Environment and Natural Resources Finance Division

MINUTES

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance Division, called the meeting to order at 12:00 P.M. on April 24th, 2020, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcasted via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick, Chair LEE, Fue CLAFLIN, Anne, Vice Chair LUECK, Dale FABIAN, Dan, GOP Lead MORRISON, Kelly BACKER, Jeff NELSON, Nathan BECKER-FINN, Jamie PERSELL, John ECKLUND, Rob SANDELL, Steve SUNDIN, Mike FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve THEIS, Tama HEINTZEMAN, Josh WAGENIUS, Jean

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 12:00 P.M. A quorum was present.

Representative Becker-Finn moved to approve the minutes of April 21st, 2020. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF3657 (Hansen) Natural resources; various provisions modified relating to certifiable fish diseases; local regulation in Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area; wild rice lease exchange requirements; school trust land reporting requirements; snowmobile transporting; insecticide use; invasive species permits; regulation of possessing, propagating, and selling snakes, lizards, and salamanders; game and fish licenses after convictions; hunting and fishing provisions; and Lake Superior Management Plan.

Chair Hansen moved that HF3657 be recommended to be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Representative Becker-Finn moved to adopt the A7 amendment.

Testifying on the A7 amendment: Bob Meier, Department of Natural Resources Col. Rodmen Smith, Department of Natural Resources Linda Glaser, Board of Animal Health Tony Kwilas, Minnesota Elk Breeders Association and Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Jason Moeckel, Department of Natural Resources

Representative Becker-Finn renewed the motion to adopt the A7 amendment. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

AYE

HANSEN

CLAFIN

BECKER-FINN

ECKLUND

FISCHER

LEE

MORRISON

PERSELL

SANDELL

SUNDIN

WAGENIUS

NAY

FABIAN

BACKER

GREEN

HEINTZEMAN

LUECK

NELSON, N.

THEIS

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS; THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Becker-Finn moved to adopt the A4 amendment. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

AYE

HANSEN

CLAFLIN

FABIAN

BACKER

BECKER-FINN

ECKLUND

FISCHER

GREEN

HEINTZEMAN

LEE

LUECK

MORRISON

NELSON, N.

PERSELL

SANDELL

SUNDIN

THEIS

WAGENIUS

On a vote of 18 AYES and 0 NAYS; THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Fabian moved to adopt the A6 amendment. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

AYE

HANSEN

CLAFLIN

FABIAN

BACKER

BECKER-FINN

ECKLUND

FISCHER

GREEN

HEINTZEMAN

LEE

LUECK

MORRISON

NELSON, N.

PERSELL

SANDELL

SUNDIN

THEIS

WAGENIUS

On a vote of 18 AYES and 0 NAYS; THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF3657 as amended be recommended to be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

AYE

HANSEN

CLAFIN

BECKER-FINN

ECKLUND

FISCHER

LEE

MORRISON

PERSELL

SANDELL

SUNDIN

WAGENIUS

NAY

FABIAN

BACKER

GREEN

HEINTZEMAN

LUECK

NELSON, N.

THEIS

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS; THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:25 P.M.