TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on February 25, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Rep. John Petersburg moved that the minutes of February 23 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 602 (Jordan) Minneapolis streetcar financing modified to allow for bus rapid transit financing

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 602 be referred to the Taxes Committee.

Rep. Jordan gave an overview of HF 602.

Chair Hornstein moved that the H602DE2 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Public Testimony on HF 602, as amended

Minneapolis City Council Member Kevin Reich, Ward 1

Rep. Torkelson moved that the H602A2 amendment be adopted. Rep. Torkelson requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows:

AYES:

PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon OLSON, Bjorn TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael RICHARDSON, Ruth

There being 7 AYES and 10 NAYS, THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion that HF 602, as amended, be referred to the Taxes Committee. The results were as follows:

AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS:

PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal KOZNICK, Jon OLSON, Bjorn TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

There being 10 AYES and 6 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 646 (Lee) Bus deployment governed in the seven-county metropolitan area based on vehicle emissions

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 646 be laid over for possible inclusion in a finance bill.

Rep. Lee gave an overview of HF 646.

Public Testimony on HF 646

Adam Babel Marco Hernandez, COPAL Kathleen Schuler, Health Professionals for Healthy Climate Alex Burns, Sierra Club North Star Chapter

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 646 for possible inclusion in a finance bill.

HF 64 (Klevorn) Median and Minneapolis; Trunk Highway 55 alternatives analysis of transit funding provided, and money appropriated

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 64 be laid over for possible inclusion in a finance bill.

Rep. Klevorn gave an overview of HF 64.

Public Testimony on HF 64

Irene Fernando, Hennepin County Commissioner, District 2

Kevin Anderson, Hennepin County Commissioner, District 7 Mayor Jeff Wosje, City of Plymouth Chris LaBounty, Plymouth City Engineer Gillian Rosenquist, Golden Valley City Council Member

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 64 for possible inclusion in a finance bill.

Vice Chair Koegel assumed the gavel at 2:07pm.

HF _____ (Hornstein) E line bus rapid transit from Minneapolis to Southdale Transit Center

Rep. Hornstein gave an overview of his proposal on the E line bus rapid transit from Minneapolis to Southdale Transit Center.

Public Testimony on HF _____ (Hornstein) E line bus rapid transit from Minneapolis to Southdale

Angela Conley, Hennepin County Commissioner, District 4 Sophie Nikitas John-Paul Yates, Minneapolis Regional Chamber

Chair Hornstein assumed the gavel at 2:26pm.

HF 1381 (Koegel) Columbia Heights; Central Avenue NE arterial bus rapid transit line funding provided, bonds issued, and money appropriated

Vice Chair Koegel gave an overview of HF 1381.

Public Testimony on HF 1381

Transit Center

Mayor Amada Marquez Simula, City of Columbia Heights

Metropolitan Council presentation on Bus Rapid Transit

Charles Carlson, Director of BRT Projects, Metro Transit

SouthWest Transit presentation on PRIME Microtransit Service

Len Simich, Chief Executive Officer and General Manager, SouthWest Transit

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 2:45pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant