health and dental insurance in nearly half of the city police 
departments we reviewed; state troopers paid a small share of 
employee-only premiums. 

Exhibit 2.2 provides a summary of health and dental insurance premiums for 

employee-only coverage.  The exhibit indicates that combined medical and dental 

premiums for employee-only coverage ranged from $501 per month (Prior Lake) to 

$1,074 (Eagan).  The shares of these premiums paid by employees ranged from $0 per 

month in multiple jurisdictions to $422 (St. Paul).7  As indicated previously, these 

comparisons are based on the health plan with the highest premium in each jurisdiction. 

As with employees who opted for family coverage, some jurisdictions provided HRA or 

VEBA contributions to employees with single-coverage insurance—in addition to the 

employer directly paying for a part of the insurance premium.  The largest monthly 

HRA or VEBA payment we saw for law enforcement officers with employee-only 

coverage was $200 per month (Roseville). 

Exhibit 2.2 shows that 15 city police departments we examined did not require an 

employee contribution for employee-only health and dental insurance.  The 

employee-only insurance contribution for state troopers was $46 per month, which was 

less than 7 percent of the premium cost.   

                                                      

7 The St. Paul plan with the highest premium (called the “$35 co-pay choice plan”) had employee costs 

that were significantly higher than the city’s other plans, so we also looked at the cost of the plan with the 

second highest premium (called the “PPO $2,500 deductible plan”).  For that plan, the employee share of 

the family health and dental insurance premiums was about $7 per month. 
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Exhibit 2.2:  Health and Dental Monthly Premiums and Employer/ 
Employee Shares for Highest Premium Plan with Employee-Only 
Coverage, 2019 

Law Enforcement Agency 
Medical and 

Dental Premium 
Employer 

Share 
Employee 

Share 

Employer HRA or 

VEBA Contributiona 
     

Apple Valley $  939.50 $  939.50 $   0.00 $   0.00 
Blaine 1,069.00 1,069.00 0.00 0.00 
Bloomington 796.76 796.76 0.00 0.00 
Brooklyn Center 738.60 738.60 0.00 0.00b 
Brooklyn Park 886.43 657.08 229.35 125.00 
Burnsville 960.78 920.00 40.78 145.00 
Chaska 913.06 913.06 0.00 0.00 
Coon Rapids 760.62 698.33 62.29 104.18 
Cottage Grove 554.97 554.97 0.00 0.00b 
Duluth 922.00 922.00 0.00 0.00 
Eagan 1,074.04 1,002.08 71.96 125.00 
Eden Prairie 765.53 729.33 36.20 50.00 
Edina 754.30 754.30 0.00 104.17 
Fridley 781.98 762.88 19.10 0.00 
Inver Grove Heights 876.91 724.59 152.32 0.00 
Lakeville 692.17 644.63 47.54 160.00 
Maple Grove 895.29 895.29 0.00 0,00 

Maplewoodc 795.08 795.08 0.00 158.33 
Minneapolis 723.00 627.00 96.00 90.00 
Minnetonka 992.00 992.00 0.00 0.00 
Oakdale 686.97 686.97 0.00 70.00 
Plymouth 731.44 731.44 0.00 187.50 
Prior Lake 501.38 455.74 45.64 0.00 
Ramsey 776.45 761.45 15.00 130.00 
Richfield 729.75 729.75 0.00 186.50 
Rochester 1,019.83 970.73 49.10 0.00 
Roseville 620.31 620.31 0.00 200.00 
St. Louis Park 903.90 898.90 5.00 0.00 
St. Paul 836.18 413.84 422.34 0.00 
Savage 733.70 683.70 50.00 0.00 
Shakopee 702.00 560.00 142.00 0.00 
White Bear Lake 646.00 513.21 132.79 0.00 
Woodbury 504.38 436.54 67.84 166.67 
Minnesota State Patrol 689.56 643.58 45.98 0.00 

NOTES:  Additional details on agency health insurance costs are in an appendix at the Office of the Legislative Auditor’s website.  We assumed that 
employees enrolled in dental coverage, although it is voluntary in some jurisdictions.  If a city’s insurance contribution exceeded the amount of the 
medical premium, we applied the remaining city contribution to dental (up to the full amount of the dental premium).  If employees had an option to 
enroll in a wellness program to get lower health insurance premiums, we assumed that they did so. 

a A Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) or Voluntary Employees Beneficiaries Association (VEBA) plan is funded by the employer to pay for health 

care costs that are not covered by the standard health insurance plan.  The amounts shown in this column include ongoing agency contributions to 
individuals’ HRAs or VEBAs.  Some cities use HRAs to pay for a portion of the employee’s health care expenses up to an insurance deductible limit, 
and those HRA expenditures are not reflected here.   

b The city made contributions to HRAs to help cover the cost of employees’ health insurance deductibles, and these contributions are not reflected here. 

c The rates shown are those for employees hired before January 1, 2013. 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of information provided by individual cities and the Minnesota Department of 
Management and Budget. 
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Post-Retirement Health Care Benefits 

In general, law enforcement employees—like other people—become eligible for 

Medicare when they turn age 65.8  Individuals who started a law enforcement career 

at age 22 (after completing a four-year college degree) and who retire from law 

enforcement 33 years later (at age 55) could have as long as 10 years without 

employer-based health insurance before they could enroll in Medicare.9 

State troopers can qualify for early retirement incentives that help cover 
the cost of post-retirement health insurance.  These same incentives were 
not typically available to the city police officers included in our review. 

State employees who retire prior to age 65 may choose to continue purchasing health 

insurance through the State of Minnesota after retirement.  As a general rule, retired 

state employees are responsible for paying the full cost of premiums for this 

insurance—in contrast to current state employees, for whom the State of Minnesota 

pays a large share (the “employer share”) of the insurance cost.10   

However, under the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association contract for fiscal years 

2018-2019, certain retired state troopers qualified for up to ten years of state-paid 

employer contributions toward their health insurance premium.  The contract specified 

various conditions that an employee had to meet to qualify for this early retirement 

incentive.  But a state trooper meeting these conditions who was age 55 or older could 

retire and have the State of Minnesota pay for the employer portion of health and dental 

family coverage until the former trooper reached age 65.11  The retiree would be 

required to pay the remaining portion (the “employee share”) of the insurance premium 

during this time.  This is a retirement benefit of potentially significant value.  For 

example, in 2021, the employer’s share of a retired state trooper’s family health 

insurance coverage would be about $1,905 per month, or nearly $23,000 for the year.  

In 2021, the employer’s share of a retired state trooper’s family dental coverage would 

be about $67 per month, or just over $800 for the year.  

                                                      

8 Some people—such as persons with disabilities—can qualify for Medicare before age 65. 

9 We used the example of a 33-year law enforcement career because—under state law, and as we discuss in 

Chapter 3—the amount of many officers’ retirement annuities will be based on up to 33 years of service. 

10 The most recent contract for state law enforcement employees says that employees covered by the 

agreement who are scheduled to work at least 75 percent of full-time are eligible to receive the full 

employer contribution to health insurance.  The contract said that, for employee medical coverage, the 

employer shall contribute 95 percent of the employee-only premium of the Minnesota Advantage Health 

Plan.  The contract said that, for dependent medical coverage, the employer shall contribute 85 percent of 

the dependent premium. 

11 “Agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association and the State of Minnesota, July 1, 

2017 through June 30, 2019,” said:  “Employees eligible to receive an Employer contribution for health 

and dental insurance shall continue to receive the coverage to which the employee was entitled at the time 

of retirement until he/she reaches age sixty-five….”  For employees who meet the conditions specified in 

the contract, “the Employer shall pay the full Employer contribution…toward health and dental insurance 

coverage for the employee and his/her dependents until the employee reaches age 65...” (p. 70).  If the 

State of Minnesota had been paying the employer share of post-retirement family health insurance 

premiums for a retiree who dies, there is no provision for continued payment of the employer share on 

behalf of the retiree’s surviving family members. 
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We reviewed the 2019 police department contracts in 33 cities to determine how, if at 

all, those contracts provided for post-retirement health insurance.12  We saw only five 

cities in which—similar to the practice for state troopers—the employer paid for 

portions of retired police officers’ health insurance premiums: 

 Brooklyn Center’s contract said that retirees would receive the same insurance 

options and level of city contribution for insurance coverage as provided by the 

city for nonunion employees. 

 Coon Rapids’ contract said that police officers hired before March 1, 2007, who 

retire with 20 years of service to the city, would qualify for the city to pay the 

employer share of employee-only insurance coverage for, at most, ages 55 to 65. 

 Duluth’s contract said that police officers hired before December 31, 2006, 

qualified to continue to receive the city’s health insurance coverage after 

retirement and until age 65.  For persons who served the city for 20 or more 

years, the city agreed to bear the full cost of the insurance.  For those who 

served between 5 and 19 years, the employer share was between 25 and 

95 percent. 

 Eagan’s contract said that police officers who retire with at least 15 years of 

service could receive the same city contribution to health insurance that active 

employees receive.  However, the contract said this benefit was not available to 

officers hired on or after January 1, 2018. 

 St. Paul’s contract said police officers hired on or before July 1, 2005, who 

retire with at least 20 years of service would be eligible to receive city payments 

for post-retirement health insurance.  For example, those who retire before age 

65 could qualify to receive maximum city payments of $300 or $350 per month, 

depending on their hiring date, toward the cost of employee-only or family 

health insurance.  For employees hired after July 1, 2005, the city agreed to pay 

$375 per year per employee into an employer-maintained “post employment 

health plan” rather than paying a portion of retiree insurance costs. 

Rather than paying directly for a share of retirees’ health insurance costs, most cities 

have created post-retirement “health care savings plans”—authorized by state law and 

administered by the Minnesota State Retirement System—that employees can use in 

retirement to help offset health care costs.13  For the 33 cities whose police contracts we 

reviewed, we saw references to health care savings plans in the contracts of 27 cities.14   

Cities varied in the way that these post-retirement health care savings plans were 

funded, including different types of employer and employee contributions.  Most cities 

(24) with such plans had contract provisions for converting to the post-retirement 

                                                      

12 We generally did not obtain city policies other than those agreed to in the employer bargaining unit 

contracts.   

13 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352.98. 

14 The cities whose police contracts did not specifically reference post-retirement health care savings plans 

were Eden Prairie, Fridley, Minnetonka, Oakdale, Richfield, and Woodbury.  It is possible those cities 

participate in health care savings plans but did not mention the plans in their contracts. 



22 Law Enforcement Compensation 

 

account the employee’s unused vacation hours, sick hours, compensatory time, or other 

severance pay at the time of retirement.  Some cities had provisions for ongoing 

contributions of specified portions of current employees’ sick time, vacation time, or 

compensatory time to the post-retirement account.15  Fifteen cities had provisions for 

ongoing deductions from the employee’s salary (or ongoing employer contributions of 

salary-related amounts), which were then deposited into the post-retirement account.  

The Duluth police contract had a unique provision among the contracts we reviewed; it 

required the city to make a $12,000 one-time deposit into certain employees’ health 

care savings accounts.16  

Minnesota state troopers also have had contract provisions for contributions to a 

post-retirement health care savings plan, administered by the Minnesota State 

Retirement System.  The trooper contract in effect during 2019 said employees eligible 

to receive severance pay would typically have all of that amount deposited into a health 

care savings plan at retirement, rather than getting a cash payout.  Likewise, the contract 

said that employees eligible to receive payment for unused vacation upon separation 

from employment would generally have all of that amount deposited into a health care 

savings plan. 

It is noteworthy that the state trooper contract provided both for a post-retirement health 

care savings plan and for the State of Minnesota to pay the employer share of certain 

troopers’ post-retirement health insurance costs.  While the specific provisions of 

various jurisdictions’ post-retirement health care savings plans are complex and defy 

easy comparison, the fact that the state troopers have such a plan in combination with 

employer contributions to post-retirement health insurance is different from the usual 

practice in cities we examined. 

 

                                                      

15 Some cities’ contracts had provisions for both (1) ongoing contributions of sick time, vacation time, or 

comp time to the health care savings accounts and (2) conversion to the post-retirement accounts of 

unused vacation hours, sick hours, compensatory time, or other severance pay at the time of retirement. 

16 This deposit was available to employees hired on or after January 1, 2007, who had worked 

continuously for the city for at least three years. 



 

 

Chapter 3:  Retirement Provisions 

aw enforcement officers who work a specified number of years become “vested,” 

meaning they qualify for full or partial pensions once they reach a certain age.  For 

example, a Minnesota state trooper becomes vested after ten years of service.  Vested 

members can receive full retirement benefits at age 55, or they can receive reduced 

retirement benefits starting at age 50.1 

This chapter discusses the shares of employee wages that local and state law 

enforcement officers must contribute toward their pensions.  In addition, we discuss 

the methods of calculating pension benefits for law enforcement officers, and whether 

these methods differ for city police officers and state troopers.  This chapter does not 

discuss post-employment provisions for law enforcement officer health insurance, 

which we discussed in Chapter 2. 

Introduction 

In the jurisdictions we examined, employers and employee unions negotiate the salaries 

and some other benefits provided to law enforcement officers.2  In contrast, retirement 

benefits for law enforcement officers are, to a large extent (as they are for other public 

employees), determined by state law and managed by statewide organizations.  The 

Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS) administers retirement plans for state 

employees (including state troopers), employees of the Metropolitan Council, and many 

non-faculty employees in the state’s public higher education systems.  MSRS pays 

benefits to more than 44,000 retirees and surviving beneficiaries of retirees.  The Public 

Employees Retirement Association (PERA) administers the statewide retirement system 

for county, city, and other local employees—including local police officers—and it 

pays benefits to more than 100,000 retirees, surviving beneficiaries, and disabled 

members.  State laws govern certain aspects of these retirement systems, but MSRS and 

PERA also have statewide boards that set policies, hear appeals, and oversee retirement 

plan administration. 

State law sets mandatory retirement ages for some law enforcement officers.  The law 

requires Minnesota state troopers to retire at age 60.3  State law establishes a mandatory 

retirement age of 65 for police officers in what the law defines as “cities of the first 

class” (Minneapolis, St. Paul, Duluth, and Rochester).4  State law allows other cities, 

where applicable, to retain policies that were in effect on March 3, 1983, that set 

compulsory retirement ages for police officers at age 65 or above.5  

                                                      

1 Under the Public Employees Retirement Association plan for local police and fire employees, members 

become vested after three, five, or ten years of service, depending on when they were hired.  These 

individuals are eligible for full retirement benefits at age 55, and they may qualify for reduced levels of 

benefits starting at age 50. 

2 Employees in all of the city law enforcement agencies we examined are represented by unions certified 

by the Minnesota Bureau of Mediation Services. 

3 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 43A.34, subd. 4. 

4 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 423.075, subd. 1. 

5 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 423.076. 

L 
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It is worth noting that Minnesota law enforcement officers have different Social 

Security provisions than most people.  Minnesota police officers who are members of 

the PERA Police and Fire Plan and state troopers who are members of the MSRS State 

Patrol Retirement Plan do not pay into Social Security, nor are they covered by Social 

Security benefits.6 

Retirement Contributions 

Pension plan revenues come from ongoing contributions by employees and their 

employers, as well as the return on investments of those funds over time.   

In recent years, Minnesota state troopers have paid a larger share of their 
salaries toward pensions than have city police officers. 

Exhibit 3.1 shows trends in the “employee share”—that is, the percentage of 

employees’ current salaries—that employees have been required to pay toward the 

retirement plans of state troopers and the local police officers we examined. 

As shown in Exhibit 3.1, state troopers and local police officers at the beginning of 2009 

paid similar percentages of their salaries toward pensions:  9.8 percent in the case of 

troopers, and 9.4 percent in the case of city police officers.  That gap widened over the 

past decade.  In the first half of 2020, state troopers paid 14.9 percent of their salaries 

toward retirement, while city police officers paid 11.3 percent.  Under Minnesota law, the 

employee contribution for state troopers increased further in July 2020 to 15.4 percent of 

salary.7  The effect of the pattern shown in Exhibit 3.1 is that a state trooper would have 

less take-home pay than a police officer with an identical salary, without considering how 

factors other than retirement contributions (such as the cost of current health care 

benefits) might affect take-home pay. 

The amount contributed to pensions by the employers of law enforcement officers also 

increased over the past decade, as shown in Exhibit 3.2.  As in the case of employee 

contributions, the employer contributions toward pensions—as a share of employee 

salaries—were fairly similar in January 2009 for state troopers and local police officers.  

At that time, the State of Minnesota contributed 14.6 percent of state trooper wages, and 

cities contributed 14.1 percent of local police officer wages.  Over the past decade, the 

State of Minnesota’s share of trooper pensions increased; it was 26.1 percent in the first 

part of 2020.  In contrast, the employer share for local police grew to 17.7 percent by 

the first part of 2020. 

                                                      

6 According to PERA, “These employees are exempt from mandatory Social Security because of their 

membership in a qualifying public retirement system.  The employees do not have Social Security coverage 

under a Section 218 Agreement because Minnesota Statutes Chapter 355 prohibits it.”  (Public Employees 

Retirement Association, “Social Security for Government Employers,” https://mnpera.org/employers/social 

-security/, accessed January 27, 2021.)  States can voluntarily enter into Section 218 agreements with the 

federal Social Security Administration, as authorized in Section 218 of the federal Social Security Act. 

7 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352B.02, subd. 1a(a). 
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Exhibit 3.1:  Employee Shares of State Trooper and City 
Police Pensions, January 2009 through June 2020 

Percentage of Wages 

 

SOURCES:  Minnesota State Retirement Association and Public Employees Retirement Association. 

Exhibit 3.2:  Employer Shares of State Trooper and City 
Police Pensions, January 2009 through June 2020 

Percentage of Wages 

 

SOURCES:  Minnesota State Retirement Association and Public Employees Retirement Association.  
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As with employee contributions, 

the increase in the State of 

Minnesota contributions to 

trooper pensions has been driven 

by statutory requirements.  Since 

July 1, 2018, the Department of 

Public Safety has been required 

by law to pay a “supplemental 

employer contribution,” in 

addition to a regular employer 

contribution mandated in law.  As shown in the box, the supplemental contribution started 

at 1.75 percent of employee salary, but it increased to 3 percent on July 1, 2019, and 5 

percent on July 1, 2020.  It will increase to 7 percent in July 2021.  According to statute,  

The supplemental [employer] contribution rate of seven percent [that 

will become effective July 1, 2021] remains in effect until the market 

value of the assets of the State Patrol retirement plan of the Minnesota 

State Retirement System equals or exceeds that actuarial accrued 

liability of the plan as determined by the [actuarial assessment required 

by state law].8  

Benefit Calculations 

We also examined the methods that are prescribed in state law for computing the 

retirement benefits paid to state troopers and local police officers. 

State law prescribes identical methods for computing the retirement 
benefits for state troopers and local police officers hired in recent years, 
but there are differences in these methods for officers that were hired in 
earlier years. 

The box at right shows the 

calculation that is, as a general 

rule, used to determine the 

retirement annuity for a law 

enforcement officer.  The starting 

point is what the law calls 

“average salary”; this is defined in 

law as a person’s highest average 

salary over five successive years of 

employment, and it is sometimes 

called the “high-five average 

salary.”9  As shown in the box, the percentage of the high-five average salary a person receives 

as a retirement annuity is calculated by multiplying years of service by 3.0.10   

                                                      

8 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352B.02, subd. 1c(d). 

9 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352B.011, subd. 4; and 353.01, subd. 17a. 

10 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 353.651, subds. 3 and 5; 352B.11, subd. 4; and 352B.08, subd. 2. 

Calculation of Law Enforcement  
Officer Retirement Annuities 

High-five salary  𝑥  [Years of service  𝑥  3.0] percent* = Annuity 

Example: 

High-five average salary:       $70,000 
             Years of service:       30 
     $70,000 𝑥 90 percent  =  $63,000 annuity 
 
* If years of service exceeds 33, there may be a 99 percent cap applied to the 
percentage calculated in the bracket. 

Employer Regular and Supplemental Pension 
Contributions (as a Percentage of Wages) 

Effective Dates Regular Supplemental Total 

7/1/2018 – 6/30/2019 22.35% 1.75% 24.10% 
7/1/2019 – 6/30/2020 23.10 3.00 26.10 
7/1/2020 – 6/30/2021 23.10 5.00 28.10 
7/1/2021 –  23.10 7.00 30.10 

SOURCE:  Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352B.02, subd. 1c. 
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State law provides that—except as otherwise specified—law enforcement officers 

cannot receive a retirement annuity of more than 99 percent of their high-five salary.11  
Thus, under current law, a recently hired law enforcement officer who works 34 years in 

their job before retiring would receive 99 percent of his or her high-five salary—not 

102 percent (34 times 3.0). 

However, the law also specifies exceptions to the 99 percent cap.  For state troopers, 

the cap does not pertain to retired or currently employed individuals with the following 

two characteristics:  (1) had at least 28 years of service prior to July 1, 2013, and 

(2) tenure as a trooper exceeded (or will exceed) 33 years at retirement.12  For local 

police officers, the 99 percent cap does not apply to retired or currently employed 

individuals with the following two characteristics:  (1) enrolled in the public employees’ 

police and fire retirement plan on or before June 30, 2014, and (2) had (or will have) 

33 years of service at retirement.13  This means that some state troopers and police officers 

will continue to qualify for retirement annuities equal to 100 percent or more of their high-

five salaries.  However, the exemption from the 99 percent cap applies to a small share of 

current state troopers—specifically, those with at least 35 years of service as of July 2020.  

In contrast, the exemption from the cap applies to what is likely a sizable share of current 

city police officers—specifically, those hired before July 2014. 

The retirement annuities paid to retired law enforcement officers will 
depend partly on their salary histories, which reflect the different wage 
structures of their agencies. 

As noted above, state law prescribes that retirement annuities be computed using law 

enforcement officers’ high-five average salaries.14  In Chapter 1, we noted that the top 

salaries that may be earned by veteran police officers in the city police departments we 

examined were typically higher in 2019 than the top salaries for veteran state troopers.  If 

these 2019 salary differences were to persist over time, the high-five average salary of a 

retiring police officer in the cities we examined would typically be higher than the high-five 

average salary of a retiring state trooper.  This means that even when using the same 

method to compute law enforcement officers’ retirement annuities, a city police officer who 

retires after 30 years would—based on 2019 salary schedules—typically receive a larger 

retirement annuity than would a state trooper who retires after 30 years. 

                                                      

11 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352B.08, subd. 2; and 353.651, subd. 3.  The amounts computed in the 

standard formula are supplemented by “annual postretirement adjustments” (that is, increases) that are 

specified in Minnesota Statutes 2020, 356.415, subds. 1c and 1e. 

12 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352B.08, subd. 2(b). 

13 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 353.651, subd. 3(b). 

14 Minnesota Statutes 2020, 352B.011, subd. 4; and 353.01, subd. 17a. 



 

 

 



 
 

 

Chapter 4:  Other Benefits 

n this chapter, we look at forms of compensation other than wages, health insurance, 

and retirement benefits that could play a role in law enforcement officer recruitment 

or retention.  These include contract provisions for providing officers with uniforms or 

equipment, accrual of vacation leave, and accrual of sick leave. 

Payments for Uniforms and Equipment  

Law enforcement agency contracts usually have provisions for officers’ uniforms and 

equipment.  Such provisions may provide compensation that is not reflected in the 

officers’ base wages. 

For the most part, the State Patrol and local police departments pay for 
officer uniforms and equipment—either by providing these items without 
cost to the employee or through an annual payment to officers. 

Of the 33 city police departments for which we collected information for 2019, 21 

provided their uniformed officers with an annual “allowance” to help employees cover 

the cost of work-required clothing (and typically certain equipment items, too).  For 

regular uniformed police officers in 20 of these cities, the amount of the standard annual 

allowances ranged from $750 (White Bear Lake) to $1,481 (Chaska); see Exhibit 4.1.1  

One other city police department (Brooklyn Center) provided officers with a much 

smaller allowance ($155 per year) that was only intended to address the cost of 

maintenance for city-provided uniforms and equipment.  Chaska had the only police 

contract we reviewed that required officers to purchase their own duty weapons.  

While the intent of allowances is to compensate employees for the cost of purchasing 

and maintaining uniforms and equipment, the contracts we reviewed did not always 

restrict officers’ expenditures of these funds to this purpose.   

Ten of the city police departments we reviewed had contract provisions that said the 

employer was responsible for providing employees with the required uniforms and 

equipment.2  These cities were:  Blaine, Brooklyn Park, Burnsville, Eagan, Edina, 

Fridley, Minnetonka, Ramsey, Rochester, and St. Louis Park.  Also, as indicated in 

Exhibit 4.1, many of the departments that provided clothing allowances to police 

officers in 2019 did not do so in the initial period of the officers’ employment.  In these 

cases, the departments provided uniforms or clothing-related payments (other than the 

standard allowances) until the officers were eligible to receive the allowances. 

                                                      

1 Some police contracts had different clothing allowances for certain types of specialized officers, such as 

detectives or plain-clothes officers, but we only examined the allowances of patrol officers. 

2 In addition, departments that paid officers annual uniform and equipment allowances sometimes specified 

particular items—soft body armor, for example—that were the responsibility of the employer to provide. 

I 
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Exhibit 4.1:  Law Enforcement Uniform/Equipment Allowances, 2019 

Law Enforcement Agency 

Uniform/ 
Equipment 
Allowance Notes on Uniform/Equipment Allowances 

Apple Valley $1,050 Allowance starts after completion of probationary year.  Includes $950 for uniform 
and $100 for personal items lost, damaged, or destroyed while on duty. 

Bloomington 1,000 Allowance not paid during calendar year in which a new employee was hired.  
Every 15 years, employee can use $700 of the allowance toward purchase of a 
personally owned handgun. 

Brooklyn Center 155 This is an allowance for maintenance costs of city-provided items. 

Chaska 1,481 City provides certain items specified in the contract, but officers must purchase 
their own duty weapons.  Officers are eligible for the allowance after 12 months of 
service and completion of probation. 

Coon Rapids 870 Employees are eligible for standard uniform allowance after 24 months, but new 
employees receive $1,850 “initial issue allowance.” 

Cottage Grove 850 Employees are eligible for uniform allowance one year after hiring date. 

Eden Prairie 1,000 New employees begin receiving an allowance the calendar year after they are 
hired. 

Inver Grove Heights 890 or 1,000 Employees could receive $890 in a cash payment or have $1,000 credited to an 
account for purchases through city-approved vendors. 

Lakeville 900 Allowance starts in third year of employment. 

Maple Grove 920 Employees are eligible for allowance starting in second year. 

Maplewood 900 Allowances are available for non-probationary employees. 

Minneapolis 1,100 New employees are eligible for the allowance on the third anniversary of their 
employment, but they may be reimbursed for clothing or equipment purchases 
before then. 

Oakdale 1,050 Allowance includes $800 for uniform and equipment and $250 for footwear.  Not 
included in the allowance shown is a $600 allowance for purchase, operation, and 
insurance of a mobile communication device. 

Plymouth 1,000 Allowance is available to employees who have completed a one-year probationary 
period. 

Prior Lake 1,012 Allowance is available to employees who have completed a one-year probationary 
period.   

Richfield 865 First-year employees on probation are not eligible for the allowance. 

Roseville 897 Employees are not eligible for the allowance during their first six months.   

St. Paul 995 Allowance is updated annually based on cost studies. 

Shakopee 900  

White Bear Lake 750  

Woodbury 890 Allowance is available after an 18-month probationary period. 

Minnesota State Patrol 150 This is an annual allowance “for necessary uniform items not furnished by 
the Employer.” 

NOTE:  This exhibit includes only those departments whose contracts provided law enforcement officers with payments—other than wages—for 
covering the cost of uniforms or equipment, in whole or in part. 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, based on review of Minnesota Department of Public Safety and city police department contracts. 
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The police department contracts in two cities (Duluth and Savage) said that officers’ 

regular wages had been adjusted to cover the cost of uniforms, without a separate 

clothing allowance.  The Duluth contract said:  “The pay provided for in the appendix, 

and in this agreement, includes an amount to compensate the Employees for the 

expense of maintaining uniforms and suitable clothing required by the Employer.”3  

Likewise, the Savage contract said:  “The Monthly Pay provided in this Agreement 

includes an amount to compensate Employees for their expense of purchasing and 

maintaining uniforms and suitable clothing required by the Employer.”4 

The State Patrol contract said:  “The Employer shall furnish such articles of clothing 

specified by the Employer as part of the uniform.”5  As indicated in Exhibit 4.1, state 

troopers were given a $150 annual allowance “for necessary uniform items not 

furnished by the Employer.”6  The contract also said that proper maintenance of 

uniforms was the employee’s responsibility.  

Vacation Leave Accrual 

We examined the rates at which law enforcement officers accrued time in 2019 that 

could be used for vacations.  For each agency, we identified (1) the amount of hours of 

vacation leave given to a starting officer each month and (2) the maximum amount of 

vacation leave that an officer could receive per month over time.7 

Some agencies had leave provisions that did not allow for direct comparison with 

agencies that provided vacation leave.  For example, some agencies provided “flexible 

leave” or “annual leave,” which could be used by employees who were sick, injured, on 

vacation, or taking other types of personal leave.  Generally, the amount of monthly 

hours provided to employees for this type of multipurpose leave was more than the 

monthly hours provided to officers in other agencies solely for vacation. 

Minnesota state troopers received more generous starting and maximum 
vacation leave than officers in most of the city police departments we 
examined. 

Exhibit 4.2 shows the minimum and maximum amounts of vacation leave in the 

agencies we reviewed.  Note that the exhibit excludes instances in which agencies 

offered only “flexible leave” or “annual leave” plans that could be used for types of 

leave in addition to vacation.  

                                                      

3 “Agreement between the City of Duluth and Duluth Police Union, Local 807, 2018-2020,” January 14, 2019, 

12.  Although the contract specified no separate “uniform allowance,” it established a committee that could 

consider circumstances in which the city should provide officers with uniforms or uniform replacements. 

4 “Labor Agreement between Law Enforcement Labor Services, Inc., Local No. 54, Patrol Division, and 

the City of Savage, January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2020,” 20. 

5 “Agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association and the State of Minnesota, July 1, 

2017 through June 30, 2019,” 6. 

6 Ibid. 

7 We did not examine contract provisions that placed limits on the accumulated amount of vacation leave 

an officer could have at a given time.  We also did not compare agencies on the number of years of 

employment required to reach the maximum number of vacation hours per month. 
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Exhibit 4.2:  Starting and Maximum Vacation Leave Accrual per Month, 2019 

Law Enforcement Agency 

Starting 
Hours of 

Vacation Leave 
per Month 

Maximum 
Hours of 

Vacation Leave 
per Month 

Apple Valleya NA NA 
Blaine 6.7 16.7 
Bloomington 7.0 18.0 
Brooklyn Center 6.7 13.3 
Brooklyn Park 6.7 12.7 
Burnsville 8.0 16.7 
Chaskaa 6.7 16.7 
Coon Rapidsa 6.7 16.7 
Cottage Grovea NA NA 
Duluth 6.7 17.3 
Eagan 6.7 15.3 
Eden Prairiea NA NA 
Edina 6.7 14 
Fridleya NA NA 
Inver Grove Heights 6.7 15.3 
Lakeville 8.0 16.7 
Maple Grove 8.0 16.7 

NOTE:  NA means Not Applicable. 

a Vacation leave and sick leave were provided through a combined “annual leave,” “personal leave,” or “paid time off” category.  In 
Oakdale, employees hired after January 1, 2013, received “annual leave” instead of vacation and sick leave; others could opt to 

receive annual leave. 

b These leave accrual hours only applied to employees hired before May 2001.  Since then, new employees have been required to accrue “annual 

leave” instead of separate vacation or sick leave. 

c Maximum leave accrued for officers hired after January 1, 1998, was 13.3 hours per month. 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, review of law enforcement agency contracts in effect during 2019. 

In the agencies we examined, the most common amount of vacation time accrued by 

starting officers was 6.7 hours per month.  The most common maximum amount of 

vacation time accrued by officers was 16.7 hours per month. 

The amount of vacation earned per month by newly hired state troopers (8.7 hours) was 

second only to the amount earned by newly hired St. Paul police officers (10.0 hours).  

The maximum vacation leave earned per month by state troopers (19.5 hours, after 

30 years of service) was the highest rate of vacation leave accrual among the agencies 

we examined. 

Sick Leave Accrual 

We examined the rates at which law enforcement officers accrued leave time in 2019 that 

could be used for sickness, injury, or other health-related issues.  For each agency, we 

Law Enforcement Agency 

Starting 
Hours of 

Vacation Leave 
per Month 

Maximum 
Hours of 

Vacation Leave 
per Month 

Maplewoodb 6.7 16.7 
Minneapolis 8.0 17.3 
Minnetonkac 6.7 16.7 
Oakdalea 6.7 16.0 
Plymouth 8.3 15.9 
Prior Lake 6.7 16.7 
Ramsey 6.7 16.7 
Richfield 8.0 16.0 
Rochester 6.7 16.7 
Roseville 6.7 13.3 
St. Louis Parka NA NA 
St. Paul 10.0 18.0 
Savage 6.7 16.7 
Shakopee 6.7 16.7 
White Bear Lake 6.7 13.3 
Woodbury 6.7 13.3 
Minnesota State Patrol 8.7 19.5 

 



Other Benefits 33 

 

 

identified (1) the amount of hours of sick leave given to a starting officer each month and 

(2) the maximum amount of sick leave that an officer could receive per month.8   

For most city police departments that provided sick leave as a separate 
category, officers accrued 8.0 hours of sick leave per month.  In contrast, 
Minnesota state troopers accrued 8.7 hours per month. 

Exhibit 4.3 shows sick leave accrual rates by agency. 

Exhibit 4.3:  Starting and Maximum Sick Leave Accrual per Month, 2019 

Law Enforcement Agency 

Starting 
Hours of 

Sick Leave 
per Month 

Maximum 
Hours of 

Sick Leave 
per Month 

Apple Valleya NA NA 
Blaine 8.0 8.0 
Bloomingtona NA NA 
Brooklyn Center 8.0 8.0 
Brooklyn Park 8.0 8.0 
Burnsville 8.0 8.0 
Chaskab 8.0 8.0 
Coon Rapids 8.0 8.0 
Cottage Grovea NA NA 
Duluthc NA NA 
Eagan 8.0 8.0 
Eden Prairiea NA NA 
Edina 8.0 8.0 
Fridleya NA NA 
Inver Grove Heights 8.0 8.0 
Lakeville 8.0 8.0 
Maple Grove 8.0 8.0 

NOTE:  NA means Not Applicable. 

a Sick leave was part of a broader “flexible leave,” “annual leave,” “paid time off,” or “personal leave” category that could be used for more than just 

illness or injury. 

b As an alternative to sick leave, officers could choose to receive “personal leave” that could be used for either vacation or sick time. 

c Employees did not accrue sick leave based on hours worked.  Rather, the city provided each employee up to 60 days of paid sick leave per year; 

these were not “banked” or carried over from year to year. 

d The leave accrual hours shown only applied to employees hired before May 2001.  Since then, new employees were required to accrue “annual 

leave” instead of separate vacation or sick leave. 

e Employees hired after January 1, 2013, received “annual leave” instead of vacation and sick leave; others could opt to receive annual leave. 

f Employees received “disability leave”:  6-10 days per year for short-term disability, plus mid-term and long-term disability coverage. 

SOURCE:  Office of the Legislative Auditor, review of law enforcement agency contracts in effect during 2019. 

                                                      

8 We did not examine contract provisions that placed limits on the amount of accumulated sick leave an 

officer could have at a given time, nor did we examine contract provisions for converting accumulated 

sick time to other types of compensation. 

Law Enforcement Agency 

Starting 
Hours of 

Sick Leave 
per Month 

Maximum 
Hours of 

Sick Leave 
per Month 

Maplewoodd 10.0 10.0 
Minneapolis 8.0 8.0 
Minnetonka 8.0 8.0 
Oakdalee 8.0 8.0 
Plymouthf NA NA 
Prior Lake 8.0 8.0 
Ramsey 8.0 8.0 
Richfielda 6.5 6.5 
Rochester 8.0 8.0 
Roseville 8.0 8.0 
St. Louis Parka NA NA 
St. Paul 8.0 8.0 
Savage 8.0 8.0 
Shakopee 8.0 8.0 
White Bear Lake 7.0 7.0 
Woodbury 8.0 8.0 
Minnesota State Patrol 8.7 8.7 
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As noted earlier, some agencies have combined sick leave and vacation leave into a 

broader category of “annual leave” or “flexible leave,” and this leave may be taken at 

the discretion of the employee.  Richfield’s “personal leave” provides an even broader 

category of leave that includes sick leave, but officers may use personal leave for any 

purpose.  The accrual rates of agencies with these types of broad categories of leave are 

not directly comparable to the accrual rates of agencies that separately provide sick 

leave and vacation leave.   

There were fewer variations in sick leave accrual than there were for vacation leave 

accrual.  In general, officers with long tenures in a law enforcement agency received the 

same amount of sick leave as officers with shorter tenures.9  Most officers—regardless 

of agency—accrued sick leave at a rate of eight hours per month.  A small number of 

agencies had accrual rates that differed from this norm, ranging from 6.5 hours of sick 

leave per month (Richfield) to 10 hours per month (Maplewood, although the 10-hour 

accrual rate only applied to officers hired before May 2001). 

The Duluth Police Department had a different sick leave approach than other 

departments we reviewed.  Unlike departments in which officers accrued sick leave 

based on hours worked, the Duluth Police Department assigned officers a maximum 

amount of sick days per year.  The policy said:   

Effective the first day of the month following the date of hire, any 

Employee in the classified or unclassified service shall be granted up to 

60 working days of sick leave with full pay (paid sick leave) for each 

calendar year, except that such minimum requirement shall not be 

applicable in connection with any illness or injury arising out of and in 

the course of employment by the City.10 

The 60 days of sick leave could not be carried over from year to year.  However, the 

Duluth contract said that a labor-management committee could authorize—on an 

individual basis—paid sick leave for an additional 180 days per year beyond the 60-day 

cap specified above. 

Minnesota state troopers accrued sick leave on an ongoing basis, as did officers in all 

city police departments except Duluth.  In 2019, troopers accrued sick leave at a rate of 

8.7 hours per month.  That was a higher sick leave accrual rate than all but one 

(Maplewood) of the comparable city police departments we examined.  Although 

Duluth police officers did not accrue sick leave in the same manner that state troopers 

and other police officers did, it is worth noting that the amount of sick leave available 

per year under the Duluth contract (60 days, or 480 hours) was well above the amount 

of sick leave hours that a state trooper accrued during a year’s time (104 hours).  

                                                      

9 An exception was Plymouth, which provided officers with various levels of “disability leave” but did not 

have “sick leave” provisions.  According to the police contract for 2019, “Short term disability is credited 

annually on January 1 to each regular employee at a rate of 6 days (48 hours), 8 days (64 hours), or 

10 days (80 hours) based upon length of service to provide income continuation to the employee for illness 

or injuries which result in a work absence from one hour to two full work days in duration.” 

10 “Agreement between the City of Duluth and Duluth Police Union, Local 807, 2018-2020,” 

January 14, 2019, 23. 
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Internet: dps.mn.gov
	

February 11th, 2021 

Joel Alter-Director of Special Reviews 
Office of the Legislative Auditor 
140 Centennial Building 
658 Cedar Street, Saint Paul MN 55155 

Mr. Alter, 

Thank you for the opportunity to review the study you conducted on the compensation 
of State Patrol troopers. I am appreciative of the objective, comprehensive, and 
thorough research. It is my hope that your work and the resulting findings serve as a 
point of clarity for future discussions surrounding the important topic of compensation 
for our state law enforcement members. Compensation is a key in factor in our ability 
to both recruit and retain diverse candidates that ensures state law enforcement is 
reflective of all Minnesotans. 

Sincerely 

John M. Harrington 
Commissioner-Department of Public Safety 

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY
	
EMPLOYER
	

http:dps.mn.gov


 



 



 



For more information about OLA and to access its reports, go to:  https://www.auditor.leg.state.mn.us. 
 
To offer comments about our work or suggest an audit, evaluation, or special review, call  
651-296-4708 or email legislative.auditor@state.mn.us. 
 
To obtain printed copies of our reports or to obtain reports in electronic ASCII text, Braille, large print, 
or audio, call 651-296-4708.  People with hearing or speech disabilities may call through Minnesota 
Relay by dialing 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529. 
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