STATE OF MINNESOTA THIRD MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:01 PM on January 20, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused: BOE, Greg

Rep. Moller moved that the minutes from January 13, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Rep. Hassan moved that HF 4 be recommended to be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Rep. Hassan moved the A1 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Hassan presented HF 4.

Testifiers: Scott Croonquist, Association of Metropolitan School Districts Bob Indihar, Minnesota Rural Education Association Denise Diitrich, Minnesota School Boards Association Maren Hulden, Legal Aid Julie Ruzek, District Coordinator of Family & Community Engagement, Rochester Public Schools Will Ruffin, Community School Site Facilitator, Gage Elementary Lida Casper, Community School Facilitator, Riverside Elementary Jim Sporleder, Jim Sporleder Consulting, National School Trauma Responsive Trainer Dr. Peter Nelson, Serve Minnesota Kari Denissen Cunnien, Ignite Afterschool Michel Be, Youth Media Manager, KRSM+ Pillsbury United Communities at Waite House Louis King, North Star Network Hope Melton, Edina Citizen Matt Shaved, EdAllies Paula Cole, Educators for Excellence

Rep. Hassan renewed her motion that HF 4, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Chair Richardson directed the clerk to take the roll.

Members voting AYE: RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST. Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL. Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY: DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

Members excused: BOE, Greg

On a vote of 17 AYES and 1 NAY, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The committee was adjourned at 2:28 PM.