
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4735 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE​

1.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.011, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

1.6 Subd. 2. Applicant. "Child care fund applicants" means all parents,; stepparents,; legal​

1.7 guardians, or; eligible relative caregivers who are; relative custodians who accepted a transfer​

1.8 of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515, subdivision 4,​

1.9 or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor custodians or guardians as​

1.10 established by section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster parents providing care to a child​

1.11 placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b. Applicants must​

1.12 be members of the family and reside in the household that applies for child care assistance​

1.13 under the child care fund.​

1.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 7, 2023.​

1.15 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.011, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

1.16 Subd. 5. Child care. "Child care" means the care of a child by someone other than a​

1.17 parent,; stepparent,; legal guardian,; eligible relative caregiver,; relative custodian who​

1.18 accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section​

1.19 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor​

1.20 custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; foster​

1.21 parent providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under section 260C.007,​

1.22 subdivision 16b; or the spouses spouse of any of the foregoing in or outside the child's own​

1.23 home for gain or otherwise, on a regular basis, for any part of a 24-hour day.​
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2.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 7, 2023.​

2.2 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.011, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

2.3 Subd. 13. Family. "Family" means parents,; stepparents,; guardians and their spouses,​

2.4 or; other eligible relative caregivers and their spouses,; relative custodians who accepted a​

2.5 transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515,​

2.6 subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor​

2.7 custodians or guardians as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and​

2.8 their spouses; or foster parents providing care to a child placed in a family foster home​

2.9 under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b, and their spouses; and their blood related the​

2.10 blood-related dependent children and adoptive siblings under the age of 18 years living in​

2.11 the same home including of the above. This definition includes children temporarily absent​

2.12 from the household in settings such as schools, foster care, and residential treatment facilities​

2.13 or parents, stepparents, guardians and their spouses, or other relative caregivers and their​

2.14 spouses and adults temporarily absent from the household in settings such as schools, military​

2.15 service, or rehabilitation programs. An adult family member who is not in an authorized​

2.16 activity under this chapter may be temporarily absent for up to 60 days. When a minor​

2.17 parent or parents and his, her, or their child or children are living with other relatives, and​

2.18 the minor parent or parents apply for a child care subsidy, "family" means only the minor​

2.19 parent or parents and their child or children. An adult age 18 or older who meets this​

2.20 definition of family and is a full-time high school or postsecondary student may be considered​

2.21 a dependent member of the family unit if 50 percent or more of the adult's support is provided​

2.22 by the parents,; stepparents,; guardians, and their spouses; relative custodians who accepted​

2.23 a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under section 260C.515,​

2.24 subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code, and their spouses; successor​

2.25 custodians or guardians as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10, and​

2.26 their spouses; foster parents providing care to a child placed in a family foster home under​

2.27 section 260C.007, subdivision 16b, and their spouses; or eligible relative caregivers and​

2.28 their spouses residing in the same household.​

2.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 7, 2023.​

2.30 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 119B.03, subdivision 4a, is amended​

2.31 to read:​

2.32 Subd. 4a. Temporary reprioritization Funding priorities. (a) Notwithstanding​

2.33 subdivision 4 In the event that inadequate funding necessitates the use of waiting lists,​
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3.1 priority for child care assistance under the basic sliding fee assistance program shall be​

3.2 determined according to this subdivision beginning July 1, 2021, through May 31, 2024.​

3.3 (b) First priority must be given to eligible non-MFIP families who do not have a high​

3.4 school diploma or commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification​

3.5 or who need remedial and basic skill courses in order to pursue employment or to pursue​

3.6 education leading to employment and who need child care assistance to participate in the​

3.7 education program. This includes student parents as defined under section 119B.011,​

3.8 subdivision 19b. Within this priority, the following subpriorities must be used:​

3.9 (1) child care needs of minor parents;​

3.10 (2) child care needs of parents under 21 years of age; and​

3.11 (3) child care needs of other parents within the priority group described in this paragraph.​

3.12 (c) Second priority must be given to families in which at least one parent is a veteran,​

3.13 as defined under section 197.447.​

3.14 (d) Third priority must be given to eligible families who do not meet the specifications​

3.15 of paragraph (b), (c), (e), or (f).​

3.16 (e) Fourth priority must be given to families who are eligible for portable basic sliding​

3.17 fee assistance through the portability pool under subdivision 9.​

3.18 (f) Fifth priority must be given to eligible families receiving services under section​

3.19 119B.011, subdivision 20a, if the parents have completed their MFIP or DWP transition​

3.20 year, or if the parents are no longer receiving or eligible for DWP supports.​

3.21 (g) Families under paragraph (f) must be added to the basic sliding fee waiting list on​

3.22 the date they complete their transition year under section 119B.011, subdivision 20.​

3.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

3.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended​

3.25 to read:​

3.26 Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) Beginning November 15, 2021 October 3, 2022,​

3.27 the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in any county or county price cluster under​

3.28 the child care fund shall be:​

3.29 (1) for all infants and toddlers, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2021 child​

3.30 care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update; and.​
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4.1 (2) for all preschool and school-age children, the greater of the 30th percentile of the​

4.2 2021 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update.​

4.3 (b) Beginning the first full service period on or after January 1, 2025, and every three​

4.4 years thereafter, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance in a county or county price​

4.5 cluster under the child care fund shall be:​

4.6 (1) for all infants and toddlers, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2024 most​

4.7 recent child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update; and.​

4.8 (2) for all preschool and school-age children, the greater of the 30th percentile of the​

4.9 2024 child care provider rate survey or the rates in effect at the time of the update.​

4.10 The rates under paragraph (a) continue until the rates under this paragraph go into effect.​

4.11 (c) For a child care provider located within the boundaries of a city located in two or​

4.12 more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum rate paid for child​

4.13 care assistance shall be equal to the maximum rate paid in the county with the highest​

4.14 maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's charge, whichever is less. The commissioner​

4.15 may: (1) assign a county with no reported provider prices to a similar price cluster; and (2)​

4.16 consider county level access when determining final price clusters.​

4.17 (d) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess​

4.18 of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.​

4.19 (e) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The​

4.20 county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum​

4.21 established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on​

4.22 an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.​

4.23 (f) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not​

4.24 exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the​

4.25 weekly rate.​

4.26 (g) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must​

4.27 not exceed:​

4.28 (1) the daily rate for one day of care;​

4.29 (2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and​

4.30 (3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider.​
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5.1 (h) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid​

5.2 activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during​

5.3 nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.​

5.4 (i) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent​

5.5 is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment​

5.6 fee.​

5.7 (j) Beginning October 3, 2022, the maximum registration fee paid for child care assistance​

5.8 in any county or county price cluster under the child care fund shall be set as follows: (1)​

5.9 beginning November 15, 2021, the greater of the 40th 75th percentile of the 2021 most​

5.10 recent child care provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time of the​

5.11 update; and (2) beginning the first full service period on or after January 1, 2025, the​

5.12 maximum registration fee shall be the greater of the 40th percentile of the 2024 child care​

5.13 provider rate survey or the registration fee in effect at the time of the update. The registration​

5.14 fees under clause (1) continue until the registration fees under clause (2) go into effect.​

5.15 (k) Maximum registration fees must be set for licensed family child care and for child​

5.16 care centers. For a child care provider located in the boundaries of a city located in two or​

5.17 more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and Stearns, the maximum registration fee paid​

5.18 for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum registration fee paid in the county​

5.19 with the highest maximum registration fee or the provider's charge, whichever is less.​

5.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.19, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

5.21 Subd. 7. Child care resource and referral programs. Within each region, a child care​

5.22 resource and referral program must:​

5.23 (1) maintain one database of all existing child care resources and services and one​

5.24 database of family referrals;​

5.25 (2) provide a child care referral service for families;​

5.26 (3) develop resources to meet the child care service needs of families;​

5.27 (4) increase the capacity to provide culturally responsive child care services;​

5.28 (5) coordinate professional development opportunities for child care and school-age​

5.29 care providers;​

5.30 (6) administer and award child care services grants;​

5.31 (7) cooperate with the Minnesota Child Care Resource and Referral Network and its​

5.32 member programs to develop effective child care services and child care resources; and​
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6.1 (8) assist in fostering coordination, collaboration, and planning among child care programs​

6.2 and community programs such as school readiness, Head Start, early childhood family​

6.3 education, local interagency early intervention committees, early childhood screening,​

6.4 special education services, and other early childhood care and education services and​

6.5 programs that provide flexible, family-focused services to families with young children to​

6.6 the extent possible.;​

6.7 (9) administer the child care one-stop regional assistance network to assist child care​

6.8 providers and individuals interested in becoming child care providers with establishing and​

6.9 sustaining a licensed family child care or group family child care program or a child care​

6.10 center; and​

6.11 (10) provide supports that enable economically challenged individuals to obtain the job​

6.12 skills training, career counseling, and job placement assistance necessary to begin a career​

6.13 path in child care.​

6.14 Sec. 7. [119B.196] BRAIN BUILDERS BONUS PROGRAM.​

6.15 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of human services shall establish the​

6.16 brain builders bonus program to provide competitive grants to eligible child care providers​

6.17 who care for infants. For purposes of this section, an "infant" is a child who is at least six​

6.18 weeks old but younger than 13 months old.​

6.19 Subd. 2. Administration. (a) The commissioner may administer the program through​

6.20 a grant to a nonprofit with the demonstrated ability to manage benefit programs for child​

6.21 care professionals. Up to ten percent of the annual appropriation may be used to administer​

6.22 the program.​

6.23 (b) Applicants must apply for the grants using the forms and according to timelines​

6.24 established by the commissioner.​

6.25 Subd. 3. Eligibility. To be eligible for a grant under this section, an applicant must:​

6.26 (1) care for an infant in a family with income less than or equal to 185 percent of the​

6.27 federal poverty level, at least 30 hours a week; and​

6.28 (2) either:​

6.29 (i) be a licensed family child care provider or work for a licensed family child care​

6.30 provider; or​

6.31 (ii) be a legal, nonlicensed child care provider, as defined in section 119B.011, subdivision​

6.32 16.​
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7.1 Subd. 4. Grant awards. (a) Grants must be awarded annually. A grant recipient who is​

7.2 or works for a licensed family child care provider may receive up to $5,000 each year under​

7.3 this section. A grant recipient who is a legal nonlicensed child care provider may receive​

7.4 up to $4,500 each year under this section.​

7.5 (b) Upon verification of provider eligibility under subdivision 3, a grant recipient shall​

7.6 receive 40 percent of the awarded amount six months after initial notification of receiving​

7.7 a grant and shall receive the remaining award amount 12 months after the initial notification.​

7.8 (c) A grant recipient may use the grant money for program supplies, training, or personal​

7.9 expenses.​

7.10 (d) Each year at least 50 percent of grant money must be awarded to recipients located​

7.11 in counties outside the metropolitan counties, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 4.​

7.12 Subd. 5. Reporting requirement. By January 31, 2024, the commissioner shall report​

7.13 to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child care on implementation of the​

7.14 program, including the number of grants awarded to recipients and outcomes of the grant​

7.15 program.​

7.16 Sec. 8. [119B.27] SHARED SERVICES GRANTS.​

7.17 The commissioner of human services shall establish a grant program to enable family​

7.18 child care providers to implement shared services alliances.​

7.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

7.20 Sec. 9. [119B.28] CHILD CARE PROVIDER ACCESS TO TECHNOLOGY​

7.21 GRANTS.​

7.22 The commissioner of human services shall distribute money through grants to one or​

7.23 more organizations to offer grants or other supports to child care providers to improve their​

7.24 access to computers, the Internet, subscriptions to online child care management applications,​

7.25 and other technologies intended to improve business practices. Up to ten percent of the​

7.26 grant funds may be used to administer program.​

7.27 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256.017, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

7.28 Subd. 9. Timing and disposition of penalty and case disallowance funds. Quality​

7.29 control case penalty and administrative penalty amounts shall be disallowed or withheld​

7.30 from the next regular reimbursement made to the county agency for state and federal benefit​

7.31 reimbursements and federal administrative reimbursements for all programs covered in this​
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8.1 section, according to procedures established in statute, but shall not be imposed sooner than​

8.2 30 calendar days from the date of written notice of such penalties. Except for penalties​

8.3 withheld under the child care assistance program, All penalties must be deposited in the​

8.4 county incentive fund provided in section 256.018. Penalties withheld under the child care​

8.5 assistance program shall be reallocated to counties using the allocation formula under section​

8.6 119B.03, subdivision 5. All penalties must be imposed according to this provision until a​

8.7 decision is made regarding the status of a written exception. Penalties must be returned to​

8.8 county agencies when a review of a written exception results in a decision in their favor.​

8.9 Sec. 11. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 21, subdivision 4,​

8.10 is amended to read:​

8.11 Subd. 4. Grant awards. (a) The commissioner shall award transition grants to all eligible​

8.12 programs on a noncompetitive basis through August 31, 2021.​

8.13 (b) The commissioner shall award base grant amounts to all eligible programs on a​

8.14 noncompetitive basis beginning September 1, 2021, through June 30, 2023. The base grant​

8.15 amounts shall be:​

8.16 (1) based on the full-time equivalent number of staff who regularly care for children in​

8.17 the program, including any employees, sole proprietors, or independent contractors; and​

8.18 (2) reduced between July 1, 2022, and June 30, 2023, with amounts for the final month​

8.19 being no more than 50 percent of the amounts awarded in September 2021; and​

8.20 (3) (2) enhanced in amounts determined by the commissioner for any providers receiving​

8.21 payments through the child care assistance program under sections 119B.03 and 119B.05​

8.22 or early learning scholarships under section 124D.165.​

8.23 (c) The commissioner may provide grant amounts in addition to any base grants received​

8.24 to eligible programs in extreme financial hardship until all money set aside for that purpose​

8.25 is awarded.​

8.26 (d) The commissioner may pay any grants awarded to eligible programs under this​

8.27 section in the form and manner established by the commissioner, except that such payments​

8.28 must occur on a monthly basis.​

8.29 Sec. 12. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;​

8.30 ALLOCATING BASIC SLIDING FEE FUNDS.​

8.31 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 6b, the​

8.32 commissioner of human services must allocate additional basic sliding fee child care money​
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9.1 for calendar year 2024 to counties and Tribes to account for the change in the definition of​

9.2 family. In allocating the additional money, the commissioner shall consider:​

9.3 (1) the number of children in the county or Tribe who receive care from a relative​

9.4 custodian who accepted a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under​

9.5 section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or similar permanency disposition in Tribal code; successor​

9.6 custodian or guardian as established according to section 256N.22, subdivision 10; or foster​

9.7 parents in a family foster home under section 260C.007, subdivision 16b; and​

9.8 (2) the average basic sliding fee cost of care in the county or Tribe.​

9.9 Sec. 13. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; INCREASE​

9.10 FOR MAXIMUM RATES.​

9.11 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 6b, the​

9.12 commissioner of human services shall allocate additional basic sliding fee child care funds​

9.13 for calendar year 2023 to counties and Tribes for updated maximum rates based on relative​

9.14 need to cover maximum rate increases. In distributing the additional funds, the commissioner​

9.15 shall consider the following factors by county and Tribe:​

9.16 (1) number of children covered by the county or Tribe;​

9.17 (2) provider types that care for covered children;​

9.18 (3) age of covered children; and​

9.19 (4) amount of the increase in maximum rates.​

9.20 Sec. 14. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD​

9.21 CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND ALLOCATION.​

9.22 The commissioner of human services shall allocate $75,364,000 in fiscal year 2023 from​

9.23 the child care and development fund for rate and registration fee increases under Minnesota​

9.24 Statutes, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, paragraphs (a) and (j). This is a onetime allocation.​

9.25 Sec. 15. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; COST​

9.26 ESTIMATION MODEL FOR EARLY CARE AND LEARNING PROGRAMS.​

9.27 (a) The commissioner of human services shall develop a cost estimation model for​

9.28 providing early care and learning in the state. In developing the model, the commissioner​

9.29 shall consult with relevant entities and stakeholders, including but not limited to the State​

9.30 Advisory Council on Early Childhood Education and Care under Minnesota Statutes, section​

9.31 124D.141; county administrators; child care resource and referral organizations under​
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10.1 Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19, subdivision 1; and organizations representing​

10.2 caregivers, teachers, and directors.​

10.3 (b) The commissioner shall contract with an organization with experience and expertise​

10.4 in early care and learning cost estimation modeling to conduct the work outlined in this​

10.5 section. If practicable, the commissioner shall contract with First Children's Finance.​

10.6 (c) The commissioner shall ensure that the model can estimate variation in the cost of​

10.7 early care and learning by:​

10.8 (1) quality of care;​

10.9 (2) geographic area;​

10.10 (3) type of child care provider and associated licensing standards;​

10.11 (4) age of child;​

10.12 (5) whether the early care and learning is inclusive, caring for children with disabilities​

10.13 alongside children without disabilities;​

10.14 (6) provider and staff compensation, including benefits such as professional development​

10.15 stipends, health benefits, and retirement benefits;​

10.16 (7) a provider's fixed costs, including rent and mortgage payments, property taxes, and​

10.17 business-related insurance payments;​

10.18 (8) a provider's operating expenses, including expenses for training and substitutes; and​

10.19 (9) a provider's hours of operation.​

10.20 (d) By January 30, 2024, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees​

10.21 with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the cost estimation​

10.22 model. The report shall include:​

10.23 (1) recommendations for how the model could be used in conjunction with a child care​

10.24 provider wage scale to set provider payment rates for child care assistance under Minnesota​

10.25 Statutes, chapter 119B; and​

10.26 (2) the department's plan to seek federal approval to use the model for provider payment​

10.27 rates for child care assistance.​
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11.1 Sec. 16. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD​

11.2 CARE PROVIDER WAGE SCALE.​

11.3 (a) The commissioner of human services shall develop, in consultation with the​

11.4 commissioner of employment and economic development, the commissioner of education,​

11.5 and relevant stakeholders, a child care provider wage scale that:​

11.6 (1) provides for wages that are equivalent to elementary school educators with similar​

11.7 credentials and experience;​

11.8 (2) incentivizes child care providers and staff to increase child care-related qualifications;​

11.9 (3) incorporates payments toward compensation benefits, including professional​

11.10 development stipends, health benefits, and retirement benefits; and​

11.11 (4) accounts for the business structures of different types of child care providers, including​

11.12 licensed family child care providers and legal, nonlicensed child care providers.​

11.13 (b) By January 30, 2024, the commissioner shall report to the legislative committees​

11.14 with jurisdiction over early childhood programs on the development of the wage scale and​

11.15 make recommendations for how the wage scale could be used to inform payment rates for​

11.16 child care assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B.​

11.17 Sec. 17. REPEALER.​

11.18 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119B.03, subdivision 4, is repealed effective July 1,​

11.19 2022.​

11.20 ARTICLE 2​

11.21 CHILD CARE LICENSING​

11.22 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.02, subdivision 5a, is amended to read:​

11.23 Subd. 5a. Controlling individual. (a) "Controlling individual" means an owner of a​

11.24 program or service provider licensed under this chapter and the following individuals, if​

11.25 applicable:​

11.26 (1) each officer of the organization, including the chief executive officer and chief​

11.27 financial officer;​

11.28 (2) the individual designated as the authorized agent under section 245A.04, subdivision​

11.29 1, paragraph (b);​

11​Article 2 Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2​04/04/22 12:48 pm ​



12.1 (3) the individual designated as the compliance officer under section 256B.04, subdivision​

12.2 21, paragraph (g); and​

12.3 (4) each managerial official whose responsibilities include the direction of the​

12.4 management or policies of a program.; and​

12.5 (5) the individual designated as the primary provider of care for a special family child​

12.6 care program under section 245A.14, subdivision 4, paragraph (i).​

12.7 (b) Controlling individual does not include:​

12.8 (1) a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings association, credit union, industrial​

12.9 loan and thrift company, investment banking firm, or insurance company unless the entity​

12.10 operates a program directly or through a subsidiary;​

12.11 (2) an individual who is a state or federal official, or state or federal employee, or a​

12.12 member or employee of the governing body of a political subdivision of the state or federal​

12.13 government that operates one or more programs, unless the individual is also an officer,​

12.14 owner, or managerial official of the program, receives remuneration from the program, or​

12.15 owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision;​

12.16 (3) an individual who owns less than five percent of the outstanding common shares of​

12.17 a corporation:​

12.18 (i) whose securities are exempt under section 80A.45, clause (6); or​

12.19 (ii) whose transactions are exempt under section 80A.46, clause (2);​

12.20 (4) an individual who is a member of an organization exempt from taxation under section​

12.21 290.05, unless the individual is also an officer, owner, or managerial official of the program​

12.22 or owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision. This clause does​

12.23 not exclude from the definition of controlling individual an organization that is exempt from​

12.24 taxation; or​

12.25 (5) an employee stock ownership plan trust, or a participant or board member of an​

12.26 employee stock ownership plan, unless the participant or board member is a controlling​

12.27 individual according to paragraph (a).​

12.28 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "managerial official" means an individual who has​

12.29 the decision-making authority related to the operation of the program, and the responsibility​

12.30 for the ongoing management of or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the​

12.31 program. A site director who has no ownership interest in the program is not considered to​

12.32 be a managerial official for purposes of this definition.​
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13.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

13.2 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

13.3 Subd. 4. Inspections; waiver. (a) Before issuing a license under this chapter, the​

13.4 commissioner shall conduct an inspection of the program. The inspection must include but​

13.5 is not limited to:​

13.6 (1) an inspection of the physical plant;​

13.7 (2) an inspection of records and documents;​

13.8 (3) observation of the program in operation; and​

13.9 (4) an inspection for the health, safety, and fire standards in licensing requirements for​

13.10 a child care license holder.​

13.11 (b) The observation in paragraph (a), clause (3), is not required prior to issuing a license​

13.12 under subdivision 7. If the commissioner issues a license under this chapter, these​

13.13 requirements must be completed within one year after the issuance of the license.​

13.14 (c) Before completing a licensing inspection in a family child care program or child care​

13.15 center, the licensing agency must offer the license holder an exit interview to discuss​

13.16 violations or potential violations of law or rule observed during the inspection and offer​

13.17 technical assistance on how to comply with applicable laws and rules. The commissioner​

13.18 shall not issue a correction order or negative licensing action for violations of law or rule​

13.19 not discussed in an exit interview, unless a license holder chooses not to participate in an​

13.20 exit interview or not to complete the exit interview. If the license holder is unable to complete​

13.21 the exit interview, the licensing agency must offer an alternate time for the license holder​

13.22 to complete the exit interview.​

13.23 (d) If a family child care license holder disputes a county licensor's interpretation of a​

13.24 licensing requirement during a licensing inspection or exit interview, the license holder​

13.25 may, within five business days after the exit interview or licensing inspection, request​

13.26 clarification from the commissioner, in writing, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

13.27 The license holder's request must describe the county licensor's interpretation of the licensing​

13.28 requirement at issue, and explain why the license holder believes the county licensor's​

13.29 interpretation is inaccurate. The commissioner and the county must include the license​

13.30 holder in all correspondence regarding the disputed interpretation, and must provide an​

13.31 opportunity for the license holder to contribute relevant information that may impact the​

13.32 commissioner's decision. The county licensor must not issue a correction order related to​
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14.1 the disputed licensing requirement until the commissioner has provided clarification to the​

14.2 license holder about the licensing requirement.​

14.3 (e) The commissioner or the county shall inspect at least annually once each calendar​

14.4 year a child care provider licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502​

14.5 or 9503, for compliance with applicable licensing standards.​

14.6 (f) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available​

14.7 on the department's website the results of inspection reports of all child care providers​

14.8 licensed under this chapter and under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, and the​

14.9 number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment that​

14.10 occurred in licensed child care settings each year.​

14.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

14.12 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 245A.14, subdivision 4, is amended​

14.13 to read:​

14.14 Subd. 4. Special family child care homes. Nonresidential child care programs serving​

14.15 14 or fewer children that are conducted at a location other than the license holder's own​

14.16 residence shall be licensed under this section and the rules governing family child care or​

14.17 group family child care if:​

14.18 (a) the license holder is the primary provider of care and the nonresidential child care​

14.19 program is conducted in a dwelling that is located on a residential lot;​

14.20 (b) the license holder is an employer who may or may not be the primary provider of​

14.21 care, and the purpose for the child care program is to provide child care services to children​

14.22 of the license holder's employees;​

14.23 (c) the license holder is a church or religious organization;​

14.24 (d) the license holder is a community collaborative child care provider. For purposes of​

14.25 this subdivision, a community collaborative child care provider is a provider participating​

14.26 in a cooperative agreement with a community action agency as defined in section 256E.31;​

14.27 (e) the license holder is a not-for-profit agency that provides child care in a dwelling​

14.28 located on a residential lot and the license holder maintains two or more contracts with​

14.29 community employers or other community organizations to provide child care services.​

14.30 The county licensing agency may grant a capacity variance to a license holder licensed​

14.31 under this paragraph to exceed the licensed capacity of 14 children by no more than five​
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15.1 children during transition periods related to the work schedules of parents, if the license​

15.2 holder meets the following requirements:​

15.3 (1) the program does not exceed a capacity of 14 children more than a cumulative total​

15.4 of four hours per day;​

15.5 (2) the program meets a one to seven staff-to-child ratio during the variance period;​

15.6 (3) all employees receive at least an extra four hours of training per year than required​

15.7 in the rules governing family child care each year;​

15.8 (4) the facility has square footage required per child under Minnesota Rules, part​

15.9 9502.0425;​

15.10 (5) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;​

15.11 (6) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:​

15.12 (i) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but no​

15.13 more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational​

15.14 occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015,​

15.15 Section 202; or​

15.16 (ii) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable​

15.17 fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies, as provided in the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015,​

15.18 Section 202, unless the rooms in which the children are cared for are located on a level of​

15.19 exit discharge and each of these child care rooms has an exit door directly to the exterior,​

15.20 then the applicable fire code is Group E occupancies, as provided in the Minnesota State​

15.21 Fire Code 2015, Section 202; and​

15.22 (7) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square​

15.23 footage determinations shall be printed on the license; or​

15.24 (f) the license holder is the primary provider of care and has located the licensed child​

15.25 care program in a commercial space, if the license holder meets the following requirements:​

15.26 (1) the program is in compliance with local zoning regulations;​

15.27 (2) the program is in compliance with the applicable fire code as follows:​

15.28 (i) if the program serves more than five children older than 2-1/2 years of age, but no​

15.29 more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable fire code is educational​

15.30 occupancy, as provided in Group E Occupancy under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015,​

15.31 Section 202; or​
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16.1 (ii) if the program serves more than five children 2-1/2 years of age or less, the applicable​

16.2 fire code is Group I-4 Occupancies, as provided under the Minnesota State Fire Code 2015,​

16.3 Section 202;​

16.4 (3) any age and capacity limitations required by the fire code inspection and square​

16.5 footage determinations are printed on the license; and​

16.6 (4) the license holder prominently displays the license issued by the commissioner which​

16.7 contains the statement "This special family child care provider is not licensed as a child​

16.8 care center."​

16.9 (g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0335, subpart 12, the commissioner​

16.10 may issue up to four licenses to an organization licensed under paragraph (b), (c), or (e).​

16.11 Each license must have its own primary provider of care as required under paragraph (i).​

16.12 Each license must operate as a distinct and separate program in compliance with all applicable​

16.13 laws and regulations.​

16.14 (h) For licenses issued under paragraph (b), (c), (d), (e), or (f), the commissioner may​

16.15 approve up to four licenses at the same location or under one contiguous roof if each license​

16.16 holder is able to demonstrate compliance with all applicable rules and laws. Each licensed​

16.17 program must operate as a distinct program and within the capacity, age, and ratio​

16.18 distributions of each license.​

16.19 (i) For a license issued under paragraph (b), (c), or (e), the license holder must designate​

16.20 a person to be the primary provider of care at the licensed location on a form and in a manner​

16.21 prescribed by the commissioner. The license holder shall notify the commissioner in writing​

16.22 before there is a change of the person designated to be the primary provider of care. The​

16.23 primary provider of care:​

16.24 (1) must be the person who will be the provider of care at the program and present during​

16.25 the hours of operation;​

16.26 (2) must operate the program in compliance with applicable laws and regulations under​

16.27 chapter 245A and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;​

16.28 (3) is considered a child care background study subject as defined in section 245C.02,​

16.29 subdivision 6a, and must comply with background study requirements in chapter 245C; and​

16.30 (4) must complete the training that is required of license holders in section 245A.50.;​

16.31 (5) is authorized to communicate with the county licensing agency and the department​

16.32 on matters related to licensing; and​
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17.1 (6) must meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0355, subpart 3, before​

17.2 providing group family child care.​

17.3 (j) For any license issued under this subdivision, the license holder must ensure that any​

17.4 other caregiver, substitute, or helper who assists in the care of children meets the training​

17.5 requirements in section 245A.50 and background study requirements under chapter 245C.​

17.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

17.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.1435, is amended to read:​

17.8 245A.1435 REDUCTION OF RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH​

17.9 IN LICENSED PROGRAMS.​

17.10 (a) When a license holder is placing an infant to sleep, the license holder must place the​

17.11 infant on the infant's back, unless the license holder has documentation from the infant's​

17.12 physician or advanced practice registered nurse directing an alternative sleeping position​

17.13 for the infant. The physician or advanced practice registered nurse directive must be on a​

17.14 form approved developed by the commissioner and must remain on file at the licensed​

17.15 location.​

17.16 An infant who independently rolls onto its stomach after being placed to sleep on its​

17.17 back may be allowed to remain sleeping on its stomach if the infant is at least six months​

17.18 of age or the license holder has a signed statement from the parent indicating that the infant​

17.19 regularly rolls over at home.​

17.20 (b) The license holder must place the infant in a crib directly on a firm mattress with a​

17.21 fitted sheet that is appropriate to the mattress size, that fits tightly on the mattress, and​

17.22 overlaps the underside of the mattress so it cannot be dislodged by pulling on the corner of​

17.23 the sheet with reasonable effort. The license holder must not place anything in the crib with​

17.24 the infant except for the infant's pacifier, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title​

17.25 16, part 1511. The pacifier must be free from any sort of attachment. The requirements of​

17.26 this section apply to license holders serving infants younger than one year of age. Licensed​

17.27 child care providers must meet the crib requirements under section 245A.146. A correction​

17.28 order shall not be issued under this paragraph unless there is evidence that a violation​

17.29 occurred when an infant was present in the license holder's care.​

17.30 (c) If an infant falls asleep before being placed in a crib, the license holder must move​

17.31 the infant to a crib as soon as practicable, and must keep the infant within sight of the license​

17.32 holder until the infant is placed in a crib. When an infant falls asleep while being held, the​

17.33 license holder must consider the supervision needs of other children in care when determining​
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18.1 how long to hold the infant before placing the infant in a crib to sleep. The sleeping infant​

18.2 must not be in a position where the airway may be blocked or with anything covering the​

18.3 infant's face.​

18.4 (d) When a license holder places an infant under one year of age down to sleep, the​

18.5 infant's clothing or sleepwear must not have weighted materials, a hood, or a bib.​

18.6 (e) A license holder may place an infant under one year of age down to sleep wearing​

18.7 a helmet if the license holder has signed documentation by a physician, advanced practice​

18.8 registered nurse, licensed occupational therapist, or a licensed physical therapist on a form​

18.9 developed by the commissioner.​

18.10 (d) (f) Placing a swaddled infant down to sleep in a licensed setting is not recommended​

18.11 for an infant of any age and is prohibited for any infant who has begun to roll over​

18.12 independently. However, with the written consent of a parent or guardian according to this​

18.13 paragraph, a license holder may place the infant who has not yet begun to roll over on its​

18.14 own down to sleep in a one-piece sleeper equipped with an attached system that fastens​

18.15 securely only across the upper torso, with no constriction of the hips or legs, to create a​

18.16 swaddle. A swaddle is defined as one-piece sleepwear that wraps over the infant's arms,​

18.17 fastens securely only across the infant's upper torso, and does not constrict the infant's hips​

18.18 or legs. If a swaddle is used by a license holder, the license holder must ensure that it meets​

18.19 the requirements of paragraph (d) and is not so tight that it restricts the infant's ability to​

18.20 breathe or so loose that the fabric could cover the infant's nose and mouth. Prior to any use​

18.21 of swaddling for sleep by a provider licensed under this chapter, the license holder must​

18.22 obtain informed written consent for the use of swaddling from the parent or guardian of the​

18.23 infant on a form provided developed by the commissioner and prepared in partnership with​

18.24 the Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center.​

18.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

18.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.1443, is amended to read:​

18.27 245A.1443 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER​

18.28 TREATMENT LICENSED PROGRAMS THAT SERVE PARENTS WITH THEIR​

18.29 CHILDREN.​

18.30 Subdivision 1. Application. This section applies to chemical dependency residential​

18.31 substance use disorder treatment facilities that are licensed under this chapter and Minnesota​

18.32 Rules, chapter 9530, 245G and that provide services in accordance with section 245G.19.​
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19.1 Subd. 2. Requirements for providing education. (a) On or before the date of a child's​

19.2 initial physical presence at the facility, the license holder must provide education to the​

19.3 child's parent related to safe bathing and reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death​

19.4 and abusive head trauma from shaking infants and young children. The license holder must​

19.5 use the educational material developed by the commissioner to comply with this requirement.​

19.6 At a minimum, the education must address:​

19.7 (1) instruction that a child or infant should never be left unattended around water, a tub​

19.8 should be filled with only two to four inches of water for infants, and an infant should never​

19.9 be put into a tub when the water is running; and​

19.10 (2) the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma​

19.11 from shaking infants and young children, and means of reducing the risks, including the​

19.12 safety precautions identified in section 245A.1435 and the dangers risks of co-sleeping.​

19.13 (b) The license holder must document the parent's receipt of the education and keep the​

19.14 documentation in the parent's file. The documentation must indicate whether the parent​

19.15 agrees to comply with the safeguards. If the parent refuses to comply, program staff must​

19.16 provide additional education to the parent at appropriate intervals, at least weekly as described​

19.17 in the parental supervision plan. The parental supervision plan must include the intervention,​

19.18 frequency, and staff responsible for the duration of the parent's participation in the program​

19.19 or until the parent agrees to comply with the safeguards.​

19.20 Subd. 3. Parental supervision of children. (a) On or before the date of a child's initial​

19.21 physical presence at the facility, the license holder must complete and document an​

19.22 assessment of the parent's capacity to meet the health and safety needs of the child while​

19.23 on the facility premises, including identifying circumstances when the parent may be unable​

19.24 to adequately care for their child due to considering the following factors:​

19.25 (1) the parent's physical or and mental health;​

19.26 (2) the parent being under the influence of drugs, alcohol, medications, or other chemicals;​

19.27 (3) the parent being unable to provide appropriate supervision for the child; or​

19.28 (3) the child's physical and mental health; and​

19.29 (4) any other information available to the license holder that indicates the parent may​

19.30 not be able to adequately care for the child.​

19.31 (b) The license holder must have written procedures specifying the actions to be taken​

19.32 by staff if a parent is or becomes unable to adequately care for the parent's child.​
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20.1 (c) If the parent refuses to comply with the safeguards described in subdivision 2 or is​

20.2 unable to adequately care for the child, the license holder must develop a parental supervision​

20.3 plan in conjunction with the client. The plan must account for any factors in paragraph (a)​

20.4 that contribute to the parent's inability to adequately care for the child. The plan must be​

20.5 dated and signed by the staff person who completed the plan.​

20.6 Subd. 4. Alternative supervision arrangements. The license holder must have written​

20.7 procedures addressing whether the program permits a parent to arrange for supervision of​

20.8 the parent's child by another client in the program. If permitted, the facility must have a​

20.9 procedure that requires staff approval of the supervision arrangement before the supervision​

20.10 by the nonparental client occurs. The procedure for approval must include an assessment​

20.11 of the nonparental client's capacity to assume the supervisory responsibilities using the​

20.12 criteria in subdivision 3. The license holder must document the license holder's approval of​

20.13 the supervisory arrangement and the assessment of the nonparental client's capacity to​

20.14 supervise the child, and must keep this documentation in the file of the parent of the child​

20.15 being supervised.​

20.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

20.17 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.146, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

20.18 Subd. 3. License holder documentation of cribs. (a) Annually, from the date printed​

20.19 on the license, all license holders shall check all their cribs' brand names and model numbers​

20.20 against the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission website listing of unsafe​

20.21 cribs.​

20.22 (b) The license holder shall maintain written documentation to be reviewed on site for​

20.23 each crib showing that the review required in paragraph (a) has been completed, and which​

20.24 of the following conditions applies:​

20.25 (1) the crib was not identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety​

20.26 Commission website;​

20.27 (2) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety​

20.28 Commission website, but the license holder has taken the action directed by the United​

20.29 States Consumer Product Safety Commission to make the crib safe; or​

20.30 (3) the crib was identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer Product Safety​

20.31 Commission website, and the license holder has removed the crib so that it is no longer​

20.32 used by or accessible to children in care.​
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21.1 (c) Documentation of the review completed under this subdivision shall be maintained​

21.2 by the license holder on site and made available to parents or guardians of children in care​

21.3 and the commissioner.​

21.4 (d) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425, a family child care provider that​

21.5 complies with this section may use a mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play,​

21.6 or playpen or crib that has not been identified as unsafe on the United States Consumer​

21.7 Product Safety Commission website for the care or sleeping of infants.​

21.8 (e) On at least a monthly basis, the family child care license holder shall perform safety​

21.9 inspections of every mesh-sided or fabric-sided play yard, pack and play, or playpen used​

21.10 by or that is accessible to any child in care, and must document the following:​

21.11 (1) there are no tears, holes, or loose or unraveling threads in mesh or fabric sides of​

21.12 crib;​

21.13 (2) the weave of the mesh on the crib is no larger than one-fourth of an inch;​

21.14 (3) no mesh fabric is unsecure or unattached to top rail and floor plate of crib;​

21.15 (4) no tears or holes to top rail of crib;​

21.16 (5) the mattress floor board is not soft and does not exceed one inch thick;​

21.17 (6) the mattress floor board has no rips or tears in covering;​

21.18 (7) the mattress floor board in use is a waterproof an original mattress or replacement​

21.19 mattress provided by the manufacturer of the crib;​

21.20 (8) there are no protruding or loose rivets, metal nuts, or bolts on the crib;​

21.21 (9) there are no knobs or wing nuts on outside crib legs;​

21.22 (10) there are no missing, loose, or exposed staples; and​

21.23 (11) the latches on top and side rails used to collapse crib are secure, they lock properly,​

21.24 and are not loose.​

21.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

21.26 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245H.05, is amended to read:​

21.27 245H.05 MONITORING AND INSPECTIONS.​

21.28 (a) The commissioner must conduct an on-site inspection of a certified license-exempt​

21.29 child care center at least annually once each calendar year to determine compliance with​

21.30 the health, safety, and fire standards specific to a certified license-exempt child care center.​
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22.1 (b) No later than November 19, 2017, the commissioner shall make publicly available​

22.2 on the department's website the results of inspection reports for all certified centers including​

22.3 the number of deaths, serious injuries, and instances of substantiated child maltreatment​

22.4 that occurred in certified centers each year.​

22.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

22.6 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245H.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

22.7 read:​

22.8 Subd. 6. Authority to modify requirements. (a) Notwithstanding subdivisions 4 and​

22.9 5, for children in kindergarten through 13 years old, the commissioner may increase the​

22.10 maximum group size to no more than 40 children and may increase the minimally acceptable​

22.11 staff-to-child ratio to one to 20 during a national security or peacetime emergency declared​

22.12 under section 12.31, or during a public health emergency declared due to a pandemic by​

22.13 the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services under section 319 of the Public​

22.14 Health Service Act, United States Code, title 42, section 247d.​

22.15 (b) If the commissioner modifies requirements under this subdivision, a certified center​

22.16 operating under the modified requirements must have at least one staff person who is at​

22.17 least 18 years old with each group of 40 children.​

22.18 Sec. 9. CHILD CARE REGULATION MODERNIZATION; PILOT PROJECTS.​

22.19 The commissioner of human services may conduct and administer pilot projects to test​

22.20 methods and procedures for the projects to modernize regulation of child care centers and​

22.21 family child care allowed under Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 2, sections​

22.22 75 and 81. To carry out the pilot projects, the commissioner of human services may, by​

22.23 issuing a commissioner's order, waive enforcement of existing specific statutory program​

22.24 requirements, rules, and standards in one or more counties. The commissioner's order​

22.25 establishing the waiver must provide alternative methods and procedures of administration​

22.26 and must not be in conflict with the basic purposes, coverage, or benefits provided by law.​

22.27 In no event may a pilot project under this section extend beyond February 1, 2024. Pilot​

22.28 projects must comply with the requirements of the child care and development fund plan.​

22.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

22.30 ARTICLE 3​

22.31 APPROPRIATIONS; HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES​

22.32 Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS.​
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23.1 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown in​

23.2 parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter​

23.3 7, article 16, to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations​

23.4 are from the general fund or other named fund and are available for the fiscal years indicated​

23.5 for each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the addition​

23.6 to or subtraction from the appropriation listed under them is available for the fiscal year​

23.7 ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. Base adjustments mean the addition​

23.8 to or subtraction from the base level adjustment set in Laws 2021, First Special Session​

23.9 chapter 7, article 16. Supplemental appropriations and reductions to appropriations for the​

23.10 fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, are effective the day following final enactment unless a​

23.11 different effective date is explicit.​

23.12 APPROPRIATIONS​

23.13 Available for the Year​

23.14 Ending June 30​

2023​23.15 2022​

23.16 Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN​
23.17 SERVICES​

116,134,000​$​23.18 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

23.19 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​23.20 2022​

116,134,000​-0-​23.21 General​

23.22 Subd. 2. Central Office; Operations​

23.23 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​23.24 2022​

10,173,000​-0-​23.25 General​

23.26 (a) Transfer to the Commissioner of​

23.27 Management and Budget. $500,000 in fiscal​

23.28 year 2023 is for transfer to the commissioner​

23.29 of management and budget to: (1) identify any​

23.30 administrative rules and practices that prevent​

23.31 or complicate data sharing among child care​

23.32 and early learning programs administered by​

23.33 the Departments of Education and Human​
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24.1 Services and other departments with programs​

24.2 impacting early childhood as identified by the​

24.3 Children's Cabinet; and (2) support ongoing​

24.4 efforts to address any barriers to data sharing.​

24.5 The commissioner must consult with the​

24.6 commissioners of education, human services,​

24.7 and information technology services; the​

24.8 Children's Cabinet; and other stakeholders.​

24.9 The commissioner of management and budget​

24.10 must report preliminary findings to the​

24.11 committees of the legislature with jurisdiction​

24.12 over early childhood programs by February​

24.13 1, 2023, and make a final report by February​

24.14 1, 2024. This is a onetime appropriation and​

24.15 is available until June 30, 2024.​

24.16 (b) Transfer to the Commissioner of​

24.17 Information Technology Services.​

24.18 $9,500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for transfer​

24.19 to the commissioner of information technology​

24.20 services to develop and implement, to the​

24.21 extent practicable, a plan to modernize the​

24.22 information technology systems supporting​

24.23 programs that impact early childhood. This is​

24.24 a onetime appropriation and is available until​

24.25 June 30, 2027.​

24.26 (c) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

24.27 base is increased $763,000 in fiscal year 2024​

24.28 and $174,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

843,000​-0-​24.29 Subd. 3. Central Office; Children and Families​

24.30 (a) Beginning in fiscal year 2025, the base​

24.31 shall include $125,000 for the ombudsperson​

24.32 for family child care providers under​

24.33 Minnesota Statutes, section 245.975.​

24​Article 3 Sec. 2.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2​04/04/22 12:48 pm ​



25.1 (b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

25.2 base is increased $493,000 in fiscal year 2024​

25.3 and $405,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

(24,000)​0​25.4 Subd. 4. MFIP Child Care Assistance​

26,814,000​-0-​
25.5 Subd. 5. Grant Programs; BSF Child Care​
25.6 Grants​

25.7 Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

25.8 base is increased $56,136,000 in fiscal year​

25.9 2024 and $103,625,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

105,142,000​-0-​
25.10 Subd. 6. Grant Programs; Child Care​
25.11 Development Grants​

25.12 (a) Child Care Provider Access to​

25.13 Technology Grants. $300,000 in fiscal year​

25.14 2023 is for child care provider access to​

25.15 technology grants pursuant to Minnesota​

25.16 Statutes, section 119B.28. This is a onetime​

25.17 appropriation.​

25.18 (b) One-Stop Regional Assistance Network.​

25.19 Beginning in fiscal year 2025, the base shall​

25.20 include $1,200,000 from the general fund for​

25.21 a grant to the statewide child care resource​

25.22 and referral network to administer the child​

25.23 care one-stop shop regional assistance network​

25.24 in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section​

25.25 119B.19, subdivision 7, clause (9).​

25.26 (c) Child Care Workforce Development​

25.27 Grants. Beginning in fiscal year 2025, the​

25.28 base shall include $1,300,000 for a grant to​

25.29 the statewide child care resource and referral​

25.30 network to administer the child care workforce​

25.31 development grants in accordance with​

25.32 Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19,​

25.33 subdivision 7, clause (10).​
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26.1 (d) Shared Services Innovation Grants. The​

26.2 base shall include $500,000 in fiscal year 2024​

26.3 and $500,000 in fiscal year 2025 for shared​

26.4 services innovation grants pursuant to​

26.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.27.​

26.6 (e) Stabilization Grants for Child Care​

26.7 Providers Experiencing Financial Hardship.​

26.8 $26,342,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for child​

26.9 care stabilization grants for child care​

26.10 programs in extreme financial hardship. This​

26.11 is a onetime appropriation. Money not​

26.12 distributed in fiscal year 2023 or 2024 shall​

26.13 be available until June 30, 2025. Use of grant​

26.14 money must be made in accordance with​

26.15 eligibility and compliance requirements​

26.16 established by the commissioner.​

26.17 (f) Cost Estimation Model for Early Care​

26.18 and Learning Programs. $189,000 in fiscal​

26.19 year 2023 is to develop a cost estimation​

26.20 model for providing early care and learning.​

26.21 The general fund base is increased $43,000 in​

26.22 fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

26.23 (g) Child Care Provider Wage Scale.​

26.24 $189,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to develop a​

26.25 wage scale for child care providers. The​

26.26 general fund base is increased $43,000 in​

26.27 fiscal year 2024 and $0 in fiscal year 2025.​

26.28 (h) Brain Builders Bonus Program.​

26.29 $2,500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for brain​

26.30 builders bonus grants under Minnesota​

26.31 Statutes, section 119B.196. This is a onetime​

26.32 appropriation and is available until June 30,​

26.33 2025.​
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27.1 (i) Child Care Stabilization Base Grants.​

27.2 $73,071,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for child​

27.3 care stabilization base grants under Laws​

27.4 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article​

27.5 14, section 21, subdivision 4, paragraph (b).​

27.6 The general fund base is increased​

27.7 $67,221,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

27.8 $67,221,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

27.9 (j) Grants for Family, Friend, and Neighbor​

27.10 Caregivers. $3,167,000 in fiscal year 2023 is​

27.11 for grants to community-based organizations​

27.12 working with family, friend, and neighbor​

27.13 caregivers. In awarding the grants, the​

27.14 commissioner shall prioritize​

27.15 community-based organizations working with​

27.16 family, friend, and neighbor caregivers who​

27.17 serve children from low-income families,​

27.18 families of color, Tribal communities, or​

27.19 families with limited English language​

27.20 proficiency. The commissioner may use up to​

27.21 ten percent of the appropriation for statewide​

27.22 outreach, training initiatives, research, and​

27.23 data collection. The general fund base is​

27.24 increased $3,383,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

27.25 $3,383,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

27.26 (k) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund​

27.27 base is increased $70,921,000 in fiscal year​

27.28 2024 and $73,421,000 in fiscal year 2025.​

27.29 Sec. 3. MODERNIZING INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY FOR PROGRAMS​

27.30 IMPACTING YOUNG CHILDREN.​

27.31 (a) The commissioner of information technology services shall develop and implement,​

27.32 to the extent practicable with the appropriation in section 2, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), a​

27.33 plan to modernize the information technology systems that support the programs impacting​

27.34 early childhood, including child care and early learning programs and those serving young​

27​Article 3 Sec. 3.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2​04/04/22 12:48 pm ​



28.1 children administered by the Departments of Education and Human Services and other​

28.2 departments with programs impacting early childhood as identified by the Children's Cabinet.​

28.3 The commissioner may contract for the services contained in this section. This is a onetime​

28.4 appropriation and is available until June 30, 2027.​

28.5 (b) The plan must support the goal of creating information technology systems for early​

28.6 childhood programs that collect, analyze, share, and report data on program participation,​

28.7 school readiness, early screening, and other childhood indicators. The plan must include​

28.8 strategies to:​

28.9 (1) increase the efficiency and effectiveness with which early childhood programs serve​

28.10 children and families;​

28.11 (2) improve coordination among early childhood programs for families; and​

28.12 (3) assess the impact of early childhood programs on children's outcomes, including​

28.13 school readiness.​

28.14 (c) In developing and implementing the plan required under this section, the commissioner​

28.15 or the contractor must consult with the commissioners of education and human services,​

28.16 and other departments with programs impacting early childhood as identified by the​

28.17 Children's Cabinet; the Children's Cabinet; and other stakeholders.​

28.18 (d) By February 1, 2023, the commissioner must provide a preliminary report on the​

28.19 status of the plan's development and implementation to the committees of the legislature​

28.20 with jurisdiction over early childhood programs.​

28.21 ARTICLE 4​

28.22 FORECAST ADJUSTMENT; HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES​

28.23 Section 1. HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATION.​

28.24 The dollar amounts shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if​

28.25 shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2021, First Special​

28.26 Session chapter 7, article 16, from the general fund or any fund named to the Department​

28.27 of Human Services for the purposes specified in this article, to be available for the fiscal​

28.28 year indicated for each purpose. The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean​

28.29 that the appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal years ending June 30,​

28.30 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year"​

28.31 is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2022 and 2023.​

28.32 APPROPRIATIONS​

28.33 Available for the Year​
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29.1 Ending June 30​

2023​29.2 2022​

29.3 Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN​
29.4 SERVICES​

73,738,000​$​(103,347,000)​$​29.5 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

29.6 Appropriations by Fund​

73,738,000​(103,347,000)​29.7 General Fund​

29.8 Subd. 2. Forecasted Programs​

(73,738,000)​(103,347,000)​29.9 MFIP Child Care Assistance​

29.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

29.11 ARTICLE 5​

29.12 EARLY EDUCATION​

29.13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 119A.52, is amended to read:​

29.14 119A.52 DISTRIBUTION OF APPROPRIATION.​

29.15 (a) The commissioner of education must distribute money appropriated for that purpose​

29.16 to federally designated Head Start programs to expand services and to serve additional​

29.17 low-income children. Migrant and Indian reservation programs must be initially allocated​

29.18 money based on the programs' share of federal funds., which may include costs associated​

29.19 with program operations, infrastructure, or reconfiguration to serve children from birth to​

29.20 age five in center-based services. The distribution must occur in the following order: (1)​

29.21 10.72 percent of the total Head Start appropriation must be allocated to federally designated​

29.22 Tribal Head Start programs; (2) the Tribal Head Start portion of the appropriation must be​

29.23 allocated to Tribal Head Start programs based on the programs' share of federal funds; and​

29.24 (3) migrant programs must then be initially allocated funding based on the programs' share​

29.25 of federal funds. The remaining money must be initially allocated to the remaining local​

29.26 agencies based equally on the agencies' share of federal funds and on the proportion of​

29.27 eligible children in the agencies' service area who are not currently being served. A Head​

29.28 Start program must be funded at a per child rate equal to its contracted, federally funded​

29.29 base level at the start of the fiscal year. For all agencies without a federal Early Head Start​

29.30 rate, the state average federal cost per child for Early Head Start applies. In allocating funds​

29.31 under this paragraph, the commissioner of education must assure that each Head Start​

29.32 program in existence in 1993 is allocated no less funding in any fiscal year than was allocated​

29.33 to that program in fiscal year 1993. Before paying money to the programs, the commissioner​
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30.1 must notify each program of its initial allocation and how the money must be used. Each​

30.2 program must present a plan under section 119A.535. For any program that cannot utilize​

30.3 its full allocation at the beginning of the fiscal year, the commissioner must reduce the​

30.4 allocation proportionately. Money available after the initial allocations are reduced must​

30.5 be redistributed to eligible programs.​

30.6 (b) The commissioner must develop procedures to make payments to programs based​

30.7 upon the number of children reported to be enrolled during the required time period of​

30.8 program operations. Enrollment is defined by federal Head Start regulations. The procedures​

30.9 must include a reporting schedule, corrective action plan requirements, and financial​

30.10 consequences to be imposed on programs that do not meet full enrollment after the period​

30.11 of corrective action. Programs reporting chronic underenrollment, as defined by the​

30.12 commissioner, will have their subsequent program year allocation reduced proportionately.​

30.13 Funds made available by prorating payments and allocations to programs with reported​

30.14 underenrollment will be made available to the extent funds exist to fully enrolled Head Start​

30.15 programs through a form and manner prescribed by the department.​

30.16 (c) Programs with approved innovative initiatives that target services to high-risk​

30.17 populations, including homeless families and families living in homeless shelters and​

30.18 transitional housing, are exempt from the procedures in paragraph (b). This exemption does​

30.19 not apply to entire programs. The exemption applies only to approved innovative initiatives​

30.20 that target services to high-risk populations, including homeless families and families living​

30.21 in homeless shelters, transitional housing, and permanent supportive housing.​

30.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 121A.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

30.23 Subd. 3. Screening program. (a) A screening program must include at least the following​

30.24 components: developmental assessments, which may include parent report developmental​

30.25 screening instruments if the parent or child is unable to complete the screening in person​

30.26 due to an immunocompromised status or other health concern; hearing and vision screening​

30.27 or referral,; immunization review and referral,; the child's height and weight,; the date of​

30.28 the child's most recent comprehensive vision examination, if any,; identification of risk​

30.29 factors that may influence learning,; an interview with the parent about the child,; and​

30.30 referral for assessment, diagnosis, and treatment when potential needs are identified. The​

30.31 district and the person performing or supervising the screening must provide a parent or​

30.32 guardian with clear written notice that the parent or guardian may decline to answer questions​

30.33 or provide information about family circumstances that might affect development and​

30.34 identification of risk factors that may influence learning. The notice must state "Early​
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31.1 childhood developmental screening helps a school district identify children who may benefit​

31.2 from district and community resources available to help in their development. Early childhood​

31.3 developmental screening includes a vision screening that helps detect potential eye problems​

31.4 but is not a substitute for a comprehensive eye exam." The notice must clearly state that​

31.5 declining to answer questions or provide information does not prevent the child from being​

31.6 enrolled in kindergarten or first grade if all other screening components are met. If a parent​

31.7 or guardian is not able to read and comprehend the written notice, the district and the person​

31.8 performing or supervising the screening must convey the information in another manner.​

31.9 The notice must also inform the parent or guardian that a child need not submit to the district​

31.10 screening program if the child's health records indicate to the school that the child has​

31.11 received comparable developmental screening performed within the preceding 365 days by​

31.12 a public or private health care organization or individual health care provider. The notice​

31.13 must be given to a parent or guardian at the time the district initially provides information​

31.14 to the parent or guardian about screening and must be given again at the screening location.​

31.15 (b) All screening components shall be consistent with the standards of the state​

31.16 commissioner of health for early developmental screening programs. A developmental​

31.17 screening program must not provide laboratory tests or a physical examination to any child.​

31.18 The district must request from the public or private health care organization or the individual​

31.19 health care provider the results of any laboratory test or physical examination within the 12​

31.20 months preceding a child's scheduled screening. For the purposes of this section,​

31.21 "comprehensive vision examination" means a vision examination performed by an optometrist​

31.22 or ophthalmologist.​

31.23 (c) If a child is without health coverage, the school district must refer the child to an​

31.24 appropriate health care provider.​

31.25 (d) A board may offer additional components such as nutritional, physical and dental​

31.26 assessments, review of family circumstances that might affect development, blood pressure,​

31.27 laboratory tests, and health history.​

31.28 (e) If a statement signed by the child's parent or guardian is submitted to the administrator​

31.29 or other person having general control and supervision of the school that the child has not​

31.30 been screened because of conscientiously held beliefs of the parent or guardian, the screening​

31.31 is not required.​
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32.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 121A.19, is amended to read:​

32.2 121A.19 DEVELOPMENTAL SCREENING AID.​

32.3 Each school year, the state must pay a district for each child or student screened by the​

32.4 district according to the requirements of section 121A.17. The amount of state aid for each​

32.5 child or student screened shall be: (1) $75 $98 for a child screened at age three; (2) $50 $65​

32.6 for a child screened at age four; (3) $40 $52 for a child screened at age five or six prior to​

32.7 kindergarten; and (4) $30 $39 for a student screened within 30 days after first enrolling in​

32.8 a public school kindergarten if the student has not previously been screened according to​

32.9 the requirements of section 121A.17. If this amount of aid is insufficient, the district may​

32.10 permanently transfer from the general fund an amount that, when added to the aid, is​

32.11 sufficient. Developmental screening aid shall not be paid for any student who is screened​

32.12 more than 30 days after the first day of attendance at a public school kindergarten, except​

32.13 if a student transfers to another public school kindergarten within 30 days after first enrolling​

32.14 in a Minnesota public school kindergarten program. In this case, if the student has not been​

32.15 screened, the district to which the student transfers may receive developmental screening​

32.16 aid for screening that student when the screening is performed within 30 days of the transfer​

32.17 date.​

32.18 Sec. 4. [122A.731] GRANTS FOR GROW YOUR OWN EARLY CHILDHOOD​

32.19 EDUCATOR PROGRAMS.​

32.20 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of education must award grants for​

32.21 Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs established under this section in order​

32.22 to develop an early childhood education workforce that more closely reflects the state's​

32.23 increasingly diverse student population and to ensure all students have equitable access to​

32.24 high-quality early educators.​

32.25 Subd. 2. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs. (a) Minnesota​

32.26 licensed family child care or licensed center-based child care programs, school district or​

32.27 charter school early learning programs, Head Start programs, institutes of higher education,​

32.28 and other community partnership nongovernment organizations may apply for a grant to​

32.29 host, build, or expand an early childhood educator preparation program that leads to an​

32.30 individual earning the credential or degree needed to enter or advance in the early childhood​

32.31 education workforce. Examples include programs that help interested individuals earn the​

32.32 Child Development Associate credential, an associate's degree in child development, or a​

32.33 bachelor's degree in early childhood studies or early childhood licensures. Programs must​

32.34 prioritize candidates that represent the demographics of the populations served. The grant​
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33.1 recipient must use at least 80 percent of grant funds for student stipends and tuition​

33.2 scholarships.​

33.3 (b) Programs providing financial support to interested individuals may require a​

33.4 commitment from the individuals awarded, as determined by the program, to teach in the​

33.5 program or school for a reasonable amount of time that does not exceed one year.​

33.6 Subd. 3. Grant procedure. Eligible programs must apply for a grant under this section​

33.7 in the form and manner specified by the commissioner. To the extent that there are sufficient​

33.8 applications, the commissioner must, to the extent practicable, award an equal number of​

33.9 grants between applicants in greater Minnesota and those in the seven-county metropolitan​

33.10 area.​

33.11 Subd. 4. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program account. (a) The​

33.12 Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program account is established in the special​

33.13 revenue fund.​

33.14 (b) Funds appropriated for the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program​

33.15 under this section must be transferred to the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator​

33.16 program account in the special revenue fund.​

33.17 (c) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for the Grow​

33.18 Your Own Early Childhood Educator program under this section. Any returned funds are​

33.19 available to be regranted. Grant recipients may apply to use grant money over a period of​

33.20 up to 60 months.​

33.21 (d) Up to $300,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner for costs associated​

33.22 with administering and monitoring the program under this section.​

33.23 Subd. 5. Report. Grant recipients must annually report to the commissioner in the form​

33.24 and manner determined by the commissioner on their activities under this section, including​

33.25 the number of educators being supported through grant funds, the number of educators​

33.26 obtaining credentials by type, a comparison of the beginning level of education and ending​

33.27 level of education of individual participants, and an assessment of program effectiveness,​

33.28 including participant feedback, areas for improvement, and where applicable, employment​

33.29 changes and current employment status, after completing preparation programs. The​

33.30 commissioner must publish a public report that summarizes the activities and outcomes of​

33.31 grant recipients and what was done to promote sharing of effective practices among grant​

33.32 recipients and potential grant applicants.​
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34.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.1158, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

34.2 Subd. 3. Program reimbursement. Each school year, the state must reimburse each​

34.3 participating school 30 cents for each reduced-price breakfast, 55 cents for each fully paid​

34.4 breakfast served to students in grades 1 to 12, and $1.30 for each fully paid breakfast served​

34.5 to a prekindergarten student enrolled in an approved voluntary prekindergarten program​

34.6 under section 124D.151, early childhood special education students participating in a program​

34.7 authorized under section 124D.151, or a kindergarten student.​

34.8 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.1158, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

34.9 Subd. 4. No fees. A school that receives school breakfast aid under this section must​

34.10 make breakfast available without charge to all participating students in grades 1 to 12 who​

34.11 qualify for free or reduced-price meals and to all prekindergarten students enrolled in an​

34.12 approved voluntary prekindergarten program under section 124D.151, early childhood​

34.13 special education students participating in a program authorized under section 124D.151,​

34.14 and all kindergarten students.​

34.15 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

34.16 Subd. 2. Program requirements. (a) Early childhood family education programs are​

34.17 programs for children in the period of life from birth to kindergarten, for the parents and​

34.18 other relatives of these children, for adults who provide child care, and for expectant parents.​

34.19 To the extent that funds are insufficient to provide programs for all children, early childhood​

34.20 family education programs should emphasize programming for a child from birth to age​

34.21 three and encourage parents and other relatives to involve four- and five-year-old children​

34.22 in school readiness programs, and other public and nonpublic early learning programs. A​

34.23 district may not limit participation to school district residents. Early childhood family​

34.24 education programs must provide:​

34.25 (1) programs to educate parents and, other relatives, and caregivers about the physical,​

34.26 cognitive, social, and emotional development of children and to enhance the skills of parents​

34.27 and other relatives in providing for their children's learning and development;​

34.28 (2) structured learning activities requiring interaction between children and their parents​

34.29 or, other relatives, and caregivers;​

34.30 (3) structured learning activities for children that promote children's development and​

34.31 positive interaction with peers, which are held while parents or, other relatives, and caregivers​

34.32 attend parent education classes;​
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35.1 (4) information on related community resources;​

35.2 (5) information, materials, and activities that support the safety of children, including​

35.3 prevention of child abuse and neglect;​

35.4 (6) a community needs assessment that identifies new and underserved populations,​

35.5 identifies child and family risk factors, particularly those that impact children's learning and​

35.6 development, and assesses family and parenting education needs in the community;​

35.7 (7) programming and services that are tailored to the needs of families and parents​

35.8 prioritized in the community needs assessment; and​

35.9 (8) information about and, if needed, assist in making arrangements for an early childhood​

35.10 health and developmental screening under sections 121A.16 and 121A.17, when the child​

35.11 nears the third birthday.​

35.12 Early childhood family education programs should prioritize programming and services​

35.13 for families and parents identified in the community needs assessment, particularly those​

35.14 families and parents with children with the most risk factors birth to age three.​

35.15 Early childhood family education programs are encouraged to provide parents of English​

35.16 learners with translated oral and written information to monitor the program's impact on​

35.17 their children's English language development, to know whether their children are progressing​

35.18 in developing their English and native language proficiency, and to actively engage with​

35.19 and support their children in developing their English and native language proficiency.​

35.20 The programs must include learning experiences for children, parents, and other relatives,​

35.21 and caregivers that promote children's early literacy and, where practicable, their native​

35.22 language skills and activities for children that require substantial involvement of the children's​

35.23 parents or other relatives. The program may provide parenting education programming or​

35.24 services to anyone identified in the community needs assessment. Providers must review​

35.25 the program periodically to assure the instruction and materials are not racially, culturally,​

35.26 or sexually biased. The programs must encourage parents to be aware of practices that may​

35.27 affect equitable development of children.​

35.28 (b) For the purposes of this section, "relative" or "relatives" means noncustodial​

35.29 grandparents or other persons related to a child by blood, marriage, adoption, or foster​

35.30 placement, excluding parents.​
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36.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

36.2 Subd. 3. Substantial parental involvement. The requirement of substantial parental​

36.3 or, other relative, or caregiver involvement in subdivision 2 means that:​

36.4 (a) (1) parents or, other relatives, or caregivers must be physically present much of the​

36.5 time in classes with their children or be in concurrent classes;​

36.6 (b) (2) parenting education or family education must be an integral part of every early​

36.7 childhood family education program;​

36.8 (c) (3) early childhood family education appropriations must not be used for traditional​

36.9 day care or nursery school, or similar programs; and​

36.10 (d) (4) the form of parent involvement common to kindergarten, elementary school, or​

36.11 early childhood special education programs such as parent conferences, newsletters, and​

36.12 notes to parents do not qualify a program under subdivision 2.​

36.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.141, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

36.14 Subd. 2. Additional duties. The following duties are added to those assigned to the​

36.15 council under federal law:​

36.16 (1) make recommendations on the most efficient and effective way to leverage state and​

36.17 federal funding streams for early childhood and child care programs;​

36.18 (2) make recommendations on how to coordinate or colocate early childhood and child​

36.19 care programs in one state Office of Early Learning. The council shall establish a task force​

36.20 to develop these recommendations. The task force shall include two nonexecutive branch​

36.21 or nonlegislative branch representatives from the council; six representatives from the early​

36.22 childhood caucus; two representatives each from the Departments of Education, Human​

36.23 Services, and Health; one representative each from a local public health agency, a local​

36.24 county human services agency, and a school district; and two representatives from the​

36.25 private nonprofit organizations that support early childhood programs in Minnesota. In​

36.26 developing recommendations in coordination with existing efforts of the council, the task​

36.27 force shall consider how to:​

36.28 (i) consolidate and coordinate resources and public funding streams for early childhood​

36.29 education and child care, and ensure the accountability and coordinated development of all​

36.30 early childhood education and child care services to children from birth to kindergarten​

36.31 entrance;​

36.32 (ii) create a seamless transition from early childhood programs to kindergarten;​
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37.1 (iii) encourage family choice by ensuring a mixed system of high-quality public and​

37.2 private programs, with local points of entry, staffed by well-qualified professionals;​

37.3 (iv) ensure parents a decisive role in the planning, operation, and evaluation of programs​

37.4 that aid families in the care of children;​

37.5 (v) provide consumer education and accessibility to early childhood education and child​

37.6 care resources;​

37.7 (vi) advance the quality of early childhood education and child care programs in order​

37.8 to support the healthy development of children and preparation for their success in school;​

37.9 (vii) develop a seamless service delivery system with local points of entry for early​

37.10 childhood education and child care programs administered by local, state, and federal​

37.11 agencies;​

37.12 (viii) ensure effective collaboration between state and local child welfare programs and​

37.13 early childhood mental health programs and the Office of Early Learning;​

37.14 (ix) develop and manage an effective data collection system to support the necessary​

37.15 functions of a coordinated system of early childhood education and child care in order to​

37.16 enable accurate evaluation of its impact;​

37.17 (x) respect and be sensitive to family values and cultural heritage; and​

37.18 (xi) establish the administrative framework for and promote the development of early​

37.19 childhood education and child care services in order to provide that these services, staffed​

37.20 by well-qualified professionals, are available in every community for all families that express​

37.21 a need for them.​

37.22 In addition, the task force must consider the following responsibilities for transfer to the​

37.23 Office of Early Learning:​

37.24 (A) responsibilities of the commissioner of education for early childhood education​

37.25 programs and financing under sections 119A.50 to 119A.535, 121A.16 to 121A.19, and​

37.26 124D.129 to 124D.2211;​

37.27 (B) responsibilities of the commissioner of human services for child care assistance,​

37.28 child care development, and early childhood learning and child protection facilities programs​

37.29 and financing under chapter 119B and section 256E.37; and​

37.30 (C) responsibilities of the commissioner of health for family home visiting programs​

37.31 and financing under section 145A.17.​
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38.1 Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must be paid from​

38.2 private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed in making these​

38.3 recommendations. The council must report its recommendations to the governor and the​

38.4 legislature by January 15, 2011;​

38.5 (3) (2) review program evaluations regarding high-quality early childhood programs;​

38.6 (4) (3) make recommendations to the governor and legislature, including proposed​

38.7 legislation on how to most effectively create a high-quality early childhood system in​

38.8 Minnesota in order to improve the educational outcomes of children so that all children are​

38.9 school-ready by 2020; and​

38.10 (5) make recommendations to the governor and the legislature by March 1, 2011, on the​

38.11 creation and implementation of a statewide school readiness report card to monitor progress​

38.12 toward the goal of having all children ready for kindergarten by the year 2020. The​

38.13 recommendations shall include what should be measured including both children and system​

38.14 indicators, what benchmarks should be established to measure state progress toward the​

38.15 goal, and how frequently the report card should be published. In making their​

38.16 recommendations, the council shall consider the indicators and strategies for Minnesota's​

38.17 early childhood system report, the Minnesota school readiness study, developmental​

38.18 assessment at kindergarten entrance, and the work of the council's accountability committee.​

38.19 Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must be paid from​

38.20 private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed in making these​

38.21 recommendations; and​

38.22 (6) make recommendations to the governor and the legislature on how to screen earlier​

38.23 and comprehensively assess children for school readiness in order to provide increased early​

38.24 interventions and increase the number of children ready for kindergarten. In formulating​

38.25 their recommendations, the council shall consider (i) ways to interface with parents of​

38.26 children who are not participating in early childhood education or care programs, (ii) ways​

38.27 to interface with family child care providers, child care centers, and school-based early​

38.28 childhood and Head Start programs, (iii) if there are age-appropriate and culturally sensitive​

38.29 screening and assessment tools for three-, four-, and five-year-olds, (iv) the role of the​

38.30 medical community in screening, (v) incentives for parents to have children screened at an​

38.31 earlier age, (vi) incentives for early education and care providers to comprehensively assess​

38.32 children in order to improve instructional practice, (vii) how to phase in increases in screening​

38.33 and assessment over time, (viii) how the screening and assessment data will be collected​

38.34 and used and who will have access to the data, (ix) how to monitor progress toward the goal​

38.35 of having 50 percent of three-year-old children screened and 50 percent of entering​
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39.1 kindergarteners assessed for school readiness by 2015 and 100 percent of three-year-old​

39.2 children screened and entering kindergarteners assessed for school readiness by 2020, and​

39.3 (x) costs to meet these benchmarks. The council shall consider the screening instruments​

39.4 and comprehensive assessment tools used in Minnesota early childhood education and care​

39.5 programs and kindergarten. The council may survey early childhood education and care​

39.6 programs in the state to determine the screening and assessment tools being used or rely on​

39.7 previously collected survey data, if available. For purposes of this subdivision, "school​

39.8 readiness" is defined as the child's skills, knowledge, and behaviors at kindergarten entrance​

39.9 in these areas of child development: social; self-regulation; cognitive, including language,​

39.10 literacy, and mathematical thinking; and physical. For purposes of this subdivision,​

39.11 "screening" is defined as the activities used to identify a child who may need further​

39.12 evaluation to determine delay in development or disability. For purposes of this subdivision,​

39.13 "assessment" is defined as the activities used to determine a child's level of performance in​

39.14 order to promote the child's learning and development. Work on this duty will begin in​

39.15 fiscal year 2012. Any costs incurred by the council in making these recommendations must​

39.16 be paid from private funds. If no private funds are received, the council must not proceed​

39.17 in making these recommendations. The council must report its recommendations to the​

39.18 governor and legislature by January 15, 2013, with an interim report on February 15, 2011.​

39.19 (4) review and provide input on the recommendations and implementation timelines​

39.20 developed by the Great Start For All Minnesota Children Task Force under Laws 2021,​

39.21 First Special Session chapter 7, article 14, section 18, subdivision 2.​

39.22 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.165, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

39.23 Subd. 2. Family eligibility. (a) For a family to receive an early learning scholarship,​

39.24 parents or guardians must have an eligible child and meet at least one of the following​

39.25 eligibility requirements:​

39.26 (1) have an eligible child; and​

39.27 (2) (1) have income equal to or less than 185 percent of federal poverty level income in​

39.28 the current calendar year, or;​

39.29 (2) be able to document their child's current participation in the free and reduced-price​

39.30 lunch meal program or Child and Adult Care Food Program, National School Lunch Act,​

39.31 United States Code, title 42, sections 1751 and 1766; the Food Distribution Program on​

39.32 Indian Reservations, Food and Nutrition Act, United States Code, title 7, sections 2011-2036;​

39.33 Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007;​
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40.1 Minnesota family investment program under chapter 256J; child care assistance programs​

40.2 under chapter 119B; the supplemental nutrition assistance program; or placement​

40.3 (3) have a child referred as in need of child protective services or placed in foster care​

40.4 under section 260C.212.​

40.5 (b) An "eligible child" means a child who has not yet enrolled in kindergarten and is:​

40.6 (1) at least three but not yet five years of age on September 1 of the current school year;.​

40.7 (2) a sibling from birth to age five of a child who has been awarded a scholarship under​

40.8 this section provided the sibling attends the same program as long as funds are available;​

40.9 (3) the child of a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school degree or a course​

40.10 of study for a high school equivalency test; or​

40.11 (4) homeless, in foster care, or in need of child protective services.​

40.12 (c) A child who has received a scholarship under this section must continue to receive​

40.13 a scholarship each year until that child is eligible for kindergarten under section 120A.20​

40.14 and as long as funds are available.​

40.15 (d) Early learning scholarships may not be counted as earned income for the purposes​

40.16 of medical assistance under chapter 256B, MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L, Minnesota​

40.17 family investment program under chapter 256J, child care assistance programs under chapter​

40.18 119B, or Head Start under the federal Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of​

40.19 2007.​

40.20 (e) A child from an adjoining state whose family resides at a Minnesota address as​

40.21 assigned by the United States Postal Service, who has received developmental screening​

40.22 under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19, who intends to enroll in a Minnesota school district,​

40.23 and whose family meets the criteria of paragraph (a) is eligible for an early learning​

40.24 scholarship under this section.​

40.25 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.165, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

40.26 Subd. 3. Administration. (a) The commissioner shall establish application timelines​

40.27 and determine the schedule for awarding scholarships that meets operational needs of eligible​

40.28 families and programs. The commissioner must give highest priority to applications from​

40.29 children who:​

40.30 (1) are not yet four years of age;​
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41.1 (1) (2) have a parent under age 21 who is pursuing a high school diploma or a course of​

41.2 study for a high school equivalency test;​

41.3 (2) (3) are in foster care or otherwise;​

41.4 (4) have been referred as in need of child protection or services; or​

41.5 (5) have an incarcerated parent; or​

41.6 (3) (6) have experienced homelessness in the last 24 months, as defined under the federal​

41.7 McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, United States Code, title 42, section 11434a.​

41.8 (b) The commissioner may prioritize applications on additional factors including family​

41.9 income, geographic location, and whether the child's family is on a waiting list for a publicly​

41.10 funded program providing early education or child care services.​

41.11 (b) (c) The commissioner shall establish a target for the average scholarship amount per​

41.12 child based on the results of the rate survey conducted under section 119B.02.​

41.13 (c) A four-star rated program that has children eligible for a scholarship enrolled in or​

41.14 on a waiting list for a program beginning in July, August, or September may notify the​

41.15 commissioner, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner, each year of the​

41.16 program's desire to enhance program services or to serve more children than current funding​

41.17 provides. The commissioner may designate a predetermined number of scholarship slots​

41.18 for that program and notify the program of that number. For fiscal year 2018 and later, the​

41.19 statewide amount of funding directly designated by the commissioner must not exceed the​

41.20 funding directly designated for fiscal year 2017. Beginning July 1, 2016, a school district​

41.21 or Head Start program qualifying under this paragraph may use its established registration​

41.22 process to enroll scholarship recipients and may verify a scholarship recipient's family​

41.23 income in the same manner as for other program participants.​

41.24 (d) The commissioner may establish exploratory efforts to increase parent education​

41.25 and family support services to families receiving early learning scholarships such as including​

41.26 home visits and parent education services.​

41.27 (d) (e) A scholarship is awarded for a 12-month period. If the scholarship recipient has​

41.28 not been accepted and subsequently enrolled in a rated program within ten three months of​

41.29 the awarding of the scholarship, the scholarship cancels and the recipient must reapply in​

41.30 order to be eligible for another scholarship. An extension may be requested if a program is​

41.31 unavailable for the child within the three-month timeline. A child may not be awarded more​

41.32 than one scholarship in a 12-month period.​

41​Article 5 Sec. 11.​

HOUSE RESEARCH AM/BV H4735DE2​04/04/22 12:48 pm ​



42.1 (e) (f) A child who receives a scholarship who has not completed development screening​

42.2 under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19 must complete that screening within 90 days of first​

42.3 attending an eligible program or within 90 days after the child's third birthday if awarded​

42.4 a scholarship under the age of three.​

42.5 (f) For fiscal year 2017 and later, a school district or Head Start program enrolling​

42.6 scholarship recipients under paragraph (c) may apply to the commissioner, in the form and​

42.7 manner prescribed by the commissioner, for direct payment of state aid. Upon receipt of​

42.8 the application, the commissioner must pay each program directly for each approved​

42.9 scholarship recipient enrolled under paragraph (c) according to the metered payment system​

42.10 or another schedule established by the commissioner.​

42.11 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 124D.59, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

42.12 Subd. 2. English learner. (a) "English learner" means a pupil in kindergarten through​

42.13 grade 12, an early childhood special education student under Part B, section 619, of the​

42.14 Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, United States Code, title 20, section 1419, or​

42.15 a prekindergarten student enrolled in an approved voluntary prekindergarten program under​

42.16 section 124D.151 or a school readiness plus program who meets the requirements under​

42.17 subdivision 2a or the following requirements:​

42.18 (1) the pupil, as declared by a parent or guardian first learned a language other than​

42.19 English, comes from a home where the language usually spoken is other than English, or​

42.20 usually speaks a language other than English; and​

42.21 (2) the pupil is determined by a valid assessment measuring the pupil's English language​

42.22 proficiency and by developmentally appropriate measures, which might include observations,​

42.23 teacher judgment, parent recommendations, or developmentally appropriate assessment​

42.24 instruments, to lack the necessary English skills to participate fully in academic classes​

42.25 taught in English.​

42.26 (b) A pupil enrolled in a Minnesota public school in any grade 4 through 12 who in the​

42.27 previous school year took a commissioner-provided assessment measuring the pupil's​

42.28 emerging academic English, shall be counted as an English learner in calculating English​

42.29 learner pupil units under section 126C.05, subdivision 17, and shall generate state English​

42.30 learner aid under section 124D.65, subdivision 5, if the pupil scored below the state cutoff​

42.31 score or is otherwise counted as a nonproficient participant on the assessment measuring​

42.32 the pupil's emerging academic English, or, in the judgment of the pupil's classroom teachers,​

42.33 consistent with section 124D.61, clause (1), the pupil is unable to demonstrate academic​
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43.1 language proficiency in English, including oral academic language, sufficient to successfully​

43.2 and fully participate in the general core curriculum in the regular classroom.​

43.3 (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), a pupil in early childhood special education​

43.4 or prekindergarten under section 124D.151, through grade 12 shall not be counted as an​

43.5 English learner in calculating English learner pupil units under section 126C.05, subdivision​

43.6 17, and shall not generate state English learner aid under section 124D.65, subdivision 5,​

43.7 if:​

43.8 (1) the pupil is not enrolled during the current fiscal year in an educational program for​

43.9 English learners under sections 124D.58 to 124D.64; or​

43.10 (2) the pupil has generated seven or more years of average daily membership in Minnesota​

43.11 public schools since July 1, 1996.​

43.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2023 and later.​

43.13 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 245.4889, subdivision 1, is amended​

43.14 to read:​

43.15 Subdivision 1. Establishment and authority. (a) The commissioner is authorized to​

43.16 make grants from available appropriations to assist:​

43.17 (1) counties;​

43.18 (2) Indian tribes;​

43.19 (3) children's collaboratives under section 124D.23 or 245.493; or​

43.20 (4) mental health service providers.; or​

43.21 (5) school districts and charter schools.​

43.22 (b) The following services are eligible for grants under this section:​

43.23 (1) services to children with emotional disturbances as defined in section 245.4871,​

43.24 subdivision 15, and their families;​

43.25 (2) transition services under section 245.4875, subdivision 8, for young adults under​

43.26 age 21 and their families;​

43.27 (3) respite care services for children with emotional disturbances or severe emotional​

43.28 disturbances who are at risk of out-of-home placement. A child is not required to have case​

43.29 management services to receive respite care services;​

43.30 (4) children's mental health crisis services;​
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44.1 (5) mental health services for people from cultural and ethnic minorities, including​

44.2 supervision of clinical trainees who are Black, indigenous, or people of color;​

44.3 (6) children's mental health screening and follow-up diagnostic assessment and treatment;​

44.4 (7) services to promote and develop the capacity of providers to use evidence-based​

44.5 practices in providing children's mental health services;​

44.6 (8) school-linked mental health services under section 245.4901;​

44.7 (9) building evidence-based mental health intervention capacity for children birth to age​

44.8 five;​

44.9 (10) suicide prevention and counseling services that use text messaging statewide;​

44.10 (11) mental health first aid training;​

44.11 (12) training for parents, collaborative partners, and mental health providers on the​

44.12 impact of adverse childhood experiences and trauma and development of an interactive​

44.13 website to share information and strategies to promote resilience and prevent trauma;​

44.14 (13) transition age services to develop or expand mental health treatment and supports​

44.15 for adolescents and young adults 26 years of age or younger;​

44.16 (14) early childhood mental health consultation;​

44.17 (15) evidence-based interventions for youth at risk of developing or experiencing a first​

44.18 episode of psychosis, and a public awareness campaign on the signs and symptoms of​

44.19 psychosis;​

44.20 (16) psychiatric consultation for primary care practitioners; and​

44.21 (17) providers to begin operations and meet program requirements when establishing a​

44.22 new children's mental health program. These may be start-up grants.​

44.23 (c) Services under paragraph (b) must be designed to help each child to function and​

44.24 remain with the child's family in the community and delivered consistent with the child's​

44.25 treatment plan. Transition services to eligible young adults under this paragraph must be​

44.26 designed to foster independent living in the community.​

44.27 (d) As a condition of receiving grant funds, a grantee shall obtain all available third-party​

44.28 reimbursement sources, if applicable.​
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45.1 ARTICLE 6​

45.2 EDUCATION APPROPRIATIONS​

45.3 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

45.4 Subdivision 1. Department of Education. The sums indicated in this section are​

45.5 appropriated from the general fund to the Department of Education for the fiscal years​

45.6 designated.​

45.7 Subd. 2. Mental health services and early childhood social workers. (a) For grants​

45.8 to fund social workers focused solely on early childhood systems that strengthen early​

45.9 childhood programs and improve outcomes for participating children and families.​

2022​.....​0​45.10 $​

2023​.....​2,500,000​45.11 $​

45.12 (b) Eligible applicants are school districts and charter schools with early learning​

45.13 programs that may include but are not limited to Head Start, early Head Start, and early​

45.14 intervention programs serving children from birth to kindergarten that:​

45.15 (1) implement a family partnership process to support family well-being, family safety,​

45.16 health, and economic stability;​

45.17 (2) identify family strengths and needs using the Head Start Parent Family and​

45.18 Community Engagement Framework;​

45.19 (3) offer individualized family partnership services in collaboration with families; and​

45.20 (4) offer support services in collaboration or colocation with mental health practitioners​

45.21 to provide training, coaching, or skill building to early learning staff and parents.​

45.22 (c) This appropriation is in addition to any other federal funds a grantee receives for this​

45.23 purpose.​

45.24 (d) Any balance in the first year does not cancel and is available in the second year.​

45.25 (e) Up to five percent of this appropriation may be retained for grant administration​

45.26 costs.​

45.27 Subd. 3. Infant and early childhood mental health consultation in schools. (a) For​

45.28 transfer to the commissioner of human services for grants to create an early childhood mental​

45.29 health system of care in schools under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4889, subdivision​

45.30 1, paragraph (a), clause (5).​
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2022​.....​0​46.1 $​

2023​.....​3,759,000​46.2 $​

46.3 (b) Of this amount, $3,350,000 is available for grants. Eligible uses include services​

46.4 under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4889, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (14).​

46.5 (c) Any balance in the first year does not cancel and is available in the second year.​

46.6 Subd. 4. Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator programs. (a) For grants to​

46.7 develop, continue, or expand the Grow Your Own Early Childhood Educator program under​

46.8 Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.731:​

2022​.....​0​46.9 $​

2023​.....​3,860,000​46.10 $​

46.11 (b) This appropriation is subject to the requirements under section 122A.731, subdivision​

46.12 4.​

46.13 (c) The base for fiscal year 2024 and later is $3,805,000.​

46.14 Subd. 5. Early childhood family education licensure grant. (a) For a grant to the​

46.15 University of Minnesota to provide scholarships for prospective teachers enrolled in the​

46.16 parent and family education licensure program to cover the cost of attendance in the program:​

2022​.....​0​46.17 $​

2023​.....​177,000​46.18 $​

46.19 (b) The commissioner may award additional grants to other postsecondary institutions​

46.20 with parent and family education licensure programs if funds are available.​

46.21 (c) A grant application must at least include:​

46.22 (1) the in-kind, coordination, and mentorship services to be provided by the postsecondary​

46.23 institution;​

46.24 (2) the process for identifying and recruiting prospective teachers who represent known​

46.25 parent and family education teacher licensure shortage areas, both demographic and​

46.26 geographic;​

46.27 (3) the process for coordinating with school districts to support prospective teachers in​

46.28 completing a licensure program or working in an early childhood family education program;​

46.29 and​

46.30 (4) the process for prioritizing and awarding scholarships to students.​
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47.1 (d) A grant recipient must report in a form and manner determined by the commissioner​

47.2 on their activities under this subdivision, including the number of participants; the percentage​

47.3 of participants who are of color or American Indian; the percentage of participants who​

47.4 reside in, or will be employed in, school districts located in the rural equity region as defined​

47.5 in Minnesota Statutes, section 126C.10, subdivision 28; an assessment of program​

47.6 effectiveness, including participant feedback and areas of improvement; the percentage of​

47.7 participants continuing to pursue parent and family education licensure; and where applicable,​

47.8 the number of participants hired in a district as parent and family education teachers after​

47.9 completing the preparation program.​

47.10 (e) The base for fiscal year 2024 is $177,000. The base for fiscal year 2025 is $0.​

47.11 Subd. 6. Executive function across generations curriculum grant. (a) For a grant to​

47.12 the family partnership for an executive function curriculum pilot program:​

2023​.....​450,000​47.13 $​

47.14 (b) The family partnership must establish 15 sites across Minnesota to provide executive​

47.15 function across generations curriculum. The sites must be spread across the state and include​

47.16 rural, suburban, and urban early education and care providers, organizations providing home​

47.17 visiting services, or parenting groups in high-risk communities. The family partnership must​

47.18 report to the legislature by December 15, 2022, and December 15, 2023, on the progress​

47.19 made to expand the executive function curriculum across Minnesota.​

47.20 (c) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.​

47.21 Subd. 7. Reach Out and Read Minnesota. (a) For a grant to support Reach Out and​

47.22 Read Minnesota to establish a statewide plan that encourages early childhood development​

47.23 through a network of health care clinics:​

2023​.....​250,000​47.24 $​

47.25 (b) The grant recipient must develop and implement a plan that includes:​

47.26 (1) integrating children's books and parent education into well-child visits;​

47.27 (2) creating literacy-rich environments at clinics, including books for visits outside of​

47.28 Reach Out and Read Minnesota parameters or for waiting room use or volunteer readers to​

47.29 model read-aloud techniques for parents where possible;​

47.30 (3) working with public health clinics, federally qualified health centers, tribal sites,​

47.31 community health centers, and clinics that belong to health care systems, as well as​

47.32 independent clinics in underserved areas; and​
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48.1 (4) training medical professionals on speaking with parents of infants, toddlers, and​

48.2 preschoolers on the importance of early literacy.​

48.3 (c) The base for fiscal year 2024 and later is $250,000.​

48.4 (d) The plan must be fully implemented on a statewide basis by 2029.​

48.5 Subd. 8. Minnesota Children's Museum. (a) For a grant to the Minnesota's Children​

48.6 Museum for operating costs:​

2023​.....​2,000,000​48.7 $​

48.8 (b) The appropriation in paragraph (a) must be used by the Minnesota Children's Museum​

48.9 to aid in the recovery of general operations and programming losses due to COVID-19.​

48.10 (c) The appropriation is in addition to the appropriation in Laws 2021, First Special​

48.11 Session chapter 13, article 2, section 4, subdivision 18.​

48.12 (d) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.​

48.13 Subd. 9. Children's asset building program. (a) For a matching grant to the Saint Paul​

48.14 and Minnesota Foundation to support a children's asset building program that: (1) creates​

48.15 a savings account for every child born to a resident of the city of St. Paul during the time​

48.16 period for which funds are available; and (2) supports financial education for families on​

48.17 their child's college and career pathway:​

2023​.....​250,000​48.18 $​

48.19 (b) Grant money provided under this subdivision must be matched with money from​

48.20 nonstate sources.​

48.21 (c) By February 15, 2025, the Saint Paul and Minnesota Foundation must submit a report​

48.22 on the children's asset building program to the commissioner of education and to legislative​

48.23 committees with jurisdiction over early care and learning. At a minimum, the report must​

48.24 provide a detailed review of the program's design and features, including program outcomes,​

48.25 funding, financial education programming activities, and program marketing, outreach, and​

48.26 engagement activities.​

48.27 (d) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2025.​

48.28 Subd. 10. Early Childhood Family Education Office. (a) For two full-time equivalent​

48.29 staff and for operational expenses to provide support and guidance for early childhood​

48.30 family education programs:​

2023​.....​300,000​48.31 $​

48​Article 6 Section 1.​
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49.1 (b) Each staff member must hold a valid license as a teacher of parent and family​

49.2 education.​

49.3 (c) The base in fiscal year 2024 and later is $300,000.​

49.4 Sec. 2. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 1, section 10, subdivision 2,​

49.5 is amended to read:​

49.6 Subd. 2. General education aid. For general education aid under Minnesota Statutes,​

49.7 section 126C.13, subdivision 4:​

2022​.....​
49.8 7,569,266,000​

7,484,917,000​49.9 $​

2023​.....​
49.10 7,804,527,000​

7,688,824,000​49.11 $​

49.12 The 2022 appropriation includes $717,326,000 for 2021 and $6,851,940,000​

49.13 $6,767,591,000 for 2022.​

49.14 The 2023 appropriation includes $734,520,000 $751,955,000 for 2022 and​

49.15 $7,070,007,000 $6,936,869,000 for 2023.​

49.16 Sec. 3. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 8, section 3, subdivision 3, is​

49.17 amended to read:​

49.18 Subd. 3. School breakfast. For traditional school breakfast aid under Minnesota Statutes,​

49.19 section 124D.1158:​

2022​.....​
49.20 11,848,000​

20,000​49.21 $​

2023​.....​
49.22 12,200,000​

10,691,000​49.23 $​

49.24 Sec. 4. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 9, section 4, subdivision 3, is​

49.25 amended to read:​

49.26 Subd. 3. Early learning scholarships. (a) For the early learning scholarship program​

49.27 under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165:​

2022​.....​70,709,000​49.28 $​

2023​.....​
49.29 70,709,000​

180,709,000​49.30 $​

49.31 (b) This appropriation is subject to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section​

49.32 124D.165, subdivision 6.​

49​Article 6 Sec. 4.​
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50.1 (c) The base for fiscal year 2024 is $105,709,000 and the base for fiscal year 2025 is​

50.2 $105,709,000.​

50.3 Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 9, section 4, subdivision 4, is​

50.4 amended to read:​

50.5 Subd. 4. Head Start program. (a) For Head Start programs under Minnesota Statutes,​

50.6 section 119A.52:​

2022​.....​25,100,000​50.7 $​

2023​.....​
50.8 25,100,000​

35,100,000​50.9 $​

50.10 (b) The base for fiscal year 2024 and later is $35,100,000.​

50.11 (c) At least $10,000,000 in each fiscal year is for Early Head Start programs.​

50.12 Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 13, article 9, section 4, subdivision 6, is​

50.13 amended to read:​

50.14 Subd. 6. Developmental screening aid. (a) For developmental screening aid under​

50.15 Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.17 and 121A.19:​

2022​.....​
50.16 3,582,000​

3,655,000​50.17 $​

2023​.....​
50.18 3,476,000​

4,560,000​50.19 $​

50.20 (b) The 2022 appropriation includes $360,000 for 2021 and $3,222,000 $3,295,000 for​

50.21 2022.​

50.22 (c) The 2023 appropriation includes $357,000 $366,000 for 2022 and $3,119,000​

50.23 $4,194,000 for 2023."​

50.24 Amend the title accordingly​

50​Article 6 Sec. 6.​
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