STATE OF MINNESOTA EIGHTEENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 8:00 A.M. on March 5th, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 8:00 A.M. A quorum was present.

Rep. Nelson moved that the minutes from March 4th, 2021 be approved. MOTION PREVAILED.

HF1260 (ECKLUND) Timber permit terms modified.

Rep. Ecklund moved that HF1260 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Ecklund moved the Hf1260DE1 to amend HF1260, and the amendment was ADOPTED.

Rep. Ecklund presented the bill, as amended.

Rep. Ecklund renewed the motion that HF1260, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Testifiers:

Mike Birkeland, MN Forest Industries Scott Dane, Associated Contract Loggers and Truckers of MN Forrest Boe, MN Department of Natural Resources

Rep. Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 8:49 A.M.

Rep. Wazlawik moved that HF639, as amended, taken off the table and a roll call was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
LUECK, Dale
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 11 Ayes and 8 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED and HF639, as amended, was brought before the committee.

HF639, as amended 3/4/2021 (HANSEN) Reinvest in Minnesota reserve program funding provided, and money appropriated.

Rep. Hansen moved that HF639, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Legacy Finance Committee.

Rep. Heintzeman moved H0639A2 to amend HF639 as amended, and a roll was requested:

AYES:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

NAYS:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

By a vote of 8 Ayes and 11 Nays the motion failed and the amendment was NOT ADOPTED.

Rep. Hansen renewed his motion that HF639, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Legacy Finance Committee and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) ACOMB, Patty BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd MORRISON, Kelly

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
LUECK, Dale
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 11 Ayes and 8 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED.

Testifiers:

Kristi Pursell, Land Stewardship Project Amber Bougie, Hennepin County Jason Moeckel, DNR Paul Gardner, Clean Water Council

Rep. Hansen resumed the gavel at 9:40 A.M.

HF1165 (WAZLAWIK) Biodegradable or compostable item labeling requirements modified.

Rep. Wazlawik moved that HF1165 be recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee.

Rep. Wazlawik presented the bill.

Rep. Wazlawik renewed the motion that HF1165 be recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee and a roll was taken:

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)

ACOMB, Patty
AKLAND, Susan
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
IGO, Spencer
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
LUECK, Dale
MORRISON, Kelly
THEIS, Tama

NAYS:

BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve NELSON, Nathan

By a vote of 16 Ayes and 3 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED.

Testifiers:

Ginny Black, MN Composting Council
Tony Kwilas, MN Chamber of Commerce
Vicki O'Rourke, WinCup
Chuck Joswiak, Specialized Environmental Technologies
Shannon Pinc, NatureWorks
Vineet Dalal, Northern Technologies
Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner MN Pollution Control Agency

Rep. Hansen adjourned the meeting at 10:00 A.M.

| | Rick Hanser |
|-------------------|-------------------------|
| Chair of Environr | ment Finance and Policy |
| | |

Adam Kopel Committee Legislative Assistant