EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 16, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Representative Urdahl moved the minutes from the committee meeting on March 14, 2022, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Jordan moved HF1729 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Jordan moved Amendment H1729DE1. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF1729, as amended:

- Aaliyah Demry, Appetite for Change Youth Leader
- Princess Haley, Parent Advocate and Appetite for Change Cofounder
- Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education
- Ruth Davis, Parent
- Darcy Stueber, SNS, Public Policy Chair, School Nutrition Association
- Leah Gardner, Policy Director, Hunger Solutions Minnesota

Representative Jordan renewed the motion to refer HF1729, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy

BERG, Kaela

BOE, Greg

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

SCOTT, Peggy

ABSENT

BENNETT, Peggy

With a vote of 16 AYES, 2 NAYS, and 1 ABSENT, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Richardson moved HF3580 be referred to Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF3580:

- The Honorable Carlos Mariani, State Representative
- Leah Soderlund, ELL Teacher, Mounds View Public Schools
- Dr. Ashley Karlsson, Education System Specialist; Regional Center of Excellence
- Leiataua Dr. Robert Jon Peterson, Long Term Consultant, Minnesota Education Equity Partnership, MnEEP and President and Founder, TE2 Consulting

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF3580 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair

BERG, Kaela

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

BOE, Greg

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean

With a vote of 11 AYES and 8 NAYS, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Vice Chair Hassan assumed the gavel at 1:45pm.

Chair Richardson moved HF4074 to be laid over for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill

The following testified on HF4074:

- Rani Mukherjee, President, UMN PSEO Student Association, Program Manager, People for PSEO
- Zeke Jackson, Executive Director, People for PSEO, Junior at UMN

Vice Chair Hassan laid HF4074 over for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill.

Chair Richardson re-assumed the gavel at 2:03pm.

Chair Richardson moved HF807 be referred to the Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy.

The following testified on HF807:

- The Honorable Bob Dettmer, State Representative
- Larry Lanoux, Citizen Advocate
- Wayne Sarappo, Project Manager, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF807 to the Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

With a vote of 19 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting adjourned at 2:26pm.

Representa	tive Ruth R	ichardson	. Chair	
rtoprosonia		101141 45011	, Chan	
		. T 1	ative Assista	