# HIGHER EDUCATION FINANCE & POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Connie Bernardy, Chair of the Committee on Higher Education Finance and Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:00 PM on February 2, 2022 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

#### **Members present:**

Bernardy, Connie, Chair Christensen, Shelly, Vice Chair Albright, Tony

Daniels, Brian

Erickson, Sondra

Elickson, Sondia

Hanson, Jessica

Heintzeman, Josh

Howard, Michael

Keeler, Heather

Klevorn, Ginny

Koznick, Jon

Kresha, Ron

Mekeland, Shane

Noor, Mohamud

Sandell, Steve

Sandstede, Julie

Thompson, John

### Members excused:

O'Neill, Marion, Republican Lead Masin, Sandra

A quorum was present.

Representative Noor moved that the minutes of April 7, 2021, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Presentation from students from Red Lake Tribal College.

#### Testifying:

• Mitch Johnson, Red Lake Nation College, Student Advisory Council Representative

Presentation from the Minnesota Association of Private Colleges.

## Testifying:

- Jonathan Krull, Minnesota Association of Private Colleges Chair and Student Advisory Council Representative
- Melody Her, student at St. Catherine University

Presentation from Students United.

# Testifying:

• Emma Zellmer, Chair of Students United and Student Advisory Council Representative

Presentation from LeadMN.

## Testifying:

- Axel Kylander, LeadMN President and Student Advisory Council Representative
- Ali Tomashek, student at North Hennepin Community College
- David Mesta, LeadMN Vice President
- Marcelus Ifonlaja, student at Minneapolis College
- Henri Mingo, student at Minneapolis College

Presentation from the Minnesota Student Association.

## Testifying:

- Grace Johnson, Minnesota Student Association Government and Legislative Affairs Director
- Carter Yost, student at the University of Minnesota

The meeting was adjourned at 4:24 PM.

				GI :	
Repre	sentative C	Connie B	Bernardy,	Chair	