Energy Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee, began the meeting at 1:00 PM, on February 11, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

Representative Murphy assumed the gavel at 1:04 PM.

HF9 (Swedzinski) Hydroelectric capacity that qualifies as an eligible energy technology under the renewable energy standard modified; electric utility requirements relating to energy, solar, or carbon-free standards delayed under certain conditions; and sales tax exemption for residential heating fuels and electricity expanded.

Chair Swedzinski moved HF9 be re-referred to the Taxes Committee.

The following individuals testified on HF9:

Mark Jacobson, Stanford University M.V. Ramana, University of British Columbia, Vancouver Kent Sulem, Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association Aurora Vautrin, 100% Noelle Cirisan, MN350 Action Julia Frost Nerbonne, Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light Daniel Trajano, Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate Kevin Pranis, LIUNA Veda Kanitz, DFL Environmental Caucus Ian Hedberg "The future of our State" Blake Johnson, Prairie Island Indian Community Mike Rollin Isiah Member/Leader Michelle Benson, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce

Jenny Glumack, Minnesota Rural Electric Association

Geroge Crocker, North American Water Office

Annie Levenson-Falk, Citizens Utility Board

Chelsea DeArmond, Unidos MN

Allen Gleckner, Fresh Energy

Lindsay Potter, Coalition for a Nuclear-Free Mississippi River

Jean Comstock Unidos St. Paul

Rick Evans, Xcel Energy

Mike Hirabayashi Unidos

Sarah Mooradian, CURE MN

Deputy Commissioner Pete Wyckoff, Department of Commerce

Peter Wagenius, Sierra Club North Star Chapter

Tina Clarke Self Consulting

Eric Meyer, Generation Atomic

Rachel Stuckey Conservative Energy Forum

Representative Kraft moved to adopt the A2 amendment. Representative Kraft requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

NAYS:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

On a vote of 7 Ayes and 8 Nays THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT

ADOPTED.

Representative Acomb moved to adopt the A5 amendment. Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

NAYS:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

On a vote of 7 Ayes and 8 Nays THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT

ADOPTED.

Representative Acomb moved to adopt the A7 amendment. Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead

CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

NAYS:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

On a vote of 7 Ayes and 8 Nays **THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.**

Representative Murphy moved to recess at 2:47 PM. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The Committee reconvened at 5:00 PM in G23 in the Capitol Building.

Representative Acomb moved to adopt the A8 amendment. Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead KRAFT, Larry CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

NAYS:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

On a vote of 7 Ayes and 8 Nays <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Kraft moved to adopt the A9 amendment.

Representative Kraft requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

NAYS:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

On a vote of 7 Ayes and 8 Nays <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT</u> **ADOPTED.**

Chair Swedzinski renewed the motion that HF9 be re-referred to the Tax Committee. Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

NAYS:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

On a vote of 8 Ayes and 7 Nays **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The meeting was adjourned at 5:17 PM.

ed at 5:17 PM.	
	Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair
	Sharon Goblisch, Committee Legislative Assistant