
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2278 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. AGRICULTURE APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

1.8 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

1.9 The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

1.10 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.​

1.11 "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium"​

1.12 is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

1.13 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.14 Available for the Year​
1.15 Ending June 30​

2025​1.16 2024​

1.17 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE​

73,029,000​$​90,969,000​$​1.18 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.19 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​1.20 2024​

72,630,000​90,570,000​1.21 General​

399,000​399,000​1.22 Remediation​

1.23 The amounts that may be spent for each​

1.24 purpose are specified in the following​

1.25 subdivisions.​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 Subd. 2. Protection Services​

2.2 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​2.3 2024​

17,610,000​29,666,000​2.4 General​

399,000​399,000​2.5 Remediation​

2.6 (a) $399,000 the first year and $399,000 the​

2.7 second year are from the remediation fund for​

2.8 administrative funding for the voluntary​

2.9 cleanup program.​

2.10 (b) $250,000 the first year and $250,000 the​

2.11 second year are for the soil health financial​

2.12 assistance program. The commissioner may​

2.13 use up to 6.5 percent of this appropriation for​

2.14 costs incurred to administer the program. This​

2.15 is a onetime appropriation. Any unencumbered​

2.16 balance does not cancel at the end of the first​

2.17 year and is available in the second year.​

2.18 Appropriations encumbered under contract on​

2.19 or before June 30, 2025, for soil health​

2.20 financial assistance grants are available until​

2.21 June 30, 2027.​

2.22 (c) $2,500,000 the first year is for transfer to​

2.23 the pollinator research account established​

2.24 under Minnesota Statutes, section 18B.051.​

2.25 (d) $400,000 the first year and $400,000 the​

2.26 second year are for transfer to the noxious​

2.27 weed and invasive plant species assistance​

2.28 account established under Minnesota Statutes,​

2.29 section 18.89, to award grants to local units​

2.30 of government and Tribal Nations under​

2.31 Minnesota Statutes, section 18.90.​

2.32 (e) $175,000 the first year and $175,000 the​

2.33 second year are for compensation for​

2.34 destroyed or crippled livestock under​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 Minnesota Statutes, section 3.737. The first​

3.2 year appropriation may be spent to compensate​

3.3 for livestock that were destroyed or crippled​

3.4 during fiscal year 2023. If the amount in the​

3.5 first year is insufficient, the amount in the​

3.6 second year is available in the first year. The​

3.7 commissioner may use up to $5,000 each year​

3.8 to reimburse expenses incurred by university​

3.9 extension educators to provide fair market​

3.10 values of destroyed or crippled livestock. If​

3.11 the commissioner receives federal dollars to​

3.12 pay claims for destroyed or crippled livestock,​

3.13 an equivalent amount of this appropriation​

3.14 may be used to reimburse nonlethal prevention​

3.15 methods performed by federal wildlife services​

3.16 staff.​

3.17 (f) $155,000 the first year and $155,000 the​

3.18 second year are for compensation for crop​

3.19 damage under Minnesota Statutes, section​

3.20 3.7371. If the amount in the first year is​

3.21 insufficient, the amount in the second year is​

3.22 available in the first year. The commissioner​

3.23 may use up to $10,000 of the appropriation​

3.24 each year to reimburse expenses incurred by​

3.25 the commissioner or the commissioner's​

3.26 approved agent to investigate and resolve​

3.27 claims, as well as for costs associated with​

3.28 training for approved agents. The​

3.29 commissioner may use up to $20,000 of the​

3.30 appropriation each year to make grants to​

3.31 producers for measures to protect stored crops​

3.32 from elk damage. If the commissioner​

3.33 determines that claims made under Minnesota​

3.34 Statutes, section 3.737 or 3.7371, are​

3.35 unusually high, amounts appropriated for​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 either program may be transferred to the​

4.2 appropriation for the other program.​

4.3 (g) $5,000,000 the first year is for transfer to​

4.4 the grain indemnity account established under​

4.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 223.24.​

4.6 (h) $825,000 the first year and $825,000 the​

4.7 second year are to replace capital equipment​

4.8 in the Department of Agriculture's analytical​

4.9 laboratory.​

4.10 (i) $75,000 the first year and $75,000 the​

4.11 second year are to support a meat processing​

4.12 liaison position to assist new or existing meat​

4.13 and poultry processing operations in getting​

4.14 started, expanding, growing, or transitioning​

4.15 into new business models.​

4.16 (j) $500,000 the first year is for grants to​

4.17 organizations in Minnesota to develop​

4.18 enterprises, supply chains, and markets for​

4.19 continuous living cover crops and cropping​

4.20 systems in the early stages of commercial​

4.21 development. For the purposes of this​

4.22 paragraph, "continuous living cover crops and​

4.23 cropping systems" refers to agroforestry,​

4.24 perennial biomass, perennial forage, perennial​

4.25 grains, and winter annual cereal grains and​

4.26 oilseeds that have market value as harvested​

4.27 or grazed commodities.​

4.28 (k) $1,126,000 the first year and $562,000 the​

4.29 second year are to identify and regulate​

4.30 pesticides containing perfluoroalkyl or​

4.31 polyfluoroalkyl substances.​

4.32 (l) $100,000 the first year is to prepare a​

4.33 proposal to regulate systemic pesticide-treated​

4.34 seed.​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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5.1 (m) $65,000 the first year is for transfer to the​

5.2 commissioner of natural resources for a report​

5.3 on feral pigs and mink.​

4,290,000​4,290,000​
5.4 Subd. 3. Agricultural Marketing and​
5.5 Development​

5.6 (a) $75,000 the first year and $75,000 the​

5.7 second year are to expand international trade​

5.8 opportunities and markets for Minnesota​

5.9 agricultural products.​

5.10 (b) $186,000 the first year and $186,000 the​

5.11 second year are for transfer to the Minnesota​

5.12 grown account and may be used as grants for​

5.13 Minnesota grown promotion established under​

5.14 Minnesota Statutes, section 17.102.​

5.15 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

5.16 16A.28, the appropriations encumbered under​

5.17 contract on or before June 30, 2025, for​

5.18 Minnesota grown grants in this paragraph are​

5.19 available until June 30, 2027.​

5.20 (c) $634,000 the first year and $634,000 the​

5.21 second year are for continuation of the dairy​

5.22 development and profitability enhancement​

5.23 programs including dairy profitability teams​

5.24 and dairy business planning grants under​

5.25 Minnesota Statutes, section 32D.30.​

5.26 (d) $200,000 the first year and $200,000 the​

5.27 second year are to award cooperative grants​

5.28 under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.1016.​

5.29 The commissioner may use up to six percent​

5.30 of the appropriation each year to administer​

5.31 the grant program.​

5.32 (e) The commissioner may use funds​

5.33 appropriated in this subdivision for annual​

5.34 cost-share payments to resident farmers or​

5​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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6.1 entities that sell, process, or package​

6.2 agricultural products in this state for the costs​

6.3 of organic certification. The commissioner​

6.4 may allocate these funds for assistance to​

6.5 persons transitioning from conventional to​

6.6 organic agriculture.​

33,057,000​34,057,000​
6.7 Subd. 4. Agriculture, Bioenergy, and Bioproduct​
6.8 Advancement​

6.9 (a) $11,740,000 the first year and $10,740,000​

6.10 the second year are for the agriculture​

6.11 research, education, extension, and technology​

6.12 transfer program under Minnesota Statutes,​

6.13 section 41A.14. Except as provide below, the​

6.14 appropriation each year is for transfer to the​

6.15 agriculture research, education, extension, and​

6.16 technology transfer account under Minnesota​

6.17 Statutes, section 41A.14, subdivision 3, and​

6.18 the commissioner shall transfer funds each​

6.19 year to the Board of Regents of the University​

6.20 of Minnesota for purposes of Minnesota​

6.21 Statutes, section 41A.14. To the extent​

6.22 practicable, money expended under Minnesota​

6.23 Statutes, section 41A.14, subdivision 1,​

6.24 clauses (1) and (2), must supplement and not​

6.25 supplant existing sources and levels of​

6.26 funding. The commissioner may use up to one​

6.27 percent of this appropriation for costs incurred​

6.28 to administer the program.​

6.29 Of the amount appropriated for the agriculture​

6.30 research, education, extension, and technology​

6.31 transfer program under Minnesota Statutes,​

6.32 section 41A.14:​

6.33 (1) $600,000 the first year and $600,000 the​

6.34 second year are for the Minnesota Agricultural​

6.35 Experiment Station's agriculture rapid​

6​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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7.1 response fund under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.2 section 41A.14, subdivision 1, clause (2);​

7.3 (2) up to $1,000,000 the first year and up to​

7.4 $1,000,000 the second year are for research​

7.5 on avian influenza, salmonella, and other​

7.6 turkey-related diseases;​

7.7 (3) $2,250,000 the first year and $2,250,000​

7.8 the second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

7.9 Agricultural Education Leadership Council to​

7.10 enhance agricultural education with priority​

7.11 given to Farm Business Management​

7.12 challenge grants;​

7.13 (4) $450,000 the first year and $450,000 the​

7.14 second year are for the cultivated wild rice​

7.15 breeding project at the North Central Research​

7.16 and Outreach Center to include a tenure​

7.17 track/research associate plant breeder;​

7.18 (5) $350,000 the first year and $350,000 the​

7.19 second year are for potato breeding;​

7.20 (6) $690,000 the first year and $690,000 the​

7.21 second year are to fund the Forever Green​

7.22 Initiative and protect the state's natural​

7.23 resources while increasing the efficiency,​

7.24 profitability, and productivity of Minnesota​

7.25 farmers by incorporating perennial and​

7.26 winter-annual crops into existing agricultural​

7.27 practices. The base for the allocation under​

7.28 this clause is $630,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

7.29 thereafter;​

7.30 (7) $1,000,000 the first year is to purchase and​

7.31 maintain equipment and physical infrastructure​

7.32 to support breeding, agronomic research, and​

7.33 food science activities of the Forever Green​

7​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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8.1 Initiative. The allocation in this clause is​

8.2 onetime; and​

8.3 (8) $500,000 each year is for farm scale winter​

8.4 greenhouse research and development​

8.5 coordinated by University of Minnesota​

8.6 Extension Regional Sustainable Development​

8.7 Partnerships. The allocation in this clause is​

8.8 onetime.​

8.9 (b) $22,317,000 the first year and $22,317,000​

8.10 the second year are for the agricultural growth,​

8.11 research, and innovation program under​

8.12 Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12. Except​

8.13 as provided below, the commissioner may​

8.14 allocate the appropriation each year among​

8.15 the following areas: facilitating the start-up,​

8.16 modernization, improvement, or expansion of​

8.17 livestock operations including beginning and​

8.18 transitioning livestock operations with​

8.19 preference given to robotic dairy-milking​

8.20 equipment; assisting value-added agricultural​

8.21 businesses to begin or expand, to access new​

8.22 markets, or to diversify, including aquaponics​

8.23 systems; facilitating the start-up,​

8.24 modernization, or expansion of other​

8.25 beginning and transitioning farms including​

8.26 by providing loans under Minnesota Statutes,​

8.27 section 41B.056; sustainable agriculture​

8.28 on-farm research and demonstration;​

8.29 development or expansion of food hubs and​

8.30 other alternative community-based food​

8.31 distribution systems; enhancing renewable​

8.32 energy infrastructure and use; crop research,​

8.33 including basic and applied turf seed research;​

8.34 Farm Business Management tuition assistance;​

8.35 and good agricultural practices and good​

8​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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9.1 handling practices certification assistance. The​

9.2 commissioner may use up to 6.5 percent of​

9.3 this appropriation for costs incurred to​

9.4 administer the program.​

9.5 Of the amount appropriated for the agricultural​

9.6 growth, research, and innovation program​

9.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12:​

9.8 (1) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

9.9 the second year are for distribution in equal​

9.10 amounts to each of the state's county fairs to​

9.11 preserve and promote Minnesota agriculture;​

9.12 (2) $6,750,000 the first year and $6,750,000​

9.13 the second year are for incentive payments​

9.14 under Minnesota Statutes, sections 41A.16,​

9.15 41A.17, 41A.18, and 41A.20. Of the amount​

9.16 each year, $1,000,000 is to pay prior claims​

9.17 that were not fully paid. Notwithstanding​

9.18 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, the first​

9.19 year appropriation is available until June 30,​

9.20 2025, and the second year appropriation is​

9.21 available until June 30, 2026. If this​

9.22 appropriation exceeds the total amount for​

9.23 which all producers are eligible in a fiscal​

9.24 year, the balance of the appropriation is​

9.25 available for other purposes under this​

9.26 paragraph. The base under this clause is​

9.27 $5,750,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter​

9.28 and does not include funding to pay prior​

9.29 claims that were not fully paid;​

9.30 (3) $3,000,000 the first year and $3,000,000​

9.31 the second year are for grants that enable retail​

9.32 petroleum dispensers, fuel storage tanks, and​

9.33 other equipment to dispense biofuels to the​

9.34 public in accordance with the biofuel​

9.35 replacement goals established under​

9​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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10.1 Minnesota Statutes, section 239.7911. A retail​

10.2 petroleum dispenser selling petroleum for use​

10.3 in spark ignition engines for vehicle model​

10.4 years after 2000 is eligible for grant money​

10.5 under this clause if the retail petroleum​

10.6 dispenser has no more than 10 retail petroleum​

10.7 dispensing sites and each site is located in​

10.8 Minnesota. The grant money must be used to​

10.9 replace or upgrade equipment that does not​

10.10 have the ability to be certified for E25. A grant​

10.11 award must not exceed 65 percent of the cost​

10.12 of the appropriate technology. A grant award​

10.13 must not exceed $200,000 per station. The​

10.14 commissioner must cooperate with biofuel​

10.15 stakeholders in the implementation of the grant​

10.16 program. The commissioner, in cooperation​

10.17 with any economic or community development​

10.18 financial institution and any other entity with​

10.19 which it contracts, must submit a report on the​

10.20 biofuels infrastructure financial assistance​

10.21 program by January 15 of each year to the​

10.22 chairs and ranking minority members of the​

10.23 legislative committees and divisions with​

10.24 jurisdiction over agriculture policy and​

10.25 finance. The annual report must include but​

10.26 not be limited to a summary of the following​

10.27 metrics: (i) the number and types of projects​

10.28 financed; (ii) the amount of dollars leveraged​

10.29 or matched per project; (iii) the geographic​

10.30 distribution of financed projects; (iv) any​

10.31 market expansion associated with upgraded​

10.32 infrastructure; (v) the demographics of the​

10.33 areas served; (vi) the costs of the program;​

10.34 and (vii) the number of grants to​

10.35 minority-owned or female-owned businesses;​

10​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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11.1 (4) $100,000 the first year and $100,000 the​

11.2 second year are for grants to facilitate the​

11.3 start-up, modernization, or expansion of​

11.4 copacking facilities, commercial kitchens, and​

11.5 other key supply chain infrastructure, such as​

11.6 shared cold-chain capacity. Money​

11.7 appropriated in this clause may also be used​

11.8 to assist value-added processors with food​

11.9 safety and environmental sustainability​

11.10 guideline planning and third-party certification​

11.11 services. The base under this clause is​

11.12 $100,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter;​

11.13 (5) $1,250,000 the first year and $1,250,000​

11.14 the second year are for grants to facilitate the​

11.15 start-up, modernization, or expansion of meat,​

11.16 poultry, egg, and milk processing facilities. A​

11.17 grant award under this clause must not exceed​

11.18 $200,000. Any unencumbered balance at the​

11.19 end of the second year does not cancel until​

11.20 June 30, 2026, and may be used for other​

11.21 purposes under this paragraph. The base under​

11.22 this clause is $250,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

11.23 thereafter;​

11.24 (6) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

11.25 the second year are to develop and enhance​

11.26 farm-to-school markets for Minnesota farmers​

11.27 by providing more fruits, vegetables, meat,​

11.28 grain, and dairy for Minnesota children in​

11.29 schools and early childhood education centers​

11.30 including, at the commissioner's discretion,​

11.31 reimbursing schools and early childhood​

11.32 education centers for purchases from local​

11.33 farmers;​

11.34 (7) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

11.35 the second year are for urban youth​

11​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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12.1 agricultural education or urban agriculture​

12.2 community development; and​

12.3 (8) $500,000 the first year and $500,000 the​

12.4 second year are for the good food access​

12.5 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

12.6 17.1017.​

12.7 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

12.8 16A.28, any unencumbered balance does not​

12.9 cancel at the end of the first year and is​

12.10 available for the second year, and​

12.11 appropriations encumbered under contract on​

12.12 or before June 30, 2025, for agricultural​

12.13 growth, research, and innovation grants are​

12.14 available until June 30, 2028.​

12.15 (c) The base for the agricultural growth,​

12.16 research, and innovation program is​

12.17 $16,079,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

12.18 $16,079,000 in fiscal year 2027, and includes​

12.19 funding for incentive payments under​

12.20 Minnesota Statutes, sections 41A.16, 41A.17,​

12.21 41A.18, and 41A.20.​

17,673,000​22,557,000​
12.22 Subd. 5. Administration and Financial​
12.23 Assistance​

12.24 (a) $474,000 the first year and $474,000 the​

12.25 second year are for payments to county and​

12.26 district agricultural societies and associations​

12.27 under Minnesota Statutes, section 38.02,​

12.28 subdivision 1. Aid payments to county and​

12.29 district agricultural societies and associations​

12.30 shall be disbursed no later than July 15 of each​

12.31 year. These payments are the amount of aid​

12.32 from the state for an annual fair held in the​

12.33 previous calendar year.​

12​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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13.1 (b) $350,000 the first year and $350,000 the​

13.2 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

13.3 Agricultural Education Leadership Council​

13.4 for programs of the council under Minnesota​

13.5 Statutes, chapter 41D.​

13.6 (c) $1,425,000 the first year and $1,425,000​

13.7 the second year are for transfer to the​

13.8 agricultural and environmental revolving loan​

13.9 account established under Minnesota Statutes,​

13.10 section 17.117, subdivision 5a, for low-interest​

13.11 loans under Minnesota Statutes, section​

13.12 17.117.​

13.13 (d) $1,950,000 the first year and $1,950,000​

13.14 the second year are for grants to Second​

13.15 Harvest Heartland on behalf of Minnesota's​

13.16 six Feeding America food banks for the​

13.17 following:​

13.18 (1) to purchase milk for distribution to​

13.19 Minnesota's food shelves and other charitable​

13.20 organizations that are eligible to receive food​

13.21 from the food banks. Milk purchased under​

13.22 the grants must be acquired from Minnesota​

13.23 milk processors and based on low-cost bids.​

13.24 The milk must be allocated to each Feeding​

13.25 America food bank serving Minnesota​

13.26 according to the formula used in the​

13.27 distribution of United States Department of​

13.28 Agriculture commodities under The​

13.29 Emergency Food Assistance Program. Second​

13.30 Harvest Heartland may enter into contracts or​

13.31 agreements with food banks for shared funding​

13.32 or reimbursement of the direct purchase of​

13.33 milk. Each food bank that receives funding​

13.34 under this clause may use up to two percent​

13.35 for administrative expenses;​

13​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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14.1 (2) to compensate agricultural producers and​

14.2 processors for costs incurred to harvest and​

14.3 package for transfer surplus fruits, vegetables,​

14.4 and other agricultural commodities that would​

14.5 otherwise go unharvested, be discarded, or​

14.6 sold in a secondary market. Surplus​

14.7 commodities must be distributed statewide to​

14.8 food shelves and other charitable organizations​

14.9 that are eligible to receive food from the food​

14.10 banks. Surplus food acquired under this clause​

14.11 must be from Minnesota producers,​

14.12 processors, and food hubs. Second Harvest​

14.13 Heartland may use up to 15 percent of each​

14.14 grant awarded under this clause for​

14.15 administrative and transportation expenses;​

14.16 and​

14.17 (3) to purchase and distribute protein products,​

14.18 including but not limited to pork, poultry, beef,​

14.19 dry legumes, cheese, and eggs to Minnesota's​

14.20 food shelves and other charitable organizations​

14.21 that are eligible to receive food from the food​

14.22 banks. Second Harvest Heartland may use up​

14.23 to two percent of each grant awarded under​

14.24 this clause for administrative expenses. Protein​

14.25 products purchased under the grants must be​

14.26 acquired from Minnesota processors,​

14.27 producers, and food hubs.​

14.28 Of the amount appropriated under this​

14.29 paragraph, at least $850,000 each year must​

14.30 be allocated under clause (1) and at least​

14.31 $100,000 each year must be used to purchase​

14.32 eligible items from food hubs that aggregate​

14.33 food produced by emerging farmers.​

14.34 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

14.35 16A.28, any unencumbered balance the first​

14​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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15.1 year does not cancel and is available in the​

15.2 second year. Second Harvest Heartland must​

15.3 submit quarterly reports to the commissioner​

15.4 and the chairs and ranking minority members​

15.5 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction​

15.6 over agriculture finance in the form prescribed​

15.7 by the commissioner. The reports must include​

15.8 but are not limited to information on the​

15.9 expenditure of funds, the amount of milk or​

15.10 other commodities purchased, and the​

15.11 organizations to which this food was​

15.12 distributed.​

15.13 (e) $100,000 the first year and $100,000 the​

15.14 second year are for grants to The Good Acre​

15.15 for the Local Emergency Assistance Farmer​

15.16 Fund program to compensate emerging​

15.17 farmers for crops donated to hunger relief​

15.18 organizations in Minnesota. This is a onetime​

15.19 appropriation.​

15.20 (f) $25,000 the first year and $25,000 the​

15.21 second year are for grants to the Southern​

15.22 Minnesota Initiative Foundation to promote​

15.23 local foods through an annual event that raises​

15.24 public awareness of local foods and connects​

15.25 local food producers and processors with​

15.26 potential buyers.​

15.27 (g) $400,000 the first year and $400,000 the​

15.28 second year are to expand the Emerging​

15.29 Farmer Office. The Emerging Farmer Office​

15.30 must engage and support emerging farmers​

15.31 regarding resources and opportunities​

15.32 available throughout the Department of​

15.33 Agriculture and the state. For purposes of this​

15.34 paragraph, "emerging farmer" has the meaning​

15.35 given in Minnesota Statutes, section 17.055,​

15​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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16.1 subdivision 1. Of the amount appropriated​

16.2 each year, $25,000 is for translation services.​

16.3 (h) $337,000 the first year and $337,000 the​

16.4 second year are for farm advocate services.​

16.5 Of the amount appropriated each year, $50,000​

16.6 is for the continuation of the farmland​

16.7 transition programs and may be used for grants​

16.8 to farmland access teams to provide technical​

16.9 assistance to potential beginning farmers.​

16.10 Farmland access teams must assist existing​

16.11 farmers and beginning farmers on transitioning​

16.12 farm ownership and farm operation. Services​

16.13 provided by teams may include but are not​

16.14 limited to mediation assistance, designing​

16.15 contracts, financial planning, tax preparation,​

16.16 estate planning, and housing assistance.​

16.17 (i) $260,000 the first year and $260,000 the​

16.18 second year are for a pass-through grant to​

16.19 Region Five Development Commission to​

16.20 provide, in collaboration with Farm Business​

16.21 Management, statewide mental health​

16.22 counseling support to Minnesota farm​

16.23 operators, families, and employees, and​

16.24 individuals who work with Minnesota farmers​

16.25 in a professional capacity. Region Five​

16.26 Development Commission may use up to 6.5​

16.27 percent of the grant awarded under this​

16.28 paragraph for administration.​

16.29 (j) $250,000 the first year and $250,000 the​

16.30 second year are to award and administer​

16.31 beginning farmer equipment and infrastructure​

16.32 grants under Minnesota Statutes, section​

16.33 17.055.​
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17.1 (k) $150,000 the first year and $150,000 the​

17.2 second year are for administrative support for​

17.3 the Rural Finance Authority.​

17.4 (l) $750,000 the first year and $750,000 the​

17.5 second year are to award and administer down​

17.6 payment assistance grants under Minnesota​

17.7 Statutes, section 17.133, to emerging farmers​

17.8 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section​

17.9 17.055. subdivision 1. Notwithstanding​

17.10 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, any​

17.11 unencumbered balance at the end of the first​

17.12 year does not cancel and is available in the​

17.13 second year, and appropriations encumbered​

17.14 under contract by June 30, 2025, are available​

17.15 until June 30, 2027.​

17.16 (m) $50,000 the first year is to provide​

17.17 technical assistance and leadership in the​

17.18 development of a comprehensive and​

17.19 well-documented state aquaculture plan. The​

17.20 commissioner must provide the state​

17.21 aquaculture plan to the legislative committees​

17.22 with jurisdiction over agriculture finance and​

17.23 policy by February 15, 2025.​

17.24 (n) $500,000 the first year and $500,000 the​

17.25 second year are for meat processing training​

17.26 and retention incentive grants under section​

17.27 6. This is a onetime appropriation.​

17.28 (o) $3,000,000 the first year is for Dairy​

17.29 Assistance, Investment, Relief Initiative​

17.30 (DAIRI) grants to Minnesota dairy farmers​

17.31 who enroll in coverage under a federal dairy​

17.32 risk protection program and produced no more​

17.33 than 25,000,000 pounds of milk in 2022. The​

17.34 commissioner must award DAIRI grants based​

17.35 on the amount of milk produced in 2022, up​
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18.1 to 5,000,000 pounds per participating​

18.2 producer, at a rate determined by the​

18.3 commissioner within the limits of available​

18.4 funding. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,​

18.5 section 16A.28, any unencumbered balance​

18.6 does not cancel at the end of the first year and​

18.7 is available the second year and any​

18.8 unencumbered balance at the end of the second​

18.9 year is available until June 30, 2026.​

18.10 (p) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

18.11 the second year are to award and administer​

18.12 hemp fiber processing equipment grants under​

18.13 Minnesota Statutes, section 18K.10.​

18.14 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

18.15 16A.28, any unencumbered balance does not​

18.16 cancel at the end of the first year and is for the​

18.17 second year. This is a onetime appropriation.​

18.18 (q) $150,000 the first year and $150,000 the​

18.19 second year are for technical assistance grants​

18.20 to certified community development financial​

18.21 institutions that participate in United States​

18.22 Department of Agriculture loan or grant​

18.23 programs for small or emerging farmers,​

18.24 including but not limited to the Increasing​

18.25 Land, Capital, and Market Access Program.​

18.26 For purposes of this paragraph, "emerging​

18.27 farmer" has the meaning given in Minnesota​

18.28 Statutes, section 17.055. subdivision 1.​

18.29 (r) $1,000,000 the first year is for transfer to​

18.30 the agricultural emergency account established​

18.31 under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.041.​

18.32 (s) $1,584,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

18.33 the second year are to support IT​

18.34 modernization efforts, including laying the​

18.35 technology foundations necessary to improve​
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19.1 customer licensing and payment interactions​

19.2 with the department. This is a onetime​

19.3 appropriation.​

19.4 (t) $150,000 the first year and $150,000 the​

19.5 second year are to coordinate climate-related​

19.6 activities and services within the Department​

19.7 of Agriculture and counterparts in local, state,​

19.8 and federal agencies and to hire a full-time​

19.9 climate implementation coordinator. The​

19.10 climate implementation coordinator must​

19.11 coordinate efforts seeking federal funding for​

19.12 Minnesota's agricultural climate adaptation​

19.13 and mitigation efforts and develop strategic​

19.14 partnerships with the private sector and​

19.15 nongovernment organizations.​

19.16 (u) $250,000 the first year is for a grant to the​

19.17 Board of Regents of the University of​

19.18 Minnesota to purchase equipment for the​

19.19 Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory to test for​

19.20 chronic wasting disease, African swine fever,​

19.21 avian influenza, and other animal diseases.​

19.22 The Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory must​

19.23 report expenditures under this paragraph to​

19.24 the legislative committees with jurisdiction​

19.25 over agriculture finance and higher education​

19.26 with a report submitted by January 3, 2024,​

19.27 and a final report submitted by September 1,​

19.28 2025. The reports must include a list of​

19.29 equipment purchased, including the cost of​

19.30 each item.​

19.31 (v) $2,500,000 the first year and $2,500,000​

19.32 the second year are to maintain the current​

19.33 level of service delivery. The base for this​

19.34 appropriation is $3,011,000 in fiscal year 2026​

19.35 and $3,011,000 in fiscal year 2026.​
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20.1 (w) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

20.2 the second year are for transfer to the Board​

20.3 of Regents of the University of Minnesota to​

20.4 evaluate, propagate, and maintain the genetic​

20.5 diversity of oilseeds, grains, grasses, legumes,​

20.6 and other plants including flax, timothy,​

20.7 barley, rye, triticale, alfalfa, orchard grass,​

20.8 clover, and other species and varieties that​

20.9 were in commercial distribution and use in​

20.10 Minnesota before 1970, excluding wild rice.​

20.11 This effort must also protect traditional seeds​

20.12 brought to Minnesota by immigrant​

20.13 communities. This appropriation includes​

20.14 funding for associated extension and outreach​

20.15 to small and BIPOC farmers. This is a onetime​

20.16 appropriation.​

20.17 (x) The commissioner shall continue to​

20.18 increase connections with ethnic minority and​

20.19 immigrant farmers to farming opportunities​

20.20 and farming programs throughout the state.​

6,779,000​$​6,613,000​$​20.21 Sec. 3. BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH​

20.22 (a) $560,000 the first year and $560,000 the​

20.23 second year are for agricultural emergency​

20.24 preparedness and response. As part of the​

20.25 fiscal year 2024 and 2025 reports required​

20.26 under Minnesota Statutes, section 35.03, the​

20.27 Board of Animal Health must report the​

20.28 number of additional positions created under​

20.29 this paragraph, the number of full-time​

20.30 equivalents hired under this paragraph and​

20.31 their specific expertise and training, and the​

20.32 specific types of incidents and animal diseases​

20.33 for which the board is preparing.​
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21.1 (b) $6,000 the first year and $6,000 the second​

21.2 year are for meeting expenses for the​

21.3 additional board members.​

21.4 (c) $166,000 the first year and $332,000 the​

21.5 second year are to maintain the current level​

21.6 of service delivery.​

4,343,000​$​5,643,000​$​
21.7 Sec. 4. AGRICULTURAL UTILIZATION​
21.8 RESEARCH INSTITUTE​

21.9 (a) $300,000 the first year is for equipment​

21.10 upgrades, equipment replacement, installation​

21.11 expenses, and laboratory infrastructure at the​

21.12 Agricultural Utilization Research Institute's​

21.13 laboratories in Crookston, Marshall, and​

21.14 Waseca.​

21.15 (b) $1,000,000 the first year is to replace​

21.16 analytical and processing equipment and make​

21.17 corresponding facility upgrades at Agricultural​

21.18 Utilization Research Institute facilities in​

21.19 Marshall and Waseca. This is a onetime​

21.20 appropriation and is available until June 30,​

21.21 2026.​

21.22 (c) $300,000 the first year and $300,000 the​

21.23 second year are to maintain the current level​

21.24 of service delivery.​

21.25 Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 3, article 1, section 2, subdivision 5, as​

21.26 amended by Laws 2022, chapter 95, article 1, section 1, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

13,429,000​11,477,000​
21.27 Subd. 5. Administration and Financial​
21.28 Assistance​

21.29 (a) $474,000 the first year and $474,000 the​

21.30 second year are for payments to county and​

21.31 district agricultural societies and associations​

21.32 under Minnesota Statutes, section 38.02,​

21.33 subdivision 1. Aid payments to county and​

21.34 district agricultural societies and associations​
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22.1 shall be disbursed no later than July 15 of each​

22.2 year. These payments are the amount of aid​

22.3 from the state for an annual fair held in the​

22.4 previous calendar year.​

22.5 (b) $387,000 the first year and $337,000 the​

22.6 second year are for farm advocate services.​

22.7 Of these amounts, $100,000 the first year and​

22.8 $50,000 the second year are for a pilot​

22.9 program creating farmland access teams to​

22.10 provide technical assistance to potential​

22.11 beginning farmers. The farmland access teams​

22.12 must assist existing farmers and beginning​

22.13 farmers on transitioning farm ownership and​

22.14 operation. Services provided by teams may​

22.15 include but are not limited to providing​

22.16 mediation assistance, designing contracts,​

22.17 financial planning, tax preparation, estate​

22.18 planning, and housing assistance. Of this​

22.19 amount for farm transitions, up to $50,000 the​

22.20 first year may be used to upgrade the​

22.21 Minnesota FarmLink web application that​

22.22 connects farmers looking for land with farmers​

22.23 looking to transition their land.​

22.24 (c) $47,000 the first year and $47,000 the​

22.25 second year are for grants to the Northern​

22.26 Crops Institute that may be used to purchase​

22.27 equipment. These are onetime appropriations.​

22.28 (d) $238,000 the first year and $260,000 the​

22.29 second year are for a pass-through grant to​

22.30 Region Five Development Commission to​

22.31 provide, in collaboration with Farm Business​

22.32 Management, statewide mental health​

22.33 counseling support to Minnesota farm​

22.34 operators, families, and employees, and​

22.35 individuals who work with Minnesota farmers​
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23.1 in a professional capacity. Region Five​

23.2 Development Commission may use up to 6.5​

23.3 percent of the grant awarded under this​

23.4 paragraph for administration. The base for this​

23.5 appropriation is $260,000 in fiscal year 2024​

23.6 and later.​

23.7 (e) $1,700,000 the first year and $1,700,000​

23.8 the second year are for grants to Second​

23.9 Harvest Heartland on behalf of Minnesota's​

23.10 six Feeding America food banks for the​

23.11 following:​

23.12 (1) to purchase milk for distribution to​

23.13 Minnesota's food shelves and other charitable​

23.14 organizations that are eligible to receive food​

23.15 from the food banks. Milk purchased under​

23.16 the grants must be acquired from Minnesota​

23.17 milk processors and based on low-cost bids.​

23.18 The milk must be allocated to each Feeding​

23.19 America food bank serving Minnesota​

23.20 according to the formula used in the​

23.21 distribution of United States Department of​

23.22 Agriculture commodities under The​

23.23 Emergency Food Assistance Program. Second​

23.24 Harvest Heartland may enter into contracts or​

23.25 agreements with food banks for shared funding​

23.26 or reimbursement of the direct purchase of​

23.27 milk. Each food bank that receives funding​

23.28 under this clause may use up to two percent​

23.29 for administrative expenses;​

23.30 (2) to compensate agricultural producers and​

23.31 processors for costs incurred to harvest and​

23.32 package for transfer surplus fruits, vegetables,​

23.33 and other agricultural commodities that would​

23.34 otherwise go unharvested, be discarded, or​

23.35 sold in a secondary market. Surplus​
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24.1 commodities must be distributed statewide to​

24.2 food shelves and other charitable organizations​

24.3 that are eligible to receive food from the food​

24.4 banks. Surplus food acquired under this clause​

24.5 must be from Minnesota producers and​

24.6 processors. Second Harvest Heartland may​

24.7 use up to 15 percent of each grant awarded​

24.8 under this clause for administrative and​

24.9 transportation expenses; and​

24.10 (3) to purchase and distribute protein products,​

24.11 including but not limited to pork, poultry, beef,​

24.12 dry legumes, cheese, and eggs to Minnesota's​

24.13 food shelves and other charitable organizations​

24.14 that are eligible to receive food from the food​

24.15 banks. Second Harvest Heartland may use up​

24.16 to two percent of each grant awarded under​

24.17 this clause for administrative expenses. Protein​

24.18 products purchased under the grants must be​

24.19 acquired from Minnesota processors and​

24.20 producers.​

24.21 Of the amount appropriated under this​

24.22 paragraph, at least $600,000 each year must​

24.23 be allocated under clause (1). Notwithstanding​

24.24 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, any​

24.25 unencumbered balance the first year does not​

24.26 cancel and is available in the second year.​

24.27 Second Harvest Heartland must submit​

24.28 quarterly reports to the commissioner and the​

24.29 chairs and ranking minority members of the​

24.30 legislative committees with jurisdiction over​

24.31 agriculture finance in the form prescribed by​

24.32 the commissioner. The reports must include​

24.33 but are not limited to information on the​

24.34 expenditure of funds, the amount of milk or​

24.35 other commodities purchased, and the​
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25.1 organizations to which this food was​

25.2 distributed.​

25.3 (f) $250,000 the first year and $250,000 the​

25.4 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

25.5 Agricultural Education and Leadership​

25.6 Council for programs of the council under​

25.7 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 41D.​

25.8 (g) $1,437,000 the first year and $1,437,000​

25.9 the second year are for transfer to the​

25.10 agricultural and environmental revolving loan​

25.11 account established under Minnesota Statutes,​

25.12 section 17.117, subdivision 5a, for low-interest​

25.13 loans under Minnesota Statutes, section​

25.14 17.117. The base for appropriations under this​

25.15 paragraph in fiscal year 2024 and thereafter​

25.16 is $1,425,000. The commissioner must​

25.17 examine how the department could use up to​

25.18 one-third of the amount transferred to the​

25.19 agricultural and environmental revolving loan​

25.20 account under this paragraph to award grants​

25.21 to rural landowners to replace septic systems​

25.22 that inadequately protect groundwater. No​

25.23 later than February 1, 2022, the commissioner​

25.24 must report to the legislative committees with​

25.25 jurisdiction over agriculture finance and​

25.26 environment finance on the results of the​

25.27 examination required under this paragraph.​

25.28 The commissioner's report may include other​

25.29 funding sources for septic system replacement​

25.30 that are available to rural landowners.​

25.31 (h) $150,000 the first year and $150,000 the​

25.32 second year are for grants to the Center for​

25.33 Rural Policy and Development. These are​

25.34 onetime appropriations.​
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26.1 (i) $150,000 the first year is to provide grants​

26.2 to Central Lakes College for the purposes of​

26.3 designing, building, and offering credentials​

26.4 in the area of meat cutting and butchery that​

26.5 align with industry needs as advised by local​

26.6 industry advisory councils. Notwithstanding​

26.7 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, any​

26.8 unencumbered balance does not cancel at the​

26.9 end of the first year and is available for the​

26.10 second year. The commissioner may only​

26.11 award a grant under this paragraph if the grant​

26.12 is matched by a like amount from another​

26.13 funding source. The commissioner must seek​

26.14 matching dollars from Minnesota State​

26.15 Colleges and Universities or other entities.​

26.16 The appropriation is onetime and is available​

26.17 until June 30, 2024. Any money remaining on​

26.18 June 30, 2024, must be transferred to the​

26.19 agricultural growth, research, and innovation​

26.20 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

26.21 41A.12, and is available until June 30, 2025.​

26.22 Grants may be used for costs including but​

26.23 not limited to:​

26.24 (1) facility renovation to accommodate meat​

26.25 cutting;​

26.26 (2) curriculum design and approval from the​

26.27 Higher Learning Commission;​

26.28 (3) program operational start-up costs;​

26.29 (4) equipment required for a meat cutting​

26.30 program; and​

26.31 (5) meat handling start-up costs in regard to​

26.32 meat access and market channel building.​

26.33 No later than January 15, 2023, Central Lakes​

26.34 College must submit a report outlining the use​
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27.1 of grant money to the chairs and ranking​

27.2 minority members of the legislative​

27.3 committees and divisions with jurisdiction​

27.4 over agriculture and higher education.​

27.5 (j) $2,000 the first year is for grants to the​

27.6 Minnesota State Poultry Association. This is​

27.7 a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding​

27.8 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, any​

27.9 unencumbered balance does not cancel at the​

27.10 end of the first year and is available for the​

27.11 second year.​

27.12 (k) $17,000 the first year and $17,000 the​

27.13 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

27.14 State Horticultural Society. These are onetime​

27.15 appropriations.​

27.16 (l) $18,000 the first year and $18,000 the​

27.17 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

27.18 Livestock Breeders Association. These are​

27.19 onetime appropriations.​

27.20 (m) The commissioner shall continue to​

27.21 increase connections with ethnic minority and​

27.22 immigrant farmers to farming opportunities​

27.23 and farming programs throughout the state.​

27.24 (n) $25,000 the first year and $25,000 the​

27.25 second year are for grants to the Southern​

27.26 Minnesota Initiative Foundation to promote​

27.27 local foods through an annual event that raises​

27.28 public awareness of local foods and connects​

27.29 local food producers and processors with​

27.30 potential buyers.​

27.31 (o) $75,000 the first year and $75,000 the​

27.32 second year are for grants to Greater Mankato​

27.33 Growth, Inc., for assistance to​

27.34 agriculture-related businesses to promote jobs,​
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28.1 innovation, and synergy development. These​

28.2 are onetime appropriations.​

28.3 (p) $75,000 the first year and $75,000 the​

28.4 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

28.5 Turf Seed Council for basic and applied​

28.6 research. The Minnesota Turf Seed Council​

28.7 may subcontract with a qualified third party​

28.8 for some or all of the basic or applied research.​

28.9 No later than January 15, 2023, the Minnesota​

28.10 Turf Seed Council must submit a report​

28.11 outlining the use of the grant money and​

28.12 related accomplishments to the chairs and​

28.13 ranking minority members of the legislative​

28.14 committees with jurisdiction over agriculture.​

28.15 These are onetime appropriations. Any​

28.16 unencumbered balance does not cancel at the​

28.17 end of the first year and is available for the​

28.18 second year.​

28.19 (q) $150,000 the first year and $150,000 the​

28.20 second year are to establish an emerging​

28.21 farmer office and hire a full-time emerging​

28.22 farmer outreach coordinator. The emerging​

28.23 farmer outreach coordinator must engage and​

28.24 support emerging farmers regarding resources​

28.25 and opportunities available throughout the​

28.26 Department of Agriculture and the state. For​

28.27 purposes of this paragraph, "emerging farmer"​

28.28 has the meaning provided in Minnesota​

28.29 Statutes, section 17.055, subdivision 1. Of the​

28.30 amount appropriated each year, $25,000 is for​

28.31 translation services for farmers and cottage​

28.32 food producers.​

28.33 (r) $222,000 the first year and $286,000 the​

28.34 second year are to maintain the current level​

28.35 of service delivery.​
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29.1 (s) $827,000 the second year is to award and​

29.2 administer grants to:​

29.3 (1) organizations to provide technical and​

29.4 culturally appropriate services to emerging​

29.5 farmers and related businesses;​

29.6 (2) organizations to help emerging farmers​

29.7 pay for up to 65 percent of premium expenses​

29.8 each year up to two years under the federal​

29.9 micro farm insurance program; and​

29.10 (3) The Good Acre for the Local Emergency​

29.11 Assistance Farmer Fund (LEAFF) program to​

29.12 compensate emerging farmers for crops​

29.13 donated to hunger relief organizations in​

29.14 Minnesota.​

29.15 This is a onetime appropriation and is​

29.16 available until June 30, 2024.​

29.17 (t) $750,000 the second year is to support the​

29.18 IT modernization efforts, including laying the​

29.19 technology foundations needed for improving​

29.20 customer interactions with the department for​

29.21 licensing and payments. The base for this​

29.22 appropriation is $584,000 in fiscal year 2024​

29.23 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

29.24 (u) $1,500,000 the first year is for transfer to​

29.25 the agricultural emergency account established​

29.26 under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.041. This​

29.27 is a onetime transfer. This transfer is in​

29.28 addition to the appropriations made in Laws​

29.29 2022, chapter 47, section 2.​

29.30 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

29.31 17.041, the commissioner may use the amount​

29.32 to be transferred for the purposes identified​

29.33 under Laws 2022, chapter 47, section 2,​
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30.1 paragraph (b). This paragraph expires on​

30.2 December 31, 2022.​

30.3 (v) $250,000 in the second year is for a grant​

30.4 to the Board of Regents of the University of​

30.5 Minnesota to purchase equipment for the​

30.6 Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory to test for​

30.7 chronic wasting disease, African swine fever,​

30.8 avian influenza, and other animal diseases.​

30.9 The Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory must​

30.10 report expenditures under this paragraph to​

30.11 the legislative committees with jurisdiction​

30.12 over agriculture finance and higher education​

30.13 with initial reports completed by January 3,​

30.14 2023, and January 3, 2024, and a final report​

30.15 by September 1, 2025. The reports must​

30.16 include a list of equipment purchased,​

30.17 including the cost of each item. The base for​

30.18 this appropriation is $250,000 in fiscal year​

30.19 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

30.20 (w) $141,000 the second year is for additional​

30.21 funding to administer the beginning farmer​

30.22 tax credit. The base for this appropriation is​

30.23 $56,000 in fiscal year 2024 and later.​

30.24 (x) $750,000 the second year is for a grant to​

30.25 the Ag Innovation Campus to continue​

30.26 construction of a soybean processing and​

30.27 research facility. This is a onetime​

30.28 appropriation.​

30.29 The commissioner shall submit a report on the​

30.30 utilization of the grants to the chairs and​

30.31 ranking minority members of the legislative​

30.32 committees and divisions with jurisdiction​

30.33 over agriculture policy and finance by​

30.34 February 1, 2024.​
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31.1 (y) $50,000 is added to the base for fiscal year​

31.2 2024 and $0 for fiscal year 2025 to provide​

31.3 technical assistance and leadership in the​

31.4 development of a comprehensive and​

31.5 well-documented state aquaculture plan. The​

31.6 commissioner must provide the state​

31.7 aquaculture plan to the legislative committees​

31.8 with jurisdiction over agriculture finance and​

31.9 policy by February 15, 2025.​

31.10 (z) $500,000 the second year is to award and​

31.11 administer down payment assistance grants​

31.12 under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.133. The​

31.13 base for this appropriation is $750,000 in fiscal​

31.14 year 2024 and thereafter. Notwithstanding​

31.15 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, any​

31.16 unencumbered balance the first year does not​

31.17 cancel and is available in the second year.​

31.18 (aa) $350,000 the second year is to provide​

31.19 grants to secondary career and technical​

31.20 education programs for the purpose of offering​

31.21 instruction in meat cutting and butchery. By​

31.22 January 15, 2023, the commissioner must​

31.23 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

31.24 members of the committees with jurisdiction​

31.25 over agriculture finance and education finance​

31.26 by listing the grants made under this paragraph​

31.27 by county and noting the number and amount​

31.28 of grant requests not fulfilled. The report may​

31.29 include additional information as determined​

31.30 by the commissioner, including but not limited​

31.31 to information regarding the outcomes​

31.32 produced by these grants. If additional grants​

31.33 are awarded under this paragraph that were​

31.34 not covered in the report due by January 15,​

31.35 2023, the commissioner must submit an​

31​Article 1 Sec. 5.​

HOUSE RESEARCH CS/RK H2278DE1​03/27/23 08:34 pm ​



32.1 additional report to the chairs and ranking​

32.2 minority members of the committees with​

32.3 jurisdiction over agriculture finance and​

32.4 education finance regarding all grants issued​

32.5 under this paragraph by November 1, 2023.​

32.6 This is a onetime appropriation. Grants may​

32.7 be used for costs, including but not limited to:​

32.8 (1) equipment required for a meat cutting​

32.9 program;​

32.10 (2) facility renovation to accommodate meat​

32.11 cutting; and​

32.12 (3) training faculty to teach the fundamentals​

32.13 of meat processing.​

32.14 A grant recipient may be awarded a grant of​

32.15 up to $70,000 and may use up to ten percent​

32.16 of the grant for faculty training.​

32.17 Priority may be given to applicants who are​

32.18 coordinating with meat cutting and butchery​

32.19 programs at Minnesota State Colleges and​

32.20 Universities system and local industry​

32.21 partners.​

32.22 Sec. 6. GRANTS FOR MEAT PROCESSING TRAINING AND RETENTION​

32.23 INCENTIVES.​

32.24 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

32.25 the meanings given.​

32.26 (b) "Partner organizations" include:​

32.27 (1) foundations engaged in economic development;​

32.28 (2) community development financial institutions;​

32.29 (3) federally recognized economic development districts; and​

32.30 (4) community development corporations.​
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33.1 (c) "Small to medium-sized meat and poultry processor" means a meat and poultry​

33.2 processor licensed by the state of Minnesota or the federal government that has fewer than​

33.3 150 employees.​

33.4 Subd. 2. Grants. (a) The commissioner of agriculture must provide grants to partner​

33.5 organizations to assist small to medium-sized meat and poultry processors with hiring and​

33.6 training new employees. New employees at eligible meat and poultry processing plants may​

33.7 receive up to $10,000 in the form of tuition reimbursement for programs at Minnesota state​

33.8 colleges and universities, sign-on bonuses, relocation assistance, retention incentives, child​

33.9 care stipends, and other related expenses. Employees at any one meat or poultry processor​

33.10 may not receive more than $50,000 under this paragraph.​

33.11 (b) Up to 20 percent of a grant to a partner organization may be used for direct services​

33.12 to employees, including but not limited to translation services.​

33.13 (c) Priority must be given to applications from partner organizations working in​

33.14 partnership with Minnesota state colleges and universities.​

33.15 ARTICLE 2​

33.16 AGRICULTURE STATUTORY CHANGES​

33.17 Section 1. [17.033] LICENSE AND PERMIT SURCHARGES.​

33.18 The commissioner may collect license and permit surcharges on all licensing and​

33.19 permitting transactions conducted by the Department of Agriculture for which a fee is​

33.20 charged. The surcharge applies to all initial and renewal license and permit applications​

33.21 and is calculated based on the license or permit base fee. Late penalties or other assessments​

33.22 are not included in the calculation of the surcharge. The fee is set at five percent beginning​

33.23 August 1, 2023, with a minimum fee of $5 for each transaction. The surcharge rate must​

33.24 be reviewed and set annually by the commissioner and may be assessed at a rate of between​

33.25 three and eight percent of the licensing or permitting fee, with a minimum fee of $5 for each​

33.26 transaction. The fees collected for this surcharge must be deposited in a dedicated account​

33.27 in the agricultural fund. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the​

33.28 commissioner for the information technology improvement activities needed to create​

33.29 electronic systems for conducting licensing and permitting transactions and to modernize​

33.30 the department's inspection and customer management systems.​
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34.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.055, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

34.2 Subdivision 1. Emerging farmer working group. To advise the commissioner and​

34.3 legislature regarding the development and implementation of programs and initiatives that​

34.4 support emerging farmers in this state, the commissioner must periodically convene a​

34.5 working group consisting, to the extent possible, of persons who are, and organizations that​

34.6 represent, farmers or aspiring farmers who are women, veterans, persons with disabilities,​

34.7 American Indian or Alaskan Natives, members of a community of color, young, LGBTQIA+,​

34.8 and urban, and any other emerging farmers as determined by the commissioner. No later​

34.9 than January 15 each year, the commissioner must update the chairs and ranking minority​

34.10 members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture​

34.11 regarding the working group's activities and recommendations.​

34.12 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

34.13 read:​

34.14 Subd. 2a. Emerging Farmers Office. The Emerging Farmers Office exists to support​

34.15 emerging farmers. For purposes of this paragraph, "emerging farmer" has the meaning given​

34.16 in subdivision 1. At a minimum, the office must coordinate the emerging farmer working​

34.17 group under subdivision 1 and the beginning farmer equipment and infrastructure grant​

34.18 program under subdivision 3.​

34.19 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

34.20 read:​

34.21 Subd. 3. Beginning farmer equipment and infrastructure grants. (a) The commissioner​

34.22 may award and administer equipment and infrastructure grants to beginning farmers. The​

34.23 commissioner shall give preference to applicants who are emerging farmers as defined in​

34.24 subdivision 1. Grant money may be used for equipment and infrastructure development.​

34.25 (b) The commissioner shall develop competitive eligibility criteria and may allocate​

34.26 grants on a needs basis.​

34.27 (c) Grant projects may continue for up to two years.​

34.28 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

34.29 read:​

34.30 Subd. 4. Report. No later than February 1 each year, the commissioner must submit a​

34.31 report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions​
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35.1 with jurisdiction over agriculture regarding the emerging farmer working group's activities,​

35.2 recommendations, and any grants awarded under this section.​

35.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.1016, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

35.4 Subd. 2. Grant program. (a) The commissioner may establish and implement a grant​

35.5 program to help farmers finance new cooperatives that organize for purposes of operating​

35.6 an agricultural product processing facility or marketing an agricultural product or agricultural​

35.7 service.​

35.8 (b) To be eligible for this program, a grantee must:​

35.9 (1) be a cooperative organized under chapter 308A or 308B;​

35.10 (2) certify that all control and equity in of the cooperative is from farmers, family farm​

35.11 partnerships, family farm limited liability companies, or family farm corporations as defined​

35.12 in section 500.24, subdivision 2, who are actively engaged in agricultural commodity​

35.13 production;​

35.14 (3) be operated primarily to process agricultural commodities or market agricultural​

35.15 products or services produced in Minnesota; and​

35.16 (4) receive agricultural commodities produced primarily by shareholders or members​

35.17 of the cooperative; and​

35.18 (5) not allow nonpatron voting rights.​

35.19 (c) The commissioner may receive applications and make grants up to $50,000 to eligible​

35.20 grantees for feasibility, marketing analysis, assistance with organizational development,​

35.21 financing and managing new cooperatives, product development, development of business​

35.22 and marketing plans, and predesign of facilities, including site analysis, the development​

35.23 of bid specifications, preliminary blueprints and schematics, and the completion of purchase​

35.24 agreements and other necessary legal documents.​

35.25 (d) Grants must be matched dollar-for-dollar with other money or in-kind contributions.​

35.26 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.116, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

35.27 Subd. 3. Awarding of grants. (a) Applications for grants must be made to the​

35.28 commissioner on forms prescribed by the commissioner.​

35.29 (b) The applications must be reviewed, ranked, and recommended by a technical review​

35.30 panel appointed by the commissioner. The technical review panel shall consist of a soil​

35.31 scientist, an agronomist, a representative from a postsecondary educational institution, an​
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36.1 agricultural marketing specialist, two resident farmers of the state using sustainable​

36.2 agriculture methods, two resident farmers of the state using organic agriculture methods,​

36.3 and a chair from the department.​

36.4 (c) The technical review panel shall rank applications according to the following criteria:​

36.5 (1) direct or indirect energy savings or production;​

36.6 (2) environmental benefit;​

36.7 (3) farm profitability;​

36.8 (4) the number of farms able to apply the techniques or the technology proposed;​

36.9 (5) the effectiveness of the project as a demonstration;​

36.10 (6) the immediate transferability of the project to farms; and​

36.11 (7) the ability of the project to accomplish its goals.​

36.12 (d) The commissioner shall consider the recommendations of the technical review panel​

36.13 and may award grants for eligible projects. Priority must be given to applicants who are​

36.14 farmers or groups of farmers.​

36.15 (e) Grants for eligible projects may not exceed $25,000 unless the portion above $25,000​

36.16 is matched on an equal basis by the applicant's cash or in-kind land use contribution.​

36.17 contribution or the value of the applicant's in-kind land use, equipment use, or personal​

36.18 labor. Grant recipients who are not required to provide a match and grant recipients whose​

36.19 in-kind contributions exceed the amount needed to meet matching requirements may submit​

36.20 the value of the grant recipients' labor or equipment use as an expense eligible for payment​

36.21 from grant money. Grant funding of projects may not exceed $50,000 under this section,​

36.22 but applicants may utilize other funding sources. A portion of each grant must be targeted​

36.23 for public information activities of the project.​

36.24 (f) A project may continue for up to three years. Multiyear projects must be reevaluated​

36.25 by the technical review panel and the commissioner before second or third year funding is​

36.26 approved. A project is limited to one grant for its funding.​

36.27 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.133, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

36.28 Subd. 3. Report to legislature. No later than December 1, 2023, and annually thereafter,​

36.29 the commissioner must provide a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the​

36.30 legislative committees having jurisdiction over agriculture and rural development, in​
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37.1 compliance with sections 3.195 and 3.197, on the farm down payment assistance grants​

37.2 under this section. The report must include:​

37.3 (1) background information on beginning farmers in Minnesota and any other information​

37.4 that the commissioner and authority find relevant to evaluating the effect of the grants on​

37.5 increasing opportunities for and the number of beginning farmers;​

37.6 (2) the number and amount of grants;​

37.7 (3) the geographic distribution of grants by county;​

37.8 (4) the number of grant recipients who are emerging farmers;​

37.9 (5) disaggregated data regarding the gender, race, and ethnicity of grant recipients;​

37.10 (5) (6) the number of farmers who cease to own land and are subject to payment of a​

37.11 penalty, along with the reasons for the land ownership cessation; and​

37.12 (6) (7) the number and amount of grant applications that exceeded the allocation available​

37.13 in each year.​

37.14 Sec. 9. [17.134] SOIL HEALTH FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.​

37.15 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner must establish and administer a​

37.16 program to support healthy soil management practices in accordance with this section.​

37.17 Subd. 2. Eligible projects. The commissioner may award a grant under this section for​

37.18 any project on agricultural land in Minnesota that will:​

37.19 (1) increase the quantity of organic carbon in soil through practices, including but not​

37.20 limited to reduced tillage, cover cropping, manure management, precision agriculture, crop​

37.21 rotations, and changes in grazing management;​

37.22 (2) integrate perennial vegetation into the management of agricultural lands;​

37.23 (3) reduce nitrous oxide and methane emissions through changes to livestock, soil​

37.24 management, or nutrient optimization;​

37.25 (4) increase the usage of precision agricultural practices;​

37.26 (5) enable the development of site-specific management plans; or​

37.27 (6) enable the purchase of equipment, parts and materials, technology, subscriptions,​

37.28 technical assistance, seeds, seedlings, or amendments that will further any of the purposes​

37.29 in clauses (1) to (5).​
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38.1 Subd. 3. Grant eligibility. Any owner or lessee of farmland may apply for a grant under​

38.2 this section. Local government units, including cities, towns, counties, soil and water​

38.3 conservation districts, Tribal Nations, and joint powers boards, are also eligible for a grant.​

38.4 A local government unit that receives a grant for equipment or technology must make those​

38.5 purchases available for use by the public.​

38.6 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18B.01, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

38.7 Subd. 2b. Bee owner. "Bee owner" means a person who owns an apiary a bee colony​

38.8 or colonies.​

38.9 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18B.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

38.10 read:​

38.11 Subd. 2c. Bee kill incident. "Bee kill incident" means an acute pesticide poisoning of​

38.12 a bee colony or colonies located within one-half mile of each other at a single time point.​

38.13 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18B.051, is amended to read:​

38.14 18B.051 POLLINATOR RESEARCH ACCOUNT.​

38.15 Subdivision 1. Account established. A pollinator research account is established in the​

38.16 agricultural fund. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the Board of​

38.17 Regents of the University of Minnesota for pollinator research and outreach, including, but​

38.18 not limited to, science-based best practices and the identification and establishment of habitat​

38.19 beneficial to pollinators.:​

38.20 (1) the identification and establishment of habitat beneficial to pollinators;​

38.21 (2) the development and promotion of science-based best management practices;​

38.22 (3) the development and promotion of practices that can reduce the effects of pesticides​

38.23 on pollinators;​

38.24 (4) the effects of seed treatments on pollinators; and​

38.25 (5) the development and promotion of integrated pest management, including pest​

38.26 economic thresholds.​

38.27 The University of Minnesota must select projects in consultation with the Minnesota​

38.28 Department of Agriculture.​

38.29 Subd. 2. Expiration. This section expires July 1, 2025 2027.​
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39.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18B.055, is amended to read:​

39.2 18B.055 COMPENSATION FOR BEES KILLED BY PESTICIDE;​

39.3 APPROPRIATION.​

39.4 Subdivision 1. Compensation required. (a) The commissioner must compensate a​

39.5 person bee owner for an acute pesticide poisoning resulting in the death of bees or loss of​

39.6 bee colonies owned by the person, provided: bee owner.​

39.7 (1) the person who applied the pesticide cannot be determined;​

39.8 (2) the person who applied the pesticide did so in a manner consistent with the pesticide​

39.9 product's label or labeling; or​

39.10 (3) the person who applied the pesticide did so in a manner inconsistent with the pesticide​

39.11 product's label or labeling.​

39.12 (b) Except as provided in this section, the bee owner is entitled to the fair market value​

39.13 of the dead bees and bee colonies losses as determined by the commissioner upon​

39.14 recommendation by academic experts and bee keepers. In any fiscal year, A bee owner must​

39.15 not be compensated for a claim that is less than $100 or compensated more than $20,000​

39.16 for all eligible claims. $10,000 for a bee kill incident. A bee owner may only make one​

39.17 claim for a single bee kill incident.​

39.18 (c) A bee owner must not be compensated more than $20,000 in a fiscal year for bee​

39.19 kill incidents.​

39.20 (c) (d) To be eligible for compensation under this section, the bee owner and the affected​

39.21 apiary must be registered prior to the bee kill incident with a commonly utilized pesticide​

39.22 registry program, as designated by the commissioner.​

39.23 Subd. 2. Applicator responsible. In the event a person applies a pesticide in a manner​

39.24 inconsistent with the pesticide product's label or labeling requirements as approved by the​

39.25 commissioner and is determined to have caused the acute pesticide poisoning of bees,​

39.26 resulting in death or loss of a bee colony kept for commercial purposes, then the person so​

39.27 identified must bear the responsibility of restitution for the value of the bees to the owner.​

39.28 In these cases the commissioner must not provide compensation as provided in this section.​

39.29 Subd. 3. Claim form. Within three months of the commissioner making a determination​

39.30 of whether the death of bees or loss of bee colonies was caused by acute pesticide poisoning,​

39.31 the bee owner must file a claim on forms provided by the commissioner and available on​

39.32 the Department of Agriculture's website.​
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40.1 Subd. 4. Determination. The commissioner must determine whether the death of the​

40.2 bees or loss of bee colonies was caused by an acute pesticide poisoning, whether the pesticide​

40.3 applicator can be determined, and whether the pesticide applicator applied the pesticide​

40.4 product in a manner consistent with the pesticide product's label or labeling.​

40.5 Subd. 5. Payments; denial of compensation. (a) If the commissioner determines the​

40.6 bee death or loss of bee colony was caused by an acute pesticide poisoning and either the​

40.7 pesticide applicator cannot be determined or the pesticide applicator applied the pesticide​

40.8 product in a manner consistent with the pesticide product's label or labeling, the commissioner​

40.9 may award compensation from the pesticide regulatory account. If the pesticide applicator​

40.10 can be determined and the applicator applied the pesticide product in a manner inconsistent​

40.11 with the product's label or labeling, the commissioner may collect a penalty from the pesticide​

40.12 applicator sufficient to compensate the bee owner for the fair market value of the dead bees​

40.13 and bee colonies losses, and must award the money to the bee owner.​

40.14 (b) (a) If the commissioner denies compensation claimed by a bee owner under this​

40.15 section, the commissioner must issue a written decision based upon the available evidence.​

40.16 The decision must include specification of the facts upon which the decision is based and​

40.17 the conclusions on the material issues of the claim. The commissioner must mail a copy of​

40.18 the decision to the bee owner.​

40.19 (c) (b) A decision to deny compensation claimed under this section is not subject to the​

40.20 contested case review procedures of chapter 14, but may be reviewed upon a trial de novo​

40.21 in a court in the county where the loss occurred. The decision of the court may be appealed​

40.22 as in other civil cases. Review in court may be obtained by filing a petition for review with​

40.23 the administrator of the court within 60 days following receipt of a decision under this​

40.24 section. Upon the filing of a petition, the administrator must mail a copy to the commissioner​

40.25 and set a time for hearing within 90 days of the filing.​

40.26 Subd. 6. Deduction from payment. The commissioner must reduce payments made​

40.27 under this section by any compensation received by the bee owner for dead bees and bee​

40.28 colonies losses as proceeds from an insurance policy or from another source.​

40.29 Subd. 6a. Enhanced penalty factor. If the commissioner determines that a bee death​

40.30 or loss of bee colony was caused by acute pesticide poisoning, is able to determine the​

40.31 pesticide applicator that was responsible, and determines that the applicator applied the​

40.32 pesticide in a manner inconsistent with the product's label or labeling, the commissioner​

40.33 may add the amount that the bee owner received from the bee owner's claim to any penalty​
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41.1 amount assessed by the commissioner under any penalty actions against the pesticide​

41.2 applicator under section 18D.315 or 18D.325.​

41.3 Subd. 7. Appropriation. The amount necessary to pay claims under this section, not to​

41.4 exceed $150,000 per fiscal year, is appropriated from the pesticide regulatory account in​

41.5 section 18B.05.​

41.6 Sec. 14. [18B.117] REGISTRATION PROHIBITED.​

41.7 The commissioner must not register under section 18B.26 a pesticide product that contains​

41.8 a perfluoroalkyl or polyfluoroalkyl substance as an active or inert ingredient.​

41.9 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18C.425, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

41.10 Subd. 6. Payment of inspection fee. (a) The person who registers and distributes in the​

41.11 state a specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, or plant amendment under section 18C.411 shall​

41.12 pay the inspection fee to the commissioner.​

41.13 (b) The person licensed under section 18C.415 who distributes a fertilizer to a person​

41.14 not required to be so licensed shall pay the inspection fee to the commissioner, except as​

41.15 exempted under section 18C.421, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).​

41.16 (c) The person responsible for payment of the inspection fees for fertilizers, soil​

41.17 amendments, or plant amendments sold and used in this state must pay an inspection fee of​

41.18 39 64 cents per ton, and until June 30, 2024, an additional 40 cents per ton, of fertilizer, soil​

41.19 amendment, and plant amendment sold or distributed in this state, with a minimum of $10​

41.20 on all tonnage reports. Notwithstanding section 18C.131, the commissioner must deposit​

41.21 all revenue from the additional 40 cents per ton fee in the agricultural fertilizer research and​

41.22 education account in section 18C.80. Products sold or distributed to manufacturers or​

41.23 exchanged between them are exempt from the inspection fee imposed by this subdivision​

41.24 if the products are used exclusively for manufacturing purposes.​

41.25 (d) A registrant or licensee must retain invoices showing proof of fertilizer, plant​

41.26 amendment, or soil amendment distribution amounts and inspection fees paid for a period​

41.27 of three years.​

41.28 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

41.29 read:​

41.30 Subd. 15a. Live plant dealer. "Live plant dealer" means an entity who:​

41.31 (1) raises, grows, or propagates nursery stock for sale, outdoors or indoors;​
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42.1 (2) acquires and further distributes nursery stock, including through landscaping or​

42.2 distribution with a tree spade; or​

42.3 (3) operates a business in Minnesota selling nursery stock with or without taking​

42.4 ownership or handling the nursery stock.​

42.5 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

42.6 Subd. 6. Dissemination of information. The commissioner may disseminate information​

42.7 among growers live plant dealers relative to treatment of nursery stock in both prevention​

42.8 and elimination of attack by plant pests and diseases.​

42.9 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.05, is amended to read:​

42.10 18H.05 NURSERY CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS.​

42.11 (a) No person may offer for sale or distribute certified nursery stock as a nursery stock​

42.12 grower or live plant dealer without first obtaining the appropriate nursery stock certificate​

42.13 from the commissioner. The commissioner may not issue a certificate to a person who does​

42.14 not sell certified nursery stock. Certificates are issued solely for these purposes and may​

42.15 not be used for other purposes.​

42.16 (b) A certificate issued by the commissioner expires on December 31 of the year it is​

42.17 issued.​

42.18 (c) A person required to be certified by this section must apply for a certificate or for​

42.19 renewal on a form furnished by the commissioner which must contain:​

42.20 (1) the name and address of the applicant, the number of locations to be operated by the​

42.21 applicant and their addresses, and the assumed business name of the applicant;​

42.22 (2) if other than an individual, a statement whether a person is a partnership, corporation,​

42.23 or other organization;​

42.24 (3) the type of business to be operated and, if the applicant is an agent, the principals​

42.25 the applicant represents; and​

42.26 (4) source or sources of purchased nursery stock.​

42.27 (d) No person may:​

42.28 (1) falsely claim to be a certified live plant dealer, grower, broker, or agent;​

42.29 (2) make willful false statements when applying for a certificate; or​
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43.1 (3) sell or distribute certified nursery stock to an uncertified nursery stock live plant​

43.2 dealer who is required to be certified or nursery stock grower.​

43.3 (e) Each application for a certificate must be accompanied by the appropriate certificate​

43.4 fee under section 18H.07.​

43.5 (f) Certificates issued by the commissioner must be prominently displayed to the public​

43.6 in the place of business where certified nursery stock is sold or distributed.​

43.7 (g) The commissioner may refuse to issue a certificate for cause.​

43.8 (h) Each grower or live plant dealer is entitled to one sales location under the certificate​

43.9 of the grower or dealer. Each additional sales location maintained by the person requires​

43.10 the payment of the full certificate fee for each additional sales outlet.​

43.11 (i) A grower who is also a dealer is certified only as a grower for that specific site.​

43.12 (j) (i) A certificate is personal to the applicant and may not be transferred. A new​

43.13 certificate is necessary if the business entity is changed or if the membership of a partnership​

43.14 is changed, whether or not the business name is changed.​

43.15 (k) (j) The certificate issued to a live plant dealer or grower applies to the particular​

43.16 premises named in the certificate. However, if prior approval is obtained from the​

43.17 commissioner, the place of business may be moved to the other premises or location without​

43.18 an additional certificate fee.​

43.19 (l) (k) A collector of nursery stock from the wild is required to obtain a dealer's live​

43.20 plant dealer certificate from the commissioner and is subject to all the requirements that​

43.21 apply to the inspection of nursery stock. All collected nursery stock must be labeled as​

43.22 "collected from the wild."​

43.23 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

43.24 read:​

43.25 Subd. 3a. New live plant dealer certificate. An entity that was not distributing certified​

43.26 nursery stock for the past two full calendar years is considered a new applicant for the basis​

43.27 of fee determination. A new live plant dealer must pay the following fees:​

43.28 (1) $50 fee for a live plant dealer certificate that allows for one retail sales location. A​

43.29 $50 certificate is required for each additional retail sales location; and​

43.30 (2) a live plant dealer growing nursery stock requires an inspection for certification of​

43.31 that nursery stock prior to sale of the nursery stock and must be assessed an additional​

43.32 charge of $100 plus $10 per acre up to 200 acres. Acreage to be certified should be rounded​
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44.1 to the nearest one acre. For the basis of fee determination, "growing nursery stock" means​

44.2 the purchase of seeds, seedlings, or small plants and the cultivation of the plants in fields​

44.3 or containers in Minnesota for eventual sale, including cutting, splitting, and propagating​

44.4 plants.​

44.5 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

44.6 read:​

44.7 Subd. 3b. Live plant dealer renewal certificate. (a) A renewal certificate is for a live​

44.8 plant dealer that has had a certificate in at least one of the past two full calendar years. A​

44.9 live plant dealer must pay an annual fee based on the following criteria:​

44.10 (1) a $50 fee for a live plant dealer certificate that allows for one retail sales location.​

44.11 A $50 certificate is required for each additional retail sales location;​

44.12 (2) a fee of gross annual purchases of certified nursery stock as noted in the table below​

44.13 with the intent to resell in the same year. These are plants that are watered and maintained​

44.14 only for the purposes of keeping the plants alive. Gross annual purchases are calculated for​

44.15 nursery stock purchases from January 1 through December 31 of the most recent certificate​

44.16 year according to the following table;​

Fee​44.17 Purchases​

$0​to $3,000​44.18 $0​

$50​to $10,000​44.19 $3,001​

$100​to $20,000​44.20 $10,001​

$225​to $50,000​44.21 $20,001​

$425​to $100,000​44.22 $50,001​

$600​to $150,000​44.23 $100,001​

$750​to $200,000​44.24 $150,001​

$975​to $300,000​44.25 $200,001​

$1,200​to $400,000​44.26 $300,001​

$1,250​to $500,000​44.27 $400,001​

$1,350​to $600,000​44.28 $500,001​

$1,400​to $700,000​44.29 $600,001​

$1,500​to $800,000​44.30 $700,001​

$1,600​to $900,000​44.31 $800,001​

$1,700​to $1,000,000​44.32 $900,001​

$1,800​to $2,000,000​44.33 $1,000,001​

$1,900​to $3,000,000​44.34 $2,000,001​

.0005 x annual purchases; and​44.35 $3,000,001 or more​
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45.1 (3) a live plant dealer growing nursery stock requires an inspection for certification of​

45.2 that nursery stock prior to sale and must be assessed an additional charge of $100 plus $10​

45.3 per acre up to 200 acres. Acreage to be certified should be rounded to the nearest one acre.​

45.4 For the basis of fee determination, "growing nursery stock" is the purchase of seeds,​

45.5 seedlings, or small plants and the cultivation of plants in fields or containers in Minnesota​

45.6 for eventual sale, including cutting, splitting, and propagating plants.​

45.7 (b) In addition to the fees in paragraph (a), a penalty of 25 percent of the fee due may​

45.8 be charged or a portion thereof, if the fee is delinquent or any application for renewal is not​

45.9 postmarked or electronically date stamped by December 31 of the current year.​

45.10 (c) A live plant dealer operating without a valid certificate must not offer nursery stock​

45.11 for sale or sell nursery stock until a certificate is issued to the live plant dealer by the​

45.12 commissioner and the live plant dealer has paid any applicable fees and penalties in full.​

45.13 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

45.14 Subd. 2. Virus disease-free certification. The commissioner may provide special​

45.15 services such as virus disease-free certification and other similar programs. Participation​

45.16 by nursery stock growers live plant dealers is voluntary. Plants offered for sale as certified​

45.17 virus-free must be grown according to certain procedures in a manner defined by the​

45.18 commissioner for the purpose of eliminating viruses and other injurious disease or insect​

45.19 pests. The commissioner shall collect reasonable fees from participating nursery stock​

45.20 growers live plant dealers for services and materials that are necessary to conduct this type​

45.21 of work.​

45.22 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.09, is amended to read:​

45.23 18H.09 NURSERY STOCK CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS.​

45.24 (a) All nursery stock growing at sites identified by nursery stock dealers or nursery stock​

45.25 growers live plant dealers and submitted for inspection must be inspected by the​

45.26 commissioner within the previous 12 months prior to sale and found apparently free from​

45.27 quarantine and regulated nonquarantine pests as well as significantly dangerous or potentially​

45.28 damaging plant pests. The commissioner may waive a site inspection under the following​

45.29 conditions:​

45.30 (1) the nursery stock is not going to be sold within 12 months;​

45.31 (2) the nursery stock will not be moved out of Minnesota; and​
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46.1 (3) the nursery site or stock is not subject to certification requirements associated with​

46.2 a state or federally regulated or quarantined plant pest.​

46.3 All nursery stock originating from out of state and offered for sale in Minnesota must​

46.4 have been inspected by the appropriate state or federal agency during the previous 12 months​

46.5 and found free from quarantine and regulated nonquarantine pests as well as significantly​

46.6 dangerous or potentially damaging plant pests. A nursery stock certificate is valid from​

46.7 January 1 to December 31.​

46.8 (b) Nursery stock must be accessible to the commissioner for inspection during regular​

46.9 business hours. Weeds or other growth that hinder a proper inspection are grounds to suspend​

46.10 or withhold a certificate or require a reinspection.​

46.11 (c) Inspection reports issued to growers live plant dealers must contain a list of the plant​

46.12 pests found at the time of inspection. Withdrawal-from-distribution orders are considered​

46.13 part of the inspection reports. A withdrawal-from-distribution order must contain a list of​

46.14 plants withdrawn from distribution and the location of the plants.​

46.15 (d) The commissioner may post signs to delineate sections withdrawn from distribution.​

46.16 These signs must remain in place until the commissioner removes them or grants written​

46.17 permission to the grower to remove the signs.​

46.18 (e) Inspection reports issued to live plant dealers must outline the violations involved​

46.19 and corrective actions to be taken including withdrawal-from-distribution orders which​

46.20 would specify nursery stock that could not be distributed from a certain area.​

46.21 (f) Optional inspections of plants may be conducted by the commissioner upon request​

46.22 by any persons desiring an inspection. A fee as provided in section 18H.07 must be charged​

46.23 for such an inspection.​

46.24 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

46.25 Subd. 3. Reciprocal agreements. The commissioner may cooperate with and enter into​

46.26 reciprocal agreements with other states regarding licensing and movement of nursery stock.​

46.27 Reciprocal agreements with other states do not prevent the commissioner from prohibiting​

46.28 the distribution in Minnesota of any nursery stock that fails to meet minimum criteria for​

46.29 nursery stock of Minnesota certified growers, dealers, or both live plant dealers. An official​

46.30 directory of certified nurseries and related nursery industry businesses from other states is​

46.31 acceptable in lieu of individual nursery certificates.​
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47.1 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18H.15, is amended to read:​

47.2 18H.15 VIOLATIONS.​

47.3 (a) A person who offers to distribute nursery stock that is uncertified, uninspected, or​

47.4 falsely labeled or advertised possesses an illegal regulated commodity that is considered​

47.5 infested or infected with harmful plant pests and subject to regulatory action and control.​

47.6 If the commissioner determines that the provisions of this section have been violated, the​

47.7 commissioner may order the destruction of all of the plants unless the person:​

47.8 (1) provides proper phytosanitary preclearance, phytosanitary certification, or nursery​

47.9 stock certification;​

47.10 (2) agrees to have the plants, plant materials, or nursery stock returned to the consignor;​

47.11 and​

47.12 (3) provides proper documentation, certification, or compliance to support advertising​

47.13 claims.​

47.14 (b) The plant owner is liable for all costs associated with a withdrawal-from-distribution​

47.15 order or the quarantine, treatment, or destruction of plants. The commissioner is not liable​

47.16 for actual or incidental costs incurred by a person due to the commissioner's actions. The​

47.17 commissioner must be reimbursed by the owner of the plants for the actual expenses incurred​

47.18 in carrying out a withdrawal-from-distribution order or the quarantine, treatment, or​

47.19 destruction of any plants.​

47.20 (c) It is unlawful for a person to:​

47.21 (1) misrepresent, falsify, or knowingly distribute, sell, advertise, or display damaged,​

47.22 mislabeled, misrepresented, infested, or infected nursery stock;​

47.23 (2) fail to obtain a nursery certificate as required by the commissioner;​

47.24 (3) fail to renew a nursery certificate, but continue business operations;​

47.25 (4) fail to display a nursery certificate;​

47.26 (5) misrepresent or falsify a nursery certificate;​

47.27 (6) refuse to submit to a nursery inspection;​

47.28 (7) fail to provide the cooperation necessary to conduct a successful nursery inspection;​

47.29 (8) offer for sale uncertified plants, plant materials, or nursery stock;​

47.30 (9) possess an illegal regulated commodity;​
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48.1 (10) violate or disobey a commissioner's order;​

48.2 (11) violate a quarantine issued by the commissioner;​

48.3 (12) fail to obtain phytosanitary certification for plant material or nursery stock brought​

48.4 into Minnesota;​

48.5 (13) deface, mutilate, or destroy a nursery stock certificate, phytosanitary certificate, or​

48.6 phytosanitary preclearance certificate, or other commissioner mark, permit, or certificate;​

48.7 (14) fail to notify the commissioner of an uncertified shipment of plants, plant materials,​

48.8 or nursery stock;​

48.9 (15) transport uncertified plants, plant materials, or nursery stock in Minnesota; or​

48.10 (16) sell nursery stock to an uncertified nursery stock live plant dealer who is required​

48.11 to be certified.​

48.12 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18K.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

48.13 Subdivision 1. Requirement; issuance; presumption. (a) A person must obtain a license​

48.14 from the commissioner before (1) growing industrial hemp for commercial or research​

48.15 purposes, and (2) before processing industrial hemp for commercial purposes, or (3)​

48.16 researching industrial hemp.​

48.17 (b) To obtain a license under paragraph (a), a person must apply to the commissioner​

48.18 in the form prescribed by the commissioner and must pay the annual registration and​

48.19 inspection fee established by the commissioner in accordance with section 16A.1285,​

48.20 subdivision 2.​

48.21 (c) For a license to grow industrial hemp for commercial or research purposes, the license​

48.22 application must include the name and address of the applicant and the legal description of​

48.23 the land area or areas where industrial hemp will be grown by the applicant and any other​

48.24 information required under Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, part 990.​

48.25 (d) For a license to process industrial hemp for commercial purposes, the license​

48.26 application must include the name and address of the applicant, the legal description of the​

48.27 processing location, and any other information required by the commissioner.​

48.28 (e) A licensee is responsible for compliance with the license requirements irrespective​

48.29 of the acts or omissions of an authorized representative acting on behalf of the licensee.​
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49.1 (f) When an applicant has paid the fee and completed the application process to the​

49.2 satisfaction of the commissioner, the commissioner must issue a license which is valid until​

49.3 December 31 of the year of application.​

49.4 (g) A person licensed under paragraph (a) to grow industrial hemp is presumed to be​

49.5 growing industrial hemp for commercial or research purposes.​

49.6 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18K.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

49.7 Subd. 2. Background check; data classification. The commissioner must require each​

49.8 first-time applicant for a license to submit to a background investigation conducted by the​

49.9 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as a condition of licensure. Any first-time authorized​

49.10 representatives designated by the applicant must also submit to a background investigation.​

49.11 As part of the background investigation, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension must conduct​

49.12 criminal history checks of Minnesota records and is authorized to exchange fingerprints​

49.13 with the United States Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose​

49.14 of a criminal background check of the national files. The cost of the investigation must be​

49.15 paid by the applicant. Criminal history records provided to the commissioner under this​

49.16 section must be treated as private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision​

49.17 12.​

49.18 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18K.06, is amended to read:​

49.19 18K.06 RULEMAKING.​

49.20 (a) The commissioner shall adopt rules governing the production, testing, processing,​

49.21 and licensing of industrial hemp. Notwithstanding section 14.125, the commissioner's​

49.22 authority to adopt these rules expires June 30, 2022. Notwithstanding the two-year limitation​

49.23 for exempt rules under section 14.388, subdivision 1, Minnesota Rules, chapter 1565,​

49.24 published in the State Register August 16, 2021, is effective until August 16, 2025, or until​

49.25 permanent rules implementing chapter 18K are adopted, whichever occurs first.​

49.26 (b) Rules adopted under paragraph (a) must include, but not be limited to, provisions​

49.27 governing:​

49.28 (1) the supervision and inspection of industrial hemp during its growth and harvest;​

49.29 (2) the testing of industrial hemp to determine delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol levels;​

49.30 (3) the use of background check results required under section 18K.04 to approve or​

49.31 deny a license application; and​
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50.1 (4) any other provision or procedure necessary to carry out the purposes of this chapter.​

50.2 (c) Rules issued under this section must be consistent with federal law regarding the​

50.3 production, distribution, and sale of industrial hemp.​

50.4 Sec. 28. [18K.10] HEMP FIBER PROCESSING EQUIPMENT GRANTS.​

50.5 The commissioner must award grants to licensed processors who increase the state's​

50.6 capacity to process industrial hemp fiber. Grants are limited to no more than $200,000 of​

50.7 processing equipment and reasonable equipment installation costs per processing location.​

50.8 A licensed processor must match the grant with other funding equal to at least 25 percent​

50.9 of the grant amount.​

50.10 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 25.39, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

50.11 Subdivision 1. Amount of fee. (a) An inspection fee at the rate of 16 cents per ton must​

50.12 be paid to the commissioner on commercial feeds distributed in this state by the person who​

50.13 first distributes the commercial feed, except that:​

50.14 (1) no fee need be paid on any feed ingredient in a customer formula feed that has been​

50.15 directly furnished by the customer; or​

50.16 (2) no fee need be paid on a first distribution if made to a qualified buyer who, with​

50.17 approval from the commissioner, is responsible for the fee. Such license-specific​

50.18 tonnage-fee-exemption permits shall be issued on a calendar year basis to commercial feed​

50.19 licensees who distribute feed or feed ingredients outside the state, and who submit a $100​

50.20 nonrefundable application fee and comply with rules adopted by the commissioner relative​

50.21 to record keeping, tonnage of commercial feed distributed in Minnesota, total of all​

50.22 commercial feed tonnage distributed, and all other information which the commissioner​

50.23 may require so as to ensure that proper inspection fee payment has been made.​

50.24 (b) In the case of pet food or specialty pet food distributed in the state only in packages​

50.25 of ten pounds or less, a distributor must register each product and submit a current label for​

50.26 each product annually on forms provided by the commissioner, accompanied by an annual​

50.27 application fee of $100 for each product in lieu of the inspection fee, and within five business​

50.28 days, submit a current label for each product upon the request of the commissioner. This​

50.29 annual fee must be received by the commissioner on or before June 30 or postmarked on​

50.30 or before June 30. The inspection fee required by paragraph (a) applies to pet food or​

50.31 specialty pet food distributed in packages exceeding ten pounds.​

50.32 (c) The minimum inspection fee is $75 per annual reporting period.​
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51.1 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 28A.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

51.2 read:​

51.3 Subd. 4. Food handler license account; appropriation. A food handler license account​

51.4 is established in the agricultural fund. Fees paid under subdivision 3 must be deposited in​

51.5 this account. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner​

51.6 for expenses relating to licensing and inspecting food handlers under chapters 28 to 34A or​

51.7 rules adopted under one of those chapters.​

51.8 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 28A.082, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

51.9 Subdivision 1. Fees; application. (a) The fees for review of food handler facility floor​

51.10 plans under the Minnesota Food Code are based upon the square footage of the structure​

51.11 being newly constructed, remodeled, or converted. The fees for the review shall be:​

review fee​51.12 square footage​

200.00​$​51.13 0 - 4,999 999.................

400.00​$​51.14 1,000 - 4,999.................

51.15 275.00​
800.00​$​51.16 5,000 - 24,999...............

51.17 425.00​
1,000.00​$​51.18 25,000 plus...................

51.19 (b) The applicant must submit the required fee, review application, plans, equipment​

51.20 specifications, materials lists, and other required information on forms supplied by the​

51.21 department at least 30 days prior to commencement of construction, remodeling, or​

51.22 conversion. The commissioner may waive this fee after determining that the facility's​

51.23 principal mode of business is not the sale of food and that the facility sells only prepackaged​

51.24 foods.​

51.25 (c) The fee for a remodel of a licensed food establishment by the license holder is based​

51.26 on the total square footage in paragraph (a) of the remodeled food preparation, service,​

51.27 display, and storage areas only. This paragraph does not apply to a retail food handler who​

51.28 is applying for a new license that includes the conversion of an existing building or structure​

51.29 that was previously licensed as a food establishment.​

51.30 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 28A.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

51.31 read:​

51.32 Subd. 3. Vending machine inspection account; appropriation. A vending machine​

51.33 inspection account is established in the agricultural fund. Fees paid under subdivision 1​
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52.1 must be deposited in this account. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated​

52.2 to the commissioner for expenses relating to identifying and inspecting food vending​

52.3 machines under chapters 28 to 34A or rules adopted under one of those chapters.​

52.4 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

52.5 Subdivision 1. Members; officers. The board has six 11 members appointed by the​

52.6 governor with the advice and consent of the senate, four of whom are producers of livestock​

52.7 in the state and at least one of the four livestock producers is also a member of a federally​

52.8 recognized Tribe located in Minnesota, and two of whom are practicing veterinarians licensed​

52.9 in Minnesota two at-large members, one member who is a member of a federally recognized​

52.10 Tribe located in Minnesota, and eight regional members, with no two regional members​

52.11 residing in the same congressional district. To the extent practicable, the governor's​

52.12 appointments must achieve gender balance among the board membership. Members must​

52.13 be knowledgeable in animal agriculture, animal health, or pets and companion animals,​

52.14 with at least two members who represent the public and are not employed in agriculture,​

52.15 veterinary medicine, the pet industry, or a related field. The commissioners of agriculture,​

52.16 natural resources, and health, the dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine, and the​

52.17 director of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory of the University of Minnesota may shall​

52.18 serve as consultants to the board without vote. Appointments to fill unexpired terms must​

52.19 be made from the classes to which the retiring members belong. The board shall elect a​

52.20 president and a vice-president from among its members and. The governor shall appoint a​

52.21 veterinarian licensed in Minnesota who is not a member to be its the board's executive​

52.22 director for a term of one year and until a successor qualifies. The board shall set the duties​

52.23 of the director.​

52.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to appointments​

52.25 that occur on or after that date.​

52.26 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.05, is amended to read:​

52.27 35.05 AUTHORITY OF STATE BOARD.​

52.28 (a) The state board may quarantine or kill any domestic animal infected with, or which​

52.29 has been exposed to, a contagious or infectious dangerous disease if it is necessary to protect​

52.30 the health of the domestic animals of the state.​

52.31 (b) The board may regulate or prohibit the arrival in and departure from the state of​

52.32 infected or exposed animals and, in case of violation of any rule or prohibition, may detain​
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53.1 any animal at its owner's expense. The board may regulate or prohibit the importation of​

53.2 domestic animals which, in its opinion, may injure the health of Minnesota livestock.​

53.3 (c) When the governor declares an emergency under section 35.0661, the board, through​

53.4 its executive director, may assume control of such resources within the University of​

53.5 Minnesota's Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory as necessary to effectively address the disease​

53.6 outbreak. The director of the laboratory and other laboratory personnel must cooperate fully​

53.7 in performing necessary functions related to the outbreak or threatened outbreak.​

53.8 (d) The board may test or require tests of any bovine or cervidae in the state when the​

53.9 board deems it necessary to achieve or maintain bovine tuberculosis accredited free state​

53.10 or zone status under the regulations and laws administered by the United States Department​

53.11 of Agriculture.​

53.12 (e) Notwithstanding section 3.3005, subdivision 2, the board may apply for, receive,​

53.13 and disburse federal money made available to the state for animal disease response. All​

53.14 federal money received by the board for this purpose must be deposited in the state treasury​

53.15 and, except as provided in section 35.156, subdivision 2, is appropriated to the board for​

53.16 the purposes for which it was received. By January 15 each year, the board must report to​

53.17 the senate Committee on Finance, the house of representatives Committee on Ways and​

53.18 Means, and the legislative committees with jurisdiction over the board's operating budget​

53.19 regarding the amount of federal money received and spent in the previous fiscal year under​

53.20 this paragraph and the board's use of these funds.​

53.21 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.12, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

53.22 Subd. 4. Sunset. This section expires on June 30, 2025 2035.​

53.23 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

53.24 Subdivision 1. Eligibility for participants on or before April 1, 2023. (a) A facility​

53.25 eligible for payment under this section must source from Minnesota at least 80 percent of​

53.26 the biomass used to produce an advanced biofuel, except that, if a facility is sited 50 miles​

53.27 or less from the state border, biomass used to produce an advanced biofuel may be sourced​

53.28 from outside of Minnesota, but only if at least 80 percent of the biomass is sourced from​

53.29 within a 100-mile radius of the facility or from within Minnesota. The facility must be​

53.30 located in Minnesota, must begin production at a specific location on or before April 1 June​

53.31 30, 2023, and must not begin operating above 23,750 MMbtu of quarterly advanced biofuel​

53.32 production before July 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities​

53.33 that are adding advanced biofuel production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as​
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54.1 well as new companies and facilities. Production of conventional corn ethanol and​

54.2 conventional biodiesel is not eligible. Eligible advanced biofuel facilities must produce at​

54.3 least 1,500 MMbtu of advanced biofuel quarterly.​

54.4 (b) No payments shall be made for advanced biofuel production that occurs after June​

54.5 30, 2035, for those eligible biofuel producers under paragraph (a).​

54.6 (c) An eligible producer of advanced biofuel shall not transfer the producer's eligibility​

54.7 for payments under this section to an advanced biofuel facility at a different location.​

54.8 (d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments​

54.9 under this section until the producer resumes production.​

54.10 (e) Renewable chemical production for which payment has been received under section​

54.11 41A.17, and biomass thermal production for which payment has been received under section​

54.12 41A.18, are not eligible for payment under this section.​

54.13 (f) Biobutanol is eligible under this section.​

54.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 31, 2023.​

54.15 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

54.16 Subd. 2. Payment amounts; limits. (a) The commissioner shall make payments to​

54.17 eligible producers of advanced biofuel. The amount of the payment for each eligible​

54.18 producer's annual production is $2.1053 per MMbtu for advanced biofuel production from​

54.19 cellulosic biomass, and $1.053 per MMbtu for advanced biofuel production from sugar,​

54.20 starch, oil, or animal fat at a specific location for ten years after the start of production.​

54.21 (b) Total payments under this section to an eligible biofuel producer in a fiscal year may​

54.22 not exceed the amount necessary for 2,850,000 MMbtu of biofuel production. Total payments​

54.23 under this section to all eligible biofuel producers in a fiscal year may not exceed the amount​

54.24 necessary for 17,100,000 MMbtu of biofuel production. If the total amount for which all​

54.25 producers are eligible in a quarter exceeds the amount available for payments, the​

54.26 commissioner shall make the payments on a pro rata basis. An eligible producer may reapply​

54.27 for payment, and the commissioner must pay, the difference between a claim for payment​

54.28 filed under subdivision 6 and the pro rata amount received:​

54.29 (1) until the full amount of the original claim is paid; and​

54.30 (2) subject to available money appropriated for the express purpose of paying claims​

54.31 not otherwise paid.​
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55.1 (c) For purposes of this section, an entity that holds a controlling interest in more than​

55.2 one advanced biofuel facility is considered a single eligible producer.​

55.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2020, and​

55.4 applies to claims filed after January 1, 2020.​

55.5 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

55.6 Subdivision 1. Eligibility for participants on or before April 1, 2023. (a) A facility​

55.7 eligible for payment under this section must source from Minnesota at least 80 percent of​

55.8 the biomass used to produce a renewable chemical, except that, if a facility is sited 50 miles​

55.9 or less from the state border, biomass used to produce a renewable chemical may be sourced​

55.10 from outside of Minnesota, but only if at least 80 percent of the biomass is sourced from​

55.11 within a 100-mile radius of the facility or from within Minnesota. The facility must be​

55.12 located in Minnesota, must begin production at a specific location on or before April 1 June​

55.13 30, 2023, and must not begin production of 250,000 pounds of chemicals quarterly before​

55.14 January 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities that are adding​

55.15 production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and facilities.​

55.16 Eligible renewable chemical facilities must produce at least 250,000 pounds of renewable​

55.17 chemicals quarterly. Renewable chemicals produced through processes that are fully​

55.18 commercial before January 1, 2000, are not eligible.​

55.19 (b) No payments shall be made for renewable chemical production that occurs after June​

55.20 30, 2035, for those eligible renewable chemical producers under paragraph (a).​

55.21 (c) An eligible producer of renewable chemicals shall not transfer the producer's eligibility​

55.22 for payments under this section to a renewable chemical facility at a different location.​

55.23 (d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments​

55.24 under this section until the producer resumes production.​

55.25 (e) Advanced biofuel production for which payment has been received under section​

55.26 41A.16, and biomass thermal production for which payment has been received under section​

55.27 41A.18, are not eligible for payment under this section.​

55.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 31, 2023.​

55.29 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.17, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

55.30 Subd. 2. Payment amounts; bonus; limits. (a) The commissioner shall make payments​

55.31 to eligible producers of renewable chemicals located in the state. The amount of the payment​

55.32 for each producer's annual production is $0.03 per pound of sugar-derived renewable​
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56.1 chemical, $0.03 per pound of cellulosic sugar, starch, oil, or animal fat, and $0.06 per pound​

56.2 of cellulosic-derived renewable chemical produced at a specific location for ten years after​

56.3 the start of production.​

56.4 (b) An eligible facility producing renewable chemicals using agricultural cellulosic​

56.5 biomass is eligible for a 20 percent bonus payment for each pound produced from agricultural​

56.6 biomass that is derived from perennial crop or cover crop biomass.​

56.7 (c) Total payments under this section to an eligible renewable chemical producer in a​

56.8 fiscal year may not exceed the amount necessary for 99,999,999 pounds of renewable​

56.9 chemical production. Total payments under this section to all eligible renewable chemical​

56.10 producers in a fiscal year may not exceed the amount necessary for 599,999,999 pounds of​

56.11 renewable chemical production. If the total amount for which all producers are eligible in​

56.12 a quarter exceeds the amount available for payments, the commissioner shall make the​

56.13 payments on a pro rata basis. An eligible producer may reapply for payment, and the​

56.14 commissioner must pay, the difference between a claim for payment filed under subdivision​

56.15 5 and the pro rata amount received:​

56.16 (1) until the full amount of the original claim is paid; and​

56.17 (2) subject to available money appropriated for the express purpose of paying claims​

56.18 not otherwise paid.​

56.19 (d) An eligible facility may blend renewable chemicals with other chemicals that are​

56.20 not renewable chemicals, but only the percentage attributable to renewable chemicals in​

56.21 the blended product is eligible to receive payment.​

56.22 (e) For purposes of this section, an entity that holds a controlling interest in more than​

56.23 one renewable chemical production facility is considered a single eligible producer.​

56.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2020, and​

56.25 applies to claims filed after January 1, 2020.​

56.26 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

56.27 Subdivision 1. Eligibility for participants on or before April 1, 2023. (a) A facility​

56.28 eligible for payment under this section must source from Minnesota at least 80 percent of​

56.29 the biomass used for biomass thermal production, except that, if a facility is sited 50 miles​

56.30 or less from the state border, biomass used for biomass thermal production may be sourced​

56.31 from outside of Minnesota, but only if at least 80 percent of the biomass is sourced from​

56.32 within a 100-mile radius of the facility, or from within Minnesota. Biomass must be from​

56.33 agricultural or forestry sources. The facility must be located in Minnesota, must have begun​
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57.1 production at a specific location on or before April 1 June 30, 2023, and must not begin​

57.2 before July 1, 2015. Eligible facilities include existing companies and facilities that are​

57.3 adding production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and​

57.4 facilities. Eligible biomass thermal production facilities must produce at least 250 MMbtu​

57.5 of biomass thermal quarterly.​

57.6 (b) No payments shall be made for biomass thermal production that occurs after June​

57.7 30, 2035, for those eligible biomass thermal producers under paragraph (a).​

57.8 (c) An eligible producer of biomass thermal production shall not transfer the producer's​

57.9 eligibility for payments under this section to a biomass thermal production facility at a​

57.10 different location.​

57.11 (d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments​

57.12 under this section until the producer resumes production.​

57.13 (e) Biofuel production for which payment has been received under section 41A.16, and​

57.14 renewable chemical production for which payment has been received under section 41A.17,​

57.15 are not eligible for payment under this section.​

57.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 31, 2023.​

57.17 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.18, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

57.18 Subd. 2. Payment amounts; bonus; limits; blending. (a) The commissioner shall make​

57.19 payments to eligible producers of biomass thermal located in the state. The amount of the​

57.20 payment for each producer's annual production is $5.00 per MMbtu of biomass thermal​

57.21 production produced at a specific location for ten years after the start of production.​

57.22 (b) An eligible facility producing biomass thermal using agricultural cellulosic biomass​

57.23 is eligible for a 20 percent bonus payment for each MMbtu produced from agricultural​

57.24 biomass that is derived from perennial crop or cover crop biomass.​

57.25 (c) Total payments under this section to an eligible thermal producer in a fiscal year​

57.26 may not exceed the amount necessary for 30,000 MMbtu of thermal production. Total​

57.27 payments under this section to all eligible thermal producers in a fiscal year may not exceed​

57.28 the amount necessary for 150,000 MMbtu of total thermal production. If the total amount​

57.29 for which all producers are eligible in a quarter exceeds the amount available for payments,​

57.30 the commissioner shall make the payments on a pro rata basis. An eligible producer may​

57.31 reapply for payment, and the commissioner must pay, the difference between a claim for​

57.32 payment filed under subdivision 5 and the pro rata amount received:​
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58.1 (1) until the full amount of the original claim is paid; and​

58.2 (2) subject to available money appropriated for the express purpose of paying claims​

58.3 not otherwise paid.​

58.4 (d) An eligible facility may blend a cellulosic feedstock with other fuels in the biomass​

58.5 thermal production facility, but only the percentage attributable to biomass meeting the​

58.6 cellulosic forestry biomass requirements or agricultural cellulosic biomass sourcing plan is​

58.7 eligible to receive payment.​

58.8 (e) When a facility is eligible due to adding production capacity or retrofitting existing​

58.9 capacity, the entire amount of biomass meeting the cellulosic forestry biomass requirements​

58.10 or agricultural cellulosic biomass sourcing plan is assumed to have been used for the biomass​

58.11 thermal production from the added or retrofitted production capacity.​

58.12 (f) For purposes of this section, an entity that holds a controlling interest in more than​

58.13 one biomass thermal production facility is considered a single eligible producer.​

58.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2020, and​

58.15 applies to claims filed after January 1, 2020.​

58.16 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 41A.19, is amended to read:​

58.17 41A.19 REPORT; INCENTIVE PROGRAMS.​

58.18 By January 15 each year, the commissioner shall report on the incentive programs under​

58.19 sections 41A.16, 41A.17, 41A.18, 41A.20, and 41A.21 to the legislative committees with​

58.20 jurisdiction over environment policy and finance and agriculture policy and finance. The​

58.21 report shall include information on production and incentive expenditures under the​

58.22 programs., as well as the following information that the commissioner must require of each​

58.23 producer who receives a payment during the reporting period:​

58.24 (1) the producer's business structure;​

58.25 (2) the name and address of the producer's parent company, if any;​

58.26 (3) a cumulative list of all financial assistance received from all public grantors for the​

58.27 project;​

58.28 (4) goals for the number of jobs created and progress in achieving these goals, which​

58.29 may include separate goals for the number of part-time or full-time jobs, or, in cases where​

58.30 job loss is specific and demonstrable, goals for the number of jobs retained;​

58.31 (5) equity hiring goals and progress in achieving these goals;​
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59.1 (6) wage goals and progress in achieving these goals for all jobs created or maintained​

59.2 by the producer;​

59.3 (7) board member and executive compensation;​

59.4 (8) evidence of compliance with environmental permits;​

59.5 (9) the producer's intended and actual use of payments received from the commissioner;​

59.6 and​

59.7 (10) if applicable, the latest financial audit opinion statement produced by a certified​

59.8 public accountant in accordance with standards established by the American Institute of​

59.9 Certified Public Accountants.​

59.10 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.16, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

59.11 read:​

59.12 Subd. 3c. Failure. "Failure" means a determination by the commissioner that a grain​

59.13 buyer or public grain warehouse operator has failed to pay for delivered grain, breached a​

59.14 contract, breached more than one contract, or failed to redeliver stored grain to a producer.​

59.15 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.17, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

59.16 Subd. 7. Action on a bond Breach of contract. A producer claiming to be damaged​

59.17 by a breach of a contract for the purchase of grain by a licensed grain buyer may file a​

59.18 written claim with the commissioner. The claim must state the facts constituting the claim.​

59.19 The claim must be filed with the commissioner within 180 days of the breach of the contract.​

59.20 If a claim is valid, the commissioner may immediately suspend the license, in which case​

59.21 the licensee shall surrender the license to the commissioner. Within 15 days the licensee​

59.22 may request an administrative hearing subject to chapter 14 to determine whether the license​

59.23 should be revoked. If no request is made within 15 days, the commissioner shall revoke the​

59.24 license.​

59.25 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.17, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:​

59.26 Subd. 7a. Bond requirements; claims. For entities licensed under this chapter and​

59.27 chapter 232, the bond requirements and claims actions against the bond are governed under​

59.28 section 232.22, subdivision 6a 223.24, subdivision 13.​
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60.1 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.175, is amended to read:​

60.2 223.175 WRITTEN VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT CONTRACTS;​

60.3 FORM.​

60.4 A written confirmation required under section 223.177, subdivision 2, and a written​

60.5 voluntary extension of credit contract must include those items prescribed by the​

60.6 commissioner by rule. A contract shall include a statement of the legal and financial​

60.7 responsibilities of grain buyers and sellers established in this chapter. A contract shall also​

60.8 include the following statement in not less than ten point, all capital type, framed in a box​

60.9 with space provided for the seller's signature: "THIS CONTRACT CONSTITUTES A​

60.10 VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT. THIS CONTRACT IS NOT COVERED BY​

60.11 ANY GRAIN BUYER'S BOND MAY NOT BE COVERED COMPLETELY BY THE​

60.12 GRAIN INDEMNITY ACCOUNT." If a written contract is provided at the time the grain​

60.13 is delivered to the grain buyer, the seller shall sign the contract in the space provided beneath​

60.14 the statement. A transaction that does not meet the provisions of a voluntary extension of​

60.15 credit, including the issuance and signing of a voluntary extension of credit contract, is a​

60.16 cash sale.​

60.17 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 223.19, is amended to read:​

60.18 223.19 RULES.​

60.19 The commissioner may make rules pursuant to chapter 14 to carry out the provisions of​

60.20 sections 223.15 to 223.23 223.24.​

60.21 Sec. 48. [223.24] GRAIN INDEMNITY ACCOUNT.​

60.22 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The grain indemnity account is established under the​

60.23 direction and control of the commissioner of agriculture. The grain indemnity account shall​

60.24 consist of grain indemnity premiums, money from any other source, and interest.​

60.25 Subd. 2. Account; appropriation. (a) A grain indemnity account is established in the​

60.26 agricultural fund. Money in the grain indemnity account, including interest, is appropriated​

60.27 to the commissioner to pay valid claims and to administer this section.​

60.28 (b) The commissioner shall direct payments from the grain indemnity account only for​

60.29 the following purposes:​

60.30 (1) the payment of valid claims;​

60.31 (2) the payment of grain indemnity premium refunds;​
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61.1 (3) the payment of administrative expenses under paragraph (c);​

61.2 (4) the payment of legal fees and legal expenses under subdivision 7; or​

61.3 (5) the payment of a trustee appointed under subdivision 6.​

61.4 (c) The commissioner shall allocate money from the grain indemnity account to a separate​

61.5 administrative expenses account to pay or reimburse the agency for grain indemnity account​

61.6 expenses. Administrative expenses under this paragraph include the actual cost of processing​

61.7 payments and refunds, enforcement, record keeping, ordinary management and investment​

61.8 fees connected with the operation of the grain indemnity account, and legal expenses.​

61.9 Subd. 3. Eligibility. A producer is eligible to receive a grain indemnity payment from​

61.10 the commissioner if the producer sold grain to a grain buyer as defined in this chapter or​

61.11 stored grain with a public grain warehouse operator under chapter 232 and the producer is​

61.12 damaged by the grain buyer's or public grain warehouse operator's failure to pay for or​

61.13 redeliver grain.​

61.14 Subd. 4. Application. (a) A producer asserting eligibility under subdivision 3 must file​

61.15 a completed claim with the commissioner. The producer must state the facts constituting​

61.16 the claim and all other information required by the commissioner.​

61.17 (b) Upon receiving a claim, the commissioner must promptly determine the validity of​

61.18 the claim and notify the claimant of the commissioner's determination.​

61.19 (c) An aggrieved party may appeal the commissioner's determination by requesting,​

61.20 within 15 days, that the commissioner initiate a contested case proceeding under chapter​

61.21 14.​

61.22 Subd. 5. Payment limitation. (a) For each failure as defined by section 223.16,​

61.23 subdivision 3c, the commissioner must pay the eligible producer:​

61.24 (1) the amount equal to the value of the grain sold on cash sale, grain assigned to​

61.25 warehouse receipt, or grain assigned to open storage less than 180 days from the deposit;​

61.26 (2) the amount equal to the value of grain sold up to $300,000, or the lesser of $750,000​

61.27 or 75 percent of the amount owed to the seller for a contract in excess of $300,000 for a​

61.28 deferred or delayed payment contract for which a price has been established when the​

61.29 contract originated within 120 days of the breach of contract;​

61.30 (3) the lesser of $750,000 or 75 percent of the amount owed to the seller for a voluntary​

61.31 extension of credit contract for which no price has been established when the contract​

61.32 originated within 180 days of the breach of contract;​
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62.1 (4) the lesser of $500,000 or 50 percent for an open storage assignment or a voluntary​

62.2 extension of credit contract when the open storage assignment or contract originated between​

62.3 181 days and 18 months from the failure; or​

62.4 (5) the lesser of $250,000 or 25 percent for an open storage assignment or a voluntary​

62.5 extension of credit contract when the open storage assignment or contract originated between​

62.6 19 months and 36 months from the failure.​

62.7 (b) Claims filed more than 36 months from the failure are not eligible for payment.​

62.8 (c) For the purposes of this subdivision, multiple breaches of contract with a single entity​

62.9 constitute one failure.​

62.10 (d) If a grain buyer holds both a Minnesota grain buyer license, as defined in chapter​

62.11 223, and a license with the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) under the​

62.12 United States Warehouse Act, a seller may only file a claim with the grain indemnity account​

62.13 if the seller sold grain as a cash sale or under a voluntary extension of credit contract. The​

62.14 commissioner must deny any claims for stored grain from a seller that holds both a Minnesota​

62.15 grain buyer license and a license with the USDA under the United States Warehouse Act.​

62.16 (e) If valid claims exceed the amount of money available in the grain indemnity account,​

62.17 the commissioner must pay claims to producers in the order that the claims were received.​

62.18 When additional money becomes available, the commissioner must resume issuing grain​

62.19 indemnity payments to each eligible producer until each producer receives the maximum​

62.20 amount payable under paragraph (a).​

62.21 (f) If the grain indemnity account balance is insufficient to pay refunds under subdivision​

62.22 11 and valid claims exist, once money is deposited into the grain indemnity account, the​

62.23 commissioner must issue pending refunds for grain indemnity premium payments before​

62.24 issuing payments to claimants.​

62.25 Subd. 6. Court order. (a) The commissioner may apply to a district court for an order​

62.26 appointing a trustee or receiver to manage and supervise the operations of a grain buyer or​

62.27 public grain warehouse operator in default. The commissioner may participate in any​

62.28 resulting court proceeding as an interested party.​

62.29 (b) The commissioner may recover the cost of the appointed trustee using money​

62.30 appropriated under subdivision 2.​

62.31 Subd. 7. Debt obligation; subrogated claim. (a) Money paid by the commissioner to​

62.32 satisfy a valid claim constitutes a debt obligation of the grain buyer or public grain warehouse​

62.33 operator in default. The commissioner may take action against the grain buyer or public​
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63.1 grain warehouse operator to recover the amount of any claim payment plus reasonable costs,​

63.2 attorney fees, and interest computed at the rate provided in section 270C.40. The​

63.3 commissioner must deposit any amount recovered under this subdivision in the grain​

63.4 indemnity account.​

63.5 (b) As a condition of payment from the commissioner, a producer must subrogate the​

63.6 producer's interest in a voluntary extension of credit contract to the commissioner in an​

63.7 amount equal to any claim payment or payments that the producer received under this​

63.8 section.​

63.9 (c) The commissioner may recover any debt to the grain indemnity account from a​

63.10 member of the board or management who acted negligently or fraudulently.​

63.11 Subd. 8. Grain indemnity premiums. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 10,​

63.12 producers of grain must be charged a grain indemnity premium as determined and published​

63.13 by the commissioner not to exceed 0.2 percent of the price on all marketed grain that is sold​

63.14 to a grain buyer as defined in chapter 223.​

63.15 (b) The grain indemnity premiums required under this section are in addition to any​

63.16 other fees or assessments required by law.​

63.17 Subd. 9. Collection and submission of grain indemnity premiums. (a) Each producer​

63.18 must pay to the commissioner a grain indemnity premium of not more than 0.2 percent of​

63.19 the net proceeds from all grain sold by the producer to a grain buyer purchasing grain in​

63.20 Minnesota. When grain is sold to a grain buyer, the grain buyer must deduct the grain​

63.21 indemnity premium from the proceeds of the sale and pay the grain indemnity premium to​

63.22 the commissioner on behalf of the producer.​

63.23 (b) When purchasing grain from a producer, a grain buyer must deduct the grain​

63.24 indemnity premium described in paragraph (a) from the proceeds of the sale and notify the​

63.25 producer of the amount of the deduction in writing. The grain buyer must forward the grain​

63.26 indemnity premium to the commissioner for a deposit into the grain indemnity account on​

63.27 behalf of the producer as described in this subdivision.​

63.28 (c) A grain buyer must clearly indicate the grain indemnity premiums collected under​

63.29 paragraph (b) in the grain buyer's books and records. A grain buyer must retain books and​

63.30 records containing the grain indemnity premiums for at least three years. A grain buyer​

63.31 must make the grain buyer's books and records available for inspection by the commissioner​

63.32 during regular business hours. The department must take steps reasonably necessary to​

63.33 verify the accuracy of the grain indemnity premiums as recorded in the grain buyer's books​

63.34 and records. Any record or portion thereof seized or copied by the commissioner is private​
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64.1 or nonpublic data as provided in section 13.02, except that the commissioner may disclose​

64.2 this data to aid in the law enforcement process.​

64.3 (d) A grain buyer must submit grain indemnity premiums collected under paragraph (a)​

64.4 to the commissioner for the purpose of financing or contributing to the financing of the​

64.5 grain indemnity account by:​

64.6 (1) January 31 for grain indemnity premiums collected during the months of July, August,​

64.7 September, October, November, and December; and​

64.8 (2) July 31 for grain indemnity premiums collected during the months of January,​

64.9 February, March, April, May, and June.​

64.10 Subd. 10. Amount in grain indemnity account; basis for suspension and​

64.11 reinstatement of grain indemnity premium collection. (a) The grain indemnity premiums​

64.12 required under subdivision 8 must be collected until the grain indemnity account contains​

64.13 more than $15,000,000, as of June 30 of any given year.​

64.14 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), after the grain indemnity account reaches​

64.15 $15,000,000, the commissioner must not require the collection of additional grain indemnity​

64.16 premiums until the amount in the grain indemnity account drops below $9,000,000. In a​

64.17 year when the commissioner determines that the grain indemnity account is at or below​

64.18 $9,000,000, the commissioner may reinstate the collection described in this section.​

64.19 (c) The commissioner shall announce the intention to collect the premiums described​

64.20 in this section by May 1 with collection to begin July 1 until the grain indemnity account​

64.21 contains at least $15,000,000. The commissioner must notify the public of the commissioner's​

64.22 intent to reinstate collection of additional grain indemnity premiums through publication​

64.23 in the State Register and by notifying each licensee of the licensee's obligation to collect​

64.24 premiums.​

64.25 Subd. 11. Grain indemnity refund; opt out. (a) Subject to subdivision 9, a producer​

64.26 that has paid a grain indemnity premium may receive a refund of that premium from the​

64.27 grain indemnity account by submitting a written demand for a refund to the commissioner,​

64.28 delivered personally or by first-class mail within 12 months after the producer paid the grain​

64.29 indemnity premium.​

64.30 (b) A producer must submit a demand for a refund of a grain indemnity premium under​

64.31 paragraph (a) on a demand for refund form developed by the commissioner. The​

64.32 commissioner must make the form available to a licensee, producer, or member of the public​

64.33 upon request.​
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65.1 (c) If a producer is entitled to a refund of a grain indemnity premium under this section,​

65.2 the commissioner must pay the refund within 90 days of receiving the demand for a refund.​

65.3 If the grain indemnity account balance is insufficient to pay refunds under this subdivision​

65.4 and valid claims exist, once money is deposited into the grain indemnity account, the​

65.5 commissioner must issue pending refunds for grain indemnity premium payments before​

65.6 issuing payments to claimants.​

65.7 (d) If the commissioner announces grain indemnity premiums as required under​

65.8 subdivision 10 by June 30, the commissioner must send a notice to each producer who​

65.9 requested a refund of a grain indemnity premium during the previous three fiscal years. The​

65.10 notice must inform the producer of the deadline for and method of submitting a demand for​

65.11 a refund to the commissioner under paragraphs (a) and (b) and the method for reentering​

65.12 the grain indemnity program under paragraph (e).​

65.13 (e) A producer that receives a refund of a grain indemnity premium under paragraph (a)​

65.14 is not entitled to participate in the grain indemnity program or to receive any payment under​

65.15 this section unless the producer reenters the grain indemnity program by meeting all of the​

65.16 following conditions:​

65.17 (1) the producer must submit a request for reentry into the grain indemnity program to​

65.18 the commissioner. The producer must submit the request on the form required by the​

65.19 commissioner and must deliver the request to the commissioner;​

65.20 (2) the producer's request is approved by the commissioner; and​

65.21 (3) the producer must pay into the grain indemnity account all grain indemnity premiums​

65.22 that were refunded to the producer and interest on the refunds as determined by the​

65.23 commissioner.​

65.24 (f) A producer that reenters the grain indemnity program under paragraph (e) is eligible​

65.25 to be reimbursed for claims under the grain indemnity program for any breach of contract​

65.26 that occurs at least 120 days after reentry.​

65.27 (g) A producer is not eligible for a refund of a grain indemnity premium under this​

65.28 section if the producer has received payment from the grain indemnity account for a valid​

65.29 claim within the preceding 36 months.​

65.30 Subd. 12. Penalties; enforcement action; costs and expenses. (a) In addition to any​

65.31 other penalty or remedy provided by law, a person who knowingly or intentionally commits​

65.32 any of the following is subject to civil penalties under section 18J.10:​
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66.1 (1) refusing or failing to collect any grain indemnity premiums as required under this​

66.2 section;​

66.3 (2) refusing or failing to pay to the commissioner any grain indemnity premiums collected​

66.4 under this section;​

66.5 (3) making a false statement, representation, or certification, or knowingly failing to​

66.6 make a required statement, representation, or certification in a record, report, or other​

66.7 document required under this section or filed with the commissioner; or​

66.8 (4) resisting, preventing, impeding, or interfering with the commissioner in the​

66.9 performance of the commissioner's duties under this section.​

66.10 (b) In addition to the civil penalty described in paragraph (a), the commissioner in an​

66.11 enforcement action for a violation described in paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), must order​

66.12 the grain buyer to pay into the grain indemnity account any grain indemnity premiums​

66.13 collected by the grain buyer that the grain buyer owes to the grain indemnity account and​

66.14 may order the grain buyer to pay interest on the amount that the grain buyer owes to the​

66.15 grain indemnity account.​

66.16 Subd. 13. Grain bonds; new license holders. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b),​

66.17 before the commissioner issues a grain buyer or public grain warehouse operator license,​

66.18 a person who has not been licensed to buy grain or operate a public grain warehouse in the​

66.19 previous licensing period must file with the commissioner a grain bond in a penal sum of​

66.20 $100,000. A grain bond must remain in effect for the first three years of the license.​

66.21 (b) A grain buyer who purchases grain immediately upon delivery solely with cash; a​

66.22 certified check; a cashier's check; or a postal, bank, or express money order is exempt from​

66.23 this subdivision if the grain buyer's gross annual purchases are $1,000,000 or less.​

66.24 (c) The commissioner may require a supplemental bond in an amount prescribed by the​

66.25 commissioner based on the financial statements required in section 223.17, subdivision 6.​

66.26 (d) A grain bond must be on a form provided by the commissioner.​

66.27 (e) A grain bond required under paragraphs (a) and (c) must provide for the payment of​

66.28 any loss caused by the grain buyer's failure to pay upon the owner's demand, including loss​

66.29 caused by the grain buyer's failure to pay within the time required. The grain bond must be​

66.30 conditioned upon the grain buyer being duly licensed. A grain bond required under paragraphs​

66.31 (a) and (c) that is obtained by a public grain warehouse operator must be conditioned that​

66.32 the public grain warehouse operator issuing a grain warehouse receipt is liable to the depositor​

66.33 for the delivery of the kind, grade, and net quantity of grain called for by the receipt. A​
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67.1 grain bond must be conditioned upon the operator being duly licensed. For those entities​

67.2 licensed under this chapter, the entire grain bond must be available to any claims against​

67.3 the grain bond filed under this chapter.​

67.4 (f) A grain bond must not be cumulative from one licensing period to the next. The​

67.5 maximum liability of the grain bond must be the grain bond's face value for the licensing​

67.6 period.​

67.7 (g) A grain bond must be continuous until canceled. To cancel a grain bond, a surety​

67.8 must provide 90 days' written notice of the grain bond's termination date to the licensee and​

67.9 the commissioner.​

67.10 (h) Upon the commissioner's determination that a claim is valid, the surety for any claims​

67.11 against the grain bond must make payments to the grain indemnity account.​

67.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

67.13 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 232.22, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

67.14 Subd. 5. Statement of grain in storage; reports. (a) All public grain warehouse operators​

67.15 must by February 15 of each year file with the commissioner on a form approved by the​

67.16 commissioner a report showing the annual average liability of all grain outstanding on grain​

67.17 warehouse receipts, open storage, and grain stored for feed processing that occurred during​

67.18 the preceding calendar year. This report shall be used for the purpose of establishing the​

67.19 penal sum of the bond.​

67.20 (b) Warehouse operators that are at a maximum bond and want to continue at maximum​

67.21 bond do not need to file this report.​

67.22 (c) It is a violation of this chapter for any public grain warehouse operator to fail to file​

67.23 the report required in paragraph (a).​

67.24 (d) (a) Every public grain warehouse operator shall keep in a place of safety complete​

67.25 and accurate records and accounts relating to any grain warehouse operated. The records​

67.26 shall reflect each commodity received and shipped daily, the balance remaining in the grain​

67.27 warehouse at the close of each business day, a listing of all unissued grain warehouse receipts​

67.28 in the operator's possession, a record of all grain warehouse receipts issued which remain​

67.29 outstanding and a record of all grain warehouse receipts which have been returned for​

67.30 cancellation. Copies of grain warehouse receipts or other documents evidencing ownership​

67.31 of grain by a depositor, or other liability of the grain warehouse operator, shall be retained​

67.32 as long as the liability exists but must be kept for a minimum of three years.​
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68.1 (e) (b) Every public grain warehouse operator must maintain in the grain warehouse at​

68.2 all times grain of proper grade and sufficient quantity to meet delivery obligations on all​

68.3 outstanding grain warehouse receipts.​

68.4 Sec. 50. Laws 2022, chapter 95, article 2, section 29, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

68.5 Subd. 6. Expiration. This section expires June 30 December 31, 2024.​

68.6 Sec. 51. PROPOSAL REQUIRED; REGULATION OF SEED TREATED WITH​

68.7 SYSTEMIC PESTICIDE.​

68.8 The commissioner of agriculture must prepare a proposal to regulate systemic​

68.9 pesticide-treated seed. No later than February 1, 2024, the commissioner must submit the​

68.10 proposal to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over agriculture. The proposal must​

68.11 include at least the following six elements:​

68.12 (1) accounting for the total quantity of systemic pesticide-treated seed purchased and​

68.13 used in the state, as well as the total acreage and location where systemic pesticide-treated​

68.14 seed is applied each year;​

68.15 (2) ensuring that all treated seed used in the state is subject to any regulatory restrictions​

68.16 necessary to protect human health and the environment, including but not limited to​

68.17 pollinating insects, birds, and aquatic ecosystems from exposure to systemic insecticides;​

68.18 (3) requiring formal verification of need prior to the use of systemic pesticide-treated​

68.19 seed except where systemic pesticide-treated seed is the only commercially available option.​

68.20 At a minimum, the proposal must include written certification from a trained and approved​

68.21 individual for each use of systemic pesticide-treated field crop seed, verifying that, for the​

68.22 time and location, the use would be effective in addressing a demonstrable pest problem;​

68.23 (4) studying the use, efficacy, and environmental and health impacts of systemic​

68.24 pesticide-treated seed use in the state;​

68.25 (5) developing and disseminating educational materials and best management practices​

68.26 for the use of systemic pesticide-treated seed; and​

68.27 (6) collaborating with the University of Minnesota in developing and implementing the​

68.28 systemic pesticide-treated seed program. Collaboration may include the evaluation of national​

68.29 and international research on treated seed for its applicability to Minnesota-specific conditions​

68.30 to ensure a sound understanding of efficacy of seed treatment rates, scouting techniques,​

68.31 pest pressures, economic thresholds, and planting technology differences.​

68​Article 2 Sec. 51.​

HOUSE RESEARCH CS/RK H2278DE1​03/27/23 08:34 pm ​



69.1 Sec. 52. REPORT REQUIRED; FERAL PIGS AND MINK.​

69.2 By February 15, 2024, the commissioner of natural resources, in cooperation with the​

69.3 Board of Animal Health and the commissioners of agriculture and health, must submit a​

69.4 report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

69.5 jurisdiction over agriculture and environment and natural resources that:​

69.6 (1) identifies the responsibilities of the Board of Animal Health and the commissioners​

69.7 of natural resources, health, and agriculture in managing feral pigs and mink;​

69.8 (2) recommends any clarifications or modifications to the responsibilities identified in​

69.9 clause (1); and​

69.10 (3) includes policy recommendations for managing feral pigs and mink to further prevent​

69.11 negative impacts on the environment and human health.​

69.12 Sec. 53. REPEALER.​

69.13 Subdivision 1. Grain buyers and warehouses. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections​

69.14 223.17, subdivisions 4 and 8; and 232.22, subdivisions 4, 6, 6a, and 7, are repealed.​

69.15 Subd. 2. Bioincentive programs. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 41A.16, subdivision​

69.16 7; 41A.17, subdivision 6; 41A.18, subdivision 6; and 41A.21, subdivision 6, are repealed.​

69.17 Subd. 3. Plants, nurseries, and hemp. Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 18H.02,​

69.18 subdivisions 21, 22, and 23; 18H.07, subdivisions 2 and 3; 18K.05; and 18K.09, are repealed.​

69.19 Subd. 4. Emerging farmers. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 17.055, subdivision 2,​

69.20 is repealed.​

69.21 Subd. 5. Federal funds. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 35.156, subdivision 2, is​

69.22 repealed.​

69.23 ARTICLE 3​

69.24 BROADBAND​

69.25 Section 1. BROADBAND DEVELOPMENT APPROPRIATIONS.​

69.26 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

69.27 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

69.28 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

69.29 The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

69.30 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.​
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70.1 "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium"​

70.2 is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

70.3 APPROPRIATIONS​
70.4 Available for the Year​
70.5 Ending June 30​

2025​70.6 2024​

50,350,000​$​73,350,000​$​
70.7 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT​
70.8 AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT​

70.9 (a) $350,000 each year is for the Office of​

70.10 Broadband Development.​

70.11 (b) $75,000,000 the first year and $50,000,000​

70.12 the second year are for transfer to the​

70.13 border-to-border broadband fund account​

70.14 established in Minnesota Statutes, section​

70.15 116J.396. Of the amount each year,​

70.16 $20,000,000 is for lower population density​

70.17 program grants under Minnesota Statutes,​

70.18 section 116J.3952. This is a onetime​

70.19 appropriation.​

70.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116J.395, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

70.21 Subd. 7. Limitation. (a) No grant awarded under this section may fund more than 50​

70.22 percent of the total cost of a project.​

70.23 (b) Grants awarded to a single project under this section must not exceed $5,000,000​

70.24 $10,000,000.​

70.25 Sec. 4. [116J.3952] LOWER POPULATION DENSITY GRANT PROGRAM.​

70.26 Subdivision 1. Establishment. A lower population density grant program is established​

70.27 in the Department of Employment and Economic Development. The purpose of the lower​

70.28 population density grant program is to provide broadband service to unserved and​

70.29 underserved areas of the state where a 50 percent match formula is not adequate to make a​

70.30 business case for the extension of broadband facilities.​

70.31 Subd. 2. Grants. Grants awarded under this section may fund up to 75 percent of the​

70.32 total cost of a project and must otherwise adhere to section 116J.395, subdivisions 1 to 6​

70.33 and subdivision 7, paragraph (b).​
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71.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 116J.396, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

71.2 Subd. 2. Expenditures. Money in the account may be used only:​

71.3 (1) for grant awards made under sections 116J.395 and to 116J.3951 116J.3952, including​

71.4 costs incurred by the Department of Employment and Economic Development to administer​

71.5 that section;​

71.6 (2) to supplement revenues raised by bonds sold by local units of government for​

71.7 broadband infrastructure development; or​

71.8 (3) to contract for the collection of broadband deployment data from providers and the​

71.9 creation of maps showing the availability of broadband service.​

71.10 Sec. 6. Laws 2022, chapter 95, article 4, section 2, is amended to read:​

71.11 Sec. 2. LOWER POPULATION DENSITY PILOT PROGRAM.​

71.12 (a) The commissioner of employment and economic development must establish a pilot​

71.13 program to provide broadband service to unserved and underserved areas, as defined in​

71.14 Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.394, of the state where a 50 percent match formula is not​

71.15 adequate to make a business case for the extension of broadband facilities. Grants awarded​

71.16 under this section shall adhere to all other requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section​

71.17 116J.395, subdivisions 1 to 6, and may fund up to 75 percent of the total cost of a project,​

71.18 notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes section 116J.395, subdivision 7. Grants awarded to a​

71.19 single project under this section may not exceed $10,000,000.​

71.20 (b) The commissioner of employment and economic development may use up to​

71.21 $30,000,000 from the appropriations in sections 3 and 4 for the lower population density​

71.22 pilot program under paragraph (a).​

71.23 (c) No later than December 31, 2023, the Office of Broadband Development must submit​

71.24 a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives​

71.25 committees with primary jurisdiction over broadband policy and finance analyzing the​

71.26 impacts of this section on the number and amounts of grants awarded under Minnesota​

71.27 Statutes, section 116J.395.​

71.28 (d) This section expires December 31, 2026."​

71.29 Delete the title and insert:​

71.30 "A bill for an act​

71.31 relating to state government; establishing a budget for the Department of​
71.32 Agriculture, the Board of Animal Health, the Agricultural Utilization Research​
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72.1 Institute, and the Office of Broadband Development; transferring money to the​
72.2 border-to-border broadband fund account; making policy and technical changes​
72.3 to agriculture provisions; modifying fees; creating accounts; requiring reports;​
72.4 providing civil penalties; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes​
72.5 2022, sections 17.055, subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions; 17.1016, subdivision​
72.6 2; 17.116, subdivision 3; 17.133, subdivision 3; 18B.01, subdivision 2b, by adding​
72.7 a subdivision; 18B.051; 18B.055; 18C.425, subdivision 6; 18H.02, by adding a​
72.8 subdivision; 18H.03, subdivision 6; 18H.05; 18H.07, by adding subdivisions;​
72.9 18H.08, subdivision 2; 18H.09; 18H.13, subdivision 3; 18H.15; 18K.04,​
72.10 subdivisions 1, 2; 18K.06; 25.39, subdivision 1; 28A.08, by adding a subdivision;​
72.11 28A.082, subdivision 1; 28A.09, by adding a subdivision; 35.02, subdivision 1;​
72.12 35.05; 41A.12, subdivision 4; 41A.16, subdivisions 1, 2; 41A.17, subdivisions 1,​
72.13 2; 41A.18, subdivisions 1, 2; 41A.19; 116J.395, subdivision 7; 116J.396,​
72.14 subdivision 2; 223.16, by adding a subdivision; 223.17, subdivisions 7, 7a; 223.175;​
72.15 223.19; 232.22, subdivision 5; Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 3, article​
72.16 1, section 2, subdivision 5, as amended; Laws 2022, chapter 95, article 2, section​
72.17 29, subdivision 6; article 4, section 2; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota​
72.18 Statutes, chapters 17; 18B; 18K; 116J; 223; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022,​
72.19 sections 17.055, subdivision 2; 18H.02, subdivisions 21, 22, 23; 18H.07,​
72.20 subdivisions 2, 3; 18K.05; 18K.09; 35.156, subdivision 2; 41A.16, subdivision 7;​
72.21 41A.17, subdivision 6; 41A.18, subdivision 6; 41A.21, subdivision 6; 223.17,​
72.22 subdivisions 4, 8; 232.22, subdivisions 4, 6, 6a, 7."​
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