1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.002, is amended by adding a subdivision
1.4	to read:
1.5	Subd. 12a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is
1.6	appointed by the commissioner as both a deputy registrar under this chapter and a driver's
1.7	license agent under chapter 171 who provides all driver services, excluding International
1.8	Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement transactions.
1.9	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 168.327, subdivision 1, is amended
1.10	to read:
1.11	Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this
1.12	section, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any
1.13	driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota identification card record,
1.14	vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.
1.15	(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records
1.16	governed under section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall must pay a fee of \$10
1.17	for each certified record specified in paragraph (a) or a fee of \$9 for each record that is not
1.18	certified.
1.19	(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in
1.20	paragraph (b), the fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format

(d) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for driver's license,

instruction permit, and Minnesota identification card records, must be paid into the state

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 4164 as follows:

1.1

1.21

1.22

1.23

Sec. 2.

is \$1 for each page of the historical record.

treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to must be deposited in the general fund-, and 2.1 the remainder of the fees collected must be credited to must be deposited in the the driver 2.2 services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705. Of the fee 2.3 collected by a full-service provider under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction 2.4 permit, and Minnesota identification card records, the provider must transmit 50 cents to 2.5 the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and the provider must retain the 2.6 remainder. 2.7 2.8 (e) Fees Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee 2.9 eredited to must be deposited in the general fund-, and the remainder of the fees collected 2.10 must be credited to must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account in the special 2.11 revenue fund specified in section 299A.705. Of the fee collected by a full-service provider 2.12 under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records, the provider must 2.13 transmit 50 cents of each fee to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund, and 2.14 the provider must retain the remainder. 2.15 (f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner shall or full-service 2.16 provider must permit a person to inquire into a record by the person's own electronic means 2.17 for a fee of \$4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be charged when the requester 2.18 is the subject of the data. 2.19 (g) Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraph (f): 2.20 (1) \$2.70 must be deposited in the general fund; 2.21 (2) for driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the 2.22 remainder must be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue 2.23 fund under section 299A.705; and 2.24 (3) for vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle 2.25 services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705. 2.26 (h) Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraph (f), the provider must 2.27 transmit \$2.70 to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, and the provider 2.28 must retain the remainder. 2.29 (g) (i) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by 2.30 section 169.09, subdivision 13. 2.31

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests

Sec. 2. 2

for records made on or after that date.

2.32

2.33

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

Subd. 2. **Requests for information; surcharge on fee.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must impose a surcharge of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner or full-service provider under section 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the registration of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card.

- (b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person or, by mail, or to a request for transmittal through a computer modem online. The surcharge does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or titled in the individual's name.
- (c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited to the general fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted to the commissioner to be deposited in the general fund.
- 3.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests for records made on or after that date.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.327, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section 13.03, a fee or surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information about the registration of a vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied that:
 - (1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit organization designated by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and
 - (2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled substance law violators, or health code violators.
 - (b) The commissioner shall or full-service provider must not require a requester under paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a maximum number of data requests.
- 3.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests
 3.31 for records made on or after that date.

Sec. 4. 3

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. **Filing fees; allocations.** (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a filing fee of:
- 4.4 (1) \$7 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions; 4.5 and
- 4.6 (2) \$11 is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor carrier fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions.
 - (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

- (1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and
- 4.11 (2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a vehicle.
- 4.13 (c) The filing fee must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices
 4.14 sent out by the commissioner.
 - (d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the statutory fees, taxes, and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner of public safety. The surcharge must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit card transactions.
 - (e) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department for in-person transactions must be allocated as follows:
- 4.23 (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
- 4.24 (i) \$5.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and
- 4.25 (ii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
- 4.26 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
- 4.27 (i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
- 4.28 (ii) \$6.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account; and
- 4.29 (iii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account.

Sec. 5. 4

03/15/22 12:55 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H4164DE1
U3/13/22 12:33 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	WB/KK	H4104DE1

5.1	(f) The fees collected under this subdivision by the department for mail or online
5.2	transactions must be allocated as follows:
5.3	(1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1):
5.4	(i) \$2.75 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account;
5.5	(ii) \$0.75 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
5.6	(iii) \$3.50 must be deposited in the full-service provider account; and
5.7	(2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2):
5.8	(i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund;
5.9	(ii) \$3.00 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account;
5.10	(iii) \$0.75 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
5.11	(iv) \$3.75 must be deposited in the full-service provider account.
5.12	(g) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a \$5.00 surcharge is imposed on
5.13	every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions, that is submitted by mail.
5.14	Of the \$5.00 surcharge, \$2.50 must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account
5.15	and \$2.50 must be deposited in the full service provider account.
5.16	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168.345, is amended to read:
5.17	168.345 USE OF VEHICLE REGISTRATION INFORMATION.
5.18	Subdivision 1. Information by telephone. Information about vehicle registrations shall
5.19	<u>must</u> not be furnished on the telephone to any person except the <u>owner of the vehicle</u> ,
5.20	personnel of law enforcement agencies, and the personnel of governmental motor vehicle
5.21	and registration offices.
5.22	Subd. 2. Lessees; information. The commissioner may not furnish information about
5.23	registered owners of passenger automobiles who are lessees under a lease for a term of 180
5.24	days or more to any person except the owner of the vehicle, the lessee, personnel of law
5.25	enforcement agencies and trade associations performing a member service under section
5.26	604.15, subdivision 4a, and federal, state, and local governmental units, and, at the
5.27	commissioner's discretion, to persons who use the information to notify lessees of automobile
5.28	recalls. The commissioner may release information about lessees in the form of summary
5.29	data, as defined in section 13.02, to persons who use the information in conducting statistical
5.30	analysis and market research.

Sec. 6. 5

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 169.09, subdivision 13, is amended 6.1 to read: 6.2 Subd. 13. Reports confidential; evidence, fee, penalty, appropriation. (a) All reports 6.3 and supplemental information required under this section must be for the use of the 6.4 commissioner of public safety and other appropriate state, federal, county, and municipal 6.5 governmental agencies for accident analysis purposes, except: 6.6 (1) upon written request, the commissioner of public safety, a full-service provider as 6.7 defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, or any law enforcement agency shall must 6.8 disclose the report required under subdivision 8 to: 6.9 (i) any individual involved in the accident, the representative of the individual's estate, 6.10 or the surviving spouse, or one or more surviving next of kin, or a trustee appointed under 6.11 section 573.02; 6.12 (ii) any other person injured in person, property, or means of support, or who incurs 6.13 other pecuniary loss by virtue of the accident; 6.14 (iii) legal counsel of a person described in item (i) or (ii); 6.15 (iv) a representative of the insurer of any person described in item (i) or (ii); or 6.16 (v) a city or county attorney or an attorney representing the state in an implied consent 6.17 action who is charged with the prosecution of a traffic or criminal offense that is the result 6.18 of a traffic crash investigation conducted by law enforcement; 6.19 (2) the commissioner of public safety shall, upon written request, provide the driver 6.20 filing a report under subdivision 7 with a copy of the report filed by the driver; 6.21 (3) (2) the commissioner of public safety may verify with insurance companies vehicle 6.22 insurance information to enforce sections 65B.48, 169.792, 169.793, 169.796, and 169.797; 6.23 (4) (3) the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the commissioner of 6.24 transportation the information obtained for each traffic accident involving a commercial 6.25 motor vehicle, for purposes of administering commercial vehicle safety regulations; 6.26 (5) (4) upon specific request, the commissioner of public safety shall must provide the 6.27 commissioner of transportation the information obtained regarding each traffic accident 6.28 involving damage to identified state-owned infrastructure, for purposes of debt collection 6.29 under section 161.20, subdivision 4; and

Sec. 7. 6

6.30

(6) (5) the commissioner of public safety may give to the United States Department of Transportation commercial vehicle accident information in connection with federal grant programs relating to safety.

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.15

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

7.24

7.25

7.26

7.27

7.28

7.29

7.30

7.31

7.32

7.33

7.34

- (b) Accident reports and data contained in the reports are not discoverable under any provision of law or rule of court. No report shall A report must not be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal, or any action for damages or criminal proceedings arising out of an accident. However, the commissioner of public safety shall must furnish, upon the demand of any person who has or claims to have made a report or upon demand of any court, a certificate showing that a specified accident report has or has not been made to the commissioner solely to prove compliance or failure to comply with the requirements that the report be made to the commissioner.
- (c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents any individual who has made a report under this section from providing information to any individuals involved in an accident or their representatives or from testifying in any trial, civil or criminal, arising out of an accident, as to facts within the individual's knowledge. It is intended by this subdivision to render privileged the reports required, but it is not intended to prohibit proof of the facts to which the reports relate.
- (d) Disclosing any information contained in any accident report, except as provided in this subdivision, section 13.82, subdivision 3 or 6, or other statutes, is a misdemeanor.
- (e) The commissioner of public safety shall or full-service provider as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 33a, must charge authorized persons as described in paragraph (a) a \$5 fee for a copy of an accident report. Ninety percent of the \$5 fee collected by the commissioner under this paragraph must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the \$5 fee collected by a full-service provider, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder. The commissioner or full-service provider may also furnish an electronic copy of the database of accident records, which must not contain personal or private data on an individual, to private agencies as provided in paragraph (g), for not less than the cost of preparing the copies on a bulk basis as provided in section 13.03, subdivision 3.
- (f) The fees specified in paragraph (e) notwithstanding, the commissioner, a full-service provider, and law enforcement agencies shall must charge commercial users who request access to response or incident data relating to accidents a fee not to exceed 50 cents per

Sec. 7. 7

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

record. "Commercial user" is a user who in one location requests access to data in more than five accident reports per month, unless the user establishes that access is not for a commercial purpose. Of the money collected by the commissioner under this paragraph, 90 percent must be deposited in the special revenue fund and credited to the driver services operating account established in section 299A.705 and ten percent must be deposited in the general fund. Of the fees collected by a full-service provider under this paragraph, the provider must transmit 50 cents to the commissioner to be deposited into the general fund, and the provider must retain the remainder.

- (g) The fees in paragraphs (e) and (f) notwithstanding, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must provide an electronic copy of the accident records database to the public on a case-by-case basis using the cost-recovery charges provided for under section 13.03, subdivision 3. The database provided must not contain personal or private data on an individual. However, unless the accident records database includes the vehicle identification number, the commissioner shall or full-service provider must include the vehicle registration plate number if a private agency certifies and agrees that the agency:
 - (1) is in the business of collecting accident and damage information on vehicles;
- (2) will use the vehicle registration plate number only for identifying vehicles that have been involved in accidents or damaged, to provide this information to persons seeking access to a vehicle's history and not for identifying individuals or for any other purpose; and
 - (3) will be subject to the penalties and remedies under sections 13.08 and 13.09.
- 8.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to requests for records made on or after that date.
- 8.23 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 8.25 Subd. 33a. Full-service provider. "Full-service provider" means a person who is

 8.26 appointed by the commissioner as both a driver's license agent who provides all driver

 8.27 services excluding International Registration Plan and International Fuel Tax Agreement

 8.28 transactions under this chapter and deputy registrar services under chapter 168.
 - Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. **Motorized bicycle.** (a) A motorized bicycle may not be operated on any public roadway by any person who does not possess a valid driver's license, unless the person has obtained a motorized bicycle operator's permit or motorized bicycle instruction permit from

Sec. 9. 8

the commissioner of public safety. The operator's permit may be issued to any person who has attained the age of 15 years and who has passed the examination prescribed by the commissioner. The instruction permit may be issued to any person who has attained the age of 15 years and who has successfully completed an approved safety course and passed the written portion of the examination prescribed by the commissioner.

- (b) This course must consist of, but is not limited to, a basic understanding of:
- 9.7 (1) motorized bicycles and their limitations;
- 9.8 (2) motorized bicycle laws and rules;

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.21

- 9.9 (3) safe operating practices and basic operating techniques;
- 9.10 (4) helmets and protective clothing;
- 9.11 (5) motorized bicycle traffic strategies; and
- 9.12 (6) effects of alcohol and drugs on motorized bicycle operators.
 - (c) The commissioner may adopt rules prescribing the content of the safety course, examination, and the information to be contained on the permits. A person operating a motorized bicycle under a motorized bicycle permit is subject to the restrictions imposed by section 169.974, subdivision 2, on operation of a motorcycle under a two-wheel instruction permit.
 - (d) The fees for motorized bicycle operator's permits are as follows:

9.19	(1) Motorized bicycle operator's permit before age 21 and valid until	\$ 9.75
9.20	age 21	

- (2) Renewal permit age 21 or older and valid for four eight years \$ 15.75
- 9.22 (3) Duplicate of any renewal permit \$ 5.25
- 9.23 (4) Written examination and instruction permit, valid for 30 days \$ 6.75

9.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that date.

- 9.27 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 9.28 Subd. 2. **Fees.** (a) The fees for a license and Minnesota identification card are as follows:

Sec. 10. 9

	03/15/22 12:55 pm	HOUSE F	RESEARCH	MB/RK	H4164DE1
10.1 10.2 10.3	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Classified Driver's License	D-\$21.00	C-\$25.00	B-\$32.00	A-\$40.00
10.4 10.5 10.6	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Classified Under-21 D.L.	D-\$21.00	C-\$25.00	B-\$32.00	A-\$20.00
10.7	Enhanced Driver's License	D-\$36.00	C-\$40.00	B-\$47.00	A-\$55.00
10.8 10.9 10.10	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Instruction Permit				\$5.25
10.11 10.12	Enhanced Instruction Permit				\$20.25
10.13 10.14	Commercial Learner's Permit				\$2.50
10.15 10.16 10.17	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Provisional License				\$8.25
10.18 10.19	Enhanced Provisional License				\$23.25
10.20 10.21 10.22 10.23 10.24	Duplicate REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant License or duplicate REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant				0.675
10.25 10.26 10.27 10.28	identification card Enhanced Duplicate License or enhanced duplicate identification card				\$6.75 \$21.75
10.29 10.30 10.31 10.32 10.33 10.34 10.35 10.36	REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Minnesota identification card or REAL ID Compliant or Noncompliant Under-21 Minnesota identification card, other than duplicate, except as otherwise provided in section 171.07,				
10.38	subdivisions 3 and 3a				\$11.25
10.39 10.40	Enhanced Minnesota identification card				\$26.25
10.41	From August 1, 2019, to June 30, 202	22, the fee is in	creased by \$0.	75 for REAL I	D compliant
10.42	or noncompliant classified driver's li	censes, REAL	ID compliant	or noncomplia	ent classified
10.43	under-21 driver's licenses, and enha-	nced driver's l	icenses.		
10.44	(b) In addition to each fee require	ed in paragraph	n (a), the comm	nissioner shall	must collect
10.45	a surcharge of \$2.25. Surcharges col	llected under t	his paragraph	must be credit	ted to the
10.46	driver and vehicle services technolo	gy account un	der section 29	9A.705.	

Sec. 10. 10

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.29

11.30

11.31

11.32

11.33

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an individual who holds a provisional license and has a driving record free of (1) convictions for a violation of section 169A.20, 169A.33, 169A.35, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, or section 171.177, (2) convictions for crash-related moving violations, and (3) convictions for moving violations that are not crash related, shall must have a \$3.50 credit toward the fee for any classified under-21 driver's license. "Moving violation" has the meaning given it in section 171.04, subdivision 1.

- (d) In addition to the driver's license fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall must collect an additional \$4 processing fee from each new applicant or individual renewing a license with a school bus endorsement to cover the costs for processing an applicant's initial and biennial physical examination certificate. The department shall must not charge these applicants any other fee to receive or renew the endorsement.
- (e) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), a driver's license agent may charge and retain a filing fee as provided under section 171.061, subdivision 4.
 - (f) In addition to the fee required under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall must charge a filing fee at the same amount as a driver's license agent under section 171.061, subdivision 4. Revenue collected under this paragraph for in-person transactions must be deposited in the driver services operating account under section 299A.705. Revenue collected under this paragraph for mail or online transactions must be allocated as follows:
 - (1) 50 percent must be deposited in the driver services operating account under section 299A.705, subdivision 2; and
- (2) 50 percent must be deposited in the full-service provider account under section 299A.705, subdivision 3a.
- 11.23 (g) An application for a Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, provisional license, or driver's license, including an application for renewal, must contain a provision that allows the applicant to add to the fee under paragraph (a), a \$2 donation for the purposes of public information and education on anatomical gifts under section 171.075.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
 - Subd. 8. **Preapplication; REAL ID.** The commissioner must establish a process for an applicant to submit an electronic preapplication for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must design the preapplication so that the applicant must enter information required for the application. The preapplication must also generate a list of documents the applicant is required to submit in person at the

Sec. 11.

time of the application. An applicant who submitted a preapplication is required to appear in person before a driver's license agent to submit a completed application for the REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card. The commissioner must provide a link to the preapplication website at the time an individual schedules an appointment to apply for a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or REAL ID-compliant identification card.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.061, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

12.7

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

12.34

12.35

12.36

Subd. 4. **Fee; equipment.** (a) The agent may charge and retain a filing fee of \$8 for each application-, as follows:

12.10 12.11	(1) New application for noncompliant driver's license or noncompliant Minnesota identification card	<u>\$</u>	11.00
12.12 12.13 12.14	(2) New application for REAL ID compliant driver's license, REAL ID compliant Minnesota identification card, enhanced driver's license, or enhanced Minnesota identification card	<u>\$</u>	16.00
12.15 12.16	(3) Renewal application for noncompliant driver's license or noncompliant Minnesota identification card	<u>\$</u>	11.00
12.17 12.18 12.19	(4) Renewal application for REAL ID compliant driver's license, REAL ID compliant Minnesota identification card, enhanced driver's license, or enhanced Minnesota identification card	<u>\$</u>	11.00

Except as provided in paragraph (c), the fee shall <u>must</u> cover all expenses involved in receiving, accepting, or forwarding to the department the applications and fees required under sections 171.02, subdivision 3; 171.06, subdivisions 2 and 2a; and 171.07, subdivisions 3 and 3a.

- (b) The statutory fees and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may be paid by credit card or debit card. The driver's license agent may collect a convenience fee on the statutory fees and filing fees not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or debit card transaction. The convenience fee must be used to pay the cost of processing credit card and debit card transactions. The commissioner shall must adopt rules to administer this paragraph using the exempt procedures of section 14.386, except that section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply.
- (c) The department shall must maintain the photo identification equipment for all agents appointed as of January 1, 2000. Upon the retirement, resignation, death, or discontinuance of an existing agent, and if a new agent is appointed in an existing office pursuant to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, and notwithstanding the above or Minnesota Rules, part 7404.0400, the department shall must provide and maintain photo identification equipment without additional cost to a newly appointed agent in that office if the office was provided

Sec. 12. 12

the equipment by the department before January 1, 2000. All photo identification equipment must be compatible with standards established by the department.

- (d) A filing fee retained by the agent employed by a county board must be paid into the county treasury and credited to the general revenue fund of the county. An agent who is not an employee of the county shall must retain the filing fee in lieu of county employment or salary and is considered an independent contractor for pension purposes, coverage under the Minnesota State Retirement System, or membership in the Public Employees Retirement Association.
- (e) Before the end of the first working day following the final day of the reporting period established by the department, the agent must forward to the department all applications and fees collected during the reporting period except as provided in paragraph (d).
- 13.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to applications made on or after that date.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. **Identification card expiration.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the expiration date of a Minnesota identification card is the birthday of the applicant in the fourth eighth year following the date of issuance of the card.
- 13.18 (b) For an applicant age 65 or older:,

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.29

13.30

13.31

13.32

- 13.19 (1) the expiration date of a Minnesota identification card is the birthday of the applicant
 13.20 in the eighth year following the date of issuance of the eard; or
- 13.21 (2) a noncompliant identification card is valid for the lifetime of the applicant.
- 13.22 (e) For the purposes of paragraph (b), "Minnesota identification eard" does not include
 13.23 an enhanced identification eard issued to an applicant age 65 or older.
- 13.24 (d) (b) The expiration date for an Under-21 identification card is the cardholder's 21st
 13.25 birthday. The commissioner shall must issue an identification card to a holder of an Under-21
 13.26 identification card who applies for the card, pays the required fee, and presents proof of
 13.27 identity and age, unless the commissioner determines that the applicant is not qualified for
 13.28 the identification card.
 - (e) (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (d) and (b), the expiration date for an identification card issued to a person with temporary lawful status is the last day of the person's legal stay in the United States, or one year after issuance if the last day of the person's legal stay is not identified.

Sec. 13.

03/15/22 12:55 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H4164DE1
U3/13/22 12:33 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	WB/KK	H4104DE1

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or 14.1 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that 14.2 14.3 date. Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.0705, is amended by adding a subdivision 14.4 to read: 14.5 Subd. 11. Manual and study material availability. The commissioner must publish 14.6 14.7 the driver's manual on the department's website. The commissioner must also publish study support materials for the written exam and skills exam, with a focus on the subjects and 14.8 skills that are most commonly failed by exam takers. The commissioner must ensure that 14.9 the driver's manual and study support materials are easily located and available for no cost. 14.10 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.071, subdivision 4, is amended 14.11 to read: 14.12 Subd. 4. Variance for homebound individuals. (a) Notwithstanding section 171.07 or 14.13 Minnesota Rules, part 7410.1810, the commissioner may grant a variance from the 14.14 photograph requirements for a noncompliant identification card if: (1) the individual is 14.15 homebound as defined in paragraph (b); (2) the individual has submitted proof of homebound 14.16 status; and (3) the department has a photograph of the applicant on file that was taken within 14.17 the last four eight years or during the most recent renewal cycle or the applicant has submitted 14.18 a photograph to the department that meets the requirements of section 171.07, Minnesota 14.19 Rules, part 7410.1810, subpart 1, and other technical requirements established by the 14.20 commissioner, such as background color and electronic file size, to ensure the image can 14.21 be used on a credential and conforms with images taken by the department. Applicants 14.22 granted a photograph variance under this subdivision are not required to appear in person 14.23 to have a new photograph taken. 14.24 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "homebound" means the individual is unable to 14.25 leave the individual's residence due to a medical, physical, or mental health condition or 14.26 14.27 infirmity as documented in writing by a physician, case worker, or social worker. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or 14.28 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that 14.29 date. 14.30

Sec. 15. 14

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.12, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

15.26

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.32

15.33

Subd. 1a. **Driver and vehicle services information system; security and auditing.** (a) The commissioner must establish written procedures to ensure that only individuals authorized by law may enter, update, or access not public data collected, created, or maintained by the driver and vehicle services information system. An authorized individual's ability to enter, update, or access data in the system must correspond to the official duties or training level of the individual and to the statutory authorization granting access for that purpose. All queries and responses, and all actions in which data are entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated, must be recorded in a data audit trail. Data contained in the audit trail are public to the extent the data are not otherwise classified by law.

- (b) The commissioner must not revoke the authorization of any individual who properly accessed data to complete an authorized transaction or to resolve an issue that does not result in a completed authorized transaction. The commissioner must immediately and permanently revoke the authorization of any individual who willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of state or federal law. If an individual willfully gained access to data without authorization by law, the commissioner must forward the matter to the appropriate prosecuting authority for prosecution. The commissioner must establish a process that allows an individual whose access was revoked to appeal that decision.
- (c) The commissioner must arrange for an independent biennial audit of the driver and vehicle services information system to determine whether data currently in the system are classified correctly, how the data are used, and to verify compliance with this subdivision. The results of the audit are public. No later than 30 days following completion of the audit, the commissioner must provide a report summarizing the audit results to the commissioner of administration; the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance, public safety, and data practices; and the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy. The report must be submitted as required under section 3.195, except that printed copies are not required.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Examination subjects and locations; provisions for color blindness, disabled veterans.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the commissioner shall

Sec. 17. 15

<u>must</u> examine each applicant for a driver's license by such agency as the commissioner directs. This examination must include:

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

- (1) a test of the applicant's eyesight, provided that this requirement is met by submission of a vision examination certificate under section 171.06, subdivision 7;
- (2) a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic;
- (3) a test of the applicant's knowledge of (i) traffic laws; (ii) the effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely and legally, and of the legal penalties and financial consequences resulting from violations of laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; (iii) railroad grade crossing safety; (iv) slow-moving vehicle safety; (v) laws relating to pupil transportation safety, including the significance of school bus lights, signals, stop arm, and passing a school bus; (vi) traffic laws related to bicycles; and (vii) the circumstances and dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning;
- (4) an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle; and
- (5) other physical and mental examinations as the commissioner finds necessary to determine the applicant's fitness to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways.
- (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner must not deny an application for a driver's license based on the exclusive grounds that the applicant's eyesight is deficient in color perception or that the applicant has been diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. War veterans operating motor vehicles especially equipped for disabled persons, if otherwise entitled to a license, must be granted such license.
- (c) The commissioner shall make provision for giving the examinations under this subdivision either in the county where the applicant resides or at a place adjacent thereto reasonably convenient to the applicant.
- (d) The commissioner shall ensure that an applicant is able to obtain an appointment for an examination to demonstrate ability under paragraph (a), clause (4), within 14 days of the applicant's request if, under the applicable statutes and rules of the commissioner, the applicant is eligible to take the examination.
- (c) The commissioner must ensure that 40 or more exam stations are located in the state.
 The exam stations must be distributed so that all regions of the state are provided the same
 level of service.

Sec. 17. 16

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

(d) The commissioner must provide real-time information on the department's website about the availability and location of exam appointments. The website must show the next available exam dates and times for each exam station. The website must also provide an option for a person to enter an address to see the date and time of the next available exam at each exam station sorted by distance from the address provided. The information must be easily accessible and must not require a person to sign in or provide any other information, except an address, in order to see available exam dates.

- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining a driver's license, the commissioner may must waive the requirement requirements that the applicant pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle on determining that the applicant possesses a valid driver's license issued by a jurisdiction that requires a comparable demonstration for license issuance.
- (b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant 21 years of age or older possesses a valid driver's license with a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable examination for obtaining the endorsement, the commissioner must waive the requirements that the applicant for a two-wheeled vehicle endorsement pass a written knowledge examination and demonstrate the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.
- (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces, and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's separation or discharge.
- 17.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to applications made on or after that date.

Sec. 18. 17

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.13, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

18.33

- Subd. 7. **Examination fees.** (a) A fee of \$10 \subseteq \text{.......} must be paid by an individual to take a third and any subsequent knowledge test administered by the department if the individual has failed two previous consecutive knowledge tests on the subject.
- (b) A fee of \$20 \sum_{\text{......}} must be paid by an individual to take a third and any subsequent skills or road test administered by the department if the individual has previously failed two consecutive skill or road tests in a specified class of motor vehicle.
- (c) A fee of \$20 must be paid by an individual who fails to appear for a scheduled skills or road test or who cancels a skills or road test within 24 hours of the appointment time.
- (d) All fees received under this subdivision must be paid into the state treasury and credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund specified under section 299A.705.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.27, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Expiration.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the expiration date for each driver's license is the birthday of the driver in the <u>fourth eighth</u> year following the date of issuance of the license. The birthday of the driver <u>shall must</u> be as indicated on the application for a driver's license. A license may be renewed on or before expiration or within one year after expiration upon application, payment of the required fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal. Driving privileges <u>shall must</u> be extended or renewed on or preceding the expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the commissioner believes that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.
 - (b) The expiration date for each under-21 license shall <u>must</u> be the 21st birthday of the licensee. Upon the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment of the required fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's license shall <u>must</u> be issued unless the commissioner determines that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.
 - (c) The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of application for the provisional license.
 - (d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (c), the expiration date for a license issued to a person with temporary lawful status is the last day of the person's legal stay in the United States, or one year after issuance if the last day of the person's legal stay is not identified.

Sec. 20.

03/15/22 12:55 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H4164DE1

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or 19.1 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that 19.2 19.3 date. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 171.27, subdivision 2, is amended 19.4 to read: 19.5 Subd. 2. Extension of expiration. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible 19.6 19.7 individual" means: (1) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota in active military service, 19.8 as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5, in any branch or unit of the armed forces of the 19.9 United States; 19.10 (2) a person then or subsequently serving outside Minnesota as a volunteer in the Peace 19.11 Corps; 19.12 (3) a person who is an employee of a federal department or agency and is assigned to 19.13 foreign service outside of the United States; or 19.14 (4) a person residing outside of Minnesota because the person is a spouse, domestic 19.15 partner, or dependent under age 26 of a person in clause (1), (2), or (3). 19.16 (b) A valid Minnesota driver's license issued to an eligible individual continues in full 19.17 force and effect without requirement for renewal until the date one year following the 19.18 person's separation or discharge from active military or volunteer service, or following the 19.19 19.20 conclusion of assignment to foreign service outside the United States, and until the license holder's birthday in the fourth eighth full year following the person's most recent license 19.21 renewal or, in the case of a provisional license, until the person's birthday in the third full 19.22 year following the renewal. 19.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2022, and applies to new or 19.24 renewal applications for driver's licenses or identification cards submitted on or after that 19.25 19.26 date. Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.705, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 19.27 19.28 Subdivision 1. Vehicle services operating account. (a) The vehicle services operating account is created in the special revenue fund, consisting of all money from the vehicle 19.29 services fees specified in chapters 168, 168A, and 168D, and any other money donated, 19.30 allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. 19.31

Sec. 22. 19

20.1	(b) Funds appropriated from the account must be used by the commissioner of public
20.2	safety to administer the vehicle services specified in chapters 168, 168A, and 168D, and
20.3	section 169.345, including:
20.4	(1) designing, producing, issuing, and mailing vehicle registrations, plates, emblems,
20.5	and titles;
20.6	(2) collecting title and registration taxes and fees;
20.7	(3) transferring vehicle registration plates and titles;
20.8	(4) maintaining vehicle records;
20.9	(5) issuing disability certificates and plates;
20.10	(6) licensing vehicle dealers;
20.11	(7) appointing, monitoring, and auditing deputy registrars; and
20.12	(8) inspecting vehicles when required by law.
20.13	(c) \$ per mail transaction is annually appropriated from the account to the
20.14	commissioner for the expenses of performing the transaction.
20.15	(d) \$ per online transaction is annually appropriated from the account to the
20.16	commissioner for the expenses of performing the transaction.
20.17	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.705, is amended by adding a subdivision
20.18	to read:
20.19	Subd. 3a. Full-service provider account. (a) The full-service provider account is created
20.20	in the special revenue fund, consisting of fees described in sections 168.33, subdivision 7,
20.21	and 171.06, subdivision 2, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise
20.22	provided to the account.
20.23	(b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety
20.24	to distribute to full-service providers, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 12a. At
20.25	least quarterly, the commissioner must distribute the money in the account to each full-service
20.26	provider that was in operation during that quarter based proportionally on the number of
20.27	transactions completed by each full-service provider.

Sec. 23. 20

03/15/22 12:55 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H4164DE1
U3/13/22 12:33 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	WB/KK	H4104DE1

21.1	Sec. 24. REPORT; TRANSITION TO DIGITAL TITLES AND DRIVERS'
21.2	LICENSES.
21.3	By December 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must report to the chairs and
21.4	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation
21.5	policy and finance on transitioning from physical driver and vehicle documents to digital
21.6	versions of the same documents. At a minimum, the report must:
21.7	(1) include information on how other states have implemented the transition to digital
21.8	documents;
21.9	(2) make recommendations on how to ensure the security, integrity, and privacy of data;
21.10	(3) include an estimate of the costs for transitioning to digital documents;
21.11	(4) include an estimated timeline for transitioning to digital documents; and
21.12	(5) identify statutory changes necessary to implement the transition to digital documents.
21.13	Sec. 25. REPORT; DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES; POTENTIAL
21.14	USE OF MNDRIVE.
21.15	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
21.16	the meanings given.
21.17	(b) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of public safety and the commissioner
21.18	of natural resources.
21.19	(c) "DNR" means the Department of Natural Resources.
21.20	(d) "DNR system" means the current Department of Natural Resources system for boat,
21.21	all-terrain vehicle, and snowmobile registrations.
21.22	(e) "MnDRIVE" means the state's vehicle title and registration system.
21.23	Subd. 2. Report. By December 15, 2022, the commissioners, in consultation with deputy
21.24	registrars, must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
21.25	committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance and natural resources
21.26	policy and finance on the potential of transitioning from the DNR system to MnDRIVE to
21.27	complete boat, all-terrain vehicle, and snowmobile registrations. At a minimum, the report
21.28	must evaluate whether the DNR system should be replaced and, if so, whether MnDRIVE
21.29	is an appropriate replacement. If the commissioners determine MnDRIVE is an appropriate
21.30	replacement, then the report must also:
21.31	(1) include an estimate of costs for transitioning from the DNR system to MnDRIVE;

Sec. 25. 21

22.1	(2) include an estimated timeline for transitioning from the DNR system to MnDRIVE;
22.2	<u>and</u>
22.3	(3) identify statutory changes necessary to implement the transition from the DNR system
22.4	to MnDRIVE.
22.5	Sec. 26. REPORT; IMPLEMENTATION OF DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES
22.6	RECOMMENDATIONS.
22.7	Subdivision 1. Recommendations. The legislature encourages the commissioner of
22.8	public safety, in conjunction with appropriate stakeholders, to implement the following
22.9	recommendations included in independent expert review of driver and vehicle services
22.10	issued January 12, 2022:
22.11	(1) revise the deputy registrar and driver's license agent contracts to encourage all deputy
22.12	registrars and driver's license agents to become or remain full-service providers as defined
22.13	in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.002, subdivision 12a;
22.14	(2) track and share student pass rates for each certified driving school and investigate
22.15	high student failure rates when they occur for a given school;
22.13	
22.16	(3) determine how best to utilize certified and impartial third parties for administration
22.17	of knowledge and road tests;
22.18	(4) implement data and reporting practices to assist the commissioner in making decisions
22.19	focused on the residents of the state;
22.20	(5) conduct a staffing review that balances staff quantity and quality, leverages technology
22.21	automations and configurations, and establishes performance standards and targets that
22.22	meet the needs of the state;
22.23	(6) identify performance and service standards and create a deputy registrar performance
22.24	scorecard and a driver's license agent performance scorecard that monitors user performance
22.25	to ensure a consistently positive experience for Minnesotans;
22.26	(7) provide a rapid response communication method for situations where deputy registrars
22.27	or driver's license agents need immediate support;
<i>LL</i> . <i>L</i> I	
22.28	(8) explore ways to speed up background checks of new employees at the division of
22.29	driver and vehicle services offices and deputy registrar offices, including using a police
22.30	department or county sheriff;
22.31	(9) promote the preapplication process and expand the use of preapplications to all
22.32	possible, relevant areas;

HOUSE RESEARCH

03/15/22 12:55 pm

MB/RK

H4164DE1

Sec. 26. 22

03/15/22 12:55 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H4164DE1
(10) evaluate and make recommen	dations to the legislature of	on areas wher	e it is
appropriate to make preapplications m	nandatory;		
(11) adjust policies and practices to	automate as many approv	al transaction	s as possible;
(12) determine the proper user leve	el field needed by transact	ion type and	explore_
additional differentiated user levels in	MnDRIVE;		
(13) allow deputy registrars to have	increased visibility to and i	nfluence on th	ne MnDRIVE
enhancement process;			
(14) engage a learning consultant a	and create a content strates	gy and comm	unications
campaign to meet the needs of Minneso	ota residents, including a fee	edback loop fo	or continuous
improvement and evolution;			
(15) provide additional training and	d clear guidance regarding	permissible u	se of records
and enable in-application notation of usage other than for paid transactions;			
(16) consider what security measur	res are appropriate at each	deputy registi	ar or driver's
license agent location, including the po	ossible need for a security	officer or for	cameras with
recording capabilities; and			
(17) offer training in de-escalation	and negotiation technique	s to all public	-facing staff.
Subd. 2. Legislative report. (a) By	y December 15, 2022, the	commissione	r must report
to the chairs and ranking minority men	mbers of the legislative co	mmittees witl	n jurisdiction
over transportation finance and policy	on whether the recommen	ndations in su	bdivision 1
and the recommendations included in the March 2021 legislative auditor's report on driver			

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.25

will not be implemented.

23.23 (b) For each recommendation identified in paragraph (a) that has been implemented, the
23.24 commissioner must:

examination stations have been implemented, are in the process of being implemented, or

(1) describe when and how the recommendation was implemented;

- 23.26 (2) describe the outcome of implementing the recommendation; and
- 23.27 (3) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation.
- 23.28 (c) For each recommendation identified in paragraph (a) that is in the process of being implemented, the commissioner must:
- 23.30 (1) describe how the recommendation is being implemented;
- 23.31 (2) provide the anticipated timeline for implementation; and

Sec. 26. 23

24.1	(3) provide an estimated cost of implementing the recommendation.
24.2	(d) For each recommendation identified in paragraph (a) that will not be implemented,
24.3	the commissioner must:
24.4	(1) provide a detailed explanation of why the recommendation will not be implemented;
24.5	(2) provide an estimated cost to implement the recommendation;
24.6	(3) provide an estimated timeline to implement the recommendation;
24.7	(4) describe any unmet needs that, if met, would allow the commissioner to implement
24.8	the recommendation.
24.9	(e) In addition, the commissioner must include in the report:
24.10	(1) recommendations on any further changes to state statutes necessary or beneficial for
24.11	implementing the recommendations identified in paragraph (a); and
24.12	(2) the commissioner's plan for exam station locations, including how many exam stations
24.13	will remain open and the locations of the exam stations.
24.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
24.15	Sec. 27. EFFECTIVE DATE.
24.16	Except where otherwise specified, this act is effective August 1, 2022."
24.17	Amend the title accordingly

03/15/22 12:55 pm

HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK

H4164DE1

Sec. 27. 24