STATE OF MINNESOTA TWENTIETH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:38 PM on March 17, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Rep. Edelson moved that the minutes from March 15, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Rep. Edelson moved that the corrected minutes from February 15, 2021, February 17, 2021, March 3, 2021, and March 5, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Rep. Keeler moved that HF 1317 be re-referred to the Tax Committee.

Rep. Keeler presented HF 1317.

Testifiers:

Hannah Howe, Teacher, Columbia Heights School District Karen Taylor, Teacher, Horizon Middle School Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, MDE

Rep. Keeler renewed her motion that HF 1317 be re-referred to the Tax Committee.

Chair Richardson instructed that there would be a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused: HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair BOE, Greg

On a vote of 17 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Edelson moved that HF 965 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Rep. Edelson moved the DE2 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Edelson presented HF 965.

Testifiers:

Kim Baker, Parent and special education teacher Megan Baker, Student Maren Hulden, LegalAid and Minnesota Disability Law Center Kate Lynne Snyder, Education Minnesota Deqa Farah, Parent

Rep. Edelson renews her motion that HF 965, as amended, be re-referred to the Education Finance committee.

Chair Richardson instructed that there would be a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy

Members voting NAY: DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

Members excused:

URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

BOE, Greg

On a vote of 17 AYES and 1 NAY, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Edelson moved that HF 1644 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Rep. Edelson moved the DE2 amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Edelson presented HF 1644.

Testifiers:

Salma Abdi, CD 1 Representative, Minnesota Youth Council

Eric Li, CD 2 Representative, Minnesota Youth Council

Dr. Lucy Payne, Mahtomedi School Board Chair

Steve Troen, Director of Teaching and Learning, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District

Kate Lynne Snyder, Education Minnesota

Rep. Edelson renewed her motion that HF 1644, as amended, be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Chair Richardson instructed that a roll call vote would be taken.

Members voting AYE:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair

ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

BERG, Kaela

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY:

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

BOE, Greg

On a vote of 17 AYES and 2 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The committee was adjourned at 2:50 PM