Ways and Means Committee

MINUTES

Representative Torkelson, Chair of the Ways and Means Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:15 AM on February 24th, 2025, in Room 120 of the Capitol. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

TORKELSON, Paul, Chair **ROBBINS**, Kristin, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty AGBAJE, Esther BAKER, Dave **BIERMAN**, Robert GOMEZ, Aisha HEINTZEMAN, Josh IGO, Spencer KLEVORN, Ginny KOEGEL, Erin KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie KOZNICK, John KRESHA, Ron LILLIE, Leon MOLLER, Kelly NASH, Jim NOOR, Mohamud NOVOTNY, Paul PINTO, Dave RARICK, Marion SCHOMACKER, Joe SCOTT, Peggy SWEDZINSKI, Chris VANG, Samantha WEST. Nolan YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Non-voting member present:

STEPHENSON, Zack

Representative Klevorn moved the minutes of February 17, 2024, be approved. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

HF3 (Nash) Legislative auditor required to submit a report to the Legislature related to an agency's implementation of internal control or fiscal management recommendations, and money appropriated.

Representative Nash moved HF3 be re-referred to the General Register.

Representative Nash moved the A9 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Testifiers:

Judy Randall, Legislative Auditor

Representative Nash renewed the motion to re-refer HF3, as amended, to the General Register. Representative Nash requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows:

AYES: TORKELSON, Paul, Chair ROBBINS, Kristin, Vice Chair BAKER, Dave HEINTZEMAN, Josh IGO, Spencer KOZNICK, John KRESHA, Ron NASH, Jim NOVOTNY, Paul RARICK, Marion SCHOMACKER, Joe SCOTT, Peggy SWEDZINSKI, Chris WEST, Nolan

NAYS: ACOMB, Patty AGBAJE, Esther BIERMAN, Robert GOMEZ, Aisha KLEVORN, Ginny KOEGEL, Erin KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie LILLIE, Leon MOLLER, Kelly NOOR, Mohamud PINTO, Dave VANG, Samantha YOUAKIM, Cheryl

On a vote of 14 ayes and 13 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

A presentation was given on the issue and impact of estimates of discretionary inflation on the biennial budget.

Presenters:

Colbey Sullivan, Staff Coordinator, House Research Department Ahna Minge, Assistant Commissioner, State Budget Director, Minnesota Management and Budget Emily Adriaens, Chief Fiscal Analyst, House Fiscal Analysis Department

The meeting was adjourned at 11:13 AM.

Representative Torkelson, Chair

Allie Spellman, Committee Legislative Assistant