1.1 ARTICLE 1

2	BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY
1.2	DANDERING AND COSMETOEOGI

1.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.001, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Board of Barber Examiners.** (a) A Board of Barber Examiners is established to consist of four barber members and one public member, as defined in section 214.02, appointed by the governor.
- (b) The barber members shall be persons who have practiced as registered barbers in this state for at least five years immediately prior to their appointment; shall be graduates from the 12th grade of a high school or have equivalent education, and shall have knowledge of the matters to be taught in registered barber schools, as set forth in section 154.07. One of the barber members shall be a member of, or recommended by, a union of journeymen barbers that has existed at least two years, and one barber member shall be a member of, or recommended by, a professional organization of barbers.
- 1.14 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.003, is amended to read:
- 1.15 **154.003 FEES.**

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

- 1.16 (a) The fees collected, as required in this chapter, chapter 214, and the rules of the board,
  1.17 shall be paid to the board. The board shall deposit the fees in the general fund in the state
  1.18 treasury.
- (b) The board shall charge the following fees:
- 1.20 (1) examination and certificate, registered barber, \$85;
- 1.21 (2) retake of written examination, \$10;
- 1.22 (3) examination and certificate, instructor, \$180;
- 1.23 (4) certificate, instructor, \$65;
- 1.24 (5) temporary teacher permit, \$80;
- (6) temporary registered barber, military, \$85;
- 1.26 (7) temporary barber instructor, military, \$180;
- 1.27 (8) renewal of registration, registered barber, \$80;
- 1.28 (9) renewal of registration, instructor, \$80;
- (10) renewal of temporary teacher permit, \$65;
- 1.30 (11) student permit, \$45;

- 2.1 (12) renewal of student permit, \$25;
- 2.2 (13) initial shop registration, \$85;
- 2.3 (14) initial mobile barber shop registration, \$150;
- 2.4 (14) (15) initial school registration, \$1,030;
- 2.5 (15) (16) renewal shop registration, \$85;
- 2.6 (16) (17) renewal school registration, \$280;
- 2.7 (18) renewal mobile barber shop registration, \$100;
- 2.8 (17) (19) restoration of registered barber registration, \$95;
- 2.9 (18) (20) restoration of shop registration, \$105;
- 2.10 (19) (21) change of ownership or location, \$55;
- 2.11 (22) restoration of mobile barber shop registration, \$120;
- 2.12  $\frac{(20)}{(23)}$  duplicate registration, \$40;
- 2.13  $\frac{(21)}{(24)}$  home study course, \$75;
- 2.14 (22) (25) letter of registration verification, \$25; and
- (23) (26) reinspection, \$100.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.01, is amended to read:

#### 154.01 REGISTRATION MANDATORY.

- (a) The registration of the practice of barbering serves the public health and safety of the people of the state of Minnesota by ensuring that individuals seeking to practice the profession of barbering are appropriately trained in the use of the chemicals, tools, and implements of barbering and demonstrate the skills necessary to conduct barber services in a safe, sanitary, and appropriate environment required for infection control.
- 2.23 (b) No person shall practice, offer to practice, or attempt to practice barbering without
  2.24 a current certificate of registration as a registered barber, issued pursuant to provisions of
  2.25 sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to
  2.26 154.28 this chapter by the Board of Barber Examiners.
- 2.27 (c) A registered barber must only provide barbering services in a registered barber shop
  2.28 or, barber school, or mobile barber shop unless prior authorization is given by the board.

- (d) No person shall operate a barber shop unless it is at all times under the direct supervision and management of a registered barber and the owner or operator of the barber shop possesses a current shop registration card, issued to the barber shop establishment address, under sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28 by the Board of Barber Examiners.
- (e) No person shall serve, offer to serve, or attempt to serve as an instructor of barbering without a current certificate of registration as a registered instructor of barbering or a temporary permit as an instructor of barbering, as provided for the board by rule, issued under sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28 by the Board of Barber Examiners. Barber instruction must be provided in registered barber schools only.
- (f) No person shall operate a barber school unless the owner or operator possesses a current certificate of registration as a barber school, issued <del>under sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28</del> by the Board of Barber Examiners.
  - Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **What constitutes barbering.** Any one or any combination of the following practices when done upon the head, face, and neck for cosmetic purposes and not for the treatment of disease or physical or mental ailments and when done for payment directly or indirectly or without payment for the public generally constitutes the practice of barbering within the meaning of sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28 this chapter: to shave the face or neck using a straight razor or other tool, trim the beard, clean, condition, cut, color, shape, or straighten the hair of any person of either sex for compensation or other reward received by the person performing such service or any other person; to give facial and scalp massage with oils, creams, lotions, or other preparations either by hand or mechanical appliances; to singe, shampoo the hair, or apply hair tonics; or to apply cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, powders, oils, clays, or lotions to hair, scalp, face, or neck. The removal of hair through the process of waxing is not barbering.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Certificate of registration.** A "certificate of registration" means the certificate issued to an individual, a barber shop, or a barber school, or a mobile barber shop that is in

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

- 4.1 compliance with the requirements of sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.162,
- 4.2 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28 this chapter.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.02, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Designated registered barber.** The "designated registered barber" is a registered
- barber designated as the manager of a barber shop or a mobile barber shop.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
- 4.7 read:
- Subd. 7. **Mobile barber shop.** A "mobile barber shop" means a barber shop that is
- operated in a mobile vehicle or a mobile structure for the exclusive use of practicing barbering
- services performed by a registered barber in compliance with this chapter.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
- 4.12 read:
- Subd. 8. **Straight razor.** A razor with a rigid steel cutting blade or a replaceable blade
- that is hinged to a case that forms a handle when the razor is open for use.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
- 4.16 read:
- Subd. 9. **Waxing.** The process of removing hair from a part of the body by applying
- wax and peeling off the wax.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.05, is amended to read:
- 4.20 **154.05 WHO MAY RECEIVE CERTIFICATES OF REGISTRATION AS A**
- 4.21 **REGISTERED BARBER.**
- 4.22 (a) A person is qualified to receive a certificate of registration as a registered barber if
- 4.23 the person:
- 4.24 (1) has successfully completed ten grades of education is at least 17 years of age;
- 4.25 (2) has successfully completed 1,500 hours of study in a board-approved barber school;
- 4.26 and
- 4.27 (3) has passed an a comprehensive examination conducted by the board in accordance
- with section 154.09 to determine the person's fitness to practice barbering.

(b) A first-time applicant for a certificate of registration to practice as a registered barber
who fails to pass the comprehensive examination conducted by the board and who fails to
pass a onetime retake of the written examination, shall complete an additional 500 hours
of barber education before being eligible to retake the comprehensive examination as many
times as necessary to pass.

## Sec. 11. [154.052] MOBILE BARBER SHOPS.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5 5

5.6

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5 18

5.19

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

- 5.7 Subdivision 1. **Registration.** (a) No person may operate a mobile barber shop unless:
- (1) at all times, the mobile barber shop is under the direct supervision and management
   of a registered barber; and
- 5.10 (2) the owner or operator of the mobile barber shop possesses a current mobile barber 5.11 shop registration that was issued by the Board of Barber Examiners.
  - Subd. 2. Services and location reporting requirements. (a) A mobile barber shop is limited to providing only hair cutting and straight razor shave services.
    - (b) A mobile barber shop is subject to the barber shop requirements in this chapter and Minnesota Rules, except when this chapter or the rule conflicts with specific mobile barber shop requirements. Any reference to a barber shop in this chapter and in Minnesota Rules includes mobile barber shops, except when this chapter or the rule conflicts with specific mobile barber shop requirements.
    - (c) A mobile barber shop registration holder must:
- (1) maintain a permanent address for receiving correspondence and service of process
   and provide an address where the mobile barber shop is kept when the mobile barber shop
   is not in service;
  - (2) visibly display the name of the mobile barber shop and the mobile barber shop's registration number as shown on the registration certificate on at least one exterior side of the mobile barber shop;
  - (3) supply to the board the make, model, and vehicle identification and license plate number of any vehicle or mobile structure used as a mobile barber shop. Each mobile barber shop registration is valid for only one specific mobile vehicle or mobile structure;
    - (4) have a functioning phone available at all times;
- (5) submit to the board, on or before the first day of each month, the mobile barber shop's
   schedule of locations and times of operation during the month. The mobile barber shop

registratio	on holder must report any proposed changes to the schedule to the board via e-mail
at the beg	inning of the week during which the changes will occur; and
(6) cor	mply with the requirements of all federal, state, and local laws, rules, and
ordinance	<u>s.</u>
Subd.	3. Water and wastewater requirements. (a) A mobile barber shop must have
self-conta	ined water holding tanks with gauges that indicate the levels in the tanks and
reserve ca	pabilities. The water supply tanks must be integrated and plumbed into the
wastewate	er tanks or gray water tanks.
(b) A 1	nobile barber shop must have a potable water capacity of not less than 20 gallons
and a desi	gnated hose that the mobile barber shop only uses to fill the potable water tank.
(c) A 1	nobile barber shop must have available hot water in a capacity of not less than
five gallo	ns or hot water on demand.
(d) A 1	mobile barber shop must have a wastewater tank or gray water tank capacity that
	ent larger than the water supply holding tank.
(e) A r	mobile barber shop must not operate when:
(1) the	available potable water supply is insufficient to comply with the infection control
requireme	ents in this chapter and Minnesota Rules; or
(2) a ta	ank for wastewater, black water, or gray water is at 90 percent or greater capacity.
<u>(f)</u> A n	nobile barber shop must have a restroom in operating condition inside of the
mobile ba	rber shop that includes:
(1) an	installed hand sink with potable water;
(2) soa	np;
(3) sin	gle-use towels; and
(4) a se	elf-contained recirculating flush toilet with a holding tank or a properly maintained
compostir	ng toilet.
(g) A 1	mobile barber shop must discharge wastewater into a sanitary sewage system or
a sanitary	dumping station. When disposing of sewage and wastewater, a mobile barber
shop must	t comply with all federal, state, and local environmental and sanitary regulations.
(h) In a	addition to the sink required in the restroom, the mobile barber shop must have
at least on	e sink with hot and cold running water accessible to persons in the area where

7.1	the mobile barber shop provides services. Sinks must be permanently installed and connected
7.2	to the vehicle's or mobile structure's potable water supply and wastewater tanks.
7.3	Subd. 4. Electrical and power requirements. (a) If power for heating, air conditioning,
7.4	and other equipment is supplied by a generator, the generator must be properly vented
7.5	outside and all doors and windows must be closed when the generator is operating to avoid
7.6	exhaust entering the mobile barber shop. The generator must comply with all applicable
7.7	municipal noise ordinances.
7.8	(b) Liquefied petroleum gas systems installed in a mobile barber shop must comply with
7.9	the current edition of the National Fire Protection Association Standard No. 58 LP-Gas
7.10	Code as adopted under the State Fire Code. Use of portable heating units is prohibited.
7.11	(c) All heating and cooling systems must be factory installed and meet all state and
7.12	federal regulations for mobile vehicle or mobile structure heating and cooling.
7.13	(d) A mobile barber shop must have working alarms for carbon monoxide, smoke, and
7.14	combustible gas, either as single alarms or a combined alarm.
7.15	(e) All electrical wiring must comply with the State Electrical Code. Electrical equipment
7.16	plugged into outlets must be UL-listed and must comply with state and local fire codes.
7.17	Subd. 5. Safety, inspection, and infection control requirements. (a) In addition to the
7.18	safety and infection control requirements for barber shops in this chapter and Minnesota
7.19	Rules, a mobile barber shop must comply with the following requirements:
7.20	(1) a mobile barber shop must not provide services unless the mobile barber shop is
7.21	parked with the engine off, stable, and leveled. The mobile barber shop must use stabilizing
7.22	jacks when it is recommended by the manufacturer's instructions for the vehicle or mobile
7.23	structure. The mobile barber shop must use at least two wheel chocks when the mobile
7.24	barber shop is operating;
7.25	(2) a mobile barber shop must provide all services inside of the vehicle or mobile
7.26	structure;
7.27	(3) all hazardous substances in a mobile barber shop must be stored upright in secured
7.28	cabinets when the mobile barber shop is moving;
7.29	(4) a mobile barber shop must have a ventilation system that is sufficient to provide
7.30	fresh air in the mobile barber shop; and
7.31	(5) all moving parts, including slide outs, disability ramps, and steps in a mobile barber
7.32	shop must be in good working order.

(b) Any duly authorized employee of the Board of Barber Examiners has the authority to enter and inspect a mobile barber shop during normal business hours.

Subd. 6. Compliance with local government law. A mobile barber shop must comply with all city, township, and county ordinances regarding wastewater disposal, commercial motor vehicles, vehicle insurance, noise, signage, parking, commerce, business, and other local government requirements. A mobile barber shop owner must be informed about the requirements that apply to a mobile barber shop in each jurisdiction where the mobile barber shop operates and must ensure that the mobile barber shop complies with those requirements.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Admission requirements; course of instruction. No barber school shall be approved by the board unless it the barber school requires, as a prerequisite to admission, ten grades of an approved school or its equivalent, as determined by educational transcript, high school diploma, high school equivalency certificate, or an examination conducted by the commissioner of education, which shall issue a certificate that the student has passed the required examination, and unless it requires, as a prerequisite to graduation, a course of instruction of at least 1,500 hours of not more than ten hours of schooling in any one working day. The course of instruction must include the following subjects: scientific fundamentals for barbering; hygiene; practical study of the hair, skin, muscles, and nerves; structure of the head, face, and neck; elementary chemistry relating to sanitation; disinfection; sterilization and antiseptics; diseases of the skin, hair, and glands; massaging and manipulating the muscles of the face and neck; haircutting; shaving; trimming the beard; bleaching, tinting and dyeing the hair; and the chemical waving and straightening of hair.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.08, is amended to read:

### 154.08 APPLICATION; FEE.

- Subdivision 1. Application and fee requirements. Each applicant for an examination 8.25 shall: 8.26
- (1) make an application to the Board of Barber Examiners or a board-approved examination provider on blank forms prepared and furnished by it, the application to the board or the provider. The application must contain proof under the applicant's oath of the particular qualifications and identity of the applicant; 8.30
  - (2) provide all documentation required in support of the application;
- (3) pay to the board the required fee; and 8.32

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.27

8.28

8.29

(4) upon acceptance of the notarized application, present a corresponding
(4) upon acceptance of the notarized appreation, present a corresponding
government-issued photo identification when the applicant appears for the examination-;
and
(5) file an application with the board no later than the twentieth day of the month
preceding the month when the practical portion of the exam is administered.
Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.09, is amended to read:
154.09 EXAMINATIONS, CONDUCT AND SCOPE.
Subdivision 1. Examination dates. The board or a board-approved examination provider
shall conduct <u>practical</u> examinations of applicants for certificates of registration to practice
as registered barbers not more than six less than four times each year, at such time and place
as the board may determine. Additional Written examinations may be scheduled by the
board and conducted by board staff or a board-approved provider as designated by the board.
Subd. 2. Documentation required. The proprietor owner or operator of a barber school
must file an affidavit with the board of hours completed by students applying to take the
registered barber comprehensive examination. Students must complete the full 1,500-hour
curriculum in a barber school approved by the board within the past four years to be eligible
for examination. Barber students who have completed barber school more than four years
prior to application, that have not obtained a barber registration, license, or certificate in
any jurisdiction must complete an additional 500 hours of barber school education to be
eligible for the registered barber examination.
Subd. 3. Examinations for registration restoration. Registered barbers that fail An
individual who fails to renew their the individual's barber registration for four or more years

are is required to purchase and complete the "Home Study Course for Barbers" program that was prepared and approved by the board before the individual is eligible to take the registered barber comprehensive examination to reinstate the individual's registration.

Subd. 4. Examinations for individuals seeking reciprocity. An individual who must pass the comprehensive examination under section 154.11 must purchase and complete the "Home Study Course for Barbers" program that was prepared and approved by the board before the individual is eligible to take the comprehensive examination.

Subd. 5. Contents of examination. The comprehensive examination of applicants for certificates of registration as barbers shall include:

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

10.1	(1) a practical demonstration portion that consists of: a haircut, and three of the following
10.2	practical services that the board shall determine: shave, beard trim, shampoo, perm wrap,
10.3	facial, or color application; and
10.4	(2) a written test. The examination must cover portion that covers the subjects taught in
10.5	barber schools registered with the board, including as required by this chapter, applicable
10.6	state statute statutes, and rule rules.
10.7	Subd. 6. Examination grading. The comprehensive examination must be graded as
10.8	follows:
10.9	(1) the grading for the practical portion of the examination must be on a scale of one to
10.10	100, with 100 representing a perfect score. A score of 75 must be the minimum passing
10.11	grade for the haircut portion and 75 must be the minimum passing score for the average of
10.12	the remaining parts of the practical examination; and
10.13	(2) the grading criteria for the written portion of the examination and the passing grade
10.14	must be established by the board or a board-approved examination provider for each written
10.15	examination at the time of the examination's preparation. The lowest passing grade
10.16	established must not be less than 55.
10.17	Subd. 7. Failure of examination. (a) An individual who does not pass one portion of
10.18	the comprehensive examination within a year of passing the other portion of the
10.19	comprehensive examination must retake the entire comprehensive examination.
10.20	(b) An individual who has failed a portion of the comprehensive examination may retake
10.21	that portion of the examination within a year of passing the other portion after meeting the
10.22	requirements of this chapter, paying any required fees and making an application to the
10.23	board as required by section 154.08.
10.24	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
10.25	Subdivision 1. Examination of nonresidents. (a) A person who meets all of the
10.26	requirements for barber registration in sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to
10.27	154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28 this chapter and either has a currently
10.28	active license, certificate of registration, or equivalent as a practicing barber or instructor
10.29	of barbering as verified from another state or, if presenting foreign country credentials as
10.30	verified by a board-approved professional credential evaluation provider, which in the
10.31	discretion of the board has substantially the same requirements for registering barbers and
10.32	instructors of barbering as required by sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28 in this chapter shall, upon payment of the
required fee, be issued a certificate of registration without examination.

- (b) Individuals without a current documented license, certificate of registration, or equivalent, as verified in paragraph (a), must have a minimum of 1,500 hours of barber education as verified by the barber school attended in the other state or if presenting foreign country education as verified by a board-approved professional credential evaluation provider, completed within the previous four years, which, in the discretion of the board, has substantially the same requirements as required in sections 154.001, 154.002, 154.003, 154.01 to 154.162, 154.19 to 154.21, and 154.24 to 154.28 this chapter will be eligible for examination.
- 11.11 (c) Individuals unable to meet the requirements in paragraph (a) or (b) shall be subject to all the requirements of section 154.05.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 154.11, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4. Examination of cosmetologists. (a) A person may be credited with up to 1,000
  hours of study, which in the discretion of the board has curriculum requirements that are
  substantially similar to the requirements in section 154.07, toward the 1,500 hours of study
  required under section 154.05 if the person:
- (1) has a currently active license as a practicing cosmetologist and the license is verified
  by the issuing state; or
- (2) has a certificate of registration or equivalent as a practicing cosmetologist and the certificate is verified by the issuing state.
- (b) After a person with credited hours under paragraph (a) completes the remaining required hours in a board-approved barber school and meets the requirement of section 154.05, clause (1), the person is eligible for examination.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.20, is amended to read:

#### 11.27 **155A.20 BOARD OF COSMETOLOGIST EXAMINERS CREATED; TERMS.**

- 11.28 (a) A Board of Cosmetologist Examiners is established to consist of seven 11 members, 11.29 appointed by the governor as follows:
- 11.30 (1) two cosmetologists, one of whom is recommended by a professional association of cosmetologists, nail technicians, and estheticians;

12.1	(2) two school instructors, one of whom is teaching at a public cosmetology school in
12.2	the state and one of whom is teaching at a private cosmetology school in the state;
12.3	(3) one esthetician;
12.4	(4) one advanced practice esthetician;
12.5	(4) (5) one nail technician; and
12.6	(6) one hair technician; and
12.7	(5) one (7) three public member members, as defined in section 214.02.
12.8	(b) All cosmetologist, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, hair technician, and
12.9	nail technician members must be currently licensed in the field of cosmetology, advanced
12.10	practice esthiology, hair technology, nail technology, or esthetology, esthiology in Minnesota,
12.11	have practiced in the licensed occupation for at least five years immediately prior to their
12.12	appointment, be graduates from grade 12 of high school or have equivalent education, be
12.13	17 years of age or older, and have knowledge of sections 155A.21 to 155A.36 and Minnesota
12.14	Rules, chapters 2105 and 2110.
12.15	(c) Membership terms, compensation of members, removal of members, the filling of
12.16	membership vacancies, and fiscal year and reporting requirements shall be as provided in
12.17	sections 214.07 to 214.09. The provision of staff, administrative services, and office space;
12.18	the review and processing of complaints; the setting of board fees; and other provisions
12.19	relating to board operations shall be as provided in chapter 214.
12.20	(d) Members appointed to fill vacancies caused by death, resignation, or removal shall
12.21	serve during the unexpired term of their predecessors.
12.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
12.23	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
12.24	Subd. 8. Manager. A "manager" is any person who is a cosmetologist, esthetician,
12.25	advanced practice esthetician, hair technician, nail technician practitioner, or eyelash
12.26	technician practitioner, and who has a manager license and provides any services under that
12.27	license, as defined in subdivision 3.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023.

05/17/22 REVISOR BD/EE BD-COSMETOLOGY

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. **Instructor.** An "instructor" is any person employed by a school to prepare and present the theoretical and practical education of cosmetology to persons who seek to practice cosmetology. An instructor must maintain an active operator or manager's license in the area in which the instructor holds an instructor's license. While an instructor holds an active instructor license, the instructor's license as an operator or a salon manager in the same field is automatically renewed without fees with a term ending when the instructor license expires.

# **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
- Subd. 18. **Practitioner.** A "practitioner" is any person licensed <u>as an operator or manager</u> in the practice of cosmetology, esthiology, <u>advanced practice esthiology</u>, <u>hair technology</u> services, nail technology services, or eyelash technology services.
- 13.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 21. Hair technician. A "hair technician" is any person who, for compensation, performs personal services for the cosmetic care of hair on the scalp. Hair technician services include cutting hair and the application of dyes, bleach, reactive chemicals, keratin, or other preparations to color or alter the structure of hair. A person who only performs hairstyling as defined by subdivision 19 is not a hair technician.
- 13.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.23, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 22. Practical skills test. "Practical skills test" means a standardized, hands-on,
  board-approved test used to certify the competency of license applicants. The practical skills
  test must be administered in person at a licensed cosmetology school by an instructor licensed
  in the discipline of the test section being administered. Individuals who hold a Minnesota
  license and who return to school to complete an additional training course are only required
  to complete those sections of the practical skills test that are relevant to the training course
  and additional license sought. The passed test is valid for one year.

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.25, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

- Subd. 1a. **Schedule.** (a) The schedule for fees and penalties is as provided in this
- 14.3 subdivision.
- 14.4 (b) Three-year Four-year license fees are as follows:
- 14.5 (1) \$195 initial practitioner, manager, or instructor license, divided as follows:
- 14.6 (i) \$155 for each initial license; and
- 14.7 (ii) \$40 for each initial license application fee;
- 14.8 (2) \$115 renewal of practitioner license, divided as follows:
- (i) \$100 for each renewal license; and
- 14.10 (ii) \$15 for each renewal application fee;
- 14.11 (3) \$145 renewal of manager or instructor license, divided as follows:
- (i) \$130 for each renewal license; and
- 14.13 (ii) \$15 for each renewal application fee;
- 14.14 (4) \$350 initial salon license, divided as follows:
- 14.15 (i) \$250 for each initial license; and
- 14.16 (ii) \$100 for each initial license application fee;
- 14.17 (5) \$225 renewal of salon license, divided as follows:
- 14.18 (i) \$175 for each renewal; and
- 14.19 (ii) \$50 for each renewal application fee;
- 14.20 (6) \$4,000 initial school license, divided as follows:
- (i) \$3,000 for each initial license; and
- (ii) \$1,000 for each initial license application fee; and
- 14.23 (7) \$2,500 renewal of school license, divided as follows:
- 14.24 (i) \$2,000 for each renewal; and
- 14.25 (ii) \$500 for each renewal application fee.
- (c) Penalties may be assessed in amounts up to the following:
- 14.27 (1) reinspection fee, \$150;

- (2) manager and owner with expired practitioner found on inspection, \$150 each; 15.1 (3) expired practitioner or instructor found on inspection, \$200; 15.2 (4) expired salon found on inspection, \$500; 15.3 (5) expired school found on inspection, \$1,000; 15.4 (6) failure to display current license, \$100; 15.5 (7) failure to dispose of single-use equipment, implements, or materials as provided 15.6 under section 155A.355, subdivision 1, \$500; 15.7 (8) use of prohibited razor-type callus shavers, rasps, or graters under section 155A.355, 15.8 subdivision 2, \$500; 15.9 (9) performing nail or cosmetology services in esthetician salon, or performing esthetician 15.10 or cosmetology services in a nail salon, \$500; 15.11 (10) owner and manager allowing an operator to work as an independent contractor, 15.12 \$200; 15.13 (11) operator working as an independent contractor, \$100; 15.14 (12) refusal or failure to cooperate with an inspection, \$500; 15.15 (13) practitioner late renewal fee, \$45; and 15.16 (14) salon or school late renewal fee, \$50. 15.17 (d) Administrative fees are as follows: 15.18 (1) homebound service permit, \$50 three-year four-year fee; 15.19 15.20 (2) name change, \$20; (3) certification of licensure, \$30 each; 15.21 (4) duplicate license, \$20; 15.22 (5) special event permit, \$75 per year; 15.23 (6) \$100 for each temporary military license for a cosmetologist, nail technician, 15.24 esthetician, or advanced practice esthetician one-year fee; 15.25
- 15.26 (7) (6) expedited initial individual license, \$150;
- (8) (7) expedited initial salon license, \$300;
- 15.28 (9) (8) instructor continuing education provider approval, \$150 each year; and

(10) (9) practitioner continuing education provider approval, \$150 each year. 16.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to licenses 16.2 issued or renewed on or after that date. 16.3 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 16.4 Subdivision 1. Licensing. A person must hold an individual license to practice in the 16.5 state as a cosmetologist, esthetician, hair technician, nail technician, eyelash technician, 16.6 advanced practice esthetician, manager, or instructor. 16.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023. 16.8 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 5a, is amended to read: 16.9 Subd. 5a. Temporary military license. The board shall establish temporary licenses 16.10 for a cosmetologist, hair technician, nail technician, and esthetician in accordance with 16.11 section 197.4552. A temporary license is valid for a four-year license cycle. The board may 16.12 only issue one temporary license to an applicant. 16.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** The addition of "hair technician" to the list of temporary licenses 16.14 is effective January 1, 2023. The setting of the temporary license for a four-year license 16.15 cycle and the preclusion on issuing more than one temporary license to an applicant is 16.16 effective January 1, 2024. 16.17 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 16.18 Subd. 6. Duration of license. Licensing in each classification shall be for a period of 16.19 three four years. The board may extend a licensee's operator or salon manager license when 16.20 issuing a new instructor license to the licensee so that the operator or salon manager license 16.21 expires on the same date as the instructor license. 16.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses 16.23 16.24 issued or renewed on or after that date. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 16.25 Subd. 7. Renewals. Renewal of license shall be for a period of three four years under 16.26 the conditions and process established by rule and subject to continuing education 16.27 requirements of section 155A.271. 16.28

issued or renewed on or after that date.

16.29

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 17.1 Subd. 10. Nonresident Licenses issued by a jurisdiction outside the United States. (a) 17.2 A nonresident cosmetologist, hair technician, nail technician, or esthetician, or eyelash 17.3 technician may be licensed in Minnesota if the individual has completed cosmetology school 17.4 in a state or country with the same or greater school hour requirements, has an active license 17.5 in that state or country, and has passed a board-approved theory and practice-based 17.6 examination, the Minnesota-specific written operator examination for cosmetologist, hair 17.7 technician, nail technician, or eyelash technician. If a test is used to verify 17.8 the qualifications of trained cosmetologists, the test should be translated into the nonresident's 17.9 native language within the limits of available resources. Licenses shall not be issued under 17.10 this subdivision for managers or instructors. 17.11 (b) If an individual has less than the required number of school hours, the individual 17.12 must have had a current active license in another state or country for at least three years and 17.13 have passed a board-approved theory and practice-based examination, and the 17.14 Minnesota-specific written operator examination for cosmetologist, hair technician, nail 17.15 technician, or eyelash technician. If a test is used to verify the qualifications 17.16 of trained cosmetologists, the test should be translated into the nonresident's native language 17.17 within the limits of available resources. Licenses must not be issued under this subdivision 17.18 17.19 for managers or instructors. (c) Applicants claiming training and experience in a foreign country shall supply official 17.20 English-language translations of all required documents from a board-approved source. 17.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024. 17.22 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, is amended by adding a subdivision 17.23 to read: 17.24 Subd. 11. Reciprocity for barbers. A barber who has a currently active registration 17.25 under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, may be granted credit, as determined by rule, toward 17.26 the required hours of study required for licensure in cosmetology or hair technology.

17.27

17.28

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

18.1	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, is amended by adding a subdivision
18.2	to read:
18.3	Subd. 12. Licenses issued by other United States jurisdictions. The board shall issue
18.4	an operator license in cosmetology, nail technology, hair technology, eyelash technology,
18.5	or esthiology to a person upon application if the applicant meets the following criteria:
18.6	(1) submits a completed application form;
18.7	(2) holds a current and valid occupational license in cosmetology, nail technology, hair
18.8	technology, eyelash technology, or esthiology issued by another state or territory of the
18.9	<u>United States;</u>
18.10	(3) is at least 17 years old;
18.11	(4) provides a certification of licensure no more than 90 days old sent to the board directly
18.12	from each state where the applicant has been licensed;
18.13	(5) discloses any prior disciplinary history related to the occupational license and submits
18.14	the executed order of discipline;
18.15	(6) provides documents showing completion of competency theory and practical exams
18.16	from the original state of licensure or the state of Minnesota;
18.17	(7) provides passing results from the Minnesota state laws and rules exam no more than
18.18	one year old; and
18.19	(8) pays fees required by section 155A.25.
18.20	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.27, is amended by adding a subdivision
18.21	to read:
18.22	Subd. 13. False statements. The board may reject an application for a practitioner license
18.23	or revoke a practitioner license for a false statement in an application.
18.24	Sec. 32. [155A.2705] HAIR TECHNICIAN REQUIREMENTS.
18.25	Subdivision 1. <b>Application.</b> Applicants for a hair technician license who have not been
18.26	licensed in another state must be at least 17 years of age and must provide the following to
18.27	the Board of Cosmetologist Examiners:
18.28	(1) a completed application form;
18.29	(2) the fees required by section 155A.25;

19.1	(3) passing test results for a test taken no more than one year before submission of the
19.2	application of the following board-approved tests for the license for a hair technician:
19.3	(i) a general theory test;
19.4	(ii) a written practical test;
19.5	(iii) a test on Minnesota laws and rules; and
19.6	(iv) the board-approved practical skills test; and
19.7	(4) proof of completion of training, as required under subdivision 2.
19.8	Subd. 2. Training. (a) Training required for a hair technician license must be completed
19.9	at a Minnesota-licensed cosmetology school. Proof of completion of training is a course
19.10	completion certificate, as provided by the board, documenting the successful completion
19.11	of the curriculum of 800 hours of training as a hair technician. If the completed training is
19.12	more than five years old, a skills course certificate must also be submitted to the board.
19.13	(b) The first 120 hours of a hair technology course must be preclinical instruction in the
19.14	theory of sciences of anatomy, trichology, and chemistry as related to services provided by
19.15	hair technicians; client consultation; hair texture analysis; safe use of electric tools and
19.16	equipment; infection control; safety procedures related to services provided by hair
19.17	technicians; and introductory service skills. Introductory service skills must be limited to
19.18	the observation of an instructor demonstration, student use of mannequins, or
19.19	student-to-student application of basic services related to hair technology. Students must
19.20	receive relevant theoretical and safety instruction for a service prior to offering the service
19.21	on a person.
19.22	(c) A hair technician course must include practical instruction and student practice in
19.23	cutting hair and the application of dyes, bleach, reactive chemicals, keratin, or other
19.24	preparations to color or alter the structure of hair of at least 680 hours. Each student is
19.25	required to complete the minimum number of clinical service exercises as approved by the
19.26	board in the following categories:
19.27	(1) styling services;
19.28	(2) cutting services;
19.29	(3) shampooing and conditioning services;
19.30	(4) chemical texture services; and
19.31	(5) color services.

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20.14

20.15

20.16

20.17

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.27

20.28

20.29

20.30

20.31

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.271, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Continuing education requirements.** (a) To qualify for license renewal under this chapter as an individual cosmetologist, <u>hair technician</u>, nail technician, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, eyelash technician, or salon manager, the applicant must complete four hours of continuing education credits from a board-approved continuing education provider during the <u>three four</u> years prior to the applicant's renewal date. One credit hour of the requirement must include instruction pertaining to state laws and rules governing the practice of cosmetology. Three credit hours must include instruction pertaining to health, safety, and infection control matters consistent with the United States Department of Labor's Occupational Safety and Health Administration standards applicable to the practice of cosmetology, or other applicable federal health, infection control, and safety standards, and must be regularly updated so as to incorporate newly developed standards and accepted professional best practices. Credit hours earned are valid for <u>three four</u> years and may be applied simultaneously to all individual licenses held by a licensee under this chapter.

- (b) Effective August 1, 2017, In addition to the hours of continuing education credits required under paragraph (a), to qualify for license renewal under this chapter as an individual cosmetologist, hair technician, nail technician, esthetician, advanced practice esthetician, or salon manager, the applicant must also complete a four credit hour continuing education course from a board-approved continuing education provider based on any of the following within the licensee's scope of practice:
- 20.23 (1) product chemistry and chemical interaction;
- 20.24 (2) proper use and maintenance of machines and instruments;
- 20.25 (3) business management, professional ethics, and human relations; or
- 20.26 (4) techniques relevant to the type of license held.
  - Credits are valid for three <u>four</u> years and must be completed with a board-approved provider of continuing education during the <u>three four</u> years prior to the applicant's renewal date and may be applied simultaneously to other individual licenses held as applicable, except that credits completed under this paragraph must not duplicate credits completed under paragraph (a).
- 20.32 (c) Paragraphs (a) and (b) do not apply to an instructor license, a school manager license, or an inactive license.

21.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. The addition of "hair technician" to the list of practitioners
21.2	requiring continuing education credits is effective January 1, 2023. The change to the period
21.3	of validity for credit hours earned and the period in which the credits must have been earned
21.4	from three to four years is effective January 1, 2024.
21.5	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.29, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
21.6	Subdivision 1. Licensing. A person must not offer cosmetology services for compensation
21.7	unless the services are provided by a licensee in a licensed salon or as otherwise provided
21.8	in this section. Each salon must be licensed as a cosmetology salon, a nail salon, esthetician
21.9	salon, advanced practice esthetician salon, or eyelash extension salon. A salon may hold
21.10	more than one type of salon license.
21.11	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.29, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
21.12	Subd. 4. <b>Renewal.</b> Licenses shall be renewed every three four years by a process
21.13	established by rule.
21.14	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses
21.15	issued or renewed on or after that date.
21.16	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
21.17	Subd. 2. <b>Standards.</b> The board shall by rule establish minimum standards of course
21.18	content and length specific to the educational preparation prerequisite to testing and licensing
21.19	as cosmetologist, esthetician, and advanced practice esthetician, nail technician, and eyelash
21.20	technician.
21.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.
21.22	Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
21.23	Subd. 3. <b>Applications.</b> Application for a license shall be prepared on forms furnished
21.24	by the board and shall contain the following and such other information as may be required:
21.25	(1) the name of the school, together with ownership and controlling officers, members,
21.26	and managing employees;
21.27	(2) the specific fields of instruction which will be offered and reconciliation of the course
21.28	content and length to meet the minimum standards, as prescribed in subdivision 2;
21.29	(3) the place or places where instruction will be given;
	/-/

22.1	(4) a listing of the equipment available for instruction in each course offered;
22.2	(5) the maximum enrollment to be accommodated;
22.3	(6) a listing of instructors, all of whom shall be licensed as provided in section 155A.27,
22.4	subdivision 2, except that any school may use occasional instructors or lecturers who would
22.5	add to the general or specialized knowledge of the students but who need not be licensed;
22.6	(7) a current balance sheet, income statement or documentation to show sufficient
22.7	financial worth and responsibility to properly conduct a school and to assure financial
22.8	resources ample to meet the school's financial obligations;
22.9	(8) other financial guarantees which would assure protection of the public as determined
22.10	by rule; and
22.11	(9) a copy of all written material which the school uses to solicit prospective students,
22.12	including but not limited to a tuition and fee schedule, and all catalogues, brochures and
22.13	other recruitment advertisements. Each school shall annually, on a date determined by the
22.14	board, file with the board any new or amended materials which it has distributed during the
22.15	past year. written materials that the school will use for prospective student enrollment,
22.16	including the enrollment contract, student handbook, and tuition and fee information.
22.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.
22.18	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
22.19	Subd. 4. Verification of application. Each application shall be signed and certified to
22.20	under oath by the proprietor if the applicant is a proprietorship, by the managing partner if
22.21	the applicant is a partnership, or by the authorized officers of the applicant if the applicant
22.22	is a corporation, association, company, firm, society or trust. a school administrator. For
22.23	purposes of this section, "school administrator" means the proprietor, if the applicant is a
22.24	proprietorship; the managing partner, if the applicant is a partnership; the authorized officers,
22.25	if the applicant is a corporation, association, company, firm, society, or trust; or, the dean,
22.26	principal, or other authorized signatory, if the applicant is a school in the Minnesota State
22.27	Colleges and Universities system or a secondary school.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

23.1	Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
23.2	Subd. 6. Fees; renewals. (a) Applications for initial license under sections 155A.21 to
23.3	155A.36 shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee set forth in section
23.4	155A.25.
23.5	(b) License duration shall be three four years. Each renewal application shall be
23.6	accompanied by a nonrefundable renewal fee set forth in section 155A.25.
23.7	(c) Application for renewal of license shall be made as provided in rules adopted by the
23.8	board and on forms supplied by the board.
23.9	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to licenses
23.10	issued or renewed on or after that date.
23.11	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 155A.30, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
23.12	Subd. 11. Instruction requirements. (a) Instruction may be offered for no more than
23.13	ten hours per day per student.
23.14	(b) Instruction must be given within a licensed school building except as provided for
23.15	in paragraph (c). Online instruction is permitted for board-approved theory-based classes.
23.16	Instruction may be given online for theory-based portions of a board-approved curriculum.
23.17	Practice-based <u>elasses</u> <u>portions of a board-approved curriculum</u> must not be given online.
23.18	(c) Schools may offer field trips outside of a licensed school building if the field trips
23.19	are related to the course curriculum for industry educational purposes.
23.20	Sec. 41. BOARD OF COSMETOLOGIST EXAMINERS LICENSING WORKING
23.21	GROUP.
23.22	Subdivision 1. Membership. The board of cosmetologist examiners licensing working
23.23	group consists of the following 13 members:
23.24	(1) the executive director of the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners;
23.25	(2) the executive director of the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners;
23.26	(3) one licensed practitioner that is a salon owner, appointed by the Salon and Spa
23.27	Professional Association;
23.28	(4) one representative of a cosmetology school, appointed by Education Exchange of
23.29	Minnesota;
23.30	(5) one licensed practitioner, appointed by the Beauty Certified Education Association;

24.1	(6) one state employee from another state agency that works with health and safety
24.2	issues, appointed by the governor;
24.3	(7) two members of the public who use cosmetology services, appointed by the governor;
24.4	(8) one member of the public who is a consumer of cosmetology services, appointed by
24.5	the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners;
24.6	(9) two senators, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed by the minority
24.7	leader; and
24.8	(10) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
24.9	house and one appointed by the minority leader.
24.10	Subd. 2. Duties; report. (a) The working group must submit a report to the chairs and
24.11	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over state
24.12	government finance and policy by February 15, 2023. The report must:
24.13	(1) evaluate the recommendations in the 2021 Office of the Legislative Auditor program
24.14	evaluation titled Board of Cosmetology Licensing and recommend whether and how to
24.15	adopt the recommendations;
24.16	(2) evaluate the salon manager license and school manager license;
24.17	(3) evaluate the scope and requirements for special event services and homebound
24.18	services permits and considering merging both permits;
24.19	(4) evaluate the recognition and treatment of licenses issued by jurisdictions outside the
24.20	United States and its territories for purposes of meeting state license requirements; and
24.21	(5) evaluate an endorsement-based licensing structure.
24.22	(b) The report must include draft legislation to implement the recommendations of the
24.23	working group.
24.24	Subd. 3. Meetings; chair. (a) The executive director of the Board of Cosmetologist
24.25	Examiners must convene the first meeting of the working group by September 15, 2022.
24.26	At the first meeting, the members must elect a chair. Subsequent meetings of the working
24.27	group must be convened by the chair or the chair's designee.
24.28	(b) The working group may conduct meetings remotely.
24.29	(c) The chair shall be responsible for document management of materials for the working
24.30	group.

25.1	Subd. 4. Compensation; reimbursement. Members appointed under subdivision 1,
25.2	clauses (2) through (6) may be compensated and reimbursed for expenses as provided in
25.3	Minnesota Statutes, section 15.0575, subdivision 3.
25.4	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The Board of Cosmetologist Examiners must provide
25.5	administrative support and meeting space to the working group.
25.6	Subd. 6. Expiration. The working group expires February 16, 2023, or the day after
25.7	submitting the report required in subdivision 2, whichever occurs earlier.
25.8	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment.
25.9	Sec. 42. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
25.10	The revisor of statutes must change "Board of Cosmetologist Examiners" to "Board of
25.11	Cosmetology" wherever it appears in Minnesota Statutes.
25.12	Sec. 43. REPEALER.
25.13	Minnesota Rules, parts 2100.2500; 2100.2600; 2100.2900; 2100.3000; and 2100.3200,
25.14	are repealed.