CLIMATE AND ENERGY FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Patty Acomb, Chair of the Committee on Climate and Energy Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:00PM on January 17, 2023 in Room 200 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

ACOMB, Patty, Chair KRAFT, Larry, Vice Chair SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Republican Lead ALTENDORF, Pam BIERMAN, Robert CARROLL, Ned DAVIS, Ben GAROFALO, Pat HEMMINGSEN-JAEGER, Amanda HOLLINS, Athena HORNSTEIN, Frank IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane NEWTON, Jerry O'NEILL, Marion REHM, Lucy STEPHENSON, Zack

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Kraft moved that the minutes of January 10, 2023, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 49 (Richardson); Renewable development account grantees and utilities required to submit an annual diversity report.

Chair Acomb moved HF 49.

Chair Acomb moved the HF 49A1 Amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED</u>.

Representative Ruth Richardson presented HF 49, as amended.

Testifying on HF0049 As Amended:

- Mari Ojeda, Senior Policy Associate for Energy Access and Equity, Fresh Energy
- Jamez Staples, President and CEO, Renewable Energy Partners
- Shubha Harris, Principal Attorney, Xcel Energy
- Rick Evans, Director of Regional Government Affairs, Xcel Energy
- Jennifer Cady, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Minnesota Power
- John Pacheco, Chair, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
- Joshua Lewis, Climate Justice Organizer, Interfaith Power and Light

Representative Swedzinski moved the HF 49A3 Amendment. <u>THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL</u>. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Chair Acomb renewed the motion that HF 49 be laid over.

A series of presentations on a just and equitable energy transition were provided.

Presenters:

- Kathleen Schuler, Policy Director, Health Professionals for a Healthy Climate
- Anjali Bains, Lead Director for Energy Access and Equity, Fresh Energy
- Mari Ojeda, Senior Policy Associate for Energy Access and Equity, Fresh Energy
- Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board of Minnesota

| The meeting was adjourned at 4:28 PM. | |
|---------------------------------------|-----------------------------------|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | Representative Patty Acomb, Chair |
| | |

Chelsea Ray, Committee Legislative Assistant