STATE OF MINNESOTA EIGHTEENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 PM on March 12, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Rep. Urdahl moved that the minutes from March 10, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Chair Richardson moved that HF 1081 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Chair Richardson moved the DE1 amendment.

Chair Richardson moved that A19 amendment to the DE1 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Moller moved the A2 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Moller moved the A9 amendment.

Rep. Moller moved to divide the A9 amendment as follows: part one before line 1.6, part two beginning at line 1.6.

Rep. Moller moved part one of the A9 amendment.

Rep. Moller withdrew part one of the A9 amendment.

Rep. Moller moved part two of the A9 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Edelson moved the A4 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Frazier moved the A10 amendment.

Rep. Frazier requested a roll call vote.

Rep. Frazier renewed his motion to adopt the A10 amendment.

Members voting AYE:
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY: ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members excused/absent:

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENTMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Frazier moved the A21-0082 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Hassan moved the A17 amendment.

Rep. Hassan requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair

BERG, Kaela

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY:

ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

BOE, Greg

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean

Members excused/absent:

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Erickson moved the DE3 amendment.

Chair Richardson instructed that there would be a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

Members voting NAY:
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami

On a vote of 8 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL, THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Chair Richardson renewed her motion to adopt DE1 as amended.

Rep. Scott requested a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE:
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY:

ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

On a vote of 11 AYES and 8 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Richardson renewed motion to re-refer HF 1081 as amended to the Education Finance committee.

Chair Richardson instructed that there would be a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE:
RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair
HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair
BERG, Kaela
CHRISTENSEN, Shelly
EDELSON, Heather
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
MOLLER, Kelly
WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY: ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

On a vote of 11 AYES and 8 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The committee was adjourned at 2:23 PM.