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1.29 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 160.80, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

1.30 Subdivision 1. Commissioner may establish program. (a) The commissioner of

1.31 transportation may establish a sign franchise program for the purpose of providing on the
1.32 right-of-way of interstate and controlled-access trunk highways specific information on
2.1 gas, food, camping, lodging, attractions, and 24-hour pharmacies for the benefit of the

2.2 motoring public.

2.3 (b) The sign franchise program must include urban interstate highways.

2.4 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 160.80, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
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1.26 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 160.21, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

1.27 Subd. 6. Uncompleted subdivisions. (a) A road authority, including a statutory or

1.28 home rule charter city, may remove snow from unopened or private roads in uncompleted
1.29 subdivisions containing five or more lots, upon adoption of an annual resolution finding
1.30 that the subdivision developer, due to general insolvency or pending foreclosure, is unable
1.31 to maintain the roads and that public safety may be jeopardized if the access of school
1.32 buses, public works vehicles, or authorized emergency vehicles, as defined in section

2.1 169.011, subdivision 3, is obstructed. Snow removal activities are limited to streets

2.2 reasonably necessary for access by these buses or vehicles.

2.3 (b) Snow removal under this subdivision does not constitute:
2.4 (1) acceptance of the road from the developer by the road authority for public use;
2.5 (2) the opening of the road to public use; nor

2.6 (3) a use, repair, or maintenance of the road sufficient for the purposes of dedication
2.7 of roads under section 160.05.

2.8 (c) The road authority may impose a reasonable and proportionate charge on all

2.9 properties within the subdivision for services provided under this subdivision. These
2.10 charges, if unpaid, may constitute a lien upon the properties within the subdivision and
2.11 may be collected as a special assessment as provided by section 429.101 or by charter.

2.12 (d) Where a road has been maintained pursuant to this subdivision, the road authority
2.13 with jurisdiction over the road, and its officers and employees, are exempt from liability
2.14 for any tort claim for injury to person or property arising from plowing, maintaining,

2.15 or otherwise working on the road and from traveling on the road and related to its

2.16 maintenance or condition. This paragraph does not apply to a claim for injury that is

2.17 affirmatively caused by a negligent act of the road authority or its officers and employees.

2.18 (e) This subdivision expires May 2, 2043 2014.

2.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

2.20 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 160.80, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

2.21 Subdivision 1. Commissioner may establish program. (a) The commissioner of

2.22 transportation may establish a sign franchise program for the purpose of providing on the
2.23 right-of-way of interstate and controlled-access trunk highways specific information on
2.24 gas, food, camping, lodging, attractions, and 24-hour pharmacies for the benefit of the
2.25 motoring public.

2.26 (b) The sign franchise program must include urban interstate highways.

2.27 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 160.80, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
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2.5 Subd. 1la. Eligibility criteria for business panels. (a) To be eligible for a business
2.6 panel on a logo sign panel, a business establishment must:

2.7 (1) be open for business;
2.8 (2) have a sign on site that both identifies the business and is visible to motorists;

2.9 (3) be open to everyone, regardless of race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin,
2.10 creed, marital status, sexual orientation, or disability; and

2.13 (5) meet the appropriate criteria in paragraphs (b) to (£ (k).

2.14 (b) Gas businesses must provide vehicle services including fuel gas or alternative
2.15 fuels and oil; restroom facilities and drinking water; continuous, staffed operation at least
2.16 12 hours a day, seven days a week; and public access to a telephone.

2.17 (¢) Food businesses must serve at least two meals a day during normal mealtimes

2.18 of breakfast, lunch, and dinner; provide a continuous, staffed food service operation at
2.19 least ten-hoursa-day;seven-daysa six days per week except holidays as defined in section
2.20 645.44, subdivision 5, and except as provided for seasonal food service businesses;

2.21 provide seating capacity for at least 20 people; provide restroom facilities; provide public
2.22 access to a telephone; and possess any required state or local licensing or approval.

2.23 Seasonal food service businesses must provide a continuous, staffed food service operation

2.24 atleast-ten-hours-a-day serving at least two meals per day six days per week, seven-daysa

2.25 week; during their months of operation.

2.26 (d) Lodging businesses must include sleeping accommodations, provide public
2.27 access to a telephone, provide restroom facilities, and possess any required state or local
2.28 licensing or approval.

2.29 (e) Camping businesses must include sites for camping, include parking
2.30 accommodations for each campsite, provide sanitary facilities and drinking water, and
2.31 possess any required state or local licensing or approval.

2.32 (f) 24-hour pharmacy businesses must be continuously operated 24 hours per day,
2.33 seven days per week, and must have a state-licensed pharmacist present and on duty at
2.34 all times.

3.1 (g) Attractions businesses must have regional significance with the primary purpose
3.2 of providing amusement, historical, cultural, or leisure activities to the public; provide
3.3 restroom facilities and drinking water; possess any required state or local licensing
3.4 approval; and provide adequate bus and vehicle parking accommodations for normal
3.5 attendance.
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2.28 Subd. la. Eligibility criteria for business panels. (a) To be eligible for a business
2.29 panel on a logo sign panel, a business establishment must:

2.30 (1) be open for business;
2.31 (2) have a sign on site that both identifies the business and is visible to motorists;

2.32 (3) be open to everyone, regardless of race, religion, color, age, sex, national origin,
2.33 creed, marital status, sexual orientation, or disability; and

3.3 (5) meet the appropriate criteria in paragraphs (b) to (£ (k).

3.4 (b) Gas businesses must provide vehicle services including fael gas or alternative
3.5 fuels and oil; restroom facilities and drinking water; continuous, staffed operation at least
3.6 12 hours a day, seven days a week; and public access to a telephone.

3.7 (¢) Food businesses must serve at least two meals a day during normal mealtimes

3.8 of breakfast, lunch, and dinner; provide a continuous, staffed food service operation at

3.9 least ten-heurs-a-day;seven-daysa six days per week except holidays as defined in section
3.10 645.44, subdivision 5, and except as provided for seasonal food service businesses;

3.11 provide seating capacity for at least 20 people; provide restroom facilities; provide public
3.12 access to a telephone; and possess any required state or local licensing or approval.

3.13 Seasonal food service businesses must provide a continuous, staffed food service operation

3.14 atleast-ten-hours-a-day serving at least two meals per day six days per week, seven-daysa
3.15 week; during their months of operation.

3.16 (d) Lodging businesses must include sleeping accommodations, provide public
3.17 access to a telephone, provide restroom facilities, and possess any required state or local
3.18 licensing or approval.

3.19 (e) Camping businesses must include sites for camping, include parking
3.20 accommodations for each campsite, provide sanitary facilities and drinking water, and
3.21 possess any required state or local licensing or approval.

3.22 (f) 24-hour pharmacy businesses must be continuously operated 24 hours per day,
3.23 seven days per week, and must have a state-licensed pharmacist present and on duty at
3.24 all times.

3.25 (g) Attractions businesses must have regional significance with the primary purpose
3.26 of providing amusement, historical, cultural, or leisure activities to the public; provide
3.27 restroom facilities and drinking water; possess any required state or local licensing
3.28 approval; and provide adequate bus and vehicle parking accommodations for normal
3.29 attendance.
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3.6 (g) (h) Seasonal businesses must indicate to motorists when they are open for business
3.7 by erther puttrng the qu months of operatlon dlrectly on the bus1ness panel e%byhavmgﬂ

3.9 (h) (i) The maximum distance that an eligible business in Anoka;-Carver, Dakota;
3.10 Hennepin; Ramsey;-Seott;-or Washingten-Ceunty an urban area can be located from the

3.11 interchange is: for gas, food, lodgrng, attractron and 24- hour pharmacy businesses, ene

3.12 mile three miles;
3.13 pharmacies;three-miles; and for camprng busmesses ten mlles

3.14 (1) (j) The maximum distance that an eligible business in any-other-county a rural

3.15 area can be located from the interchange shall not exceed 15 miles in either direction,
3.16 except the maximum distance that an eligible 24-hour pharmacy business can be located
3.17 from the interchange shall not exceed three miles in either direction.
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3.30 (g) (h) Seasonal businesses must indicate to motorists when they are open for business
3.31 by either puttlng the qu months of operatron dlrectly on the busmess panel eﬁbyhaﬂngﬁ}
332" €

3.33 () (i) The maximum distance that an eligible business in Anoka;-Carver; Dakota;

3.34 Hennepin, Ramsey;-Seott,or Washingten-County an urban area can be located from the
3.35 interchange is: for gas, food, lodgrng, attractron and 24- hour pharrnacy businesses, ene
4.1 mile three miles; m nesses an h

42 phaﬂﬂaeres—fhreeﬁr}e& and for camplng busrnesses ten mlles

4.3 (1) (j) The maximum distance that an eligible business in any-other-county a rural

4.4 area can be located from the interchange shall not exceed 15 miles in either direction,
4.5 except the maximum distance that an eligible 24-hour pharmacy business can be located
4.6 from the interchange shall not exceed three miles in either direction.

3.23 (k) If there is available space on a logo sign panel and no application has been

3.24 received by the franchise from a fully eligible business, a substantially eligible business
3.25 may be allowed the space.

3.26 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 160.80, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

3.27 Subd. 2. Franchises. The commissioner may, by public negotiation or bid, grant

3.28 one or more franchises to qualified persons to erect and maintain, on the right-of-way of
3.29 interstate and controlled-access trunk highways, signs informing the motoring public of
3.30 gas, food, lodging, camping facilities, attractions, and 24-hour pharmacies. A franchisee
3.31 shall furnish, install, maintain, and replace signs for the benefit of advertisers who provide
3.32 gas, food, lodging, camping facilities, attractions, and 24-hour pharmacies for the general
3.33 public, and lease advertising space on the signs to operators of these facilities.

3.34 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

4.1 Subd. 5. Trunk highway emergency relief account. (a) The trunk highway

4.2 emergency relief account is created in the trunk highway fund. Money in the account is

4.3 appropriated to the commissioner to be used to fund relief activities related to an emergency,
4.4 as defined in section 161.32, subdivision 3, or under section 12A.16, subdivision 1.

4.12 (k) If there is available space on a logo sign panel and no application has been
4.13 received by the franchise from a fully eligible business, a substantially eligible business
4.14 may be allowed the space.

4.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 160.80, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

4.16 Subd. 2. Franchises. The commissioner may, by public negotiation or bid, grant

4.17 one or more franchises to qualified persons to erect and maintain, on the right-of-way of
4.18 interstate and controlled-access trunk highways, signs informing the motoring public of
4.19 gas, food, lodging, camping facilities, attractions, and 24-hour pharmacies. A franchisee
4.20 shall furnish, install, maintain, and replace signs for the benefit of advertisers who provide
421 gas, food, lodging, camping facilities, attractions, and 24-hour pharmacies for the general
4.22 public, and lease advertising space on the signs to operators of these facilities.

4.23 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

4.24 Subd. 5. Trunk highway emergency relief account. (a) The trunk highway

4.25 emergency relief account is created in the trunk highway fund. Money in the account is

4.26 appropriated to the commissioner to be used to fund relief activities related to an emergency,
4.27 as defined in section 161.32, subdivision 3, or under section 12A.16, subdivision 1.

PAGE R3

REVISOR'S FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Omnibus Transportation Policy

Senate Language S1270-2

4.5 (b) Reimbursements by the Federal Highway Administration for emergency relief

4.6 payments made from the trunk highway emergency relief account must be credited to the
4.7 account. Interest-acerued-on-the-accountmust-be-eredited-to-the-account: Notwithstanding
4.8 section 16A.28, money in the account is available until spent. If the balance of the account
4.9 at the end of a fiscal year is greater than $10,000,000, the amount above $10,000,000

4.10 must be canceled to the trunk highway fund.

4.11 (c) By September 1, 2012, and in every subsequent even-numbered year by

4.12 September 1, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority
4.13 members of the senate and house of representatives committees having jurisdiction over
4.14 transportation policy and finance. The report must include the balance, as well as details
4.15 of payments made from and deposits made to the trunk highway emergency relief account
4.16 since the last report.

4.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.115, subdivision 229, is amended to read:

4.18 Subd. 229. Route No. 298. Beginning at a point on Route No. 21 in the city of

4.19 Farlbault thence extendmg ina southerly aﬁdreasteﬂy dlrectlon %hfeuglﬁkﬂ%egfeuﬁd&ef
4.20 e ~ e F eatmen :

421 %h&Mmﬂese&Geffee&eﬂ&l—F&erh&yL—%&ﬂbm&H toa p01nt on Route No. 323.

4.22 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.115, is amended by adding a subdivision
4.23 to read:

4.24 Subd. 270. Route No. 339. Beginning at a point on Route No. 45, thence extending
4.25 easterly to a point on the boundary line between the states of Minnesota and Wisconsin.

4.26 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.1231, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

4.27 Subd. 8. Special account. Fees collected by the commissioner under this section
4.28 must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special account. Money in the
4.29 account is appropriated to the commissioner to construct, operate, repair, and maintain the

4.30 parking facilities and-the-high-oceupaney-vehicle, managed lanes en4-394, and related
4.31 multimodal and technology improvements that serve users of the parking facilities.
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4.28 (b) Reimbursements by the Federal Highway Administration for emergency relief

4.29 payments made from the trunk highway emergency relief account must be credited to the
4.30 account. Interest-acerued-on-the-account-must-be-credited-to-the-acecount: Notwithstanding
4.31 section 16A.28, money in the account is available until spent. If the balance of the account
4.32 at the end of a fiscal year is greater than $10,000,000, the amount above $10,000,000

4.33 must be canceled to the trunk highway fund.

5.1 (c) By September 1, 2012, and in every subsequent even-numbered year by

5.2 September 1, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority
5.3 members of the senate and house of representatives committees having jurisdiction over
5.4 transportation policy and finance. The report must include the balance, as well as details
5.5 of payments made from and deposits made to the trunk highway emergency relief account
5.6 since the last report.

5.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.115, subdivision 229, is amended to read:

5.8 Subd. 229. Route No. 298. Beginning at a point on Route No. 21 in the city of
5.9 Farlbault thence extendmg ina southerly aﬂdreasteﬂy dlrectlon %hfeugh%hegfeuﬂd&ef

5.11 %heMmﬂese&@effeeﬁmﬁl—F&erh&nyF&ﬂbauk toa p01nt on Route No. 323.

5.12 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.115, is amended by adding a subdivision
5.13 to read:

5.14 Subd. 270. Route No. 339. Beginning at a point on Route No. 45, thence extending
5.15 easterly to a point on the boundary line between the states of Minnesota and Wisconsin.

5.16 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.1231, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

5.17 Subd. 8. Special account. Fees collected by the commissioner under this section
5.18 must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special account. Money in the
5.19 account is appropriated to the commissioner to construct, operate, repair, and maintain: (1)

5.20 the parking facilities and-the-high-eccupancy-vehiele, (2) managed lanes en1-394, and (3)
5.21 related multimodal and technology improvements that serve users of the parking facilities.

5.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision
5.23 to read:

5.24 Subd. 73. Officer Tom Decker Memorial Highway. That segment of marked

5.25 Trunk Highway 23 from the east border of the township of Wakefield to the west border of
5.26 the city of Richmond is designated as "Officer Tom Decker Memorial Highway." Subject
5.27 to section 161.139, the commissioner shall adopt a suitable design to mark this highway
5.28 and erect appropriate signs.

5.29 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.32, is amended by adding a subdivision
5.30 to read:
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5.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 161.44, is amended by adding a subdivision
5.2 to read:

5.3 Subd. la. Periodic review. (a) The commissioner is encouraged to examine all real
5.4 property owned by the state and under the custodial control of the department to decide
5.5 whether any real property may be declared as surplus and suitable for sale or some other

5.6 means of disposal.

5.7 (b) The commissioner shall report the findings under paragraph (a) to the house

5.8 of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy
5.9 and finance by March 1 of each odd-numbered year. The report may be submitted
5.10 electronically, and is subject to section 3.195, subdivision 1.

5.11 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "surplus" means real property that is no longer
5.12 needed for state highway purposes, and that has not been used for state highway purposes
5.13 for the previous five years.

5.14 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 162.02, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

5.15 Subd. 3a. Variances from rules and engineering standards. (a) The commissioner

5.16 may grant variances from the rules and from the engineering standards developed pursuant

5.17 to section 162.021 or 162.07, subdivision 2. A political subdivision in which a county

5.18 state-aid highway is located or is proposed to be located may submit a written request to the
5.19 commissioner for a variance for that highway. The commissioner shall comply with section
5.20 174.75, subdivision 5, in evaluating a variance request related to a complete streets project.

5.21 (b)
5.22 gtveno persen S € a

5.23 The commissioner may grant or deny the variance Wrthrn 30 days of pre’ﬁdmgneﬁe&ef
5.24 recervrng the varrance request {ﬁaam&e&ebjeeﬁefrteﬁerequesﬁﬁeeewed—wmﬂﬂ

5.25 seven

5.26 eeﬂtestedre&se%eafmg%a&bee&he}dre&theﬂﬂeqﬁes& If ﬂetme%yebjeeﬂeiﬂﬁeeewedﬂﬂd
5.27 the variance is denied witheuthearing, the political subdivision may request, within 30
5.28 days of receiving notice of denial, and shall be granted a contested case hearing.

5.29 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "political subdivision" includes (1) an agency of
5.30 a political subdivision which has jurisdiction over parks, and (2) a regional park authority.

5.31 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 162.09, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
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6.1 Subd. 8. Addenda. For a bid advertised under subdivision 1, 3, or 4, the

6.2 commissioner may establish one or more addenda to the bid, but may not add an addendum
6.3 less than 24 hours prior to the deadline for submission of a bid. The commissioner shall

6.4 identify addenda on the department's Web site and as part of the bidding process.

6.5 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 162.02, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

6.6 Subd. 3a. Variances from rules and engineering standards. (a) The commissioner

6.7 may grant variances from the rules and from the engineering standards developed pursuant
6.8 to section 162.021 or 162.07, subdivision 2. A political subdivision in which a county

6.9 state-aid highway is located or is proposed to be located may submit a written request to the
6.10 commissioner for a variance for that highway. The commissioner shall comply with section
6.11 174.75, subdivision 5, in evaluating a variance request related to a complete streets project.

6.12 (b)
6.13 givene

6.14 The commissioner may grant or deny the variance Wrthrn 30 days of pfe’ﬁdmgﬂeﬁeeef
6.15 recelvmg the varrance request {Pawrtte&ebjeeﬁeﬂ%eﬂaereqﬁesﬂﬁeeewed—wrthm

6.18 the variance is denied witheuthearing, the political subdivision may request, within 30
6.19 days of receiving notice of denial, and shall be granted a contested case hearing.

6.20 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "political subdivision" includes (1) an agency of
6.21 a political subdivision which has jurisdiction over parks, and (2) a regional park authority.

6.22 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 162.09, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
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5.32 Subd. 3a. Variances from rules and engineering standards. (a) The commissioner

5.33 may grant variances from the rules and from the engineering standards developed

5.34 pursuant to section 162.13, subdivision 2. A political subdivision in which a municipal
6.1 state-aid street is located or is proposed to be located may submit a written request to the
6.2 commissioner for a variance for that street. The commissioner shall comply with section
6.3 174.75, subdivision 5, in evaluating a variance request related to a complete streets project.

6.6 The commissioner may grant or deny the variance within 30 days of pfe’ﬁdmgneﬁeeﬁf
6.7 recelvmg the varlance request %Paw&a%ebjeeueﬂ%eihﬁequesﬂﬁeeewed%thm

6.10 the variance is denied witheuthearing, the political subdivision may request, within 30
6.11 days of receiving notice of denial, and shall be granted a contested case hearing.

6.12 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "political subdivision" includes (1) an agency of
6.13 a political subdivision which has jurisdiction over parks, and (2) a regional park authority.

6.14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 162.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

6.15 Subd. 2. Money needs defined. For the purpose of this section money needs of each

6.16 city having a population of 5,000 or more are defined as the estimated cost of constructing
6.17 and maintaining over a period of 25 years the municipal state-aid street system in such
6.18 city. Right-of-way costs and drainage shall be included in money needs. Lighting costs
6.19 and other costs incidental to construction and maintenance, or a specified portion of such
6.20 costs, as set forth in the commissioner's rules, may be included in determmlng money

6.21 needs §

6. 25 in costs due to dlfferences in construction and maintenance policy, construction and
6.26 maintenance costs shall be estimated on the basis of the engineering standards developed
6.27 cooperatively by the commissioner and the engineers, or a committee thereof, of the cities.

6.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.017, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

6.29 Subd. 2. 12 uniform registration periods. There are established 12 registration
6.30 periods, each to be designated by a calendar month and to start on the first day of such
6.31 month and end on the last day of the 12th month from the date of commencmg The

7 1 e&leﬁd&r—ye&n The reglstrar shall register all Vehlcles subject to reglstratlon under the
7.2 monthly series system for a minimum period of 12 consecutive calendar months.

May 03, 2013 11:05 AM
House Language UES1270-1

6.23 Subd. 3a. Variances from rules and engineering standards. (a) The commissioner

6.24 may grant variances from the rules and from the engineering standards developed

6.25 pursuant to section 162.13, subdivision 2. A political subdivision in which a municipal
6.26 state-aid street is located or is proposed to be located may submit a written request to the
6.27 commissioner for a variance for that street. The commissioner shall comply with section
6.28 174.75, subdivision 5, in evaluating a variance request related to a complete streets project.

629 (b)

6.31 The commissioner may grant or deny the variance within 30 days of pfeﬁdmgneﬁe&ef
6.32 recelvmg the varlance request {Pawﬁte&ebjeeﬁen%eﬂaefequesﬂﬁeeewed—wﬁhm

6.33

6.34 eeﬂtestedre&seheafii@m&beefkheldre&ﬂ&ﬁeques& If ﬂe%ﬂﬁe%yebjeeﬂefkﬁeeewedﬁ&d
7.1 the variance is denied witheuthearing, the political subdivision may request, within 30

7.2 days of receiving notice of denial, and shall be granted a contested case hearing.

7.3 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "political subdivision" includes (1) an agency of
7.4 a political subdivision which has jurisdiction over parks, and (2) a regional park authority.

7.5 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 162.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

7.6 Subd. 2. Money needs defined. For the purpose of this section money needs of each

7.7 city having a population of 5,000 or more are defined as the estimated cost of constructing
7.8 and maintaining over a period of 25 years the municipal state-aid street system in such

7.9 city. Right-of-way costs and drainage shall be included in money needs. Lighting costs
7.10 and other costs incidental to construction and maintenance, or a specified portion of such
7.11 costs, as set forth in the commissioner's rules, may be included in determlnlng rnoney
7.12 needs §

7 16 in costs due to dlfferences in construction and maintenance policy, construction and
7.17 maintenance costs shall be estimated on the basis of the engineering standards developed
7.18 cooperatively by the commissioner and the engineers, or a committee thereof, of the cities.

7.19 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.017, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

7.20 Subd. 2. 12 uniform registration periods. There are established 12 registration
7.21 periods, each to be designated by a calendar month and to start on the first day of such
7.22 month and end on the last day of the l2th month from the date of commencmg The

7. 25 e&leﬁd—&r—ye&n The reglstrar shall register all vehlcles subject to reglstratlon under the
7.26 monthly series system for a minimum period of 12 consecutive calendar months.
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7.3 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.017, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

7.4 Subd. 3. Exceptions. (a) The registrar shall register all vehicles subject to registration
7.5 under the monthly series system for a period of 12 consecutive calendar months, unless:

7.6 (1) the application is an original rather-thanrenewal-applieation under section
7.7 168.127; or

7.8 (2) the applicant is a licensed motor vehicle lessor under section 168.27 and the

7.9 vehicle is leased or rented for periods of time of not more than 28 days, in which case the
7.10 applicant may apply for initial or renewed registration of a vehicle for a period of four

7.11 or more months, the month of expiration to be designated by the applicant at the time of
7.12 registration. To qualify for this exemption, the applicant must present the application to the
7.13 registrar-at-St—Paul-or a designated deputy registrar office. Subsequent registration periods
7.14 when the applicant is not a qualified motor vehicle lessor under this subdivision must be for
7.15 a period of 12 months commencing from the last month for which registration was issued.

7.16
7.17 not ¢
7.18 menth
7.19 the

7.20 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.053, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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7.27 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.017, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

7.28 Subd. 3. Exceptions. (a) The registrar shall register all vehicles subject to registration
7.29 under the monthly series system for a period of 12 consecutive calendar months, unless:

7.30 (1) the application is an original rather-thanrenewal-applieation under section
7.31 168.127; or

7.32 (2) the applicant is a licensed motor vehicle lessor under section 168.27 and the

7.33 vehicle is leased or rented for periods of time of not more than 28 days, in which case the
8.1 applicant may apply for initial or renewed registration of a vehicle for a period of four

8.2 or more months, the month of expiration to be designated by the applicant at the time of

8.3 registration. To qualify for this exemption, the applicant must present the application to the
8.4 registrar-at-St—Paul-er a designated deputy registrar office. Subsequent registration periods
8.5 when the applicant is not a qualified motor vehicle lessor under this subdivision must be for
8.6 a period of 12 months commencing from the last month for which registration was issued.

8.11 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.053, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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7.21 Subdivision 1. Application; fee; penalty. Any person, firm, or corporation engaged

7.22 in the business of transporting motor vehicles owned by another, by delivering, by

7.23 drive-away or towing methods, either singly or by means of the full mount method, the
7.24 saddle mount method, the tow bar method, or any other combination thereof, and under
7.25 their own power, vehicles over the highways of the state from the manufacturer or any
7.26 other point of origin, to any point of destination, within or without the state, shall make
7.27 application to the registrar for a drive-away in-transit license. This application for annual
7.28 license shall be accompanied by a registration fee of $250 and contain sueh information as
7.29 the registrar may require. Upon the filing of the application and the payment of the fee,
7.30 the registrar shall issue to each drive-away operator a drive-away in-transit license plate,
7.31 which must be carried and displayed on the power unit consistent with section 169.79 and
7.32 the plate shall remain on the vehicle while being operated within the-state Minnesota.

7.33 The license plate issued under this subdivision is not valid for the purpose of permanent
7.34 vehicle registration and is not valid outside Minnesota. Additional drive-away in-transit
8.1 license plates desired by any drive-away operator may be secured from the registrar of

8.2 motor vehicles upon the payment of a fee of $5 for each set of additional license plates.

8.3 Any person, firm, or corporation engaging in the business as a drive-away operator, of

8.4 transporting and delivering by means of full mount method, the saddle mount method, the
8.5 tow bar method, or any combination thereof, and under their own power, motor vehicles,
8.6 who fails or refuses to file or cause to be filed an application, as is required by law, and to
8.7 pay the fees therefor as the law requires, shall be found guilty of violating the provisions of
8.8 sections 168.053 to 168.057; and, upon conviction, fined not less than $50, and not more
8.9 than $100, and all costs of court. Each day so operating without securing the license and

8.10 plates as required therein shall constitute a separate offense within-the-meaning thereef.

8.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.123, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

8.12 Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner of veterans affairs shall design the emblem for
8.13 the veterans' special plates, subject to the approval of the commissioner, that satisfy the
8.14 following requirements:

8.15 (a) For a Vietnam veteran who served after July 1, 1961, and before July 1, 1978,
8.16 in the active military service in a branch of the armed forces of the United States or a
8.17 nation or society allied with the United States the special plates must bear the inscription

8.18 "VIETNAM VET." We&efs%%ﬁd%ﬂﬂﬁheﬁfﬁe&e%dﬁeeﬂyﬁbm@%he

8.20 (b) For a veteran stationed on the island of Oahu, Hawaii, or offshore, during the
8.21 attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, the special plates must bear the inscription

8.22 "PEARL HARBOR SURVIVOR." &ﬂdrfhe%e&efsiPLaﬁdiHLwﬁhﬂaeﬁsze&e%dﬁee&y
8.23 abe b

8.25 (c) For a veteran who served during Werld-Wart-er World War 11, the plates must
8.26 bear the inscription "WORLD WAR VET." and:
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8.12 Subdivision 1. Application; fee; penalty. Any person, firm, or corporation engaged

8.13 in the business of transporting motor vehicles owned by another, by delivering, by

8.14 drive-away or towing methods, either singly or by means of the full mount method, the
8.15 saddle mount method, the tow bar method, or any other combination thereof, and under
8.16 their own power, vehicles over the highways of the state from the manufacturer or any
8.17 other point of origin, to any point of destination, within or without the state, shall make
8.18 application to the registrar for a drive-away in-transit license. This application for annual
8.19 license shall be accompanied by a registration fee of $250 and contain sueh information as
8.20 the registrar may require. Upon the filing of the application and the payment of the fee,
8.21 the registrar shall issue to each drive-away operator a drive-away in-transit license plate,
8.22 which must be carried and displayed on the power unit consistent with section 169.79 and
8.23 the plate shall remain on the vehicle while being operated within the-state Minnesota.

8.24 The license plate issued under this subdivision is not valid for the purpose of permanent
8.25 vehicle registration and is not valid outside Minnesota. Additional drive-away in-transit
8.26 license plates desired by any drive-away operator may be secured from the registrar of
8.27 motor vehicles upon the payment of a fee of $5 for each set of additional license plates.
8.28 Any person, firm, or corporation engaging in the business as a drive-away operator, of
8.29 transporting and delivering by means of full mount method, the saddle mount method, the
8.30 tow bar method, or any combination thereof, and under their own power, motor vehicles,
8.31 who fails or refuses to file or cause to be filed an application, as is required by law, and to
8.32 pay the fees therefor as the law requires, shall be found guilty of violating the provisions of
8.33 sections 168.053 to 168.057; and, upon conviction, fined not less than $50, and not more
8.34 than $100, and all costs of court. Each day so operating without securing the license and

8.35 plates as required therein shall constitute a separate offense within-the-meaning thereof.

9.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.123, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

9.2 Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner of veterans affairs shall design the emblem for
9.3 the veterans' special plates, subject to the approval of the commissioner, that satisfy the
9.4 following requirements:

9.5 (a) For a Vietnam veteran who served after July 1, 1961, and before July 1, 1978,
9.6 in the active military service in a branch of the armed forces of the United States or a
9.7 nation or society allied with the United States the special plates must bear the inscription

9.8 "VIETNAM VET." Me&ﬁ%ﬁd%v%ﬁlﬂheﬁfs&le&e%dﬁeeﬂy&be%&e

9.10 (b) For a veteran stationed on the island of Oahu, Hawaii, or offshore, during the
9.11 attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, the special plates must bear the inscription

9.12 "PEARL HARBOR SURVIVOR." aﬂd—khe%e&efsiPLaﬂleLW%&ﬁh&ﬁsze&efdﬁeeﬂy
9.13 abo b 5

9.15 (¢) For a veteran who served during Werld-Wart-er World War 11, the plates must
9.16 bear the inscription "WORLD WAR VET." and:
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8.33 (d) For a veteran who served during the Korean Conflict, the special plates must
8.34 bear the mscrrptron "KOREAN VET." aﬂd—&r&le&efs—'l@aﬂdi‘vlwrtlﬁheﬁrselettef

9.3 (e) For a combat wounded veteran who is a recipient of the Purple Heart medal, the
9.4 plates must bear the inscription "COMBAT WOUNDED VET" and have a facsimile or an
9.5 emblem of the official Purple Heart medal aﬂd—thelettefsi%ver#\Hatlfrtheﬂﬁszettef

9.7 A member of the United States armed forces who is serving actively in the military

9.8 and who is a recipient of the Purple Heart medal is also eligible for this license plate.

9.9 The commissioner of public safety shall ensure that information regarding the required
9.10 proof of eligibility for any applicant under this paragraph who has not yet been issued

9.11 military discharge papers is distributed to the public officials responsible for administering
9.12 this section.

9.13 (f) For a Persian Gulf War veteran, the plates must bear the inscription "GULF

9.14 WAR VET." aﬂd—thelettefs—GLaﬂd%wﬁh%keﬁszeﬁe%dﬂeeﬂfabeveﬂ&&seeeﬂd

a - For
9.16 the purposes of this section, "Persran Gulf War veteran" means a person Who served on
9.17 active duty after August 1, 1990, in a branch of the armed forces of the United States or
9.18 a nation or society allied with the United States or the United Nations during Operation
9.19 Desert Shield, Operation Desert Storm, or other military operation in the Persian Gulf
9.20 area combat zone as designated in United States Presidential Executive Order No. 12744,
9.21 dated January 21, 1991.

9.22 (g) For a veteran who served in the Laos War after July 1, 1961, and before July 1,
9.23 1978, the spec1al plates must bear the 1nscr1pt10n "LAOS WAR VET." aﬂdrthelettefsilf”

9.26 (h) For a veteran who is the recipient of:

9.27 (1) the Iraq Campaign Medal, the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of
9.28 that medal and must bear the inscription "IRAQ WAR VET" directly below the special
9.29 plate number;

9.23 (d) For a veteran who served during the Korean Conflict, the special plates must
9.24 bear the mscrrptron "KOREAN VET." aﬂd—theletters—'l@aﬂdi‘#wrtlﬁheﬁfselettef

9.27 (e) For a combat wounded veteran who is a recipient of the Purple Heart medal, the
9.28 plates must bear the inscription "COMBAT WOUNDED VET" and have a facsimile or an
9.29 emblem of the official Purple Heart medal aﬂd—thelettefsJ@e’vlel;'W—wﬁlﬁheﬁszettef

9.31 A member of the United States armed forces who is serving actively in the military

9.32 and who is a recipient of the Purple Heart medal is also eligible for this license plate.

9.33 The commissioner of public safety shall ensure that information regarding the required
9.34 proof of eligibility for any applicant under this paragraph who has not yet been issued
9.35 military discharge papers is distributed to the public officials responsible for administering
9.36 this section.

10.1 (f) For a Persian Gulf War veteran, the plates must bear the inscription "GULF

10.2 WAR VET." aﬂd—thele&efs—GLaﬁd#WLVHﬂ%&wﬁsze&e%dmeeﬂ%abeveﬂ%&seeeﬂd
10.3 lettera - For
10.4 the purposes of this section, "Persran Gulf War veteran" means a person who served on
10.5 active duty after August 1, 1990, in a branch of the armed forces of the United States or
10.6 a nation or society allied with the United States or the United Nations during Operation
10.7 Desert Shield, Operation Desert Storm, or other military operation in the Persian Gulf
10.8 area combat zone as designated in United States Presidential Executive Order No. 12744,
10.9 dated January 21, 1991.

10.10 (g) For a veteran who served in the Laos War after July 1, 1961, and before July 1,
10.11 1978, the spec1al plates must bear the 1nscr1pt10n "LAOS WAR VET." aﬂdrthelettefsilr"

10.14 (h) For a veteran who is the recipient of:

10.15 (1) the Iraq Campaign Medal, the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of
10.16 that medal and must bear the inscription "IRAQ WAR VET" directly below the special
10.17 plate number;
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9.30 (2) the Afghanistan Campaign Medal, the special plates must be inscribed with a
9.31 facsimile of that medal and must bear the inscription "AFGHAN WAR VET" directly
9.32 below the special plate number;

9.33 (3) the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, the special plates must
9.34 be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the inscription "GWOT
9.35 VETERAN" directly below the special plate number; or

10.1 (4) the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, the special plates must bear an
10.2 appropriate inscription that includes a facsimile of that medal.

10.3 (i) For a veteran who is the recipient of the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal,

10.4 the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the

10.5 inscription "GWOT VETERAN" directly below the special plate number. In addition,
10.6 any member of the National Guard or other military reserves who has been ordered to
10.7 federally funded state active service under United States Code, title 32, as defined in

10.8 section 190.05, subdivision 5b, and who is the recipient of the Global War on Terrorism
10.9 Service Medal, is eligible for the license plate described in this paragraph, irrespective of
10.10 whether that person qualifies as a veteran under section 197.447.

10.11 (j) For a veteran who is the recipient of the Korean Defense Service Medal,
10.12 the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the
10.13 inscription "KOREAN DEFENSE SERVICE" directly below the special plate number.

10.14 (k) For a veteran who is a recipient of the Bronze Star medal, the plates must bear
10.15 the inscription "BRONZE STAR VET" and have a facsimile or an emblem of the official
10.16 Bronze Star medal.

10.17 (1) For a veteran who is a recipient of the Silver Star medal, the plates must bear
10.18 the inscription "SILVER STAR VET" and have a facsimile or an emblem of the official
10.19 Silver Star medal.

10.20 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.183, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

10.21 Subdivision 1. Payment of taxes. All trucks, truck-tractors, trailers-and-semitrailers;
10.22 trucks using combination, and buses which comply with all of the provisions of section
10.23 168.181, subdivision 1, clause (6), but are excluded from the exemptions previded-therein
10.24 solely because of the intrastate temporary nature of their movement in this state, ewned

10. 26 or-coneessions shall be requlred to comply w1th all laws and rules as to the payment of
10.27 taxes applicable to like vehicles owned by Minnesota residents but-such, except that
10.28 nonresidents may make application to pay such the tax for each vehicle proportionate
10.29 to the number of months or fraction thereof such the vehicles are in this state. For the

10.30 purposes of this subdivision, buses do not include charter buses that are considered
10.31 proratable vehicles under section 168.187, subdivision 4.

10.32 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.187, subdivision 17, is amended to read:
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10.18 (2) the Afghanistan Campaign Medal, the special plates must be inscribed with a
10.19 facsimile of that medal and must bear the inscription "AFGHAN WAR VET" directly
10.20 below the special plate number;

10.21 (3) the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, the special plates must
10.22 be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the inscription "GWOT
10.23 VETERAN" directly below the special plate number; or

10.24 (4) the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, the special plates must bear an
10.25 appropriate inscription that includes a facsimile of that medal.

10.26 (i) For a veteran who is the recipient of the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal,
10.27 the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the
10.28 inscription "GWOT VETERAN" directly below the special plate number. In addition,
10.29 any member of the National Guard or other military reserves who has been ordered to
10.30 federally funded state active service under United States Code, title 32, as defined in
10.31 section 190.05, subdivision 5b, and who is the recipient of the Global War on Terrorism
10.32 Service Medal, is eligible for the license plate described in this paragraph, irrespective of
10.33 whether that person qualifies as a veteran under section 197.447.

10.34 (j) For a veteran who is the recipient of the Korean Defense Service Medal,
10.35 the special plates must be inscribed with a facsimile of that medal and must bear the
10.36 inscription "KOREAN DEFENSE SERVICE" directly below the special plate number.

11.1 (k) For a veteran who is a recipient of the Bronze Star medal, the plates must bear
11.2 the inscription "BRONZE STAR VET" and have a facsimile or an emblem of the official
11.3 Bronze Star medal.

11.4 (1) For a veteran who is a recipient of the Silver Star medal, the plates must bear
11.5 the inscription "SILVER STAR VET" and have a facsimile or an emblem of the official
11.6 Silver Star medal.

11.7 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.183, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

11.8 Subdivision 1. Payment of taxes. All trucks, truck-tractors, trailers-and-semitrailers;

11.9 trucks using combination, and buses which comply with all of the provisions of section
11.10 168.181, subdivision 1, clause (6), but are excluded from the exemptions previded-therein
11.11 solely because of the intrastate temporary nature of their movement in this state, owneel

11 13 er-coneessions shall be requrred to comply W1th all laws and rules as to the payment of
11.14 taxes applicable to like vehicles owned by Minnesota residents but-sueh, except that
11.15 nonresidents may make application to pay such the tax for each vehicle proportionate
11.16 to the number of months or fraction thereof such the vehicles are in this state. For the

11.17 purposes of this subdivision, buses do not include charter buses that are considered
11.18 proratable vehicles under section 168.187, subdivision 4.

11.19 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.187, subdivision 17, is amended to read:
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10.33 Subd. 17. Trip permit. Subject to agreements or arrangements made or entered into
10.34 pursuant to subdivision 7, the commissioner may issue trip permits for use of Minnesota
11.1 highways by individual vehicles, on an occasional basis, for periods not to exceed 120
11.2 hours in compliance with rules promulgated pursuant to subdivision 23 and upon payment
11.3 of a fee of $15. For the purposes of this subdivision, "on an occasional basis" means

11.4 no more than one permit per vehicle within a 30-day period, which begins the day a

11.5 permit is effective.

11.6 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.27, is amended by adding a subdivision
11.7 to read:

11.8 Subd. 3d. Used vehicle parts dealer. A used vehicle parts dealer licensee may sell,
11.9 solicit, or advertise the sale of used parts and the remaining scrap metals, but is prohibited
11.10 from selling any new or used motor vehicles for use at retail or for resale to a dealer.

11.11 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.27, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

11.12 Subd. 10. Place of business. (a) All licensees under this section shall have an
11.13 established place of business which shall include as a minimum:

11.14 (1) For a new motor vehicle dealer, the following:

11.15 (i) a commercial building owned or under lease by the licensee. The lease must

11.16 be for a minimum term of one year. The building must contain office space where the
11.17 books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained with
11.18 personnel available during normal business hours. Dealership business hours must be
11.19 conspicuously posted on the place of doing business and readily viewable by the public;

11.20 (ii) a bona fide contract or franchise (A) in effect with a manufacturer or distributor

11.21 of the new motor vehicles the dealer proposes to sell, broker, wholesale, or auction, or (B)
11.22 in effect with the first-stage manufacturer or distributor of new motor vehicles purchased
11.23 from a van converter or modifier which the dealer proposes to sell, broker, wholesale, or
11.24 auction, or (C) in effect with the final-stage manufacturer of the new type A, B, or C motor
11.25 homes which the dealer proposes to sell, broker, wholesale, or auction;

11.26 (iii) a facility for the repair and servicing of motor vehicles and the storage of parts

11.27 and accessories, not to exceed ten miles distance from the principal place of business. The
11.28 service may be provided through contract with bona fide operators actually engaged

11.29 in the services;

11.30 (iv) an area either indoors or outdoors to display motor vehicles that is owned or
11.31 under lease by the licensee; and

11.32 (v) a sign readily viewable by the public that clearly identifies the dealership by name.

11.33 (2) For a used motor vehicle dealer, the following:
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11.20 Subd. 17. Trip permit. Subject to agreements or arrangements made or entered into

11.21 pursuant to subdivision 7, the commissioner may issue trip permits for use of Minnesota
11.22 highways by individual vehicles, on an occasional basis, for periods not to exceed 120
11.23 hours in compliance with rules promulgated pursuant to subdivision 23 and upon payment
11.24 of a fee of $15. For the purposes of this subdivision, "on an occasional basis" means

11.25 no more than one permit per vehicle within a 30-day period, which begins the day a

11.26 permit is effective.

11.27 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.27, is amended by adding a subdivision
11.28 to read:

11.29 Subd. 3d. Used vehicle parts dealer. A used vehicle parts dealer licensee may sell,
11.30 solicit, or advertise the sale of used parts and the remaining scrap metals, but is prohibited
11.31 from selling any new or used motor vehicles for use at retail or for resale to a dealer.

11.32 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.27, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

12.1 Subd. 10. Place of business. (a) All licensees under this section shall have an
12.2 established place of business which shall include as a minimum:

12.3 (1) For a new motor vehicle dealer, the following:

12.4 (i) a commercial building owned or under lease by the licensee. The lease must

12.5 be for a minimum term of one year. The building must contain office space where the
12.6 books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained with
12.7 personnel available during normal business hours. Dealership business hours must be
12.8 conspicuously posted on the place of doing business and readily viewable by the public;

12.9 (ii) a bona fide contract or franchise (A) in effect with a manufacturer or distributor

12.10 of the new motor vehicles the dealer proposes to sell, broker, wholesale, or auction, or (B)
12.11 in effect with the first-stage manufacturer or distributor of new motor vehicles purchased
12.12 from a van converter or modifier which the dealer proposes to sell, broker, wholesale, or
12.13 auction, or (C) in effect with the final-stage manufacturer of the new type A, B, or C motor
12.14 homes which the dealer proposes to sell, broker, wholesale, or auction;

12.15 (iii) a facility for the repair and servicing of motor vehicles and the storage of parts

12.16 and accessories, not to exceed ten miles distance from the principal place of business. The
12.17 service may be provided through contract with bona fide operators actually engaged

12.18 in the services;

12.19 (iv) an area either indoors or outdoors to display motor vehicles that is owned or
12.20 under lease by the licensee; and

12.21 (v) a sign readily viewable by the public that clearly identifies the dealership by name.

12.22 (2) For a used motor vehicle dealer, the following:
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12.1 (i) a commercial building owned or under lease by the licensee. The lease must

12.2 be for a minimum term of one year. The building must contain office space where the
12.3 books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained with
12.4 personnel available during normal business hours or automatic telephone answering
12.5 service during normal business hours. Dealership business hours must be conspicuously
12.6 posted on the place of doing business and readily viewable by the public;

12.7 (ii) an area either indoors or outdoors to display motor vehicles which is owned or
12.8 under lease by the licensee; and

12.9 (iii) a sign readily viewable by the public that clearly identifies the dealership by
12.10 name.

12.11 (3) For a motor vehicle lessor, the following: a commercial office space where the

12.12 books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained with
12.13 personnel available during normal business hours or an automatic telephone answering
12.14 service during normal business hours. Business hours must be conspicuously posted on
12.15 the place of doing business and readily viewable by the public. The office space must be
12.16 owned or under lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.

12.17 (4) For a motor vehicle wholesaler, the following: a commercial office space where

12.18 the books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained
12.19 with personnel available during normal business hours or an automatic telephone

12.20 answering service during normal business hours. The office space must be owned or under
12.21 lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.

12.22 (5) For a motor vehicle auctioneer, the following: a permanent enclosed commercial
12.23 building, within or without the state, on a permanent foundation, owned or under lease
12.24 by the licensee. The lease must be for a minimum term of one year. The building must
12.25 contain office space where the books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business
12.26 are kept and maintained with personnel available during normal business hours or an
12.27 automatic telephone answering service during normal business hours.

12.28 (6) For a motor vehicle broker, the following: a commercial office space where

12.29 books, records, and files necessary to conduct business are kept and maintained with

12.30 personnel available during normal business hours, or an automatic telephone answering
12.31 service available during normal business hours. A sign, clearly identifying the motor

12.32 vehicle broker by name and listing the broker's business hours, must be posted in a location
12.33 and manner readily viewable by a member of the public visiting the office space. The
12.34 office space must be owned or under lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.

12.35 (7) For a limited use vehicle license holder, the following: a commercial office space

12.36 where books, records, and files necessary to conduct nonprofit charitable activities are kept
13.1 and maintained with personnel available during normal business hours, or an automatic

13.2 telephonic answering service available during normal business hours. The office space

13.3 must be owned or under lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.
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12.23 (i) a commercial building owned or under lease by the licensee. The lease must

12.24 be for a minimum term of one year. The building must contain office space where the
12.25 books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained with
12.26 personnel available during normal business hours or automatic telephone answering
12.27 service during normal business hours. Dealership business hours must be conspicuously
12.28 posted on the place of doing business and readily viewable by the public;

12.29 (ii) an area either indoors or outdoors to display motor vehicles which is owned or
12.30 under lease by the licensee; and

12.31 (iii) a sign readily viewable by the public that clearly identifies the dealership by
12.32 name.

12.33 (3) For a motor vehicle lessor, the following: a commercial office space where the

12.34 books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained with
12.35 personnel available during normal business hours or an automatic telephone answering
12.36 service during normal business hours. Business hours must be conspicuously posted on
13.1 the place of doing business and readily viewable by the public. The office space must be
13.2 owned or under lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.

13.3 (4) For a motor vehicle wholesaler, the following: a commercial office space where

13.4 the books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained
13.5 with personnel available during normal business hours or an automatic telephone

13.6 answering service during normal business hours. The office space must be owned or under
13.7 lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.

13.8 (5) For a motor vehicle auctioneer, the following: a permanent enclosed commercial

13.9 building, within or without the state, on a permanent foundation, owned or under lease
13.10 by the licensee. The lease must be for a minimum term of one year. The building must
13.11 contain office space where the books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business
13.12 are kept and maintained with personnel available during normal business hours or an
13.13 automatic telephone answering service during normal business hours.

13.14 (6) For a motor vehicle broker, the following: a commercial office space where

13.15 books, records, and files necessary to conduct business are kept and maintained with

13.16 personnel available during normal business hours, or an automatic telephone answering
13.17 service available during normal business hours. A sign, clearly identifying the motor

13.18 vehicle broker by name and listing the broker's business hours, must be posted in a location
13.19 and manner readily viewable by a member of the public visiting the office space. The

13.20 office space must be owned or under lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.

13.21 (7) For a limited used vehicle license holder, the following: a commercial office

13.22 space where books, records, and files necessary to conduct nonprofit charitable activities
13.23 are kept and maintained with personnel available during normal business hours, or an

13.24 automatic telephonic answering service available during normal business hours. The

13.25 office space must be owned or under lease for a minimum term of one year by the licensee.
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13.4 (b) If a new or used motor vehicle dealer maintains more than one place of doing

13.5 business in a county, the separate places must be listed on the application. If additional
13.6 places of business are maintained outside of one county, separate licenses must be

13.7 obtained for each county.

13.8 (c) If a motor vehicle lessor, wholesaler, auctioneer, or motor vehicle broker

13.9 maintains more than one permanent place of doing business, either in one or more

13.10 counties, the separate places must be listed in the application, but only one license is

13.11 required. If a lessor proposes to sell previously leased or rented vehicles or if a broker
13.12 proposes to establish an office at a location outside the seven-county metropolitan area, as
13.13 defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, other than cities of the first class, the lessor or
13.14 broker must obtain a license for each nonmetropolitan area county in which the lessor's
13.15 sales are to take place or where the broker proposes to locate an office.

13.16 (d) If a motor vehicle dealer, lessor, wholesaler, or motor vehicle broker does not
13.17 have direct access to a public road or street, any privately owned roadway providing
13.18 access to a public road or street must be clearly identified and adequately maintained.

13.19 (e) A new or used motor vehicle dealer may establish a temporary place of business
13.20 outside the county where it maintains its licensed location to sell horse trailers exclusively
13.21 without obtaining an additional license.

13.22 (f) A new or used motor vehicle dealer may establish a temporary place of business
13.23 outside the county where it maintains its licensed location to sell recreational vehicles
13.24 exclusively without obtaining an additional license if:

13.25 (1) the dealer establishes a temporary place of business for the sale of recreational
13.26 vehicles not more than four times during any calendar year;

13.27 (2) each temporary place of business other than an official county fair or the

13.28 Minnesota State Fair within the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section
13.29 473.121, subdivision 2, is established jointly with at least four other recreational vehicle
13.30 dealers;

13.31 (3) each temporary place of business other than an official county fair outside
13.32 the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, is
13.33 established jointly with at least one other recreational vehicle dealer;

13.34 (4) each establishment of a temporary place of business for the sale of recreational
13.35 vehicles is for no more than 12 consecutive days; and

14.1 (5) the dealer notifies the registrar of motor vehicles of each temporary place of
14.2 business for the sale of recreational vehicles.

14.3 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.27, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
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13.26 (b) If a new or used motor vehicle dealer maintains more than one place of doing

13.27 business in a county, the separate places must be listed on the application. If additional
13.28 places of business are maintained outside of one county, separate licenses must be
13.29 obtained for each county.

13.30 (¢) If a motor vehicle lessor, wholesaler, auctioneer, or motor vehicle broker

13.31 maintains more than one permanent place of doing business, either in one or more

13.32 counties, the separate places must be listed in the application, but only one license is
13.33 required. If a lessor proposes to sell previously leased or rented vehicles or if a broker
13.34 proposes to establish an office at a location outside the seven-county metropolitan area, as
13.35 defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, other than cities of the first class, the lessor or
14.1 broker must obtain a license for each nonmetropolitan area county in which the lessor's
14.2 sales are to take place or where the broker proposes to locate an office.

14.3 (d) If a motor vehicle dealer, lessor, wholesaler, or motor vehicle broker does not
14.4 have direct access to a public road or street, any privately owned roadway providing
14.5 access to a public road or street must be clearly identified and adequately maintained.

14.6 (¢) A new or used motor vehicle dealer may establish a temporary place of business
14.7 outside the county where it maintains its licensed location to sell horse trailers exclusively
14.8 without obtaining an additional license.

14.9 (f) A new or used motor vehicle dealer may establish a temporary place of business
14.10 outside the county where it maintains its licensed location to sell recreational vehicles
14.11 exclusively without obtaining an additional license if:

14.12 (1) the dealer establishes a temporary place of business for the sale of recreational
14.13 vehicles not more than four times during any calendar year;

14.14 (2) each temporary place of business other than an official county fair or the

14.15 Minnesota State Fair within the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section
14.16 473.121, subdivision 2, is established jointly with at least four other recreational vehicle
14.17 dealers;

14.18 (3) each temporary place of business other than an official county fair outside
14.19 the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, is
14.20 established jointly with at least one other recreational vehicle dealer;

14.21 (4) each establishment of a temporary place of business for the sale of recreational
14.22 vehicles is for no more than 12 consecutive days; and

14.23 (5) the dealer notifies the registrar of motor vehicles of each temporary place of
14.24 business for the sale of recreational vehicles.

14.25 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.27, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
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14.4 Subd. 11. Dealers' licenses; location change notice; fee. (a) Application for

14.5 a dealer's license or notification of a change of location of the place of business on a
14.6 dealer's license must include a street address, not a post office box, and is subject to the
14.7 commissioner's approval.

14.8 (b) Upon the filing of an application for a dealer's license and the proper fee, unless

14.9 the application on its face appears to be invalid, the commissioner shall grant a 90-day
14.10 temporary license. During the 90-day period following issuance of the temporary license,
14.11 the commissioner shall inspect the place of business site and insure compliance with this
14.12 section and rules adopted under this section.

14.13 (¢) The commissioner may extend the temporary license 30 days to allow the
14.14 temporarily licensed dealer to come into full compliance with this section and rules
14.15 adopted under this section.

14.16 (d) In no more than 120 days following issuance of the temporary license, the dealer
14.17 license must either be granted or denied.

14.18 (e) A license must be denied under the following conditions:

14.19 (1) The license must be denied if within the previous ten years the applicant was

14.20 enjoined due to a violation of section 325F.69 or convicted of violating section 325E.14,
14.21 325E.15, 325E.16, or 325F.69, or convicted under section 609.53 of receiving or selling
14.22 stolen vehicles, or convicted of violating United States Code, title 15, sections 1981 to
14.23 1991 or pleaded guilty, entered a plea of nolo contendere or no contest, or has been found
14.24 guilty in a court of competent jurisdiction of any charge of failure to pay state or federal
14.25 income or sales taxes or felony charge of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under
14.26 false pretenses, theft by swindle, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or bribery.

14.27
14.28 denied-a-dealerlicense:

14.29 (3) (2) A license must also be denied if the applicant has had a dealer license
14.30 revoked within the previous ten years.

14.31 (f) If the application is approved, the commissioner shall license the applicant as a

14.32 dealer for one year from the date the temporary license is granted and issue a certificate
14.33 of license that must include a distinguishing number of identification of the dealer. The
14.34 license must be displayed in a prominent place in the dealer's licensed place of business.

15.1 (g) Each initial application for a license must be accompanied by a fee of $100 in

15.2 addition to the annual fee. The annual fee is $150. The initial fees and annual fees must
15.3 be paid into the state treasury and credited to the general fund except that $50 of each
15.4 initial and annual fee must be paid into the vehicle services operating account in the
15.5 special revenue fund under section 299A.705.

15.6 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168A.153, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
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14.26 Subd. 11. Dealers' licenses; location change notice; fee. (a) Application for

14.27 a dealer's license or notification of a change of location of the place of business on a
14.28 dealer's license must include a street address, not a post office box, and is subject to the
14.29 commissioner's approval.

14.30 (b) Upon the filing of an application for a dealer's license and the proper fee, unless

14.31 the application on its face appears to be invalid, the commissioner shall grant a 90-day
14.32 temporary license. During the 90-day period following issuance of the temporary license,
14.33 the commissioner shall inspect the place of business site and insure compliance with this
14.34 section and rules adopted under this section.

15.1 (¢) The commissioner may extend the temporary license 30 days to allow the
15.2 temporarily licensed dealer to come into full compliance with this section and rules
15.3 adopted under this section.

15.4 (d) In no more than 120 days following issuance of the temporary license, the dealer
15.5 license must either be granted or denied.

15.6 (e) A license must be denied under the following conditions:

15.7 (1) The license must be denied if within the previous ten years the applicant was

15.8 enjoined due to a violation of section 325F.69 or convicted of violating section 325E.14,
15.9 325E.15, 325E.16, or 325F.69, or convicted under section 609.53 of receiving or selling
15.10 stolen vehicles, or convicted of violating United States Code, title 15, sections 1981 to
15.11 1991 or pleaded guilty, entered a plea of nolo contendere or no contest, or has been found
15.12 guilty in a court of competent jurisdiction of any charge of failure to pay state or federal
15.13 income or sales taxes or felony charge of forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under
15.14 false pretenses, theft by swindle, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or bribery.

ha ense-my 9

15.15
15.16

15.17 (3) (2) A license must alse be denied if the applicant has had a dealer license
15.18 revoked within the previous ten years.

15.19 (f) If the application is approved, the commissioner shall license the applicant as a

15.20 dealer for one year from the date the temporary license is granted and issue a certificate

15.21 of license that must include a distinguishing number of identification of the dealer. The

15.22 license must be displayed in a prominent place in the dealer's licensed place of business.

15.23 (g) Each initial application for a license must be accompanied by a fee of $100 in

15.24 addition to the annual fee. The annual fee is $150. The initial fees and annual fees must
15.25 be paid into the state treasury and credited to the general fund except that $50 of each
15.26 initial and annual fee must be paid into the vehicle services operating account in the
15.27 special revenue fund under section 299A.705.
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15.7 Subdivision 1. Older model vehicle. (a) A dealer who buys an older model vehicle
15.8 to dismantle or destroy must:

15.9 (1) obtain the certificate of title or verify ownership on the department's electronic
15.10 record;

15.11 (2) notify any secured parties; and

15.12 (3) retain the certificate of title or a copy of the motor vehicle record.

15.13 (b) A dealer who buys an older model vehicle to be-dismantled dismantle or

15.14 destroyed-shallreportto destroy must notify the department within 30 ten days including.
15.15 The notification must be made electronically as prescribed by the registrar, and must
15.16 include the vehicle's license plate number and identification number, and the seller's

15.17 name and driver's license number.

15.18 (c¢) The records and information retained or submitted under paragraphs (a) and (b)
15.19 shall be kept and maintained in a manner consistent with the requirements of section
15.20 168A.11, subdivision 3.

15.21 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168A.153, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

15.22 Subd. 2. Late-model or high-value vehicle. (a) A dealer who buys a late-model or
15.23 high-value vehicle to be-dismantled dismantle or destroyed-shall destroy must:

15.24 (1) obtain the certificate of title;
15.25 (2) notify the any secured party parties;if-any;-and-the-commissionerin-the-manner
15.26 preseribed-in tvision deale

15.27 title; and

>
my hen-proverly-de ov-the certificate o

15.28 (3) retain the certificate of title or a copy of the motor vehicle record.

15.29 (b) A dealer who buys a late-model or high-value vehicle to dismantle or destroy

15.30 must notify the department within ten days. The notification must be made electronically
15.31 as prescribed by the registrar, must include the vehicle's license plate number and

15.32 identification number, and must include the seller's name and driver's license number.

16.1 (c) The records and information retained or submitted under paragraphs (a) and (b)
16.2 shall be kept and maintained in a manner consistent with the requirements of section
16.3 168A.11, subdivision 3.

16.4 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168A.153, is amended by adding a
16.5 subdivision to read:

16.6 Subd. 2a. Purchase of abandoned vehicles from a dealer. (a) Subdivision 1 does
16.7 not apply to purchase of a scrap vehicle as an abandoned vehicle from a license holder
16.8 under section 168.27 who is in possession of the vehicle for service or repair.
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16.9 (b) A scrap vehicle dealer acquiring a scrap vehicle under this subdivision shall

16.10 obtain the selling dealer's business name and address, a copy of the repair order, and,
16.11 if available, a bill of sale or other evidence of open or legitimate purchase. The scrap
16.12 vehicle dealer must notify the department within ten days. The notification must be made
16.13 electronically as prescribed by the registrar, must include the vehicle's license plate

16.14 number and identification number, and must include the seller's name.

16.15 (c) The records and information obtained or submitted under paragraph (b) shall be
16.16 maintained in a manner consistent with the requirements of section 168A.11, subdivision 3.

16.17 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168A.153, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

16.18 Subd. 3. Notification on vehicle to be dismantled or destroyed; service fee. Within
16.19 the time frames prescribed in subdivisions 1 and, 2, and 2a of acquiring a vehicle titled and
16.20 registered in Minnesota, a dealer shall notify the registrar that the dealership purchased the
16.21 vehicle to be dismantled or destroyed. The notification must be made electronically as
16.22 prescribed by the registrar. The dealer may contract this service to a deputy registrar and
16.23 the registrar may charge a fee not to exceed $7 per transaction to provide this service.

16.24 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168B.15, is amended to read:
16.25 168B.15 TOW TRUCK PERMIT.

16.26 The commissioner of transportation may issue permits to an applicant who pays a

16.27 single $300 annual fee to cover all tow trucks and towing vehicles owned by the applicant
16.28 and meets any other conditions prescribed by the commissioner. The permit authorizes the
16.29 tow truck or towing vehicle, when towing a disabled or damaged vehicle to a place of repair
16.30 or to a place of safekeeping, to exceed the length and weight limitations of this chapter 169.

16.31 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.011, subdivision 71, is amended to read:

17.1 Subd. 71. School bus. (2) "School bus" means a motor vehicle used to transport

17.2 pupils to or from a school defined in section 120A.22, or to or from school-related

17.3 activities, by the school or a school district, or by someone under an agreement with the
17.4 school or a school district. A school bus does not include a motor vehicle transporting
17.5 children to or from school for which parents or guardians receive direct compensation
17.6 from a school district, a motor coach operating under charter carrier authority, a transit
17.7 bus providing services as defined in section 174.22, subdivision 7, or a vehicle otherwise
17.8 qualifying as a type III vehicle under paragraph (h), when the vehicle is properly

17.9 registered and insured and being driven by an employee or agent of a school district for
17.10 nonscheduled or nonregular transportation.

17.11 (b) A school bus may be type A, type B, type C, or type D, multifunction school
17.12 activity bus, or type III as provided in paragraphs (c) to (h).
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15.28 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.011, subdivision 71, is amended to read:

15.29 Subd. 71. School bus. (a) "School bus" means a motor vehicle used to transport

15.30 pupils to or from a school defined in section 120A.22, or to or from school-related

15.31 activities, by the school or a school district, or by someone under an agreement with the
15.32 school or a school district. A school bus does not include a motor vehicle transporting
15.33 children to or from school for which parents or guardians receive direct compensation
15.34 from a school district, a motor coach operating under charter carrier authority, a transit
15.35 bus providing services as defined in section 174.22, subdivision 7, or a vehicle otherwise
16.1 qualifying as a type III vehicle under paragraph (h), when the vehicle is properly

16.2 registered and insured and being driven by an employee or agent of a school district for
16.3 nonscheduled or nonregular transportation.

16.4 (b) A school bus may be type A, type B, type C, or type D, multifunction school
16.5 activity bus, or type III as provided in paragraphs (c) to (h).
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17.13 (c) A "type A school bus" is a van conversion or bus constructed utilizing a

17.14 cutaway front section vehicle with a left-side driver's door. This definition includes two
17.15 classifications: type A-I, with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than or equal
17.16 to 14,500 pounds; and type A-1I, with a GVWR greater than 14,500 pounds and less
17.17 than or equal to 21,500 pounds.

17.18 (d) A "type B school bus" is constructed utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance

17.19 door is behind the front wheels. This definition includes two classifications: type B-I,
17.20 with a GVWR less than or equal to 10,000 pounds; and type B-II, with a GVWR greater
17.21 than 10,000 pounds.

17.22 (e) A "type C school bus" is constructed utilizing a chassis with a hood and front

17.23 fender assembly. The entrance door is behind the front wheels. A "type C school bus" also
17.24 includes a cutaway truck chassis or truck chassis with cab, with or without a left side door,
17.25 and with a GVWR greater than 21,500 pounds.

17.26 (f) A "type D school bus" is constructed utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance
17.27 door is ahead of the front wheels.

17.28 (g) A "multifunction school activity bus" is a school bus that meets the definition
17.29 of a multifunction school activity bus in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section
17.30 571.3. A vehicle that meets the definition of a type III vehicle is not a multifunction
17.31 school activity bus.

17.32 (h) A "type III vehicle" is restricted to passenger ears;-station-wagens;-vans; vehicles
17.33 and buses having a maximum manufacturer's rated seating capacity of ten or fewer people,

17.34 including the driver, and a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less. A "type
17.35 III vehicle" must not be outwardly equipped and identified as a type A, B, C, or D school
17.36 bus or type A, B, C, or D Head Start bus. A van or bus converted to a seating capacity of
18.1 ten or fewer and placed in service on or after August 1, 1999, must have been originally
18.2 manufactured to comply with the passenger safety standards.

18.3 (i) In this subdivision, "gross vehicle weight rating" means the value specified by
18.4 the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single vehicle.
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16.6 (c) A "type A school bus" is a van conversion or bus constructed utilizing a

16.7 cutaway front section vehicle with a left-side driver's door. This definition includes two
16.8 classifications: type A-I, with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than or equal
16.9 to 14,500 pounds; and type A-1I, with a GVWR greater than 14,500 pounds and less
16.10 than or equal to 21,500 pounds.

16.11 (d) A "type B school bus" is constructed utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance

16.12 door is behind the front wheels. This definition includes two classifications: type B-I,
16.13 with a GVWR less than or equal to 10,000 pounds; and type B-II, with a GVWR greater
16.14 than 10,000 pounds.

16.15 (e) A "type C school bus" is constructed utilizing a chassis with a hood and front

16.16 fender assembly. The entrance door is behind the front wheels. A "type C school bus" also
16.17 includes a cutaway truck chassis or truck chassis with cab, with or without a left side door,
16.18 and with a GVWR greater than 21,500 pounds.

16.19 (f) A "type D school bus" is constructed utilizing a stripped chassis. The entrance
16.20 door is ahead of the front wheels.

16.21 (g) A "multifunction school activity bus" is a school bus that meets the definition
16.22 of a multifunction school activity bus in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section
16.23 571.3. A vehicle that meets the definition of a type III vehicle is not a multifunction
16.24 school activity bus.

16.25 (h) A "type III vehicle" is restricted to passenger ears;-station-wagens;-vans; vehicles
16.26 and buses having a maximum manufacturer's rated seating capacity of ten or fewer people,

16.27 including the driver, and a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less. A "type
16.28 III vehicle" must not be outwardly equipped and identified as a type A, B, C, or D school
16.29 bus or type A, B, C, or D Head Start bus. A van or bus converted to a seating capacity of
16.30 ten or fewer and placed in service on or after August 1, 1999, must have been originally
16.31 manufactured to comply with the passenger safety standards.

16.32 (i) In this subdivision, "gross vehicle weight rating" means the value specified by
16.33 the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single vehicle.

16.34 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.04, is amended to read:
16.35 169.04 LOCAL AUTHORITY.

17.1 (a) The provisions of this chapter shall not be deemed to prevent local authorities,

17.2 with respect to streets and highways under their jurisdiction, and with the consent of

17.3 the commissioner, with respect to state trunk highways, within the corporate limits of a
17.4 municipality, or within the limits of a town in a county in this state now having or which
17.5 may hereafter have, a population of 500,000 or more, and a land area of not more than 600
17.6 square miles, and within the reasonable exercise of the police power from:

17.7 (1) regulating the standing or parking of vehicles;

17.8 (2) regulating traffic by means of police officers or traffic-control signals;

PAGE R17

REVISOR'S FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE



Omnibus Transportation Policy

Senate Language S1270-2

18.5 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

18.6 Subd. 2. Speed limits. (a) Where no special hazard exists the following speeds

18.7 shall be lawful, but any speeds in excess of such limits shall be prima facie evidence
18.8 that the speed is not reasonable or prudent and that it is unlawful; except that the speed
18.9 limit within any municipality shall be a maximum limit and any speed in excess thereof
18.10 shall be unlawful:

18.11 (1) 30 miles per hour in an urban district;

18.12 (2) 65 miles per hour on noninterstate expressways, as defined in section 160.02,
18.13 subdivision 18b, and noninterstate freeways, as defined in section 160.02, subdivision 19;

18.14 (3) 55 60 miles per hour in locations other than those specified in this section;

18.15 (4) 70 miles per hour on interstate highways outside the limits of any urbanized area
18.16 with a population of greater than 50,000 as defined by order of the commissioner of
18.17 transportation;

18.18 (5) 65 miles per hour on interstate highways inside the limits of any urbanized area
18.19 with a population of greater than 50,000 as defined by order of the commissioner of
18.20 transportation;
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17.9 (3) regulating or prohibiting processions or assemblages on the highways;

17.10 (4) designating particular highways as one-way roadways and requiring that all
17.11 vehicles, except emergency vehicles, when on an emergency run, thereon be moved in one
17.12 specific direction;

17.13 (5) designating any highway as a through highway and requiring that all vehicles stop
17.14 before entering or crossing the same, or designating any intersection as a stop intersection,
17.15 and requiring all vehicles to stop at one or more entrances to such intersections;

17.16 (6) restricting the use of highways as authorized in sections 169.80 to 169.88.

17.17 (b) No ordinance or regulation enacted under paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6),
17.18 shall be effective until signs giving notice of such local traffic regulations are posted
17.19 upon and kept posted upon or at the entrance to the highway or part thereof affected as
17.20 may be most appropriate.

17.28 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

17.29 Subd. 2. Speed limits. (a) Where no special hazard exists the following speeds

17.30 shall be lawful, but any speeds in excess of such limits shall be prima facie evidence
17.31 that the speed is not reasonable or prudent and that it is unlawful; except that the speed
17.32 limit within any municipality shall be a maximum limit and any speed in excess thereof
17.33 shall be unlawful:

17.34 (1) 30 miles per hour in an urban district;

18.1 (2) 65 miles per hour on noninterstate expressways, as defined in section 160.02,
18.2 subdivision 18b, and noninterstate freeways, as defined in section 160.02, subdivision 19;

18.3 (3) 55 60 miles per hour in locations other than those specified in this section;

18.4 (4) 70 miles per hour on interstate highways outside the limits of any urbanized area
18.5 with a population of greater than 50,000 as defined by order of the commissioner of
18.6 transportation;

18.7 (5) 65 miles per hour on interstate highways inside the limits of any urbanized area
18.8 with a population of greater than 50,000 as defined by order of the commissioner of
18.9 transportation;
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18.21 (6) ten miles per hour in alleys;

18.22 (7) 25 miles per hour in residential roadways if adopted by the road authority having
18.23 jurisdiction over the residential roadway; and

18.24 (8) 35 miles per hour in a rural residential district if adopted by the road authority
18.25 having jurisdiction over the rural residential district.

18.26 (b) A speed limit adopted under paragraph (a), clause (7), is not effective unless the
18.27 road authority has erected signs designating the speed limit and indicating the beginning
18.28 and end of the residential roadway on which the speed limit applies.

18.29 (¢) A speed limit adopted under paragraph (a), clause (8), is not effective unless the
18.30 road authority has erected signs designating the speed limit and indicating the beginning
18.31 and end of the rural residential district for the roadway on which the speed limit applies.

18.32 (d) Notwithstanding section 609.0331 or 609.101 or other law to the contrary,

18.33 a person who violates a speed limit established in this subdivision, or a speed limit

18.34 designated on an appropriate sign under subdivision 4, 5, 5b, 5c, or Se, by driving 20 miles
19.1 per hour or more in excess of the applicable speed limit, is assessed an additional surcharge
19.2 equal to the amount of the fine imposed for the speed violation, but not less than $25.

19.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon the placement of conforming

19.4 signs designating the speed specified in this section by the commissioner of transportation
19.5 on affected trunk highways and by local authorities on affected streets and highways under
19.6 their jurisdictions. The placement of conforming signs must occur during the ordinary

19.7 course of placement and replacement of signs, but must be completed before January

19.8 1, 2025.

19.9 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.18, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

19.10 Subd. 4. Passing on the right. The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass upon
19.11 the right of another vehicle only upon the following conditions:

19.12 (1) when the vehicle overtaken is making or about to make a left turn;

19.13 (2) upon a street or highway with unobstructed pavement not occupied by parked
19.14 vehicles of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving vehicles in each direction;

19.15 (3) upon a one-way street, or upon any roadway on which traffic is restricted to one
19.16 direction of movement, where the roadway is free from obstructions and of sufficient
19.17 width for two or more lines of moving vehicles;

19.18 (4) when the driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle upon the

19.19 right only under conditions permitting such movement in safety. In no event shall such
19.20 movement be made by driving in a bicycle lane or onto the shoulder, whether paved or
19.21 unpaved, or off the pavement or main-traveled portion of the roadway.
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18.10 (6) ten miles per hour in alleys;

18.11 (7) 25 miles per hour in residential roadways if adopted by the road authority having
18.12 jurisdiction over the residential roadway; and

18.13 (8) 35 miles per hour in a rural residential district if adopted by the road authority
18.14 having jurisdiction over the rural residential district.

18.15 (b) A speed limit adopted under paragraph (a), clause (7), is not effective unless the
18.16 road authority has erected signs designating the speed limit and indicating the beginning
18.17 and end of the residential roadway on which the speed limit applies.

18.18 (¢) A speed limit adopted under paragraph (a), clause (8), is not effective unless the
18.19 road authority has erected signs designating the speed limit and indicating the beginning
18.20 and end of the rural residential district for the roadway on which the speed limit applies.

18.21 (d) Notwithstanding section 609.0331 or 609.101 or other law to the contrary,

18.22 a person who violates a speed limit established in this subdivision, or a speed limit

18.23 designated on an appropriate sign under subdivision 4, 5, 5b, 5c, or Se, by driving 20 miles
18.24 per hour or more in excess of the applicable speed limit, is assessed an additional surcharge
18.25 equal to the amount of the fine imposed for the speed violation, but not less than $25.

18.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon the placement of conforming

18.27 signs designating the speed specified in this section by the commissioner of transportation
18.28 on affected trunk highways and by local authorities on affected streets and highways under
18.29 their jurisdictions. The placement of conforming signs must occur during the ordinary
18.30 course of placement and replacement of signs, but must be completed before January

18.31 1, 2025.

18.32 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.18, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

18.33 Subd. 4. Passing on the right. The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass upon
18.34 the right of another vehicle only upon the following conditions:

18.35 (1) when the vehicle overtaken is making or about to make a left turn;

19.1 (2) upon a street or highway with unobstructed pavement not occupied by parked
19.2 vehicles of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving vehicles in each direction;

19.3 (3) upon a one-way street, or upon any roadway on which traffic is restricted to one
19.4 direction of movement, where the roadway is free from obstructions and of sufficient
19.5 width for two or more lines of moving vehicles;

19.6 (4) when the driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle upon the

19.7 right only under conditions permitting such movement in safety. In no event shall such
19.8 movement be made by driving in a bicycle lane or onto the shoulder, whether paved or
19.9 unpaved, or off the pavement or main-traveled portion of the roadway.
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19.22 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.18, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

19.23 Subd. 7. Laned highway. When any roadway has been divided into two or more
19.24 clearly marked lanes for traffic, the following rules, in addition to all others consistent
19.25 herewith, shall apply:

19.26 (a) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane
19.27 and shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such
19.28 movement can be made with safety.

19.29 (b) Upon a roadway which is not a one-way roadway and which is divided into three
19.30 lanes, a vehicle shall not be driven in the center lane except when overtaking and passing
19.31 another vehicle where the roadway is clearly visible and such center lane is clear of traffic
19.32 within a safe distance, or in preparation for a left turn or where such center lane is at the
19.33 time allocated exclusively to traffic moving in the direction the vehicle is proceeding, and
20.1 is signposted to give notice of such allocation. The left lane of a three-lane roadway which
20.2 is not a one-way roadway shall not be used for overtaking and passing another vehicle.

20.3 (c) Official signs may be erected directing slow-moving traffic to use a designated
20.4 lane or allocating specified lanes to traffic moving in the same direction, and drivers of
20.5 vehicles shall obey the directions of every such sign.

20.6 (d) Whenever a bicycle lane has been established on a roadway, any person

20.7 operating a motor vehicle on such roadway shall not drive in the bicycle lane except to
20.8 perform parking maneuvers in order to park where parking is permitted, to enter or leave
20.9 the highway, or to prepare for a turn as provided in section 169.19, subdivision 1.

20.10 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

20.11 Subdivision 1. Turning at intersection. The driver of a vehicle intending to turn
20.12 at an intersection shall do so as follows:

20.13 (a) Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as
20.14 practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

20.15 (b) Approach for a left turn on other than one-way roadways shall be made in that

20.16 portion of the right half of the roadway nearest the centerline thereof, and after entering
20.17 the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection to the right of the
20.18 centerline of the roadway being entered. Whenever practicable the left turn shall be made
20.19 in that portion of the intersection to the left of the center of the intersection.

20.20 (c) Approach for a left turn from a two-way roadway into a one-way roadway shall
20.21 be made in that portion of the right half of the roadway nearest the centerline thereof and
20.22 by passing to the right of such centerline where it enters the intersection.

20.23 (d) A left turn from a one-way roadway into a two-way roadway shall be made
20.24 from the left-hand lane and by passing to the right of the centerline of the roadway being
20.25 entered upon leaving the intersection.
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19.10 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.18, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

19.11 Subd. 7. Laned highway. When any roadway has been divided into two or more
19.12 clearly marked lanes for traffic, the following rules, in addition to all others consistent
19.13 herewith, shall apply:

19.14 (a) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane
19.15 and shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such
19.16 movement can be made with safety.

19.17 (b) Upon a roadway which is not a one-way roadway and which is divided into three

19.18 lanes, a vehicle shall not be driven in the center lane except when overtaking and passing
19.19 another vehicle where the roadway is clearly visible and such center lane is clear of traffic
19.20 within a safe distance, or in preparation for a left turn or where such center lane is at the
19.21 time allocated exclusively to traffic moving in the direction the vehicle is proceeding, and
19.22 is signposted to give notice of such allocation. The left lane of a three-lane roadway which
19.23 is not a one-way roadway shall not be used for overtaking and passing another vehicle.

19.24 (c) Official signs may be erected directing slow-moving traffic to use a designated
19.25 lane or allocating specified lanes to traffic moving in the same direction, and drivers of
19.26 vehicles shall obey the directions of every such sign.

19.27 (d) Whenever a bicycle lane has been established on a roadway, any person

19.28 operating a motor vehicle on such roadway shall not drive in the bicycle lane except to
19.29 perform parking maneuvers in order to park where parking is permitted, to enter or leave
19.30 the highway, or to prepare for a turn as provided in section 169.19, subdivision 1.

19.31 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

19.32 Subdivision 1. Turning at intersection. The driver of a vehicle intending to turn
19.33 at an intersection shall do so as follows:

20.1 (a) Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as
20.2 practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

20.3 (b) Approach for a left turn on other than one-way roadways shall be made in that

20.4 portion of the right half of the roadway nearest the centerline thereof, and after entering
20.5 the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to leave the intersection to the right of the
20.6 centerline of the roadway being entered. Whenever practicable the left turn shall be made
20.7 in that portion of the intersection to the left of the center of the intersection.

20.8 (c¢) Approach for a left turn from a two-way roadway into a one-way roadway shall
20.9 be made in that portion of the right half of the roadway nearest the centerline thereof and
20.10 by passing to the right of such centerline where it enters the intersection.

20.11 (d) A left turn from a one-way roadway into a two-way roadway shall be made
20.12 from the left-hand lane and by passing to the right of the centerline of the roadway being
20.13 entered upon leaving the intersection.
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20.26 (e) Where both streets or roadways are one way, both the approach for a left turn and
20.27 a left turn shall be made as close as practicable to the left-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

20.28 (f) Local authorities in their respective jurisdictions may cause markers, buttons, or

20.29 signs to be placed within or adjacent to intersections and thereby require and direct that a
20.30 different course from that specified in this section be traveled by vehicles turning at an
20.31 intersection, and when markers, buttons, or signs are so placed no driver of a vehicle shall
20.32 turn a vehicle at an intersection other than as directed and required by such markers,

20.33 buttons, or signs.

20.34 (g) Whenever it is necessary for the driver of a motor vehicle to cross a bicycle

20.35 lane adjacent to the driver's lane of travel to make a turn, the driver shall first signal the
21.1 movement, then drive the motor vehicle into the bicycle lane prior to making the turn,
21.2 and-shall-make-the-turn; but only after it is safe to do so. The driver shall then make the
21.3 turn consistent with any traffic markers, buttons, or signs, yielding the right-of-way to any
21.4 vehicles or bicycles approaching so close thereto as to constitute an immediate hazard.
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20.14 (e) Where both streets or roadways are one way, both the approach for a left turn and
20.15 a left turn shall be made as close as practicable to the left-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

20.16 (f) Local authorities in their respective jurisdictions may cause markers, buttons, or

20.17 signs to be placed within or adjacent to intersections and thereby require and direct that a
20.18 different course from that specified in this section be traveled by vehicles turning at an
20.19 intersection, and when markers, buttons, or signs are so placed no driver of a vehicle shall
20.20 turn a vehicle at an intersection other than as directed and required by such markers,

20.21 buttons, or signs.

20.22 (g) Whenever it is necessary for the driver of a motor vehicle to cross a bicycle lane
20.23 ad]acent to the drlver s lane of travel to make a turn, the driver shall dﬁve%heﬁetef

20.26 ha%&fek ﬁrst 51gnal the movement and then yleld the rlght of -way to any approachlng
20.27 bicycles before crossing the bicycle lane. The driver shall cross the bicycle lane in the
20.28 manner indicated by any associated pavement markings and signs.

20.29 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.222, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

20.30 Subd. 2. Manner and number riding. No bicycle, including a tandem bicycle,
20.31 cargo or utility bicycle, or trailer, shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the

20.32 number for Wthh it is de51gned and equlpped except H&ﬂﬂ%babysea%&ﬁaehed%eﬁe

21 1 whee%e%&)awse&%a&aehed&&ﬂ&eﬁeye}&epef&mf an adult rider may carry a ch11d ina

21.2 seat designed for carrying children that is securely attached to the bicycle.

21.3 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.222, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

21.4 Subd. 4. Riding rules. (a) Every person operating a bicycle upon a roadway shall
21.5 ride as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway except under
21.6 any of the following situations:

21.7 (1) when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction;
21.8 (2) when preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway;

21.9 (3) when reasonably necessary to avoid conditions, including fixed or moving
21.10 objects, vehicles, pedestrians, animals, surface hazards, or narrow width lanes, that make
21.11 it unsafe to continue along the right-hand curb or edge:; or

21.12 (4) when operating on the shoulder of a roadway or in a bicycle lane.

21.13 (b) If a bicycle is traveling on a shoulder of a roadway, the bicycle shall travel in the
21.14 same direction as adjacent vehicular traffic.
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21.15 (c) Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway or shoulder shall not ride more than two
21.16 abreast and shall not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic and, on a
21.17 laned roadway, shall ride within a single lane.

21.18 (d) A person operating a bicycle upon a sidewalk, or across a roadway or shoulder

21.19 on a crosswalk, shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian and shall give an audible
21.20 signal when necessary before overtaking and passing any pedestrian. No person shall ride
21.21 a bicycle upon a sidewalk within a business district unless permitted by local authorities.
21.22 Local authorities may prohibit the operation of bicycles on any sidewalk or crosswalk
21.23 under their jurisdiction.

21.24 (e) An individual operating a bicycle or other vehicle on a bikeway shall leave a safe
21.25 distance when overtaking a bicycle or individual proceeding in the same direction on the
21.26 bikeway, and shall maintain clearance until safely past the overtaken bicycle or individual.

21.27 (f) A person lawfully operating a bicycle on a sidewalk, or across a roadway or
21.28 shoulder on a crosswalk, shall have all the rights and duties applicable to a pedestrian
21.29 under the same circumstances.

21.30 (g) A person may operate an electric-assisted bicycle on the shoulder of a roadway,

21.31 on a bikeway, or on a bicycle trail if not otherwise prohibited under section 85.015,

21.32 subdivision 1d; 85.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (d); or 160.263, subdivision 2, paragraph
21.33 (b), as applicable.

21.34 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.222, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

22.1 Subd. 6. Bicycle equipment. (a) No person shall operate a bicycle at nighttime

22.2 unless the bicycle or its operator is equipped with (1) a lamp which emits a white light
22.3 visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front; and (2) a red reflector of a type
22.4 approved by the Department of Public Safety which is visible from all distances from 100
22.5 feet to 600 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of headlamps on a
22.6 motor vehicle. A bicycle equipped with lamps that are visible from a distance of at least
22.7 500 feet from both the front and the rear is deemed to fully comply with this paragraph.

22.8 (b) No person may operate a bicycle at any time when there is not sufficient light to

22.9 render persons and vehicles on the highway clearly discernible at a distance of 500 feet
22.10 ahead unless the bicycle or its operator is equipped with reflective surfaces that shall be
22.11 visible during the hours of darkness from 600 feet when viewed in front of lawful lower
22.12 beams of headlamps on a motor vehicle. The reflective surfaces shall include reflective
22.13 materials on each side of each pedal to indicate their presence from the front or the rear and
22.14 with a minimum of 20 square inches of reflective material on each side of the bicycle or its
22.15 operator. Any bicycle equipped with side reflectors as required by regulations for new
22.16 bicycles prescribed by the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission shall be
22.17 considered to meet the requirements for side reflectorization contained in this subdivision.

22.18 (c) A bicycle may be equipped with a front lamp that emits a white flashing signal,
22.19 or a rear lamp that emits a red flashing signal, or both.
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21.5 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.34, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

21.6 Subdivision 1. Prohibitions. (a) No person shall stop, stand, or park a vehicle,
21.7 except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic or in compliance with the
21.8 directions of a police officer or traffic-control device, in any of the following places:

21.9 (1) on a sidewalk;

21.10 (2) in front of a public or private driveway;

21.11 (3) within an intersection;

21.12 (4) within ten feet of a fire hydrant;

21.13 (5) on a crosswalk;

21.14 (6) within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection;

21.15 (7) within 30 feet upon the approach to any flashing beacon, stop sign, or
21.16 traffic-control signal located at the side of a roadway;

21.17 (8) between a safety zone and the adjacent curb or within 30 feet of points on the
21.18 curb immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone, unless a different length is indicated
21.19 by signs or markings;

21.20 (9) within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing;

21.21 (10) within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station and on the side of
21.22 a street opposite the entrance to any fire station within 75 feet of said entrance when
21.23 properly signposted;
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22.20 (d) A bicycle may be equipped with tires having studs, spikes, or other protuberances
22.21 designed to increase traction.

22.22 (e) No person shall operate a bicycle unless it is equipped with a rear brake or

22.23 front and rear brakes which will enable the operator to make the a braked wheels wheel
22.24 skid on dry, level, clean pavement. A bicycle equipped with a direct or fixed gear that
22.25 can make the rear wheel skid on dry, level, clean pavement shall be deemed to fully
22.26 comply with this paragraph.

22.27 (f) A bicycle may be equipped with a horn or bell designed to alert motor vehicles,
22.28 other bicycles, and pedestrians of the bicycle's presence.

22.29 (H (g) No person shall operate upon a highway any two-wheeled bicycle equipped
22.30 with handlebars so raised that the operator must elevate the hands above the level of the
22.31 shoulders in order to grasp the normal steering grip area.

22.32 {g) (h) No person shall operate upon a highway any bicycle which is of such a size
22.33 as to prevent the operator from stopping the bicycle, supporting it with at least one foot
22.34 on the highway surface and restarting in a safe manner.

22.35 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.34, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

23.1 Subdivision 1. Prohibitions. (a) No person shall stop, stand, or park a vehicle,
23.2 except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic or in compliance with the
23.3 directions of a police officer or traffic-control device, in any of the following places:

23.4 (1) on a sidewalk;

23.5 (2) in front of a public or private driveway;

23.6 (3) within an intersection;

23.7 (4) within ten feet of a fire hydrant;

23.8 (5) on a crosswalk;

23.9 (6) within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection;

23.10 (7) within 30 feet upon the approach to any flashing beacon, stop sign, or
23.11 traffic-control signal located at the side of a roadway;

23.12 (8) between a safety zone and the adjacent curb or within 30 feet of points on the
23.13 curb immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone, unless a different length is indicated
23.14 by signs or markings;

23.15 (9) within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing;

23.16 (10) within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station and on the side of
23.17 a street opposite the entrance to any fire station within 75 feet of said entrance when
23.18 properly signposted;
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21.24 (11) alongside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction when such stopping,
21.25 standing, or parking would obstruct traffic;

21.26 (12) on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb of a
21.27 street;

21.28 (13) upon any bridge or other elevated structure upon a highway or within a highway
21.29 tunnel, except as otherwise provided by ordinance;

21.30 (14) within a designated bicycle lane, except when posted signs permit parking; or

21.31 (14) (15) at any place where official signs prohibit stopping.

21.32 (b) No person shall move a vehicle not owned by such person into any prohibited
21.33 area or away from a curb such distance as is unlawful.

22.1 (c) No person shall, for camping purposes, leave or park a travel trailer on or within
22.2 the limits of any highway or on any highway right-of-way, except where signs are erected
22.3 designating the place as a campsite.

22.4 (d) No person shall stop or park a vehicle on a street or highway when directed or
22.5 ordered to proceed by any peace officer invested by law with authority to direct, control,
22.6 or regulate traffic.

22.7 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.346, is amended by adding a subdivision
22.8 to read:

22.9 Subd. 1a. Disability parking when designated spaces occupied or unavailable.

22.10 In the event the designated disability parking spaces are either occupied or unavailable,
22.11 a vehicle bearing a valid disability parking certificate issued under section 169.345 or
22.12 license plates for physically disabled persons under section 168.021 may park at an angle
22.13 and occupy two standard parking spaces.

22.14 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.346, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

22.15 Subd. 2. Disability parking space signs. (a) Parking spaces reserved for physically

22.16 disabled persons must be designated and identified by the posting of signs incorporating
22.17 the international symbol of access in white on blue and indicating that violators are subject
22.18 to a fine of up to $200. These parking spaces are reserved for disabled persons with motor
22.19 vehicles displaying the required certificate, plates, permit valid for 30 days, or insignia.

22.20 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, a parking space that is clearly identified as

22.21 reserved for physically disabled persons by a permanently posted sign that does not

22.22 meet all design standards, is considered designated and reserved for physically disabled
22.23 persons. A sign posted for the purpose of this section must be visible from inside a motor
22.24 vehicle parked in the space, be kept clear of snow or other obstructions which block its

22.25 visibility, and be nonmovable er-only-movable-by-autherized persons.
22.26 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.443, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
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23.19 (11) alongside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction when such stopping,
23.20 standing, or parking would obstruct traffic;

23.21 (12) on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb of a
23.22 street;

23.23 (13) upon any bridge or other elevated structure upon a highway or within a highway
23.24 tunnel, except as otherwise provided by ordinance;

23.25 (14) within a bicycle lane, except when posted signs permit parking; or

23.26 (14) (15) at any place where official signs prohibit stopping.

23.27 (b) No person shall move a vehicle not owned by such person into any prohibited
23.28 area or away from a curb such distance as is unlawful.

23.29 (c¢) No person shall, for camping purposes, leave or park a travel trailer on or within
23.30 the limits of any highway or on any highway right-of-way, except where signs are erected
23.31 designating the place as a campsite.

23.32 (d) No person shall stop or park a vehicle on a street or highway when directed or
23.33 ordered to proceed by any peace officer invested by law with authority to direct, control,
23.34 or regulate traffic.

24.1 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.346, is amended by adding a subdivision
24.2 to read:

24.3 Subd. la. Disability parking when designated spaces occupied or unavailable.

24.4 In the event the designated disability parking spaces are either occupied or unavailable,
24.5 a vehicle bearing a valid disability parking certificate issued under section 169.345 or
24.6 license plates for physically disabled persons under section 168.021 may park at an angle
24.7 and occupy two standard parking spaces.

24.8 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.346, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

24.9 Subd. 2. Disability parking space signs. (a) Parking spaces reserved for physically

24.10 disabled persons must be designated and identified by the posting of signs incorporating
24.11 the international symbol of access in white on blue and indicating that violators are subject
24.12 to a fine of up to $200. These parking spaces are reserved for disabled persons with motor
24.13 vehicles displaying the required certificate, plates, permit valid for 30 days, or insignia.

24.14 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, a parking space that is clearly identified as

24.15 reserved for physically disabled persons by a permanently posted sign that does not

24.16 meet all design standards, is considered designated and reserved for physically disabled
24.17 persons. A sign posted for the purpose of this section must be visible from inside a motor
24.18 vehicle parked in the space, be kept clear of snow or other obstructions which block its

24.19 visibility, and be nonmovable or-only-movable-by-authorized-persons.

24.20 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.443, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
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22.27 Subd. 9. Personal cellular phone call prohibition. (a) As used in this subdivision,
22.28 "school bus" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 71. In addition, the
22.29 term includes type III vehicles as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 71, when driven
22.30 by employees or agents of school districts.

22.31 (b) A school bus driver may not operate a school bus while communicating over, or
22.32 otherwise operating, a cellular phone for personal reasons, whether handheld or hands
22.33 free, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.

23.1 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.447, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

23.2 Subd. 2. Driver seat belt. School buses and Head Start buses must be equipped

23.3 with driver seat belts and seat belt assemblies of the type described in section 169.685,
23.4 subdivision 3. Scheelbus-drivers-and-Head Start-bus-driversmustuse-theseseatbelts: A
23.5 properly adjusted and fastened seat belt, including both the shoulder and lap belt when the
23.6 vehicle is so equipped, shall be worn by the driver.

23.7 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.454, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

23.8 Subd. 12. Option. Passenger-cars-and-station-wagons Type III vehicles may carry
23.9 fire extinguisher, first aid kit, and warning triangles in the trunk or trunk area of the vehicle,

23.10 if a label in the driver and front passenger area clearly indicates the location of these items.
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24.21 Subd. 9. Personal cellular phone call prohibition. (a) As used in this subdivision,
24.22 "school bus" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 71. In addition, the
24.23 term includes type III vehicles as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 71, when driven
24.24 by employees or agents of school districts.

24.25 (b) A school bus driver may not operate a school bus while communicating over, or
24.26 otherwise operating, a cellular phone for personal reasons, whether handheld or hands
24.27 free, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.

24.28 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.447, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

24.29 Subd. 2. Driver seat belt. School buses and Head Start buses must be equipped

24.30 with driver seat belts and seat belt assemblies of the type described in section 169.685,
2431 subdivision 3. Scheel-bus-drivers-andHead Start-bus-drivers-mustuse-theseseatbelts: A
24.32 properly adjusted and fastened seat belt, including both the shoulder and lap belt when the
24.33 vehicle is so equipped, shall be worn by the driver.

25.1 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.454, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

25.2 Subd. 12. Option. Passenger-catrs-and-station-wagons Type III vehicles may carry
25.3 fire extinguisher, first aid kit, and warning triangles in the trunk or trunk area of the vehicle,

25.4 if a label in the driver and front passenger area clearly indicates the location of these items.

25.5 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.68, is amended to read:
25.6 169.68 HORN, SIREN.

25.7 (a) Every motor vehicle when operated upon a highway must be equipped with

25.8 a horn in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal

25.9 conditions from a distance of not less than 200 feet. However, the horn or other warning
25.10 device must not emit an unreasonably loud or harsh sound or a whistle. The driver of a
25.11 motor vehicle shall, when reasonably necessary to insure safe operation, give audible
25.12 warning with the horn, but shall not otherwise use the horn when upon a highway.

25.13 (b) A vehicle must not be equipped with, and a person shall not use upon a vehicle,
25.14 any siren, whistle, or bell, except as otherwise permitted in this section.

25.15 (c) It is permissible, but not required, for any commercial vehicle to be equipped
25.16 with a theft alarm signal device, so arranged that it cannot be used by the driver as an
25.17 ordinary warning signal.

25.18 (d) All authorized emergency vehicles must be equipped with a siren capable of

25.19 emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 500 feet
25.20 and of a type conforming to the federal certification standards for sirens, as determined by
25.21 the General Services Administration. However, the siren must not be used except when the
25.22 vehicle is operated in response to an emergency call or in the immediate pursuit of an actual
25.23 or suspected violator of the law, in which latter events the driver of the vehicle shall sound
25.24 the siren when necessary to warn pedestrians and other drivers of the vehicle's approach.
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23.11 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

23.12 Subd. 2. Gross vehicle weight of all axles; credit for idle reduction technology.
23.13 (a) The gross vehicle weight of all axles of a vehicle or combination of vehicles must
23.14 not exceed:

23.15 (1) 80,000 pounds for any vehicle or combination of vehicles on all streets and
23.16 highways, unless posted at a lower axle weight under section 169.87, subdivision 1; and

23.17 (2) 88,000 pounds for any vehicle or combination of vehicles with six or more

23.18 axles while exclusively engaged in hauling livestock on all state trunk highways other
23.19 than interstate highways, if the vehicle has a permit under section 169.86, subdivision 5,
23.20 paragraph (j).

23.21 (b) Notwithstanding the maximum weight provisions of this section, and in order to

23.22 promote the reduction of fuel use and emissions, the maximum gross vehicle weight limits
23.23 and the axle weight limits for any motor vehicle subject to sections 169.80 to 169.88 and
23.24 equipped with idle reduction technology or emissions-reduction technology must be

23.25 increased by the amount of weight necessary to compensate for the weight of the idle
23.26 reduction technology or emissions-reduction technology, not to exceed 400 550 pounds.
23.27 At the request of an authorized representative of the Department of Transportation or the
23.28 Department of Public Safety, the vehicle operator shall provide proof that the vehicle is
23.29 equipped with this technology through documentation or demonstration.

23.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

23.31 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.01, subdivision 49b, is amended to read:

23.32 Subd. 49b. Valid medical examiner's certificate. (a) "Valid medical examiner's
23.33 certificate”" means a record, on a form prescribed by the department:

24.1 (1) of a medical examiner's examination of a person who holds or is applying for a
24.2 class A, class B, or class C commercial driver's license;

24.3 (2) upon which the medical examiner attests that the applicant or license holder is
24.4 physically qualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle; and

24.5 (3) that is not expired.

24.6 (b) A valid medical examiner's certificate must be issued by a medical examiner
24.7 who is certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Administration and listed on the National
24.8 Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.
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25.25 (e) It is permissible, but not required, for a bicycle to be equipped with a horn or bell
25.26 designed to alert motor vehicles, other bicycles, and pedestrians of the bicycle's presence.

25.27 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 169.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

25.28 Subd. 2. Gross vehicle weight of all axles; credit for idle reduction technology.
25.29 (a) The gross vehicle weight of all axles of a vehicle or combination of vehicles must
25.30 not exceed:

25.31 (1) 80,000 pounds for any vehicle or combination of vehicles on all streets and
25.32 highways, unless posted at a lower axle weight under section 169.87, subdivision 1; and

25.33 (2) 88,000 pounds for any vehicle or combination of vehicles with six or more

25.34 axles while exclusively engaged in hauling livestock on all state trunk highways other
26.1 than interstate highways, if the vehicle has a permit under section 169.86, subdivision 5,
26.2 paragraph (j).

26.3 (b) Notwithstanding the maximum weight provisions of this section, and in order to

26.4 promote the reduction of fuel use and emissions, the maximum gross vehicle weight limits
26.5 and the axle weight limits for any motor vehicle subject to sections 169.80 to 169.88 and
26.6 equipped with idle reduction technology or emissions-reduction technology must be

26.7 increased by the amount of weight necessary to compensate for the weight of the idle

26.8 reduction technology or emissions-reduction technology, not to exceed 400 550 pounds.
26.9 At the request of an authorized representative of the Department of Transportation or the
26.10 Department of Public Safety, the vehicle operator shall provide proof that the vehicle is
26.11 equipped with this technology through documentation or demonstration.

26.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

26.13 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.01, subdivision 49b, is amended to read:

26.14 Subd. 49b. Valid medical examiner's certificate. (a) "Valid medical examiner's
26.15 certificate" means a record, on a form prescribed by the department:

26.16 (1) of a medical examiner's examination of a person who holds or is applying for a
26.17 class A, class B, or class C commercial driver's license;

26.18 (2) upon which the medical examiner attests that the applicant or license holder is
26.19 physically qualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle; and

26.20 (3) that is not expired.

26.21 (b) A valid medical examiner's certificate must be issued by a medical examiner
26.22 who is certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Administration and listed on the National
26.23 Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.
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24.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. The section is effective May 1, 2014.

24.10 Sec. 39. [171.017] BACKGROUND INVESTIGATIONS; DEPARTMENT
24.11 EMPLOYEES.

24.12 Subdivision 1. Background checks authorized. The commissioner shall
24.13 investigate the criminal history background of any current or prospective employees of the
24.14 department being considered for any position with the department that has or will have:

24.15 (1) the ability to create or modify records of applicants for enhanced drivers' licenses
24.16 under section 171.01, subdivision 31a, or enhanced identification cards under section
24.17 171.01, subdivision 31b;

24.18 (2) the ability to issue enhanced drivers' licenses under section 171.01, subdivision
24.19 31a, or enhanced identification cards under section 171.01, subdivision 31b; or

24.20 (3) the ability to administer knowledge or skills tests under section 171.13 to an
24.21 applicant for a commercial driver's license.

24.22 Subd. 2. Procedure. (a) The commissioner must request a criminal history

24.23 background check from the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension on all
24.24 individuals specified in subdivision 1. A request under this section must be accompanied
24.25 by an executed criminal history consent form, including fingerprints, signed by the current
24.26 or prospective employee being investigated.

24.27 (b) After receiving a request under paragraph (a), the superintendent of the Bureau

24.28 of Criminal Apprehension shall perform the background check required under subdivision
24.29 1. The superintendent shall retrieve criminal history data as defined in section 13.87,
24.30 conduct a search of the national criminal records repository, and provide wants and

24.31 warrant information from federal and state repositories. The superintendent is authorized
24.32 to exchange fingerprints with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for purposes of the
24.33 criminal history check. The superintendent shall return the results of the background
24.34 checks to the commissioner to determine whether:

25.1 (1) the employee or applicant for employment specified in subdivision 1, clause (1)
25.2 or (2), has committed a disqualifying crime under Code of Federal Regulations, title
25.3 49, section 1572.103; or

25.4 (2) the employee or applicant for employment specified in subdivision 1, clause (3),
25.5 has a conviction of the type specified by Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section

25.6 384.228(j).

25.7 (c) The superintendent shall recover the cost to the bureau of a background check
25.8 through a fee charged to the commissioner.
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26.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. The section is effective May 1, 2014.
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25.9 Subd. 3. Notification by other criminal justice agencies. Criminal justice

25.10 agencies, as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 3a, shall provide the commissioner
25.11 with information they possess and that the commissioner requires for the purposes of
25.12 determining the employment suitability of current or prospective employees subject to
25.13 this section.

25.14 Subd. 4. Annual background checks in certain instances. Consistent with Code
25.15 of Federal Regulations, title 49, section 384.228, the commissioner shall request and the
25.16 superintendent shall conduct annual background checks for the department employees
25.17 specified in subdivision 1, clause (3). Annual background checks under this subdivision
25.18 shall be performed in a manner consistent with subdivisions 2 and 3.

25.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

25.20 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.07, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

25.21 Subd. 3a. Identification cards for seniors. A Minnesota identification card issued

25.22 to an applicant 65 years of age or over shall be of a distinguishing color and plainly

25.23 marked "senior." The fee for the card issued to an applicant 65 years of age or over shall
25.24 be one-half the required fee for a class D driver's license rounded down to the nearest
25.25 quarter dollar. A Minnesota identification card or a Minnesota driver's license issued to a
25.26 person 65 years of age or over shall be valid identification for the purpose of qualifying
25.27 for reduced rates, free licenses or services provided by any board, commission, agency or
25.28 institution that is wholly or partially funded by state appropriations. This subdivision does
25.29 not apply to an enhanced identification card issued to an applicant age 65 or older.

25.30 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

25.31 Subd. 4. Expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the
25.32 expiration date of Minnesota identification cards of applicants under the age of 65 shall be
25.33 the birthday of the applicant in the fourth year following the date of issuance of the card.

26.1 (b) A Minnesota identification eards card issued to applieants an applicant age 65 or

26.2 over older shall be valid for the lifetime of the applicant, except that for the purposes of
26.3 this paragraph, "Minnesota identification card" does not include an enhanced identification
26.4 card issued to an applicant age 65 or older.

26.5 (c) The expiration date for an Under-21 identification card is the cardholder's 21st

26.6 birthday. The commissioner shall issue an identification card to a holder of an Under-21
26.7 identification card who applies for the card, pays the required fee, and presents proof of
26.8 identity and age, unless the commissioner determines that the applicant is not qualified
26.9 for the identification card.

26.10 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.12, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
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26.25 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.07, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

26.26 Subd. 3a. Identification cards for seniors. A Minnesota identification card issued

26.27 to an applicant 65 years of age or over shall be of a distinguishing color and plainly

26.28 marked "senior." The fee for the card issued to an applicant 65 years of age or over shall
26.29 be one-half the required fee for a class D driver's license rounded down to the nearest
26.30 quarter dollar. A Minnesota identification card or a Minnesota driver's license issued to a
26.31 person 65 years of age or over shall be valid identification for the purpose of qualifying
26.32 for reduced rates, free licenses or services provided by any board, commission, agency or
27.1 institution that is wholly or partially funded by state appropriations. This subdivision does
27.2 not apply to an enhanced identification card issued to an applicant age 65 or older.

27.3 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

27.4 Subd. 4. Expiration. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the
27.5 expiration date of Minnesota identification cards of applicants under the age of 65 shall be
27.6 the birthday of the applicant in the fourth year following the date of issuance of the card.

27.7 (b) A Minnesota identification eards card issued to applieants an applicant age 65 or

27.8 ever older shall be valid for the lifetime of the applicant, except that for the purposes of
27.9 this paragraph, "Minnesota identification card" does not include an enhanced identification
27.10 card issued to an applicant age 65 or older.

27.11 (c) The expiration date for an Under-21 identification card is the cardholder's 21st

27.12 birthday. The commissioner shall issue an identification card to a holder of an Under-21
27.13 identification card who applies for the card, pays the required fee, and presents proof of
27.14 identity and age, unless the commissioner determines that the applicant is not qualified
27.15 for the identification card.

27.16 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 171.12, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
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26.11 Subd. 6. Certain convictions not recorded. (a) Except as provided in paragraph

26.12 (c), the department shall not keep on the record of a driver any conviction for a violation
26.13 of a speed limit of 55 miles per hour unless the violation consisted of a speed greater than
26.14 ten miles per hour in excess of the speed limit.

26.15 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the department shall not keep on the record
26.16 of a driver any conviction for a violation of a speed limit of 60 miles per hour unless the
26.17 violation consisted of a speed greater than:

26.18 (1) ten miles per hour in excess of the speed limit, for any violation occurring on or
26.19 after August 1, 2012, and before August 1, 2014; or

26.20 (2) five miles per hour in excess of the speed limit, for any violation occurring on
26.21 or after August 1, 2014.

26.22 (c) This subdivision does not apply to (1) a violation that occurs in a commercial

26.23 motor vehicle, or (2) a violation committed by a holder of a class A, B, or C commercial
26.24 driver's license, without regard to whether the violation was committed in a commercial
26.25 motor vehicle or another vehicle.

26.26 (d) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the department shall not keep on the record
26.27 of a driver any conviction for a violation of a speed limit on marked Interstate 35E in the
26.28 city of St. Paul, from its intersection with West Seventh Street to its intersection with
26.29 marked Interstate Highway 94, unless the violation consists of a speed greater than ten
26.30 miles per hour in excess of the speed limit.

26.31 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
26.32 to read:

26.33 Subd. 2a. Transportation ombudsperson. (a) The commissioner shall appoint a

26.34 person to the position of transportation ombudsperson. The transportation ombudsperson
27.1 reports directly to the commissioner. The ombudsperson must be selected without regard to
27.2 political affiliation and must be qualified to perform the duties specified in this subdivision.

27.3 (b) Powers and duties of the transportation ombudsperson include, but are not
27.4 limited to:

27.5 (1) providing a neutral, independent resource for dispute and issue resolution between
27.6 the department and the general public where another mechanism or forum is not available;

27.7 (2) gathering information about decisions, acts, and other matters of the department;

27.8 (3) providing information to the general public;

27.9 (4) facilitating discussions or arranging mediation when appropriate; and

27.10 (5) maintaining and monitoring performance measures for the ombudsperson
27.11 program.
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27.17 Subd. 6. Certain convictions not recorded. (a) Except as provided in paragraph

27.18 (c), the department shall not keep on the record of a driver any conviction for a violation
27.19 of a speed limit of 55 miles per hour unless the violation consisted of a speed greater than
27.20 ten miles per hour in excess of the speed limit.

27.21 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the department shall not keep on the record
27.22 of a driver any conviction for a violation of a speed limit of 60 miles per hour unless the
27.23 violation consisted of a speed greater than:

27.24 (1) ten miles per hour in excess of the speed limit, for any violation occurring on or
27.25 after August 1, 2012, and before August 1, 2014 2015; or

27.26 (2) five miles per hour in excess of the speed limit, for any violation occurring
27.27 on or after August 1, 2644 2015.

27.28 (c¢) This subdivision does not apply to (1) a violation that occurs in a commercial

27.29 motor vehicle, or (2) a violation committed by a holder of a class A, B, or C commercial
27.30 driver's license, without regard to whether the violation was committed in a commercial
27.31 motor vehicle or another vehicle.

27.32 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
27.33 to read:

28.1 Subd. 2a. Transportation ombudsperson. (a) The commissioner shall appoint a

28.2 person to the position of transportation ombudsperson. The transportation ombudsperson
28.3 reports directly to the commissioner. The ombudsperson must be selected without regard to
28.4 political affiliation and must be qualified to perform the duties specified in this subdivision.

28.5 (b) Powers and duties of the transportation ombudsperson include, but are not
28.6 limited to:

28.7 (1) providing a neutral, independent resource for dispute and issue resolution between
28.8 the department and the general public where another mechanism or forum is not available;

28.9 (2) gathering information about decisions, acts, and other matters of the department;

28.10 (3) providing information to the general public;

28.11 (4) facilitating discussions or arranging mediation when appropriate; and

28.12 (5) maintaining and monitoring performance measures for the ombudsperson
28.13 program.
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27.12 (c) The transportation ombudsperson may not hold another formal position within 28.14 (c) The transportation ombudsperson may not hold another formal position within
27.13 the department. The transportation ombudsperson may not impose a complaint fee. 28.15 the department. The transportation ombudsperson may not impose a complaint fee.

27.14 (d) Amounts that may be spent to pay the costs of the transportation ombudsperson
27.15 program must be specifically appropriated by law and may not be transferred from any
27.16 other appropriation. Any excess appropriation cancels at the end of the year to the fund
27.17 from which it was appropriated.

28.16 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.03, subdivision 1d, is amended to read:

28.17 Subd. 1d. Freight rail economic development study. (a) The commissioner of

28.18 transportation, in cooperation with the commissioner of the Department of Employment
28.19 and Economic Development, shall conduct a freight rail economic development study.
28.20 The study will assess the economic impact of freight railroads in the state and identify
28.21 opportunities to expand business development and enhance economic competitiveness
28.22 through improved utilization of freight rail options. Findings from the study shall be
28.23 incorporated as an amendment to the statewide freight and passenger rail plan.

28.24 (b) The commissioner of transportation shall provide an interim progress report on

28.25 the study by January 15, 2013, and a final report on September+ November 15, 2013, to
28.26 the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
28.27 over transportation policy and finance and over employment and economic development.
28.28 The reports shall include any recommended legislative initiatives.

28.29 (¢) The commissioner of transportation may expend up to $216,000 in fiscal year
28.30 2013 under section 222.50, subdivision 7, to pay the costs of this study and report.

28.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

28.32 Sec. 46. [174.187] MADE IN MINNESOTA SOLAR INSTALLATIONS.

28.33 Subdivision 1. Definition. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms
28.34 have the meanings given.

29.1 (b) "Made in Minnesota" means the manufacture in this state of solar photovoltaic
29.2 modules:

29.3 (1) at a manufacturing facility located in Minnesota that is registered and authorized

29.4 to manufacture and apply the UL 1703 certification mark to solar photovoltaic modules by
29.5 Underwriters Laboratory (UL), CSA International, Intertek, or an equivalent UL-approved
29.6 independent certification agency;

29.7 (2) that bear UL 1703 certification marks from UL, CSA International, Intertek, or
29.8 an equivalent UL-approved independent certification agency, which must be physically
29.9 applied to the modules at a manufacturing facility described in clause (1); and
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27.18 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.24, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

27.19 Subd. 5a. Method of payment, noneperating assistance. Payments for planning

27.20 and engineering design, eligible capital assistance, operating assistance, and other eligible
27.21 assistance for public transit services furthering the purposes of section 174.2 1;-exeluding
27.22 eperating-assistanee; shall be made in an appropriate manner as determined by the

27.23 commissioner, except that payments for operating assistance shall be made quarterly.
27.24 The first quarterly payment for operating assistance shall be made no later than the last
27.25 business day of the first month of the contract.

27.26 Sec. 45. [174.45] PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIPS INVOLVING PUBLIC
27.27 INFRASTRUCTURE INVESTMENTS; JOINT PROGRAM OFFICE.
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29.10 (3) that are manufactured in Minnesota:

29.11 (i) via manufacturing processes that must include tabbing, stringing, and lamination;
29.12 or

29.13 (ii) by interconnecting low-voltage direct current photovoltaic elements that produce
29.14 the final useful photovoltaic output of the modules.

29.15 (c) "Solar photovoltaic module" has the meaning given in section 116C.7791,
29.16 subdivision 1, paragraph (e).

29.17 Subd. 2. Made in Minnesota solar energy system requirement. Notwithstanding

29.18 any other law to the contrary, if the commissioner engages in any project for the

29.19 construction, improvement, maintenance, or repair of any building, highway, road, bridge,
29.20 or land owned or controlled by the department and the construction, improvement,

29.21 maintenance, or repair involves installation of one or more solar photovoltaic modules, the
29.22 commissioner must ensure that the solar photovoltaic modules purchased and installed are
29.23 made in Minnesota as defined in subdivision 1, paragraph (b).

29.24 Subd. 3. Application. Subdivision 2 does not apply if, as a condition of the receipt

29.25 of federal financial assistance for a specific project, the commissioner is required to use a
29.26 procurement method that might result in the award of a contract to a manufacturer that
29.27 does not meet the "Made in Minnesota" criteria established in subdivision 1, paragraph (b).

29.28 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.24, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

29.29 Subd. 5a. Method of payment, neneperating assistance. (a) Payments for
29.30 planning and engineering design, eligible capital assistance, operating assistance, and
29.31 other eligible assistance for public transit services furthering the purposes of section

29.32 174.21;exeluding-operating-assistanee; shall be made as provided in paragraph (b) and in

29.33 an appropriate manner as determined by the commissioner.

30.1 (b) The commissioner shall make payments for operating assistance quarterly.
30.2 The first quarterly payment for operating assistance must be made no later than the last
30.3 business day of the first month of the contract.

30.4 Sec. 48. [174.45] PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIPS; JOINT PROGRAM
30.5 OFFICE.
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27.28 The commissioner may establish a joint program office to oversee and coordinate 30.6 The commissioner may establish a joint program office to oversee and coordinate
27.29 activities to develop, evaluate, and implement public-private partnerships involving public 30.7 activities to develop, evaluate, and implement public-private partnerships involving public
27.30 infrastructure investments. At the request of the commissioner of transportation, the 30.8 infrastructure investments. At the request of the commissioner of transportation, the
27.31 commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget, the commissioner of employment 30.9 commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget, the commissioner of employment
27.32 and economic development, the executive director of the Public Facilities Authority, and 30.10 and economic development, the executive director of the Public Facilities Authority, and
27.33 other state agencies shall cooperate with and provide assistance to the commissioner 30.11 other state agencies shall cooperate with and provide assistance to the commissioner
28.1 of transportation for activities related to public-private partnerships involving public 30.12 of transportation for activities related to public-private partnerships involving public
28.2 infrastructure investments. 30.13 infrastructure investments.

30.14 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.632, is amended to read:
30.15 174.632 PASSENGER RAIL; COMMISSIONER'S DUTIES.

30.16 Subdivision 1. Definition. "Passenger rail" means intercity rail passenger
30.17 transportation as defined in United States Code, title 49, section 24102 (4).

30.18 Subd. 2. Responsibilities. (a) The planning, design, development, construction,
30.19 operation, and maintenance of passenger rail track, facilities, and services are
30.20 governmental functions, serve a public purpose, and are a matter of public necessity.

30.21 (b) The commissioner is responsible for all aspects of planning, designing,

30.22 developing, constructing, equipping, operating, and maintaining passenger rail, including
30.23 system planning, alternatives analysis, environmental studies, preliminary engineering,
30.24 final design, construction, negotiating with railroads, and developing financial and

30.25 operating plans.

30.26 (c¢) The commissioner may enter into a memorandum of understanding or agreement
30.27 with a public or private entity, including Amtrak, a regional railroad authority, a joint
30.28 powers board, and a railroad, to carry out these activities.

30.29 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.636, is amended to read:
30.30 174.636 PASSENGER RAIL; EXERCISE OF POWER.

30.31 Subdivision 1. Powers. (a) The commissioner has all powers necessary to carry out
30.32 the duties specified in section 174.632. In the exercise of those powers, the commissioner
30.33 may:

31.1 (1) acquire by purchase, gift, or by eminent domain proceedings as provided by law,
31.2 all land and property necessary to preserve future passenger rail corridors or to construct,
31.3 maintain, and improve passenger rail corridors;

31.4 (2) let all necessary contracts as provided by law; and

31.5 (3) make agreements with and cooperate with any gevernmental-authority public or
31.6 private entity, including Amtrak, to carry out statutory duties related to passenger rail.
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28.3 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 219.17, is amended to read:
28.4 219.17 UNIFORM WARNING SIGNS.

28.5 The commissioner by rule shall require that uniform warning signs be placed at

28.6 grade crossings. There must-be-atleast-three are four distinct types of uniform warning
28.7 signs: a home-erossing crossbuck sign, for use in the immediate vicinity of the crossing;
28.8 an approach-erossing advance warning sign, to indicate the approach to a grade crossing; a
28.9 yield sign with the word "yield" plainly appearing on it; and, when deemed necessary and
28.10 instead of a yield sign, a stop sign with the word "stop" plainly appearing on it, to indicate
28.11 that persons on the highway approaching the crossing, whether in vehicles or otherwise,
28.12 must come to a stop before proceeding over the grade crossing.

28.13 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 219.18, is amended to read:
28.14 219.18 RAILROAD TO ERECT SIGN.
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31.7 Subd. 2. Consultation. {b) The commissioner shall consult with metropolitan

31.8 planning organizations and regional rail authorities in areas where passenger rail corridors
31.9 are under consideration to ensure that passenger rail services are integrated with existing
31.10 rail and transit services and other transportation facilities to provide as nearly as possible
31.11 connected, efficient, and integrated services.

31.12 Subd. 3. Authority to contract; liability. (a) The commissioner, or a public entity

31.13 contracting with the commissioner, may contract with a railroad as defined in Code of
31.14 Federal Regulations, title 49, section 200.3(i), for the joint or shared use of the railroad's
31.15 right-of-way or the construction, operation, or maintenance of rail track, facilities, or
31.16 services for passenger rail purposes. Notwithstanding section 3.732, subdivision 1, clause
31.17 (2), or 466.01, subdivision 6, sections 466.04 and 466.06 govern the liability of a Class I
31.18 railroad and its employees arising from the joint or shared use of the railroad right-of-way
31.19 or the provision of passenger rail construction, operation, or maintenance services

31.20 pursuant to the contract. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a contract with a Class I
31.21 railroad for any passenger rail service, or joint or shared use of the railroad's right-of-way,
31.22 may also provide for the allocation of financial responsibility, indemnification, and the
31.23 procurement of insurance for the parties for all types of claims or damages.

31.24 (b) State passenger rail operations or a contract entered into under this section shall
31.25 be subject to the Federal Employers Liability Act, United States Code, title 45, section
31.26 51 et seq.; federal railroad safety laws under United States Code, title 49, section 20101
31.27 et seq.; the Railway Labor Act, United States Code, title 45, section 151 et seq.; and the
31.28 Railroad Retirement Act, United States Code, title 45, section 231 et seq.

31.29 Subd. 4. Public hearings. The commissioner shall hold public hearings as required
31.30 by federal requirements.

31.31 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 219.17, is amended to read:
31.32 219.17 UNIFORM WARNING SIGNS.

31.33 The commissioner by rule shall require that uniform warning signs be placed at

31.34 grade crossings. There must-be-atleast-three are four distinct types of uniform warning
31.35 signs: a home-erossing crossbuck sign, for use in the immediate vicinity of the crossing;
32.1 an approach-erossing advance warning sign, to indicate the approach to a grade crossing; a
32.2 yield sign with the word "yield" plainly appearing on it; and, when deemed necessary and
32.3 instead of a yield sign, a stop sign with the word "stop" plainly appearing on it, to indicate
32.4 that persons on the highway approaching the crossing, whether in vehicles or otherwise,
32.5 must come to a stop before proceeding over the grade crossing.

32.6 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 219.18, is amended to read:
32.7 219.18 RAILROAD TO ERECT SIGN.
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28.15 At each grade crossing established after April 23, 1925 and where and when crossing
28.16 signs existing as of April 24, 1925 are replaced, the railway company operating the railroad
28.17 at that crossing shall erect and maintain one or more uniform heme-erossing crossbuck
28.18 signs. The signs must be on each side of the railroad tracks and within 75 50 feet from the
28.19 nearest rail, or at a distance greater than 50 feet as determined by the commissioner.

28.20 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 219.20, is amended to read:
28.21 219.20 STOP SIGN; YIELD SIGN.

28.22 Subdivision 1. When installation required; procedure. At each grade crossing not
28.23 equipped with flashing lights or flashing lights and gates where, because of the dangers
28.24 attendant upon its use, the reasonable protection of life and property makes it necessary
28.25 for persons approaching the crossing to stop or yield before crossing the railroad tracks,
28.26 stop signs or yield signs must be installed. When the government entity responsible for a
28.27 road that crosses a railroad track deems it necessary to install stop signs or yield signs
28.28 at that crossing, it shall petition the commissioner to order the installation of the stop
28.29 signs or yield signs. The commissioner shall respond to the petition by investigating
28.30 the conditions at the crossing to determine whether stop signs or yield signs should be
28.31 installed at the crossing. On determining, after an investigation following a petition from
28.32 a governmental agency or subdivision or on the commissioner's own motion, that stop
29.1 signs or yield signs should be installed at a crossing, the commissioner shall designate
29.2 the crossing as a stop crossing or yield crossing and shall notify the railway company

29.3 operating the railroad at the crossing of this designation. Within 30 days after notification,
29.4 the railway company shall erect the uniform stop crossing signs or yield crossing signs in
29.5 accordance with the commissioner's order.

29.6 Subd. 2. Stopping distances. When a stop sign or a yield sign has been erected at

29.7 a railroad crossing, the driver of a vehicle approaching a railroad crossing shall stop or
29.8 yield within 50 feet, but not less than ten feet, from the nearest track of the crossing and
29.9 shall proceed only upon exercising due care.

29.10 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 221.0314, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

29.11 Subd. 2. Qualification of driver. Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part

29.12 391 and appendixes D and E, are incorporated by reference except for sections 391.2;
29.13 391.11, paragraph (b)(1); 391.47; 391.49; 391.62; 391.64; 391.67; 391.68; and 391.69. In
29.14 addition, cross-references to sections or paragraphs not incorporated in this subdivision
29.15 are not incorporated by reference. For medical examinations conducted on and after May
29.16 21, 2014, the term "medical examiner" as used in this section and in the rules promulgated
29.17 under this section means an individual certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

29.18 Administration and listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

29.19 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 221.0314, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
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32.8 At each grade crossing established after April 23, 1925 and where and when crossing

32.9 signs existing as of April 24, 1925 are replaced, the railway company operating the railroad
32.10 at that crossing shall erect and maintain one or more uniform heme-erossing crossbuck
32.11 signs. The signs must be on each side of the railroad tracks and within 75 50 feet from the
32.12 nearest rail, or at a distance greater than 50 feet as determined by the commissioner.

32.13 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 219.20, is amended to read:
32.14 219.20 STOP SIGN; YIELD SIGN.

32.15 Subdivision 1. When installation required; procedure. At each grade crossing not
32.16 equipped with flashing lights or flashing lights and gates where, because of the dangers
32.17 attendant upon its use, the reasonable protection of life and property makes it necessary
32.18 for persons approaching the crossing to stop or yield before crossing the railroad tracks,
32.19 stop signs or yield signs must be installed. When the government entity responsible for a
32.20 road that crosses a railroad track deems it necessary to install stop signs or yield signs
32.21 at that crossing, it shall petition the commissioner to order the installation of the stop
32.22 signs or yield signs. The commissioner shall respond to the petition by investigating
32.23 the conditions at the crossing to determine whether stop signs or yield signs should be
32.24 installed at the crossing. On determining, after an investigation following a petition from
32.25 a governmental agency or subdivision or on the commissioner's own motion, that stop
32.26 signs or yield signs should be installed at a crossing, the commissioner shall designate
32.27 the crossing as a stop crossing or yield crossing and shall notify the railway company
32.28 operating the railroad at the crossing of this designation. Within 30 days after notification,
32.29 the railway company shall erect the uniform stop crossing signs or yield crossing signs in
32.30 accordance with the commissioner's order.

32.31 Subd. 2. Stopping distances. When a stop sign or a yield sign has been erected at
32.32 a railroad crossing, the driver of a vehicle approaching a railroad crossing shall stop or
32.33 yield within 50 feet, but not less than ten feet, from the nearest track of the crossing and
32.34 shall proceed only upon exercising due care.

33.1 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 221.0314, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

33.2 Subd. 2. Qualification of driver. Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part

33.3 391 and appendixes D and E, are incorporated by reference except for sections 391.2;
33.4 391.11, paragraph (b)(1); 391.47; 391.49; 391.62; 391.64; 391.67; 391.68; and 391.69. In
33.5 addition, cross-references to sections or paragraphs not incorporated in this subdivision
33.6 are not incorporated by reference. For medical examinations conducted on and after May
33.7 21, 2014, the term "medical examiner" as used in this section and in the rules adopted
33.8 under this section means an individual certified by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

33.9 Administration and listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

33.10 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 221.0314, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
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29.20 Subd. 3a. Waiver for other medical condition. (a) The commissioner may grant
29.21 a waiver to a person who is not physically qualified to drive under Code of Federal

29.22 Regulations, title 49, section 391.41, paragraph(b)(3)-to-(b)(13) paragraph (b)(3), (b)(10),

29.23 or (b)(11). A waiver granted under this subdivision applies to intrastate transportation only.

29.24 (b) A person who wishes to obtain a waiver under this subdivision must give the
29.25 commissioner the following information:

29.26 (1) the applicant's name, address, and telephone number;
29.27 (2) the name, address, and telephone number of an employer coapplicant, if any;

29.28 (3) a description of the applicant's experience in driving the type of vehicle to be
29.29 operated under the waiver;

29.30 (4) a description of the type of driving to be done under the waiver;

29.31 (5) a description of any modifications to the vehicle the applicant intends to drive
29.32 under the waiver that are designed to accommodate the applicant's medical condition or
29.33 disability;

29.34 (6) whether the applicant has been granted another waiver under this subdivision;
30.1 (7) a copy of the applicant's current driver's license;

30.2 (8) a copy of a medical examiner's report and medical examiner's certificate showing
30.3 that the applicant is medically unqualified to drive unless a waiver is granted;

30.4 (9) a statement from the applicant's treating physician that includes:
30.5 (1) the extent to which the physician is familiar with the applicant's medical history;
30.6 (ii) a description of the applicant's medical condition for which a waiver is necessary;

30.7 (iii) assurance that the applicant has the ability and willingness to follow any course
30.8 of treatment prescribed by the physician, including the ability to self-monitor or manage
30.9 the medical condition; and

30.10 (iv) the physician's professional opinion that the applicant's condition will not
30.11 adversely affect the applicant's ability to operate a commercial motor vehicle safely; and

30.12 (10) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner including
30.13 requiring a physical examination or medical report from a physician who specializes
30.14 in a particular field of medical practice.

30.15 (c¢) In granting a waiver under this subdivision, the commissioner may impose
30.16 conditions the commissioner considers necessary to ensure that an applicant is able to
30.17 operate a motor vehicle safely and that the safety of the general public is protected.

30.18 (d) A person who is granted a waiver under this subdivision must:
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33.11 Subd. 3a. Waiver for other medical condition. (a) The commissioner may grant
33.12 a waiver to a person who is not physically qualified to drive under Code of Federal

33.13 Regulations, title 49, section 391.41, paragraph-(b)(3)to-(b)(13) paragraph (b)(3), (b)(10),

33.14 or (b)(11). A waiver granted under this subdivision applies to intrastate transportation only.

33.15 (b) A person who wishes to obtain a waiver under this subdivision must give the
33.16 commissioner the following information:

33.17 (1) the applicant's name, address, and telephone number;
33.18 (2) the name, address, and telephone number of an employer coapplicant, if any;

33.19 (3) a description of the applicant's experience in driving the type of vehicle to be
33.20 operated under the waiver;

33.21 (4) a description of the type of driving to be done under the waiver;

33.22 (5) a description of any modifications to the vehicle the applicant intends to drive
33.23 under the waiver that are designed to accommodate the applicant's medical condition or
33.24 disability;

33.25 (6) whether the applicant has been granted another waiver under this subdivision;
33.26 (7) a copy of the applicant's current driver's license;

33.27 (8) a copy of a medical examiner's report and medical examiner's certificate showing
33.28 that the applicant is medically unqualified to drive unless a waiver is granted;

33.29 (9) a statement from the applicant's treating physician that includes:
33.30 (i) the extent to which the physician is familiar with the applicant's medical history;
33.31 (i) a description of the applicant's medical condition for which a waiver is necessary;

33.32 (iii) assurance that the applicant has the ability and willingness to follow any course
33.33 of treatment prescribed by the physician, including the ability to self-monitor or manage
33.34 the medical condition; and

34.1 (iv) the physician's professional opinion that the applicant's condition will not
34.2 adversely affect the applicant's ability to operate a commercial motor vehicle safely; and

34.3 (10) any other information considered necessary by the commissioner including
34.4 requiring a physical examination or medical report from a physician who specializes
34.5 in a particular field of medical practice.

34.6 (c) In granting a waiver under this subdivision, the commissioner may impose
34.7 conditions the commissioner considers necessary to ensure that an applicant is able to
34.8 operate a motor vehicle safely and that the safety of the general public is protected.

34.9 (d) A person who is granted a waiver under this subdivision must:
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30.19 (1) at intervals specified in the waiver, give the commissioner periodic reports from
30.20 the person's treating physician, or a medical specialist if the commissioner so requires in
30.21 the waiver, that contain the information described in paragraph (b), clause (9), together
30.22 with a description of any episode that involved the person's loss of consciousness or loss
30.23 of ability to operate a motor vehicle safely; and

30.24 (2) immediately report the person's involvement in an accident for which a report is
30.25 required under section 169.09, subdivision 7.
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34.10 (1) at intervals specified in the waiver, give the commissioner periodic reports from
34.11 the person's treating physician, or a medical specialist if the commissioner so requires in
34.12 the waiver, that contain the information described in paragraph (b), clause (9), together
34.13 with a description of any episode that involved the person's loss of consciousness or loss
34.14 of ability to operate a motor vehicle safely; and

34.15 (2) immediately report the person's involvement in an accident for which a report is
34.16 required under section 169.09, subdivision 7.

30.35 () (e) The commissioner may deny an application or may immediately revoke

30.36 a waiver granted under this subdivision. Notice of the commissioner's reasons for

31.1 denying an application or for revoking a waiver must be in writing and must be mailed
31.2 to the applicant's or waiver holder's last known address by certified mail, return receipt
31.3 requested. A person whose application is denied or whose waiver is revoked is entitled to
31.4 a hearing under chapter 14.

31.5 {g) (f) A waiver granted under this subdivision expires on the date of expiration
31.6 shown on the medical examiner's certificate described in paragraph (b), clause (8).

31.7 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 221.0314, subdivision 9a, is amended to read:

31.8 Subd. 9a. Hours of service exemptions. The federal regulations incorporated in
31.9 subdivision 9 for maximum driving and on-duty time do not apply to drivers engaged in
31.10 the interstate or intrastate transportation of:

31.11 (1) agricultural commodities or farm supplies for agricultural purposes in Minnesota
31.12 during the planting and harvesting seasons from March 15 to December 15 of each year; or

31.13 (2) sugar beets during the harvesting season for sugar beets from September 1 to
31.14 May 15 of each year;

31.15 if the transportation is limited to an area within a +80-air-mile 150-air-mile radius from
31.16 the source of the commodities or from the retail or wholesale distribution point for of
31.17 the farm supplies.

34.26 () (e) The commissioner may deny an application or may immediately revoke

34.27 a waiver granted under this subdivision. Notice of the commissioner's reasons for

34.28 denying an application or for revoking a waiver must be in writing and must be mailed
34.29 to the applicant's or waiver holder's last known address by certified mail, return receipt
34.30 requested. A person whose application is denied or whose waiver is revoked is entitled to
34.31 a hearing under chapter 14.

34.32 {g) (f) A waiver granted under this subdivision expires on the date of expiration
34.33 shown on the medical examiner's certificate described in paragraph (b), clause (8).

34.34 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 221.0314, subdivision 9a, is amended to read:

35.1 Subd. 9a. Hours of service exemptions. The federal regulations incorporated in
35.2 subdivision 9 for maximum driving and on-duty time do not apply to drivers engaged in
35.3 the interstate or intrastate transportation of:

35.4 (1) agricultural commodities or farm supplies for agricultural purposes in Minnesota
35.5 during the planting and harvesting seasons from March 15 to December 15 of each year; or

35.6 (2) sugar beets during the harvesting season for sugar beets from September 1 to
35.7 May 15 of each year;

35.8 if the transportation is limited to an area within a +08-air-mile 150-air-mile radius from
35.9 the source of the commodities or from the retail or wholesale distribution point for of
35.10 the farm supplies.
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31.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 35.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

31.19 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 398A.04, is amended by adding a
31.20 subdivision to read:

31.21 Subd. 2a. Bus rapid transit development. A regional rail authority may exercise

31.22 the powers conferred under this section to: plan, establish, acquire, develop, purchase,
31.23 enlarge, extend, improve, maintain, equip, regulate, and protect; and pay costs of

31.24 construction and operation of a bus rapid transit system located within its county on transit
31.25 ways included in and approved by the Metropolitan Council's 2030 Transportation Policy
31.26 Plan. This subdivision applies only to the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin,
31.27 Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

31.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment
31.29 and applies only to the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott,

31.30 and Washington.

35.12 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 473.386, is amended by adding a subdivision
35.13 to read:

35.14 Subd. 9. Metro Mobility ombudsperson. (a) The council shall establish, as part

35.15 of the duties of existing personnel, a Metro Mobility ombudsperson. The ombudsperson
35.16 reports directly to the council. The ombudsperson must be selected without regard to

35.17 political affiliation and must be qualified to perform the duties specified in this subdivision.

35.18 (b) Powers and duties of the ombudsperson include, but are not limited to:

35.19 (1) providing a neutral, independent resource for dispute and issue resolution
35.20 between the council and the general public concerning the Metro Mobility program where
35.21 another mechanism or forum is not available;

35.22 (2) gathering information about decisions, acts, and other matters of the council;

35.23 (3) providing information to the general public;

35.24 (4) facilitating discussions or arranging mediation when appropriate; and

35.25 (5) maintaining and monitoring performance measures for the ombudsperson
35.26 program.

35.27 (¢) The ombudsperson may not impose a complaint fee.

31.31 Sec. 53. Laws 2002, chapter 393, section 85, is amended to read:
31.32 Sec. 85. DAN PATCH COMMUTER RAIL LINE; PROHIBITIONS.
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32.1 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "Dan Patch commuter rail
32.2 line" means the commuter rail line between Northfield and Minneapolis identified-in-the

32.3 metropolitan-council's-transit 2020-master plan-as-the DanPatch line.

32.4 Subd. 2. Metropolitan council; prohibitions. The metropolitan council must not
32.5 take any action or spend any money for study;-planning; preliminary engineering, final
32.6 des1gn or construction for the Dan Patch commuter rail line. Fhe-eouneilmustremeve

32.10 Subd. 3. Commissioner of transportation. The commissioner of transportation
32.11 must not expend any money for study,planning; preliminary engineering, final design,
32.12 or construction for the Dan Patch commuter ra1l line. The-commissioner mustremove

321569mmu%eFfa+Psystem191a&

32.16 Subd. 4. Regional rail authorities. No regional rail authority may expend any
32.17 money for study;planning; preliminary engineering, final design, or construction for
32.18 the Dan Patch commuter rail line.

32.20 Sec. 54. Laws 2009, chapter 59, article 3, section 4, subdivision 9, as amended by
32.21 Laws 2010, chapter 197, section 1, and Laws 2011, chapter 87, section 1, subdivision 9,
32.22 is amended to read:

32.23 Subd. 9. Sunset. A city or county participating in this pilot program may accept an
32.24 individual for diversion into the pilot program until June 30, 2643 2017. The third party
32.25 administering the diversion program may collect and disburse fees collected pursuant to
32.26 subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (2), through December 31, 2044 2018, at which time
32.27 the pilot program under this section expires.

32.29 Sec. 55. CENTRAL CORRIDOR LIGHT RAIL TRANSIT; CENTRAL
32.30 STATION ACCESSIBILITY.

32.31 (a) For purposes of this section:

32.32 (1) "city" means the city of St. Paul;

33.1 (2) "council" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121,
33.2 subdivision 3; and

33.3 (3) "pedestrian skyway system" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes,
33.4 section 469.125, subdivision 4.
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33.5 (b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, for the Central Station on the

33.6 Central Corridor light rail transit line, the council and city shall include construction or
33.7 establishment of access to a pedestrian skyway system as part of the initial transit line
33.8 construction project. The council and city shall ensure that public access to the pedestrian
33.9 skyway system is provided by an elevator located at the site of the station.

33.10 (c) The council and city shall meet the requirements under this section at the time of
33.11 initial construction of the Central Corridor light rail transit line and the Central Station.

33.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

35.28 Sec. 58. CONVEYANCE OF STATE LAND; KOOCHICHING COUNTY.

35.29 (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 16B.281 to 16B.287, 92.45,

35.30 161.43, 161.44 and 222.63, or any other law to the contrary, the commissioner of

35.31 transportation may convey and quitclaim to a private party all right, title, and interest of
35.32 the state of Minnesota, in the land described in paragraph (d).

36.1 (b) The conveyance must be in a form approved by the attorney general. The

36.2 attorney general may make changes to the land description to correct errors and ensure
36.3 accuracy. The conveyance may take place only upon conditions as determined by the
36.4 commissioner of transportation.

36.5 (c) No direct access shall be permitted between marked Trunk Highway 71 and
36.6 the lands to be conveyed.

36.7 (d) The land to be conveyed is located in Koochiching County and is described
36.8 as follows:

36.9 That part of Tract A described below:

36.10 Tract A. All that portion of the Burlington Northern Railroad Company's (formerly

36.11 Northern Pacific Railway Company) former 400.0 foot wide Station Ground Property
36.12 at Grand Falls, Minnesota, lying within a distance of 300.0 feet northwesterly of said
36.13 Railroad Company's former main track centerline upon, over, and across the Northwest
36.14 Quarter of the Southwest Quarter, the Northwest Quarter of the Northeast Quarter of the
36.15 Southwest Quarter, the Southeast Quarter of the Southwest Quarter of the Northwest
36.16 Quarter, and the Southeast Quarter of the Northwest Quarter of Section 36, Township 155
36.17 North, Range 25 West, Koochiching County, Minnesota;

36.18 which lies southerly of Line 1 described below:
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33.13 Sec. 56. CONVEYANCE OF STATE LAND; LE SUEUR COUNTY.

33.14 (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 16B.281 to 16B.287, 92.45,

33.15 161.43, and 161.44, or any other law to the contrary, the commissioner of transportation
33.16 may convey and quitclaim to a private party all right, title, and interest of the state of
33.17 Minnesota, in the land described in paragraph (e). The consideration for a conveyance
33.18 shall be the cost of planning, designing, acquiring, constructing, and equipping a

33.19 comparable rest area facility.

33.20 (b) Proceeds from the sale of real estate or buildings under this section shall be
33.21 deposited in the safety rest area account established in Minnesota Statutes, section
33.22 160.2745.

33.23 (c) The conveyance must be in a form approved by the attorney general. The

33.24 attorney general may make changes to the land description to correct errors and ensure
33.25 accuracy. The conveyance may take place only upon conditions determined by the
33.26 commissioner of transportation.

33.27 (d) No direct access shall be permitted between marked Trunk Highway 169 and the
33.28 land conveyed under this section.

33.29 (e) The land to be conveyed is located in Le Sueur County and is described as
33.30 tracts A, B, and C:
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36.19 Line 1. Commencing at a point on the north line of the Northeast Quarter of

36.20 said Section 36, distant 466.0 feet easterly of the northwest corner thereof; thence

36.21 southwesterly at an angle of 56 degrees 41 minutes from said north line (measured from
36.22 west to south) for 458.6 feet; thence deflect to the right on a 01 degree 00 minute curve,
36.23 delta angle 13 degrees 08 minutes, for 1313.3 feet; thence on tangent to said curve for
36.24 1500.0 feet; thence deflect to the left at an angle of 90 degrees 00 minutes for 200 feet to
36.25 the point of beginning of Line 1 to be described; thence deflect to the left at an angle of 90
36.26 degrees 00 minutes for 1500.0 feet; thence deflect to the right at an angle of 90 degrees 00
36.27 minutes for 200 feet and there terminating;

36.28 containing 16.45 acres, more or less, of which 0.55 acres is contained within a
36.29 public road (Koochiching County State-Aid Highway 31).

36.30 (e) The conveyance in this section is subject to the following restrictions:

36.31 (1) the right of way of the public road (Koochiching County State-Aid Highway
36.32 31 as now located and established) running along the east and west quarter line of said
36.33 Section 36; and

36.34 (2) no access shall be permitted to marked Trunk Highway 71 or to remaining rail
36.35 bank lands in said Section 36 from the lands conveyed in this section; except that access
36.36 shall be permitted by way of said Koochiching County State-Aid Highway 31.

37.1 Sec. 59. CONVEYANCE OF STATE LAND; LE SUEUR COUNTY.

37.2 (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 16B.281 to 16B.287, 92.45,

37.3 161.43, and 161.44, or any other law to the contrary, the commissioner of transportation
37.4 may convey and quitclaim to a private party all right, title, and interest of the state of
37.5 Minnesota, in the land described in paragraph (e). The consideration for a conveyance
37.6 shall be the cost of planning, designing, acquiring, constructing, and equipping a

37.7 comparable rest area facility.

37.8 (b) Proceeds from the sale of real estate or buildings under this section shall be
37.9 deposited in the safety rest area account established in Minnesota Statutes, section
37.10 160.2745.

37.11 (c) The conveyance must be in a form approved by the attorney general. The

37.12 attorney general may make changes to the land description to correct errors and ensure
37.13 accuracy. The conveyance may take place only upon conditions determined by the
37.14 commissioner of transportation.

37.15 (d) No direct access shall be permitted between marked Trunk Highway 169 and the
37.16 land conveyed under this section.

37.17 (e) The land to be conveyed is located in Le Sueur County and is described as
37.18 tracts A, B, and C:
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33.31 Tract A consists of that part of the West Half of the Southeast Quarter of Section 19,

33.32 Township 112 North, Range 25 West, Le Sueur County, Minnesota, lying southeasterly of
33.33 the southeasterly right-of-way line of marked Trunk Highway 169 as the same was located
33.34 prior to January 1, 1990, and northerly of the northerly right-of-way line of old marked
33.35 Trunk Highway 169 (now known as County State-Aid Highway 28); excepting therefrom
34.1 that part thereof lying southwesterly of the following described line: From a point on the
34.2 east line of said Section 19, distant 1273 feet north of the east quarter corner thereof, run
34.3 southwesterly at an angle of 37 degrees 47 minutes 00 seconds from said east section line
34.4 (measured from south to west) for 3332.5 feet; thence deflect to the right on a 01 degree
34.5 00 minute 00 second curve (delta angle 40 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds) having a length
34.6 0f 4018.3 feet for 133.6 feet to the point of beginning of the line to be described; thence
34.7 deflect to the left at an angle of 90 degrees 00 minutes 00 seconds to the tangent of said
34.8 curve at said point for 1000 feet and there terminating.

34.9 Tract B consists of that part of the East Half of the Southeast Quarter of Section 19,

34.10 Township 112 North, Range 25 West, Le Sueur County, Minnesota, lying southerly of the
34.11 southeasterly right-of-way line of marked Trunk Highway 169 as located prior to January
34.12 1, 1990, northerly of the northerly right-of-way line of old marked Trunk Highway 169
34.13 (now known as County State-Aid Highway 28) and westerly of the following described
34.14 line: From a point on the east line of said Section 19, distant 1273 feet north of the East
34.15 Quarter corner thereof, run southwesterly at an angle of 37 degrees 47 minutes 00 seconds
34.16 from said east section line (measured from south to west) for 2318 feet to the point of
34.17 beginning of the line to be described; thence deflect to the left at an angle of 90 degrees 00
34.18 minutes 00 seconds for 400 feet; thence deflect to the right at an angle of 43 degrees 00
34.19 minutes 00 seconds for 1100 feet and there terminating.

34.20 Tract C consists of that part of the Southwest Quarter of the Southeast Quarter of

34.21 Section 19, Township 112 North, Range 25 West, Le Sueur County, Minnesota, lying
34.22 southeasterly of marked Trunk Highway 169 as located prior to January 1, 1971, and
34.23 northwesterly of old marked Trunk Highway 169 (now known as County State-Aid
34.24 Highway 28) and southwesterly of the following described line: From a point on the east
34.25 line of said Section 19, distant 1273 feet north of the East Quarter corner thereof, run
34.26 southwesterly at an angle of 37 degrees 47 minutes 00 seconds with said east section line
34.27 for 3332.5 feet; thence deflect to the right on a 01 degree 00 minute 00 second curve
34.28 (delta angle 40 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds) having a length of 4018.3 feet for 133.6
34.29 feet to the point of beginning of the line to be described; thence deflect to the left at an
34.30 angle of 90 degrees 00 minutes 00 seconds with the tangent of said curve at said point for
34.31 1000 feet and there terminating.

3432 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

34.33 Sec. 57. COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL TRANSPORTATION LAW.
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37.19 Tract A consists of that part of the West Half of the Southeast Quarter of Section 19,

37.20 Township 112 North, Range 25 West, Le Sueur County, Minnesota, lying southeasterly of
37.21 the southeasterly right-of-way line of marked Trunk Highway 169 as the same was located
37.22 prior to January 1, 1990, and northerly of the northerly right-of-way line of old marked
37.23 Trunk Highway 169 (now known as County State-Aid Highway 28); excepting therefrom
37.24 that part thereof lying southwesterly of the following described line: From a point on the
37.25 east line of said Section 19, distant 1273 feet north of the east quarter corner thereof, run
37.26 southwesterly at an angle of 37 degrees 47 minutes 00 seconds from said east section line
37.27 (measured from south to west) for 3332.5 feet; thence deflect to the right on a 01 degree
37.28 00 minute 00 second curve (delta angle 40 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds) having a length
37.29 of 4018.3 feet for 133.6 feet to the point of beginning of the line to be described; thence
37.30 deflect to the left at an angle of 90 degrees 00 minutes 00 seconds to the tangent of said
37.31 curve at said point for 1000 feet and there terminating.

37.32 Tract B consists of that part of the East Half of the Southeast Quarter of Section 19,

37.33 Township 112 North, Range 25 West, Le Sueur County, Minnesota, lying southerly of the
37.34 southeasterly right-of-way line of marked Trunk Highway 169 as located prior to January
37.35 1, 1990, northerly of the northerly right-of-way line of old marked Trunk Highway 169
37.36 (now known as County State-Aid Highway 28) and westerly of the following described
38.1 line: From a point on the east line of said Section 19, distant 1273 feet north of the East
38.2 Quarter corner thereof, run southwesterly at an angle of 37 degrees 47 minutes 00 seconds
38.3 from said east section line (measured from south to west) for 2318 feet to the point of

38.4 beginning of the line to be described; thence deflect to the left at an angle of 90 degrees 00
38.5 minutes 00 seconds for 400 feet; thence deflect to the right at an angle of 43 degrees 00
38.6 minutes 00 seconds for 1100 feet and there terminating.

38.7 Tract C consists of that part of the Southwest Quarter of the Southeast Quarter of

38.8 Section 19, Township 112 North, Range 25 West, Le Sueur County, Minnesota, lying

38.9 southeasterly of marked Trunk Highway 169 as located prior to January 1, 1971, and
38.10 northwesterly of old marked Trunk Highway 169 (now known as County State-Aid

38.11 Highway 28) and southwesterly of the following described line: From a point on the east
38.12 line of said Section 19, distant 1273 feet north of the East Quarter corner thereof, run
38.13 southwesterly at an angle of 37 degrees 47 minutes 00 seconds with said east section line
38.14 for 3332.5 feet; thence deflect to the right on a 01 degree 00 minute 00 second curve
38.15 (delta angle 40 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds) having a length of 4018.3 feet for 133.6
38.16 feet to the point of beginning of the line to be described; thence deflect to the left at an
38.17 angle of 90 degrees 00 minutes 00 seconds with the tangent of said curve at said point for
38.18 1000 feet and there terminating.

38.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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35.1 The commissioner of public safety shall make all reasonable efforts to refrain from
35.2 enforcing state laws that are in conflict with provisions enacted in Public Law 112-141,
35.3 Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21).

35.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

35.5 Sec. 58. MARKED U.S. HIGHWAY 53 RELOCATION PROJECT.

35.6 Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of transportation must

35.7 select and implement either the M-1 or the E-2 layout, as identified in the alternatives
35.8 analysis conducted by the Department of Transportation, or variations of the M-1 or E-2
35.9 layouts, for the project involving the relocation of marked U.S. Highway 53 between
35.10 Eveleth and Virginia.

35.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

35.12 Sec. 59. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 235 REMOVED.

35.13 (a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 166, is repealed effective the

35.14 day after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between
35.15 the commissioner and the governing body of Otter Tail County to transfer jurisdiction of
35.16 Legislative Route No. 235 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

35.17 (b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from

35.18 Minnesota Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor
35.19 electronically or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been
35.20 satisfied.

35.21 Sec. 60. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 256 REMOVED.

35.22 (a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 187, is repealed effective the

35.23 day after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
35.24 commissioner and the governing body of Blue Earth County to transfer jurisdiction of
35.25 Legislative Route No. 256 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

35.26 (b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from

35.27 Minnesota Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor
35.28 electronically or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been
35.29 satisfied.

35.30 Sec. 61. SPECIFIC SERVICE SIGN.
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38.20 Sec. 60. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 235 REMOVED.

38.21 (a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 166, is repealed effective the

38.22 day after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between
38.23 the commissioner and the governing body of Otter Tail County to transfer jurisdiction of
38.24 Legislative Route No. 235 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

38.25 (b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from

38.26 Minnesota Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor
38.27 electronically or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been
38.28 satisfied.

38.29 Sec. 61. LEGISLATIVE ROUTE NO. 256 REMOVED.

38.30 (a) Minnesota Statutes, section 161.115, subdivision 187, is repealed effective the

38.31 day after the commissioner of transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the
38.32 commissioner and the governing body of Blue Earth County to transfer jurisdiction of
38.33 Legislative Route No. 256 and notifies the revisor of statutes under paragraph (b).

39.1 (b) The revisor of statutes shall delete the route identified in paragraph (a) from

39.2 Minnesota Statutes when the commissioner of transportation sends notice to the revisor
39.3 electronically or in writing that the conditions required to transfer the route have been
39.4 satisfied.
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36.1 Notwithstanding any other law or administrative rule or order, the commissioner of

36.2 transportation, after being assured of adequate funding from nonstate sources, shall erect a
36.3 specific service sign on the east side of marked Trunk Highway 52, near its intersection
36.4 with 37th Street NW in Olmsted County. The sign must display the name or business

36.5 panel, or both, of a retail establishment on the east side of marked Trunk Highway 52 that
36.6 began operation before construction of the noise wall on the east side of marked Trunk
36.7 Highway 52, and the premises of which is blocked from view by the noise wall.

39.5 Sec. 62. INTERSECTION SIGNAGE; MARKED TRUNK HIGHWAY 47.

39.6 By August 1, 2013, the commissioner of transportation shall erect additional

39.7 signage on marked Trunk Highway 47 at the intersection with McKinley Street in Anoka
39.8 indicating the turning and through lane requirements for the intersection. The city of
39.9 Anoka shall reimburse the commissioner for the signage.

39.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

39.11 Sec. 63. ORIGINAL IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE PROGRAM; USE
39.12 OF EMPLOYER-OWNED VEHICLES.

39.13 A person participating in the ignition interlock device program under Minnesota

39.14 Statutes 2009, section 171.305, may drive an employer-owned vehicle not equipped with
39.15 an interlock device while in the normal course and scope of employment duties pursuant to
39.16 the program guidelines established by the commissioner referenced in Minnesota Statutes,
39.17 section 171.306, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), and with the employer's written consent.

39.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

36.8 Sec. 62. REPEALER. 39.19 Sec. 64. REPEALER.

36.9 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2012, sections 168.094; and 174.24, subdivision 5, are 39.20 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 168.094, is repealed.
36.10 repealed.

36.11 (b) Minnesota Rules, parts 8820.3300, subpart 2; and 8835.0330, subpart 2, are 39.21 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 174.24, subdivision 5, is repealed.
36.12 repealed.

39.22 (c) Minnesota Rules, part 8820.3300, subpart 2, is repealed.

39.23 (d) Minnesota Rules, part 8835.0330, subpart 2, is repealed.
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39.24 Sec. 65. EFFECTIVE DATE.

39.25 Except as provided otherwise, this act is effective August 1, 2013.
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