STATE OF MINNESOTA SEVENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 PM on February 8, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused: POSTON, John

Rep. Frazier moved that the minutes from February 1, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Chair Richardson moved that HF 505 be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

Rep. Lee presented HF 505

Testifiers: Marty Scofield, Adult Basic Education teacher, Land-o-Lakes Kimberly Antonsen, Early Childhood Family Education teacher, Waubun/Ogema/White Earth School District Meg Luger-Nikolai, Education Minnesota Kim Lewis, Minnesota School Board Association

Rep. Richardson renewed her motion that HF 505 be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

Cristina Parra, House Research, gave a brief presentation on HF 603.

Rep. Jordan moved HF 603 be re-referred to the Labor Committee.

Rep. Jordan presented HF 603.

Testifiers: Meg Luger-Nikolai, Attorney, Education Minnesota Peter Eckhoff, Robbinsdale Federation of Teachers, President Kate Schmidt, Dakota County United Educators, President Deb Henton, Executive Director of the MN Association of School Administrator Douglas Seaton, Upper Midwest Law Center

Rep. Erickson moved the A1 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy POSTON, John

On a vote of 6 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Erickson moved the A2 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy POSTON, John

On a vote of 6 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Erickson moved the A3 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy POSTON, John

On a vote of 6 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Erickson moved the A4 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly

WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy

On a vote of 5 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Erickson moved the A5 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy

On a vote of 5 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Erickson moved the A6 amendment

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy POSTON, John

On a vote of 6 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Erickson moved the A7 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: BENNETT, Peggy POSTON, John

On a vote of 6 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Erickson moved the DE2 amendment.

Rep. Erickson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy

Members voting NAY: RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused/absent: POSTON, John

On a vote of 6 AYES and 12 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Rep. Jordan renewed her motion that HF 603 be re-referred to the Labor Committee.

Chair Richardson requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE:

RICHARDSON, Ruth HASSAN, Hodan BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members excused/absent: POSTON, John

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The committee was adjourned at 2:29 PM.