STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

TWENTY-FIFTH MEETING NINETY-SECOND SESSION

HUMAN SERVICES FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Jennifer Schultz, Chair of the Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:30 am on March 4th, 2021 remotely via Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SCHULTZ, Jennifer (Chair) BAHNER, Kristin (Vice-Chair) ALBRIGHT, Tony (Lead) **BOLDON**, Liz BURKEL, John FISCHER, Peter FREDERICK, Luke HANSON, Jessica KIEL, Debra LIEBLING, Tina MOLLER, Kelly NOOR, Mohamud NOVOTNY, Paul PIERSON, Nels PINTO, Dave RASMUSSON, Jordan **ROBBINS**, Kristin SANDELL, Steve SCHOMACKER, Joe

A quorum was present.

Rep. Moller moved that the minutes from March 3rd, 2021 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF1434 (**Frederick**) Direct support service workforce rates increased if Minnesota and the Service Employees International Union Healthcare Minnesota labor agreement is approved. Testifiers

- Jacquelyn Kelly, testifying on behalf of SEIU
- Brittanie Wilson, client of PCA Choice Services

Chair Schultz moved that HF1434 be laid over for possible inclusion in a budget omnibus.

HF1431 (Frederick) Personal care assistance program modified.

Chair Schultz moved the DE1 Amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Testifiers:

- Ted Stamp, South Western Center for Independent Living
- Vicki Gerrits, Executive Director, MN First Community Solutions, representing the PCA Reform Coalition
- Kody Olson, Policy Advisor, Minnesota Council on Disability

Chair Schultz moved that HF1431, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in a budget omnibus.

HF1791 (Gomez) Local homeless prevention aid established, and money appropriated.

Chair Schultz moved to adopt the division report from the Preventing Homelessness Policy Division. THE REPORT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Schultz moved that HF1791 be rereferred to the Taxes Committee

Testifiers:

- Eric Grumdahl, Executive Director, MN Interagency Council on Homelessness
- Matt Hilgart, Association of MN Counties
- Ryan Baumtrog, Assistant Commissioner, Policy and Community Development at MN Housing

Chair Schultz renewed her motion to rerefer HF1791 as recommended to the Taxes Committee

Chair Schultz stated a roll call vote would be taken. The results were as follows:

SCHULTZ, Jennifer (Chair) BAHNER, Kristin (Vice-Chair) BOLDON, Liz FISCHER, Peter FREDERICK, Luke HANSON, Jessica LIEBLING, Tina MOLLER, Kelly PINTO, Dave RASMUSSON, Jordan SANDELL, Steve

NAYS ALBRIGHT, Tony (Lead) BURKEL, John KIEL, Debra NOOR, Mohamud NOVOTNY, Paul PIERSON, Nels ROBBINS, Kristin SCHOMACKER, Joe

On a vote of 11 AYES and 8 NAYS THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:56am.

Representative Jennifer Schultz, Chair

Lyndsey Hanson, Committee Legislative Assistant