..... moves to amend H.F. No. 603 as follows: 1.1 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 1.2 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 1.3 Subd. 7. Essential employee. "Essential employee" means firefighters, peace officers 1.4 subject to licensure under sections 626.84 to 626.863, 911 system and police and fire 1.5 department public safety dispatchers, guards at correctional facilities, confidential employees, 1.6 supervisory employees, assistant county attorneys, assistant city attorneys, principals, and 1.7 assistant principals, and teachers. However, for state employees, "essential employee" means 1.8 all employees in law enforcement, public safety radio communications operators, health 1.9 care professionals, correctional guards, professional engineering, and supervisory collective 1.10 bargaining units, irrespective of severance, and no other employees. For University of 1.11 Minnesota employees, "essential employee" means all employees in law enforcement, 1.12 nursing professional and supervisory units, irrespective of severance, and no other employees. 1.13 1.14 "Firefighters" means salaried employees of a fire department whose duties include, directly or indirectly, controlling, extinguishing, preventing, detecting, or investigating fires. 1.15 Employees for whom the state court administrator is the negotiating employer are not 1.16 essential employees. For Hennepin Healthcare System, Inc. employees, "essential employees" 1.17 means all employees. 1.18

1.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.18, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Notice. In addition to the other requirements of this section, no employee may
strike unless written notification of intent to strike is served on the employer and the
commissioner by the exclusive representative at least ten days prior to the commencement
of the strike. For all employees other than teachers, If more than 30 days have expired after

1

2.1	service of a notification of intent to strike, no strike may commence until ten days after
2.2	service of a new written notification. For teachers, no strike may commence more than 25
2.3	days after service of notification of intent to strike unless, before the end of the 25-day
2.4	period, the exclusive representative and the employer agree that the period during which a
2.5	strike may commence shall be extended for an additional period not to exceed five days.
2.6	Teachers are limited to one notice of intent to strike for each contract negotiation period,
2.7	provided, however, that a strike notice may be renewed for an additional ten days, the first
2.8	five of which shall be a notice period during which no strike may occur, if the following
2.9	conditions have been satisfied:
2.10	(1) an original notice was provided pursuant to this section; and
2.11	(2) a tentative agreement to resolve the dispute was reached during the original strike
2.12	notice period; and
2.13	(3) such tentative agreement was rejected by either party during or after the original
2.14	strike notice period.
	-
2.15	The first day of the renewed strike notice period shall commence on the day following the
2.16	expiration of the previous strike notice period or the day following the rejection of the
2.17	tentative agreement, whichever is later. Notification of intent to strike under subdivisions
2.18	1, clause (1); and 2, clause (1), may not be served until the collective bargaining agreement
2.19	has expired, or if there is no agreement, on or after the date impasse under section 179A.17
2.20	has occurred.
2.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
2.22	Sec. 3. <u>REPEALER.</u>
2.23	Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.18, subdivision 2, is repealed.

2.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment."

2.25 Amend the title accordingly