03/14/17 12:58 PM HOUSE RESEARCH DP/JF H1453DE1

1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256J.45, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 2. General information. The MFIP orientation must consist of a presentation
1.5	that informs caregivers of:
1.6	(1) the necessity to obtain immediate employment;
1.7	(2) the work incentives under MFIP, including the availability of the federal earned
1.8	income tax credit and the Minnesota working family tax credit;
1.9	(3) the requirement to comply with the employment plan and other requirements of the
1.10	employment and training services component of MFIP, including a description of the range
1.11	of work and training activities that are allowable under MFIP to meet the individual needs
1.12	of participants;
1.13	(4) the consequences for failing to comply with the employment plan and other program
1.14	requirements, and that the county agency may not impose a sanction when failure to comply
1.15	is due to the unavailability of child care or other circumstances where the participant has
1.16	good cause under subdivision 3;
1.17	(5) the rights, responsibilities, and obligations of participants;
1.18	(6) the types and locations of child care services available through the county agency;
1.19	(7) the availability and the benefits of the early childhood health and developmental
1.20	screening under sections 121A.16 to 121A.19; 123B.02, subdivision 16; and 123B.10;

(8) the caregiver's eligibility for transition year child care assistance under section

(9) the availability of all health care programs, including transitional medical assistance;

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1453 as follows:

1.1

1.21

1.22

1.23

119B.05;

Section 1.

03/14/17 12:58 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	DD/IE	H1452DE1
U3/14/1/ 12:38 PIVI	HOUSE RESEARCH	DP/JF	H1453DE1

2.1	(10) the caregiver's option to choose an employment and training provider and information
2.2	about each provider, including but not limited to, services offered, program components,
2.3	job placement rates, job placement wages, and job retention rates;
2.4	(11) the caregiver's option to request approval of an education and training plan according
2.5	to section 256J.53;
2.6	(12) the work study programs available under the higher education system; and
2.7	(13) information about the 60-month time limit exemptions under the family violence
2.8	waiver and referral information about shelters and programs for victims of family violence;
2.9	<u>and</u>
2.10	(14) information about the income exclusions under section 256P.06, subdivision 2.
2.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.
2.12	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256P.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
2.13	Subd. 2. Exempted individuals. (a) The following members of an assistance unit under
2.14	chapters 119B and 256J are exempt from having their earned income count towards the
2.15	income of an assistance unit:
2.16	(1) children under six years old;
2.17	(2) caregivers under 20 years of age enrolled at least half-time in school; and
2.18	(3) minors enrolled in school full time.
2.19	(b) The following members of an assistance unit are exempt from having their earned
2.20	and unearned income count toward the income of an assistance unit for 18 consecutive
2.21	calendar months, beginning the month following the marriage date, for benefits under chapter
2.22	256J if the household income does not exceed 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines:
2.23	(1) a new spouse to a caretaker in an existing assistance unit; and
2.24	(2) the spouse designated by a newly married couple, when both spouses were already
2.25	members of an assistance unit under chapter 256J.
2.26	(c) If members of an assistance unit identified in paragraph (b) also receive assistance
2.27	under section 119B.05, they are exempt from having their earned income count toward the
2.28	income of the assistance unit if the household income prior to the exemption does not exceed
2.29	67 percent of the state median income for recipients under section 119B.05 for 39 consecutive
2.30	biweekly periods beginning the second biweekly period after the marriage date.
2.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018."

Sec. 2. 2

03/14/17 12:58 PM HOUSE RESEARCH DP/JF H1453DE1

3.1 Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 2. 3