ENERGY FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Kraft, Vice Chair of the Committee on Energy Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM on Tuesday April 1, 2025 in Room 123 of the State Capitol.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

ACOMB, Patty, DFL Co-Chair SWEDZINSKI, Chris, GOP Co-Chair KRAFT, Larry, DFL Co-Vice Chair MURPHY, Tom, GOP Co-Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedric HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas TABKE, Brad WIENER, Mike

A quorum was present.

Representative Swedzinski moved that the minutes from March 27, 2025 be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 2928 (Acomb) Preapplication filings for large water appropriation projects required, permit application information for large water appropriation projects added, level of environmental review for data centers specified, data centers exempted from making financial contributions to an energy conservation and optimization plan, and other data center provisions modified.

Representative Acomb moved that HF 2928 be laid over.

Representative Acomb moved the A2 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Acomb presented HF 2928 as amended.

Testifying on HF 2928 as amended:

- Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board
- Sydnie Lieb, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Commerce
- Katie Smith, Director, Ecological and Waters Resources Divisions, Minnesota DNR
- Chris Duffrin, President, Center for Energy and Environment
- Zac Ruzycki, Director of Resource Planning, Great River Energy
- Ryan Hentges, President and CEO, Dakota Electric Association
- Michelle Benson, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Dan Diorio, Senior Director, State Policy Director, Data Center Coalition
- Cathy Johnson
- Zach Martin, Government Affairs Manager, ALLETE
- Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club
- George Shardlow, Executive Director, Energy CENTS Coalition

Representative Acomb renewed the motion that HF 2928, as amended, be laid over. HF 2928, as amended, was laid over.

HF 2912 (Her) Macalester College geothermal energy system funding provided, and money appropriated.

Representative Her moved that HF 2912 be laid over.

Representative Her presented HF 2912.

Testifying on HF 2912:

- Erika Schwichtenberg, Director Macalester Foundation Government and Corporate Relations
- Nathan Leif, AVP, Macalester College

Representative Her renewed the motion that HF 2912 be laid over. HF 2912 was laid over.

HF 2986 (Kraft) Additional information in a public utility's resource plan required, public utilities directed to file a virtual power plant tariff and program with the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, cost recovery provided, and reports required.

Representative Kraft presented HF 2986

Testifying on HF 2986

- Sydnie Lieb, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Commerce
- Patty O'Keefe, Regional Director, Vote Solar
- James Pearson, Xcel Energy
- David Moberg, Policy & Regulatory Affairs Associate, MnSEIA
- Joe Hoppe, Manager of Legislative Affairs, Otter Tail Power Company

- Shannon Anderson, Solar United Neighbors
- Michael Overend, Two Harbors

HF 2297 (Myers) Special license plate established for solar pollinator programs, and agrivoltaic solar sites made eligible for solar site management practices.

Representative Myers moved that HF 2297 be re-referred to the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Myers moved to adopt the A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testifying on HF 2297 as amended:

- Sarah Webbe, Senior Policy & Regulatory Affairs Associate, MnSEIA
- Lindsay J. Brice, Policy Director, Audubon Upper Mississippi River
- Colleen Hollinger, Director, Business & Industry Development, Natural Resources Services

Representative Myers renewed the motion that HF 2297, as amended, be re-referred to the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 2:44 PM	
	Representative Patty Acomb, Co-Chair
	Declan McGuire, Committee Legislative Assistant