
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1299 as follows:​

1.2 Page 1, before line 5, insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245A.043, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 3. Change of ownership process. (a) When a change in ownership is proposed​

1.5 and the party intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60​

1.6 days after acquiring the program or service, the license holder must provide the commissioner​

1.7 with written notice of the proposed change on a form provided by the commissioner at least​

1.8 60 days before the anticipated date of the change in ownership. For purposes of this​

1.9 subdivision and subdivision 4, "party" means the party that intends to operate the service​

1.10 or program.​

1.11 (b) The party must submit a license application under this chapter on the form and in​

1.12 the manner prescribed by the commissioner at least 30 days before the change in ownership​

1.13 is complete, and must include documentation to support the upcoming change. The party​

1.14 must comply with background study requirements under chapter 245C and shall pay the​

1.15 application fee required under section 245A.10. A party that intends to assume operation​

1.16 without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring the program or service​

1.17 is exempt from the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6800.​

1.18 (c) The commissioner may streamline application procedures when the party is an existing​

1.19 license holder under this chapter and is acquiring a program licensed under this chapter or​

1.20 service in the same service class as one or more licensed programs or services the party​

1.21 operates and those licenses are in substantial compliance. For purposes of this subdivision,​

1.22 "substantial compliance" means within the previous 12 months the commissioner did not​

1.23 (1) issue a sanction under section 245A.07 against a license held by the party, or (2) make​

1.24 a license held by the party conditional according to section 245A.06.​
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2.1 (d) Except when a temporary change in ownership license is issued pursuant to​

2.2 subdivision 4, the existing license holder is solely responsible for operating the program​

2.3 according to applicable laws and rules until a license under this chapter is issued to the​

2.4 party.​

2.5 (e) If a licensing inspection of the program or service was conducted within the previous​

2.6 12 months and the existing license holder's license record demonstrates substantial​

2.7 compliance with the applicable licensing requirements, the commissioner may waive the​

2.8 party's inspection required by section 245A.04, subdivision 4. The party must submit to the​

2.9 commissioner (1) proof that the premises was inspected by a fire marshal or that the fire​

2.10 marshal deemed that an inspection was not warranted, and (2) proof that the premises was​

2.11 inspected for compliance with the building code or that no inspection was deemed warranted.​

2.12 (f) If the party is seeking a license for a program or service that has an outstanding action​

2.13 under section 245A.06 or 245A.07, the party must submit a letter as part of the application​

2.14 process identifying how the party has or will come into full compliance with the licensing​

2.15 requirements.​

2.16 (g) The commissioner shall evaluate the party's application according to section 245A.04,​

2.17 subdivision 6. If the commissioner determines that the party has remedied or demonstrates​

2.18 the ability to remedy the outstanding actions under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 and has​

2.19 determined that the program otherwise complies with all applicable laws and rules, the​

2.20 commissioner shall issue a license or conditional license under this chapter. The conditional​

2.21 license remains in effect until the commissioner determines that the grounds for the action​

2.22 are corrected or no longer exist.​

2.23 (h) The commissioner may deny an application as provided in section 245A.05. An​

2.24 applicant whose application was denied by the commissioner may appeal the denial according​

2.25 to section 245A.05.​

2.26 (i) This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home​

2.27 where the license holder resides.​

2.28 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245F.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2.29 Subd. 2. Contents of application. Prior to the issuance of a license, an applicant must​

2.30 submit, on forms provided by the commissioner, documentation demonstrating the following:​

2.31 (1) compliance with this section;​

2.32 (2) compliance with applicable building, fire, and safety codes; health rules; zoning​

2.33 ordinances; and other applicable rules and regulations or documentation that a waiver has​
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3.1 been granted. The granting of a waiver does not constitute modification of any requirement​

3.2 of this section; and​

3.3 (3) completion of an assessment of need for a new or expanded program as required by​

3.4 Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6800; and​

3.5 (4) insurance coverage, including bonding, sufficient to cover all patient funds, property,​

3.6 and interests.​

3.7 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 245G.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

3.8 Subd. 2. Application. (a) Before the commissioner issues a license, an applicant must​

3.9 submit, on forms provided by the commissioner, any documents the commissioner requires.​

3.10 (b) At least 60 days prior to submitting an application for licensure under this chapter,​

3.11 the applicant must notify the county human services director in writing of its intent to open​

3.12 a new treatment program."​

3.13 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

3.14 Amend the title accordingly​

3​Sec. 3.​
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