
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4055 as follows:​

1.2 Page 1, after line 10, insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47.60, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.4 to read:​

1.5 Subd. 7. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions​

1.6 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

1.7 Page 2, delete sections 2 and 3 and insert:​

1.8 "Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 53.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

1.9 read:​

1.10 Subd. 9. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions​

1.11 2 and 3, apply to this section.​

1.12 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 53A.03, is amended to read:​

1.13 53A.03 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE; FEES.​

1.14 (a) An application for a license must be in writing, under oath, and in the form prescribed​

1.15 and furnished by the commissioner and must contain the following:​

1.16 (1) the full name and address (both of residence and place of business) of the applicant,​

1.17 and if the applicant is a partnership or association, of every member, and the name and​

1.18 business address if the applicant is a corporation;​

1.19 (2) the county and municipality, with street and number, if any, of all currency exchange​

1.20 locations operated by the applicant; and​

1.21 (3) the applicant's occupation or profession, for the ten years immediately preceding the​

1.22 application; present or previous connection with any other currency exchange in this or any​
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2.1 other state; whether the applicant has ever been convicted of any crime; and the nature of​

2.2 the applicant's occupancy of the premises to be licensed; and if the applicant is a partnership​

2.3 or a corporation, the information specified in this paragraph must be supplied for each​

2.4 partner and each officer and director of the corporation. If the applicant is a partnership or​

2.5 a nonpublicly held corporation, the information specified in this paragraph must be required​

2.6 of each partner and each officer, director, and stockholders owning in excess of ten percent​

2.7 of the corporate stock of the corporation.​

2.8 (b) The application shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $1,000 for the review​

2.9 of the initial application. Upon approval by the commissioner, an additional license fee of​

2.10 $500 must be paid by the applicant as an annual license fee for the remainder of the calendar​

2.11 year. An annual license fee of $500 is due for each subsequent calendar year of operation​

2.12 upon submission of a license renewal application on or before September 1. Fees must be​

2.13 deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. Upon payment of the required​

2.14 annual license fee, the commissioner shall issue a license for the year beginning January 1.​

2.15 (c) The commissioner shall require the applicant to submit to a background investigation​

2.16 conducted by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as a condition of licensure. As part of​

2.17 the background investigation, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall conduct criminal​

2.18 history checks of Minnesota records and is authorized to exchange fingerprints with the​

2.19 Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of a criminal background check of the​

2.20 national files. The cost of the investigation must be paid by the applicant.​

2.21 (d) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section.​

2.22 (d) (e) For purposes of this section, "applicant" includes an employee who exercises​

2.23 management or policy control over the company, a director, an officer, a limited or general​

2.24 partner, a manager, or a shareholder holding more than ten percent of the outstanding stock​

2.25 of the corporation.​

2.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 53B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

2.27 read:​

2.28 Subd. 6. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions​

2.29 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

2.30 Page 5, after line 2, insert:​

2.31 "(f) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

2.32 Page 5, after line 2, insert:​
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3.1 "Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 56.02, is amended to read:​

3.2 56.02 APPLICATION FEE.​

3.3 (a) Application for license shall be in writing, under oath, and in the form prescribed by​

3.4 the commissioner, and contain the name and the address, both of the residence and place​

3.5 of business, of the applicant and, if the applicant is a copartnership or association, of every​

3.6 member thereof, and if a corporation, of each officer and director thereof; also the county​

3.7 and municipality, with street and number, if any, where the business is to be conducted, and​

3.8 such further information as the commissioner may require. The applicant at the time of​

3.9 making application, shall pay to the commissioner the sum of $500 as a fee for investigating​

3.10 the application, and the additional sum of $250 as an annual license fee for a period​

3.11 terminating on the last day of the current calendar year. In addition to the annual license​

3.12 fee, every licensee hereunder shall pay to the commissioner the actual costs of each​

3.13 examination, as provided for in section 56.10. All moneys collected by the commissioner​

3.14 under this chapter shall be turned over to the commissioner of management and budget and​

3.15 credited by the commissioner of management and budget to the general fund of the state.​

3.16 (b) Every applicant shall also prove, in form satisfactory to the commissioner, that the​

3.17 applicant has available for the operation of the business at the location specified in the​

3.18 application, liquid assets of at least $50,000.​

3.19 (c) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

3.20 Page 5, after line 9, insert:​

3.21 "Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 58.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

3.22 read:​

3.23 Subd. 4. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions​

3.24 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

3.25 Page 6, after line 2, insert:​

3.26 "Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 59A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision​

3.27 to read:​

3.28 Subd. 4. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions​

3.29 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

3.30 Pages 9 to 12, delete sections 14 to 18 and insert:​
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4.1 "Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 82C.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

4.2 Subd. 2. Owner requirements. (a) An appraisal management company applying to the​

4.3 commissioner for a license in this state may must not be more than ten percent owned by​

4.4 any person that is currently subject to any cease and desist order or injunctive order that​

4.5 would preclude involvement with an appraisal management company, or that has ever:​

4.6 (1) voluntarily surrendered in lieu of disciplinary action an appraiser certification,​

4.7 registration or license, or an appraisal management company license;​

4.8 (2) been the subject of a final order revoking or denying an appraiser certification,​

4.9 registration or license, or an appraisal management company license; or​

4.10 (3) a final order barring involvement in any industry or profession issued by this or​

4.11 another state or federal regulatory agency.​

4.12 (b) A person that owns more than ten percent of an appraisal management company in​

4.13 this state shall:​

4.14 (1) be of good moral character, as determined by the commissioner;​

4.15 (2) submit to a background investigation, as determined by the commissioner; and​

4.16 (3) certify to the commissioner that the person has never been the subject of an order of​

4.17 certificate, registration or license suspension, revocation, or denial; cease and desist order;​

4.18 injunctive order; or order barring involvement in an industry or profession issued by this​

4.19 or another state or federal regulatory agency.​

4.20 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 82C.06, is amended to read:​

4.21 82C.06 EXEMPTIONS.​

4.22 This chapter does not apply to:​

4.23 (1) a person that exclusively employs appraisers on an employer and employee basis​

4.24 for the performance of appraisals, and:​

4.25 (i) the employer is responsible for ensuring that the appraisals are performed by​

4.26 employees in accordance with USPAP; and​

4.27 (ii) the employer accepts all liability associated with the performance of the appraisal​

4.28 by the employee;​

4.29 (2) a department or unit within a financial institution that is subject to direct regulation​

4.30 by an agency of the United States government, or to regulation by an agency of this state,​

4.31 that receives a request for the performance of an appraisal from one employee of the financial​
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5.1 institution, and another employee of the same financial institution assigns the request for​

5.2 the appraisal to an appraiser that is an independent contractor to the institution, except that​

5.3 an appraisal management company that is a wholly owned subsidiary of a financial institution​

5.4 shall not be is considered a department or unit within a financial institution to which the​

5.5 provisions of this chapter do not apply;​

5.6 (3) a person that enters into an agreement, whether written or otherwise, with an appraiser​

5.7 for the performance of an appraisal, and upon the completion of the appraisal, the report of​

5.8 the appraiser performing the appraisal is signed by both the appraiser who completed the​

5.9 appraisal and the appraiser who requested the completion of the appraisal, except that an​

5.10 appraisal management company may not avoid the requirements of this chapter by requiring​

5.11 that an employee of the appraisal management company that is an appraiser to sign an​

5.12 appraisal that is completed by an appraiser that is part of the appraisal panel of the appraisal​

5.13 management company; or​

5.14 (4) any governmental agency performing appraisals on behalf of that level of government​

5.15 or any agency performing ad valorem tax appraisals for county assessors.​

5.16 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 82C.15, is amended to read:​

5.17 82C.15 ADJUDICATION OF DISPUTES BETWEEN AN APPRAISAL​

5.18 MANAGEMENT COMPANY AND AN INDEPENDENT APPRAISER.​

5.19 Except within the first 30 days after an independent appraiser is first added to the​

5.20 appraiser panel of an appraisal management company, An appraisal management company​

5.21 may not remove an appraiser from its appraiser panel, or otherwise refuse to assign requests​

5.22 for real estate appraisal services to an independent appraiser without:​

5.23 (1) notifying the appraiser in writing of the reasons why the appraiser is being removed​

5.24 from the appraiser panel or is not receiving appraisal requests from the appraisal management​

5.25 company;​

5.26 (2) if the appraiser is being removed from the panel for illegal conduct, having determined​

5.27 that the appraiser has violated USPAP, or chapter 82B, taking into account the nature of​

5.28 the alleged conduct or violation; and​

5.29 (3) providing an opportunity for the appraiser to respond and appeal the notification of​

5.30 the appraisal management company.​
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6.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 216C.437, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

6.2 Subd. 11. Powers of the commissioner. (a) The commissioner has under this section​

6.3 the same powers the commissioner has under section 45.027, including the authority to​

6.4 impose a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 per violation.​

6.5 (b) The commissioner may condition or refuse to renew a license for any of the reasons​

6.6 the commissioner may deny, suspend, or revoke a license.​

6.7 (c) The commissioner may order restitution against persons subject to this section for​

6.8 violations of this section.​

6.9 (d) The commissioner may issue orders or directives under this section as follows:​

6.10 (1) order or direct persons subject to this chapter to cease and desist from conducting​

6.11 business, including immediate temporary orders to cease and desist;​

6.12 (2) order or direct persons subject to this chapter to cease any harmful activities or​

6.13 violations of this chapter, including immediate temporary orders to cease and desist;​

6.14 (3) enter immediate temporary orders to cease business under a license if the​

6.15 commissioner determines that the license was erroneously granted or the licensee is currently​

6.16 in violation of this chapter; and​

6.17 (4) order or direct other affirmative action the commissioner considers necessary.​

6.18 (e) Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or order of the commissioner​

6.19 is a separate and distinct violation or failure.​

6.20 (f) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section.​

6.21 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 332.30, is amended to read:​

6.22 332.30 ACCELERATED MORTGAGE PAYMENT PROVIDER; BOND​

6.23 REQUIREMENTS.​

6.24 (a) Before beginning business in this state, an accelerated mortgage payment provider,​

6.25 as defined in section 332A.02, subdivision 8, clause (9), shall submit to the commissioner​

6.26 of commerce an authorization fee of $250 and either:​

6.27 (1) a surety bond in which the accelerated mortgage payment provider is the obligor, in​

6.28 an amount determined by the commissioner; or​

6.29 (2) if the commissioner agrees to accept it, a deposit:​

6.30 (i) in cash in an amount equivalent to the bond amount; or​
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7.1 (ii) of authorized securities, as defined in section 50.14, with an aggregate market value​

7.2 equal to the bond amount. The cash or securities must be deposited with the commissioner​

7.3 of management and budget.​

7.4 (b) The amount of the bond required by the commissioner shall vary with the amount​

7.5 of Minnesota client funds held or to be held by the obligor. For new businesses, the bond​

7.6 must be no less than $100,000, except as provided in section 332.301. The commissioner​

7.7 may increase the required bond amount upon 30 days' notice to the accelerated mortgage​

7.8 payment provider.​

7.9 (c) If a bond is submitted, it must name as surety an insurance company authorized to​

7.10 transact fidelity and surety business in this state. The bond must run to the state of Minnesota​

7.11 for the use of the state and of any person who may have a claim against the obligor arising​

7.12 out of the obligor's activities as an accelerated mortgage payment provider. The bond must​

7.13 be conditioned that the obligor will not commit any fraudulent act and will faithfully conform​

7.14 to and abide by the provisions of accelerated mortgage payment agreements with Minnesota​

7.15 residents.​

7.16 (d) If an accelerated mortgage payment provider has failed to account to a mortgagor​

7.17 or distribute funds to the mortgagee as required by an accelerated mortgage payment​

7.18 agreement, the mortgagor or the mortgagor's legal representative or receiver or the​

7.19 commissioner shall have, in addition to any other legal remedies, a right of action in the​

7.20 name of the debtor on the bond or the security given pursuant to this section.​

7.21 (e) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

7.22 Page 12, after line 25, insert:​

7.23 "Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 332.54, is amended by adding a subdivision​

7.24 to read:​

7.25 Subd. 8. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions​

7.26 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

7.27 Page 14, after line 21, insert:​

7.28 "Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 332A.03, is amended to read:​

7.29 332A.03 REQUIREMENT OF REGISTRATION.​

7.30 (a) On or after August 1, 2007, it is unlawful for any person, whether or not located in​

7.31 this state, to operate as a debt management services provider or provide debt management​
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8.1 services, including but not limited to offering, advertising, or executing or causing to be​

8.2 executed any debt management services or debt management services agreement, except​

8.3 as authorized by law without first becoming registered as provided in this chapter. A person​

8.4 who possesses a valid license as a debt prorater that was issued by the commissioner before​

8.5 August 1, 2007, is deemed to be registered as a debt management services provider until​

8.6 the date the debt prorater license expires, at which time the licensee must obtain a renewal​

8.7 as a debt management services provider in compliance with this chapter. Debt proraters​

8.8 who were not required to be licensed as debt proraters before August 1, 2007, may continue​

8.9 to provide debt management services without complying with this chapter to those debtors​

8.10 who entered into a contract to participate in a debt management plan before August 1, 2007,​

8.11 except that the debt prorater must comply with section 332A.13, subdivision 2.​

8.12 (b) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section.​

8.13 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 332B.04, is amended by adding a subdivision​

8.14 to read:​

8.15 Subd. 8. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions​

8.16 2 and 3, apply to this section."​

8.17 Renumber the sections in sequence​

8.18 Correct the title numbers accordingly​
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