HF949/SF553: EXPANDING MINNESOTA’S
BOATER EDUCATION PROGRAM

The Minnesota Legislature is considering HF949/SF553 this session which, if passed into law, will expand
Minnesota's existing boater education program. HF949/SF553 is widely supported across the state, from
boat dealers, lake associations, law enforcement, chambers of commerce, resorts, and more.

What Will HF949/SF553 Accomplish?

/‘a Expand Minnesota’s existing youth (12-17) boater education course requirement to include all
I operators ages 12+ born on or after July 1,1987.

Require boat rentals to provide customers a summary of Minnesota boating regulations and
complete a short exam online before operating a boat.

Key Facts ahout Minnesota’s Growing Boating Community
« Recreational boating and fishing contributed $775 million to the state's economy in 2021.
 Minnesota ranks second in the U.S. for registered watercraft and first per capita.
o Inthe last few years, Minnesota has seen registration of 16,000 new motorized watercraft.
* Minnesota is one of a handful of states that does not require boater education beyond youth.
e 2021 had 18 boating fatalities on Minnesota waters, among the most on record since 2005.

o U.S. Coast Guard statistics confirm 75% of boating deaths occurred on boats where the operator
had no safety instruction. That number drops to 12% when the operator received a nationally
approved boating safety education certificate.

* Inthe1990's, the average for nonfatal boating accidents was 148. After implementing youth boater
education requirements, the average for nonfatal boating accidents between 2010-2019 was 71.

How Does HF949/SF553 Compare To Other Minnesota Recreation Product
Education And Safety Trainings?

 Minnesota's recreation products - including firearms, ATVs, and snowmobiles - require robust
education and safety training beyond youth, with boats being the exception.

o Safety coursework is accessible to all Minnesotans through convenient online access, at the cost
of $24.95, or via paper form, which is free of charge, and provided on request by the Minnesota
Department of Natural Resources.

As A Minnesota Boater, How Do | Comply To The Expanded Education Course?

of permit will make you compliant for boat operation.

If you have taken the couse for youth operation (12-17), prooa

Born ON or AFTER

. 07/01/1987?
Minnesota If you have not taken the course as youth, you will be ]
H required to take the course, which is available online.
Resident Born BEFORE q
07/01/1987?
You are not required to complete boater education but
are welcome to do so on a voluntary basis. ]
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Frequently Asked Questions

st If someone is born after 07/01/1987 but took the test as a youth (12-17) for the youth
operator’s permit, would they need to retake the course? No, they would not need to retake
Q the course. The permit they received previously would be valid for operation.

Will this create a new user fee? No, currently the boater education safety course (required for
youth 12-17) is available for free via paper version from the Department of Natural Resources
(DNR) or can be completed online for $24.95, like other recreation products.

Is the course only online or will there be other options? The Minnesota boater safety
education course is available online or through free paper packets that may be requested
through the Minnesota DNR. The online course is administered by a third party vendor which
hosts all education courses for Minnesota recreation products.

Will stakeholders (boat dealers, marinas, resorts, lake associations, etc.) have input on
the content or implementation of the course expansion? Yes, the DNR will work with
stakeholders on content and implementation practices. There is widespread recognition that
various businesses in different locations have various needs which may be accommodated.

Is there standard safety included in the education course? Yes, the course is required to be
approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). All states
have boater education programs certified by NASBLA, the leading organization that works

to develop public policy for recreational boating safety. NASBLA is comprised of recreational
boating authorities of all 50 states and U.S. territories.

stakeholders to help the DNR focus targeted messages to all Minnesota boaters. It is important
for Minnesota messaging on aquatic invasive species (AlS), user conflict reduction, lake ecology,
towed water sports and the impacts of wakes to be included in the course.

— for watercraft or personal watercraft —- must provide a summary of the statutes, regulations
and instructions for safe operation to the renter. In addition, the renter must take a short boater
safety exam in a form approved by the commissioner in order to leave the premises.

% Will there be Minnesota specific information in the course? Yes, this is a key opportunity for
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How will this impact a business that rents boats? Under HF949/SF553, all rental companies
)
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