

400 South 4th Street, Suite 416 Minneapolis, MN 55415 (952) 230-4555 mntech.org

February 24, 2022

Dear Legislators,

As executives of Minnesota companies that rely on skilled technologists to power increasingly technology-enabled business strategies, we are collectively voicing our support for passage of the Computer Science Education Advancement Act (HF 759/SF 757) in the 2023 legislative session.

At a time when every industry is impacted by digital technology, computer science coursework provides an essential foundation to students — not only for careers in technology, but for every career in today's world. With business demand for computational thinkers far outstripping available supply, funding for computer science education in Minnesota must be a priority for this legislative session. Minnesota continues to lag the rest of the nation in student access to foundational computer science education, demonstrating that now is the time for action.

We urge you to pass HF 759/SF 757 so that all students in Minnesota have access to high-quality computer science learning opportunities and become technology creators, not just consumers. The future of Minnesota's innovation economy depends on it.

Respectfully,

Mark Murphy Chief Information Officer 3M

Brett Craig Chief Information Officer Target

Teddy Bekele Chief Technology Officer Land O'Lakes

Tim Peterson Chief Technology Officer Xcel Energy

Ritu Sharma Chief Data & Analytics Officer Securian Financial Eric Hanson Chief Information Officer Starkey Hearing Technologies

Paul Challe Chief Information Officer Tennant Company

Sarah Engstrom Chief Information Security Officer CHS

Ryan Hawkins Chief Technology Officer Thrivent Financial

Joshua Jabs Chief Technology Officer Calabrio



Jim Jones Chief Information Officer Great River Energy

Brian Katlack Chief Information Officer Huntington Bank

Don Knutson Chief Information Officer Entegris, Inc.

Doug Koch Chief Information Officer Edina Realty Home Services

Jake Krings Vice President, Engineering Target

Rachel Lockett Chief Information Officer Pohlad Companies

Heather Mickman Chief Information Officer Gap Inc.

Carissa Rollins Chief Information Officer Illumina

Brian Seebacher President & CTO Hargrove & Associates, Inc Priya Senthilkumar Vice President, Technology Pearson

Kurt Svendsen VP, Corporate Development The Toro Company

Shawn Swearingen Chief Innovation Officer Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP

Jamie Thingelstad Chief Technology Officer SPS Commerce

Tim Thull Chief Information Officer Revo Health

Beth Tschida Chief Technology Officer Jamf

Eduardo Valencia Chief Information Officer Metropolitan Airports Commission

Gary Hansen Chief Technology Officer Bl Worldwide