Dear House and Senate Higher Education Conference Committee Members,





On behalf of the Minnesota Association for Private College Students (MAPCS)

and the Council of Student Government Presidents, we thank you for the opportunity to engage with legislators regarding the Minnesota State Grant this session. We would also like to thank legislators for giving students the opportunity to express their support for the State Grant program through meetings and conversations. It is through your work that challenges are addressed in our state, including providing students with the opportunity to pursue higher education.

We appreciate the Senate's \$104.5 million investment in the State Grant program. This investment addresses half the projected deficit that would initially be cut over the next biennium. The reductions to grants without increased funding in the program would substantially impact students enrolling in or already attending college. We would also like to thank the House Higher Education Committee for investing \$34 million in State Grants. We appreciate the committee's efforts despite having no new money to spend.

We are concerned with the House proposal to remove the post-secondary emergency assistance grants for nonprofit and tribal colleges. We urge the committee to reconsider this proposal and adopt the Senate position, as this will inequitably impact students who attend these institutions. In 2024, eight of our institutions received emergency assistance funds, helping students enrolled in college on campuses from Moorhead to St. Peter and in between.

We also urge the committee to reconsider the House's proposed limitation on recognized tuition in the State Grant formula which would only impact students attending private nonprofit colleges and the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities campus.

We appreciate the House and Senate maintaining the Hunger Free Campus program and grant funding. MAPCS worked for several years to access this important program, and the continuation of the program is a priority for us.

On behalf of thousands of students that we represent, thank you for your support of the Minnesota State Grant program this year and all the work that was done to address the shortfall. We hope the committee will continue to address some of the persistent inequalities in our state and the future of Minnesota students. Through your efforts and commitment, Minnesota continues to be a better place for everyone.

Sincerely,

Victoire Mwakana, Student Government Official and MAPCS Legislative Affairs Chair, University of St. Thomas Ben Bugbee, Student Body President and MAPCS Co-Chair, College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University Elena Osmanllari, Student Body Vice President and MAPCS Co-Chair, Bethany Lutheran College Daniel Fapohunda, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Augsburg University Salma Caamir, Student Body Vice President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Augsburg University Jamma Jiggo, MAPCS representative, Augsburg University

Everett Parker, MAPCS representative, Augsburg University

Devon Standingstrong, MAPCS representative, Augsburg University

Ashley Casper, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Bethany Lutheran College Mild Du, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Bethel University

Vivian Agugo, Incoming Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Carleton College Kobe Forbes, Incoming Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University

Madelyn Ploof, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, The College of St. Scholastica Ellie Norvitch, MAPCS representative, The College of St. Scholastica

Grace Halvorson, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Concordia College
Rachel Huynh, Incoming Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Concordia College
Denya Jada, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Concordia University, St. Paul
Brendan Frazier, Incoming Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Concordia University, St.
Paul

Josie Russell, MAPCS representative, Concordia University, St. Paul

Chance Korpela, Student Body Co-President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Gustavus Adolphus College Robby Swenson, Student Body Co-President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Gustavus Adolphus College Eleanor Charlson, Student Government Official, MAPCS representative, Gustavus Adolphus College Elisa Lopez, External Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Hamline University Anabel Bradley, Incoming Internal Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Hamline University

Joel Sadofsky, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Macalester College Mena Feleke, Student Body Vice President, MAPCS representative, Macalester College

Sarah Dyar, MAPCS representative, Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Isa Estrada, MAPCS representative, Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Maggie Newhouse, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Caden Boyer, Student Government Vice President of Public Affairs, MAPCS representative, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Reese Heitzman, Incoming Student Government Vice President of Public Affairs, MAPCS representative, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Madeline Bjonskaas, Senate Official, MAPCS representative, St. Catherine University

Ingrid Rustad, MAPCS representative, St. Olaf College

Lydia Svien, MAPCS representative, St. Olaf College

Aisling Cox, MAPCS representative, St. Olaf College

Josiah Olson, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, University of Northwestern – St. Paul Jake Manske, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, University of St. Thomas

CC: Commissioner Dennis Olson, Office of Higher Education Nekey Oliver, Office of Higher Education Nicauris Heredia Rosario, Governor Walz's Office