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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3467, the delete everything amendment1.1
(H3467DE1), as follows:1.2

Page 7, after line 10, insert:1.3

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 144A.611, subdivision 1, is amended to read:1.4

Subdivision 1. Nursing homes and certified boarding care homes. The actual1.5

costs of tuition and textbooks and reasonable expenses for the competency evaluation1.6

or the nursing assistant training program and competency evaluation approved under1.7

section 144A.61, which are paid to nursing assistants or adult training programs pursuant1.8

to subdivision subdivisions 2 and 4, are a reimbursable expense for nursing homes1.9

and certified boarding care homes under the provisions of chapter 256B and the rules1.10

promulgated thereunder section 256B.431, subdivision 36.1.11

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 144A.611, subdivision 2, is amended to read:1.12

Subd. 2. Nursing assistants Reimbursement for training program and1.13

competency evaluation costs. A nursing assistant who has completed an approved1.14

competency evaluation or an approved training program and competency evaluation1.15

shall be reimbursed by the nursing home or certified boarding care home for actual costs1.16

of tuition and textbooks and reasonable expenses for the competency evaluation or the1.17

training program and competency evaluation 90 days after the date of employment, or1.18

upon completion of the approved training program, whichever is later.1.19

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 144A.611, is amended by adding a1.20

subdivision to read:1.21

Subd. 4. Reimbursement for adult basic education components. (a) Nursing1.22

facilities and certified boarding care homes shall provide reimbursement for costs related1.23

to additional adult basic education components of an approved nursing assistant training1.24

program, to:1.25
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(1) an adult training program that provided an approved nursing assistant training2.1

program to an employee of the nursing facility or boarding care home; or2.2

(2) a nursing assistant who is an employee of the nursing facility or boarding care2.3

home and completed an approved nursing assistant training program provided by an2.4

adult training program.2.5

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, adult basic education components of a nursing2.6

assistant training program must include the following, if needed: training in mathematics,2.7

vocabulary, literacy skills, workplace skills, resume writing, and job interview skills.2.8

Reimbursement provided under this subdivision shall not exceed 30 percent of the cost of2.9

tuition, textbooks, and competency evaluation.2.10

(c) An adult training program is prohibited from billing program students, nursing2.11

facilities, or certified boarding care homes for costs under this subdivision until the2.12

program student has been employed by the nursing facility as a certified nursing assistant2.13

for at least 90 days.2.14

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for costs incurred on or after October2.15

1, 2016."2.16

Page 12, after line 4, insert:2.17

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 256B.431, subdivision 36,2.18

is amended to read:2.19

Subd. 36. Employee scholarship costs and training in English as a second2.20

language. (a) For the period between July 1, 2001, and June 30, 2003, the commissioner2.21

shall provide to each nursing facility reimbursed under this section, section 256B.434,2.22

or any other section, a scholarship per diem of 25 cents to the total operating payment2.23

rate. For the 27-month period beginning October 1, 2015, through December 31, 2017,2.24

the commissioner shall allow a scholarship per diem of up to 25 cents for each nursing2.25

facility with no scholarship per diem that is requesting a scholarship per diem to be added2.26

to the external fixed payment rate to be used:2.27

(1) for employee scholarships that satisfy the following requirements:2.28

(i) scholarships are available to all employees who work an average of at least2.29

ten hours per week at the facility except the administrator, and to reimburse student2.30

loan expenses for newly hired and recently graduated registered nurses and licensed2.31

practical nurses, and training expenses for nursing assistants as defined specified in section2.32

144A.611, subdivision subdivisions 2 and 4, who are newly hired and have graduated2.33

within the last 12 months; and2.34
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(ii) the course of study is expected to lead to career advancement with the facility or3.1

in long-term care, including medical care interpreter services and social work; and3.2

(2) to provide job-related training in English as a second language.3.3

(b) All facilities may annually request a rate adjustment under this subdivision by3.4

submitting information to the commissioner on a schedule and in a form supplied by the3.5

commissioner. The commissioner shall allow a scholarship payment rate equal to the3.6

reported and allowable costs divided by resident days.3.7

(c) In calculating the per diem under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall allow3.8

costs related to tuition, direct educational expenses, and reasonable costs as defined by the3.9

commissioner for child care costs and transportation expenses related to direct educational3.10

expenses.3.11

(d) The rate increase under this subdivision is an optional rate add-on that the facility3.12

must request from the commissioner in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The3.13

rate increase must be used for scholarships as specified in this subdivision.3.14

(e) For instances in which a rate adjustment will be 15 cents or greater, nursing3.15

facilities that close beds during a rate year may request to have their scholarship3.16

adjustment under paragraph (b) recalculated by the commissioner for the remainder of the3.17

rate year to reflect the reduction in resident days compared to the cost report year."3.18

Page 64, line 11, delete "(9,457,000)" and insert "(9,458,000)"3.19

Page 64, line 16, delete "$7,503,000" and insert "$7,505,000"3.20

Page 64, line 17, delete "$5,890,000" and insert "$5,894,000"3.21

Page 66, line 25, delete "11,000" and insert "12,000"3.22

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references3.23

Amend the title accordingly3.24
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