
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 5299 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.29, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 9. Revenue bonds; limit. The authority is authorized and empowered to issue​

1.5 revenue bonds whose aggregate principal amount at any time shall not exceed $1,300,000,000​

1.6 $2,000,000,000 and to issue notes, bond anticipation notes, and revenue refunding bonds​

1.7 of the authority under the provisions of sections 136A.25 to 136A.42, to provide funds for​

1.8 acquiring, constructing, reconstructing, enlarging, remodeling, renovating, improving,​

1.9 furnishing, or equipping one or more projects or parts thereof.​

1.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

1.11 Subdivision 1. Registration fees. (a) The office shall collect reasonable registration fees​

1.12 that are sufficient to recover, but do not exceed, its costs of administering the registration​

1.13 program. The office shall charge the fees listed in paragraphs (b) and (c) to (d) for new​

1.14 registrations.​

1.15 (b) A new school offering no more than one degree at each level during its first year​

1.16 must pay registration fees for each applicable level in the following amounts:​

$2,000​1.17 associate degree​

$2,500​1.18 baccalaureate degree​

$3,000​1.19 master's degree​

$3,500​1.20 doctorate degree​

1.21 (c) A new school that will offer more than one degree per level during its first year must​

1.22 pay registration fees in an amount equal to the fee for the first degree at each degree level​

1.23 under paragraph (b), plus fees for each additional nondegree program or degree as follows:​

1​Sec. 2.​

HOUSE RESEARCH NH/MC H5299DE1​04/15/24 02:25 pm ​



$250​2.1 nondegree program​

$250​2.2 additional associate degree​

$500​2.3 additional baccalaureate degree​

$750​2.4 additional master's degree​

$1,000​2.5 additional doctorate degree​

2.6 (d) In addition to the fees under paragraphs (b) and (c), a fee of $600 must be paid for​

2.7 an initial application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or​

2.8 application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively​

2.9 has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the​

2.10 same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with​

2.11 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final​

2.12 application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65,​

2.13 subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope any initial process or interpretation​

2.14 questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not necessitate substantial staff​

2.15 effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office requests initial verification​

2.16 or validation of a completed application.​

2.17 (d) (e) The annual renewal registration fee is $1,500.​

2.18 (f) In addition to the fee under paragraph (e), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal​

2.19 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

2.20 reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

2.21 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

2.22 application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional​

2.23 application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application​

2.24 submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8.​

2.25 This provision excludes from its scope any initial process or interpretation questions or​

2.26 inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not necessitate substantial staff effort to review​

2.27 amendments or corrections, or when the office requests initial verification or validation of​

2.28 a completed application.​

2.29 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

2.30 Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. (a) The office processing fee for an initial licensure​

2.31 application is:​

2.32 (1) $2,500 for a private career school that will offer no more than one program during​

2.33 its first year of operation;​
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3.1 (2) $750 for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term​

3.2 "college," "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, or licensed exclusively in​

3.3 order to participate in state grant or SELF loan financial aid programs; and​

3.4 (3) $2,500, plus $500 for each additional program offered by the private career school,​

3.5 for a private career school during its first year of operation.​

3.6 (b) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for an initial​

3.7 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

3.8 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

3.9 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

3.10 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with​

3.11 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit​

3.12 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section​

3.13 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope any initial​

3.14 process or interpretation questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not​

3.15 necessitate substantial staff effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office​

3.16 requests initial verification or validation of a completed application.​

3.17 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

3.18 Subd. 2. Renewal licensure fee; late fee. (a) The office processing fee for a renewal​

3.19 licensure application is:​

3.20 (1) for a private career school that offers one program, the license renewal fee is $1,150;​

3.21 (2) for a private career school that offers more than one program, the license renewal​

3.22 fee is $1,150, plus $200 for each additional program with a maximum renewal licensing​

3.23 fee of $2,000;​

3.24 (3) for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term "college,"​

3.25 "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, the license renewal fee is $750; and​

3.26 (4) for a private career school licensed by another state agency and also licensed with​

3.27 the office exclusively in order to participate in state student aid programs, the license renewal​

3.28 fee is $750.​

3.29 (b) If a license renewal application is not received by the office by the close of business​

3.30 at least 60 days before the expiration of the current license, a late fee of $100 per business​

3.31 day, not to exceed $3,000, shall be assessed.​
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4.1 (c) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of $600 must be paid for a renewal​

4.2 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application​

4.3 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had​

4.4 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license​

4.5 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with​

4.6 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit​

4.7 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section​

4.8 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope any initial​

4.9 process or interpretation questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not​

4.10 necessitate substantial staff effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office​

4.11 requests initial verification or validation of a completed application.​

4.12 Sec. 5. Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, is amended to read:​

4.13 Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION; ALS RESEARCH.​

4.14 (a) $20,000,000 $396,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to​

4.15 the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants​

4.16 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with​

4.17 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying​

4.18 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives​

4.19 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease,​

4.20 and application review and grant recipient selection. Not more than $400,000 may be used​

4.21 by the commissioner to administer the grant program. This is a onetime appropriation.​

4.22 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this​

4.23 section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.​

4.24 (b) $19,604,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the​

4.25 commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants​

4.26 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with​

4.27 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying​

4.28 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives​

4.29 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease,​

4.30 and application review and grant recipient selection. Up to $15,000,000 may be used by the​

4.31 commissioner for grants to the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association, Never Surrender,​

4.32 or other similar organizations to award and administer a competitive grant to applicants for​

4.33 research into ALS under this section. This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding​
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5.1 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel​

5.2 until June 30, 2029.​

5.3 (b) (c) Grants shall be awarded to support clinical and translational research related to​

5.4 ALS. Research topics may include but are not limited to environmental factors, disease​

5.5 mechanisms, disease models, biomarkers, drug development, clinical studies, precision​

5.6 medicine, medical devices, assistive technology, and cognitive studies.​

5.7 (c) (d) Eligible applicants for the grants are research facilities, universities, and health​

5.8 systems located in Minnesota. Applicants must submit proposals to the commissioner in​

5.9 the time, form, and manner established by the commissioner. Applicants may coordinate​

5.10 research endeavors and submit a joint application. When reviewing the proposals, the​

5.11 commissioner shall make an effort to avoid approving a grant for an applicant whose research​

5.12 is duplicative of an existing grantee's research.​

5.13 (d) (e) Beginning January 15, 2023, and annually thereafter until January 15, 2027 2030,​

5.14 the commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature specifying the applicants receiving​

5.15 grants under this section, the amount of each grant, the purposes for which the grant funds​

5.16 were used, and the amount of the appropriation that is unexpended. The report must also​

5.17 include relevant findings, results, and outcomes of the grant program, and any other​

5.18 information which the commissioner deems significant or useful.​

5.19 (e) This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28,​

5.20 unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.​

5.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

5.22 Sec. 6. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdivision 36, is amended to read:​

4,416,000​
9,456,000​4,247,000​

5.23 Subd. 36. Fostering Independence Higher​
5.24 Education Grants​

5.25 $4,247,000 the first year and $4,416,000​

5.26 $9,456,000 the second year are for grants to​

5.27 eligible students under Minnesota Statutes,​

5.28 section 136A.1241. The Office of Higher​

5.29 Education may use no more than three percent​

5.30 of the appropriation to administer grants. The​

5.31 base for this appropriation is $4,416,000 for​

5.32 fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.​
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6.1 Sec. 7. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdivision 49, is amended to read:​

6.2 117,226,000​
112,186,000​-0-​6.3 Subd. 49. North Star Promise​

6.4 $117,226,000 $112,186,000 the second year​

6.5 is transferred from the general fund to the​

6.6 account in the special revenue fund under​

6.7 Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465,​

6.8 subdivision 6. The base for the transfer is​

6.9 $49,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.​

6.10 Sec. 8. APPROPRIATION; ALS RESEARCH.​

6.11 (a) The amount canceled on June 30, 2024, under Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, as​

6.12 amended by this act is appropriated in fiscal year 2025 from the general fund to the​

6.13 commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants​

6.14 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with​

6.15 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying​

6.16 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives​

6.17 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease,​

6.18 and application review and grant recipient selection. Up to $15,000,000 minus the amount​

6.19 used for the purpose of Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, paragraph (b), as amended, may​

6.20 be used by the commissioner for grants to the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association,​

6.21 Never Surrender, or other similar organizations to award and administer a competitive grant​

6.22 to applicants for research into ALS under this section. Not more than $400,000 minus the​

6.23 amount used for the purpose of Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, paragraph (c), as amended,​

6.24 may be used by the commissioner to administer the grant program.​

6.25 (b) Grants shall be awarded to support clinical and translational research related to ALS.​

6.26 Research topics may include but are not limited to environmental factors, disease​

6.27 mechanisms, disease models, biomarkers, drug development, clinical studies, precision​

6.28 medicine, medical devices, assistive technology, and cognitive studies.​

6.29 (c) Eligible applicants for the grants are research facilities, universities, and health​

6.30 systems located in Minnesota. Applicants must submit proposals to the commissioner in​

6.31 the time, form, and manner established by the commissioner. Applicants may coordinate​

6.32 research endeavors and submit a joint application. When reviewing the proposals, the​

6.33 commissioner shall make an effort to avoid approving a grant for an applicant whose research​

6.34 is duplicative of an existing grantee's research.​
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7.1 (d) Beginning January 15, 2025, and annually thereafter until January 15, 2030, the​

7.2 commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature specifying the applicants receiving​

7.3 grants under this section, the amount of each grant, the purposes for which the grant funds​

7.4 were used, and the amount of the appropriation that is unexpended. The report must also​

7.5 include relevant findings, results, and outcomes of the grant program, and any other​

7.6 information which the commissioner deems significant or useful. This report may be​

7.7 combined with the report required under Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, as amended.​

7.8 (e) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2029.​

7.9 Sec. 9. APPROPRIATION; KIDS ON CAMPUS INITIATIVE.​

7.10 $500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of​

7.11 Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities to participate in the Kids on​

7.12 Campus initiative with the National Head Start Association and the Association of​

7.13 Community College Trustees. This appropriation may be used for a temporary statewide​

7.14 project coordinator, stipends to parenting students, engaging with local Head Start programs,​

7.15 and for other costs associated with creating campus Head Start partnerships. The duties of​

7.16 the temporary statewide project coordinator include assessing the feasibility of partnerships​

7.17 between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities campuses and Head Start programs​

7.18 across the state, consulting with the Minnesota Head Start Association and existing Head​

7.19 Start partnership programs to develop best practices, working with campus-based navigators​

7.20 for parenting students to provide resources for financial aid and basic needs support to Head​

7.21 Start programs, and developing strategies to grow the early childhood care and education​

7.22 workforce through partnerships between Head Start programs and early childhood degree​

7.23 and certificate programs. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30,​

7.24 2026."​

7.25 Amend the title accordingly​
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