1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

1.25

1.26

1.27

1.28

1.29

1.30

1.31

1.32

1.33

PROPERTY TAXES

ARTICLE ...

Section 1. Minnesota	Statutes 2020.	section 123B.595.	subdivision 3.	is amended to read:
Section 1. Minnesota	Statutes 2020.	SCCHOII 123D.393.	. Subulvišioli 5.	. 18 amenucu io reau.

Subd. 3. **Intermediate districts and other cooperative units.** (a) Upon approval through the adoption of a resolution by each member district school board of an intermediate district or other cooperative units unit under section 123A.24, subdivision 2, or a joint powers district under section 471.59, and the approval of the commissioner of education, a school district may include in its authority under this section a proportionate share of the long-term maintenance costs of the intermediate district or, cooperative unit, or joint powers district. The cooperative unit or joint powers district may issue bonds to finance the project costs or levy for the costs; using long-term maintenance revenue transferred from member districts to make debt service payments or pay project costs or, for leased facilities, pay the portion of lease costs attributable to the amortized cost of long-term facilities maintenance projects completed by the landlord. Authority under this subdivision is in addition to the authority for individual district projects under subdivision 1.

(b) The resolution adopted under paragraph (a) may specify which member districts will share the project costs under this subdivision, except that debt service payments for bonds issued by a cooperative unit or joint powers district to finance long-term maintenance project costs must be the responsibility of all member districts.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for revenue in fiscal year 2024 and later.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 126C.10, subdivision 2e, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2e. Local optional revenue. (a) For fiscal year 2021 and later, local optional revenue for a school district equals the sum of the district's first tier local optional revenue and second tier local optional revenue. A district's first tier local optional revenue equals \$300 times the adjusted pupil units of the district for that school year. A district's second tier local optional revenue equals \$424 times the adjusted pupil units of the district for that school year.
- (b) For fiscal year 2021 and later, a district's local optional levy equals the sum of the first tier local optional levy and the second tier local optional levy.
- (c) For fiscal years 2022 and 2023, a district's first tier local optional levy equals the district's first tier local optional revenue times the lesser of one or the ratio of the district's referendum market value per resident pupil unit to \$880,000. For fiscal year 2024 and later,

Article Sec. 2. 1

2.1	a district's first tier local optional levy equals the district's first tier local optional revenue
2.2	times the lesser of one or the ratio of the district's referendum market value per resident
2.3	pupil unit to 154.79 percent of the local optional revenue equalizing factor defined in
2.4	paragraph (d).
2.5	(d) A district's local optional revenue equalizing factor equals the quotient derived by
2.6	dividing the referendum market value of all school districts in the state for the year before
2.7	the year the levy is certified by the total number of resident pupil units in all school districts
2.8	in the state in the year before the year the levy is certified.
2.9	(d) (e) For fiscal year 2022, a district's second tier local optional levy equals the district's
2.10	second tier local optional revenue times the lesser of one or the ratio of the district's
2.11	referendum market value per resident pupil unit to \$510,000. For fiscal year 2023, a district's
2.12	second tier local optional levy equals the district's second tier local optional revenue times
2.13	the lesser of one or the ratio of the district's referendum market value per resident pupil unit
2.14	to \$548,842. For fiscal year 2024 and later, a district's second tier local optional levy equals
2.15	the district's second tier local optional revenue times the lesser of one or the ratio of the
2.16	district's referendum market value per resident pupil unit to \$510,000.
2.17	(e) (f) The local optional levy must be spread on referendum market value. A district
2.18	may levy less than the permitted amount.
2.19	$\frac{f}{g}$ A district's local optional aid equals its local optional revenue minus its local
2.20	optional levy. If a district's actual levy for first or second tier local optional revenue is less
2.21	than its maximum levy limit for that tier, its aid must be proportionately reduced.
2.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for revenue for fiscal year 2024 and later.
2.23	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 126C.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
2.24	Subdivision 1. To lease building or land. (a) When an independent or a special school
2.25	district or a group of independent or special school districts finds it economically
2.26	advantageous to rent or lease a building or land for any instructional purposes or for school
2.27	storage or furniture repair, and it determines that the operating capital revenue authorized
2.28	under section 126C.10, subdivision 13, is insufficient for this purpose, it may apply to the
2.29	commissioner for permission to make an additional capital expenditure levy for this purpose
2.30	An application for permission to levy under this subdivision must contain financial
2.31	justification for the proposed levy, the terms and conditions of the proposed lease, and a
2.32	description of the space to be leased and its proposed use.

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

3.31

3.32

3.33

- (b) The criteria for approval of applications to levy under this subdivision must include: the reasonableness of the price, the appropriateness of the space to the proposed activity, the feasibility of transporting pupils to the leased building or land, conformity of the lease to the laws and rules of the state of Minnesota, and the appropriateness of the proposed lease to the space needs and the financial condition of the district. The commissioner must not authorize a levy under this subdivision in an amount greater than the cost to the district of renting or leasing a building or land for approved purposes. The proceeds of this levy must not be used for custodial or other maintenance services. A district may not levy under this subdivision for the purpose of leasing or renting a district-owned building or site to itself.
- (c) For agreements finalized after July 1, 1997, a district may not levy under this subdivision for the purpose of leasing: (1) a newly constructed building used primarily for regular kindergarten, elementary, or secondary instruction; or (2) a newly constructed building addition or additions used primarily for regular kindergarten, elementary, or secondary instruction that contains more than 20 percent of the square footage of the previously existing building.
- (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a district may levy under this subdivision for the purpose of leasing or renting a district-owned building or site to itself only if the amount is needed by the district to make payments required by a lease purchase agreement, installment purchase agreement, or other deferred payments agreement authorized by law, and the levy meets the requirements of paragraph (c). A levy authorized for a district by the commissioner under this paragraph may be in the amount needed by the district to make payments required by a lease purchase agreement, installment purchase agreement, or other deferred payments agreement authorized by law, provided that any agreement include a provision giving the school districts the right to terminate the agreement annually without penalty.
- (e) The total levy under this subdivision for a district for any year must not exceed \$212 times the adjusted pupil units for the fiscal year to which the levy is attributable.
- (f) For agreements for which a review and comment have been submitted to the Department of Education after April 1, 1998, the term "instructional purpose" as used in this subdivision excludes expenditures on stadiums.
- (g) The commissioner of education may authorize a school district to exceed the limit in paragraph (e) if the school district petitions the commissioner for approval. The commissioner shall grant approval to a school district to exceed the limit in paragraph (e) for not more than five years if the district meets the following criteria:

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

4.33

- (1) the school district has been experiencing pupil enrollment growth in the preceding five years;
 - (2) the purpose of the increased levy is in the long-term public interest;
- (3) the purpose of the increased levy promotes colocation of government services; and
- 4.5 (4) the purpose of the increased levy is in the long-term interest of the district by avoiding4.6 over construction of school facilities.
 - (h) A school district that is a member of an intermediate school district or other cooperative unit under section 123A.24, subdivision 2, or a joint powers district under section 471.59 may include in its authority under this section the costs associated with leases of administrative and classroom space for intermediate school district programs of the intermediate school district or other cooperative unit under section 123A.24, subdivision 2, or joint powers district under section 471.59. This authority must not exceed \$65 times the adjusted pupil units of the member districts. This authority is in addition to any other authority authorized under this section. The intermediate school district, other cooperative unit, or joint powers district may specify which member districts will levy for lease costs under this paragraph.
 - (i) In addition to the allowable capital levies in paragraph (a), for taxes payable in 2012 to 2023, a district that is a member of the "Technology and Information Education Systems" data processing joint board, that finds it economically advantageous to enter into a lease agreement to finance improvements to a building and land for a group of school districts or special school districts for staff development purposes, may levy for its portion of lease costs attributed to the district within the total levy limit in paragraph (e). The total levy authority under this paragraph shall not exceed \$632,000.
 - (j) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a district may levy under this subdivision for the purpose of leasing administrative space if the district can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the commissioner that the lease cost for the administrative space is no greater than the lease cost for instructional space that the district would otherwise lease. The commissioner must deny this levy authority unless the district passes a resolution stating its intent to lease instructional space under this section if the commissioner does not grant authority under this paragraph. The resolution must also certify that the lease cost for administrative space under this paragraph is no greater than the lease cost for the district's proposed instructional lease.
 - (k) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a district may levy under this subdivision for the district's proportionate share of deferred maintenance expenditures for a district-owned

MS/LN

5.1	building or site leased to a cooperative unit under section 123A.24, subdivision 2, or a joint
5.2	powers district under section 471.59 for any instructional purposes or for school storage.
5.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for revenue in fiscal year 2024 and later.
	THIS SECTION IS CITECUTE FOR IEVENUE IN IISCAL YEAR 2024 AND LACE.
5.4	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 272.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
5.5	Subd. 2. Exempt property used by private entity for profit. (a) When any real or
5.6	personal property which is exempt from ad valorem taxes, and taxes in lieu thereof, is leased,
5.7	loaned, or otherwise made available and used by a private individual, association, or
5.8	corporation in connection with a business conducted for profit, there shall be imposed a
5.9	tax, for the privilege of so using or possessing such real or personal property, in the same
5.10	amount and to the same extent as though the lessee or user was the owner of such property.
5.11	(b) The tax imposed by this subdivision shall not apply to:
5.12	(1) property leased or used as a concession in or relative to the use in whole or part of
5.13	a public park, market, fairgrounds, port authority, economic development authority
5.14	established under chapter 469, municipal auditorium, municipal parking facility, municipal
5.15	museum, or municipal stadium;
5.16	(2) except as provided in paragraph (c), property of an airport owned by a city, town,
5.17	county, or group thereof which is:
5.18	(i) leased to or used by any person or entity including a fixed base operator; and
5.19	(ii) used as a hangar for the storage or, repair, or manufacture of aircraft or to provide
5.20	aviation goods, services, or facilities to the airport or general public;
5.21	the exception from taxation provided in this clause does not apply to:
5.22	(i) property located at an airport owned or operated by the Metropolitan Airports
5.23	Commission or by a city of over 50,000 population according to the most recent federal
5.24	census or such a city's airport authority; or
5.25	(ii) hangars leased by a private individual, association, or corporation in connection with
5.26	a business conducted for profit other than an aviation-related business;
5.27	(3) property constituting or used as a public pedestrian ramp or concourse in connection
5.28	with a public airport;
5.29	(4) except as provided in paragraph (d), property constituting or used as a passenger
5.30	check-in area or ticket sale counter, boarding area, or luggage claim area in connection with

5.31

a public airport but not the airports owned or operated by the Metropolitan Airports

6.1	Commission or cities of over 50,000 population or an airport authority therein. Real estate
6.2	owned by a municipality in connection with the operation of a public airport and leased or
6.3	used for agricultural purposes is not exempt;
6.4	(5) property leased, loaned, or otherwise made available to a private individual,
6.5	corporation, or association under a cooperative farming agreement made pursuant to section
6.6	97A.135; or
6.7	(6) property leased, loaned, or otherwise made available to a private individual,
6.8	corporation, or association under section 272.68, subdivision 4.
6.9	(c) The exception from taxation provided in paragraph (b), clause (2), does not apply
6.10	to:
6.11	(1) property located at an airport owned or operated by:
6.12	(i) the Metropolitan Airports Commission; or
6.13	(ii) a city of over 50,000 population according to the most recent federal census or such
6.14	a city's airport authority, except that, when calculating the tax imposed by this subdivision
6.15	for property taxes payable in 2023 through 2030, the net tax capacity of such property is
6.16	reduced by 50 percent if it is owned or operated by a city over 50,000 but under 150,000
6.17	in population according to the most recent federal census or such a city's airport authority;
6.18	<u>or</u>
6.19	(2) hangars leased by a private individual, association, or corporation in connection with
6.20	a business conducted for profit other than an aviation-related business.
6.21	(d) The exception from taxation provided in paragraph (b), clause (4), does not apply
6.22	to:
6.23	(1) the property described in paragraph (b), clause (4), at airports that are owned or
6.24	operated by:
6.25	(i) the Metropolitan Airports Commission; or
6.26	(ii) a city of over 50,000 population or an airport authority therein, except that, when
6.27	calculating the tax imposed by this subdivision for property taxes payable in 2023 through
6.28	2030, the net tax capacity of such property is reduced by 50 percent if it is owned or operated
6.29	by a city over 50,000 but under 150,000 in population according to the most recent federal
6.30	census or such a city's airport authority; or
6.31	(2) real estate owned by a municipality in connection with the operation of a public
6.32	airport and leased or used for agricultural purposes.

MS/LN

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.25

7.26

7.27

7.28

7.29

7.30

7.31

7.32

(e) (e) Taxes imposed by this subdivision are payable as in the case of personal property
taxes and shall be assessed to the lessees or users of real or personal property in the same
manner as taxes assessed to owners of real or personal property, except that such taxes shall
not become a lien against the property. When due, the taxes shall constitute a debt due from
the lessee or user to the state, township, city, county, and school district for which the taxes
were assessed and shall be collected in the same manner as personal property taxes. If
property subject to the tax imposed by this subdivision is leased or used jointly by two or
more persons, each lessee or user shall be jointly and severally liable for payment of the
tax.

- (d) (f) The tax on real property of the federal government, the state or any of its political subdivisions that is leased, loaned, or otherwise made available to a private individual, association, or corporation and becomes taxable under this subdivision or other provision of law must be assessed and collected as a personal property assessment. The taxes do not become a lien against the real property.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective beginning with property taxes payable 7.15 in 2023. 7.16
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 272.02, subdivision 98, is amended to read: 7.17
- Subd. 98. Certain property owned by an Indian tribe. (a) Property is exempt that: 7.18
- (1) was classified as 3a under section 273.13, subdivision 24, for taxes payable in 2013; 7.19
- (2) is located in a city of the first class with a population greater than 300,000 as of the 7.20 2010 federal census; 7.21
- (3) was on January 2, 2012, and is for the current assessment owned by a federally 7.22 recognized Indian tribe, or its instrumentality, that is located within the state of Minnesota; 7.23 and 7.24
 - (4) is used exclusively for tribal purposes or institutions of purely public charity as defined in subdivision 7.
 - (b) For purposes of this subdivision, a "tribal purpose" means a public purpose as defined in subdivision 8 and includes noncommercial tribal government activities. Property that qualifies for the exemption under this subdivision is limited to no more than two contiguous parcels and structures that do not exceed in the aggregate 20,000 square feet. Property acquired for single-family housing, market-rate apartments, agriculture, or forestry does not qualify for this exemption. The exemption created by this subdivision expires with taxes payable in 2024 2032.

	(c) Property exempt under this section is exempt from the requirements of section
<u>272</u>	2.025.
	(d) By September 1, 2022, property taxes paid on property exempt under this section
for	taxes payable in 2022 shall be refunded by the county, except that refunds of any state
gen	neral tax paid shall be refunded by the commissioner of revenue. The county may collect
fro	m other local taxing jurisdictions the amount of property taxes paid and remitted to the
juri	sdiction that is to be refunded under this paragraph.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with taxes payable in 2022.
S	ec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 272.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
rea	d:
	Subd. 105. Elderly living facility. (a) An elderly living facility is exempt from taxation
<u>if it</u>	meets all of the following requirements:
	(1) the facility is located in a city of the first class with a population of fewer than
110	0,000;
	(2) the facility is owned and operated by a nonprofit organization organized under section
<u>501</u>	(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code;
	(3) construction of the facility was completed between January 1, 1963, and January 1,
196	<u>54;</u>
	(4) the facility is an assisted living facility licensed by the state of Minnesota;
	(5) residents of the facility must be (i) at least 55 years of age, or (ii) disabled; and
	(6) at least 30 percent of the units in the facility are occupied by persons whose annual
inc	ome does not exceed 50 percent of the median family income for the area.
	(b) The exemption created by this subdivision expires with taxes payable in 2030.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023
and	I thereafter.
S	ec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 272.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
rea	d:
	Subd. 106. Energy storage systems. (a) Personal property consisting of an energy
sto	rage system is exempt. For the purposes of this subdivision, "energy storage system" has
the	meaning given in section 216B.2422, subdivision 1, paragraph (f).

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

(b) A taxpayer requesting an exemption under this subdivision must file an application
with the commissioner of revenue. The commissioner shall prescribe the content, format,
and manner of the application pursuant to section 270C.30, except that a "law administered
by the commissioner" includes the property tax laws. In determining eligibility for the
exemption under this section, the commissioner of revenue may request information and
advice from the commissioner of commerce. On determining that property qualifies for
exemption, the commissioner of revenue shall issue an order exempting the property from
taxation. The commissioner of revenue shall develop an electronic means to notify interested
parties when the commissioner has issued an order exempting property from taxation under
this section. The energy storage system shall continue to be exempt from taxation as long
as the order issued by the commissioner of revenue remains in effect.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 272.025, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Statement of exemption.** (a) Except in the case of property owned by the state of Minnesota or any political subdivision thereof, a taxpayer claiming an exemption from taxation on property described in section 272.02 must file a statement of exemption with the assessor of the assessment district in which the property is located. By January 2, 2018, and each third year thereafter, the commissioner of revenue shall publish on its website a list of the exemptions for which a taxpayer claiming an exemption must file a statement of exemption. The commissioner's requirement that a taxpayer file a statement of exemption pursuant to this subdivision shall not be considered a rule and is not subject to the Administrative Procedure Act, chapter 14.

- (b) A taxpayer claiming an exemption from taxation on property described in section 272.02, subdivision subdivisions 10 and 106, must file a statement of exemption with the commissioner of revenue, on or before February 15 of each year for which the taxpayer claims an exemption.
- (c) In case of sickness, absence or other disability or for good cause, the assessor or the commissioner may extend the time for filing the statement of exemption for a period not to exceed 60 days.
- (d) The commissioner of revenue shall prescribe the content, format, and manner of the statement of exemption pursuant to section 270C.30, except that a "law administered by the commissioner" includes the property tax laws.

10.1	(e) If a statement is made by electronic means, the taxpayer's signature is defined pursuant
10.2	to section 270C.304, except that a "law administered by the commissioner" includes the
10.3	property tax laws.
10.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023
10.5	and thereafter.
10.6	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 272.0295, subdivision 2, is amended
10.7	to read:
10.8	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the term "solar energy
10.9	generating system" means a set of devices whose primary purpose is to produce electricity
10.10	by means of any combination of collecting, transferring, or converting solar generated
10.11	energy.
10.12	(b) The total size of a solar energy generating system under this subdivision shall be
10.13	determined according to this paragraph. Unless the systems are interconnected with different
10.14	distribution systems, the nameplate capacity of a solar energy generating system shall be
10.15	combined with the nameplate capacity of any other solar energy generating system that:
10.16	(1) is constructed within the same 12-month period as the solar energy generating system;
10.17	and
10.18	(2) exhibits characteristics at the time of development of being a single development,
10.19	including but not limited to ownership structure, an umbrella sales arrangement, shared
10.20	interconnection, revenue-sharing arrangements, and common debt or equity financing.
10.21	In the case of a dispute, the commissioner of commerce shall determine the total size of the
10.22	system and shall draw all reasonable inferences in favor of combining the systems. <u>In</u>
10.23	determining the total size of the system, the commissioner of commerce shall determine
10.24	that a solar energy generating system with an application for an interconnection agreement
10.25	submitted on or after September 25, 2015, pursuant to section 216B.1641, with the public
10.26	utility subject to section 116C.779, is considered to be a solar energy generating system
10.27	with a capacity of one megawatt alternating current or less and is exempt from the tax
10.28	imposed by this section.
10.29	For the purposes of making a determination under this paragraph, the original construction
10.30	date of an existing solar energy conversion system is not changed if the system is replaced,
10.31	repaired, or otherwise maintained or altered.
10.32	(c) In making a determination under paragraph (b), the commissioner of commerce may
10.33	determine that two solar energy generating systems are under common ownership when the

11.2

11.3

11.4

- underlying ownership structure contains similar persons or entities, even if the ownership shares differ between the two systems. Solar energy generating systems are not under common ownership solely because the same person or entity provided equity financing for the systems.
- 11.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for reports filed beginning in 2023.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.032, is amended to read:

11.7 **273.032 MARKET VALUE DEFINITION.**

- 11.8 (a) Unless otherwise provided, for the purpose of determining any property tax levy
 11.9 limitation based on market value or any limit on net debt, the issuance of bonds, certificates
 11.10 of indebtedness, or capital notes based on market value, any qualification to receive state
 11.11 aid based on market value, or any state aid amount based on market value, the terms "market
 11.12 value," "estimated market value," and "market valuation," whether equalized or unequalized,
 11.13 mean the estimated market value of taxable property within the local unit of government
 11.14 before any of the following or similar adjustments for:
- 11.15 (1) the market value exclusions under:
- (i) section 273.11, subdivisions 14a and 14c (vacant platted land);
- (ii) section 273.11, subdivision 16 (certain improvements to homestead property);
- (iii) section 273.11, subdivisions 19 and 20 (certain improvements to business properties);
- (iv) section 273.11, subdivision 21 (homestead property damaged by mold);
- (v) section 273.13, subdivision 34 (homestead of a veteran with a disability or family caregiver); or
- (vi) section 273.13, subdivision 35 (homestead market value exclusion); or
- (vii) section 273.13, subdivision 36 (affordable housing market value exclusion); or
- 11.24 (2) the deferment of value under:
- (i) the Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax Law, section 273.111;
- (ii) the Aggregate Resource Preservation Law, section 273.1115;
- (iii) the Minnesota Open Space Property Tax Law, section 273.112;
- (iv) the rural preserves property tax program, section 273.114; or
- (v) the Metropolitan Agricultural Preserves Act, section 473H.10; or

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

- 12.1 (3) the adjustments to tax capacity for:
- (i) tax increment financing under sections 469.174 to 469.1794;
- (ii) fiscal disparities under chapter 276A or 473F; or
- 12.4 (iii) powerline credit under section 273.425.
- 12.5 (b) Estimated market value under paragraph (a) also includes the market value of 12.6 tax-exempt property if the applicable law specifically provides that the limitation, 12.7 qualification, or aid calculation includes tax-exempt property.
 - (c) Unless otherwise provided, "market value," "estimated market value," and "market valuation" for purposes of property tax levy limitations and calculation of state aid, refer to the estimated market value for the previous assessment year and for purposes of limits on net debt, the issuance of bonds, certificates of indebtedness, or capital notes refer to the estimated market value as last finally equalized.
 - (d) For purposes of a provision of a home rule charter or of any special law that is not codified in the statutes and that imposes a levy limitation based on market value or any limit on debt, the issuance of bonds, certificates of indebtedness, or capital notes based on market value, the terms "market value," "taxable market value," and "market valuation," whether equalized or unequalized, mean "estimated market value" as defined in paragraph (a).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.

- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 273.11, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 12. Community land trusts. (a) A community land trust, as defined under chapter 462A, is (i) a community-based nonprofit corporation organized under chapter 317A, which qualifies for tax exempt status under 501(c)(3), or (ii) a "city" as defined in section 462C.02, subdivision 6, which has received funding from the Minnesota housing finance agency for purposes of the community land trust program. The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency shall set the criteria for community land trusts.
 - (b) Before the community land trust can rent or sell a unit to an applicant, the community land trust shall verify to the satisfaction of the administering agency or the city that the family income of each person or family applying for a unit in the community land trust building is within the income criteria provided in section 462A.30, subdivision 9. The administering agency or the city shall verify to the satisfaction of the county assessor that the occupant meets the income criteria under section 462A.30, subdivision 9. The property

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

13.31

tax benefits under paragraph (c) shall be granted only to property owned or rented by persons or families within the qualifying income limits. The family income criteria and verification is only necessary at the time of initial occupancy in the property.

- (c) A unit which is owned by the occupant and used as a homestead by the occupant qualifies for homestead treatment as class 1a under section 273.13, subdivision 22 <u>unless</u> the unit meets the requirements of section 273.13, subdivision 25, paragraph (e), clause (2), in which case the unit shall be classified as 4d(2). A unit which is rented by the occupant and used as a homestead by the occupant shall be class 4a or 4b property, under section 273.13, subdivision 25, whichever is applicable. Any remaining portion of the property not used for residential purposes shall be classified by the assessor in the appropriate class based upon the use of that portion of the property owned by the community land trust. The land upon which the building is located shall be assessed at the same classification rate as the units within the building, provided that if the building contains some units assessed as class 1a <u>or class 4d(1)</u> and some units assessed as class 4a or 4b, the market value of the land will be assessed in the same proportions as the value of the building.
- 13.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective beginning with property taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.11, subdivision 23, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 23. First tier valuation limit; agricultural homestead property. (a) The commissioner of revenue shall annually certify the first tier limit for agricultural homestead property. For assessment year 2010 2023, the limit is \$1,140,000 \$2,500,000. Beginning with assessment year 2011 2024, the limit is the product of (i) the first tier limit for the preceding assessment year, and (ii) the ratio of the statewide average taxable market value of agricultural property per acre of deeded farm land in the preceding assessment year to the statewide average taxable market value of agricultural property per acre of deeded farm land for the second preceding assessment year. The limit shall be rounded to the nearest \$10,000.
 - (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, "agricultural property" means all class 2a property under section 273.13, subdivision 23, except for property consisting of the house, garage, and immediately surrounding one acre of land of an agricultural homestead.
 - (c) The commissioner shall certify the limit by January 2 of each assessment year.
- 13.32 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.11

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

•	7 11	? λ /:	C4 - 4 - 4	2020		272	1 2 4	subdivision	າ - :	1	14-	1
	sec i	3 Wilnnesora	Niamies	701701	section	//3	1/4	SHDOIVISION	าล 1	s amended	LIO	read

- Subd. 3a. Manufactured home park cooperative. (a) When a manufactured home park is owned by a corporation or association organized under chapter 308A or 308B, and each person who owns a share or shares in the corporation or association is entitled to occupy a lot within the park, the corporation or association may claim homestead treatment for the park. Each lot must be designated by legal description or number, and each lot is limited to not more than one-half acre of land.
- (b) The manufactured home park shall be entitled to homestead treatment if all of the following criteria are met:
- (1) the occupant or the cooperative corporation or association is paying the ad valorem 14.10 property taxes and any special assessments levied against the land and structure either 14.12 directly, or indirectly through dues to the corporation or association; and
 - (2) the corporation or association organized under chapter 308A or 308B is wholly owned by persons having a right to occupy a lot owned by the corporation or association.
 - (c) A charitable corporation, organized under the laws of Minnesota with no outstanding stock, and granted a ruling by the Internal Revenue Service for 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status, qualifies for homestead treatment with respect to a manufactured home park if its members hold residential participation warrants entitling them to occupy a lot in the manufactured home park.
 - (d) "Homestead treatment" under this subdivision means the classification rate provided for class 4c property classified under section 273.13, subdivision 25, paragraph (d), clause (5), item (ii), and the homestead market value exclusion under section 273.13, subdivision 35, does not apply.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective beginning with property taxes payable 14.24 14.25 in 2024 and thereafter.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 273.124, subdivision 14, is amended 14.26 to read: 14.27
- Subd. 14. Agricultural homesteads; special provisions. (a) Real estate of less than ten 14.28 14.29 acres that is the homestead of its owner must be classified as class 2a under section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), if: 14.30
- 14.31 (1) the parcel on which the house is located is contiguous on at least two sides to (i) agricultural land, (ii) land owned or administered by the United States Fish and Wildlife 14.32

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

- Service, or (iii) land administered by the Department of Natural Resources on which in lieu taxes are paid under sections 477A.11 to 477A.14 or section 477A.17;
- (2) its owner also owns a noncontiguous parcel of agricultural land that is at least 20 acres;
- (3) the noncontiguous land is located not farther than four townships or cities, or a combination of townships or cities from the homestead; and
- (4) the agricultural use value of the noncontiguous land and farm buildings is equal to at least 50 percent of the market value of the house, garage, and one acre of land.
- Homesteads initially classified as class 2a under the provisions of this paragraph shall remain classified as class 2a, irrespective of subsequent changes in the use of adjoining properties, as long as the homestead remains under the same ownership, the owner owns a noncontiguous parcel of agricultural land that is at least 20 acres, and the agricultural use value qualifies under clause (4). Homestead classification under this paragraph is limited to property that qualified under this paragraph for the 1998 assessment.
- (b)(i) Agricultural property shall be classified as the owner's homestead, to the same extent as other agricultural homestead property, if all of the following criteria are met:
- 15.17 (1) the agricultural property consists of at least 40 acres including undivided government 15.18 lots and correctional 40's;
 - (2) the owner, the owner's spouse, or a grandchild, child, sibling, of parent, grandparent, stepchild, uncle, aunt, nephew, or niece of the owner or of the owner's spouse, is actively farming the agricultural property, either on the person's own behalf as an individual or on behalf of a partnership operating a family farm, family farm corporation, joint family farm venture, or limited liability company of which the person is a partner, shareholder, or member;
 - (3) both the owner of the agricultural property and the person who is actively farming the agricultural property under clause (2), are Minnesota residents;
- 15.27 (4) neither the owner nor the spouse of the owner claims another agricultural homestead 15.28 in Minnesota; and
- 15.29 (5) neither the owner nor the person actively farming the agricultural property lives 15.30 farther than four townships or cities, or a combination of four townships or cities, from the 15.31 agricultural property, except that if the owner or the owner's spouse is required to live in 15.32 employer-provided housing, the owner or owner's spouse, whichever is actively farming

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

the agricultural property, may live more than four townships or cities, or combination of four townships or cities from the agricultural property.

The relationship under this paragraph may be either by blood or marriage.

- (ii) Property containing the residence of an owner who owns qualified property under clause (i) shall be classified as part of the owner's agricultural homestead, if that property is also used for noncommercial storage or drying of agricultural crops.
- (iii) As used in this paragraph, "agricultural property" means class 2a property and any class 2b property that is contiguous to and under the same ownership as the class 2a property.
- (c) Noncontiguous land shall be included as part of a homestead under section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), only if the homestead is classified as class 2a and the detached land is located in the same township or city, or not farther than four townships or cities or combination thereof from the homestead. Any taxpayer of these noncontiguous lands must notify the county assessor that the noncontiguous land is part of the taxpayer's homestead, and, if the homestead is located in another county, the taxpayer must also notify the assessor of the other county.
- (d) Agricultural land used for purposes of a homestead and actively farmed by a person holding a vested remainder interest in it must be classified as a homestead under section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a). If agricultural land is classified class 2a, any other dwellings on the land used for purposes of a homestead by persons holding vested remainder interests who are actively engaged in farming the property, and up to one acre of the land surrounding each homestead and reasonably necessary for the use of the dwelling as a home, must also be assessed class 2a.
- (e) Agricultural land and buildings that were class 2a homestead property under section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), for the 1997 assessment shall remain classified as agricultural homesteads for subsequent assessments if:
- (1) the property owner abandoned the homestead dwelling located on the agricultural homestead as a result of the April 1997 floods;
- 16.28 (2) the property is located in the county of Polk, Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman, or Wilkin;
- 16.30 (3) the agricultural land and buildings remain under the same ownership for the current
 16.31 assessment year as existed for the 1997 assessment year and continue to be used for
 16.32 agricultural purposes;

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

- (4) the dwelling occupied by the owner is located in Minnesota and is within 30 miles of one of the parcels of agricultural land that is owned by the taxpayer; and
- (5) the owner notifies the county assessor that the relocation was due to the 1997 floods, and the owner furnishes the assessor any information deemed necessary by the assessor in verifying the change in dwelling. Further notifications to the assessor are not required if the property continues to meet all the requirements in this paragraph and any dwellings on the agricultural land remain uninhabited.
- (f) Agricultural land and buildings that were class 2a homestead property under section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), for the 1998 assessment shall remain classified agricultural homesteads for subsequent assessments if:
- 17.11 (1) the property owner abandoned the homestead dwelling located on the agricultural homestead as a result of damage caused by a March 29, 1998, tornado;
- 17.13 (2) the property is located in the county of Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, LeSueur,
 17.14 Nicollet, Nobles, or Rice;
- 17.15 (3) the agricultural land and buildings remain under the same ownership for the current assessment year as existed for the 1998 assessment year;
- 17.17 (4) the dwelling occupied by the owner is located in this state and is within 50 miles of one of the parcels of agricultural land that is owned by the taxpayer; and
 - (5) the owner notifies the county assessor that the relocation was due to a March 29, 1998, tornado, and the owner furnishes the assessor any information deemed necessary by the assessor in verifying the change in homestead dwelling. For taxes payable in 1999, the owner must notify the assessor by December 1, 1998. Further notifications to the assessor are not required if the property continues to meet all the requirements in this paragraph and any dwellings on the agricultural land remain uninhabited.
 - (g) Agricultural property of a family farm corporation, joint family farm venture, family farm limited liability company, or partnership operating a family farm as described under subdivision 8 shall be classified homestead, to the same extent as other agricultural homestead property, if all of the following criteria are met:
- 17.29 (1) the property consists of at least 40 acres including undivided government lots and correctional 40's;
- 17.31 (2) a shareholder, member, or partner of that entity is actively farming the agricultural property;

18.1	(3) that shareholder, member, or partner who is actively farming the agricultural property
18.2	is a Minnesota resident;
18.3	(4) neither that shareholder, member, or partner, nor the spouse of that shareholder,
18.4	member, or partner claims another agricultural homestead in Minnesota; and
18.5	(5) that shareholder, member, or partner does not live farther than four townships or
18.6	cities, or a combination of four townships or cities, from the agricultural property.
10.7	
18.7	Homestead treatment applies under this paragraph even if:
18.8	(i) the shareholder, member, or partner of that entity is actively farming the agricultural
18.9	property on the shareholder's, member's, or partner's own behalf; or
18.10	(ii) the family farm is operated by a family farm corporation, joint family farm venture,
18.11	partnership, or limited liability company other than the family farm corporation, joint family
18.12	farm venture, partnership, or limited liability company that owns the land, provided that:
18.13	(A) the shareholder, member, or partner of the family farm corporation, joint family
18.14	farm venture, partnership, or limited liability company that owns the land who is actively
18.15	farming the land is a shareholder, member, or partner of the family farm corporation, joint
18.16	family farm venture, partnership, or limited liability company that is operating the farm;
18.17	and
18.18	(B) more than half of the shareholders, members, or partners of each family farm
18.19	corporation, joint family farm venture, partnership, or limited liability company are persons
18.20	or spouses of persons who are a qualifying relative under section 273.124, subdivision 1,
18.21	paragraphs (c) and (d).
18.22	Homestead treatment applies under this paragraph for property leased to a family farm
18.23	corporation, joint farm venture, limited liability company, or partnership operating a family
18.24	farm if legal title to the property is in the name of an individual who is a member, shareholder,
18.25	or partner in the entity.
18.26	(h) To be eligible for the special agricultural homestead under this subdivision, an initial
18.27	full application must be submitted to the county assessor where the property is located.
18.28	Owners and the persons who are actively farming the property shall be required to complete
18.29	only a one-page abbreviated version of the application in each subsequent year provided
18.30	that none of the following items have changed since the initial application:

18.31

(1) the day-to-day operation, administration, and financial risks remain the same;

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

(2) the owners and the persons actively farming the property continue to live within the four townships or city criteria and are Minnesota residents;
(3) the same operator of the agricultural property is listed with the Farm Service Agency;
(4) a Schedule F or equivalent income tax form was filed for the most recent year;

(5) the property's acreage is unchanged; and

(6) none of the property's acres have been enrolled in a federal or state farm program since the initial application.

The owners and any persons who are actively farming the property must include the appropriate Social Security numbers, and sign and date the application. If any of the specified information has changed since the full application was filed, the owner must notify the assessor, and must complete a new application to determine if the property continues to qualify for the special agricultural homestead. The commissioner of revenue shall prepare a standard reapplication form for use by the assessors.

- (i) Agricultural land and buildings that were class 2a homestead property under section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), for the 2007 assessment shall remain classified agricultural homesteads for subsequent assessments if:
- (1) the property owner abandoned the homestead dwelling located on the agricultural homestead as a result of damage caused by the August 2007 floods;
- (2) the property is located in the county of Dodge, Fillmore, Houston, Olmsted, Steele, Wabasha, or Winona;
- (3) the agricultural land and buildings remain under the same ownership for the current assessment year as existed for the 2007 assessment year;
- 19.23 (4) the dwelling occupied by the owner is located in this state and is within 50 miles of one of the parcels of agricultural land that is owned by the taxpayer; and
 - (5) the owner notifies the county assessor that the relocation was due to the August 2007 floods, and the owner furnishes the assessor any information deemed necessary by the assessor in verifying the change in homestead dwelling. For taxes payable in 2009, the owner must notify the assessor by December 1, 2008. Further notifications to the assessor are not required if the property continues to meet all the requirements in this paragraph and any dwellings on the agricultural land remain uninhabited.

20.1	(j) Agricultural land and buildings that were class 2a homestead property under section
20.2	273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), for the 2008 assessment shall remain classified as
20.3	agricultural homesteads for subsequent assessments if:
20.4	(1) the property owner abandoned the homestead dwelling located on the agricultural
20.5	homestead as a result of the March 2009 floods;
20.6	(2) the property is located in the county of Marshall;
20.7	(3) the agricultural land and buildings remain under the same ownership for the current
20.8	assessment year as existed for the 2008 assessment year and continue to be used for
20.9	agricultural purposes;
20.10	(4) the dwelling occupied by the owner is located in Minnesota and is within 50 miles
20.11	of one of the parcels of agricultural land that is owned by the taxpayer; and
20.12	(5) the owner notifies the county assessor that the relocation was due to the 2009 floods,
20.13	and the owner furnishes the assessor any information deemed necessary by the assessor in
20.14	verifying the change in dwelling. Further notifications to the assessor are not required if the
20.15	property continues to meet all the requirements in this paragraph and any dwellings on the
20.16	agricultural land remain uninhabited.
20.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for homestead applications
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for homestead applications filed in 2022 and thereafter.
20.18	filed in 2022 and thereafter.
20.18	
20.18	filed in 2022 and thereafter.
20.18 20.19 20.20	filed in 2022 and thereafter. Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21	filed in 2022 and thereafter. Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22	filed in 2022 and thereafter. Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent of the units in the rental housing property meet any of the following qualifications:
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24	filed in 2022 and thereafter. Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent of the units in the rental housing property meet any of the following qualifications: (1) the units are subject to a housing assistance payments contract under Section 8 of
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24 20.25	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent of the units in the rental housing property meet any of the following qualifications: (1) the units are subject to a housing assistance payments contract under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, as amended;
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24 20.25 20.26	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent of the units in the rental housing property meet any of the following qualifications: (1) the units are subject to a housing assistance payments contract under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, as amended; (2) the units are rent-restricted and income-restricted units of a qualified low-income
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24 20.25 20.26	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent of the units in the rental housing property meet any of the following qualifications: (1) the units are subject to a housing assistance payments contract under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, as amended; (2) the units are rent-restricted and income-restricted units of a qualified low-income housing project receiving tax credits under section 42(g) of the Internal Revenue Code;
20.17 20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24 20.25 20.26 20.27 20.28 20.29	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent of the units in the rental housing property meet any of the following qualifications: (1) the units are subject to a housing assistance payments contract under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, as amended; (2) the units are rent-restricted and income-restricted units of a qualified low-income housing project receiving tax credits under section 42(g) of the Internal Revenue Code; (3) the units are financed by the Rural Housing Service of the United States Department
20.18 20.19 20.20 20.21 20.22 20.23 20.24 20.25 20.26 20.27 20.28	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Requirement. Low-income rental property classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13, subdivision 25, is entitled to valuation under this section if at least 20 percent of the units in the rental housing property meet any of the following qualifications: (1) the units are subject to a housing assistance payments contract under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937, as amended; (2) the units are rent-restricted and income-restricted units of a qualified low-income housing project receiving tax credits under section 42(g) of the Internal Revenue Code; (3) the units are financed by the Rural Housing Service of the United States Department of Agriculture and receive payments under the rental assistance program pursuant to section

21.1	Minnesota, or a local unit of government, as evidenced by a document recorded against the
21.2	property.
21.3	The restrictions must require assisted units to be occupied by residents whose household
21.4	income at the time of initial occupancy does not exceed 60 percent of the greater of area or
21.5	state median income, adjusted for family size, as determined by the United States Department
21.6	of Housing and Urban Development. The restriction must also require the rents for assisted
21.7	units to not exceed 30 percent of 60 percent of the greater of area or state median income,
21.8	adjusted for family size, as determined by the United States Department of Housing and
21.9	Urban Development.
21.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.
21.11	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, is amended by adding a subdivision
21.12	to read:
21.13	Subd. 1a. Approval. A property owner must receive approval by resolution of the
21.14	governing body of the city or town where the property is located before submitting an initial
21.15	application to the Housing Finance Agency, as required under subdivision 2, for property
21.16	that has not, in whole or in part, been classified as class 4d(1) under section 273.13,
21.17	subdivision 25, prior to assessment year 2023. A property owner that receives approval as
21.18	required under this subdivision, and the certification made under subdivision 3, shall not
21.19	be required to seek approval under this subdivision prior to submitting an application under
21.20	subdivision 2 in each subsequent year. If the property is located in a city or town in which
21.21	the net tax capacity of 4d(1) property did not exceed two percent of the total net tax capacity
21.22	in the city or town in the prior assessment year, the property owner does not need to receive
21.23	approval under this subdivision.
21.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.
21.25	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.128, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
21.26	Subd. 2. Application. (a) Application for certification under this section must be filed
21.27	by March 31 of the levy year, or at a later date if the Housing Finance Agency deems
21.28	practicable. The application must be filed with the Housing Finance Agency, on a form
21.29	prescribed by the agency, and must contain the information required by the Housing Finance
21.30	Agency.
21.31	(b) Each application must include:
21.32	(1) the property tax identification number; and

22.1	(2) evidence that the property meets the requirements of subdivision subdivisions 1 and
22.2	<u>1a</u> .
22.3	(c) The Housing Finance Agency may charge an application fee approximately equal
22.4	to the costs of processing and reviewing the applications but not to exceed \$10 per unit. If
22.5	imposed, the applicant must pay the application fee to the Housing Finance Agency. The
22.6	fee must be deposited in the housing development fund.
22.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.
22.8	Sec. 18. [273.129] AFFORDABLE HOUSING MARKET VALUE EXCLUSION
22.9	PROGRAM; ESTABLISHMENT.
22.10	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
22.11	the meanings given, unless otherwise indicated.
22.12	(b) "Governing body" means, with respect to a city, a city council, with respect to a
22.13	town, a town board, and with respect to an unorganized territory, the county board acting
22.14	on behalf of the unorganized territory.
22.15	(c) "Market value" has the meaning given in section 272.03, subdivision 8.
22.16	(d) "Municipality" means a statutory or home rule charter city, a township, or unorganized
22.17	territory.
22.18	(e) "Property" means a residential rental housing property classified as class 4a under
22.19	section 273.13, subdivision 25, a portion of which is occupied by residents meeting the
22.20	income requirement under subdivision 4.
22.21	Subd. 2. Establishment. An affordable housing market value exclusion program is
22.22	established to promote the development of affordable rental properties in the state. Eligible
22.23	properties located in participating municipalities are eligible to receive a market value
22.24	exclusion of 50 percent.
22.25	Subd. 3. Approval. (a) A governing body may, upon approval by a majority vote of its
22.26	members, adopt a resolution agreeing to participate in the affordable housing market value
22.27	exclusion program. Prior to approval, the governing body must publish notice of its intent
22.28	to discuss the resolution at a regularly scheduled meeting, in a newspaper with general
22.29	circulation in the city or on the municipality's website, not less than 30 days prior to the
22.30	meeting. The notice must include the date, time, and location of the meeting at which the
22.31	program will be discussed and public input allowed.

23.1	(b) After a governing body has adopted a resolution agreeing to participate in the program,
23.2	the governing body must adopt a separate resolution, subject to the same voting, notice, and
23.3	public hearing requirements under paragraph (a), for each property the governing body
23.4	approves to receive the affordable housing market value exclusion. The resolution must
23.5	state the property qualifies for a valuation exclusion of 50 percent, and that shall remain
23.6	the same each year, subject to the duration limit under subdivision 5.
23.7	(c) After a governing body has adopted the property-specific resolution as required under
23.8	paragraph (b), the governing body, other than the county board acting on behalf of an
23.9	unorganized territory, must provide the county board with a copy of the resolution for each
23.10	property the local government approved to receive the affordable housing market value
23.11	exclusion, along with information relating to the fiscal implications resulting from the
23.12	approved exclusion. The county board may request additional information from the local
23.13	government that the board deems necessary. The county board must approve, by a majority
23.14	vote of its members, the affordable housing market value exclusion for each property within
23.15	60 days of receipt. If a county board fails to approve the exclusion within 60 days of receipt,
23.16	or if the county board affirmatively denies approval of the exclusion, the property shall not
23.17	receive the affordable housing market value exclusion.
23.18	Subd. 4. Eligibility. (a) A property located in a participating municipality is eligible for
23.19	the affordable housing market value exclusion applied under section 273.13, subdivision
23.20	<u>36, if:</u>
23.21	(1) the property is not classified in whole or in part as class 4d under section 273.13,
23.22	subdivision 25;
23.23	(2) construction of the property began on or after January 1, 2023; and
23.24	(3) the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency certifies to the county or local assessor that:
23.25	(i) at least 20 percent of the units in the property are available for residents whose
23.26	household income at the time of initial occupancy does not exceed 60 percent of area median
23.27	income, adjusted for family size, as determined by the United States Department of Housing
23.28	and Urban Development;
23.29	(ii) at least 80 percent of the available units in the property are occupied by residents
23.30	meeting the income requirement; and
23.31	(iii) any unoccupied available units are being actively marketed toward persons meeting
23.32	the income requirements, as attested by the property owner.

24.1	(b) By February 1 each assessment year, an application for certification under this
24.2	subdivision must be filed by the property owner to the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency.
24.3	The property owner must provide a copy of the application to the county or city assessor.
24.4	The application must be filed on a form prescribed by the agency and must contain the
24.5	property tax identification number, evidence that the property meets the requirements of
24.6	paragraph (a), a copy of the property-specific approval by the county board if required, and
24.7	any other information necessary for the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency to determine
24.8	eligibility. The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency may charge an application fee
24.9	approximately equal to the costs of processing and reviewing the applications. If imposed,
24.10	the applicant must pay the application fee to the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency and
24.11	the fee must be deposited in the housing development fund.
24.12	(c) By April 1 each assessment year, the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency must
24.13	certify to the appropriate county or city assessor:
24.14	(1) the specific properties, identified by parcel identification numbers, that are eligible
24.15	under this section to receive the exclusion for the current assessment year; and
24.16	(2) the specific properties, identified by parcel identification numbers, that received the
24.17	exclusion in the previous assessment year but no longer meet the requirements under this
24.18	section.
24.19	In making the certification, the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency must rely on the property
24.20	owner's application and any other supporting information that the agency deems necessary.
24.21	Subd. 5. Duration. The governing body of a participating municipality shall determine
24.22	the duration of the affordable housing market value exclusion for each eligible property,
24.23	provided that the exclusion applies for at least ten but not more than 20 assessment years,
24.24	except that when a property no longer meets the requirements of subdivision 4, the exclusion
24.25	shall be removed for the current assessment year.
24.26	Subd. 6. Expiration. The affordable housing market value exclusion program expires
24.27	on December 31, 2030. A property that has not received the required approval under
24.28	subdivision 3 by December 31, 2030, shall not receive the exclusion.
24.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.
24.30	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.13, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
24.31	Subd. 22. Class 1. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 23 and in paragraphs (b) and
24.32	(c), real estate which is residential and used for homestead purposes is class 1a. In the case
24.33	of a duplex or triplex in which one of the units is used for homestead purposes, the entire

25.1	property is deemed to be used for homestead purposes. The market value of class 1a property
25.2	must be determined based upon the value of the house, garage, and land.
25.3	The first \$500,000 of market value of class 1a property has a net classification rate of
25.4	one percent of its market value; and the market value of class 1a property that exceeds
25.5	\$500,000 has a classification rate of 1.25 percent of its market value.
25.6	(b) Class 1b property includes homestead real estate or homestead manufactured homes
25.7	used for the purposes of a homestead by:
25.8	(1) any person who is blind as defined in section 256D.35, or the person who is blind
25.9	and the spouse of the person who is blind;
25.10	(2) any person who is permanently and totally disabled or by the person with a disability
25.11	and the spouse of the person with a disability; or
25.12	(3) the surviving spouse of a veteran who was permanently and totally disabled
25.13	homesteading a property classified under this paragraph for taxes payable in 2008.
25.14	Property is classified and assessed under clause (2) only if the government agency or
25.15	income-providing source certifies, upon the request of the homestead occupant, that the
25.16	homestead occupant satisfies the disability requirements of this paragraph, and that the
25.17	property is not eligible for the valuation exclusion under subdivision 34.
25.18	Property is classified and assessed under paragraph (b) only if the commissioner of
25.19	revenue or the county assessor certifies that the homestead occupant satisfies the requirements
25.20	of this paragraph.
25.21	Permanently and totally disabled for the purpose of this subdivision means a condition
25.22	which is permanent in nature and totally incapacitates the person from working at an
25.23	occupation which brings the person an income. The first \$50,000 market value of class 1b
25.24	property has a net classification rate of .45 percent of its market value. The remaining market
25.25	value of class 1b property is classified as class 1a or class 2a property, whichever is
25.26	appropriate.
25.27	(c) Class 1c property is commercial use real and personal property that abuts public
25.28	water as defined in section 103G.005, subdivision 15, or abuts a state trail administered by
25.29	the Department of Natural Resources, and is devoted to temporary and seasonal residential
25.30	occupancy for recreational purposes but not devoted to commercial purposes for more than
25.31	250 days in the year preceding the year of assessment, and that includes a portion used as
25.32	a homestead by the owner, which includes a dwelling occupied as a homestead by a

shareholder of a corporation that owns the resort, a partner in a partnership that owns the

26.2

26.3

26.4

26.5

26.6

26.7

26.8

26.9

26.10

26.11

26.12

26.13

26.14

26.15

26.16

26.17

26.18

26.19

26.20

26.21

26.22

26.23

26.24

26.25

26.26

26.27

26.28

26.29

26.30

26.31

26.32

26.33

26.34

26.35

26.36

resort, or a member of a limited liability company that owns the resort even if the title to the homestead is held by the corporation, partnership, or limited liability company. For purposes of this paragraph, property is devoted to a commercial purpose on a specific day if any portion of the property, excluding the portion used exclusively as a homestead, is used for residential occupancy and a fee is charged for residential occupancy. Class 1c property must contain three or more rental units. A "rental unit" is defined as a cabin, condominium, townhouse, sleeping room, or individual camping site equipped with water and electrical hookups for recreational vehicles. Class 1c property must provide recreational activities such as the rental of ice fishing houses, boats and motors, snowmobiles, downhill or cross-country ski equipment; provide marina services, launch services, or guide services; or sell bait and fishing tackle. Any unit in which the right to use the property is transferred to an individual or entity by deeded interest, or the sale of shares or stock, no longer qualifies for class 1c even though it may remain available for rent. A camping pad offered for rent by a property that otherwise qualifies for class 1c is also class 1c, regardless of the term of the rental agreement, as long as the use of the camping pad does not exceed 250 days. If the same owner owns two separate parcels that are located in the same township, and one of those properties is classified as a class 1c property and the other would be eligible to be classified as a class 1c property if it was used as the homestead of the owner, both properties will be assessed as a single class 1c property; for purposes of this sentence, properties are deemed to be owned by the same owner if each of them is owned by a limited liability company, and both limited liability companies have the same membership. The portion of the property used as a homestead is class 1a property under paragraph (a). The remainder of the property is classified as follows: the first \$600,000 \$850,000 of market value is tier I, the next \$1,700,000 \$2,250,000 of market value is tier II, and any remaining market value is tier III. The classification rates for class 1c are: tier I, 0.50 percent; tier II, 1.0 percent; and tier III, 1.25 percent. Owners of real and personal property devoted to temporary and seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes in which all or a portion of the property was devoted to commercial purposes for not more than 250 days in the year preceding the year of assessment desiring classification as class 1c, must submit a declaration to the assessor designating the cabins or units occupied for 250 days or less in the year preceding the year of assessment by January 15 of the assessment year. Those cabins or units and a proportionate share of the land on which they are located must be designated as class 1c as otherwise provided. The remainder of the cabins or units and a proportionate share of the land on which they are located must be designated as class 3a commercial. The owner of property desiring designation as class 1c property must provide guest registers or other records demonstrating that the units for which class 1c designation is sought were not

27.2

27.3

27.4

27.5

27.6

27.9

27.10

27.11

27.12

27.22

27.23

27.24

27.25

27.26

27.27

27.28

27.29

27.30

- occupied for more than 250 days in the year preceding the assessment if so requested. The portion of a property operated as a (1) restaurant, (2) bar, (3) gift shop, (4) conference center or meeting room, and (5) other nonresidential facility operated on a commercial basis not directly related to temporary and seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes does not qualify for class 1c.
- (d) Class 1d property includes structures that meet all of the following criteria:
- 27.7 (1) the structure is located on property that is classified as agricultural property under section 273.13, subdivision 23;
 - (2) the structure is occupied exclusively by seasonal farm workers during the time when they work on that farm, and the occupants are not charged rent for the privilege of occupying the property, provided that use of the structure for storage of farm equipment and produce does not disqualify the property from classification under this paragraph;
- 27.13 (3) the structure meets all applicable health and safety requirements for the appropriate season; and
- 27.15 (4) the structure is not salable as residential property because it does not comply with local ordinances relating to location in relation to streets or roads.
- The market value of class 1d property has the same classification rates as class 1a property under paragraph (a).
- 27.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 273.13, subdivision 23, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 23. Class 2. (a) An agricultural homestead consists of class 2a agricultural land that is homesteaded, along with any class 2b rural vacant land that is contiguous to the class 2a land under the same ownership. The market value of the house and garage and immediately surrounding one acre of land has the same classification rates as class 1a or 1b property under subdivision 22. The value of the remaining land including improvements up to the first tier valuation limit of agricultural homestead property has a classification rate of 0.5 percent of market value. The remaining property over the first tier has a classification rate of one percent of market value. For purposes of this subdivision, the "first tier valuation limit of agricultural homestead property" and "first tier" means the limit certified under section 273.11, subdivision 23.

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.10

28.11

28.12

28.13

28.14

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.22

28.23

28.24

28.25

28.26

28.27

28.28

28.29

28.30

28.31

28.32

28.33

28.34

28.35

(b) Class 2a agricultural land consists of parcels of property, or portions thereof, that are agricultural land and buildings. Class 2a property has a classification rate of one percent of market value, unless it is part of an agricultural homestead under paragraph (a). Class 2a property must also include any property that would otherwise be classified as 2b, but is interspersed with class 2a property, including but not limited to sloughs, wooded wind shelters, acreage abutting ditches, ravines, rock piles, land subject to a setback requirement, and other similar land that is impractical for the assessor to value separately from the rest of the property.

An assessor may classify the part of a parcel described in this subdivision that is used for agricultural purposes as class 2a and the remainder in the class appropriate to its use.

- (c) Class 2b rural vacant land consists of parcels of property, or portions thereof, that are unplatted real estate, rural in character and not used for agricultural purposes, including land used for growing trees for timber, lumber, and wood and wood products, that is not improved with a structure. The presence of a minor, ancillary nonresidential structure as defined by the commissioner of revenue does not disqualify the property from classification under this paragraph. Any parcel of 20 acres or more improved with a structure that is not a minor, ancillary nonresidential structure must be split-classified, and ten acres must be assigned to the split parcel containing the structure. If a parcel of 20 acres or more is enrolled in the sustainable forest management incentive program under chapter 290C, the number of acres assigned to the split parcel improved with a structure that is not a minor, ancillary nonresidential structure must equal three acres or the number of acres excluded from the sustainable forest incentive act covenant due to the structure, whichever is greater. Class 2b property has a classification rate of one percent of market value unless it is part of an agricultural homestead under paragraph (a), or qualifies as class 2c under paragraph (d).
- (d) Class 2c managed forest land consists of no less than 20 and no more than 1,920 acres statewide per taxpayer that is being managed under a forest management plan that meets the requirements of chapter 290C, but is not enrolled in the sustainable forest resource management incentive program. It has a classification rate of .65 percent, provided that the owner of the property must apply to the assessor in order for the property to initially qualify for the reduced rate and provide the information required by the assessor to verify that the property qualifies for the reduced rate. If the assessor receives the application and information before May 1 in an assessment year, the property qualifies beginning with that assessment year. If the assessor receives the application and information after April 30 in an assessment year, the property may not qualify until the next assessment year. The commissioner of natural resources must concur that the land is qualified. The commissioner of natural

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.13

29.14

29.15

29.16

29.17

29.18

29.19

29.20

29.21

29.22

29.23

29.24

29.25

29.26

29.27

29.28

29.29

29.30

29.31

29.32

29.33

- resources shall annually provide county assessors verification information on a timely basis.

 The presence of a minor, ancillary nonresidential structure as defined by the commissioner of revenue does not disqualify the property from classification under this paragraph.
 - (e) Agricultural land as used in this section means:
 - (1) contiguous acreage of ten acres or more, used during the preceding year for agricultural purposes; or
 - (2) contiguous acreage used during the preceding year for an intensive livestock or poultry confinement operation, provided that land used only for pasturing or grazing does not qualify under this clause.

"Agricultural purposes" as used in this section means the raising, cultivation, drying, or storage of agricultural products for sale, or the storage of machinery or equipment used in support of agricultural production by the same farm entity. For a property to be classified as agricultural based only on the drying or storage of agricultural products, the products being dried or stored must have been produced by the same farm entity as the entity operating the drying or storage facility. "Agricultural purposes" also includes (i) enrollment in a local conservation program or the Reinvest in Minnesota program under sections 103F.501 to 103F.535 or the federal Conservation Reserve Program as contained in Public Law 99-198 or a similar state or federal conservation program if the property was classified as agricultural (A) under this subdivision for taxes payable in 2003 because of its enrollment in a qualifying program and the land remains enrolled or (B) in the year prior to its enrollment, or (ii) use of land, not to exceed three acres, to provide environmental benefits such as buffer strips, old growth forest restoration or retention, or retention ponds to prevent soil erosion. For purposes of this section, a "local conservation program" means a program administered by a town, statutory or home rule charter city, or county, including a watershed district, water management organization, or soil and water conservation district, in which landowners voluntarily enroll land and receive incentive payments equal to at least \$50 per acre in exchange for use or other restrictions placed on the land. In order for property to qualify under the local conservation program provision, a taxpayer must apply to the assessor by February 1 of the assessment year and must submit the information required by the assessor, including but not limited to a copy of the program requirements, the specific agreement between the land owner and the local agency, if applicable, and a map of the conservation area. Agricultural classification shall not be based upon the market value of any residential structures on the parcel or contiguous parcels under the same ownership.

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

"Contiguous acreage," for purposes of this paragraph, means all of, or a contiguous
portion of, a tax parcel as described in section 272.193, or all of, or a contiguous portion
of, a set of contiguous tax parcels under that section that are owned by the same person.
(f) Agricultural land under this section also includes:
(1) contiguous acreage that is less than ten acres in size and exclusively used in the preceding year for raising or cultivating agricultural products; or
(2) contiguous acreage that contains a residence and is less than 11 acres in size, if the contiguous acreage exclusive of the house, garage, and surrounding one acre of land was used in the preceding year for one or more of the following three uses:
(i) for an intensive grain drying or storage operation, or for intensive machinery or equipment storage activities used to support agricultural activities on other parcels of property operated by the same farming entity;
(ii) as a nursery, provided that only those acres used intensively to produce nursery stock are considered agricultural land; or
(iii) for intensive market farming; for purposes of this paragraph, "market farming" means the cultivation of one or more fruits or vegetables or production of animal or other agricultural products for sale to local markets by the farmer or an organization with which the farmer is affiliated.
"Contiguous acreage," for purposes of this paragraph, means all of a tax parcel as described in section 272.193, or all of a set of contiguous tax parcels under that section that are owned by the same person.
(g) Land shall be classified as agricultural even if all or a portion of the agricultural use of that property is the leasing to, or use by another person for agricultural purposes.
Classification under this subdivision is not determinative for qualifying under section 273.111.
(h) The property classification under this section supersedes, for property tax purposes only, any locally administered agricultural policies or land use restrictions that define minimum or maximum farm acreage.

sale of:

(i) The term "agricultural products" as used in this subdivision includes production for

31.1	(1) livestock; dairy animals; dairy products; poultry and poultry products; fur-bearing
31.2	animals; horticultural and nursery stock; fruit of all kinds; vegetables; forage; grains;
31.3	hemp; bees; and apiary products by the owner;
31.4	(2) aquacultural products for sale and consumption, as defined under section 17.47, if
31.5	the aquaculture occurs on land zoned for agricultural use;
31.6	(3) the commercial boarding of horses, which may include related horse training and
31.7	riding instruction, if the boarding is done on property that is also used for raising pasture
31.8	to graze horses or raising or cultivating other agricultural products as defined in clause (1);
31.9	(4) property which is owned and operated by nonprofit organizations used for equestrian
31.10	activities, excluding racing;
31.11	(5) game birds and waterfowl bred and raised (i) on a game farm licensed under section
31.12	97A.105, provided that the annual licensing report to the Department of Natural Resources,
31.13	which must be submitted annually by March 30 to the assessor, indicates that at least 500
31.14	birds were raised or used for breeding stock on the property during the preceding year and
31.15	that the owner provides a copy of the owner's most recent schedule F; or (ii) for use on a
31.16	shooting preserve licensed under section 97A.115;
31.17	(6) insects primarily bred to be used as food for animals;
31.18	(7) trees, grown for sale as a crop, including short rotation woody crops, and not sold
31.19	for timber, lumber, wood, or wood products; and
31.20	(8) maple syrup taken from trees grown by a person licensed by the Minnesota
31.21	Department of Agriculture under chapter 28A as a food processor.
31.22	(j) If a parcel used for agricultural purposes is also used for commercial or industrial
31.23	purposes, including but not limited to:
31.24	(1) wholesale and retail sales;
31.25	(2) processing of raw agricultural products or other goods;
31.26	(3) warehousing or storage of processed goods; and
31.27	(4) office facilities for the support of the activities enumerated in clauses (1), (2), and
31.28	(3), the assessor shall classify the part of the parcel used for agricultural purposes as class
31.29	1b, 2a, or 2b, whichever is appropriate, and the remainder in the class appropriate to its use.
31.30	The grading, sorting, and packaging of raw agricultural products for first sale is considered
31.31	an agricultural purpose. A greenhouse or other building where horticultural or nursery
31.32	products are grown that is also used for the conduct of retail sales must be classified as

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.23

32.24

32.25

32.26

32.27

32.28

32.29

32.30

32.31

32.32

32.33

agricultural if it is primarily used for the growing of horticultural or nursery products from seed, cuttings, or roots and occasionally as a showroom for the retail sale of those products. Use of a greenhouse or building only for the display of already grown horticultural or nursery products does not qualify as an agricultural purpose.

- (k) The assessor shall determine and list separately on the records the market value of the homestead dwelling and the one acre of land on which that dwelling is located. If any farm buildings or structures are located on this homesteaded acre of land, their market value shall not be included in this separate determination.
- (l) Class 2d airport landing area consists of a landing area or public access area of a privately owned public use airport. It has a classification rate of one percent of market value. To qualify for classification under this paragraph, a privately owned public use airport must be licensed as a public airport under section 360.018. For purposes of this paragraph, "landing area" means that part of a privately owned public use airport properly cleared, regularly maintained, and made available to the public for use by aircraft and includes runways, taxiways, aprons, and sites upon which are situated landing or navigational aids. A landing area also includes land underlying both the primary surface and the approach surfaces that comply with all of the following:
- (i) the land is properly cleared and regularly maintained for the primary purposes of the landing, taking off, and taxiing of aircraft; but that portion of the land that contains facilities for servicing, repair, or maintenance of aircraft is not included as a landing area;
 - (ii) the land is part of the airport property; and
- 32.22 (iii) the land is not used for commercial or residential purposes.
 - The land contained in a landing area under this paragraph must be described and certified by the commissioner of transportation. The certification is effective until it is modified, or until the airport or landing area no longer meets the requirements of this paragraph. For purposes of this paragraph, "public access area" means property used as an aircraft parking ramp, apron, or storage hangar, or an arrival and departure building in connection with the airport.
 - (m) Class 2e consists of land with a commercial aggregate deposit that is not actively being mined and is not otherwise classified as class 2a or 2b, provided that the land is not located in a county that has elected to opt-out of the aggregate preservation program as provided in section 273.1115, subdivision 6. It has a classification rate of one percent of market value. To qualify for classification under this paragraph, the property must be at

33.2

33.3

33.4

33.5

33.6

33.7

33.8

33.9

33.10

33.11

33.12

33.13

33.14

33.15

33.16

33.17

33.18

33.19

33.20

33.21

33.22

33.23

33.24

33.25

33.26

33.27

33.28

33.29

- least ten contiguous acres in size and the owner of the property must record with the county recorder of the county in which the property is located an affidavit containing:
 - (1) a legal description of the property;
- (2) a disclosure that the property contains a commercial aggregate deposit that is not actively being mined but is present on the entire parcel enrolled;
- (3) documentation that the conditional use under the county or local zoning ordinance of this property is for mining; and
- (4) documentation that a permit has been issued by the local unit of government or the mining activity is allowed under local ordinance. The disclosure must include a statement from a registered professional geologist, engineer, or soil scientist delineating the deposit and certifying that it is a commercial aggregate deposit.
- For purposes of this section and section 273.1115, "commercial aggregate deposit" means a deposit that will yield crushed stone or sand and gravel that is suitable for use as a construction aggregate; and "actively mined" means the removal of top soil and overburden in preparation for excavation or excavation of a commercial deposit.
- (n) When any portion of the property under this subdivision or subdivision 22 begins to be actively mined, the owner must file a supplemental affidavit within 60 days from the day any aggregate is removed stating the number of acres of the property that is actively being mined. The acres actively being mined must be (1) valued and classified under subdivision 24 in the next subsequent assessment year, and (2) removed from the aggregate resource preservation property tax program under section 273.1115, if the land was enrolled in that program. Copies of the original affidavit and all supplemental affidavits must be filed with the county assessor, the local zoning administrator, and the Department of Natural Resources, Division of Land and Minerals. A supplemental affidavit must be filed each time a subsequent portion of the property is actively mined, provided that the minimum acreage change is five acres, even if the actual mining activity constitutes less than five acres.
- (o) The definitions prescribed by the commissioner under paragraphs (c) and (d) are not rules and are exempt from the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14, and the provisions in section 14.386 concerning exempt rules do not apply.
- 33.31 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023 and thereafter.

34.2

34.3

34.4

34.5

34.6

34.7

34.8

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 273.13, subdivision 25, is amend	led
to read:	

- Subd. 25. Class 4. (a) Class 4a is residential real estate containing four or more units and used or held for use by the owner or by the tenants or lessees of the owner as a residence for rental periods of 30 days or more, excluding property qualifying for class 4d. Class 4a also includes hospitals licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56, other than hospitals exempt under section 272.02, and contiguous property used for hospital purposes, without regard to whether the property has been platted or subdivided. The market value of class 4a property has a classification rate of 1.25 percent.
- 34.10 (b) Class 4b includes:
- (1) residential real estate containing less than four units, including property rented as a 34.11 short-term rental property for more than 14 days in the preceding year, that does not qualify 34.12 as class 4bb, other than seasonal residential recreational property; 34.13
- (2) manufactured homes not classified under any other provision; 34.14
- (3) a dwelling, garage, and surrounding one acre of property on a nonhomestead farm 34.15 classified under subdivision 23, paragraph (b) containing two or three units; and 34.16
- (4) unimproved property that is classified residential as determined under subdivision 34.17 33. 34.18
- For the purposes of this paragraph, "short-term rental property" means nonhomestead 34.19 residential real estate rented for periods of less than 30 consecutive days. 34.20
- The market value of class 4b property has a classification rate of 1.25 percent. 34.21
- (c) Class 4bb includes: 34.22
- (1) nonhomestead residential real estate containing one unit, other than seasonal 34.23 34.24 residential recreational property;
- (2) a single family dwelling, garage, and surrounding one acre of property on a 34.25 34.26 nonhomestead farm classified under subdivision 23, paragraph (b); and
- (3) a condominium-type storage unit having an individual property identification number 34.27 that is not used for a commercial purpose. 34.28
- Class 4bb property has the same classification rates as class 1a property under subdivision 34.29 22. 34.30

35.2

35.3

35.4

35.5

35.6

35.7

35.8

35.9

35.10

35.11

35.12

35.13

35.14

35.15

35.16

35.17

35.18

35.19

35.20

35.21

35.22

35.23

35.24

35.25

35.26

35.27

35.28

35.29

35.30

35.31

35.32

35.33

35.34

35.35

Property that has been classified as seasonal residential recreational property at any time during which it has been owned by the current owner or spouse of the current owner does not qualify for class 4bb.

(d) Class 4c property includes:

(1) except as provided in subdivision 22, paragraph (c), real and personal property devoted to commercial temporary and seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes, for not more than 250 days in the year preceding the year of assessment. For purposes of this clause, property is devoted to a commercial purpose on a specific day if any portion of the property is used for residential occupancy, and a fee is charged for residential occupancy. Class 4c property under this clause must contain three or more rental units. A "rental unit" is defined as a cabin, condominium, townhouse, sleeping room, or individual camping site equipped with water and electrical hookups for recreational vehicles. A camping pad offered for rent by a property that otherwise qualifies for class 4c under this clause is also class 4c under this clause regardless of the term of the rental agreement, as long as the use of the camping pad does not exceed 250 days. In order for a property to be classified under this clause, either (i) the business located on the property must provide recreational activities, at least 40 percent of the annual gross lodging receipts related to the property must be from business conducted during 90 consecutive days, and either (A) at least 60 percent of all paid bookings by lodging guests during the year must be for periods of at least two consecutive nights; or (B) at least 20 percent of the annual gross receipts must be from charges for providing recreational activities, or (ii) the business must contain 20 or fewer rental units, and must be located in a township or a city with a population of 2,500 or less located outside the metropolitan area, as defined under section 473.121, subdivision 2, that contains a portion of a state trail administered by the Department of Natural Resources. For purposes of item (i)(A), a paid booking of five or more nights shall be counted as two bookings. Class 4c property also includes commercial use real property used exclusively for recreational purposes in conjunction with other class 4c property classified under this clause and devoted to temporary and seasonal residential occupancy for recreational purposes, up to a total of two acres, provided the property is not devoted to commercial recreational use for more than 250 days in the year preceding the year of assessment and is located within two miles of the class 4c property with which it is used. In order for a property to qualify for classification under this clause, the owner must submit a declaration to the assessor designating the cabins or units occupied for 250 days or less in the year preceding the year of assessment by January 15 of the assessment year. Those cabins or units and a proportionate share of the land on which they are located must be designated class 4c under this clause

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

36.29

36.30

as otherwise provided. The remainder of the cabins or units and a proportionate share of the land on which they are located will be designated as class 3a. The owner of property desiring designation as class 4c property under this clause must provide guest registers or other records demonstrating that the units for which class 4c designation is sought were not occupied for more than 250 days in the year preceding the assessment if so requested. The portion of a property operated as a (1) restaurant, (2) bar, (3) gift shop, (4) conference center or meeting room, and (5) other nonresidential facility operated on a commercial basis not directly related to temporary and seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes does not qualify for class 4c. For the purposes of this paragraph, "recreational activities" means renting ice fishing houses, boats and motors, snowmobiles, downhill or cross-country ski equipment; providing marina services, launch services, or guide services; or selling bait and fishing tackle;

- (2) qualified property used as a golf course if:
- (i) it is open to the public on a daily fee basis. It may charge membership fees or dues, but a membership fee may not be required in order to use the property for golfing, and its green fees for golfing must be comparable to green fees typically charged by municipal courses; and
 - (ii) it meets the requirements of section 273.112, subdivision 3, paragraph (d).
 - A structure used as a clubhouse, restaurant, or place of refreshment in conjunction with the golf course is classified as class 3a property;
 - (3) real property up to a maximum of three acres of land owned and used by a nonprofit community service oriented organization and not used for residential purposes on either a temporary or permanent basis, provided that:
 - (i) the property is not used for a revenue-producing activity for more than six days in the calendar year preceding the year of assessment; or
 - (ii) the organization makes annual charitable contributions and donations at least equal to the property's previous year's property taxes and the property is allowed to be used for public and community meetings or events for no charge, as appropriate to the size of the facility.
 - For purposes of this clause:
- (A) "charitable contributions and donations" has the same meaning as lawful gambling purposes under section 349.12, subdivision 25, excluding those purposes relating to the payment of taxes, assessments, fees, auditing costs, and utility payments;

37.2

37.3

37.4

37.5

37.6

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.11

37.12

37.13

37.14

37.15

37.16

37.17

37.18

37.19

37.20

37.21

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

37.29

37.30

37.31

37.32

37.33

- (B) "property taxes" excludes the state general tax;
- (C) a "nonprofit community service oriented organization" means any corporation, society, association, foundation, or institution organized and operated exclusively for charitable, religious, fraternal, civic, or educational purposes, and which is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3), (8), (10), or (19) of the Internal Revenue Code; and
- (D) "revenue-producing activities" shall include but not be limited to property or that portion of the property that is used as an on-sale intoxicating liquor or 3.2 percent malt liquor establishment licensed under chapter 340A, a restaurant open to the public, bowling alley, a retail store, gambling conducted by organizations licensed under chapter 349, an insurance business, or office or other space leased or rented to a lessee who conducts a for-profit enterprise on the premises.
- Any portion of the property not qualifying under either item (i) or (ii) is class 3a. The use of the property for social events open exclusively to members and their guests for periods of less than 24 hours, when an admission is not charged nor any revenues are received by the organization shall not be considered a revenue-producing activity.
- The organization shall maintain records of its charitable contributions and donations and of public meetings and events held on the property and make them available upon request any time to the assessor to ensure eligibility. An organization meeting the requirement under item (ii) must file an application by May 1 with the assessor for eligibility for the current year's assessment. The commissioner shall prescribe a uniform application form and instructions;
- (4) postsecondary student housing of not more than one acre of land that is owned by a nonprofit corporation organized under chapter 317A and is used exclusively by a student cooperative, sorority, or fraternity for on-campus housing or housing located within two miles of the border of a college campus;
- (5)(i) manufactured home parks as defined in section 327.14, subdivision 3, excluding including manufactured home parks described in items (ii) and (iii), (ii) manufactured home parks as defined in section 327.14, subdivision 3, that are described in section 273.124, subdivision 3a, and (iii) class I manufactured home parks as defined in section 327C.01, subdivision 13;
- (6) real property that is actively and exclusively devoted to indoor fitness, health, social, recreational, and related uses, is owned and operated by a not-for-profit corporation, and is located within the metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2;

38.1	(7) a leased or privately owned noncommercial aircraft storage hangar not exempt under
38.2	section 272.01, subdivision 2, and the land on which it is located, provided that:
38.3	(i) the land is on an airport owned or operated by a city, town, county, Metropolitan
38.4	Airports Commission, or group thereof; and
38.5	(ii) the land lease, or any ordinance or signed agreement restricting the use of the leased
38.6	premise, prohibits commercial activity performed at the hangar.
38.7	If a hangar classified under this clause is sold after June 30, 2000, a bill of sale must be
38.8	filed by the new owner with the assessor of the county where the property is located within
38.9	60 days of the sale;
38.10	(8) a privately owned noncommercial aircraft storage hangar not exempt under section
38.11	272.01, subdivision 2, and the land on which it is located, provided that:
38.12	(i) the land abuts a public airport; and
38.13	(ii) the owner of the aircraft storage hangar provides the assessor with a signed agreement
38.14	restricting the use of the premises, prohibiting commercial use or activity performed at the
38.15	hangar; and
38.16	(9) residential real estate, a portion of which is used by the owner for homestead purposes,
38.17	and that is also a place of lodging, if all of the following criteria are met:
38.18	(i) rooms are provided for rent to transient guests that generally stay for periods of 14
38.19	or fewer days;
38.20	(ii) meals are provided to persons who rent rooms, the cost of which is incorporated in
38.21	the basic room rate;
38.22	(iii) meals are not provided to the general public except for special events on fewer than
38.23	seven days in the calendar year preceding the year of the assessment; and
38.24	(iv) the owner is the operator of the property.
38.25	The market value subject to the 4c classification under this clause is limited to five rental
38.26	units. Any rental units on the property in excess of five, must be valued and assessed as
38.27	class 3a. The portion of the property used for purposes of a homestead by the owner must
38.28	be classified as class 1a property under subdivision 22;
38.29	(10) real property up to a maximum of three acres and operated as a restaurant as defined
38.30	under section 157.15, subdivision 12, provided it: (i) is located on a lake as defined under
38.31	section 103G.005, subdivision 15, paragraph (a), clause (3); and (ii) is either devoted to
38.32	commercial purposes for not more than 250 consecutive days, or receives at least 60 percent

39.2

39.3

39.4

39.5

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.10

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.15

39.16

39.17

39.18

39.19

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30

39.31

39.32

39.33

39.34

39.35

of its annual gross receipts from business conducted during four consecutive months. Gross receipts from the sale of alcoholic beverages must be included in determining the property's qualification under item (ii). The property's primary business must be as a restaurant and not as a bar. Gross receipts from gift shop sales located on the premises must be excluded. Owners of real property desiring 4c classification under this clause must submit an annual declaration to the assessor by February 1 of the current assessment year, based on the property's relevant information for the preceding assessment year;

(11) lakeshore and riparian property and adjacent land, not to exceed six acres, used as a marina, as defined in section 86A.20, subdivision 5, which is made accessible to the public and devoted to recreational use for marina services. The marina owner must annually provide evidence to the assessor that it provides services, including lake or river access to the public by means of an access ramp or other facility that is either located on the property of the marina or at a publicly owned site that abuts the property of the marina. No more than 800 feet of lakeshore may be included in this classification. Buildings used in conjunction with a marina for marina services, including but not limited to buildings used to provide food and beverage services, fuel, boat repairs, or the sale of bait or fishing tackle, are classified as class 3a property; and

(12) real and personal property devoted to noncommercial temporary and seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes.

Class 4c property has a classification rate of 1.5 percent of market value, except that (i) each parcel of noncommercial seasonal residential recreational property under clause (12) has the same classification rates as class 4bb property, (ii) manufactured home parks assessed under clause (5), item (i), have the same classification rate as class 4b property, the market value of manufactured home parks assessed under clause (5), item (ii), have a classification rate of 0.75 percent if more than 50 percent of the lots in the park are occupied by shareholders in the cooperative corporation or association and a classification rate of one percent if 50 percent or less of the lots are so occupied, and class I manufactured home parks as defined in section 327C.01, subdivision 13, have a classification rate of 1.0 0.75 percent, (iii) commercial-use seasonal residential recreational property and marina recreational land as described in clause (11), has a classification rate of one percent for the first \$500,000 of market value, and 1.25 percent for the remaining market value, (iv) the market value of property described in clause (4) has a classification rate of one percent, (v) the market value of property described in clauses (2), (6), and (10) has a classification rate of 1.25 percent, (vi) that portion of the market value of property in clause (9) qualifying for class 4c property has a classification rate of 1.25 percent, and (vii) property qualifying for

40.2

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.8

40.9

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

40.16

40.17

40.18

40.19

40.20

40.21

40.22

40.23

40.24

40.25

40.26

40.27

40.28

40.29

40.30

40.31

40.32

40.33

40.34

classification under clause (3) that is owned or operated by a congressionally chartered veterans organization has a classification rate of one percent. The commissioner of veterans affairs must provide a list of congressionally chartered veterans organizations to the commissioner of revenue by June 30, 2017, and by January 1, 2018, and each year thereafter.

(e) Class 4d property is includes:

(1) qualifying low-income rental housing certified to the assessor by the Housing Finance Agency under section 273.128, subdivision 3. If only a portion of the units in the building qualify as low-income rental housing units as certified under section 273.128, subdivision 3, only the proportion of qualifying units to the total number of units in the building qualify for class $4\frac{d}{d(1)}$. The remaining portion of the building shall be classified by the assessor based upon its use. Class $4\frac{d}{d(1)}$ also includes the same proportion of land as the qualifying low-income rental housing units are to the total units in the building. For all properties qualifying as class $4\frac{d}{d(1)}$, the market value determined by the assessor must be based on the normal approach to value using normal unrestricted rents-; and

(2) a unit that is owned by the occupant and used as a homestead by the occupant, and otherwise meets all the requirements for community land trust property under section 273.11, subdivision 12, provided that by December 31 of each assessment year, the community land trust certifies to the assessor that (i) the community land trust owns the real property on which the unit is located, and (ii) the unit owner is a member in good standing of the community land trust. For all units qualifying as class 4d(2), the market value determined by the assessor must be based on the normal approach to value without regard to any restrictions that apply because the unit is a community land trust property.

(f) The first tier of market value of class 4d property has a classification rate of 0.75 percent. The remaining value of class 4d property has a classification rate of 0.25 percent. For the purposes of this paragraph, the "first tier of market value of class 4d property" means the market value of each housing unit up to the first tier limit. For the purposes of this paragraph, all class 4d property value must be assigned to individual housing units. The first tier limit is \$100,000 for assessment years 2022 and 2023. For subsequent assessment years, the limit is adjusted each year by the average statewide change in estimated market value of property classified as class 4a and 4d under this section for the previous assessment year, excluding valuation change due to new construction, rounded to the nearest \$1,000, provided, however, that the limit may never be less than \$100,000. Beginning with assessment year 2015, the commissioner of revenue must certify the limit for each assessment year by November 1 of the previous year.

41.1	(f) Class 4d(1) property has a classification rate of 0.25 percent. Class 4d(2) property
41.2	has a classification rate of 0.75 percent.
41.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) The amendments to paragraph (d) are effective for property
41.4	taxes payable in 2024 and thereafter.
41.5	(b) The amendments to paragraph (e) are effective for property taxes payable in 2023
41.6	and thereafter.
41.7	(c) The amendments to paragraph (f) for 4(d)(1) property are effective beginning with
41.8	assessment year 2023. The amendments to paragraph (f) for 4(d)(2) property are effective
41.9	for taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.
41.10	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 273.13, subdivision 34, is amended
41.11	to read:
41.12	Subd. 34. Homestead of veteran with a disability or family caregiver. (a) All or a
41.13	portion of the market value of property owned by a veteran and serving as the veteran's
41.14	homestead under this section is excluded in determining the property's taxable market value
41.15	if the veteran has a service-connected disability of 70 percent or more as certified by the
41.16	United States Department of Veterans Affairs. To qualify for exclusion under this subdivision
41.17	the veteran must have been honorably discharged from the United States armed forces, as
41.18	indicated by United States Government Form DD214 or other official military discharge
41.19	papers.
41.20	(b)(1) For a disability rating of 70 percent or more, \$150,000 of market value is excluded
41.21	except as provided in clause (2); and
41.22	(2) for a total (100 percent) and permanent disability, \$300,000 of market value is
41.23	excluded.
41.24	(c) If a veteran with a disability qualifying for a valuation exclusion under paragraph
41.25	(b), clause (2), predeceases the veteran's spouse, and if upon the death of the veteran the
41.26	spouse holds the legal or beneficial title to the homestead and permanently resides there,
41.27	the exclusion shall carry over to the benefit of the veteran's spouse until such time as the
41.28	spouse remarries, or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the property, except as otherwise
41.29	provided in paragraph (n). Qualification under this paragraph requires an application under
41.30	paragraph (h), and a spouse must notify the assessor if there is a change in the spouse's
41.31	marital status, ownership of the property, or use of the property as a permanent residence.
41.32	If a spouse previously received the exclusion under this paragraph, but the exclusion expired
41.33	prior to assessment year 2019 before the eligibility time period for surviving spouses was

42.2

42.3

42.4

42.5

42.6

42.7

42.8

42.9

42.10

42.11

42.12

42.13

42.14

42.15

42.16

42.17

42.18

42.19

42.20

42.21

42.22

42.23

42.24

42.25

42.26

42.27

42.28

42.29

42.30

42.31

42.32

42.33

changed to a lifetime benefit, the spouse may	y reapply under paragraph (h) for the exclusion
under this paragraph.	

- (d) If the spouse of a member of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces who dies due to a service-connected cause while serving honorably in active service, as indicated on United States Government Form DD1300 or DD2064, holds the legal or beneficial title to a homestead and permanently resides there, the spouse is entitled to the benefit described in paragraph (b), clause (2), until such time as the spouse remarries or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the property, except as otherwise provided in paragraph (n). If a spouse previously received the exclusion under this paragraph, but the exclusion expired prior to assessment year 2019 before the eligibility time period for surviving spouses was changed to a lifetime benefit, the spouse may reapply under paragraph (h) for the exclusion under this paragraph.
- (e) If a veteran meets the disability criteria of paragraph (a) but does not own property classified as homestead in the state of Minnesota, then the homestead of the veteran's primary family caregiver, if any, is eligible for the exclusion that the veteran would otherwise qualify for under paragraph (b).
- (f) In the case of an agricultural homestead, only the portion of the property consisting of the house and garage and immediately surrounding one acre of land qualifies for the valuation exclusion under this subdivision.
- (g) A property qualifying for a valuation exclusion under this subdivision is not eligible for the market value exclusion under subdivision 35, or classification under subdivision 22, paragraph (b).
- (h) To qualify for a valuation exclusion under this subdivision a property owner must apply to the assessor by December 31 of the first assessment year for which the exclusion is sought. Except as provided in paragraph (c), the owner of a property that has been accepted for a valuation exclusion must notify the assessor if there is a change in ownership of the property or in the use of the property as a homestead.
- (i) A first-time application by a qualifying spouse for the market value exclusion under paragraph (d) must be made any time within two years of the death of the service member, within two years of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs Dependency and Indemnity Compensation determination, or by December 31, 2023, whichever is later. A qualifying spouse whose application was previously denied may reapply, pursuant to this paragraph, by December 31, 2023.
 - (j) For purposes of this subdivision:

	03/21/22 03.21 piii KD VISOR WIS/EIV WIS_TAKEE_I R	JI LIKI I
43.1	(1) "active service" has the meaning given in section 190.05;	
43.2	(2) "own" means that the person's name is present as an owner on the property	deed;
43.3	(3) "primary family caregiver" means a person who is approved by the secretar	y of the
43.4	United States Department of Veterans Affairs for assistance as the primary provide	r of
43.5	personal care services for an eligible veteran under the Program of Comprehensive As	sistance
43.6	for Family Caregivers, codified as United States Code, title 38, section 1720G; and	1
43.7	(4) "veteran" has the meaning given the term in section 197.447.	
43.8	(k) If a veteran dying after December 31, 2011, did not apply for or receive the ex-	clusion
43.9	under paragraph (b), clause (2), before dying, the veteran's spouse is entitled to the	benefit
43.10	under paragraph (b), clause (2), until the spouse remarries or sells, transfers, or oth	erwise
43.11	disposes of the property, except as otherwise provided in paragraph (n), if:	
43.12	(1) the spouse files a first-time application within two years of the death of the	service
43.13	member, within two years of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs Depe	ndency
43.14	and Indemnity Compensation determination, if applicable, or by June 1, 2019 Dec	<u>ember</u>
43.15	31, 2023, whichever is later. A spouse whose application was previously denied may	reapply,
43.16	pursuant to this paragraph, by December 31, 2023;	
43.17	(2) upon the death of the veteran, the spouse holds the legal or beneficial title to	o the
43.18	homestead and permanently resides there;	
43.19	(3) the veteran met the honorable discharge requirements of paragraph (a); and	
43.20	(4) the United States Department of Veterans Affairs certifies that:	
43.21	(i) the veteran met the total (100 percent) and permanent disability requirement	under
43.22	paragraph (b), clause (2); or	
43.23	(ii) the spouse has been awarded dependency and indemnity compensation.	
43.24	(l) The purpose of this provision of law providing a level of homestead propert	y tax
43.25	relief for veterans with a disability, their primary family caregivers, and their survi	ving
43.26	spouses is to help ease the burdens of war for those among our state's citizens who	bear

(m) By July 1, the county veterans service officer must certify the disability rating and permanent address of each veteran receiving the benefit under paragraph (b) to the assessor.

(n) A spouse who received the benefit in paragraph (c), (d), or (k) but no longer holds the legal or beneficial title to the property may continue to receive the exclusion for a

43.27

43.28

43.29

43.30

43.31

those burdens most heavily.

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.6

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.26

- property other than the property for which the exclusion was initially granted until the spouse remarries or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the property, provided that:
- (1) the spouse applies under paragraph (h) for the continuation of the exclusion allowed under this paragraph;
- (2) the spouse holds the legal or beneficial title to the property for which the continuation of the exclusion is sought under this paragraph, and permanently resides there;
- (3) the estimated market value of the property for which the exclusion is sought under this paragraph is less than or equal to the estimated market value of the property that first received the exclusion, based on the value of each property on the date of the sale of the property that first received the exclusion; and
- 44.11 (4) the spouse has not previously received the benefit under this paragraph for a property other than the property for which the exclusion is sought.
- 44.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for assessment year 2022 and thereafter.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.13, subdivision 35, is amended to read:
- Subd. 35. **Homestead market value exclusion.** (a) Prior to determining a property's net tax capacity under this section, property classified as class 1a or 1b under subdivision 22, and the portion of property classified as class 2a under subdivision 23 consisting of the house, garage, and surrounding one acre of land, shall be eligible for a market value exclusion as determined under paragraph (b).
- (b) For a homestead valued at \$76,000 \$95,000 or less, the exclusion is 40 percent of market value. For a homestead valued between \$76,000 \$95,000 and \$413,800 \$517,200, the exclusion is \$30,400 \$38,000 minus nine percent of the valuation over \$76,000 \$95,000.

 For a homestead valued at \$413,800 \$517,200 or more, there is no valuation exclusion. The valuation exclusion shall be rounded to the nearest whole dollar, and may not be less than zero.
 - (c) Any valuation exclusions or adjustments under section 273.11 shall be applied prior to determining the amount of the valuation exclusion under this subdivision.
- (d) In the case of a property that is classified as part homestead and part nonhomestead,
 (i) the exclusion shall apply only to the homestead portion of the property, but (ii) if a portion
 of a property is classified as nonhomestead solely because not all the owners occupy the
 property, not all the owners have qualifying relatives occupying the property, or solely
 because not all the spouses of owners occupy the property, the exclusion amount shall be

45.1	initially computed as if that nonhomestead portion were also in the homestead class and
45.2	then prorated to the owner-occupant's percentage of ownership. For the purpose of this
45.3	section, when an owner-occupant's spouse does not occupy the property, the percentage of
45.4	ownership for the owner-occupant spouse is one-half of the couple's ownership percentage.
45.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for assessment year 2023 and thereafter.
45.6	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.13, is amended by adding a subdivision to
45.7	read:
45.8	Subd. 36. Affordable housing market value exclusion. (a) Prior to determining a
45.9	property's net tax capacity under this section, property classified as class 4a under subdivision
45.10	25, paragraph (a), shall be eligible for an affordable housing market value exclusion as
45.11	determined under paragraph (b).
45.12	(b) For a property that meets the requirements under section 273.129, the exclusion is
45.13	50 percent of the market value. The valuation shall be rounded to the nearest whole dollar,
45.14	and may not be less than zero.
45.15	(c) Any valuation exclusions or adjustments under section 273.11 shall be applied prior
45.16	to determining the amount of the valuation exclusion under this subdivision.
45.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.
45.18	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.1387, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
45.19	Subd. 2. Credit amount. For each qualifying property, the school building bond
45.20	agricultural credit is equal to the credit percent multiplied by the property's eligible net tax
45.21	capacity multiplied by the school debt tax rate determined under section 275.08, subdivision
45.22	1b. For property taxes payable prior to 2020, the credit percent is equal to 40 percent. For
45.23	property taxes payable in 2020, the credit percent is equal to 50 percent. For property taxes
45.24	payable in 2021, the credit percent is equal to 55 percent. For property taxes payable in
45.25	2022, the credit percent is equal to 60 percent. For property taxes payable in 2023 and
45.26	thereafter, the credit percent is equal to 70 percent. For property taxes payable in 2024 and
45.27	thereafter, the credit percent is equal to 85 percent.
45.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with property taxes payable
45.29	<u>in 2024.</u>

46.2

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.6

46.7

46.8

46.9

46.10

46.11

46.12

46.13

46.14

46.15

46.16

46.17

46.18

46.29

46.30

46.31

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 273.41, is amended to read:

273.41 AMOUNT OF TAX; DISTRIBUTION.

There is hereby imposed upon each such cooperative association on December 31 of each year a tax of \$10 for each 100 members, or fraction thereof, of such association. The tax, when paid, shall be in lieu of all personal property taxes, state, county, or local, upon distribution lines and the attachments and appurtenances thereto of such associations located in rural areas. For purposes of this section, "attachments and appurtenances" include, but are not limited to, all cooperative association-owned metering and streetlighting equipment that is physically or electrically connected to the cooperative association's distribution system. The tax shall be payable on or before March 1 of the next succeeding year, to the commissioner of revenue. If the tax, or any portion thereof, is not paid within the time herein specified for the payment thereof, there shall be added thereto a specific penalty equal to ten percent of the amount so remaining unpaid. Such penalty shall be collected as part of said tax, and the amount of said tax not timely paid, together with said penalty, shall bear interest at the rate specified in section 270C.40 from the time such tax should have been paid until paid. The commissioner shall deposit the amount so received in the general fund of the state treasury.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.

- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 275.025, subdivision 1, is amended 46.19 to read: 46.20
- Subdivision 1. Levy amount. The state general levy is levied against 46.21
- commercial-industrial property and seasonal residential recreational property, as defined 46.22
- in this section. The state general levy for commercial-industrial property is \$716,990,000 46.23
- \$688,641,000 for taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter. The state general levy for 46.24
- seasonal-recreational property is \$41,690,000 \$40,042,000 for taxes payable in 2020 2023 46.25
- and thereafter. The tax under this section is not treated as a local tax rate under section 46.26
- 469.177 and is not the levy of a governmental unit under chapters 276A and 473F. 46.27
- The commissioner shall increase or decrease the preliminary or final rate for a year as 46.28 necessary to account for errors and tax base changes that affected a preliminary or final rate for either of the two preceding years. Adjustments are allowed to the extent that the necessary information is available to the commissioner at the time the rates for a year must be certified,
- and for the following reasons: 46.32
- (1) an erroneous report of taxable value by a local official; 46.33

- (2) an erroneous calculation by the commissioner; and
- (3) an increase or decrease in taxable value for commercial-industrial or seasonal 47.2 residential recreational property reported to the commissioner under section 270C.85, 47.3
- subdivision 2, clause (4), for the same year. 47.4
- 47.5 The commissioner may, but need not, make adjustments if the total difference in the tax
- levied for the year would be less than \$100,000. 47.6
- 47.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 276.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 47.8
- Subd. 2. Contents of tax statements. (a) The treasurer shall provide for the printing of the tax statements. The commissioner of revenue shall prescribe the form of the property 47.10 tax statement and its contents. The tax statement must not state or imply that property tax 47.11 credits are paid by the state of Minnesota. The statement must contain a tabulated statement 47.12 47.13 of the dollar amount due to each taxing authority and the amount of the state tax from the parcel of real property for which a particular tax statement is prepared. The dollar amounts 47.14 attributable to the county, the state tax, the voter approved school tax, the other local school 47.15 tax, the township or municipality, and the total of the metropolitan special taxing districts 47.16 as defined in section 275.065, subdivision 3, paragraph (i), must be separately stated. The 47.17 47.18 amounts due all other special taxing districts, if any, may be aggregated except that any levies made by the regional rail authorities in the county of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, 47.19 Ramsey, Scott, or Washington under chapter 398A shall be listed on a separate line directly 47.20 under the appropriate county's levy. If the county levy under this paragraph includes an 47.21 amount for a lake improvement district as defined under sections 103B.501 to 103B.581, 47.22 the amount attributable for that purpose must be separately stated from the remaining county 47.23 levy amount. In the case of Ramsey County, if the county levy under this paragraph includes 47.24 an amount for public library service under section 134.07, the amount attributable for that 47.25 purpose may be separated from the remaining county levy amount. The amount of the tax 47.26 on homesteads qualifying under the senior citizens' property tax deferral program under 47.27 chapter 290B is the total amount of property tax before subtraction of the deferred property 47.28 tax amount. The amount of the tax on contamination value imposed under sections 270.91 47.29 47.30 to 270.98, if any, must also be separately stated. The dollar amounts, including the dollar amount of any special assessments, may be rounded to the nearest even whole dollar. For 47.31 purposes of this section whole odd-numbered dollars may be adjusted to the next higher 47.32 even-numbered dollar. The amount of market value excluded under section 273.11, 47.33 subdivision 16, if any, must also be listed on the tax statement. 47.34

18.1	(b) The property tax statements for manufactured homes and sectional structures taxed
18.2	as personal property shall contain the same information that is required on the tax statements
18.3	for real property.
18.4	(c) Real and personal property tax statements must contain the following information
18.5	in the order given in this paragraph. The information must contain the current year tax
8.6	information in the right column with the corresponding information for the previous year
8.7	in a column on the left:
18.8	(1) the property's estimated market value under section 273.11, subdivision 1;
8.9	(2) the property's homestead market value exclusion under section 273.13, subdivision
8.10	35, or the affordable housing market value exclusion under section 273.13, subdivision 36;
8.11	(3) the property's taxable market value under section 272.03, subdivision 15;
8.12	(4) the property's gross tax, before credits;
8.13	(5) for agricultural properties, the credits under sections 273.1384 and 273.1387;
8.14	(6) any credits received under sections 273.119; 273.1234 or 273.1235; 273.135;
8.15	273.1391; 273.1398, subdivision 4; 469.171; and 473H.10, except that the amount of credit
8.16	received under section 273.135 must be separately stated and identified as "taconite tax
8.17	relief"; and
8.18	(7) the net tax payable in the manner required in paragraph (a).
8.19	(d) If the county uses envelopes for mailing property tax statements and if the county
8.20	agrees, a taxing district may include a notice with the property tax statement notifying
8.21	taxpayers when the taxing district will begin its budget deliberations for the current year,
8.22	and encouraging taxpayers to attend the hearings. If the county allows notices to be included
8.23	in the envelope containing the property tax statement, and if more than one taxing district
8.24	relative to a given property decides to include a notice with the tax statement, the county
8.25	treasurer or auditor must coordinate the process and may combine the information on a
8.26	single announcement.
8.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning with assessment year 2023.
8.28	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 279.03, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
8.29	Subd. 1a. Rate. (a) Except as provided in paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), interest on
8.30	delinquent property taxes, penalties, and costs unpaid on or after January 1 is payable at the
8.31	per annum rate determined in section 270C.40, subdivision 5. If the rate so determined is
18.32	less than ten percent, the rate of interest is ten percent. The maximum per annum rate is 14

49.2

49.3

49.4

49.5

49.6

49.22

49.23

49.24

49.25

49.26

49.27

49.28

49.29

49.30

49.31

- percent if the rate specified under section 270C.40, subdivision 5, exceeds 14 percent. The rate is subject to change on January 1 of each year.
 - (b) If a person is the owner of one or more parcels of property on which taxes are delinquent, and the delinquent taxes are more than 25 percent of the prior year's school district levy, interest on the delinquent property taxes, penalties, and costs unpaid is payable at twice the rate determined under paragraph (a) for the year.
- 49.7 (c) A county board, by resolution, may establish an interest rate lower than the interest 49.8 rate determined under paragraph (a).
- 49.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for property taxes, penalties, and costs determined to be delinquent on or after January 1, 2023.
- 49.11 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 282.261, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Interest rate.** (a) Except as provided under paragraph (b), the unpaid balance on any repurchase contract approved by the county board is subject to interest at the rate determined in section 279.03, subdivision 1a. The interest rate is subject to change each year on the unpaid balance in the manner provided for rate changes in section 279.03, subdivision 1a.
- (b) A county board, by resolution, or a county auditor, if delegated the responsibility to

 49.18 administer tax-forfeited land assigned to the county board as provided under section 282.135,

 49.19 may establish an interest rate lower than the interest rate determined under paragraph (a).
- 49.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023.
- 49.21 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 290A.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 6. **Homestead.** "Homestead" means the dwelling occupied as the claimant's principal residence and so much of the land surrounding it, not exceeding ten acres, as is reasonably necessary for use of the dwelling as a home and any other property used for purposes of a homestead as defined in section 273.13, subdivision 22, except for or 273.13, subdivision 25, paragraph (e), clause (2). For agricultural land assessed as part of a homestead pursuant to section 273.13, subdivision 23, "homestead" is limited to the house and garage and immediately surrounding one acre of land. The homestead may be owned or rented and may be a part of a multidwelling or multipurpose building and the land on which it is built. A manufactured home, as defined in section 273.125, subdivision 8, or a park trailer taxed as a manufactured home under section 168.012, subdivision 9, assessed as personal property may be a dwelling for purposes of this subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for refund claims based on taxes payable
in 2023 and thereafter.
Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 290B.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Program qualifications. The qualifications for the senior citizens'
property tax deferral program are as follows:
(1) the property must be owned and occupied as a homestead by a person 65 years of
age or older. In the case of a married couple, at least one of the spouses must be at least 65
years old at the time the first property tax deferral is granted, regardless of whether the
property is titled in the name of one spouse or both spouses, or titled in another way that
permits the property to have homestead status, and the other spouse must be at least 62 years
of age;
(2) the total household income of the qualifying homeowners, as defined in section
290A.03, subdivision 5, for the calendar year preceding the year of the initial application
may not exceed \$60,000 \$75,000;
(3) the homestead must have been owned and occupied as the homestead of at least one
of the qualifying homeowners for at least 15 five years prior to the year the initial application
is filed;
(4) there are no state or federal tax liens or judgment liens on the homesteaded property;
(5) there are no mortgages or other liens on the property that secure future advances,
except for those subject to credit limits that result in compliance with clause (6); and
(6) the total unpaid balances of debts secured by mortgages and other liens on the
property, including unpaid and delinquent special assessments and interest and any delinquent
property taxes, penalties, and interest, but not including property taxes payable during the
year or debts secured by a residential PACE lien, as defined in section 216C.435, subdivision
10d, does not exceed 75 percent of the assessor's estimated market value for the year.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications received for deferral of
taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.
Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 290B.04, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Excess-income certification by taxpayer. A taxpayer whose initial application
has been approved under subdivision 2 shall notify the commissioner of revenue in writing
by July 1 if the taxpayer's household income for the preceding calendar year exceeded

51.2

51.3

51.4

51.5

51.6

51.7

51.8

51.9

51.10

51.11

51.12

51.13

51.14

51.15

51.16

51.17

51.18

51.22

51.23

51.24

51.25

51.26

51.27

51.28

51.29

51.30

51.31

51.32

51.33

\$60,000 \$75,000. The certification must state the homeowner's total household income for the previous calendar year. No property taxes may be deferred under this chapter in any year following the year in which a program participant filed or should have filed an excess-income certification under this subdivision, unless the participant has filed a resumption of eligibility certification as described in subdivision 4.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications received for deferral of taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.

- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 290B.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Resumption of eligibility certification by taxpayer.** A taxpayer who has previously filed an excess-income certification under subdivision 3 may resume program participation if the taxpayer's household income for a subsequent year is \$60,000 \$75,000 or less. If the taxpayer chooses to resume program participation, the taxpayer must notify the commissioner of revenue in writing by July 1 of the year following a calendar year in which the taxpayer's household income is \$60,000 \$75,000 or less. The certification must state the taxpayer's total household income for the previous calendar year. Once a taxpayer resumes participation in the program under this subdivision, participation will continue until the taxpayer files a subsequent excess-income certification under subdivision 3 or until participation is terminated under section 290B.08, subdivision 1.
- 51.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for applications received for deferral of taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 290B.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Determination by commissioner.** The commissioner shall determine each qualifying homeowner's "annual maximum property tax amount" following approval of the homeowner's initial application and following the receipt of a resumption of eligibility certification. The "annual maximum property tax amount" equals three percent of the homeowner's total household income for the year preceding either the initial application or the resumption of eligibility certification, whichever is applicable. Following approval of the initial application, the commissioner shall determine the qualifying homeowner's "maximum allowable deferral." No tax may be deferred relative to the appropriate assessment year for any homeowner whose total household income for the previous year exceeds \$60,000 \$75,000. No tax shall be deferred in any year in which the homeowner does not meet the program qualifications in section 290B.03. The maximum allowable total deferral is equal to 75 percent of the assessor's estimated market value for the year, less the balance

of application, including any unpaid and delinquent special assessments and intere	. 1
	st and
any delinquent property taxes, penalties, and interest, but not including property ta	xes
52.4 payable during the year.	
52.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications received for det	ferral of
52.6 taxes payable in 2023 and thereafter.	
Sec. 36. CLASS 4D(1); CLASS-RATE REDUCTION PROPERTY TAX SAV	<u>/INGS</u>
52.8 REPORT.	
(a) By November 1, 2024, each county must identify ten properties located with	hin the
52.10 county with the greatest number of units classified as class 4d(1) under Minnesota S	Statutes,
section 273.13, subdivision 25. After identifying each property, the county must co	ontact
and survey each property owner as to how each owner used property tax savings re	esulting
52.13 from the class rate change made to property classified as class 4d(1) under Minnes	<u>ota</u>
52.14 Statutes, section 273.13, subdivision 25, beginning with property taxes payable in	<u>2024.</u>
52.15 (b) By March 15, 2025, each county shall issue a report to the commissioner of	revenue
and to the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over ta	xes and
52.17 property taxes indicating how each surveyed property owner used property tax sav	ings
resulting from the class 4d(1) class rate change. The report shall include uses ident	ified by
52.19 type including, but not limited to, property maintenance, property security, property	<u>y</u>
52.20 improvements, property operations, rent stabilization, and increases in the property's	s capital
52.21 expenditure fund balance.	
52.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment	ent.
Sec. 37. CHILD PROTECTION COST STUDY.	
52.24 (a) The legislative auditor is requested to conduct a special review of the costs	<u>to</u>
52.25 <u>Minnesota counties for the provision of child protective services.</u> The review would	d need
52.26 to include:	
52.27 (1) an overview of the roles and responsibilities of counties in Minnesota's child pr	otective
52.28 services system and a comparison of these roles and responsibilities to those in other	r states;
52.29 (2) from 2013 through 2022, the amount each county spent on duties related to	child
52.30 protective services;	·
52.31 (3) from 2013 through 2022, the amount of federal and state funds received by	each
52.32 county for duties related to child protective services; and	

53.1	(4) from 2013 through 2022, the amount each county paid for child protective services
53.2	using property tax revenue.
53.3	(b) The legislative auditor would need to complete the review by August 1, 2023, and
53.4	report the results of the review to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative

Sec. 38. **REPEALER.**

53.5

Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 327C.01, subdivision 13; and 327C.16, are repealed.

committees with jurisdiction over property taxation.

- 53.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective beginning with property taxes payable
- in 2024 and thereafter.