

Blue Earth Jackson Murray Redwood Brown Lincoln Nicollet Rock Cottonwood Lyon Nobles Watonwan

Faribault Martin Pipestone Freeborn Mower Renville

Dan Wildermuth, Chair Dennis Welgraven, Secretary Mic VanDeVere, Vice Chair Don Wachal, Treasurer

2401 Broadway Ave Suite 1, Slayton, MN 56172 Phone 507/836-1631 FAX 507/836-8866

Email: jasonw@swrdc.org website: http://www.rmeb.org

April 2, 2025

Chair Swedzinski and Committee Members,

Thank you for the opportunity to submit comments on House File 1859. The Rural Minnesota Energy Board is a joint powers board of 18 counties in Southwest Minnesota originally formed in 1996. Our goal has been to provide policy guidance and support on issues arising from energy development in rural Minnesota. Our member counties have been actively working together to resolve many energy related issues, including the barriers to local wind energy generation and development.

With our background and interest in the sustainability of the wind energy industry in Minnesota, we write today to oppose House File 1859. The restrictive approach taken in the bill would essentially eliminate any new construction of wind energy projects in the state. Wind energy projects provide economic opportunities for rural Minnesota counties and landowners while providing clean energy options to Minnesotans across our state.

Following the accelerated timeline for utilities to generate carbon-free energy by 2040, we believe wind energy development should be prioritized and supported rather than severely restricted. For these reasons, we urge committee members to oppose House File 1859.

Respectfully,

Chair Dan Wildermuth

Rural Minnesota Energy Board

4909-6511-0577, v. 2