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Overview 

This bill contains the governor’s budget recommendations related to health care 

programs administered by the Department of Human Services, licensing and 

background studies, Minnesota Department of Health initiatives, and the health 

licensing boards. 

Article 1: Health Care 

This article makes changes related to DHS health care programs. These changes include, but are 
not limited to: extending the time period for hospitals to appeal rate information; modifying 
calculation of the asset limit for Medicare savings programs; expanding the use of telemedicine 
services; allowing coverage of a 90-day supply of certain drugs; providing monthly transit 
passes to NEMT recipients; allowing contracting for EPSDT outreach services; expanding the 
scope of a grant program for high-risk pregnant women; and modifying MinnesotaCare 
eligibility procedures. 

Section Description - Article 1: Health Care 

 Appeals. 

Amends § 256.9695, subd. 1. Extends from 12 to 18 months the time period, after 
the last day of the calendar year that is the base year, during which hospitals can 
appeal base year information used to set inpatient hospital payment rates. 

 Qualified Medicare beneficiaries. 

Amends § 256B.057, subd. 3. Sets the asset limit for eligibility for Medicare savings 
programs (programs that assist low-income Medicare beneficiaries with Medicare 
premiums and cost-sharing) at the current level -- $10,000 for one and $18,000 for 
two or more individuals, or at the asset level for the Medicare Part D extra help low 
income subsidy (LIS), once this indexed asset level exceeds the current asset limits. 
States that this section is effective the day following final enactment. 
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Section Description - Article 1: Health Care 

 Assertive community treatment team staff requirements and roles. 

Amends § 256B.0622, subd. 7a. Allows the psychiatric care provider of an assertive 
community treatment team (ACT) to provide services by telemedicine when 
necessary to ensure the availability of services and maintain statutory requirements 
for staffing levels. 

 Telemedicine services. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 3b. Expands telemedicine services under MA and 
MinnesotaCare.  

The amendment to paragraph (a) removes the three visit per enrollee per week limit 
(the language striking paragraph (f) of current law is a conforming change).  

The amendment to paragraph (d) includes the delivery of services to a patient in the 
patient’s home in the definition of telemedicine services.  

The amendment to paragraph (e) adds the following to the list of licensed health care 
providers who can provide telemedicine services – mental health certified peer 
specialists, mental health certified family peer specialists, mental health 
rehabilitation workers, mental health behavioral aides, alcohol and drug counselors, 
treatment coordinators, and recovery peers. Also removes the requirement that 
mental health practitioners work under the general supervision of a mental health 
professional when providing telemedicine services. 

A new paragraph (f) states that telemedicine visits can be used to satisfy the face-to-
face requirement for reimbursement for federally qualified health centers, rural 
health clinics, Indian health services, 638 tribal clinics, and certified community 
behavioral health clinics, if the services would otherwise qualify for payment if 
performed in person. 

States that this section is effective upon federal approval. 

 Drugs. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13. Allows a 90-day supply of a prescription drug to be 
dispensed under MA, if the drug appears on the 90-day supply list published by the 
commissioner. Requires the list to be published on the DHS website. Allows the 
commissioner to modify the list after providing public notice and a 15-day comment 
period. Provides that the list may include cost-effective generic drugs, but shall not 
include controlled substances. 
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Section Description - Article 1: Health Care 

 Payment rates. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13e. Reduces the MA dispensing fee from $10.48 to 
$9.91 per prescription. 

 Public transit or taxicab transportation. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 18. Allows the commissioner to provide a monthly public 
transit pass for the nonemergency medical transportation needs of MA recipients 
who are well-served by public transit. Provides that recipients are eligible for a transit 
pass if they are eligible for one public transit trip for a covered service during a 
month. These recipients are then not eligible for other modes of transportation, 
unless an unexpected need arises that cannot be accessed through public transit. 
Prohibits the commissioner from requiring recipients to select a transit pass, if their 
transportation needs cannot be served by public transit. States that this section is 
effective January 1, 2022. 

 Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 58. Allows the commissioner to contract for required 
EPSDT outreach services, including but not limited to children enrolled in or 
attributed to an integrated health partnership (IHP) demonstration project. Requires 
IHPs that choose to provide EPSDT outreach services to receive compensation from 
the commissioner on a per-member, per-month basis for each child. Specifies related 
requirements. States that this section is effective January 1, 2022. 

 Service standards. 

Amends § 256B.0947, subd. 6. Allows the services and responsibilities of the 
psychiatric provider of intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services 
to be provided through telemedicine, when necessary to prevent disruption in 
services or to maintain the required staffing level. 

 Covered services. 

Amends § 256B.0949, subd. 13. Eliminates the requirement that certain early 
intensive developmental and behavioral intervention (EIDBI) services be provided 
face-to-face to a person with autism spectrum disorder or a related condition. 

 Hospital outpatient reimbursement. 

Amends § 256B.75. Directs the commissioner, when implementing prospective 
payment methodologies for outpatient hospital services, to use general methods and 
rate calculation parameters similar to the applicable Medicare prospective payment 
systems for outpatient hospital and ambulatory surgical center settings, unless other 
payment methodologies are specified in state MA law. 
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Section Description - Article 1: Health Care 

 Definitions. 

Amends § 256B.79, subd. 1. Modifies the definition of “targeted populations” for the 
integrated care for high-risk pregnant women grant program, to refer to pregnant 
MA enrollees residing in “communities” rather than “geographic areas.” 

 Grant awards. 

Amends § 256B.79, subd. 3. Strikes language that requires integrated perinatal care 
collaboratives that received grants prior to January 1, 2019, to be given priority when 
determining subsequent grants. 

 Income. 

Amends § 256L.01, subd. 5. Defines “income” under MinnesotaCare as projected 
annual income for the applicable tax year, and strikes references to current income 
and income during the 12-month eligibility period. Provides that the section is 
effective the day following final enactment. (The changes in this section and the two 
sections that immediately follow reflect the failure of the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services to approve Minnesota eligibility determination changes passed in 
2016 and reflected in current law.) 

 Annual income limits adjustment. 

Amends § 256L.04, subd. 7b. Requires the commissioner to adjust MinnesotaCare 
income limits annually on January 1, rather than each July 1. Provides that the 
section is effective the day following final enactment. 

 Redetermination of eligibility. 

Amends § 256L.05, subd. 3a. Specifies that the period of MinnesotaCare eligibility is 
the calendar year, and that eligibility redeterminations shall occur during the open 
enrollment period for qualified health plans. Strikes language that defined the period 
of eligibility as the 12-month period beginning the month of application, with 
renewals being implemented throughout the year. Provides that the section is 
effective the day following final enactment. 

Article 2: Licensing and Background Studies 

This article adds individuals and entities required to undergo human services background 
studies, modifies background study requirements for certain individuals and providers, 
establishes “alternative background studies” that apply to specified individuals and providers, 
adds definitions to chapter 245C (human services background studies chapter), makes clarifying 
and procedural changes throughout the chapter, and requires the commissioner of human 
services to annually publish a background study fee schedule, based on the actual costs of 
conducting and administering background studies. 
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Section Description - Article 2: Licensing and Background Studies 

 Background study required. 

Amends § 62V.05 by adding subd. 4a. Requires the Board of Directors of MNsure to 
initiate human services background studies of navigators, in-person assisters, and 
certified application counselors; prohibits any individual from providing services until 
the board receives notice that the individual is not disqualified, or if a disqualification 
was set aside. Requires the board or a delegate to review reconsideration requests. 

 Background studies. 

Amends § 122A.18, subd. 8. Modifies terminology for the Professional Educator 
Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) and the Board of School Administrators 
background studies. 

 License or certification fee for certain programs. 

Amends § 245A.10, subd. 4. Modifies terminology to clarify detoxification and 
withdrawal management program licensure fees. 

 Alternative background study. 

Amends § 245C.02 by adding subd. 5b. Adds definition of “alternative background 
study” to the human services background studies chapter. 

 Entity. 

Amends § 245C.02 by adding subd. 11c. Adds definition of “entity” to the human 
services background studies chapter. 

 Results. 

Amends § 245C.02 by adding subd. 16a. Adds definition of “results” to the human 
services background studies chapter. 

 Background study; individuals to be studied. 

Amends § 245C.03. Adds and modifies the subdivisions below. 

Subd. 1a. Procedure. Clarifies procedural requirements for background studies. 

Subd. 3a. Exception to personal care assistant; requirements. Allows a personal 
care assistant for a recipient to enroll with a different provider agency upon 
initiation of a new background study, under specified circumstances. 

Subd. 3b. Personal care assistance provider agency; background studies. 
Establishes background study requirements for personal care assistance provider 
agencies enrolled to provide personal care assistance services under medical 
assistance; requires some owners, all managing employees, and all qualified 
professionals to undergo a background study. 
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Section Description - Article 2: Licensing and Background Studies 

Subd. 5a. Facilities serving children or adults licensed or regulated by the 
Department of Health. Requires the commissioner of health to contract with 
DHS to conduct background studies for individuals providing direct contact 
services in a range of entities licensed by the Department of Health, and other 
employees in certain types of licensed entities facilities. Specifies that if a 
program is jointly licensed, DHS is solely responsible for the background studies. 

Subd. 5b. Facilities serving children or youth licensed by the Department of 
Corrections. Requires DHS to conduct background studies of individuals 
providing direct contact services in residential and detention facilities, and 
requires specified individuals and entities to provide DHS with all available 
criminal conviction data related to individuals to be studied under this 
subdivision. Requires DHS to notify an individual and the facility of a 
disqualification, and of the right to request reconsideration through the 
Department of Corrections. Specifies reconsideration procedures. 

Subd. 6. Legal nonlicensed and certified child care programs. Makes clarifying 
changes; specifies that DHS background studies are required for each individual 
who applies for child care program certification, each member of a provider’s 
household age 13 or older, and a member of a provider’s household who is aged 
10 to 13, if reasonable cause exists. 

Subd. 7. Children’s therapeutic services and supports providers. Clarifies that all 
direct service providers and volunteers for children's therapeutic services and 
supports providers are subject to background studies. 

Subd. 9. Community first services and supports organizations. Establishes 
background study requirements for individuals affiliated with Community First 
Services and Supports (CFSS) agency-providers and Financial Management 
Services (FMS) providers enrolled to provide CFSS services under medical 
assistance. 

Subd. 9a. Exception to support worker requirements for continuity of services. 
Allows a support worker for a participant to enroll with a different CFSS agency-
provider or FMS provider upon initiation, rather than completion, of a new 
background study under specified circumstances. 

Subd. 10. Providers of group residential housing or supplementary services. 
Clarifies who must undergo a background study related to providers of group 
residential housing or supplementary services; requires compliance with all 
background study requirements. 

Subd. 11. Strikes subdivision relating to child protection workers. 
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Section Description - Article 2: Licensing and Background Studies 

Subd. 12. Providers of special transportation service. Clarifies which individuals 
providing special transportation services must undergo a background study. 

Allows a local or contracted agency authorizing a nonemergency medical 
transportation service ride by a volunteer driver to initiate a background study 
under certain circumstances. 

Subd. 13. Providers of housing support services. Makes clarifying changes. 

Subd. 14. Tribal nursing facilities. Requires the commissioner to obtain state and 
national criminal history data for individuals affiliated with a tribally licensed 
nursing facility. 

 Early intensive developmental and behavioral intervention providers. 

Amends § 245C.03 by adding subd. 15. Requires the commissioner to conduct a 
background study when initiated by an early intensive developmental and behavioral 
intervention provider.  

Makes this section effective the day following final enactment. 

 Background study; alternative background studies. 

Proposes coding for § 245C.031.  

Subd. 1. Alternative background studies. Requires the commissioner to conduct 
an alternative background study of individuals listed in this section; establishes 
required procedures for studies and data destruction. 

Subd. 2. Access to information. Requires each entity that submits an alternative 
background study to enter into an agreement with the commissioner to comply 
with state and federal law. 

Subd. 3. Child protection workers or social services staff having responsibility 
for child protective duties. Requires an alternative background study for these 
individuals. 

Subd. 4. Applicants, licensees, and other occupations regulated by the 
commissioner of health. Requires alternative background studies for applicants 
for audiologist or speech-language pathologist licenses or renewals or applicants 
for hearing instrument dispenser initial certification or certification before 
January 1, 2018. Establishes alternative background study requirements for these 
individuals. 

Subd. 5. Guardians and conservators. Requires alternative background studies 
for court-appointed guardians and conservators, with certain exceptions, to be 
completed prior to the appointment of the guardian or conservator, unless the 
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Section Description - Article 2: Licensing and Background Studies 

best interests of the ward or protected person requires appointment before the 
study is completed. 

Subd. 6. Required checks. Specifies data to be checked for guardian and 
conservator alternative background studies. 

Subd. 7. State licensing data. Requires the commissioner to provide the court 
with licensing agency data, within 25 working days, for licenses directly related to 
the responsibilities of a professional fiduciary, if the study subject is or has been 
affiliated with a listed professional licensing entity. Requires an agreement by 
each entity to provide the commissioner with electronic access to relevant 
licensing data and quarterly lists of new sanctions. Establishes additional 
procedures for providing licensing data to the court for guardian and conservator 
background studies. 

Subd. 8. Guardians ad litem. Requires alternative background studies for 
guardians ad litem once every three years. 

Subd. 9. Required checks. Specifies data to be checked and required procedures 
for alternative background studies for guardians ad litem. 

Subd. 10. First-time applicants for educator licenses with the Professional 
Educator Licensing and Standards Board. Requires PELSB to make eligibility 
determinations for alternative background studies. Permits alternative 
background studies for all first-time applicants for educator licenses; specifies 
what the studies must include. 

Subd. 11. First-time applicants for administrator licenses with the Board of 
School Administrators. Requires the Board of School Administrators to make 
eligibility determinations for alternative background studies. Permits alternative 
background studies for all first-time applicants for administrator licenses; 
specifies what the studies must include. 

Subd. 12. MNsure. Requires the commissioner to conduct a background study of 
any individual required to have a background study under section 62V.05.  

 Individual studied. 

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 1. Clarifies language; requires a background study subject 
to submit a completed criminal and maltreatment history records check consent 
form for applicable record checks. 

 Applicant, license holder, or other entity. 

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 2. Makes clarifying change. 



H.F. 2128 

As introduced 

Minnesota House Research Department Page 9 

Section Description - Article 2: Licensing and Background Studies 

 County or private agency. 

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 2a. Makes clarifying change. 

 County agency to collect and forward information to commissioner. 

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 2b. Makes clarifying changes. 

 Electronic transmission. 

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 4. Makes clarifying changes; specifies that information 
obtained applies to state and tribal agencies, for alternative background studies. 

 Authorized recipient. 

Amends § 245C.08 by adding subd. 5. Specifies that the commissioner is the 
authorized recipient of background study information and records received. 

 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension background check crimes. 

Amends § 245C.08 by adding subd. 6. Specifies that compliance with BCA background 
check statutes is required for all DHS background studies. 

 Guardians and conservators. 

Amends § 245C.10, subd. 15. Modifies requirements for fees to be paid for 
conducting an alternative background study for appointment of a guardian or 
conservator.  

 Early intensive developmental and behavioral intervention providers. 

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 17. Establishes fee of no more than $20 for a 
background study for the purposes of early intensive developmental and behavioral 
intervention. 

Makes this section effective the day following final enactment. 

 Applicants, licensees, and other occupations regulated by commissioner of health. 

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 18. Specifies that the applicant or license holder 
is responsible for paying all fees associated with background studies. 

 Guardians ad litem.  

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 19. Specifies that the Minnesota Supreme Court 
must pay the fee for an alternative background study for a guardian ad litem. 

 Occupations regulated by MNsure. 

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 20. Requires the commissioner to set fees to 
recover background study costs for MNsure-related studies, through an interagency 
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Section Description - Article 2: Licensing and Background Studies 

agreement; specifies that fees will be deposited in the special revenue fund for the 
purpose of conducting background studies. 

 Professional Educators Licensing Standards Board.  

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 21. Establishes fee of no more than $51 per study 
for studies initiated by PELSB. 

 Board of School Administrators.  

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 22. Establishes fee of no more than $51 per study 
for studies initiated by the Board of School Administrators. 

 Background studies fee schedule. 

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 23. Requires the commissioner to publish a 
background study fee schedule by March 1 of each year, to be effective from July 1 to 
June 30 each year. Specifies that fees will be based on actual costs of background 
study administration; specifies how the fees must be published and how fees are 
appropriated. 

Makes this section effective July 1, 2021; requires the commissioner to publish the 
initial fee schedule on July 1, 2021, which will be effective September 1, 2021. 

 Activities pending completion of background study. 

Amends § 245C.13, subd. 2. Adds personal care assistant services to list of activities 
prohibited prior to receipt of background study notices. 

 Disqualification from working in licensed child care centers or certified license-
exempt child care centers. 

Amends § 245C.14 by adding subd. 4. Specifies that a disqualified individual must be 
disqualified from working in any position in a licensed child care center or certified 
license-exempt child care center, until the commissioner issues a notice that: (1) the 
individual is not disqualified; (2) a disqualification has been set aside; or (3) a 
variance has been granted. 

 Determining immediate risk of harm. 

Amends § 245C.16, subd. 1. Allows the commissioner to order immediate removal of 
an individual from any position allowing direct contact with or access to persons 
receiving services, or from any position in a licensed child care center or certified 
license-exempt child care center, if the individual has a disqualification that is a 
permanent bar or the individual is a child care background study subject with a 
felony drug-related offense in the past five years.  
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 Findings. 

Amends § 245C.16, subd. 2. Prohibits the commissioner from making a finding that 
an individual requires direct, continuous supervision while providing direct contact 
services during the disqualification reconsideration request period, for a licensed 
child care center or certified license-exempt child care center. 

 Time frame for notice of study results and auditing system access. 

Amends § 245C.17, subd. 1. Adds a child care center or certified license-exempt child 
care center to the list of facilities in which an individual must be immediately 
removed from direct contact or access, when notice is issued that more time is 
needed to complete a study. 

 Disqualification notice to child care centers or certified license-exempt child care 
centers. 

Amends § 245C.17 by adding subd. 8. Requires an immediate removal notice to also 
include an order for a license holder to immediately remove the individual from 
working in any position in a child care center or certified license-exempt child care 
center. 

 Obligation to remove disqualified individual from direct contact and from working 
in a program, facility, setting, or center. 

Amends § 245C.18. Requires a child care center or certified license-exempt child care 
center license holder to remove a disqualified individual from working in any position 
in a licensed child care center or certified license-exempt child care center, until the 
commissioner issues a notice that: (1) the individual is not disqualified; (2) a 
disqualification has been set aside; or (3) a variance has been granted. 

 Background studies. 

Amends § 256B.0949 by adding subd. 16a. Specifies that early intensive 
developmental and behavioral intervention background study requirements must 
be met through a background study under specified sections of chapter 245C. 

Makes this section effective the day following final enactment. 

 Revisor instruction. 

Instructs the revisor of statutes to renumber subdivisions in the definitions section 
alphabetically and correct any cross-references. 

 Repealer. 

Repeals subdivisions of 245C.10 relating to specific background study fees. 
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Article 3: Blue Ribbon Commission 

This article contains provisions to implement recommendations of the Blue Ribbon Commission 
on Health and Human Services. These provisions relate to the administration of nonemergency 
medical transportation services, the administration of dental services, coverage of outpatient 
drugs, and reimbursement for durable medical equipment, supplies, prosthetics, and orthotics. 

Section Description - Article 3: Blue Ribbon Commission 

 Other standards; wheelchair securement; protected transport. 

Amends § 174.30, subd. 3. Makes a conforming change in a cross-reference to MA 
nonemergency medical transportation coverage. 

 Fraud prevention investigations. 

Amends § 256.983. Specifically includes tribal agencies as recipients of fraud 
prevention investigation grant funding, and requires tribal agencies to comply with 
the same requirements that apply to county grant recipients. 

 Administration of dental services. 

Adds § 256B.0371. (a) Effective January 1, 2023, requires the commissioner to 
contract with up to two dental administrators to administer dental services for MA 
and MinnesotaCare enrollees, including those persons enrolled in managed care 
under § 256B.69. 

(b) States that the administrative services include, but are not limited to: provider 
recruitment, contracting, and assistance; recipient outreach and assistance; 
utilization management and review for medical necessity; claims processing; service 
coordination; management of fraud and abuse; monitoring access to services; 
performance measurement; quality improvement and evaluation requirements; and 
management of third-party liability requirements. 

(c) Sets payment rates at the MA rate as specified in § 256B.76. 

Specifies a January 1, 2023, effective date. 

 Limitation on services. 

Amends § 256B.04, subd. 12. Strikes outdated language related to service delivery 
and reimbursement for emergency and nonemergency transportation providers, and 
other providers. 

 Competitive bidding. 

Amends § 256B.04, subd. 14. Allows the commissioner to use volume purchase 
through competitive bidding for nonemergency medical transportation generally 
(current law limits this to level of need determinations, disbursement of public 
transportation passes and tokens, and volunteer and recipient mileage and parking 
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Section Description - Article 3: Blue Ribbon Commission 

reimbursement). Also eliminates the specific prohibition on the use of volume 
purchase through competitive bidding for special transportation services. 

 Dental services. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 9. Requires the commissioner to contract with a dental 
administrator for the administration of dental services, including the administration 
of dental services for persons enrolled in managed care under § 256B.69. Makes 
conforming changes. Provides a January 1, 2023, effective date. 

 Transportation costs. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 17. Makes various changes to MA coverage of NEMT 
services, including changes related to the use of an administrator. These changes 
include: 

 striking references to the Nonemergency Medical Transportation Advisory 
Committee (this committee is repealed elsewhere in the article); 

 striking references to the single administrative structure; 

 replacing a reference to “local agency” with a reference to the 
“administrator” and striking a provision designating the local agency as 
the single administrative agency; and 

 striking the existing language on NEMT reimbursement for the various 
modes of service. 

 Documentation required. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 17b. Allows funds paid for NEMT transportation that is 
not documented to be recovered by the NEMT vendor, as well as the department. 

 Administration of nonemergency medical transportation. 

Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 18b. Requires the commissioner to contract, either 
statewide or regionally, for the administration of the NEMT program. Specifies that 
the contract must also include administration of all covered modes of NEMT services 
for those enrolled in managed care under § 256B.69. Also strikes language that 
limited the use of a broker or coordinator for NEMT services to establishing the level 
of service. 

 Prescription drugs. 

Amends § 256B.69, subd. 6d. Allows the commissioner to exclude coverage for 
outpatient drugs dispensed by a pharmacy from prepaid managed care contracts 
under MA. Also allows the commissioner to include, exclude, or modify coverage in 
prepaid managed care contracts for outpatient prescription drugs dispensed by a 
pharmacy to a MinnesotaCare enrollee, and coverage for prescription drugs 
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administered to MA and MinnesotaCare enrollees. Makes related changes. Provides 
a January 1, 2023, effective date. 

 Dental reimbursement. 

Amend § 256B.76, subd. 2. The amendments to paragraphs (l) and (m) provide that 
the 9.65 percent rate increase for dental services provided outside of the seven-
county metropolitan area and the 23.8 percent rate increase for dental services 
provided to children remain in effect only through December 31, 2022 (these 
increases are ongoing under current law).  

A new paragraph (n) increases dental payment rates by 54 percent, for services 
provided on or after January 1, 2023. States that the increase does not apply to state-
operated dental clinics, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, or 
Indian health centers. 

 Critical access dental providers. 

Amends § 256B.76, subd. 4. Provides that MA critical access dental payments are in 
effect only through December 31, 2022 (these payments are ongoing under current 
law). 

 Reimbursement for basic care services. 

Amends § 256B.766. Makes various changes to reimbursement methods for durable 
medical equipment, medical supplies, prosthetics, and orthotics. 

The amendment to paragraph (i) terminates, after June 30, 2021, individual pricing 
for certain medical supplies and durable medical equipment and a prohibition on any 
MA rate reductions to durable medical equipment as a result of Medicare 
competitive bidding. 

The amendment to paragraph (j) terminates, after June 30, 2021, various rate 
increases for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies. 

The amendment to paragraph (k) terminates, after June 30, 2021, certain payment 
rate provisions for ventilators. 

A new paragraph (m) provides that effective July 1, 2021, payment rates for all 
durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies shall be at the lesser 
of submitted charges or the Medicare fee schedule amount, without any increases or 
decreases in paragraphs (a) to (k) applied. 

A new paragraph (n) sets payment rates, effective July 1, 2021, for items for which 
Medicare has not established a payment amount at the lesser of submitted charges 
or an alternate payment methodology rate, without any increases or decreases in 
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paragraphs (a) to (k) applied. Specifies criteria for the alternate payment 
methodology rate. 

A new paragraph (o) sets the payment at the provider’s actual acquisition cost plus 
20 percent, until sufficient data is available to calculate the alternate payment 
methodology. 

A new paragraph (p) provides that notwithstanding paragraph (n), durable medical 
equipment and supplies billed using miscellaneous codes, for which no Medicare rate 
is available, shall be paid at the provider’s acquisition cost plus ten percent. 

 Medicare payment limit. 

Amends § 256B.767. Strikes the exemption of durable medical equipment, 
prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies from a general provision providing that the MA 
payment rate not exceed the Medicare payment rate. 

 Critical access dental providers. 

Amends § 256L.11, subd. 7. Provides that the MinnesotaCare critical access dental 
payment rate is in effect only through December 31, 2022 (these payments are 
ongoing under current law). 

 Repealer. 

Repeals § 256B.0625, subd. 18c (nonemergency medical transportation advisory 
committee), 18d (advisory committee members), 18e (single administrative structure 
and delivery system for NEMT), and 18h (NEMT provisions applicable to managed 
care and county-based purchasing plans); and § 256L.11, subd. 6a (54 percent rate 
increase for MinnesotaCare dental providers). Provides a January 1, 2023, effective 
date. 

Article 4: Health and Health Board Appropriations 

This article appropriates money in fiscal years 2022 and 2023 from the specified funds to the 
commissioner of health, health-related licensing boards, the Emergency Medical Services 
Regulatory Board, the Council on Disability, the ombudsman for mental health and 
developmental disabilities, and the ombudspersons for families. It also reduces fiscal year 2021 
appropriations from the state government special revenue fund to the commissioner of health. 
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Article 5: Health Policy 

This article makes changes that have a fiscal impact on Department of Health programs and 
activities. These changes include modifying the commissioner’s reporting, certification, and 
coordination duties related to electronic health records systems and health information 
technology; modifying license fees related to radioactive material or source or special nuclear 
material; modifying fees for testing under the newborn screening program; authorizing the 
commissioner to conduct maternal morbidity studies and fetal and infant death studies; and 
modifying licensing, certification, and permit fees for asbestos-related work and expanding the 
settings in which statutory requirements apply to asbestos abatement work. 

Section Description - Article 5: Health Policy 

 Implementation. 

Amends § 62J.495, subd. 1. Eliminates language requiring the commissioner of health 
to provide an update to the legislature on the development of uniform standards for 
interoperable electronic health records systems, as part of an annual report to the 
legislature. 

 E-Health Advisory Committee. 

Amends § 62J.495, subd. 2. Eliminates a requirement for the commissioner of health 
to issue an annual report outlining progress in implementing a statewide health 
information infrastructure and providing recommendations to promote adoption and 
effective use of health information technology. 

 Interoperable electronic health record requirements. 

Amends § 62J.495, subd. 3. Strikes a requirement that a health data intermediary to 
which an electronic health record system must be connected, must be state-certified. 
(State certification of health data intermediaries is being eliminated in another 
section.) 

 Coordination with national HIT activities. 

Amends § 62J.495, subd. 4. Eliminates a reference to a specific federal HIT strategic 
plan with which the statewide interoperable health information infrastructure plan 
must be consistent and instead requires the plan to be consistent with updated 
federal plans. Eliminates duties of the commissioner to help develop and support 
health information technology regional extension centers, to provide supplemental 
information on best practices gathered by regional centers, and to monitor and 
respond to development of quality measures. Also strikes a reference to a report to 
the legislature being eliminated in another subdivision. 

 Health information exchange. 

Amends § 62J.498. Eliminates certain definitions and establishes an additional duty 
for the commissioner of health regarding health information exchange oversight. 
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Subd. 1. Definitions. Eliminates the following definitions for sections governing 
health information exchanges, certificates of authority to provide HIE services, 
and enforcement authority: HITECH Act, meaningful use, and state-certified 
health data intermediary. 

Subd. 2. Health information exchange oversight. In a subdivision establishing 
duties of the commissioner to protect the public interest regarding health 
information exchange matters, adds a duty of requiring health information 
exchange service providers to provide information to meet statutory 
requirements. 

 Certificate of authority to provide health information exchange services. 

Amends § 62J.4981. Eliminates a requirement that health data intermediaries must 
be certified by the commissioner, and makes conforming changes. 

Subd. 1. Authority to require organizations to apply. Eliminates a requirement 
for health data intermediaries to apply to the commissioner for certificates of 
authority. 

Subd. 2. Certificate of authority for health data intermediaries. Strikes a 
subdivision requiring health data intermediaries to be certified by the 
commissioner in order to operate as a health data intermediary in the state and 
establishing criteria to obtain a certificate of authority. 

Subd. 3. Certificate of authority for health information organizations. Strikes 
references to state-certified health data intermediaries to conform with 
subdivision 2. 

Subd. 4. Application for certificate of authority for health information 
organizations. Modifies terms used, eliminates unnecessary language, and 
modifies cross-references to conform with the elimination of a requirement for 
health data intermediaries to be certified. 

Subd. 5. Reciprocal agreements between health information organizations. 
Strikes language requiring reciprocal agreements between health information 
organizations and health data intermediaries to meet the requirements in this 
subdivision. Strikes a reference to state-certified health data intermediary to 
conform with elimination of a requirement for health data intermediaries to be 
certified. Also strikes references to meaningful use. 

 Enforcement authority; compliance. 

Amends § 62J.4982. In a section governing enforcement and compliance for health 
information organizations, makes changes to conform with elimination of a 
requirement that health data intermediaries must be certified by the commissioner, 
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including modifying terms used and eliminating application and annual certificate 
fees for health data intermediaries. 

 Initial and annual fee. 

Amends § 144.1205, subd. 2. A new paragraph (a) requires an entity obtaining a 
license for radioactive material or source or special nuclear material, to pay an initial 
feel upon issuance of the initial license. 

Paragraph (b) consolidates fee categories, establishes additional fee categories for 
facilities with multiple locations, modifies the names of fee categories, and modifies 
annual fee amounts for licensure for radioactive material or source or special nuclear 
material. 

 Initial and renewal application fee. 

Amends § 144.1205, subd. 4. Specifies that the application fees due under this 
subdivision are for initial applications for licensure and to renew applications for 
licensure. Consolidates fee categories, deletes certain fee categories, and modifies 
application fees for licensure for radioactive material or source or special nuclear 
material. 

 Reciprocity fee. 

Amends § 144.1205, subd. 8. Changes the application fee for reciprocal recognition 
of a radioactive materials license issued by another state or the federal Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission, from $1,200 to $2,400. 

 Fees for license agreements. 

Amends § 144.1205, subd. 9. Changes the fee to amend a license for radioactive 
material, from $300 to $600. 

 Fees for general license registrations. 

Adds subd. 10 to § 144.1205. Establishes an annual registration fee of $450 for the 
registration of generally licensed devices (devices that contain radioactive material 
and that are designed to detect, measure, or control thickness, density, level, 
interface location, radiation, leakage, or chemical composition, or designed to 
produce light or an ionizing atmosphere). 

 Duty to perform testing. 

Amends § 144.125, subd. 1. Increases the per-specimen fee for testing under the 
newborn screening program from $135 to $177. (The newborn screening program 
tests newborns soon after birth for rare disorders of metabolism, hormones, the 
immune system, blood, breathing, digestion, hearing, or the heart.) 
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 Maternal morbidity and death studies. 

Amends § 145.901. Current law authorizes the commissioner of health to conduct 
maternal death studies. This section expands this authority to also allow the 
commissioner to conduct maternal morbidity studies. 

Subd. 1. Purpose. Allows the commissioner to conduct maternal morbidity 
studies, in addition to current authority to conduct maternal death studies, to 
reduce the numbers of preventable adverse maternal outcomes. 

Subd. 2. Access to data. Paragraph (a) allows the commissioner to access the 
medical data and health records of a woman who has experienced morbidities 
during a pregnancy or within 12 months of a fetal death, live birth, or other 
termination of pregnancy, without the consent of the data subject or the other 
listed individuals. Specifies that this access includes access to the names of 
providers, clinics, and other health services where care was received before, 
during, or related to the pregnancy or death. Allows the commissioner to access 
records maintained by a medical examiner, coroner, or hospital and to access 
hospital discharge data to obtain the name and location of care received by the 
subject of the data up to one year after the end of the pregnancy. Allows the 
data subject and certain others to voluntarily participate in an interview related 
to the maternal experience, and allows the commissioner to compensate 
interviewees for their time and other expenses. 

Paragraph (c) adds the subject of the data to the list of individuals the 
commissioner must make a good-faith effort to notify, before collecting the data. 

Paragraphs (e), (f), and (g) allow the commissioner to request and receive certain 
information from a coroner or medical examiner; to access Department of 
Human Services data to identify sources of care and services to assist with 
evaluation of welfare systems to reduce preventable maternal deaths; and to 
request and receive law enforcement reports or incident reports related to the 
data subject. 

Subd. 3. Management of records. After the commissioner collects all data about 
a maternal morbidity subject needed to perform a study, requires the 
commissioner to transfer the data, other than data identifying the subject, from 
the source records to a separate record, and to destroy the source records. (This 
requirement currently applies to data about a subject of a maternal death study.) 

Subd. 4. Classification of data. Classifies data held by the commissioner to carry 
out maternal morbidity studies the same as data held by the commissioner to 
carry out maternal death studies (confidential data on individuals or confidential 
data on decedents). Makes public, summary data on maternal morbidity studies 
created by the commissioner. Requires data provided by the commissioner of 
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human services to maintain the same data classification that the data had when 
held by the commissioner of human services. 

 Fetal and infant death studies. 

Adds § 145.9011. Authorizes the commissioner of health to conduct fetal and infant 
death studies, permits the commissioner to access certain data and health records, 
provides for records management, classifies data held by the commissioner, and 
requires the commissioner to convene case review committees and community 
action committees. 

Subd. 1. Purpose. Allows the commissioner to conduct fetal and infant death 
studies to help with the planning, implementation, and evaluation of medical, 
health, and welfare service systems and to reduce the number of preventable 
fetal and infant deaths in the state. 

Subd. 2. Access to data. Paragraph (a) authorizes the commissioner to access 
medical data, medical examiner data, and health records of a live-born infant 
who died within the first year of life, regarding a fetal death of 20 or more weeks’ 
gestation, and of the biological mother of such an infant or fetus. Allows access 
to this data and these records without the consent of the subject of the data or 
of the subject’s parent, guardian, or legal representative. Limits access to data 
and records for fetal and infant deaths occurring after July 1, 2000. 

Paragraph (b) requires providers and other responsible authorities to provide 
requested data to the commissioner and allows providers and responsible 
authorities to charge a fee for providing the data. 

Paragraph (c) requires the commissioner to make a good faith, reasonable effort 
to notify the parent, spouse, guardian, or legal representative of the data subject 
before collecting data on the subject. 

Paragraphs (d) and (e) prohibit the commissioner from having access to coroner 
or medical examiner data that are part of an active investigation but allow the 
commissioner to request from the coroner or medical examiner the names of 
health care providers that provided health services to the data subject and to the 
data subject’s biological mother. 

Paragraph (f) allows the commissioner to access Department of Human Services 
data to identify sources of care and services. 

Subd. 3. Management of records. Requires the commissioner to transfer data 
obtained under this section, other than data identifying the subject, from source 
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records to separate records maintained by the commissioner, and then requires 
the commissioner to destroy the source records held by the commissioner. 

Subd. 4. Classification of data. Classifies data provided to the commissioner from 
source records and data transferred from source records to separate records, as 
confidential data on individuals or confidential data on decedents. Provides that 
this data shall not be discoverable or subject to introduction into evidence in a 
legal proceeding, but provides that the information is not immune from discovery 
or barred from introduction into evidence if it is otherwise available from an 
original source. Classifies as public, summary data on fetal and infant death 
studies that does not identify individual data subjects or individual providers. 
States that data provided by the commissioner of human services to the 
commissioner of health maintains its data classification. 

Subd. 5. Fetal and infant mortality reviews. Requires the commissioner to 
convene case review committees to conduct death study reviews, make 
recommendations, and share summary information. Lists representatives who 
may be included in case review committees and requires committees to review 
data from source records, other than data identifying the subject or provider. 
Requires case review committees to report findings and recommendations every 
three years to the Maternal and Child Health Advisory Task Force and the 
commissioner. 

Subd. 6. Community action committees. Requires the commissioner to convene 
community action committees to implement priority recommendations from 
case review committees and specifies who may be included as members of 
community action committees. 

 Asbestos-related work. 

Amends § 326.71, subd. 4. Amends a definition of asbestos-related work for sections 
governing asbestos abatement, to remove an exception to the asbestos abatement 
requirements for work on asbestos-containing floor tiles and sheeting, roofing 
materials, siding, and ceilings in single family homes and buildings with four or fewer 
dwelling units. 

 Licensing fee. 

Amends § 326.75, subd. 1. Increases the licensing fee to perform asbestos-related 
work from $100 to $105. 

 Certification fee. 

Amends § 326.75, subd. 2. Increases the fee for certification as an asbestos worker or 
asbestos site supervisor from $50 to $52.50. Establishes in statute a $105 fee for 
certification as an asbestos inspector, asbestos management planner, or asbestos 
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project designer (current fees are established in Minnesota Rules, chapter 4620, and 
are $100 per certification), and removes authority for the commissioner to establish 
these certification fees by rule. 

 Permit fee. 

Amends § 326.75, subd. 3. Increases the project permit fee that must be paid to the 
commissioner for asbestos-related work from one percent to two percent of the total 
costs of the asbestos-related work. 

Article 6: Appropriations 

This article appropriates money to the commissioner of human services for fiscal years 2022 
and 2023 for various initiatives. The article also requires any funds not used for the Minnesota 
premium security plan to be transferred to the commissioner of commerce for deposit into the 
general fund, rather than the health care access fund as under current law. 

 Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and 
information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document 
can be made available in alternative formats. 

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 155 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 


