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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3118 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 273.13, subdivision 34, is amended to read:1.3

Subd. 34. Homestead of disabled veteran or family caregiver. (a) All or a1.4

portion of the market value of property owned by a veteran and serving as the veteran's1.5

homestead under this section is excluded in determining the property's taxable market1.6

value if the veteran has a service-connected disability of 70 percent or more as certified1.7

by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. To qualify for exclusion under this1.8

subdivision, the veteran must have been honorably discharged from the United States1.9

armed forces, as indicated by United States Government Form DD214 or other official1.10

military discharge papers.1.11

(b)(1) For a disability rating of 70 percent or more, $150,000 of market value is1.12

excluded, except as provided in clause (2); and1.13

(2) for a total (100 percent) and permanent disability, $300,000 of market value is1.14

excluded.1.15

(c) If a disabled veteran qualifying for a valuation exclusion under paragraph (b),1.16

clause (2), predeceases the veteran's spouse, and if upon the death of the veteran the1.17

spouse holds the legal or beneficial title to the homestead and permanently resides there,1.18

the exclusion shall carry over to the benefit of the veteran's spouse for the current taxes1.19

payable year and for eight additional taxes payable years or until such time as the spouse1.20

remarries, or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the property, whichever comes first.1.21

Qualification under this paragraph requires an annual application under paragraph (h).1.22

(d) If the spouse of a member of any branch or unit of the United States armed1.23

forces who dies due to a service-connected cause while serving honorably in active1.24

service, as indicated on United States Government Form DD1300 or DD2064, holds1.25

the legal or beneficial title to a homestead and permanently resides there, the spouse is1.26

entitled to the benefit described in paragraph (b), clause (2), for eight taxes payable years,1.27
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or until such time as the spouse remarries or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the2.1

property, whichever comes first.2.2

(e) If a veteran meets the disability criteria of paragraph (a) but does not own2.3

property classified as homestead in the state of Minnesota, then the homestead of the2.4

veteran's primary family caregiver, if any, is eligible for the exclusion that the veteran2.5

would otherwise qualify for under paragraph (b).2.6

(f) In the case of an agricultural homestead, only the portion of the property2.7

consisting of the house and garage and immediately surrounding one acre of land qualifies2.8

for the valuation exclusion under this subdivision.2.9

(g) A property qualifying for a valuation exclusion under this subdivision is not2.10

eligible for the market value exclusion under subdivision 35, or classification under2.11

subdivision 22, paragraph (b).2.12

(h)To qualify for a valuation exclusion under this subdivision, the property owner2.13

must file an application with the assessor. Upon verifying that the applicant qualifies for2.14

the exclusion, the county assessor must notify the auditor, and the auditor must recalculate2.15

the taxes on the property for the current taxes payable year based on the exclusion. The2.16

county must then issue an abatement of taxes due in the current taxes payable year based2.17

on the difference between the taxes as initially calculated and the taxes based on the value2.18

remaining after the exclusion, pro-rated for the remainder of the year based on the later2.19

of the date the application was received or the date the property first qualified for the2.20

exclusion. If the abatement is made after payment of all or a portion of the taxes being2.21

abated have been paid, the portion already paid must be refunded to the taxpayer by the2.22

county treasurer as soon as practical. Abatements granted under this paragraph are not2.23

subject to approval by the county board.2.24

(i) The county auditor shall certify the abatements granted under this section to the2.25

commissioner of revenue for reimbursement to each taxing jurisdiction in which the2.26

property is located. The commissioner shall make the payments to the taxing jurisdictions2.27

containing the property, other than school districts and the state, at the time distributions2.28

are made under section 473H.10, subdivision 3. Reimbursements to school districts shall2.29

be made as provided in section 273.1392. No reimbursement is to be paid to the state2.30

treasury. There is annually appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of2.31

revenue an amount necessary to make the payments required by this section.2.32

(j) To qualify for a valuation exclusion under this subdivision After initial2.33

qualification, a property owner must apply reapply to the assessor by July 1 of each2.34

assessment year, except that an annual reapplication is not required once for a property2.35

has been accepted for a valuation exclusion under paragraph (a) and that qualifies for2.36
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the benefit described in paragraph (b), clause (2), and the property continues to qualify3.1

until there is a change in ownership. For an application received after July 1 of any3.2

calendar year, the exclusion shall become effective for the following assessment year3.3

When a property qualifying for a market value exclusion under this subdivision is sold3.4

or transferred prior to July 1, the exclusion must be removed for taxes payable in the3.5

following year, provided that the new owner may file a claim for an exclusion if eligible.3.6

(i) (k) A first-time application by a qualifying spouse for the market value exclusion3.7

under paragraph (d) must be made any time within two years of the death of the service3.8

member.3.9

(j) (l) For purposes of this subdivision:3.10

(1) "active service" has the meaning given in section 190.05;3.11

(2) "own" means that the person's name is present as an owner on the property deed;3.12

(3) "primary family caregiver" means a person who is approved by the secretary of3.13

the United States Department of Veterans Affairs for assistance as the primary provider3.14

of personal care services for an eligible veteran under the Program of Comprehensive3.15

Assistance for Family Caregivers, codified as United States Code, title 38, section 1720G;3.16

and3.17

(4) "veteran" has the meaning given the term in section 197.447.3.18

(k) (m) The purpose of this provision of law providing a level of homestead property3.19

tax relief for gravely disabled veterans, their primary family caregivers, and their surviving3.20

spouses is to help ease the burdens of war for those among our state's citizens who bear3.21

those burdens most heavily."3.22
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