EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 7, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RUTH, Richardson, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Representative Moller moved the minutes from the committee meeting on March 2, 2022, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The following testified on the Minnesota State High School League's Plan to Address Racism: Erich Martens, Executive Director, Minnesota State High School League

Chair Richardson moved HF2246 be laid over for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill.

The following testified on HF2246:

The Honorable John Huot, State Representative

Roger Aronson, Lobbyist & Special Projects Counsel, Minnesota State High School League Idil Abdull, Parent Advocate

Chair Richardson laid over HF2246 for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill.

Representative Edelson moved HF2726 to be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Edelson moved Amendment H2726A2. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF2726, as amended:

Dr. Lucy Payne, Mahtomedi School Board Director, ISD 832

Mr. Adam Gregory, Chemistry Teacher, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa ISD 2364

John Sellwood, Senior at Mahtomedi High School, PSEO student at Century College

Kate Lynn Snyder, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota

Representative Edelson renewed the motion to refer HF2726, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

RUTH, Richardson, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair

BERG, Kaela

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead

BOE, Greg

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean

EXCUSED

BENNETT, Peggy

With a vote of 11 AYES, 7 NAYS, AND 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Berg moved HF2742 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF2742:

Eric Cameron, Social Studies Teacher, East View Academy in Little Canada

Wendy Smith, Director, VOA High School in Minneapolis

Nate Christen, English Teacher, PYC Arts & Tech in Minneapolis

Bradley Jenson, President, Minnesota Association of the Alternative Programs (MAAP)

Representative Berg renewed the motion to refer HF2742 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

RUTH, Richardson, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair

ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

BERG, Kaela

BOE, Greg

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

With a vote of 18 AYES and 1 NAY, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 2:17pm.

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair

Isabel Rolfes, Committee Legislative Assistant