STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Michael Nelson called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 29, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Representative Petersburg moved that the March 25 minutes be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2236 (Boe) - Chanhassen; Trunk Highway 5 segment designated as Prince Rogers Nelson Memorial Highway.

Chair Nelson moved to lay over HF 2236 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Chair Nelson moved that the H2236A1 amendment be adopted. The AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Boe gave an overview of HF 2236 as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 2236

Mark Webster Bob Finn Mitch Maguire

Chair Nelson laid over HF 2236, as amended.

HF3456 (Koznick) - Lakeville; freight rail care storage facility project funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Nelson moved to lay over HF 3456 for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Koznick gave an overview of HF 3456.

Public Testimony on HF 3456

Justin Miller, City Administrator of Lakeville

Chair Nelson laid over HF 3456.

Federal Funds Local Assistance Program

Vice-Chair Koegel gave an overview on the Federal Funds Local Assistance Program.

Public Testimony

Kristine Elwood, MnDOT John Apitz, Minnesota Regional Railroads Association

Governor's revised supplemental budget recommendations for Transportation and update on IIJA funding proposal

Cassandra O'Hern, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Public Safety Jordan Haltaufderheid, Department of Public Safety Mike Hanson, Director, Office of Traffic Safety, Department of Public Safety Nancy Daubenberger, Interim Commissioner, MnDOT Nick Thompson, Metro Transit, Metropolitan Council

Chair Nelson adjourned the meeting at 2:34pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant