

April 8, 2021

Chair Mohamed Noor House Workforce and Business Development Finance and Policy Via Email: <a href="mailto:rep.mohamud.noor@house.mn">rep.mohamud.noor@house.mn</a>

Dear Chair Noor and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to provide written testimony. We are writing to thank you for your support of the Nonprofit Infrastructure Grant Program (NGIP) and for including it in your Workforce and Business Development Finance and Policy Omnibus Bill (HF 1342). We also want to express our appreciation to Representative Tou Xiong, our chief author. The NGIP has historically had bi-partisan support and we want to recognize Representative Hamilton who was chief author in 2017.

This competitive grant process administered by Propel Nonprofits has been very successful in supporting small cultural nonprofits to serve communities statewide and build capacity. For the 2020-2021 grant cycle, there were 130 applications submitted for the NGIP. Funding was only available to 11 organizations. This shows a clear need for this program.

This grant is essential to helping small nonprofits led by and for people of color. If we want our communities to thrive, we need to prioritize funding to nonprofits who's staff/board reflects the community they serve. This is a direct investment into communities to grow and expand the cultural and linguistic services that many new Americans and communities of color need. Additionally, culturally appropriate nonprofits play a critical role in building strong and vibrant communities, they minimize economic and social burdens on government.

Nonprofit organizations play an important role in MN's economy and workforce -- they provide essential services, employ local residents, and improve the quality of life. We thank you again for including the NGIP in your Omnibus bill.

Sincerely,

KaYing Yang

Director of Programs & Partnerships

CC: Workforce and Business Development Finance and Policy Committee

Rep. Jay Xiong, Vice-Chair

Rep. Barb Haley

Rep. Rod Hamilton

Rep. Tony Jurgens

Rep. Dave Baker

Rep. Erin Koegel

Rep. Jim Davnie Rep. Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn

Rep. Keith Franke Rep. Liz Olson Rep. Emma Greenman Rep. Tou Xiong