
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1030 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

1.8 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

1.9 The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

1.10 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively.​

1.11 "The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium"​

1.12 is fiscal years 2022 and 2023.​

1.13 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.14 Available for the Year​
1.15 Ending June 30​

2023​1.16 2022​

1.17 Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT​

62,800,000​$​62,240,000​$​1.18 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.19 The amounts that may be spent for each​

1.20 purpose are specified in the following​

1.21 subdivisions.​

44,602,000​45,312,000​1.22 Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations​

1.23 (a) Contingent Account​

1.24 $5,000 each year is for a contingent account​

1.25 for expenses necessary for the normal​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 operation of the court for which no other​

2.2 reimbursement is provided.​

2.3 (b) Insurance Cost Increases​

2.4 $306,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $661,000 in​

2.5 fiscal year 2023 are to fund increases in​

2.6 insurance costs.​

2.7 (c) Employee Compensation​

2.8 $1,084,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for increased​

2.9 compensation of three percent for employees​

2.10 other than judges.​

2.11 (d) Minnesota Court Record Online​

2.12 Application​

2.13 $741,000 in fiscal year 2022 is to fund critical​

2.14 improvements to the Minnesota Court Record​

2.15 Online application. This is a onetime​

2.16 appropriation.​

2.17 (e) Cybersecurity Program​

2.18 $375,000 in fiscal year 2022 is to fund critical​

2.19 improvements to the judiciary branch​

2.20 cybersecurity program. This is a onetime​

2.21 appropriation.​

2.22 (f) Courthouse Safety​

2.23 $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for a​

2.24 competitive grant program established by the​

2.25 chief justice for the distribution of safe and​

2.26 secure courthouse fund grants to governmental​

2.27 entities responsible for providing or​

2.28 maintaining a courthouse or other facility​

2.29 where court proceedings are held. Grant​

2.30 recipients must provide a 50 percent nonstate​

2.31 match. This is a onetime appropriation and is​

2.32 available until June 30, 2024.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 (g) Interpreter Compensation​

3.2 $400,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $400,000 in​

3.3 fiscal year 2023 are to increase hourly fees​

3.4 paid to qualified certified and uncertified​

3.5 interpreters who are independent contractors​

3.6 and assist persons disabled in communication​

3.7 in legal proceedings.​

18,198,000​16,928,000​3.8 Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services​

3.9 (a) Legal Services to Low-Income Clients​

3.10 in Family Law Matters​

3.11 $1,017,000 each year is to improve the access​

3.12 of low-income clients to legal representation​

3.13 in family law matters. This appropriation must​

3.14 be distributed under Minnesota Statutes,​

3.15 section 480.242, to the qualified legal services​

3.16 program described in Minnesota Statutes,​

3.17 section 480.242, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).​

3.18 Any unencumbered balance remaining in the​

3.19 first year does not cancel and is available in​

3.20 the second year.​

3.21 (b) Base Adjustment​

3.22 The base appropriation for civil legal services​

3.23 shall be $18,387,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

3.24 beyond.​

13,495,000​$​13,234,000​$​3.25 Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS​

3.26 (a) Insurance Cost Increases​

3.27 $71,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $155,000 in​

3.28 fiscal year 2023 are to fund increases in​

3.29 insurance costs.​

3.30 (b) Employee Compensation​

3​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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4.1 $1,084,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for increased​

4.2 compensation of three percent for employees​

4.3 other than judges.​

327,816,000​$​319,627,000​$​4.4 Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS​

4.5 (a) Insurance Cost Increases​

4.6 $2,425,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $5,232,000​

4.7 in fiscal year 2023 are to fund increases in​

4.8 insurance costs.​

4.9 (b) Employee Compensation​

4.10 $5,382,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for increased​

4.11 compensation of three percent for employees​

4.12 other than judges.​

22,889,000​$​22,206,000​$​4.13 Sec. 5. GUARDIAN AD LITEM BOARD​

1,841,000​$​1,827,000​$​4.14 Sec. 6. TAX COURT​

100,000​$​100,000​$​4.15 Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION​

586,000​$​580,000​$​4.16 Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS​

4.17 (a) Availability of Appropriation​

4.18 If the appropriation for either year is​

4.19 insufficient, the appropriation for the other​

4.20 fiscal year is available.​

4.21 (b) Major Disciplinary Actions​

4.22 $125,000 each year is for special investigative​

4.23 and hearing costs for major disciplinary​

4.24 actions undertaken by the board. This​

4.25 appropriation does not cancel. Any​

4.26 unencumbered and unspent balances remain​

4.27 available for these expenditures until June 30,​

4.28 2025.​

112,468,000​$​109,770,000​$​4.29 Sec. 9. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE​

4.30 (a) Public Defense Corporations​

4​Article 1 Sec. 9.​
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5.1 $74,000 the first year and $152,000 the second​

5.2 year are for increases to public defense​

5.3 corporations.​

5.4 (b) Postconviction Relief Petitions​

5.5 $187,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for contract​

5.6 attorneys to represent individuals who file​

5.7 postconviction relief petitions.​

5,768,000​$​5,668,000​$​5.8 Sec. 10. HUMAN RIGHTS​

5.9 Additional Staffing and Administrative​

5.10 Costs​

5.11 $345,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $350,000 in​

5.12 fiscal year 2023 are for improving caseload​

5.13 processing, costs associated with prohibiting​

5.14 rental discrimination, and staff and​

5.15 administrative costs necessary to collect and​

5.16 report on crimes of bias.​

30,000​$​64,000​$​5.17 Sec. 11. OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR​

5.18 Forfeiture Reporting​

5.19 $64,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $30,000 in​

5.20 fiscal year 2023 are for costs associated with​

5.21 forfeiture reporting requirements.​

0​$​24,000​$​5.22 Sec. 12. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY​

5.23 Forfeiture Notices​

5.24 $24,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for costs for​

5.25 technological upgrades required for generating​

5.26 forfeiture notices and property receipts.​

5​Article 1 Sec. 12.​
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6.1 ARTICLE 2​

6.2 ACCESS TO COURTS; DISTRIBUTION OF FEES; DEADLINES​

6.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2.722, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

6.4 Subdivision 1. Description. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial​

6.5 districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts​

6.6 judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:​

6.7 1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 36 judges; and four​

6.8 permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe​

6.9 and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district;​

6.10 2. Ramsey; 26 judges;​

6.11 3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower,​

6.12 and Fillmore; 23 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert​

6.13 Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;​

6.14 4. Hennepin; 60 judges;​

6.15 5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood,​

6.16 Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 16 17 judges; and​

6.17 permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and​

6.18 Mankato;​

6.19 6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;​

6.20 7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and​

6.21 Wadena; 30 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus​

6.22 Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;​

6.23 8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big​

6.24 Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers​

6.25 shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar;​

6.26 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin,​

6.27 Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and​

6.28 Koochiching; 24 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief​

6.29 River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls; and​

6.30 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; 45​

6.31 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places​

6.32 designated by the chief judge of the district.​

6​Article 2 Section 1.​
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7.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 260C.163, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

7.2 Subd. 3. Appointment of counsel. (a) The child, parent, guardian or custodian has the​

7.3 right to effective assistance of counsel in connection with a proceeding in juvenile court as​

7.4 provided in this subdivision.​

7.5 (b) Except in proceedings where the sole basis for the petition is habitual truancy, if the​

7.6 child desires counsel but is unable to employ it, the court shall appoint counsel to represent​

7.7 the child who is ten years of age or older under section 611.14, clause (4), or other counsel​

7.8 at public expense.​

7.9 (c) Except in proceedings where the sole basis for the petition is habitual truancy, if the​

7.10 parent, guardian, or custodian desires counsel but is unable to employ it, the court shall​

7.11 appoint counsel to represent the parent, guardian, or custodian in any case in which it feels​

7.12 that such an appointment is appropriate if the person would be financially unable to obtain​

7.13 counsel under the guidelines set forth in section 611.17. In all juvenile protection proceedings​

7.14 where a child risks removal from the care of the child's parent, guardian, or custodian,​

7.15 including a child in need of protection or services petition, an action pursuing removal of​

7.16 a child from the child's home, a termination of parental rights petition, or a petition for any​

7.17 other permanency disposition under section 260C.515, if the parent, guardian, or custodian​

7.18 desires counsel and is eligible for counsel under section 611.17, the court shall appoint​

7.19 counsel to represent each parent, guardian, or custodian at the first hearing on the petition​

7.20 and at all stages of the proceedings. Court appointed counsel shall be at county expense as​

7.21 outlined in paragraph (h).​

7.22 (d) In any proceeding where the subject of a petition for a child in need of protection or​

7.23 services is ten years of age or older, the responsible social services agency shall, within 14​

7.24 days after filing the petition or at the emergency removal hearing under section 260C.178,​

7.25 subdivision 1, if the child is present, fully and effectively inform the child of the child's​

7.26 right to be represented by appointed counsel upon request and shall notify the court as to​

7.27 whether the child desired counsel. Information provided to the child shall include, at a​

7.28 minimum, the fact that counsel will be provided without charge to the child, that the child's​

7.29 communications with counsel are confidential, and that the child has the right to participate​

7.30 in all proceedings on a petition, including the opportunity to personally attend all hearings.​

7.31 The responsible social services agency shall also, within 14 days of the child's tenth birthday,​

7.32 fully and effectively inform the child of the child's right to be represented by counsel if the​

7.33 child reaches the age of ten years while the child is the subject of a petition for a child in​

7.34 need of protection or services or is a child under the guardianship of the commissioner.​

7​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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8.1 (e) In any proceeding where the sole basis for the petition is habitual truancy, the child,​

8.2 parent, guardian, and custodian do not have the right to appointment of a public defender​

8.3 or other counsel at public expense. However, before any out-of-home placement, including​

8.4 foster care or inpatient treatment, can be ordered, the court must appoint a public defender​

8.5 or other counsel at public expense in accordance with this subdivision.​

8.6 (f) Counsel for the child shall not also act as the child's guardian ad litem.​

8.7 (g) In any proceeding where the subject of a petition for a child in need of protection or​

8.8 services is not represented by an attorney, the court shall determine the child's preferences​

8.9 regarding the proceedings, including informing the child of the right to appointed counsel​

8.10 and asking whether the child desires counsel, if the child is of suitable age to express a​

8.11 preference.​

8.12 (h) Court-appointed counsel for the parent, guardian, or custodian under this subdivision​

8.13 is at county expense. If the county has contracted with counsel meeting qualifications under​

8.14 paragraph (i), the court shall appoint the counsel retained by the county, unless a conflict​

8.15 of interest exists. If a conflict exists, after consulting with the chief judge of the judicial​

8.16 district or the judge's designee, the county shall contract with competent counsel to provide​

8.17 the necessary representation. The court may appoint only one counsel at public expense for​

8.18 the first court hearing to represent the interests of the parents, guardians, and custodians,​

8.19 unless, at any time during the proceedings upon petition of a party, the court determines​

8.20 and makes written findings on the record that extraordinary circumstances exist that require​

8.21 counsel to be appointed to represent a separate interest of other parents, guardians, or​

8.22 custodians subject to the jurisdiction of the juvenile court.​

8.23 (i) Counsel retained by the county under paragraph (h) must meet the qualifications​

8.24 established by the Judicial Council in at least one of the following: (1) has a minimum of​

8.25 two years' experience handling child protection cases; (2) has training in handling child​

8.26 protection cases from a course or courses approved by the Judicial Council; or (3) is​

8.27 supervised by an attorney who meets the minimum qualifications under clause (1) or (2).​

8.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022, except the amendment​

8.29 striking paragraph (i) is effective the day following final enactment.​

8.30 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.021, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

8.31 Subd. 1a. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of management and budget. (a) Every​

8.32 person, including the state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall​

8.33 transact any business in the district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court​

8​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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9.1 the sundry fees prescribed in subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court​

9.2 administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner of management and budget​

9.3 for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund. $30 of each fee collected in​

9.4 a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be deposited by the commissioner​

9.5 of management and budget in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the​

9.6 commissioner of employment and economic development for the Minnesota Family​

9.7 Resiliency Partnership under section 116L.96.​

9.8 (b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant​

9.9 to this subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the​

9.10 fees first to reimburse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector​

9.11 position. The balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of​

9.12 management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund.​

9.13 In a county in a judicial district under section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which​

9.14 has a screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to​

9.15 the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited​

9.16 to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an​

9.17 employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the incomes​

9.18 of potential clients of the public defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service.​

9.19 (c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public​

9.20 authority represents in an action for:​

9.21 (1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or​

9.22 establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;​

9.23 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;​

9.24 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under​

9.25 chapters 252A and 525;​

9.26 (4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery​

9.27 of overpayments of public assistance;​

9.28 (5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C;​

9.29 (6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317;​

9.30 (7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under​

9.31 sections 246.52, 252.27, 256.045, 256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37,​

9.32 260B.331, and 260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance;​

9.33 (8) restitution under section 611A.04; or​

9​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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10.1 (9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D.14,​

10.2 subdivision 5.​

10.3 (d) $20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2,​

10.4 clause (13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general​

10.5 fund and $35 from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be​

10.6 used by the county to pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys.​

10.7 (e) No fee is required under this section from any federally recognized Indian Tribe or​

10.8 its representative in an action for:​

10.9 (1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or​

10.10 establishment of parentage in the district court or in a proceeding under section 484.702;​

10.11 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;​

10.12 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under​

10.13 chapters 252A and 525; or​

10.14 (4) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, 260C, and 260D.​

10.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 477A.03, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

10.16 Subd. 2b. Counties. (a) For aids payable in 2018 and 2019, the total aid payable under​

10.17 section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is $103,795,000, of which $3,000,000 shall be allocated​

10.18 as required under Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 6. For aids payable in 2020,​

10.19 the total aid payable under section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is $116,795,000, of which​

10.20 $3,000,000 shall be allocated as required under Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section​

10.21 6. For aids payable in 2021 through 2024, the total aid payable under section 477A.0124,​

10.22 subdivision 3, is $118,795,000, of which $3,000,000 shall be allocated as required under​

10.23 Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 6. For aids payable in 2025 and thereafter, the​

10.24 total aid payable under section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is $115,795,000. Each calendar​

10.25 year, On or before the first installment date provided in section 477A.015, paragraph (a),​

10.26 $500,000 of this appropriation shall be retained transferred each year by the commissioner​

10.27 of revenue to make reimbursements to the commissioner of management and budget the​

10.28 Board of Public Defense for payments made the payment of service under section 611.27.​

10.29 The reimbursements shall be to defray the additional costs associated with court-ordered​

10.30 counsel under section 611.27. Any retained transferred amounts not used for reimbursement​

10.31 expended or encumbered in a fiscal year shall be certified by the Board of Public Defense​

10.32 to the commissioner of revenue on or before October 1 and shall be included in the next​

10​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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11.1 distribution certification of county need aid that is certified to the county auditors for the​

11.2 purpose of property tax reduction for the next taxes payable year.​

11.3 (b) For aids payable in 2018 and 2019, the total aid under section 477A.0124, subdivision​

11.4 4, is $130,873,444. For aids payable in 2020, the total aid under section 477A.0124,​

11.5 subdivision 4, is $143,873,444. For aids payable in 2021 and thereafter, the total aid under​

11.6 section 477A.0124, subdivision 4, is $145,873,444. The commissioner of revenue shall​

11.7 transfer to the commissioner of management and budget $207,000 annually for the cost of​

11.8 preparation of local impact notes as required by section 3.987, and other local government​

11.9 activities. The commissioner of revenue shall transfer to the commissioner of education​

11.10 $7,000 annually for the cost of preparation of local impact notes for school districts as​

11.11 required by section 3.987. The commissioner of revenue shall deduct the amounts transferred​

11.12 under this paragraph from the appropriation under this paragraph. The amounts transferred​

11.13 are appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget and the commissioner of​

11.14 education respectively.​

11.15 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 484.85, is amended to read:​

11.16 484.85 DISPOSITION OF FINES, FEES, AND OTHER MONEY; ACCOUNTS;​

11.17 RAMSEY COUNTY DISTRICT COURT.​

11.18 (a) In all cases prosecuted in Ramsey County District Court by an attorney for a​

11.19 municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County for violation of a statute;​

11.20 an ordinance; or a charter provision, rule, or regulation of a city; all fines, penalties, and​

11.21 forfeitures collected by the court administrator shall be deposited in the state treasury and​

11.22 distributed according to this paragraph. Except where a different disposition is provided by​

11.23 section 299D.03, subdivision 5, or other law, on or before the last day of each month, the​

11.24 court shall pay over all fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the court administrator​

11.25 during the previous month as follows:​

11.26 (1) for offenses committed within the city of St. Paul, two-thirds paid to the treasurer​

11.27 of the city of St. Paul municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County​

11.28 and one-third credited to the state general fund; and.​

11.29 (2) for offenses committed within any other municipality or subdivision of government​

11.30 within Ramsey County, one-half paid to the treasurer of the municipality or subdivision of​

11.31 government and one-half credited to the state general fund.​

11.32 All other fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the district court shall be distributed​

11.33 by the courts as provided by law.​

11​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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12.1 (b) Fines, penalties, and forfeitures shall be distributed as provided in paragraph (a)​

12.2 when:​

12.3 (1) a city contracts with the county attorney for prosecutorial services under section​

12.4 484.87, subdivision 3; or​

12.5 (2) the attorney general provides assistance to the city attorney under section 484.87,​

12.6 subdivision 5.​

12.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

12.8 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 590.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

12.9 Subd. 4. Time limit. (a) No petition for postconviction relief may be filed more than​

12.10 two years after the later of:​

12.11 (1) the entry of judgment of conviction or sentence if no direct appeal is filed; or​

12.12 (2) an appellate court's disposition of petitioner's direct appeal.​

12.13 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may hear a petition for postconviction relief​

12.14 if:​

12.15 (1) the petitioner establishes that a physical disability or mental disease precluded a​

12.16 timely assertion of the claim;​

12.17 (2) the petitioner alleges the existence of newly discovered evidence, including scientific​

12.18 evidence, that could not have been ascertained by the exercise of due diligence by the​

12.19 petitioner or petitioner's attorney within the two-year time period for filing a postconviction​

12.20 petition, and the evidence is not cumulative to evidence presented at trial, is not for​

12.21 impeachment purposes, and establishes by a clear and convincing standard that the petitioner​

12.22 is innocent of the offense or offenses for which the petitioner was convicted;​

12.23 (3) the petitioner asserts a new interpretation of federal or state constitutional or statutory​

12.24 law by either the United States Supreme Court or a Minnesota appellate court and the​

12.25 petitioner establishes that this interpretation is retroactively applicable to the petitioner's​

12.26 case;​

12.27 (4) the petition is brought pursuant to subdivision 3; or​

12.28 (5) the petitioner establishes to the satisfaction of the court that the petition is not frivolous​

12.29 and is in the interests of justice.; or​

12.30 (6) the petitioner is either placed into immigration removal proceedings, or detained for​

12.31 the purpose of removal from the United States, or received notice to report for removal, as​

12​Article 2 Sec. 6.​
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13.1 a result of a conviction that was obtained by relying on incorrect advice or absent advice​

13.2 from counsel on immigration consequences.​

13.3 (c) Any petition invoking an exception provided in paragraph (b) must be filed within​

13.4 two years of the date the claim arises.​

13.5 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.21, is amended to read:​

13.6 611.21 SERVICES OTHER THAN COUNSEL.​

13.7 (a) Counsel appointed by the court for an indigent defendant, or representing a defendant​

13.8 who, at the outset of the prosecution, has an annual income not greater than 125 percent of​

13.9 the poverty line established under United States Code, title 42, section 9902(2), may file​

13.10 an ex parte application requesting investigative, expert, interpreter, or other services necessary​

13.11 to an adequate defense in the case. Upon finding, after appropriate inquiry in an ex parte​

13.12 proceeding, that the services are necessary and that the defendant is financially unable to​

13.13 obtain them, the court shall authorize counsel to obtain the services on behalf of the​

13.14 defendant. The court may establish a limit on the amount which may be expended or promised​

13.15 for such services. The court may, in the interests of justice, and upon a finding that timely​

13.16 procurement of necessary services could not await prior authorization, ratify such services​

13.17 after they have been obtained, but such ratification shall be given only in unusual situations.​

13.18 The court shall determine reasonable compensation for the services and direct payment by​

13.19 the county in which the prosecution originated, to the organization or person who rendered​

13.20 them, upon the filing of a claim for compensation supported by an affidavit specifying the​

13.21 time expended, services rendered, and expenses incurred on behalf of the defendant, and​

13.22 the compensation received in the same case or for the same services from any other source.​

13.23 (b) The compensation to be paid to a person for such service rendered to a defendant​

13.24 under this section, or to be paid to an organization for such services rendered by an employee,​

13.25 may not exceed $1,000, exclusive of reimbursement for expenses reasonably incurred,​

13.26 unless payment in excess of that limit is certified by the court as necessary to provide fair​

13.27 compensation for services of an unusual character or duration and the amount of the excess​

13.28 payment is approved by the chief judge of the district. The chief judge of the judicial district​

13.29 may delegate approval authority to an active district judge.​

13.30 (c) If the court denies authorizing counsel to obtain services on behalf of the defendant,​

13.31 the court shall make written findings of fact and conclusions of law that state the basis for​

13.32 determining that counsel may not obtain services on behalf of the defendant. When the court​

13.33 issues an order denying counsel the authority to obtain services, the defendant may appeal​

13.34 immediately from that order to the court of appeals and may request an expedited hearing.​
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14.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

14.2 Subd. 9. Request for other appointment of counsel. The chief district public defender​

14.3 with the approval of may request that the state public defender may request that the chief​

14.4 judge of the district court, or a district court judge designated by the chief judge, authorize​

14.5 appointment of counsel other than the district public defender in such cases.​

14.6 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

14.7 Subd. 10. Addition of permanent staff. The chief public defender may not request the​

14.8 court nor may the court order state public defender approve the addition of permanent staff​

14.9 under subdivision 7.​

14.10 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

14.11 Subd. 11. Appointment of counsel. If the court state public defender finds that the​

14.12 provision of adequate legal representation, including associated services, is beyond the​

14.13 ability of the district public defender to provide, the court shall order state public defender​

14.14 may approve counsel to be appointed, with compensation and expenses to be paid under​

14.15 the provisions of this subdivision and subdivision 7. Counsel in such cases shall be appointed​

14.16 by the chief district public defender. If the court issues an order denying the request, the​

14.17 court shall make written findings of fact and conclusions of law. Upon denial, the chief​

14.18 district public defender may immediately appeal the order denying the request to the court​

14.19 of appeals and may request an expedited hearing.​

14.20 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

14.21 Subd. 13. Correctional facility inmates. All billings for services rendered and ordered​

14.22 under subdivision 7 shall require the approval of the chief district public defender before​

14.23 being forwarded on a monthly basis to the state public defender. In cases where adequate​

14.24 representation cannot be provided by the district public defender and where counsel has​

14.25 been appointed under a court order approved by the state public defender, the state public​

14.26 defender Board of Public Defense shall forward to the commissioner of management and​

14.27 budget pay all billings for services rendered under the court order. The commissioner shall​

14.28 pay for services from county program aid retained transferred by the commissioner of​

14.29 revenue for that purpose under section 477A.03, subdivision 2b, paragraph (a).​

14.30 The costs of appointed counsel and associated services in cases arising from new criminal​

14.31 charges brought against indigent inmates who are incarcerated in a Minnesota state​

14.32 correctional facility are the responsibility of the state Board of Public Defense. In such cases​
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15.1 the state public defender may follow the procedures outlined in this section for obtaining​

15.2 court-ordered counsel.​

15.3 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

15.4 Subd. 15. Costs of transcripts. In appeal cases and postconviction cases where the​

15.5 appellate public defender's office does not have sufficient funds to pay for transcripts and​

15.6 other necessary expenses because it has spent or committed all of the transcript funds in its​

15.7 annual budget, the state public defender may forward to the commissioner of management​

15.8 and budget all billings for transcripts and other necessary expenses. The commissioner shall​

15.9 Board of Public Defense may pay for these transcripts and other necessary expenses from​

15.10 county program aid retained transferred by the commissioner of revenue for that purpose​

15.11 under section 477A.03, subdivision 2b, paragraph (a).​

15.12 ARTICLE 3​

15.13 VICTIMS; CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS​

15.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 5B.02, is amended to read:​

15.15 5B.02 DEFINITIONS.​

15.16 (a) For purposes of this chapter and unless the context clearly requires otherwise, the​

15.17 definitions in this section have the meanings given them.​

15.18 (b) "Address" means an individual's work address, school address, or residential street​

15.19 address, as specified on the individual's application to be a program participant under this​

15.20 chapter.​

15.21 (c) "Applicant" means an adult, a parent or guardian acting on behalf of an eligible​

15.22 minor, or a guardian acting on behalf of an incapacitated person, as defined in section​

15.23 524.5-102.​

15.24 (d) "Domestic violence" means an act as defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 2,​

15.25 paragraph (a), and includes a threat of such acts committed against an individual in a domestic​

15.26 situation, regardless of whether these acts or threats have been reported to law enforcement​

15.27 officers.​

15.28 (e) "Eligible person" means an adult, a minor, or an incapacitated person, as defined in​

15.29 section 524.5-102 for whom there is good reason to believe (1) that the eligible person is a​

15.30 victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or harassment or stalking, or (2) that the eligible​

15.31 person fears for the person's safety, the safety of another person who resides in the same​

15.32 household, or the safety of persons on whose behalf the application is made. An individual​
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16.1 must reside in Minnesota in order to be an eligible person. A person registered or required​

16.2 to register as a predatory offender under section 243.166 or 243.167, or the law of another​

16.3 jurisdiction, is not an eligible person.​

16.4 (f) "Mail" means first class letters and flats delivered via the United States Postal Service,​

16.5 including priority, express, and certified mail, and excluding packages, parcels, (1)​

16.6 periodicals, and catalogues, and (2) packages and parcels unless they are clearly identifiable​

16.7 as nonrefrigerated pharmaceuticals or clearly indicate that they are sent by the federal​

16.8 government or a state or county government agency of the continental United States, Hawaii,​

16.9 District of Columbia, or United States territories.​

16.10 (g) "Program participant" means an individual certified as a program participant under​

16.11 section 5B.03.​

16.12 (h) "Harassment" or "stalking" means acts criminalized under section 609.749 and​

16.13 includes a threat of such acts committed against an individual, regardless of whether these​

16.14 acts or threats have been reported to law enforcement officers.​

16.15 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 5B.05, is amended to read:​

16.16 5B.05 USE OF DESIGNATED ADDRESS.​

16.17 (a) When a program participant presents the address designated by the secretary of state​

16.18 to any person or entity, that address must be accepted as the address of the program​

16.19 participant. The person may not require the program participant to submit any address that​

16.20 could be used to physically locate the participant either as a substitute or in addition to the​

16.21 designated address, or as a condition of receiving a service or benefit, unless the service or​

16.22 benefit would be impossible to provide without knowledge of the program participant's​

16.23 physical location. Notwithstanding a person's or entity's knowledge of a program participant's​

16.24 physical location, the person or entity must use the program participant's designated address​

16.25 for all mail correspondence with the program participant.​

16.26 (b) A program participant may use the address designated by the secretary of state as​

16.27 the program participant's work address.​

16.28 (c) The Office of the Secretary of State shall forward all mail sent to the designated​

16.29 address to the proper program participants.​

16.30 (d) If a program participant has notified a person in writing, on a form prescribed by the​

16.31 program, that the individual is a program participant and of the requirements of this section,​

16.32 the person must not knowingly disclose the program participant's name, home address, work​

16.33 address, or school address, unless the person to whom the address is disclosed also lives,​
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17.1 works, or goes to school at the address disclosed, or the participant has provided written​

17.2 consent to disclosure of the participant's name, home address, work address, or school​

17.3 address for the purpose for which the disclosure will be made. This paragraph applies to​

17.4 the actions and reports of guardians ad litem, except that guardians ad litem may disclose​

17.5 the program participant's name. This paragraph does not apply to records of the judicial​

17.6 branch governed by rules adopted by the supreme court or government entities governed​

17.7 by section 13.045.​

17.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 5B.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

17.9 Subdivision 1. Display by landlord. If a program participant has notified the program​

17.10 participant's landlord in writing that the individual is a program participant and of the​

17.11 requirements of this section, a local ordinance or the landlord must not require the display​

17.12 of, and the landlord shall not display, the program participant's name at an address otherwise​

17.13 protected under this chapter.​

17.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.99, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:​

17.15 Subd. 1c. Notice of surcharge. All parts of the uniform traffic ticket must give provide​

17.16 conspicuous notice of the fact that, if convicted, the person to whom it was issued must may​

17.17 be required to pay a state-imposed surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision 6, and the​

17.18 current amount of the required surcharge.​

17.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022. The changes to the​

17.20 uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time​

17.21 it is revised.​

17.22 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.99, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

17.23 read:​

17.24 Subd. 1d. Financial hardship. The first paragraph on the reverse side of the summons​

17.25 on the uniform traffic ticket must include the following, or substantially similar, language:​

17.26 "All or part of the cost of this summons may be waived on a showing of indigency or undue​

17.27 hardship on you or your family. You may schedule a court appearance to request a waiver​

17.28 based on your ability to pay by calling the Minnesota Court Payment Center (CPC) [followed​

17.29 by the Court Payment Center telephone number]. For more information, call the CPC or​

17.30 visit www.mncourts.gov/fines."​
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18.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022. The changes to the​

18.2 uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time​

18.3 it is revised.​

18.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.021, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

18.5 Subd. 6. Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders. (a) Except as provided in this​

18.6 paragraph subdivision, the court shall impose and the court administrator shall collect a $75​

18.7 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or​

18.8 petty misdemeanor offense, other than a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle​

18.9 parking, for which there shall be a $12 surcharge. When a defendant is convicted of more​

18.10 than one offense in a case, the surcharge shall be imposed only once in that case. In the​

18.11 Second Judicial District, the court shall impose, and the court administrator shall collect,​

18.12 an additional $1 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor,​

18.13 misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, including a violation of a law or ordinance​

18.14 relating to vehicle parking, if the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes the​

18.15 $1 surcharge. The surcharge shall be imposed whether or not the person is sentenced to​

18.16 imprisonment or the sentence is stayed. The surcharge shall not be imposed when a person​

18.17 is convicted of a petty misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed.​

18.18 (b) If the court fails to impose a surcharge as required by this subdivision, the court​

18.19 administrator shall show the imposition of the surcharge, collect the surcharge, and correct​

18.20 the record.​

18.21 (c) (b) The court may not reduce the amount or waive payment of the surcharge required​

18.22 under this subdivision. Upon on a showing of indigency or undue hardship upon the convicted​

18.23 person or the convicted person's immediate family, the sentencing court may authorize​

18.24 payment of the surcharge in installments. Additionally, the court may permit the defendant​

18.25 to perform community work service in lieu of a surcharge.​

18.26 (d) (c) The court administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge shall forward it to​

18.27 the commissioner of management and budget.​

18.28 (e) (d) If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment and has not paid the surcharge​

18.29 before the term of imprisonment begins, the chief executive officer of the correctional​

18.30 facility in which the convicted person is incarcerated shall collect the surcharge from any​

18.31 earnings the inmate accrues from work performed in the facility or while on conditional​

18.32 release. The chief executive officer shall forward the amount collected to the court​

18.33 administrator or other entity collecting the surcharge imposed by the court.​
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19.1 (f) (e) A person who enters a diversion program, continuance without prosecution,​

19.2 continuance for dismissal, or stay of adjudication for a violation of chapter 169 must pay​

19.3 the surcharge described in this subdivision. A surcharge imposed under this paragraph shall​

19.4 be imposed only once per case.​

19.5 (g) (f) The surcharge does not apply to administrative citations issued pursuant to section​

19.6 169.999.​

19.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

19.8 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.101, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

19.9 Subd. 5. Waiver prohibited; reduction and installment payments. (a) The court may​

19.10 not waive payment of the minimum fine required by this section.​

19.11 (b) If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on​

19.12 the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the fine would​

19.13 create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family, the court​

19.14 may reduce the amount of the minimum fine to not less than $50. Additionally, the court​

19.15 may permit the defendant to perform community work service in lieu of a fine.​

19.16 (c) The court also may authorize payment of the fine in installments.​

19.17 (d) Before sentencing a person convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor,​

19.18 or petty misdemeanor to pay money for a fine, fee, or surcharge, the court shall make a​

19.19 finding on the record as to indigency or the convicted person's ability to comply with an​

19.20 order to pay without undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate​

19.21 family. In determining indigency or whether the defendant is able to comply with an order​

19.22 to pay a fine, fee, or surcharge without undue hardship to the convicted person or that​

19.23 person's immediate family, the court shall consider:​

19.24 (1) income;​

19.25 (2) dependents;​

19.26 (3) financial resources, including assets and liabilities;​

19.27 (4) basic living expenses;​

19.28 (5) receipt of means-tested public assistance program; and​

19.29 (6) any special circumstances that may bear on the person's ability to pay.​
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20.1 (e) Paragraph (d) shall not apply when a conviction for a violation that is included on​

20.2 the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101, subdivision 4, is entered without​

20.3 a hearing before the court.​

20.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

20.5 Sec. 8. [611A.95] CERTIFICATIONS FOR VICTIMS OF CRIMES.​

20.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

20.7 meanings given:​

20.8 (1) "certifying entity" means a state or local law enforcement agency;​

20.9 (2) "criminal activity" means qualifying criminal activity pursuant to section​

20.10 101(a)(15)(U)(iii) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, and includes the attempt,​

20.11 conspiracy, or solicitation to commit such crimes; and​

20.12 (3) "certification" means any certification or statement required by federal immigration​

20.13 law including, but not limited to, the information required by United States Code, title 8,​

20.14 section 1184(p), and United States Code, title 8, section 1184(o), including current United​

20.15 States Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-918, Supplement B, and United States​

20.16 Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-914, Supplement B, and any successor forms.​

20.17 Subd. 2. Certification process. (a) A certifying entity shall process a certification​

20.18 requested by a victim of criminal activity or a representative of the victim, including but​

20.19 not limited to the victim's attorney, family member, or domestic violence or sexual assault​

20.20 violence advocate, within the time period prescribed in paragraph (b).​

20.21 (b) A certifying entity shall process the certification within 90 days of request, unless​

20.22 the victim is in removal proceedings, in which case the certification shall be processed​

20.23 within 14 days of request. Requests for expedited certification must be affirmatively raised​

20.24 at the time of the request.​

20.25 (c) An active investigation, the filing of charges, or a prosecution or conviction are not​

20.26 required for the victim of criminal activity to request and obtain the certification.​

20.27 Subd. 3. Certifying entity; designate agent. (a) The head of a certifying entity shall​

20.28 designate an agent to perform the following responsibilities:​

20.29 (1) timely process requests for certification;​

20.30 (2) provide outreach to victims of criminal activity to inform them of the entity's​

20.31 certification process; and​
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21.1 (3) keep a written or electronic record of all certification requests and responses.​

21.2 (b) All certifying entities shall implement a language access protocol for​

21.3 non-English-speaking victims of criminal activity.​

21.4 Subd. 4. Disclosure prohibited; data classification. (a) A certifying entity is prohibited​

21.5 from disclosing the immigration status of a victim of criminal activity or representative​

21.6 requesting the certification, except to comply with federal law or legal process, or if​

21.7 authorized by the victim of criminal activity or representative requesting the certification.​

21.8 (b) Data provided to a certifying entity under this section is classified as private data​

21.9 pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

21.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivisions 1, 2, and 4 are effective the day following final​

21.11 enactment. Subdivision 3 is effective July 1, 2021.​

21.12 Sec. 9. [634.045] JAILHOUSE WITNESSES.​

21.13 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

21.14 meanings given.​

21.15 (b) "Benefit" means any plea bargain, bail consideration, reduction or modification of​

21.16 sentence, or any other leniency, immunity, financial payment, reward, or amelioration of​

21.17 current or future conditions of incarceration offered or provided in connection with, or in​

21.18 exchange for, testimony that is offered or provided by a jailhouse witness.​

21.19 (c) "Jailhouse witness" means a person who (1) while incarcerated, claims to have​

21.20 obtained information from a defendant in a criminal case or a person suspected to be the​

21.21 perpetrator of an offense, and (2) offers or provides testimony concerning statements made​

21.22 by that defendant or person suspected to be the perpetrator of an offense. It does not mean​

21.23 a codefendant or confidential informant who does not provide testimony against a suspect​

21.24 or defendant.​

21.25 Subd. 2. Use of and benefits provided to jailhouse witnesses; data collection. (a)​

21.26 Each county attorney shall report to the attorney general, in a form determined by the attorney​

21.27 general:​

21.28 (1) the name of the jailhouse witness and the district court file number of the case in​

21.29 which that witness testified or planned to testify;​

21.30 (2) the substance and use of any testimony of a jailhouse witness against the interest of​

21.31 a suspect or defendant, regardless of whether such testimony is presented at trial; and​
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22.1 (3) the jailhouse witness's agreement to cooperate with the prosecution and any benefit​

22.2 that the prosecutor has offered or may offer in the future to the jailhouse witness in connection​

22.3 with the testimony.​

22.4 (b) The attorney general shall maintain a statewide database containing the information​

22.5 received pursuant to paragraph (a) for 20 years from the date that the jailhouse witness​

22.6 information was entered into that statewide record.​

22.7 (c) Data collected and maintained pursuant to this subdivision are classified as confidential​

22.8 data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 3. Only the attorney general​

22.9 may access the statewide record, but shall provide all information held on specific jailhouse​

22.10 witnesses to a county attorney upon request.​

22.11 Subd. 3. Report on jailhouse witnesses. By September 15 of each year, beginning in​

22.12 2022, the attorney general shall publish on its website an annual report of the statewide​

22.13 record of jailhouse witnesses required under subdivision 2. Information in the report must​

22.14 be limited to summary data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 19, and must include:​

22.15 (1) the total number of jailhouse witnesses tracked in the statewide record; and​

22.16 (2) for each county, the number of new reports added pursuant to subdivision 2, paragraph​

22.17 (a), over the previous fiscal year.​

22.18 Subd. 4. Disclosure of information regarding jailhouse witness. (a) In addition to the​

22.19 requirements for disclosures under rule 9 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure, and within​

22.20 the timeframes established by that rule, a prosecutor must disclose the following information​

22.21 to the defense about any jailhouse witness:​

22.22 (1) the complete criminal history of the jailhouse witness, including any charges that​

22.23 are pending or were reduced or dismissed as part of a plea bargain;​

22.24 (2) any cooperation agreement with the jailhouse witness and any deal, promise,​

22.25 inducement, or benefit that the state has made or intends to make in the future to the jailhouse​

22.26 witness;​

22.27 (3) whether, at any time, the jailhouse witness recanted any testimony or statement​

22.28 implicating the suspect or defendant in the charged crime and, if so, the time and place of​

22.29 the recantation, the nature of the recantation, and the names of the persons who were present​

22.30 at the recantation;​

22.31 (4) whether, at any time, the jailhouse witness made a statement implicating any other​

22.32 person in the charged crime and, if so, the time and place of the statement, the nature of the​

22.33 statement, and the names of the persons who were present at the statement; and​
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23.1 (5) information concerning other criminal cases in which the jailhouse witness has​

23.2 testified, or offered to testify, against a suspect or defendant with whom the jailhouse witness​

23.3 was imprisoned or confined, including any cooperation agreement, deal, promise, inducement,​

23.4 or benefit that the state has made or intends to make in the future to the jailhouse witness.​

23.5 (b) A prosecutor has a continuing duty of disclosure before and during trial. If, after the​

23.6 omnibus hearing held pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure, a prosecutor​

23.7 discovers additional material, information, or witnesses subject to disclosure under this​

23.8 subdivision, the prosecutor must promptly notify the court and defense counsel, or, if the​

23.9 defendant is not represented, the defendant, of what was discovered. If the court finds that​

23.10 the jailhouse witness was not known or that materials in paragraph (a) could not be discovered​

23.11 or obtained by the state within that period with the exercise of due diligence, the court may​

23.12 order that disclosure take place within a reasonable period. Upon good cause shown, the​

23.13 court may continue the proceedings.​

23.14 (c) If the prosecutor files a written certificate with the trial court that disclosing the​

23.15 information described in paragraph (a) would subject the jailhouse witness or other persons​

23.16 to physical harm or coercion, the court may order that the information must be disclosed to​

23.17 the defendant's counsel but may limit disclosure to the defendant in a way that does not​

23.18 unduly interfere with the defendant's right to prepare and present a defense, including limiting​

23.19 disclosure to nonidentifying information.​

23.20 Subd. 5. Victim notification. (a) A prosecutor shall make every reasonable effort to​

23.21 notify a victim if the prosecutor has decided to offer or provide any of the following to a​

23.22 jailhouse witness in exchange for, or as the result of, a jailhouse witness offering or providing​

23.23 testimony against a suspect or defendant:​

23.24 (1) reduction or dismissal of charges;​

23.25 (2) a plea bargain;​

23.26 (3) support for a modification of the amount or conditions of bail; or​

23.27 (4) support for a motion to reduce or modify a sentence.​

23.28 (b) Efforts to notify the victim should include, in order of priority: (1) contacting the​

23.29 victim or a person designated by the victim by telephone; and (2) contacting the victim by​

23.30 mail. If a jailhouse witness is still in custody, the notification attempt shall be made before​

23.31 the jailhouse witness is released from custody.​

23.32 (c) Whenever a prosecutor notifies a victim of domestic assault, criminal sexual conduct,​

23.33 or harassment or stalking under this section, the prosecutor shall also inform the victim of​
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24.1 the method and benefits of seeking an order for protection under section 518B.01 or a​

24.2 restraining order under section 609.748 and that the victim may seek an order without paying​

24.3 a fee.​

24.4 (d) The notification required under this subdivision is in addition to the notification​

24.5 requirements and rights described in sections 611A.03, 611A.0315, 611A.039, and 611A.06.​

24.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

24.7 ARTICLE 4​

24.8 HUMAN RIGHTS LAW​

24.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.552, is amended by adding a subdivision​

24.10 to read:​

24.11 Subd. 8. Certificate of compliance for public contracts. Access to data relating to​

24.12 certificates of compliance for public contracts is governed by section 363A.36.​

24.13 Sec. 2. [62A.082] NONDISCRIMINATION IN ACCESS TO TRANSPLANTS.​

24.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

24.15 the meanings given unless the context clearly requires otherwise.​

24.16 (b) "Disability" has the meaning given in section 363A.03, subdivision 12.​

24.17 (c) "Enrollee" means a natural person covered by a health plan or group health plan and​

24.18 includes an insured, policy holder, subscriber, covered person, member, contract holder, or​

24.19 certificate holder.​

24.20 (d) "Organ transplant" means the transplantation or transfusion of a part of a human​

24.21 body into the body of another for the purpose of treating or curing a medical condition.​

24.22 Subd. 2. Transplant discrimination prohibited. A health plan or group health plan​

24.23 that provides coverage for anatomical gifts, organ transplants, or related treatment and​

24.24 services shall not:​

24.25 (1) deny coverage to an enrollee based on the enrollee's disability;​

24.26 (2) deny eligibility, or continued eligibility, to enroll or to renew coverage under the​

24.27 terms of the health plan or group health plan solely for the purpose of avoiding the​

24.28 requirements of this section;​
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25.1 (3) penalize or otherwise reduce or limit the reimbursement of a health care provider,​

25.2 or provide monetary or nonmonetary incentives to a health care provider, to induce the​

25.3 provider to provide care to a patient in a manner inconsistent with this section; or​

25.4 (4) reduce or limit an enrollee's coverage benefits because of the enrollee's disability for​

25.5 medical services and other services related to organ transplantation performed pursuant to​

25.6 this section as determined in consultation with the enrollee's treating health care provider​

25.7 and the enrollee.​

25.8 Subd. 3. Collective bargaining. In the case of a group health plan maintained pursuant​

25.9 to one or more collective bargaining agreements between employee representatives and one​

25.10 or more employers, any plan amendment made pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement​

25.11 relating to the plan which amends the plan solely to conform to any requirement imposed​

25.12 pursuant to this section shall not be treated as a termination of the collective bargaining​

25.13 agreement.​

25.14 Subd. 4. Coverage limitation. Nothing in this section shall be deemed to require a health​

25.15 plan or group health plan to provide coverage for a medically inappropriate organ transplant.​

25.16 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

25.17 Subdivision 1. Freedom from discrimination. (a) It is the public policy of this state to​

25.18 secure for persons in this state, freedom from discrimination:​

25.19 (1) in employment because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​

25.20 status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, familial status,​

25.21 and age;​

25.22 (2) in housing and real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

25.23 sex, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, and​

25.24 familial status;​

25.25 (3) in public accommodations because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

25.26 sex, sexual orientation, and disability;​

25.27 (4) in public services because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​

25.28 status, disability, sexual orientation, and status with regard to public assistance; and​

25.29 (5) in education because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,​

25.30 disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, and age.​

25.31 (b) Such discrimination threatens the rights and privileges of the inhabitants of this state​

25.32 and menaces the institutions and foundations of democracy. It is also the public policy of​
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26.1 this state to protect all persons from wholly unfounded charges of discrimination. Nothing​

26.2 in this chapter shall be interpreted as restricting the implementation of positive action​

26.3 programs to combat discrimination.​

26.4 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

26.5 Subdivision 1. Formulation of policies. (a) The commissioner shall formulate policies​

26.6 to effectuate the purposes of this chapter and shall do the following:​

26.7 (1) exercise leadership under the direction of the governor in the development of human​

26.8 rights policies and programs, and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature​

26.9 for their consideration and implementation;​

26.10 (2) establish and maintain a principal office in St. Paul, and any other necessary branch​

26.11 offices at any location within the state;​

26.12 (3) meet and function at any place within the state;​

26.13 (4) employ attorneys, clerks, and other employees and agents as the commissioner may​

26.14 deem necessary and prescribe their duties;​

26.15 (5) to the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, utilize the records of the​

26.16 Department of Employment and Economic Development of the state when necessary to​

26.17 effectuate the purposes of this chapter;​

26.18 (6) obtain upon request and utilize the services of all state governmental departments​

26.19 and agencies;​

26.20 (7) adopt suitable rules for effectuating the purposes of this chapter;​

26.21 (8) issue complaints, receive and investigate charges alleging unfair discriminatory​

26.22 practices, and determine whether or not probable cause exists for hearing;​

26.23 (9) subpoena witnesses, administer oaths, take testimony, and require the production for​

26.24 examination of any books or papers relative to any matter under investigation or in question​

26.25 as the commissioner deems appropriate to carry out the purposes of this chapter;​

26.26 (10) attempt, by means of education, conference, conciliation, and persuasion to eliminate​

26.27 unfair discriminatory practices as being contrary to the public policy of the state;​

26.28 (11) develop and conduct programs of formal and informal education designed to​

26.29 eliminate discrimination and intergroup conflict by use of educational techniques and​

26.30 programs the commissioner deems necessary;​
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27.1 (12) make a written report of the activities of the commissioner to the governor each​

27.2 year;​

27.3 (13) accept gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments public and private to help finance​

27.4 the activities of the department;​

27.5 (14) create such local and statewide advisory committees as will in the commissioner's​

27.6 judgment aid in effectuating the purposes of the Department of Human Rights;​

27.7 (15) develop such programs as will aid in determining the compliance throughout the​

27.8 state with the provisions of this chapter, and in the furtherance of such duties, conduct​

27.9 research and study discriminatory practices based upon race, color, creed, religion, national​

27.10 origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial​

27.11 status, sexual orientation, or other factors and develop accurate data on the nature and extent​

27.12 of discrimination and other matters as they may affect housing, employment, public​

27.13 accommodations, schools, and other areas of public life;​

27.14 (16) develop and disseminate technical assistance to persons subject to the provisions​

27.15 of this chapter, and to agencies and officers of governmental and private agencies;​

27.16 (17) provide staff services to such advisory committees as may be created in aid of the​

27.17 functions of the Department of Human Rights;​

27.18 (18) make grants in aid to the extent that appropriations are made available for that​

27.19 purpose in aid of carrying out duties and responsibilities; and​

27.20 (19) cooperate and consult with the commissioner of labor and industry regarding the​

27.21 investigation of violations of, and resolution of complaints regarding section 363A.08,​

27.22 subdivision 7.; and​

27.23 (20) solicit, receive, and compile reports from community organizations, school districts​

27.24 and charter schools, and individuals regarding crimes a community member or community​

27.25 organization believes are motivated by the victim's or another's actual or perceived race,​

27.26 color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,​

27.27 age, national origin, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial status,​

27.28 or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived​

27.29 association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,​

27.30 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national​

27.31 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, and develop data on the nature and extent​

27.32 of crimes motivated by bias and include this information in the report required under clause​
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28.1 (12). The commissioner shall provide information on the department's website about when​

28.2 and how a victim reports criminal conduct to a law enforcement agency.​

28.3 In performing these duties, the commissioner shall give priority to those duties in clauses​

28.4 (8), (9), and (10) and to the duties in section 363A.36.​

28.5 (b) All gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments, public and private, accepted under​

28.6 paragraph (a), clause (13), must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special​

28.7 account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human rights to help​

28.8 finance activities of the department.​

28.9 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.08, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

28.10 Subd. 6. Reasonable accommodation. (a) Except when based on a bona fide occupational​

28.11 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an employer with a number of part-time​

28.12 or full-time employees for each working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the​

28.13 current or preceding calendar year equal to or greater than 25 effective July 1, 1992, and​

28.14 equal to or greater than 15 effective July 1, 1994, an employment agency, or a labor​

28.15 organization, not to make provide a reasonable accommodation to the known disability of​

28.16 a qualified disabled person or job applicant for a job applicant or qualified employee with​

28.17 a disability unless the employer, agency, or organization can demonstrate that the​

28.18 accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the business, agency, or organization.​

28.19 "Reasonable accommodation" means steps which must be taken to accommodate the known​

28.20 physical or mental limitations of a qualified disabled person individual with a disability.​

28.21 To determine the appropriate reasonable accommodation employer, agency, or organization​

28.22 shall initiate an informal, interactive process with the individual with a disability in need​

28.23 of the accommodation. This process should identify the limitations resulting from the​

28.24 disability and any potential reasonable accommodations that could overcome those​

28.25 limitations. "Reasonable accommodation" may include but is not limited to, nor does it​

28.26 necessarily require: (1) making facilities readily accessible to and usable by disabled persons​

28.27 individuals with disabilities; and (2) job restructuring, modified work schedules, reassignment​

28.28 to a vacant position, acquisition or modification of equipment or devices, and the provision​

28.29 of aides on a temporary or periodic basis.​

28.30 (b) In determining whether an accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the​

28.31 operation of a business or organization, factors to be considered include:​

28.32 (1) the overall size of the business or organization with respect to number of employees​

28.33 or members and the number and type of facilities;​
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29.1 (2) the type of the operation, including the composition and structure of the work force,​

29.2 and the number of employees at the location where the employment would occur;​

29.3 (3) the nature and cost of the needed accommodation;​

29.4 (4) the reasonable ability to finance the accommodation at each site of business; and​

29.5 (5) documented good faith efforts to explore less restrictive or less expensive alternatives,​

29.6 including consultation with the disabled person or with knowledgeable disabled persons or​

29.7 organizations.​

29.8 A prospective employer need not pay for an accommodation for a job applicant if it is​

29.9 available from an alternative source without cost to the employer or applicant.​

29.10 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

29.11 read:​

29.12 Subd. 8. Inquiries into pay history prohibited. (a) "Pay history" as used in this​

29.13 subdivision means any prior or current wage, salary, earnings, benefits, or any other​

29.14 compensation about an applicant for employment.​

29.15 (b) An employer, employment agency, or labor organization shall not inquire into,​

29.16 consider, or require disclosure from any source the pay history of an applicant for​

29.17 employment for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​

29.18 compensation for that applicant. There is a rebuttable presumption that use of pay history​

29.19 received on an applicant for employment to determine the future wages, salary, earnings,​

29.20 benefits, or other compensation for that applicant is an unfair discriminatory employment​

29.21 practice under subdivisions 1 to 3. The general prohibition against inquiring into the pay​

29.22 history of an applicant does not apply if the job applicant's pay history is a matter of public​

29.23 record under federal or state law, unless the employer, employment agency, or labor​

29.24 organization sought access to those public records with the intent of obtaining pay history​

29.25 of the applicant for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​

29.26 compensation for that applicant.​

29.27 (c) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent an applicant for employment from voluntarily​

29.28 and without prompting disclosing pay history for the purposes of negotiating wages, salary,​

29.29 benefits, or other compensation. If an applicant for employment voluntarily and without​

29.30 prompting discloses pay history to a prospective employer, employment agency, or labor​

29.31 organization, nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit that employer, employment agency,​

29.32 or labor organization from considering or acting on that voluntarily disclosed salary history​
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30.1 information to support a wage or salary higher than initially offered by the employer,​

30.2 employment agency, or labor organization.​

30.3 (d) Nothing in this subdivision limits, prohibits, or prevents a person from bringing a​

30.4 charge, grievance, or any other cause of action alleging wage discrimination because of​

30.5 race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with​

30.6 regard to public assistance, familial status, membership or activity in a local commission,​

30.7 disability, sexual orientation, or age, as otherwise provided in this chapter.​

30.8 (e) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prevent an employer from:​

30.9 (1) providing information about the wages, benefits, compensation, or salary offered in​

30.10 relation to a position; or​

30.11 (2) inquiring about or otherwise engaging in discussions with an applicant about the​

30.12 applicant's expectations or requests with respect to wages, salary, benefits, or other​

30.13 compensation.​

30.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022. For employment covered​

30.15 by collective bargaining agreements, this section is not effective until the date of​

30.16 implementation of the applicable collective bargaining agreement that is after January 1,​

30.17 2022.​

30.18 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

30.19 Subdivision 1. Real property interest; action by owner, lessee, and others. It is an​

30.20 unfair discriminatory practice for an owner, lessee, sublessee, assignee, or managing agent​

30.21 of, or other person having the right to sell, rent or lease any real property, or any agent of​

30.22 any of these:​

30.23 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or otherwise deny to or withhold from any person or​

30.24 group of persons any real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

30.25 sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, participation in or requirements​

30.26 of a public assistance program, disability, sexual orientation, or familial status; or​

30.27 (2) to discriminate against any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed,​

30.28 religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​

30.29 participation in or requirements of a public assistance program, disability, sexual orientation,​

30.30 or familial status in the terms, conditions or privileges of the sale, rental or lease of any real​

30.31 property or in the furnishing of facilities or services in connection therewith, except that​

30.32 nothing in this clause shall be construed to prohibit the adoption of reasonable rules intended​
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31.1 to protect the safety of minors in their use of the real property or any facilities or services​

31.2 furnished in connection therewith; or​

31.3 (3) in any transaction involving real property, to print, circulate or post or cause to be​

31.4 printed, circulated, or posted any advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for​

31.5 the purchase, rental or lease of real property, or make any record or inquiry in connection​

31.6 with the prospective purchase, rental, or lease of real property which expresses, directly or​

31.7 indirectly, any limitation, specification, or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion,​

31.8 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, participation in​

31.9 or requirements of a public assistance program, disability, sexual orientation, or familial​

31.10 status, or any intent to make any such limitation, specification, or discrimination except that​

31.11 nothing in this clause shall be construed to prohibit the advertisement of a dwelling unit as​

31.12 available to adults-only if the person placing the advertisement reasonably believes that the​

31.13 provisions of this section prohibiting discrimination because of familial status do not apply​

31.14 to the dwelling unit.​

31.15 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

31.16 Subd. 2. Real property interest; action by brokers, agents, and others. (a) It is an​

31.17 unfair discriminatory practice for a real estate broker, real estate salesperson, or employee,​

31.18 or agent thereof:​

31.19 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or to offer for sale, rental, or lease any real property​

31.20 to any person or group of persons or to negotiate for the sale, rental, or lease of any real​

31.21 property to any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed, religion, national​

31.22 origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, participation in or​

31.23 requirements of a public assistance program, disability, sexual orientation, or familial status​

31.24 or represent that real property is not available for inspection, sale, rental, or lease when in​

31.25 fact it is so available, or otherwise deny or withhold any real property or any facilities of​

31.26 real property to or from any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed, religion,​

31.27 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, participation in​

31.28 or requirements of a public assistance program, disability, sexual orientation, or familial​

31.29 status; or​

31.30 (2) to discriminate against any person because of race, color, creed, religion, national​

31.31 origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, participation in or​

31.32 requirements of a public assistance program, disability, sexual orientation, or familial status​

31.33 in the terms, conditions or privileges of the sale, rental or lease of real property or in the​

31.34 furnishing of facilities or services in connection therewith; or​
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32.1 (3) to print, circulate, or post or cause to be printed, circulated, or posted any​

32.2 advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for the purchase, rental, or lease of​

32.3 any real property or make any record or inquiry in connection with the prospective purchase,​

32.4 rental or lease of any real property, which expresses directly or indirectly, any limitation,​

32.5 specification or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​

32.6 status, status with regard to public assistance, participation in or requirements of a public​

32.7 assistance program, disability, sexual orientation, or familial status or any intent to make​

32.8 any such limitation, specification, or discrimination except that nothing in this clause shall​

32.9 be construed to prohibit the advertisement of a dwelling unit as available to adults-only if​

32.10 the person placing the advertisement reasonably believes that the provisions of this section​

32.11 prohibiting discrimination because of familial status do not apply to the dwelling unit.​

32.12 (b) It is an unfair discriminatory practice for a landlord to furnish credit, services, or​

32.13 rental accommodations that discriminate against any individual who is a recipient of federal,​

32.14 state, or local public assistance, including medical assistance, or who is a tenant receiving​

32.15 federal, state, or local housing subsidies, including rental assistance or rental supplements,​

32.16 because the individual is such a recipient, or because of any requirement of such public​

32.17 assistance, rental assistance, or housing subsidy program.​

32.18 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

32.19 read:​

32.20 Subd. 2a. Definition; public assistance program. For the purposes of this section,​

32.21 "public assistance program" means federal, state, or local assistance, including but not​

32.22 limited to rental assistance, rent supplements, and housing choice vouchers.​

32.23 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

32.24 Subdivision 1. Actions. Any person aggrieved by a violation of this chapter may bring​

32.25 a civil action as provided in section 363A.33, subdivision 1, or may file a verified charge​

32.26 with the commissioner or the commissioner's designated agent. A charge filed with the​

32.27 commissioner must be in writing by hand, or electronically with an unsworn declaration​

32.28 under penalty of perjury, on a form provided by the commissioner and signed by the charging​

32.29 party. The charge must state the name of the person alleged to have committed an unfair​

32.30 discriminatory practice and set out a summary of the details of the practice complained of.​

32.31 The commissioner may require a charging party to provide the address of the person alleged​

32.32 to have committed the unfair discriminatory practice, names of witnesses, documents, and​

32.33 any other information necessary to process the charge. The commissioner may dismiss a​
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33.1 charge when the charging party fails to provide required information. The commissioner​

33.2 within ten days of the filing shall serve a copy of the charge and a form for use in responding​

33.3 to the charge upon the respondent personally, electronically with the receiving party's​

33.4 consent, or by mail. The respondent shall file with the department a written response setting​

33.5 out a summary of the details of the respondent's position relative to the charge within 20​

33.6 30 days of receipt of the charge. If the respondent fails to respond with a written summary​

33.7 of the details of the respondent's position within 30 days after service of the charge, and​

33.8 service was consistent with rule 4 of the Rules of Civil Procedure, the commissioner, on​

33.9 behalf of the complaining party, may bring an action for default in district court pursuant​

33.10 to rule 55.01 of the Rules of Civil Procedure.​

33.11 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.28, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

33.12 Subd. 6. Charge processing. (a) Consistent with paragraph (h), the commissioner shall​

33.13 promptly inquire into the truth of the allegations of the charge. The commissioner shall​

33.14 make an immediate inquiry when a charge alleges actual or threatened physical violence.​

33.15 The commissioner shall also make an immediate inquiry when it appears that a charge is​

33.16 frivolous or without merit and shall dismiss those charges.​

33.17 (b) The commissioner shall give priority to investigating and processing those charges,​

33.18 in the order below, which the commissioner determines have the following characteristics:​

33.19 (1) there is evidence of irreparable harm if immediate action is not taken;​

33.20 (2) there is evidence that the respondent has intentionally engaged in a reprisal;​

33.21 (3) a significant number of recent charges have been filed against the respondent;​

33.22 (4) the respondent is a government entity;​

33.23 (5) there is potential for broadly promoting the policies of this chapter; or​

33.24 (6) the charge is supported by substantial and credible documentation, witnesses, or​

33.25 other evidence.​

33.26 The commissioner shall inform charging parties of these priorities and shall tell each​

33.27 party if their charge is a priority case or not.​

33.28 On other charges the commissioner shall make a determination within 12 months after​

33.29 the charge was filed as to whether or not there is probable cause to credit the allegation of​

33.30 unfair discriminatory practices.​

33.31 (c) If the commissioner determines after investigation that no probable cause exists to​

33.32 credit the allegations of the unfair discriminatory practice, the commissioner shall, within​
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34.1 ten days of the determination, serve upon the charging party and respondent written notice​

34.2 of the determination. Within ten 30 days after receipt of notice, the charging party may​

34.3 request in writing, on forms prepared by the department, that the commissioner reconsider​

34.4 the determination. The request shall contain a brief statement of the reasons for and new​

34.5 evidence in support of the request for reconsideration. At the time of submission of the​

34.6 request to the commissioner, the charging party shall deliver or mail to the respondent a​

34.7 copy of the request for reconsideration. The commissioner shall reaffirm, reverse, or vacate​

34.8 and remand for further consideration the determination of no probable cause within 20 days​

34.9 after receipt of the request for reconsideration, and shall within ten days notify in writing​

34.10 the charging party and respondent of the decision to reaffirm, reverse, or vacate and remand​

34.11 for further consideration.​

34.12 A decision by the commissioner that no probable cause exists to credit the allegations​

34.13 of an unfair discriminatory practice shall not be appealed to the court of appeals pursuant​

34.14 to section 363A.36 363A.34 or sections 14.63 to 14.68.​

34.15 (d) If the commissioner determines after investigation that probable cause exists to credit​

34.16 the allegations of unfair discriminatory practices, the commissioner shall serve on the​

34.17 respondent and the respondent's attorney if the respondent is represented by counsel, by​

34.18 first class mail, or electronically with the receiving party's consent, a notice setting forth a​

34.19 short plain written statement of the alleged facts which support the finding of probable cause​

34.20 and an enumeration of the provisions of law allegedly violated. Within 30 days after receipt​

34.21 of notice, the respondent may request in writing, on forms prepared by the department, that​

34.22 the commissioner reconsider the determination. If the commissioner determines that attempts​

34.23 to eliminate the alleged unfair practices through conciliation pursuant to subdivision 8 have​

34.24 been or would be unsuccessful or unproductive, the commissioner shall may issue a complaint​

34.25 and serve on the respondent, by registered or certified mail, or electronically with the​

34.26 receiving party's consent, a written notice of hearing together with a copy of the complaint,​

34.27 requiring the respondent to answer the allegations of the complaint at a hearing before an​

34.28 administrative law judge at a time and place specified in the notice, not less than ten days​

34.29 after service of said complaint. A copy of the notice shall be furnished to the charging party​

34.30 and the attorney general.​

34.31 (e) If, at any time after the filing of a charge, the commissioner has reason to believe​

34.32 that a respondent has engaged in any unfair discriminatory practice, the commissioner may​

34.33 file a petition in the district court in a county in which the subject of the complaint occurs,​

34.34 or in a county in which a respondent resides or transacts business, seeking appropriate​

34.35 temporary relief against the respondent, pending final determination of proceedings under​
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35.1 this chapter, including an order or decree restraining the respondent from doing or procuring​

35.2 an act tending to render ineffectual an order the commissioner may enter with respect to​

35.3 the complaint. The court shall have power to grant temporary relief or a restraining order​

35.4 as it deems just and proper, but no relief or order extending beyond ten days shall be granted​

35.5 except by consent of the respondent or after hearing upon notice to the respondent and a​

35.6 finding by the court that there is reasonable cause to believe that the respondent has engaged​

35.7 in a discriminatory practice. Except as modified by subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06,​

35.8 subdivision 4, the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply to an application, and​

35.9 the district court shall have authority to grant or deny the relief sought on conditions as it​

35.10 deems just and equitable. All hearings under subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06,​

35.11 subdivision 4, shall be given precedence as nearly as practicable over all other pending civil​

35.12 actions.​

35.13 (f) If a lessor, after engaging in a discriminatory practice defined in section 363A.09,​

35.14 subdivision 1, clause (1), leases or rents a dwelling unit to a person who has no knowledge​

35.15 of the practice or of the existence of a charge with respect to the practice, the lessor shall​

35.16 be liable for actual damages sustained by a person by reason of a final order as provided in​

35.17 subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, subdivision 4, requiring the person to be evicted​

35.18 from the dwelling unit.​

35.19 (g) In any complaint issued under subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, subdivision​

35.20 4, the commissioner may seek relief for a class of individuals affected by an unfair​

35.21 discriminatory practice occurring on or after a date one year prior to the filing of the charge​

35.22 from which the complaint originates.​

35.23 (h) The commissioner may adopt policies to determine which charges are processed and​

35.24 the order in which charges are processed based on their particular social or legal significance,​

35.25 administrative convenience, difficulty of resolution, or other standard consistent with the​

35.26 provisions of this chapter.​

35.27 (i) The chief administrative law judge shall adopt policies to provide sanctions for​

35.28 intentional and frivolous delay caused by any charging party or respondent in an investigation,​

35.29 hearing, or any other aspect of proceedings before the department under this chapter.​

35.30 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

35.31 Subd. 2. Rescission of waiver. A waiver or release of rights or remedies secured by this​

35.32 chapter which purports to apply to claims arising out of acts or practices prior to, or​

35.33 concurrent with, the execution of the waiver or release may be rescinded within 15 calendar​

35.34 days of its execution, except that a waiver or release given in settlement of a claim filed​
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36.1 with the department or with another administrative agency or judicial body is valid and final​

36.2 upon execution. A waiving or releasing party shall be informed in writing of the right to​

36.3 rescind the waiver or release. To be effective, the rescission must be in writing and delivered​

36.4 to the waived or released party either by hand, electronically with the receiving party's​

36.5 consent, or by mail within the 15-day period. If delivered by mail, the rescission must be:​

36.6 (1) postmarked within the 15-day period;​

36.7 (2) properly addressed to the waived or released party; and​

36.8 (3) sent by certified mail return receipt requested.​

36.9 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.33, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

36.10 Subd. 3. Summons and complaints in a civil action. A charging party bringing a civil​

36.11 action shall mail by registered or certified mail, or electronically with the receiving party's​

36.12 consent, a copy of the summons and complaint to the commissioner, and upon their receipt​

36.13 the commissioner shall terminate all proceedings in the department relating to the charge.​

36.14 No charge shall be filed or reinstituted with the commissioner after a civil action relating​

36.15 to the same unfair discriminatory practice has been brought unless the civil action has been​

36.16 dismissed without prejudice.​

36.17 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

36.18 Subdivision 1. Scope of application. (a) For all contracts for goods and services in​

36.19 excess of $100,000, no department or agency of the state shall accept any bid or proposal​

36.20 for a contract or agreement from any business having more than 40 full-time employees​

36.21 within this state on a single working day during the previous 12 months, unless the​

36.22 commissioner is in receipt of the business' affirmative action plan for the employment of​

36.23 minority persons, women, and qualified disabled individuals. No department or agency of​

36.24 the state shall execute any such contract or agreement until the affirmative action plan has​

36.25 been approved by the commissioner. Receipt of a certificate of compliance issued by the​

36.26 commissioner shall signify that a firm or business has an affirmative action plan that has​

36.27 been approved by the commissioner. A certificate shall be valid for a period of four years.​

36.28 No department, agency of the state, the Metropolitan Council, or agency subject to section​

36.29 473.143, subdivision 1, shall execute a contract for goods or services in excess of $100,000​

36.30 with a business that has 40 or more full-time employees in this state or a state where the​

36.31 business has its primary place of business on a single day during the prior 12 months, unless​

36.32 the business has a workforce certificate from the commissioner of human rights or has​

36.33 certified in writing that it is exempt. Determinations of exempt status shall be made by the​
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37.1 commissioner of human rights. A certificate is valid for four years. A municipality as defined​

37.2 in section 466.01, subdivision 1, that receives state money for any reason is encouraged to​

37.3 prepare and implement an affirmative action plan for the employment of minority persons,​

37.4 people with disabilities, people of color, and women, and the qualified disabled and to​

37.5 submit the plan to the commissioner.​

37.6 (b) This paragraph applies to a contract for goods or services in excess of $100,000 to​

37.7 be entered into between a department or agency of the state and a business that is not subject​

37.8 to paragraph (a), but that has more than 40 full-time employees on a single working day​

37.9 during the previous 12 months in the state where the business has its primary place of​

37.10 business. A department or agency of the state may not execute a contract or agreement with​

37.11 a business covered by this paragraph unless the business has a certificate of compliance​

37.12 issued by the commissioner under paragraph (a) or the business certifies that it is in​

37.13 compliance with federal affirmative action requirements.​

37.14 (c) (b) This section does not apply to contracts entered into by the State Board of​

37.15 Investment for investment options under section 356.645.​

37.16 (d) (c) The commissioner shall issue a certificate of compliance or notice of denial within​

37.17 15 days of the application submitted by the business or firm.​

37.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2021, and applies to contracts​

37.19 entered into on or after that date.​

37.20 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

37.21 Subd. 2. Filing fee; account; appropriation. The commissioner shall collect a $150​

37.22 $250 fee for each certificate of compliance issued by the commissioner or the commissioner's​

37.23 designated agent. The proceeds of the fee must be deposited in a human rights fee special​

37.24 revenue account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner to fund the cost​

37.25 of issuing certificates and investigating grievances.​

37.26 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

37.27 Subd. 3. Revocation of certificate Violations; remedies. Certificates of compliance​

37.28 may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner if a holder of a certificate has not made​

37.29 a good faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan that has been approved by the​

37.30 commissioner. If a contractor does not effectively implement an affirmative action plan​

37.31 approved by the commissioner pursuant to subdivision 1, or fails to make a good faith effort​
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38.1 to do so, the commissioner may refuse to approve subsequent plans submitted by that firm​

38.2 or business. The commissioner may impose fines or actions as follows:​

38.3 (1) issue fines up to $5,000 per violation; and​

38.4 (2) suspend or revoke a certificate of compliance until the contractor has paid all​

38.5 outstanding fines and otherwise complies with this section.​

38.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, for all current and future​

38.7 certificate holders.​

38.8 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

38.9 Subd. 4. Revocation of contract. A contract awarded by a department or agency of the​

38.10 state, the Metropolitan Council, or an agency subject to section 473.143, subdivision 1, may​

38.11 be terminated or abridged by the department or agency awarding entity because of suspension​

38.12 or revocation of a certificate based upon a contractor's failure to implement or make a good​

38.13 faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan approved by the commissioner under​

38.14 this section. If a contract is awarded to a person who does not have a contract compliance​

38.15 certificate required under subdivision 1, the commissioner may void the contract on behalf​

38.16 of the state.​

38.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2021, and applies to contracts​

38.18 entered into on or after that date.​

38.19 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, is amended by adding a subdivision​

38.20 to read:​

38.21 Subd. 6. Access to data. Data submitted to the commissioner related to a certificate of​

38.22 compliance are private data on individuals or nonpublic data with respect to persons other​

38.23 than department employees. The commissioner's decision to issue, not issue, revoke, or​

38.24 suspend or otherwise penalize a certificate holder of a certificate of compliance is public​

38.25 data. Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business seeking a certificate​

38.26 of compliance are public data. The commissioner may disclose data classified as private or​

38.27 nonpublic under this subdivision to other state agencies, statewide systems, and political​

38.28 subdivisions for the purposes of achieving compliance with this section.​

38.29 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

38.30 Subd. 2. Application. (a) A business shall apply for an equal pay certificate by paying​

38.31 a $150 $250 filing fee and submitting an equal pay compliance statement to the​
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39.1 commissioner. The proceeds from the fees collected under this subdivision shall be deposited​

39.2 in an equal pay certificate special revenue account. Money in the account is appropriated​

39.3 to the commissioner for the purposes of this section. The commissioner shall issue an equal​

39.4 pay certificate of compliance to a business that submits to the commissioner a statement​

39.5 signed by the chairperson of the board or chief executive officer of the business:​

39.6 (1) that the business is in compliance with Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,​

39.7 Equal Pay Act of 1963, Minnesota Human Rights Act, and Minnesota Equal Pay for Equal​

39.8 Work Law;​

39.9 (2) that the average compensation for its female employees is not consistently below​

39.10 the average compensation for its male employees within each of the major job categories​

39.11 in the EEO-1 employee information report for which an employee is expected to perform​

39.12 work under the contract, taking into account factors such as length of service, requirements​

39.13 of specific jobs, experience, skill, effort, responsibility, working conditions of the job, or​

39.14 other mitigating factors;​

39.15 (3) that the business does not restrict employees of one sex to certain job classifications​

39.16 and makes retention and promotion decisions without regard to sex;​

39.17 (4) that wage and benefit disparities are corrected when identified to ensure compliance​

39.18 with the laws cited in clause (1) and with clause (2); and​

39.19 (5) how often wages and benefits are evaluated to ensure compliance with the laws cited​

39.20 in clause (1) and with clause (2).​

39.21 (b) The equal pay compliance statement shall also indicate whether the business, in​

39.22 setting compensation and benefits, utilizes:​

39.23 (1) a market pricing approach;​

39.24 (2) state prevailing wage or union contract requirements;​

39.25 (3) a performance pay system;​

39.26 (4) an internal analysis; or​

39.27 (5) an alternative approach to determine what level of wages and benefits to pay its​

39.28 employees. If the business uses an alternative approach, the business must provide a​

39.29 description of its approach.​

39.30 (c) Receipt of the equal pay compliance statement by the commissioner does not establish​

39.31 compliance with the laws set forth in paragraph (a), clause (1).​
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40.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

40.2 Subd. 4. Revocation of certificate Violations; remedies. An equal pay certificate for​

40.3 a business may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner when the business fails to​

40.4 make a good-faith effort to comply with the laws identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a),​

40.5 clause (1), fails to make a good-faith effort to comply with this section, or has multiple​

40.6 violations of this section or the laws identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (1).​

40.7 The commissioner may also issue a fine due to lack of compliance with this section of up​

40.8 to $5,000 per violation. The commissioner may suspend or revoke an equal pay certificate​

40.9 until the business has paid all outstanding fines and otherwise complies with this section.​

40.10 Prior to issuing a fine or suspending or revoking a certificate, the commissioner must first​

40.11 have sought to conciliate with the business regarding wages and benefits due to employees.​

40.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, for all current and future​

40.13 certificate holders.​

40.14 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

40.15 Subd. 9. Access to data. Data submitted to the commissioner related to equal pay​

40.16 certificates are private data on individuals or nonpublic data with respect to persons other​

40.17 than department employees. The commissioner's decision to issue, not issue, revoke, or​

40.18 suspend or otherwise penalize a certificate holder of an equal pay certificate is public data.​

40.19 Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business seeking an equal pay​

40.20 certificate are public data. The commissioner may disclose data classified as private or​

40.21 nonpublic under this subdivision to other state agencies, statewide systems, and political​

40.22 subdivisions for the purposes of achieving compliance with this section.​

40.23 Sec. 22. [363A.50] NONDISCRIMINATION IN ACCESS TO TRANSPLANTS.​

40.24 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

40.25 the meanings given unless the context clearly requires otherwise.​

40.26 (b) "Anatomical gift" has the meaning given in section 525A.02, subdivision 4.​

40.27 (c) "Auxiliary aids and services" include, but are not limited to:​

40.28 (1) qualified interpreters or other effective methods of making aurally delivered materials​

40.29 available to individuals with hearing impairments;​

40.30 (2) qualified readers, taped texts, texts in accessible electronic format, or other effective​

40.31 methods of making visually delivered materials available to individuals with visual​

40.32 impairments;​
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41.1 (3) the provision of information in a format that is accessible for individuals with​

41.2 cognitive, neurological, developmental, intellectual, or physical disabilities;​

41.3 (4) the provision of supported decision-making services; and​

41.4 (5) the acquisition or modification of equipment or devices.​

41.5 (d) "Covered entity" means:​

41.6 (1) any licensed provider of health care services, including licensed health care​

41.7 practitioners, hospitals, nursing facilities, laboratories, intermediate care facilities, psychiatric​

41.8 residential treatment facilities, institutions for individuals with intellectual or developmental​

41.9 disabilities, and prison health centers; or​

41.10 (2) any entity responsible for matching anatomical gift donors to potential recipients.​

41.11 (e) "Disability" has the meaning given in section 363A.03, subdivision 12.​

41.12 (f) "Organ transplant" means the transplantation or infusion of a part of a human body​

41.13 into the body of another for the purpose of treating or curing a medical condition.​

41.14 (g) "Qualified individual" means an individual who, with or without available support​

41.15 networks, the provision of auxiliary aids and services, or reasonable modifications to policies​

41.16 or practices, meets the essential eligibility requirements for the receipt of an anatomical​

41.17 gift.​

41.18 (h) "Reasonable modifications" include, but are not limited to:​

41.19 (1) communication with individuals responsible for supporting an individual with​

41.20 postsurgical and post-transplantation care, including medication; and​

41.21 (2) consideration of support networks available to the individual, including family,​

41.22 friends, and home and community-based services, including home and community-based​

41.23 services funded through Medicaid, Medicare, another health plan in which the individual​

41.24 is enrolled, or any program or source of funding available to the individual, in determining​

41.25 whether the individual is able to comply with post-transplant medical requirements.​

41.26 (i) "Supported decision making" has the meaning given in section 524.5-102, subdivision​

41.27 16a.​

41.28 Subd. 2. Prohibition of discrimination. (a) A covered entity may not, on the basis of​

41.29 a qualified individual's mental or physical disability:​

41.30 (1) deem an individual ineligible to receive an anatomical gift or organ transplant;​
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42.1 (2) deny medical or related organ transplantation services, including evaluation, surgery,​

42.2 counseling, and postoperative treatment and care;​

42.3 (3) refuse to refer the individual to a transplant center or other related specialist for the​

42.4 purpose of evaluation or receipt of an anatomical gift or organ transplant;​

42.5 (4) refuse to place an individual on an organ transplant waiting list or place the individual​

42.6 at a lower-priority position on the list than the position at which the individual would have​

42.7 been placed if not for the individual's disability; or​

42.8 (5) decline insurance coverage for any procedure associated with the receipt of the​

42.9 anatomical gift or organ transplant, including post-transplantation and postinfusion care.​

42.10 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a covered entity may take an individual's disability​

42.11 into account when making treatment or coverage recommendations or decisions, solely to​

42.12 the extent that the physical or mental disability has been found by a physician, following​

42.13 an individualized evaluation of the potential recipient, to be medically significant to the​

42.14 provision of the anatomical gift or organ transplant. The provisions of this section may not​

42.15 be deemed to require referrals or recommendations for, or the performance of, organ​

42.16 transplants that are not medically appropriate given the individual's overall health condition.​

42.17 (c) If an individual has the necessary support system to assist the individual in complying​

42.18 with post-transplant medical requirements, an individual's inability to independently comply​

42.19 with those requirements may not be deemed to be medically significant for the purposes of​

42.20 paragraph (b).​

42.21 (d) A covered entity must make reasonable modifications to policies, practices, or​

42.22 procedures, when such modifications are necessary to make services such as​

42.23 transplantation-related counseling, information, coverage, or treatment available to qualified​

42.24 individuals with disabilities, unless the entity can demonstrate that making such modifications​

42.25 would fundamentally alter the nature of such services.​

42.26 (e) A covered entity must take such steps as may be necessary to ensure that no qualified​

42.27 individual with a disability is denied services such as transplantation-related counseling,​

42.28 information, coverage, or treatment because of the absence of auxiliary aids and services,​

42.29 unless the entity can demonstrate that taking such steps would fundamentally alter the nature​

42.30 of the services being offered or result in an undue burden. A covered entity is not required​

42.31 to provide supported decision-making services.​
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43.1 (f) A covered entity must otherwise comply with the requirements of Titles II and III of​

43.2 the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Americans with Disabilities Act​

43.3 Amendments Act of 2008, and the Minnesota Human Rights Act.​

43.4 (g) The provisions of this section apply to each part of the organ transplant process.​

43.5 Subd. 3. Remedies. In addition to all other remedies available under this chapter, any​

43.6 individual who has been subjected to discrimination in violation of this section may initiate​

43.7 a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin violations of this section.​

43.8 ARTICLE 5​

43.9 CIVIL LAW​

43.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.17, is amended to read:​

43.11 357.17 NOTARIES PUBLIC.​

43.12 (a) The maximum fees to be charged and collected by a notary public shall be as follows:​

43.13 (1) for protest of nonpayment of note or bill of exchange or of nonacceptance of such​

43.14 bill; where protest is legally necessary, and copy thereof, $5;​

43.15 (2) for every other protest and copy, $5;​

43.16 (3) for making and serving every notice of nonpayment of note or nonacceptance of bill​

43.17 and copy thereof, $5;​

43.18 (4) for any affidavit or paper for which provision is not made herein, $5 per folio, and​

43.19 $1 per folio for copies;​

43.20 (5) for each oath administered, $5;​

43.21 (6) for acknowledgments of deeds and for other services authorized by law, the legal​

43.22 fees allowed other officers for like services;​

43.23 (7) for recording each instrument required by law to be recorded by the notary, $5 per​

43.24 folio.​

43.25 (b) A notary public may charge a fee for performing a marriage in excess of the fees in​

43.26 paragraph (a) if the notary is commissioned pursuant to chapter 359.​
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44.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 359.04, is amended to read:​

44.2 359.04 POWERS.​

44.3 Every notary public so appointed, commissioned, and qualified shall have power​

44.4 throughout this state to administer all oaths required or authorized to be administered in​

44.5 this state; to take and certify all depositions to be used in any of the courts of this state; to​

44.6 take and certify all acknowledgments of deeds, mortgages, liens, powers of attorney, and​

44.7 other instruments in writing or electronic records; to receive, make out, and record notarial​

44.8 protests; to perform civil marriages consistent with this chapter and chapter 517; and to​

44.9 perform online remote notarial acts in compliance with the requirements of sections 358.645​

44.10 and 358.646.​

44.11 Sec. 3. [359.115] CIVIL MARRIAGE OFFICIANT.​

44.12 A notary public shall have the power to solemnize civil marriages throughout the state​

44.13 if the notary public has filed a copy of the notary public's notary commission with the local​

44.14 registrar of a county in this state. When a local registrar records a commission for a notary​

44.15 public, the local registrar shall provide a certificate of filing to the notary whose commission​

44.16 is recorded. A notary public shall endorse and record the county where the notary public's​

44.17 commission is recorded upon each certificate of civil marriage granted by the notary.​

44.18 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 517.04, is amended to read:​

44.19 517.04 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES.​

44.20 Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained​

44.21 the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record,​

44.22 a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of​

44.23 the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or​

44.24 is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, a​

44.25 notary commissioned pursuant to chapter 359, the residential school superintendent of the​

44.26 Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a​

44.27 licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in​

44.28 section 517.18. For purposes of this section, a court of record includes the Office of​

44.29 Administrative Hearings under section 14.48.​

44.30 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

44.31 Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall​

44.32 examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the​
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45.1 contemplated civil marriage. Examination upon oath of the parties under this section may​

45.2 include contemporaneous video or audio transmission or receipt of a verified statement​

45.3 signed by both parties attesting to the legality of the marriage. The local registrar may accept​

45.4 civil marriage license applications, signed by both parties, by mail, facsimile, or electronic​

45.5 filing. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar. If one party is unable to​

45.6 appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent applicant's information. The​

45.7 local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage application to the party who is​

45.8 unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the appearing party's information in a​

45.9 notarized statement. The verification statement must be accompanied by a copy of proof of​

45.10 age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be released until the verification​

45.11 statement and proof of age has been received by the local registrar. If the local registrar is​

45.12 satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including the restriction contained in section​

45.13 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license, containing the full names of the parties​

45.14 before and after the civil marriage, and county and state of residence, with the county seal​

45.15 attached, and make a record of the date of issuance. The license shall be valid for a period​

45.16 of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b), the local registrar shall collect from the​

45.17 applicant a fee of $115 for administering the oath, issuing, recording, and filing all papers​

45.18 required, and preparing and transmitting to the state registrar of vital records the reports of​

45.19 civil marriage required by this section. If the license should not be used within the period​

45.20 of six months due to illness or other extenuating circumstances, it may be surrendered to​

45.21 the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case a new license shall issue upon request​

45.22 of the parties of the original license without fee. A local registrar who knowingly issues or​

45.23 signs a civil marriage license in any manner other than as provided in this section shall pay​

45.24 to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed $1,000.​

45.25 (b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of​

45.26 premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must​

45.27 submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated,​

45.28 and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital​

45.29 education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must​

45.30 be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized​

45.31 to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage​

45.32 and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital​

45.33 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.​

45.34 (c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph​

45.35 (b) must be in the following form:​
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46.1 "I, .......................... (name of educator), confirm that .......................... (names of both​

46.2 parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital​

46.3 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed​

46.4 or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota​

46.5 Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under​

46.6 Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."​

46.7 The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names​

46.8 of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding​

46.9 section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time​

46.10 it may be destroyed.​

46.11 (d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar​

46.12 shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the​

46.13 local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the​

46.14 conviction:​

46.15 (1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name​

46.16 change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no​

46.17 objection has been filed under section 259.13; or​

46.18 (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil​

46.19 marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name​

46.20 change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request.​

46.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2021.​

46.22 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 524.2-503, is amended to read:​

46.23 524.2-503 HARMLESS ERROR.​

46.24 (a) If a document or writing added upon a document was not executed in compliance​

46.25 with section 524.2-502, the document or writing is treated as if it had been executed in​

46.26 compliance with section 524.2-502 if the proponent of the document or writing establishes​

46.27 by clear and convincing evidence that the decedent intended the document or writing to​

46.28 constitute:​

46.29 (1) the decedent's will;​

46.30 (2) a partial or complete revocation of the will;​

46.31 (3) an addition to or an alteration of the will; or​
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47.1 (4) a partial or complete revival of the decedent's formerly revoked will or of a formerly​

47.2 revoked portion of the will.​

47.3 (b) This section applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020,​

47.4 but before February 15, 2021.​

47.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 13, 2020, and​

47.6 applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020.​

47.7 Sec. 7. Laws 2020, chapter 118, section 4, is amended to read:​

47.8 Sec. 4. FILING OF MORTGAGE OR DEED OF TRUST THROUGH 2020; PUBLIC​

47.9 UTILITY.​

47.10 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 507.327, for the public utility subject to​

47.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 116C.7791, the filing of the mortgage or deed of trust executed​

47.12 between May 1, 2020, and December 31, 2020 June 30, 2022, filed in the Office of the​

47.13 Secretary of State under Minnesota Statutes, section 336.02 336B.02, along with, or as part​

47.14 of, the financing statement covering the fixtures, has the same effect, and is notice of the​

47.15 rights and interests of the mortgagee or trustee in easements, other less than fee simple​

47.16 interests in real estate, and fee simple interests in real estate of the public utility to the same​

47.17 extent, as if the mortgage or deed of trust were duly recorded in the office of the county​

47.18 recorder or duly registered in the office of the registrar of titles of the counties in which the​

47.19 real estate is situated. The effectiveness of the filing terminates at the same time as provided​

47.20 in Minnesota Statutes, section 336B.02, subdivision 3, for the termination of the effectiveness​

47.21 of fixture filing. Any filing made in accordance with this section shall also be made with​

47.22 the office of the county recorder, or duly registered in the office of the registrar of titles, of​

47.23 the counties in which the real estate is situated.​

47.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from December 30, 2020.​

47.25 ARTICLE 6​

47.26 GOVERNMENT DATA PRACTICES​

47.27 Section 1. [3.8844] LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON DATA PRACTICES.​

47.28 Subdivision 1. Established. The Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal​

47.29 Data Privacy is created to study issues relating to government data practices and individuals'​

47.30 personal data privacy rights and to review legislation impacting data practices, data security,​
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48.1 and personal data privacy. The commission is a continuation of the commission that was​

48.2 established by Laws 2014, chapter 193, as amended, and which expired June 30, 2019.​

48.3 Subd. 2. Membership. The commission consists of four senators appointed by the senate​

48.4 Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration, and four​

48.5 members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker. Two members from each​

48.6 chamber must be from the majority party in that chamber and two members from each​

48.7 chamber must be from the minority party in that chamber. Each appointing authority must​

48.8 make appointments as soon as possible after the beginning of the regular legislative session​

48.9 in the odd-numbered year. The ranking senator from the majority party appointed to the​

48.10 commission must convene the first meeting of a biennium by February 15 in the​

48.11 odd-numbered year. The commission may elect up to four former legislators who have​

48.12 demonstrated an interest in, or have a history of working in, the areas of government data​

48.13 practices and personal data privacy to serve as nonvoting members of the commission. The​

48.14 former legislators must not be registered lobbyists. All commission members shall serve​

48.15 without compensation and without reimbursement for mileage, meals, or other expenses.​

48.16 Subd. 3. Terms; vacancies. Members of the commission serve for terms beginning upon​

48.17 appointment and ending at the beginning of the regular legislative session in the next​

48.18 odd-numbered year. The appropriate appointing authority must fill a vacancy for a seat of​

48.19 a current legislator for the remainder of the unexpired term.​

48.20 Subd. 4. Officers. The commission must elect a chair and may elect other officers as it​

48.21 determines are necessary. The chair alternates between a member of the senate and a member​

48.22 of the house of representatives in January of each odd-numbered year.​

48.23 Subd. 5. Staff. Legislative staff must provide administrative and research assistance to​

48.24 the commission from existing resources. The Legislative Coordinating Commission may,​

48.25 if funding is available, appoint staff to provide research assistance.​

48.26 Subd. 6. Duties. The commission shall:​

48.27 (1) review and provide the legislature with research and analysis of emerging issues​

48.28 relating to government data practices and security and privacy of personal data;​

48.29 (2) review and make recommendations on legislative proposals relating to the Minnesota​

48.30 Government Data Practices Act; and​

48.31 (3) review and make recommendations on legislative proposals impacting personal data​

48.32 privacy rights, data security, and other related issues.​
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49.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Initial​

49.2 members of the commission serve for a term ending in January 2023. A member of the​

49.3 house of representatives shall serve as the first chair of the commission. A member of the​

49.4 senate shall serve as chair of the commission beginning in January 2023.​

49.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.045, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

49.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:​

49.7 (1) "program participant" has the meaning given in section 5B.02, paragraph (g);​

49.8 (2) "location data" means any data the participant specifies that may be used to physically​

49.9 locate a program participant, including but not limited to such as the program participant's​

49.10 residential address, work address, and or school address, and that is collected, received, or​

49.11 maintained by a government entity prior to the date a program participant's certification​

49.12 expires, or the date the entity receives notice that the program participant has withdrawn​

49.13 from the program, whichever is earlier;​

49.14 (3) "identity data" means data that may be used to identify a program participant,​

49.15 including the program participant's name, phone number, e-mail address, address designated​

49.16 under chapter 5B, Social Security number, or driver's license number, and that is collected,​

49.17 received, or maintained by a government entity before the date a program participant's​

49.18 certification expires, or the date the entity receives notice that the program participant has​

49.19 withdrawn from the program, whichever is earlier;​

49.20 (4) "county recorder" means the county official who performs the functions of the county​

49.21 recorder or registrar of titles to record a document as part of the county real estate document​

49.22 recording system, regardless of title or office; and​

49.23 (5) "real property records" means any record of data that is maintained by a county as​

49.24 part of the county real estate document recording system for use by the public, data on​

49.25 assessments, data on real or personal property taxation, and other data on real property.​

49.26 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.045, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

49.27 Subd. 2. Notification of certification. (a) A program participant may submit a notice,​

49.28 in writing, to notify the responsible authority of any government entity other than the county​

49.29 recorder in writing, on a form prescribed by the secretary of state, that the participant is​

49.30 certified in the Safe at Home address confidentiality program pursuant to chapter 5B. The​

49.31 notice must include the program participant's name, names of other program participants​

49.32 in the household, date of birth, address designated under chapter 5B, program participant​
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50.1 signature, signature of the participant's parent or guardian if the participant is a minor, date​

50.2 the program participant's certification in the program expires, and any other information​

50.3 specified by the secretary of state. A program participant may submit a subsequent notice​

50.4 of certification, if the participant's certification is renewed. The contents of the notification​

50.5 of certification are private data on individuals. A notice provided pursuant to this paragraph​

50.6 is a request to protect location data unless the participant requests that specific identity data​

50.7 also be protected.​

50.8 (b) To affect real property records, including but not limited to documents maintained​

50.9 in a public recording system, data on assessments and taxation, and other data on real​

50.10 property, a program participant must submit a real property notice in writing to the county​

50.11 recorder in the county where the property identified in the real property notice is located.​

50.12 To affect real property records maintained by any other government entity, a program​

50.13 participant must submit a real property notice in writing to the other government entity's​

50.14 responsible authority. A real property notice must be on a form prescribed by the secretary​

50.15 of state and must include:​

50.16 (1) the full legal name of the program participant, including middle name;​

50.17 (2) the last four digits of the program participant's Social Security number;​

50.18 (3) the participant's date of birth;​

50.19 (3) (4) the designated address of the program participant as assigned by the secretary of​

50.20 state, including lot number;​

50.21 (4) the date the program participant's certification in the program expires;​

50.22 (5) the legal description and street address, if any, of the real property affected by the​

50.23 notice;​

50.24 (6) the address of the Office of the Secretary of State; and​

50.25 (7) the signature of the program participant.​

50.26 Only one parcel of real property may be included in each notice, but more than one notice​

50.27 may be presented to the county recorder. The county recorder The recipient of the notice​

50.28 may require a program participant to provide additional information necessary to identify​

50.29 the records of the program participant or the real property described in the notice. A program​

50.30 participant must submit a subsequent real property notice for the real property if the​

50.31 participant's certification is renewed legal name changes. The real property notice is private​

50.32 data on individuals.​
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51.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.045, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

51.2 Subd. 3. Classification of identity and location data; amendment of records; sharing​

51.3 and dissemination. (a) Identity and location data on for which a program participant who​

51.4 submits a notice seeks protection under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), that are not otherwise​

51.5 classified by law are private data on individuals. Notwithstanding any provision of law to​

51.6 the contrary, private or confidential location data on a program participant who submits a​

51.7 notice under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), may not be shared with any other government​

51.8 entity or nongovernmental entity except as provided in paragraph (b).​

51.9 (b) Private or confidential location data on a program participant must not be shared or​

51.10 disclosed by a government entity Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary,​

51.11 private or confidential location data on a program participant who submits a notice under​

51.12 subdivision 3, paragraph (a), may not be shared with any other government entity or​

51.13 nongovernmental entity unless:​

51.14 (1) the program participant has expressly consented in writing to sharing or dissemination​

51.15 of the data for the purpose for which the sharing or dissemination will occur;​

51.16 (2) the data are subject to sharing or dissemination pursuant to court order under section​

51.17 13.03, subdivision 6;​

51.18 (3) the data are subject to sharing pursuant to section 5B.07, subdivision 2;​

51.19 (4) the location data related to county of residence are needed to provide public assistance​

51.20 or other government services, or to allocate financial responsibility for the assistance or​

51.21 services;​

51.22 (5) the data are necessary to perform a government entity's health, safety, or welfare​

51.23 functions, including the provision of emergency 911 services, the assessment and​

51.24 investigation of child or vulnerable adult abuse or neglect, or the assessment or inspection​

51.25 of services or locations for compliance with health, safety, or professional standards; or​

51.26 (6) the data are necessary to aid an active law enforcement investigation of the program​

51.27 participant.​

51.28 (c) Data disclosed under paragraph (b), clauses (4) to (6), may be used only for the​

51.29 purposes authorized in this subdivision and may not be further disclosed to any other person​

51.30 or government entity. Government entities receiving or sharing private or confidential data​

51.31 under this subdivision shall establish procedures to protect the data from further disclosure.​

51.32 (d) Real property record data are governed by subdivision 4a.​
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52.1 (e) Notwithstanding sections 15.17 and 138.17, a government entity may amend records​

52.2 to replace a participant's location data with the participant's designated address.​

52.3 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.045, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:​

52.4 Subd. 4a. Real property records. (a) If a program participant submits a notice to a​

52.5 county recorder under subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the county recorder government entity​

52.6 must not disclose the program participant's identity data in conjunction with the property​

52.7 identified in the written notice in the entity's real property records, unless:​

52.8 (1) the program participant has consented to sharing or dissemination of the data for the​

52.9 purpose identified in a writing acknowledged by the program participant;​

52.10 (2) the data are subject to sharing or dissemination pursuant to court order under section​

52.11 13.03, subdivision 6; or​

52.12 (3) the secretary of state authorizes the sharing or dissemination of the data under​

52.13 subdivision 4b for the purpose identified in the authorization.; or​

52.14 (4) the data is shared with a government entity subject to this chapter for the purpose of​

52.15 administering assessment and taxation laws.​

52.16 This subdivision does not prevent the a county recorder from returning original documents​

52.17 to the individuals that submitted the documents for recording. This subdivision does not​

52.18 prevent the public disclosure of the participant's name and address designated under chapter​

52.19 5B in the county reception index if the participant's name and designated address are not​

52.20 disclosed in conjunction with location data. Each county recorder government entity shall​

52.21 establish procedures for recording or filing documents to comply with this subdivision.​

52.22 These procedures may include masking identity or location data and making documents or​

52.23 certificates of title containing the data private and not viewable except as allowed by this​

52.24 paragraph. The procedure must comply with the requirements of chapters 386, 507, 508,​

52.25 and 508A and other laws as appropriate, to the extent these requirements do not conflict​

52.26 with this section. The procedures must provide public notice of the existence of recorded​

52.27 documents and certificates of title that are not publicly viewable and the provisions for​

52.28 viewing them under this subdivision. Notice that a document or certificate is private and​

52.29 viewable only under this subdivision or subdivision 4b is deemed constructive notice of the​

52.30 document or certificate.​

52.31 (b) A real property notice is notice only to the county recorder. A notice that does not​

52.32 conform to the requirements of a real property notice under subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​

52.33 is not effective as a notice to the county recorder. On receipt of a real property notice, the​
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53.1 county recorder government entity shall provide a copy of the notice to the person who​

53.2 maintains the property tax records in that county jurisdiction, to the county's or municipality's​

53.3 responsible authority, and provide a copy to the secretary of state at the address specified​

53.4 by the secretary of state in the notice.​

53.5 (c) Paragraph (a) applies only to the records recorded or filed concurrently with the real​

53.6 property notice specified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and real property records affecting​

53.7 the same real property created or recorded subsequent to the county's government entity's​

53.8 receipt of the real property notice.​

53.9 (d) The prohibition on disclosure in paragraph (a) continues until:​

53.10 (1) the program participant has consented to the termination of the real property notice​

53.11 in a writing acknowledged by the program participant. Notification under this paragraph​

53.12 must be given by the government entity to the secretary of state within 90 days of the​

53.13 termination;​

53.14 (2) the real property notice is terminated pursuant to a court order. Notification under​

53.15 this paragraph must be given by the government entity to the secretary of state within 90​

53.16 days of the termination;​

53.17 (3) the program participant no longer holds a record interest in the real property identified​

53.18 in the real property notice. Notification under this paragraph must be given by the government​

53.19 entity to the secretary of state within 90 days of the termination; or​

53.20 (4) the secretary of state has given written notice to the county recorder government​

53.21 entity who provided the secretary of state with a copy of a participant's real property notice​

53.22 that the program participant's certification has terminated. Notification under this paragraph​

53.23 must be given by the secretary of state within 90 days of the termination.​

53.24 Upon termination of the prohibition of disclosure, the county recorder government entity​

53.25 shall make publicly viewable all documents and certificates of title relative to the participant​

53.26 that were previously partially or wholly private and not viewable.​

53.27 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.32, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

53.28 Subd. 3. Private data; when disclosure is permitted. Except as provided in subdivision​

53.29 5, educational data is private data on individuals and shall not be disclosed except as follows:​

53.30 (a) pursuant to section 13.05;​

53.31 (b) pursuant to a valid court order;​

53.32 (c) pursuant to a statute specifically authorizing access to the private data;​
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54.1 (d) to disclose information in health, including mental health, and safety emergencies​

54.2 pursuant to the provisions of United States Code, title 20, section 1232g(b)(1)(I) and Code​

54.3 of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 99.36;​

54.4 (e) pursuant to the provisions of United States Code, title 20, sections 1232g(b)(1),​

54.5 (b)(4)(A), (b)(4)(B), (b)(1)(B), (b)(3), (b)(6), (b)(7), and (i), and Code of Federal Regulations,​

54.6 title 34, sections 99.31, 99.32, 99.33, 99.34, 99.35, and 99.39;​

54.7 (f) to appropriate health authorities to the extent necessary to administer immunization​

54.8 programs and for bona fide epidemiologic investigations which the commissioner of health​

54.9 determines are necessary to prevent disease or disability to individuals in the public​

54.10 educational agency or institution in which the investigation is being conducted;​

54.11 (g) when disclosure is required for institutions that participate in a program under title​

54.12 IV of the Higher Education Act, United States Code, title 20, section 1092;​

54.13 (h) to the appropriate school district officials to the extent necessary under subdivision​

54.14 6, annually to indicate the extent and content of remedial instruction, including the results​

54.15 of assessment testing and academic performance at a postsecondary institution during the​

54.16 previous academic year by a student who graduated from a Minnesota school district within​

54.17 two years before receiving the remedial instruction;​

54.18 (i) to appropriate authorities as provided in United States Code, title 20, section​

54.19 1232g(b)(1)(E)(ii), if the data concern the juvenile justice system and the ability of the​

54.20 system to effectively serve, prior to adjudication, the student whose records are released;​

54.21 provided that the authorities to whom the data are released submit a written request for the​

54.22 data that certifies that the data will not be disclosed to any other person except as authorized​

54.23 by law without the written consent of the parent of the student and the request and a record​

54.24 of the release are maintained in the student's file;​

54.25 (j) to volunteers who are determined to have a legitimate educational interest in the data​

54.26 and who are conducting activities and events sponsored by or endorsed by the educational​

54.27 agency or institution for students or former students;​

54.28 (k) to provide student recruiting information, from educational data held by colleges​

54.29 and universities, as required by and subject to Code of Federal Regulations, title 32, section​

54.30 216;​

54.31 (l) to the juvenile justice system if information about the behavior of a student who poses​

54.32 a risk of harm is reasonably necessary to protect the health or safety of the student or other​

54.33 individuals;​
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55.1 (m) with respect to Social Security numbers of students in the adult basic education​

55.2 system, to Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the Department of Employment​

55.3 and Economic Development for the purpose and in the manner described in section 124D.52,​

55.4 subdivision 7;​

55.5 (n) to the commissioner of education for purposes of an assessment or investigation of​

55.6 a report of alleged maltreatment of a student as mandated by chapter 260E. Upon request​

55.7 by the commissioner of education, data that are relevant to a report of maltreatment and are​

55.8 from charter school and school district investigations of alleged maltreatment of a student​

55.9 must be disclosed to the commissioner, including, but not limited to, the following:​

55.10 (1) information regarding the student alleged to have been maltreated;​

55.11 (2) information regarding student and employee witnesses;​

55.12 (3) information regarding the alleged perpetrator; and​

55.13 (4) what corrective or protective action was taken, if any, by the school facility in response​

55.14 to a report of maltreatment by an employee or agent of the school or school district;​

55.15 (o) when the disclosure is of the final results of a disciplinary proceeding on a charge​

55.16 of a crime of violence or nonforcible sex offense to the extent authorized under United​

55.17 States Code, title 20, section 1232g(b)(6)(A) and (B) and Code of Federal Regulations, title​

55.18 34, sections 99.31 (a)(13) and (14);​

55.19 (p) when the disclosure is information provided to the institution under United States​

55.20 Code, title 42, section 14071, concerning registered sex offenders to the extent authorized​

55.21 under United States Code, title 20, section 1232g(b)(7); or​

55.22 (q) when the disclosure is to a parent of a student at an institution of postsecondary​

55.23 education regarding the student's violation of any federal, state, or local law or of any rule​

55.24 or policy of the institution, governing the use or possession of alcohol or of a controlled​

55.25 substance, to the extent authorized under United States Code, title 20, section 1232g(i), and​

55.26 Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 99.31 (a)(15), and provided the institution​

55.27 has an information release form signed by the student authorizing disclosure to a parent.​

55.28 The institution must notify parents and students about the purpose and availability of the​

55.29 information release forms. At a minimum, the institution must distribute the information​

55.30 release forms at parent and student orientation meetings.; or​

55.31 (r) with tribal nations about tribally enrolled or descendant students to the extent necessary​

55.32 for the tribal nation and school district or charter school to support the educational attainment​

55.33 of the student.​
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56.1 Sec. 7. [13.3655] ATTORNEY GENERAL DATA CODED ELSEWHERE.​

56.2 Subdivision 1. Scope. The sections referred to in this section are codified outside this​

56.3 chapter. Those sections classify attorney general data as other than public, place restrictions​

56.4 on access to government data, or involve data sharing.​

56.5 Subd. 2. Jailhouse witnesses. Data collected and maintained by the attorney general​

56.6 regarding jailhouse witnesses are governed by section 634.045.​

56.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021.​

56.8 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.7931, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

56.9 read:​

56.10 Subd. 1b. Data on individuals who are minors. Data on individuals who are minors​

56.11 that are collected, created, received, maintained, or disseminated by the Department of​

56.12 Natural Resources are classified under section 84.0873.​

56.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.82, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

56.14 read:​

56.15 Subd. 33. Mental health care data. (a) Mental health data received from the welfare​

56.16 system as described in section 13.46, subdivision 7, are classified as described in that section.​

56.17 (b) Data received from a provider as described in section 144.294 are classified as​

56.18 described in that section.​

56.19 (c) Health records received from a provider are governed by section 144.293.​

56.20 (d) The following data on individuals created or collected by law enforcement agencies​

56.21 are private data on individuals, unless the data become criminal investigative data, in which​

56.22 the data are classified by subdivision 7 of this section:​

56.23 (1) medications taken by an individual;​

56.24 (2) mental illness diagnoses;​

56.25 (3) the psychological or psychosocial history of an individual;​

56.26 (4) risk factors or potential triggers related to an individual's mental health;​

56.27 (5) mental health or social service providers serving an individual; and​

56.28 (6) data pertaining to the coordination of social service or mental health care on behalf​

56.29 of an individual, including the scheduling of appointments, responses from providers, and​

56.30 follow-up.​
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57.1 (e) Data classified as private by paragraph (d) of this subdivision may be shared with​

57.2 the welfare system, as defined in section 13.46, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), to coordinate​

57.3 necessary services on behalf of the subject of the data.​

57.4 (f) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to alter the classification of data​

57.5 classified by subdivision 2, 3, or 6 of this section.​

57.6 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.824, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

57.7 Subd. 6. Biennial audit. (a) In addition to the log required under subdivision 5, the law​

57.8 enforcement agency must maintain records showing the date and time automated license​

57.9 plate reader data were collected and the applicable classification of the data. The law​

57.10 enforcement agency shall arrange for an independent, biennial audit of the records to​

57.11 determine whether data currently in the records are classified, how the data are used, whether​

57.12 they are destroyed as required under this section, and to verify compliance with subdivision​

57.13 7. If the commissioner of administration believes that a law enforcement agency is not​

57.14 complying with this section or other applicable law, the commissioner may order a law​

57.15 enforcement agency to arrange for additional independent audits. Data in the records required​

57.16 under this paragraph are classified as provided in subdivision 2.​

57.17 (b) The results of the audit are public. The commissioner of administration shall review​

57.18 the results of the audit. If the commissioner determines that there is a pattern of substantial​

57.19 noncompliance with this section by the law enforcement agency, the agency must​

57.20 immediately suspend operation of all automated license plate reader devices until the​

57.21 commissioner has authorized the agency to reinstate their use. An order of suspension under​

57.22 this paragraph may be issued by the commissioner, upon review of the results of the audit,​

57.23 review of the applicable provisions of this chapter, and after providing the agency a​

57.24 reasonable opportunity to respond to the audit's findings.​

57.25 (c) A report summarizing the results of each audit must be provided to the commissioner​

57.26 of administration, to the chair chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of​

57.27 the house of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over data practices and public​

57.28 safety issues, and to the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy​

57.29 no later than 30 days following completion of the audit.​

57.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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58.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.825, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

58.2 Subd. 9. Biennial audit. (a) A law enforcement agency must maintain records showing​

58.3 the date and time portable recording system data were collected and the applicable​

58.4 classification of the data. The law enforcement agency shall arrange for an independent,​

58.5 biennial audit of the data to determine whether data are appropriately classified according​

58.6 to this section, how the data are used, and whether the data are destroyed as required under​

58.7 this section, and to verify compliance with subdivisions 7 and 8. If the governing body with​

58.8 jurisdiction over the budget of the agency determines that the agency is not complying with​

58.9 this section or other applicable law, the governing body may order additional independent​

58.10 audits. Data in the records required under this paragraph are classified as provided in​

58.11 subdivision 2.​

58.12 (b) The results of the audit are public, except for data that are otherwise classified under​

58.13 law. The governing body with jurisdiction over the budget of the law enforcement agency​

58.14 shall review the results of the audit. If the governing body determines that there is a pattern​

58.15 of substantial noncompliance with this section, the governing body must order that operation​

58.16 of all portable recording systems be suspended until the governing body has authorized the​

58.17 agency to reinstate their use. An order of suspension under this paragraph may only be made​

58.18 following review of the results of the audit and review of the applicable provisions of this​

58.19 chapter, and after providing the agency and members of the public a reasonable opportunity​

58.20 to respond to the audit's findings in a public meeting.​

58.21 (c) A report summarizing the results of each audit must be provided to the governing​

58.22 body with jurisdiction over the budget of the law enforcement agency and, to the Legislative​

58.23 Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy, and to the chairs and ranking​

58.24 minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and the senate with​

58.25 jurisdiction over data practices and public safety issues no later than 60 days following​

58.26 completion of the audit.​

58.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

58.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.856, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

58.29 Subd. 3. Public data. The following closed case data maintained by the ombudsperson​

58.30 are classified as public data pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 15:​

58.31 (1) client name;​

58.32 (2) client location; and​

58.33 (3) the inmate identification number assigned by the Department of Corrections.​
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59.1 Sec. 13. [84.0873] DATA ON INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE MINORS.​

59.2 (a) When the Department of Natural Resources collects, creates, receives, maintains, or​

59.3 disseminates the following data on individuals who the department knows are minors, the​

59.4 data are considered private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12,​

59.5 except for data classified as public data according to section 13.43:​

59.6 (1) name;​

59.7 (2) date of birth;​

59.8 (3) Social Security number;​

59.9 (4) telephone number;​

59.10 (5) e-mail address;​

59.11 (6) physical or mailing address;​

59.12 (7) location data;​

59.13 (8) online account access information;​

59.14 (9) data associated with the location of electronic devices; and​

59.15 (10) other data that would identify participants who have registered for events, programs,​

59.16 or classes sponsored by the Department of Natural Resources.​

59.17 (b) Data about minors classified under this section maintain their classification as private​

59.18 data on individuals after the individual is no longer a minor.​

59.19 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 144.225, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

59.20 Subd. 7. Certified birth or death record. (a) The state registrar or local issuance office​

59.21 shall issue a certified birth or death record or a statement of no vital record found to an​

59.22 individual upon the individual's proper completion of an attestation provided by the​

59.23 commissioner and payment of the required fee:​

59.24 (1) to a person who has a tangible interest in the requested vital record. A person who​

59.25 has a tangible interest is:​

59.26 (i) the subject of the vital record;​

59.27 (ii) a child of the subject;​

59.28 (iii) the spouse of the subject;​

59.29 (iv) a parent of the subject;​
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60.1 (v) the grandparent or grandchild of the subject;​

60.2 (vi) if the requested record is a death record, a sibling of the subject;​

60.3 (vii) the party responsible for filing the vital record;​

60.4 (viii) (vii) the legal custodian, guardian or conservator, or health care agent of the subject;​

60.5 (ix) (viii) a personal representative, by sworn affidavit of the fact that the certified copy​

60.6 is required for administration of the estate;​

60.7 (x) (ix) a successor of the subject, as defined in section 524.1-201, if the subject is​

60.8 deceased, by sworn affidavit of the fact that the certified copy is required for administration​

60.9 of the estate;​

60.10 (xi) (x) if the requested record is a death record, a trustee of a trust by sworn affidavit​

60.11 of the fact that the certified copy is needed for the proper administration of the trust;​

60.12 (xii) (xi) a person or entity who demonstrates that a certified vital record is necessary​

60.13 for the determination or protection of a personal or property right, pursuant to rules adopted​

60.14 by the commissioner; or​

60.15 (xiii) (xii) an adoption agency in order to complete confidential postadoption searches​

60.16 as required by section 259.83;​

60.17 (2) to any local, state, tribal, or federal governmental agency upon request if the certified​

60.18 vital record is necessary for the governmental agency to perform its authorized duties;​

60.19 (3) to an attorney representing the subject of the vital record or another person listed in​

60.20 clause (1), upon evidence of the attorney's license;​

60.21 (4) pursuant to a court order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction. For purposes​

60.22 of this section, a subpoena does not constitute a court order; or​

60.23 (5) to a representative authorized by a person under clauses (1) to (4).​

60.24 (b) The state registrar or local issuance office shall also issue a certified death record to​

60.25 an individual described in paragraph (a), clause (1), items (ii) to (viii) (xi), if, on behalf of​

60.26 the individual, a licensed mortician furnishes the registrar with a properly completed​

60.27 attestation in the form provided by the commissioner within 180 days of the time of death​

60.28 of the subject of the death record. This paragraph is not subject to the requirements specified​

60.29 in Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2600, subpart 5, item B.​
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61.1 Sec. 15. [611A.95] CERTIFICATIONS FOR VICTIMS OF CRIMES.​

61.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

61.3 meanings given:​

61.4 (1) "certifying entity" means a state or local law enforcement agency;​

61.5 (2) "criminal activity" means qualifying criminal activity pursuant to section​

61.6 101(a)(15)(U)(iii) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, and includes the attempt,​

61.7 conspiracy, or solicitation to commit such crimes; and​

61.8 (3) "certification" means any certification or statement required by federal immigration​

61.9 law including but not limited to the information required by United States Code, title 8,​

61.10 section 1184(p), and United States Code, title 8, section 1184(o), including current United​

61.11 States Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-918, Supplement B, and United States​

61.12 Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-914, Supplement B, and any successor forms.​

61.13 Subd. 2. Certification process. (a) A certifying entity shall process a certification​

61.14 requested by a victim of criminal activity or a representative of the victim, including but​

61.15 not limited to the victim's attorney, family member, or domestic violence or sexual assault​

61.16 violence advocate, within the time period prescribed in paragraph (b).​

61.17 (b) A certifying entity shall process the certification within 90 days of request, unless​

61.18 the victim is in removal proceedings, in which case the certification shall be processed​

61.19 within 14 days of the request. Requests for expedited certification must be affirmatively​

61.20 raised at the time of the request.​

61.21 (c) An active investigation, the filing of charges, or a prosecution or conviction are not​

61.22 required for the victim of criminal activity to request and obtain the certification.​

61.23 Subd. 3. Certifying entity; designate agent. (a) The head of a certifying entity shall​

61.24 designate an agent to perform the following responsibilities:​

61.25 (1) timely process requests for certification;​

61.26 (2) provide outreach to victims of criminal activity to inform them of the entity's​

61.27 certification process; and​

61.28 (3) keep a written or electronic record of all certification requests and responses.​

61.29 (b) All certifying entities shall implement a language access protocol for​

61.30 non-English-speaking victims of criminal activity.​

61.31 Subd. 4. Disclosure prohibited; data classification. (a) A certifying entity is prohibited​

61.32 from disclosing the immigration status of a victim of criminal activity or a representative​
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62.1 requesting the certification, except to comply with federal law or legal process, or if​

62.2 authorized by the victim of criminal activity or the representative requesting the certification.​

62.3 (b) Data provided to a certifying entity under this section is classified as private data​

62.4 pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

62.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivisions 1, 2, and 4 are effective the day following final​

62.6 enactment. Subdivision 3 is effective July 1, 2021.​

62.7 Sec. 16. INITIAL APPOINTMENTS AND MEETINGS.​

62.8 Appointing authorities for the Legislative Commission on Data Practices under Minnesota​

62.9 Statutes, section 3.8844, must make initial appointments by June 1, 2021. The speaker of​

62.10 the house of representatives must designate one member of the commission to convene the​

62.11 first meeting of the commission by June 15, 2021.​

62.12 ARTICLE 7​

62.13 FORFEITURE​

62.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

62.15 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

62.16 meanings given them.​

62.17 (b) "Appropriate agency" means a law enforcement agency that has the authority to​

62.18 make an arrest for a violation of a designated offense or to require a test under section​

62.19 169A.51 (chemical tests for intoxication).​

62.20 (c) "Asserting person" means a person, other than the driver alleged to have committed​

62.21 a designated offense, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or​

62.22 restrained under this section.​

62.23 (c) (d) "Claimant" means an owner of a motor vehicle or a person claiming a leasehold​

62.24 or security interest in a motor vehicle.​

62.25 (d) (e) "Designated license revocation" includes a license revocation under section​

62.26 169A.52 (license revocation for test failure or refusal) or 171.177 (revocation; search warrant)​

62.27 or a license disqualification under section 171.165 (commercial driver's license​

62.28 disqualification) resulting from a violation of section 169A.52 or 171.177; within ten years​

62.29 of the first of two or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents.​

62.30 (e) (f) "Designated offense" includes:​
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63.1 (1) a violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under the circumstances​

63.2 described in section 169A.24 (first-degree driving while impaired), or 169A.25​

63.3 (second-degree driving while impaired); or​

63.4 (2) a violation of section 169A.20 or an ordinance in conformity with it: within ten years​

63.5 of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents.​

63.6 (i) by a person whose driver's license or driving privileges have been canceled as inimical​

63.7 to public safety under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), and not reinstated; or​

63.8 (ii) by a person who is subject to a restriction on the person's driver's license under​

63.9 section 171.09 (commissioner's license restrictions), which provides that the person may​

63.10 not use or consume any amount of alcohol or a controlled substance.​

63.11 (f) (g) "Family or household member" means:​

63.12 (1) a parent, stepparent, or guardian;​

63.13 (2) any of the following persons related by blood, marriage, or adoption: brother, sister,​

63.14 stepbrother, stepsister, first cousin, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, grandparent,​

63.15 great-grandparent, great-uncle, great-aunt; or​

63.16 (3) persons residing together or persons who regularly associate and communicate with​

63.17 one another outside of a workplace setting.​

63.18 (g) (h) "Motor vehicle" and "vehicle" do not include a vehicle which is stolen or taken​

63.19 in violation of the law.​

63.20 (h) (i) "Owner" means a person legally entitled to possession, use, and control of a motor​

63.21 vehicle, including a lessee of a motor vehicle if the lease agreement has a term of 180 days​

63.22 or more. There is a rebuttable presumption that a person registered as the owner of a motor​

63.23 vehicle according to the records of the Department of Public Safety is the legal owner. For​

63.24 purposes of this section, if a motor vehicle is owned jointly by two or more people, each​

63.25 owner's interest extends to the whole of the vehicle and is not subject to apportionment.​

63.26 (i) (j) "Prosecuting authority" means the attorney in the jurisdiction in which the​

63.27 designated offense occurred who is responsible for prosecuting violations of a designated​

63.28 offense or a designee. If a state agency initiated the forfeiture, and the attorney responsible​

63.29 for prosecuting the designated offense declines to pursue forfeiture, the Attorney General's​

63.30 Office or its designee may initiate forfeiture under this section.​
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64.1 (j) (k) "Security interest" means a bona fide security interest perfected according to​

64.2 section 168A.17, subdivision 2, based on a loan or other financing that, if a vehicle is​

64.3 required to be registered under chapter 168, is listed on the vehicle's title.​

64.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

64.5 that take place on or after that date.​

64.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

64.7 Subd. 7. Limitations on vehicle forfeiture. (a) A vehicle is presumed subject to forfeiture​

64.8 under this section if:​

64.9 (1) the driver is convicted of the designated offense upon which the forfeiture is based;​

64.10 or​

64.11 (2) the driver fails to appear for a scheduled court appearance with respect to the​

64.12 designated offense charged and fails to voluntarily surrender within 48 hours after the time​

64.13 required for appearance; or​

64.14 (3) (2) the driver's conduct results in a designated license revocation and the driver fails​

64.15 to seek judicial review of the revocation in a timely manner as required by section 169A.53,​

64.16 subdivision 2, (petition for judicial review), or the license revocation is judicially reviewed​

64.17 and sustained under section 169A.53, subdivision 2.​

64.18 (b) A vehicle encumbered by a security interest perfected according to section 168A.17,​

64.19 subdivision 2, or subject to a lease that has a term of 180 days or more, is subject to the​

64.20 interest of the secured party or lessor unless the party or lessor had knowledge of or consented​

64.21 to the act upon which the forfeiture is based. However, when the proceeds of the sale of a​

64.22 seized vehicle do not equal or exceed the outstanding loan balance, the appropriate agency​

64.23 shall remit all proceeds of the sale to the secured party after deducting the agency's costs​

64.24 for the seizure, tow, storage, forfeiture, and sale of the vehicle. If the sale of the vehicle is​

64.25 conducted in a commercially reasonable manner consistent with the provisions of section​

64.26 336.9-610, the agency is not liable to the secured party for any amount owed on the loan in​

64.27 excess of the sale proceeds. The validity and amount of a nonperfected security interest​

64.28 must be established by its holder by clear and convincing evidence.​

64.29 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the secured party's or lessor's interest in a vehicle is​

64.30 not subject to forfeiture based solely on the secured party's or lessor's knowledge of the act​

64.31 or omission upon which the forfeiture is based if the secured party or lessor demonstrates​

64.32 by clear and convincing evidence that the party or lessor took reasonable steps to terminate​

64.33 use of the vehicle by the offender.​
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65.1 (d) A motor vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section if any of its owners​

65.2 who petition the court can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioning​

65.3 owner did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or​

65.4 operated in any manner contrary to law or that the petitioning owner took reasonable steps​

65.5 to prevent use of the vehicle by the offender. If the offender is a family or household member​

65.6 of any of the owners who petition the court and has three or more prior impaired driving​

65.7 convictions, the petitioning owner is presumed to know of any vehicle use by the offender​

65.8 that is contrary to law. "Vehicle use contrary to law" includes, but is not limited to, violations​

65.9 of the following statutes:​

65.10 (1) section 171.24 (violations; driving without valid license);​

65.11 (2) section 169.791 (criminal penalty for failure to produce proof of insurance);​

65.12 (3) section 171.09 (driving restrictions; authority, violations);​

65.13 (4) section 169A.20 (driving while impaired);​

65.14 (5) section 169A.33 (underage drinking and driving); and​

65.15 (6) section 169A.35 (open bottle law).​

65.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

65.17 that take place on or after that date.​

65.18 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

65.19 read:​

65.20 Subd. 7a. Innocent owner. (a) An asserting person may bring an innocent owner claim​

65.21 by notifying the prosecuting authority in writing and within 60 days of the service of the​

65.22 notice of seizure.​

65.23 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority may​

65.24 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with the​

65.25 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint in the​

65.26 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle,​

65.27 specifying that the vehicle was used in the commission of a designated offense or was used​

65.28 in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation, and specifying the time and place​

65.29 of the vehicle's unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation​

65.30 court and the filing fee is waived.​

65.31 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting person​

65.32 and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the address​
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66.1 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration records​

66.2 or by any means permitted by court rules.​

66.3 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 30 days​

66.4 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint with a​

66.5 hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the same​

66.6 vehicle.​

66.7 (e) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the prosecuting authority must:​

66.8 (1) prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the seizure was incident to a lawful​

66.9 arrest or a lawful search; and​

66.10 (2) certify that the prosecuting authority has filed, or intends to file, charges against the​

66.11 driver for a designated offense or that the driver has a designated license revocation.​

66.12 (f) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the asserting person must prove by a​

66.13 preponderance of the evidence that the asserting person:​

66.14 (1) has an actual ownership interest in the vehicle; and​

66.15 (2) did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or​

66.16 operated in any manner contrary to law or that the asserting person took reasonable steps​

66.17 to prevent use of the vehicle by the alleged offender.​

66.18 (g) If the court determines that the state met both burdens under paragraph (e) and the​

66.19 asserting person failed to meet any burden under paragraph (f), the court shall order that​

66.20 the vehicle remains subject to forfeiture under this section.​

66.21 (h) The court shall order that the vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section​

66.22 and shall order the vehicle returned to the asserting person if it determines that:​

66.23 (1) the state failed to meet any burden under paragraph (e);​

66.24 (2) the asserting person proved both elements under paragraph (f); or​

66.25 (3) clauses (1) and (2) apply.​

66.26 (i) If the court determines that the asserting person is an innocent owner and orders the​

66.27 vehicle returned to the innocent owner, an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required​

66.28 to release it until the innocent owner pays:​

66.29 (1) the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle incurred before​

66.30 the innocent owner provided the notice required under paragraph (a); and​
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67.1 (2) any reasonable costs of storage of the vehicle incurred more than two weeks after​

67.2 an order issued under paragraph (h).​

67.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

67.4 that take place on or after that date.​

67.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

67.6 Subd. 8. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) A motor vehicle used to commit a​

67.7 designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation is subject​

67.8 to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision.​

67.9 (b) Within 60 days from when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within​

67.10 a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of​

67.11 the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when​

67.12 a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all​

67.13 persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must​

67.14 be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to​

67.15 be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest​

67.16 in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest​

67.17 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting​

67.18 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed​

67.19 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in​

67.20 Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the​

67.21 vehicle. For motor vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed​

67.22 by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle​

67.23 is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest​

67.24 in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service​

67.25 of a summons in a civil action.​

67.26 (c) The notice must be in writing and contain:​

67.27 (1) a description of the vehicle seized;​

67.28 (2) the date of seizure; and​

67.29 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for​

67.30 obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the​

67.31 appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.​

67.32 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:​
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68.1 "WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will​

68.2 automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do​

68.3 not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your​

68.4 lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth $15,000 or less; otherwise, you must​

68.5 file in district court. You may do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are​

68.6 unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is​

68.7 worth less than $500.​

68.8 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were​

68.9 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the​

68.10 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the​

68.11 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days."​

68.12 (d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b), and no time extension is granted​

68.13 or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property vehicle​

68.14 to the person from whom the property was seized, if known owner. An agency's return of​

68.15 property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence​

68.16 a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband​

68.17 or other property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.​

68.18 (e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this​

68.19 subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The​

68.20 demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court​

68.21 administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of​

68.22 a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture,​

68.23 including the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right to sue​

68.24 in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint by certified​

68.25 mail or any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000​

68.26 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle.​

68.27 A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim must be served personally or by mail​

68.28 on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture, as well as on the​

68.29 appropriate agency that initiated the forfeiture, within 60 days following service of the​

68.30 notice of seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. If the value of the seized property is​

68.31 less than $500, The claimant does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee.​

68.32 No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may​

68.33 be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The prosecuting authority​

68.34 may appear for the appropriate agency. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are​

68.35 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.​
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69.1 (f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​

69.2 seized vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant​

69.3 alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and​

69.4 any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,​

69.5 an action for the return of a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or​

69.6 on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless​

69.7 the person has complied with this subdivision.​

69.8 (g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this​

69.9 subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided under subdivision​

69.10 9.​

69.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

69.12 that take place on or after that date.​

69.13 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

69.14 Subd. 9. Judicial forfeiture procedure. (a) This subdivision governs judicial​

69.15 determinations of the forfeiture of a motor vehicle used to commit a designated offense or​

69.16 used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation. An action for forfeiture is a​

69.17 civil in rem action and is independent of any criminal prosecution. All proceedings are​

69.18 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.​

69.19 (b) If no demand for judicial determination of the forfeiture is pending, the prosecuting​

69.20 authority may, in the name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture, file a separate complaint​

69.21 against the vehicle, describing it, specifying that it was used in the commission of a​

69.22 designated offense or was used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation, and​

69.23 specifying the time and place of its unlawful use.​

69.24 (c) The prosecuting authority may file an answer to a properly served demand for judicial​

69.25 determination, including an affirmative counterclaim for forfeiture. The prosecuting authority​

69.26 is not required to file an answer.​

69.27 (d) A judicial determination under this subdivision must be held at the earliest practicable​

69.28 date, and in any event no later than 180 days following the filing of the demand by the​

69.29 claimant. If a related criminal proceeding is pending, the hearing shall not be held until the​

69.30 conclusion of the criminal proceedings. The district court administrator shall schedule the​

69.31 hearing as soon as practicable after the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The district​

69.32 court administrator shall establish procedures to ensure efficient compliance with this​

69.33 subdivision. The hearing is to the court without a jury.​

69​Article 7 Sec. 5.​

HOUSE RESEARCH BJ/RK H1030DE3​03/31/21 03:19 pm ​



70.1 (e) There is a presumption that a vehicle seized under this section is subject to forfeiture​

70.2 if the prosecuting authority establishes that the vehicle was used in the commission of a​

70.3 designated offense or designated license revocation. A claimant bears the burden of proving​

70.4 any affirmative defense raised.​

70.5 (f) If the forfeiture is based on the commission of a designated offense and the person​

70.6 charged with the designated offense appears in court as required and is not convicted of the​

70.7 offense, the court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon​

70.8 that person's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42. If the​

70.9 forfeiture is based on a designated license revocation, and the license revocation is rescinded​

70.10 under section 169A.53, subdivision 3 (judicial review hearing, issues, order, appeal), the​

70.11 court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon that person's​

70.12 compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42.​

70.13 (g) If the lawful ownership of the vehicle used in the commission of a designated offense​

70.14 or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation can be determined and the​

70.15 owner makes the demonstration required under subdivision 7, paragraph (d) 7a, the vehicle​

70.16 must be returned immediately upon the owner's compliance with the redemption requirements​

70.17 of section 169A.42.​

70.18 (h) If the court orders the return of a seized vehicle under this subdivision it must order​

70.19 that filing fees be reimbursed to the person who filed the demand for judicial determination.​

70.20 In addition, the court may order sanctions under section 549.211 (sanctions in civil actions).​

70.21 Any reimbursement fees or sanctions must be paid from other forfeiture proceeds of the​

70.22 law enforcement agency and prosecuting authority involved and in the same proportion as​

70.23 distributed under subdivision 10, paragraph (b).​

70.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

70.25 that take place on or after that date.​

70.26 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

70.27 Subd. 10. Disposition of forfeited vehicle. (a) If the vehicle is administratively forfeited​

70.28 under subdivision 8, or if the court finds under subdivision 9 that the vehicle is subject to​

70.29 forfeiture under subdivisions 6 and 7, the appropriate agency shall:​

70.30 (1) sell the vehicle and distribute the proceeds under paragraph (b); or​

70.31 (2) keep the vehicle for official use. If the agency keeps a forfeited motor vehicle for​

70.32 official use, it shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that the motor vehicle is available for​

70.33 use by the agency's officers who participate in the drug abuse resistance education program.​
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71.1 (b) The proceeds from the sale of forfeited vehicles, after payment of seizure, towing,​

71.2 storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction of valid liens against the property,​

71.3 must be distributed as follows:​

71.4 (1) 70 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for deposit​

71.5 as a supplement to the state or local agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in​

71.6 DWI-related enforcement, training, and education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital​

71.7 expenses; and​

71.8 (2) 30 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority​

71.9 that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund​

71.10 for prosecutorial purposes, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital​

71.11 expenses. For purposes of this subdivision, the prosecuting authority shall not include​

71.12 privately contracted prosecutors of a local political subdivision and, in those events, the​

71.13 forfeiture proceeds shall be forwarded to the political subdivision where the forfeiture was​

71.14 handled for the purposes identified in clause (1).​

71.15 (c) If a vehicle is sold under paragraph (a), the appropriate agency shall not sell the​

71.16 vehicle to: (1) an officer or employee of the agency that seized the property or to a person​

71.17 related to the officer or employee by blood or marriage; or (2) the prosecuting authority or​

71.18 any individual working in the same office or a person related to the authority or individual​

71.19 by blood or marriage.​

71.20 (d) Sales of forfeited vehicles under this section must be conducted in a commercially​

71.21 reasonable manner.​

71.22 (e) If a vehicle is forfeited administratively under this section and no demand for judicial​

71.23 determination is made, the appropriate agency shall provide the prosecuting authority with​

71.24 a copy of the forfeiture or evidence receipt, the notice of seizure and intent to forfeit, a​

71.25 statement of probable cause for forfeiture of the property, and a description of the property​

71.26 and its estimated value. Upon review and certification by the prosecuting authority that (1)​

71.27 the appropriate agency provided a receipt in accordance with subdivision 2, paragraph (c),​

71.28 (2) the appropriate agency served notice in accordance with subdivision 8, and (3) probable​

71.29 cause for forfeiture exists based on the officer's statement, the appropriate agency may​

71.30 dispose of the property in any of the ways listed in this subdivision.​

71.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

71.32 that take place on or after that date.​
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72.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

72.2 Subd. 13. Exception. (a) A forfeiture proceeding is stayed and the vehicle must be​

72.3 returned if the driver who committed a designated offense or whose conduct resulted in a​

72.4 designated license revocation becomes a program participant in the ignition interlock program​

72.5 under section 171.306 at any time before the motor vehicle is forfeited, the forfeiture​

72.6 proceeding is stayed and the vehicle must be returned and any of the following apply:​

72.7 (1) the driver committed a designated offense other than a violation of section 169A.20​

72.8 under the circumstances described in section 169A.24; or​

72.9 (2) the driver is accepted into a treatment court dedicated to changing the behavior of​

72.10 alcohol- and other drug-dependent offenders arrested for driving while impaired.​

72.11 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the vehicle whose forfeiture was stayed in paragraph​

72.12 (a) may be seized and the forfeiture action may proceed under this section if the program​

72.13 participant described in paragraph (a):​

72.14 (1) subsequently operates a motor vehicle:​

72.15 (i) to commit a violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired);​

72.16 (ii) in a manner that results in a license revocation under section 169A.52 (license​

72.17 revocation for test failure or refusal) or 171.177 (revocation; search warrant) or a license​

72.18 disqualification under section 171.165 (commercial driver's license disqualification) resulting​

72.19 from a violation of section 169A.52 or 171.177;​

72.20 (iii) after tampering with, circumventing, or bypassing an ignition interlock device; or​

72.21 (iv) without an ignition interlock device at any time when the driver's license requires​

72.22 such device; or​

72.23 (2) either voluntarily or involuntarily ceases to participate in the program for more than​

72.24 30 days, or fails to successfully complete it as required by the Department of Public Safety​

72.25 due to:​

72.26 (i) two or more occasions of the participant's driving privileges being withdrawn for​

72.27 violating the terms of the program, unless the withdrawal is determined to be caused by an​

72.28 error of the department or the interlock provider; or​

72.29 (ii) violating the terms of the contract with the provider as determined by the provider.;​

72.30 or​

72.31 (3) if forfeiture was stayed after the driver entered a treatment court, the driver ceases​

72.32 to be a participant in the treatment court for any reason.​
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73.1 (c) Paragraph (b) applies only if the described conduct occurs before the participant has​

73.2 been restored to full driving privileges or within three years of the original designated offense​

73.3 or designated license revocation, whichever occurs latest.​

73.4 (d) The requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), that device manufacturers provide​

73.5 a discounted rate to indigent program participants applies also to device installation under​

73.6 this subdivision.​

73.7 (e) An impound or law enforcement storage lot operator must allow an ignition interlock​

73.8 manufacturer sufficient access to the lot to install an ignition interlock device under this​

73.9 subdivision.​

73.10 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required​

73.11 to release it until the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle have​

73.12 been paid by the vehicle owner.​

73.13 (g) At any time prior to the vehicle being forfeited, the appropriate agency may require​

73.14 that the owner or driver of the vehicle give security or post bond payable to the appropriate​

73.15 agency in an amount equal to the retail value surrender the title of the seized vehicle. If this​

73.16 occurs, any future forfeiture action against the vehicle must instead proceed against the​

73.17 security as if it were the vehicle.​

73.18 (h) The appropriate agency may require an owner or driver to give security or post bond​

73.19 payable to the agency in an amount equal to the retail value of the vehicle, prior to releasing​

73.20 the vehicle from the impound lot to install an ignition interlock device.​

73.21 (i) (h) If an event described in paragraph (b) occurs in a jurisdiction other than the one​

73.22 in which the original forfeitable event occurred, and the vehicle is subsequently forfeited,​

73.23 the proceeds shall be divided equally, after payment of seizure, towing, storage, forfeiture,​

73.24 and sale expenses and satisfaction of valid liens against the vehicle, among the appropriate​

73.25 agencies and prosecuting authorities in each jurisdiction.​

73.26 (j) (i) Upon successful completion of the program, the stayed forfeiture proceeding is​

73.27 terminated or dismissed and any vehicle, security, or bond held by an agency must be​

73.28 returned to the owner of the vehicle.​

73.29 (k) (j) A claimant of a vehicle for which a forfeiture action was stayed under paragraph​

73.30 (a) but which later proceeds under paragraph (b), may file a demand for judicial forfeiture​

73.31 as provided in subdivision 8, in which case the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted​

73.32 as provided in subdivision 9.​

73​Article 7 Sec. 7.​

HOUSE RESEARCH BJ/RK H1030DE3​03/31/21 03:19 pm ​



74.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

74.2 that take place on or after that date.​

74.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

74.4 read:​

74.5 Subd. 14. Subsequent unlawful use of seized vehicle; immunity. An appropriate​

74.6 agency or prosecuting authority, including but not limited to any peace officer as defined​

74.7 in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); prosecutor; or employee of an appropriate​

74.8 agency or prosecuting authority who, in good faith and within the course and scope of the​

74.9 official duties of the person or entity, returns a vehicle seized under this chapter to the owner​

74.10 pursuant to this section shall be immune from criminal or civil liability regarding any event​

74.11 arising out of the subsequent unlawful or unauthorized use of the motor vehicle.​

74.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​

74.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.531, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

74.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purpose of sections 609.531 to 609.5318, the​

74.15 following terms have the meanings given them.​

74.16 (a) "Conveyance device" means a device used for transportation and includes, but is not​

74.17 limited to, a motor vehicle, trailer, snowmobile, airplane, and vessel and any equipment​

74.18 attached to it. The term "conveyance device" does not include property which is, in fact,​

74.19 itself stolen or taken in violation of the law.​

74.20 (b) "Weapon used" means a dangerous weapon as defined under section 609.02,​

74.21 subdivision 6, that the actor used or had in possession in furtherance of a crime.​

74.22 (c) "Property" means property as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause (1).​

74.23 (d) "Contraband" means property which is illegal to possess under Minnesota law.​

74.24 (e) "Appropriate agency" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, the Department​

74.25 of Commerce Fraud Bureau, the Minnesota Division of Driver and Vehicle Services, the​

74.26 Minnesota State Patrol, a county sheriff's department, the Three Rivers Park District park​

74.27 rangers Department of Public Safety, the Department of Natural Resources Division of​

74.28 Enforcement, the University of Minnesota Police Department, the Department of Corrections​

74.29 Fugitive Apprehension Unit, a city, metropolitan transit, or airport police department; or a​

74.30 multijurisdictional entity established under section 299A.642 or 299A.681.​

74.31 (f) "Designated offense" includes:​
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75.1 (1) for weapons used: any violation of this chapter, chapter 152 or 624;​

75.2 (2) for driver's license or identification card transactions: any violation of section 171.22;​

75.3 and​

75.4 (3) for all other purposes: a felony violation of, or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy​

75.5 to violate, section 325E.17; 325E.18; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.2112; 609.2113;​

75.6 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.2335; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25;​

75.7 609.255; 609.282; 609.283; 609.322; 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.343,​

75.8 subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (j);​

75.9 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (j); 609.352; 609.42; 609.425; 609.466;​

75.10 609.485; 609.487; 609.52; 609.525; 609.527; 609.528; 609.53; 609.54; 609.551; 609.561;​

75.11 609.562; 609.563; 609.582; 609.59; 609.595; 609.611; 609.631; 609.66, subdivision 1e;​

75.12 609.671, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 8, and 12; 609.687; 609.821; 609.825; 609.86; 609.88; 609.89;​

75.13 609.893; 609.895; 617.246; 617.247; or a gross misdemeanor or felony violation of section​

75.14 609.891 or 624.7181; or any violation of section 609.324; or a felony violation of, or a​

75.15 felony-level attempt or conspiracy to violate, Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21.​

75.16 (g) "Controlled substance" has the meaning given in section 152.01, subdivision 4.​

75.17 (h) "Prosecuting authority" means the attorney who is responsible for prosecuting an​

75.18 offense that is the basis for a forfeiture under sections 609.531 to 609.5318.​

75.19 (i) "Asserting person" means a person, other than the driver alleged to have used a vehicle​

75.20 in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale,​

75.21 claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or restrained under this​

75.22 section.​

75.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​

75.24 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.531, is amended by adding a subdivision​

75.25 to read:​

75.26 Subd. 9. Transfer of forfeitable property to federal government. The appropriate​

75.27 agency shall not directly or indirectly transfer property subject to forfeiture under sections​

75.28 609.531 to 609.5318 to a federal agency if the transfer would circumvent state law.​

75.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

75.30 that take place on or after that date.​
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76.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

76.2 Subd. 2. Associated property. (a) All personal property, and real and personal property,​

76.3 other than homestead property exempt from seizure under section 510.01, that has been​

76.4 used, or is intended for use, or has in any way facilitated, in whole or in part, the​

76.5 manufacturing, compounding, processing, delivering, importing, cultivating, exporting,​

76.6 transporting, or exchanging of contraband or a controlled substance that has not been lawfully​

76.7 manufactured, distributed, dispensed, and acquired is an instrument or represents the proceeds​

76.8 of a controlled substance offense is subject to forfeiture under this section, except as provided​

76.9 in subdivision 3.​

76.10 (b) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize real​

76.11 property for the purposes of forfeiture under paragraph (a).​

76.12 (c) Money is the property of an appropriate agency and may be seized and recovered by​

76.13 the appropriate agency if:​

76.14 (1) the money is used by an appropriate agency, or furnished to a person operating on​

76.15 behalf of an appropriate agency, to purchase or attempt to purchase a controlled substance;​

76.16 and​

76.17 (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the money for​

76.18 identification.​

76.19 As used in this paragraph, "money" means United States currency and coin; the currency​

76.20 and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a prepaid​

76.21 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order.​

76.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

76.23 that take place on or after that date.​

76.24 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

76.25 Subd. 3. Limitations on forfeiture of certain property associated with controlled​

76.26 substances. (a) A conveyance device is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the​

76.27 retail value of the controlled substance is $75 $100 or more and the conveyance device is​

76.28 associated with a felony-level controlled substance crime was used in the transportation or​

76.29 exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale.​

76.30 (b) Real property is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the retail value of the​

76.31 controlled substance or contraband is $2,000 or more.​
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77.1 (c) Property used by any person as a common carrier in the transaction of business as a​

77.2 common carrier is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the owner of the property​

77.3 is a consenting party to, or is privy to, the use or intended use of the property as described​

77.4 in subdivision 2.​

77.5 (d) Property is subject to forfeiture under this section only if its owner was privy to the​

77.6 use or intended use described in subdivision 2, or the unlawful use or intended use of the​

77.7 property otherwise occurred with the owner's knowledge or consent.​

77.8 (e) Forfeiture under this section of a conveyance device or real property encumbered by​

77.9 a bona fide security interest is subject to the interest of the secured party unless the secured​

77.10 party had knowledge of or consented to the act or omission upon which the forfeiture is​

77.11 based. A person claiming a security interest bears the burden of establishing that interest​

77.12 by clear and convincing evidence.​

77.13 (f) Forfeiture under this section of real property is subject to the interests of a good faith​

77.14 purchaser for value unless the purchaser had knowledge of or consented to the act or omission​

77.15 upon which the forfeiture is based.​

77.16 (g) Notwithstanding paragraphs (d), (e), and (f), property is not subject to forfeiture​

77.17 based solely on the owner's or secured party's knowledge of the unlawful use or intended​

77.18 use of the property if: (1) the owner or secured party took reasonable steps to terminate use​

77.19 of the property by the offender; or (2) the property is real property owned by the parent of​

77.20 the offender, unless the parent actively participated in, or knowingly acquiesced to, a violation​

77.21 of chapter 152, or the real property constitutes proceeds derived from or traceable to a use​

77.22 described in subdivision 2.​

77.23 (h) Money is subject to forfeiture under this section only if it has a total value of $1,500​

77.24 or more or there is probable cause to believe that the money was exchanged for the purchase​

77.25 of a controlled substance. As used in this paragraph, "money" means United States currency​

77.26 and coin; the currency and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or​

77.27 traveler's check; a prepaid credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order.​

77.28 (h) (i) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize a​

77.29 conveyance device or real property, for the purposes of forfeiture under paragraphs (a) to​

77.30 (g).​

77.31 (j) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits the seizure, with or without warrant, of any​

77.32 property or thing for the purpose of being produced as evidence on any trial or for any other​

77.33 lawful purpose.​
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78.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

78.2 that take place on or after that date.​

78.3 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

78.4 Subd. 4. Records; proceeds. (a) All books, records, and research products and materials,​

78.5 including formulas, microfilm, tapes, and data that are used, or intended for use in the​

78.6 manner described in subdivision 2 are subject to forfeiture.​

78.7 (b) All property, real and personal, that represents proceeds derived from or traceable​

78.8 to a use described in subdivision 2 is subject to forfeiture.​

78.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

78.10 that take place on or after that date.​

78.11 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

78.12 Subdivision 1. Property subject to administrative forfeiture; presumption. (a) The​

78.13 following are presumed to be subject to administrative forfeiture under this section:​

78.14 (1) all money totaling $1,500 or more, precious metals, and precious stones found in​

78.15 proximity to: that there is probable cause to believe represent the proceeds of a controlled​

78.16 substance offense;​

78.17 (i) controlled substances;​

78.18 (ii) forfeitable drug manufacturing or distributing equipment or devices; or​

78.19 (iii) forfeitable records of manufacture or distribution of controlled substances;​

78.20 (2) all money found in proximity to controlled substances when there is probable cause​

78.21 to believe that the money was exchanged for the purchase of a controlled substance;​

78.22 (2) (3) all conveyance devices containing controlled substances with a retail value of​

78.23 $100 or more if possession or sale of the controlled substance would be a felony under​

78.24 chapter 152 there is probable cause to believe that the conveyance device was used in the​

78.25 transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale; and​

78.26 (3) (4) all firearms, ammunition, and firearm accessories found:​

78.27 (i) in a conveyance device used or intended for use to commit or facilitate the commission​

78.28 of a felony offense involving a controlled substance;​

78.29 (ii) on or in proximity to a person from whom a felony amount of controlled substance​

78.30 is seized; or​
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79.1 (iii) on the premises where a controlled substance is seized and in proximity to the​

79.2 controlled substance, if possession or sale of the controlled substance would be a felony​

79.3 under chapter 152.​

79.4 (b) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize items​

79.5 listed in paragraph (a), clauses (2) (3) and (3) (4), for the purposes of forfeiture.​

79.6 (c) A claimant of the property bears the burden to rebut this presumption. Money is the​

79.7 property of an appropriate agency and may be seized and recovered by the appropriate​

79.8 agency if:​

79.9 (1) the money is used by an appropriate agency, or furnished to a person operating on​

79.10 behalf of an appropriate agency, to purchase or attempt to purchase a controlled substance;​

79.11 and​

79.12 (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the money for​

79.13 identification.​

79.14 (d) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the currency​

79.15 and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a prepaid​

79.16 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order.​

79.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

79.18 that take place on or after that date.​

79.19 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subdivision​

79.20 to read:​

79.21 Subd. 1a. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alleged to​

79.22 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for​

79.23 distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or​

79.24 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority in​

79.25 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure.​

79.26 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority may​

79.27 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with the​

79.28 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint in the​

79.29 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle,​

79.30 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled​

79.31 substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicle's​

79.32 unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the filing​

79.33 fee is waived.​
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80.1 (c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting person​

80.2 and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the address​

80.3 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration records​

80.4 or by any means permitted by court rules.​

80.5 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 30 days​

80.6 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint with a​

80.7 hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the same​

80.8 vehicle.​

80.9 (e) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the state must prove by a preponderance​

80.10 of the evidence that:​

80.11 (1) the seizure was incident to a lawful arrest or a lawful search; and​

80.12 (2) the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance​

80.13 intended for distribution or sale.​

80.14 (f) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the asserting person must prove by a​

80.15 preponderance of the evidence that the asserting person:​

80.16 (1) has an actual ownership interest in the vehicle; and​

80.17 (2) did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or​

80.18 operated in any manner contrary to law or that the asserting person took reasonable steps​

80.19 to prevent use of the vehicle by the alleged offender.​

80.20 (g) If the court determines that the state met both burdens under paragraph (e) and the​

80.21 asserting person failed to meet any burden under paragraph (f), the court shall order that​

80.22 the vehicle remains subject to forfeiture under this section.​

80.23 (h) The court shall order that the vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section​

80.24 and shall order the vehicle returned to the asserting person if it determines that:​

80.25 (1) the state failed to meet any burden under paragraph (e);​

80.26 (2) the asserting person proved both elements under paragraph (f); or​

80.27 (3) clauses (1) and (2) apply.​

80.28 (i) If the court determines that the asserting person is an innocent owner and orders the​

80.29 vehicle returned to the innocent owner, an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required​

80.30 to release the vehicle until the innocent owner pays:​
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81.1 (1) the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle incurred before​

81.2 the innocent owner provided the notice required under paragraph (a); and​

81.3 (2) any reasonable costs of storage of the vehicle incurred more than two weeks after​

81.4 an order issued under paragraph (h).​

81.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

81.6 that take place on or after that date.​

81.7 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

81.8 Subd. 2. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) Forfeiture of property described in​

81.9 subdivision 1 that does not exceed $50,000 in value is governed by this subdivision. Within​

81.10 60 days from when seizure occurs, all persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or​

81.11 security interest in seized property must be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit​

81.12 the property. In the case of a motor vehicle required to be registered under chapter 168,​

81.13 notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in Department of Public Safety records​

81.14 is deemed sufficient notice to the registered owner. The notification to a person known to​

81.15 have a security interest in seized property required under this paragraph applies only to​

81.16 motor vehicles required to be registered under chapter 168 and only if the security interest​

81.17 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or the prosecuting​

81.18 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed​

81.19 90 days for good cause shown.​

81.20 (b) Notice may otherwise be given in the manner provided by law for service of a​

81.21 summons in a civil action. The notice must be in writing and contain:​

81.22 (1) a description of the property seized;​

81.23 (2) the date of seizure; and​

81.24 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for​

81.25 obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the​

81.26 appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.​

81.27 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:​

81.28 "WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will​

81.29 automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do​

81.30 not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your​

81.31 lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth $15,000 or less; otherwise, you must​

81.32 file in district court. You may do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are​

81​Article 7 Sec. 16.​

HOUSE RESEARCH BJ/RK H1030DE3​03/31/21 03:19 pm ​



82.1 unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is​

82.2 worth less than $500.​

82.3 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were​

82.4 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the​

82.5 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the​

82.6 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days."​

82.7 (c) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (a), and no time extension is granted​

82.8 or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property to the​

82.9 person from whom the property was seized, if known. An agency's return of property due​

82.10 to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence a forfeiture​

82.11 proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband or other​

82.12 property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.​

82.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

82.14 that take place on or after that date.​

82.15 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

82.16 Subd. 3. Judicial determination. (a) Within 60 days following service of a notice of​

82.17 seizure and forfeiture under this section, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial​

82.18 determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and​

82.19 must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred,​

82.20 together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority for​

82.21 that county, and the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right​

82.22 to sue in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint on​

82.23 the prosecuting authority by any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized​

82.24 property is $15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery​

82.25 of the seized property. If the value of the seized property is less than $500, The claimant​

82.26 does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of​

82.27 the prosecuting authority and no court fees may be charged for the prosecuting authority's​

82.28 appearance in the matter. The district court administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon​

82.29 as practicable after, and in any event no later than 90 days following, the conclusion of the​

82.30 criminal prosecution. The proceedings are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.​

82.31 (b) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​

82.32 seized property as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the​

82.33 claimant alleges the property was improperly seized and the plaintiff's interest in the property​

82.34 seized. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of property seized​
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83.1 under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served​

83.2 with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.​

83.3 (c) If the claimant makes a timely demand for judicial determination under this​

83.4 subdivision, the appropriate agency must conduct the forfeiture under section 609.531,​

83.5 subdivision 6a. The limitations and defenses set forth in section 609.5311, subdivision 3,​

83.6 apply to the judicial determination.​

83.7 (d) If a demand for judicial determination of an administrative forfeiture is filed under​

83.8 this subdivision and the court orders the return of the seized property, the court shall order​

83.9 that filing fees be reimbursed to the person who filed the demand. In addition, the court​

83.10 may order sanctions under section 549.211. If the court orders payment of these costs, they​

83.11 must be paid from forfeited money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property from the​

83.12 appropriate law enforcement and prosecuting agencies in the same proportion as they would​

83.13 be distributed under section 609.5315, subdivision 5.​

83.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

83.15 that take place on or after that date.​

83.16 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

83.17 Subd. 5. Distribution of money. The money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited​

83.18 property, after payment of seizure, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction​

83.19 of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows:​

83.20 (1) 70 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency​

83.21 for deposit as a supplement to the agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in law​

83.22 enforcement, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital expenses;​

83.23 (2) 20 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority​

83.24 that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund​

83.25 for prosecutorial purposes, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital​

83.26 expenses; and​

83.27 (3) the remaining ten percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded within 60​

83.28 days after resolution of the forfeiture to the state treasury and credited to the general fund.​

83.29 Any local police relief association organized under chapter 423 which received or was​

83.30 entitled to receive the proceeds of any sale made under this section before the effective date​

83.31 of Laws 1988, chapter 665, sections 1 to 17, shall continue to receive and retain the proceeds​

83.32 of these sales.​
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84.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

84.2 that take place on or after that date.​

84.3 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 5b, is amended to read:​

84.4 Subd. 5b. Disposition of certain forfeited proceeds; trafficking of persons; report​

84.5 required. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 5c, for forfeitures resulting from violations​

84.6 of section 609.282, 609.283, or 609.322, the money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited​

84.7 property, after payment of seizure, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction​

84.8 of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows:​

84.9 (1) 40 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for deposit​

84.10 as a supplement to the agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in law enforcement;​

84.11 (2) 20 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority that handled​

84.12 the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund for​

84.13 prosecutorial purposes; and​

84.14 (3) the remaining 40 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the commissioner of​

84.15 health and are appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services​

84.16 organizations that provide services to victims of trafficking offenses.​

84.17 (b) By February 15 of each year, the commissioner of public safety shall report to the​

84.18 chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees​

84.19 or divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice funding on the money collected under​

84.20 paragraph (a), clause (3). The report must indicate the following relating to the preceding​

84.21 calendar year:​

84.22 (1) the amount of money appropriated to the commissioner;​

84.23 (2) how the money was distributed by the commissioner; and​

84.24 (3) what the organizations that received the money did with it.​

84.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

84.26 that take place on or after that date.​

84.27 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

84.28 Subd. 6. Reporting requirement. (a) For each forfeiture occurring in the state regardless​

84.29 of the authority for it and including forfeitures pursued under federal law, the appropriate​

84.30 agency and the prosecuting authority shall provide a written record of the forfeiture incident​

84.31 to the state auditor. The record shall include:​
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85.1 (1) the amount forfeited,;​

85.2 (2) the statutory authority for the forfeiture, its;​

85.3 (3) the date, of the forfeiture;​

85.4 (4) a brief description of the circumstances involved, and;​

85.5 (5) whether the forfeiture was contested.;​

85.6 (6) whether the defendant was convicted pursuant to a plea agreement or a trial;​

85.7 (7) whether there was a forfeiture settlement agreement;​

85.8 (8) whether the property was sold, destroyed, or retained by an appropriate agency;​

85.9 (9) the gross revenue from the disposition of the forfeited property;​

85.10 (10) an estimate of the total costs to the agency to store the property in an impound lot,​

85.11 evidence room, or other location; pay for the time and expenses of an appropriate agency​

85.12 and prosecuting authority to litigate forfeiture cases; and sell or dispose of the forfeited​

85.13 property;​

85.14 (11) the net revenue, determined by subtracting the costs identified under clause (10)​

85.15 from the gross revenue identified in clause (9), the appropriate agency received from the​

85.16 disposition of forfeited property;​

85.17 (12) if any property was retained by an appropriate agency, the purpose for which it is​

85.18 used;​

85.19 (13) for controlled substance and driving while impaired forfeitures, the record shall​

85.20 indicate whether the forfeiture was initiated as an administrative or a judicial forfeiture.​

85.21 The record shall also list;​

85.22 (14) the number of firearms forfeited and the make, model, and serial number of each​

85.23 firearm forfeited. The record shall indicate; and​

85.24 (15) how the property was or is to be disposed of.​

85.25 (b) An appropriate agency or the prosecuting authority shall report to the state auditor​

85.26 all instances in which property seized for forfeiture is returned to its owner either because​

85.27 forfeiture is not pursued or for any other reason.​

85.28 (c) Each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall provide a written record​

85.29 regarding the proceeds of forfeited property, including proceeds received through forfeiture​

85.30 under state and federal law. The record shall include:​
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86.1 (1) the total amount of money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property obtained​

86.2 or received by an appropriate agency or prosecuting authority in the previous reporting​

86.3 period;​

86.4 (2) the manner in which each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority expended​

86.5 money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property in the previous reporting period,​

86.6 including the total amount expended in the following categories:​

86.7 (i) drug abuse, crime, and gang prevention programs;​

86.8 (ii) victim reparations;​

86.9 (iii) gifts or grants to crime victim service organizations that provide services to sexually​

86.10 exploited youth;​

86.11 (iv) gifts or grants to crime victim service organizations that provide services to victims​

86.12 of trafficking offenses;​

86.13 (v) investigation costs, including but not limited to witness protection, informant fees,​

86.14 and controlled buys;​

86.15 (vi) court costs and attorney fees;​

86.16 (vii) salaries, overtime, and benefits, as permitted by law;​

86.17 (viii) professional outside services, including but not limited to auditing, court reporting,​

86.18 expert witness fees, outside attorney fees, and membership fees paid to trade associations;​

86.19 (ix) travel, meals, and conferences;​

86.20 (x) training and continuing education;​

86.21 (xi) other operating expenses, including but not limited to office supplies, postage, and​

86.22 printing;​

86.23 (xii) capital expenditures, including but not limited to vehicles, firearms, equipment,​

86.24 computers, and furniture;​

86.25 (xiii) gifts or grants to nonprofit or other programs, indicating the recipient of the gift​

86.26 or grant; and​

86.27 (xiv) any other expenditure, indicating the type of expenditure and, if applicable, the​

86.28 recipient of any gift or grant;​

86.29 (3) the total value of seized and forfeited property held by an appropriate agency and​

86.30 not sold or otherwise disposed of; and​

86​Article 7 Sec. 20.​

HOUSE RESEARCH BJ/RK H1030DE3​03/31/21 03:19 pm ​



87.1 (4) a statement from the end of each year showing the balance of any designated forfeiture​

87.2 accounts maintained by an appropriate agency or prosecuting authority.​

87.3 (c) (d) Reports under paragraphs (a) and (b) shall be made on a monthly quarterly basis​

87.4 in a manner prescribed by the state auditor and reports under paragraph (c) shall be made​

87.5 on an annual basis in a manner prescribed by the state auditor. The state auditor shall report​

87.6 annually to the legislature on the nature and extent of forfeitures., including the information​

87.7 provided by each appropriate agency or prosecuting authority under paragraphs (a) to (c).​

87.8 Summary data on seizures, forfeitures, and expenditures of forfeiture proceeds shall be​

87.9 disaggregated by each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority. The report shall be​

87.10 made public on the state auditor's website.​

87.11 (d) (e) For forfeitures resulting from the activities of multijurisdictional law enforcement​

87.12 entities, the entity on its own behalf shall report the information required in this subdivision.​

87.13 (e) (f) The prosecuting authority is not required to report information required by this​

87.14 subdivision paragraph (a) or (b) unless the prosecuting authority has been notified by the​

87.15 state auditor that the appropriate agency has not reported it.​

87.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures​

87.17 that take place on or after that date.​

87.18 Sec. 21. RECIDIVISM STUDY.​

87.19 The legislative auditor shall conduct or contract with an independent third-party vendor​

87.20 to conduct a comprehensive program audit on the efficacy of forfeiture and the use of ignition​

87.21 interlock in cases involving an alleged violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.20.​

87.22 The audit shall assess the financial impact of the programs, the efficacy in reducing​

87.23 recidivism, and the impacts, if any, on public safety. The audit shall be conducted in​

87.24 accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards issued by the United​

87.25 States Government Accountability Office. The legislative auditor shall complete the audit​

87.26 no later than August 1, 2024, and shall report the results of the audit to the chairs and ranking​

87.27 minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public​

87.28 safety by January 15, 2025.​

87.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​

87.30 Sec. 22. REPEALER.​

87.31 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5317, is repealed.​

87.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022."​
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88.1 Amend the title accordingly​
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