



March 7, 2022

Minnesota House of Representatives Health Finance and Policy Committee

Dear Chair Liebling and committee members:

The Minnesota Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN) Coalition and the Minnesota Nurse Practitioners (MNNP) organization heartily endorse HF 2768 (Rep Morrison): Pharmacists authorized to administer drugs through intramuscular or subcutaneous administration; and drug monitoring devices authorized; and HF 3854 (Rep Hollins): Pharmacists authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer drugs to prevent the acquisition of human immunodeficiency virus; and pharmacists authorized to order, conduct, and interpret laboratory tests necessary for therapy that uses drugs to prevent the acquisition of human immunodeficiency virus.

Our organizations want to ensure that Minnesotans have access to the quality healthcare they deserve. The COVID-19 pandemic added significant complications to accessing that care. Provisions in the law enacted due to the COVID-19 pandemic allowed Minnesota Pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to provide health services to many Minnesotans in their own community. **HF 2768** ensures that Minnesotans will continue to be able to receive the quality, safe healthcare services these pharmacies currently provide.

In order to successfully reach the goals of the Minnesota Department of Health's "End HIV MN" plan, Pre-exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) must be made widely available to those at risk. **HF 3854** accomplishes this by allowing appropriately educated and trained pharmacists to prescribe, dispense, and administer HIV prevention medications and to order, conduct, and interpret the tests required to ensure the safety of individuals using such prevention medications. Ensuring PrEP access and safe follow-up is necessary to reach our goals of ending the HIV epidemic in Minnesota.

Removing barriers to Minnesotan's access to quality healthcare is a tenet of our organizations. Both HF 2768 and HF 3854 make provisions in the law that accomplish that goal. We, therefore, support these bills and ask the legislature to support them as well.

Sincerely,

President

Sara McCumber, DNP, APRN, CNP, CNS

Sara Mc Cumber

Minnesota Nurse Practitioners

Brian K. Goodroad, DNP, APRN, CNP, FAANP

Jua K Goodward

President

Minnesota APRN Coalition