Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Anderson, Chair of the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM, on February 24, 2025, in Room G3 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

ANDERSON, Paul, Chair
HARDER, Bobbie, Vice Chair
HANSEN, Rick, DFL Lead
AGBAJE, Esther
BURKEL, John
FREDERICK, Luke
GANDER, Steve
JACOB, Steve
LAWRENCE, Bryan
LEE, Fue
NELSON, Nathan
SMITH, Andy
VANG, Samantha

Representative Nelson moved the minutes of February 17, 2025 be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The following individuals presented on the MN FFA program: Kaiya Grossman, FFA State Secretary, Grand Rapids Natalie Clemenson, FFA State Reporter, Zumbrota-Mazeppa

The following individuals from the Office of the Legislative Auditor presented their report on Bioincentive and Biofuel Infrastructure Grant Program:

Lori Leysen, Office of the Legislative Auditor

Valentia Stone, Office of the Legislative Auditor

Andrea Vaubel, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, gave the department's response.

The following individuals gave the Minnesota Department of Agriculture's budget overview: Andrea Vaubel, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture Kari Suchy, Director, Facilities Management Division, Minnesota Department of Administration Matt McDevitt, Financial Supervisor, Minnesota Department of Agriculture/Rural Finance Authority

Paul Hugunin, Director, Ag Marketing and Development Division, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Representative Harder assumed the gavel 2:00 PM.

HF1063 (Anderson) Grain Buyers financial reporting requirements modified

Chair Anderson moved HF1063 before the committee.

The following individuals testified on HF1063: Nick Milanowski, Minnesota Department of Agriculture Donavon Story, Owner, The Feed Mill Inc., Barnesville, MN Jim Falk, Falk Seed Farm, MN Farmers Union

Chair Anderson moved that HF1063 be placed on the General Register. Chair Anderson requested a roll call vote.

The results were as follows:

AYE
ANDERSON, Paul
HARDER, Bobbie
AGBAJE, Esther
BURKEL, John
FREDERICK, Luke
GANDER, Steve
JACOB, Steven
LAWRENCE, Bryan
NELSON, Nathan

NAY HANSEN, Rick SMITH, Andy LEE, Fue VANG, Samantha

On a vote of 9 AYES and 4 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:50 PM.

Representative Paul Anderson, Chair
Connie Edwards, Committee Legislative Assistant