

March 22, 2021

Representative Mike Sundin House Agriculture Finance & Policy Committee Chair 417 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Chair Sundin and Members of the House Agriculture Committee:

We are writing today to express our strong opposition to the following bills under consideration by your Committee on Monday, March 22, 2021:

- HF 670 (Morrison) banning the sale, use and application of chlorpyrifos
- HF 766 (Hansen) requiring additional seed label information and stewardship
- HF 1450 (Hansen) increases gross sale fee of and establishes compensation program for dicamba
- HF 408 (Hansen) increases lethal insecticide fee for and revenue allocated to pollinator research

Agriculture is our state's second largest economic driver contributing billions of dollars and tens of thousands of jobs to the Minnesota economy.

The undersigned organizations represent thousands of those employees including farmers, member-owned cooperatives, crop technology providers, agricultural firms, and agri-food processors. Our industry has worked together for decades, along with our national organizations and state and federal agencies to make input into and to adhere to federal and state guidelines regulating the products covered in the above-referenced bills.

Each of the bills individually and all of them together demonstrate a complete lack of regard for and respect of not only EPA's existing federal regulations, but also the role and oversight provided by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture. Together, these bills represent an attack on safe, effective technologies already regulated under federal law, and undermines the science-based foundation of those processes and guidelines. Moreover, recommended changes (such as on seed labels) would violate interstate commerce laws.

These bills demonstrate an insensitivity to the role of agriculture to our state and our state's economy, but also to the hard-working men and women who are the farmers and workers supporting the rural economies of greater Minnesota.

As an industry, we urge you to oppose all of the bills noted in this letter.

Respectfully,

Minnesota AgriGrowth Council
American Crystal Sugar Company
BASF
Bayer
Biotechnology Innovation Organization
Corteva
Midwest Food Products Association
Minnesota Crop Production Retailers
Southern Minnesota Beet Sugar Cooperative
Syngenta