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Approved by
Revisor of S

1.1

1.2

Mahoney from the Jobs and Economic Developrnent Finance Division to which was
referred:

H. F. No. 1268, A bill for an act relating to taxation; income; making the small business
investment credit permanent; making technical and conforming changes; amending Minnesota
Statutes 2018, section 1161.8737, subdivision 5;repealing Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections
lI 6J .87 37, subdivisi on 12; 290.0692, subdivision 6.

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

t.7

i.8

Reported the same back with the following amendments:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 116J.8737, subdivision 1, is amended to

read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Qualified smaii business" means a business that has been certified by the

commissioner under subdivision 2.

(c) "Qualified investor" means an investor who has been certified by the commissioner

under subdivision 3.

(d) "Qualified fund" means a pooled angel investrnent network fund that has been certified

by the commissioner under subdivision 4.

(e) "Qualified investment" means a cash investment in a qualified small business of a

minimum of:

(1) $10,000 in a calendar year by a qualified investor; er

(2) $5,000 iqa c4lendar year by a qualified investor in qualified greater Minnesota

businesses or minority- or women-owned businesses in Minnesota; or

(Ð $30,000 in'a calendar year by a qualified fund.
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A qualified investment must be made in exchange for common stock, a parbrership or

membership interest, preferred stock, debt with mandatory conversion to equity, or an

equivalent ownership interest as determined by the commissioner.

(f) "Family" means a family member within the meaning of the Internal Revenue Code,

section 267(c)@).

(g) "Pass-through entity" means a corporation that for the applicable taxable year is

treated as an S corporation or a general partnership, limited partnership, limited liability

partnership, trust, or lirnited liability company and which for the applicabie taxable year is

not taxed as a corporation under chapter 290.

(h) "Intern" means a student of an accredited institution of higher education, or a former

student who has graduated in the past six months from an accredited institution of higher

education, who is employed by a qualified small business in a nonpermanent position for

a duration of nine months or iess that provides training and experience in the primary

business activity of the business.

(i) "Liquidation event" means a conversion of qualified investment for cash, cash and

other consideration, or any other form of equity or debt interest.

fi) "Qualified greater Minnesota business" means a qualified small business that is also

certified by the commissioner as a qualified greater Minnesota business under subd.ivision

2, parugraph (h).

(k) "Minority group member" means a United States citizenwho is Asian, Pacific

Islander, Black, Hispanic, or Native American.

(1) own at least 50 percent of the business, or, in the case of a publicly owned business,

own at least 51 percent of the stock; and

2.26 (2) manage the business and control the daily business operations.

., a1 (m) "'Women" means persons of the female gender,

2.28 (n) "V/omen-owned business" means a business for which one or more women
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2.22 (1) "Minority-owned business" means a business for which one or more minority group

2.23 members:

2.29 (1) own at ieast 50 percent of the business, or, in the case of a publicly owned business,

own at least 51 percent of the stock; and

(2) manage the business and control the daily business operations

2

2.31
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3.i (o) "Officer" means a person elected or appointed by the board of directors to manage

the daily operations of the quaiified small business.3.2

3.3 þ) "Principal" means a person having authority to act on behalf of the qualified small

business.

3.5 EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beeinnine aft er December

3.6 31,2018.

5.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section I16J.8737, subdivision 2, is amended to read

3.4

Subd. 2. Certification of qualified small busÍnesses. (a) Businesses may apply to the

commissioner for certification as a qualified small business or qualified greater Minnesota

small business for a calendar year. The application must be in the form and be made under

the procedures specified by the commissioner, accompanied by an application fee of $150.

Application fees are deposited in the small business investment tax credit administration

account in the special revenue fund.

Applications for subfeqpentïeard

certification must be made available on the department's website by November 1 of the

preceding year.

(b) Within 30 days of receiving an application for certification under this subdivision,

the commissioner must either certiff the business as satis$ring the conditions required of a

qualified small business or qualified greater Minnesota small business, request additional

information frorn the business, or reject the application for certification. If the commissioner

requests additional information from the business, the commissioner must either certify the

business or reject the application within 30 days of receiving the additional information. If
the commissioner neither certifies the business nor rejects the application within 30 days

ofreceiving the original application or within 30 days of receiving the additional information

requested, whichever is later, then the application is deemed rejected, and the commissioner

must refund the $ 150 application fee. A business that applies for certif,rcation and is rejected

may reapply.

(c) To receive certification as a qualified smali business, a business must satisfy all of

the following conditions :

3.30 (1) the business has its headquarters in Minnesota;

3.8
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5.J,¿.

(2) at least: (Ð 51 percent of the business's employees are empioyed in Minnesota; (ii)

51 percent of the business's total payroll is paid or incurred in the state; and (iii) 51 percent

of the total value of all contractual agreements to which the business is a party in corurection

3

3.33
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with its primary business activity is for services performed under contract in Minnesota,

unless the business obtains a waiver under paragraph (i);

(3) the business is engaged in, or is committed to engage in, innovation in Minnesota in

one of the following as its primary business activity:

(i) using proprietary technology to add value to a product, process, or service in a qualified

high-technology field;

(ii) researching or developing a proprietary product, process, or service in a qualified

high-technology fieid;

(iii) researching or developing a proprietary product, process, or service in the fields of

agriculture, tourism, forestry mining, manufacturing, or transportation; or

(iv) researching, developing, or producing a ne\¡/ proprietary technology for use in the

fields of agriculture, tourism, forestry, mining, manufacturing, or transportation;

(4) other than the activities specificaily listed in clause (3), the business is not engaged

in real estate development, insurance, banking, lending, lobbying, political consulting,

information technology consulting, wholesale or retail trade, leisure, hospitaliry

transportation, construction, ethanol production from corn, or professional services provided

by attorneys, accountants, business consultants, physicians, or health care consultants;

(5) the business has fewer than25 employees;

(6) the business must either:

GÞay its employees annual wages of at least 175 percent of the federal poverty guideline

for the year for a family of four and must pay its interns annual wages of at least 175 percent

of the federal minimum \¡/age used for federally covered empioyers, except that this

requirement must be reduced proportionately for employees and interns who work less than

full-time, and does not apply to an executive, officer, or member of the board of the business,

or to any employee who owns, controls, or holds power to vote more than2} percent of the

outstanding securities of the business; or

(ii) if the business is a qualified qreater Minnesota business or minority- or rwomen-owned

qualified small business. r,ay at least 51 percent of its employees annual wases of at least

175 percent of the federal poverty guideline for the year for a family of fow and must pay

its interns annual wages of at least 175 percent of the federal minimum wage used for

federally covered employers, except that this requirement must be reduced proportionately

for employees and interns who work less than fulltime. and does not apply to an executive.

4Sec.2.
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5.1 officer, or member of the board of the business. or to anv emplovee who owns" controls. or

s.2 hoids power to vote more than2} percent of the outstanding securities of the busines S;

5.3 (7) the business has (i) not been in operation for more than ten years, or (ii) not been in

operation for more than20 years if the business is engaged in the research, development,

or production of medical devices or pharmaceuticals for which United States Food and Drug

Administration approval is required for use in the treatment or diagnosis of a disease or

condition;

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.15 (e) In order for a qualified investment in a business to be eligible for tax credits:

5.r2 (10) the business has not issued securities that are traded on a public exchange

(d) In applying the limit under paragraph (c), clause (5), the employees in all members

of the unitary business, as defined in section 290.17, subdivision 4, must be included.

(1) the business must have applied for and received certification for the calendar year

in which the investment was made prior to the date on which the qualified investment was

made;

(3) the business must not issue securities that are traded on a public exchange within

180 days after the date on which the qualified investment was made; and

(a) the business must not have a liquidation event within 180 days after the date on

which the qualified. investment was made.

5.24 (f) The commissioner must maintain a list of qualifìed small businesses and qualified

greater Minnesota businesses certified under this subdivision for the calendar year and make

the list accessible to the public on the department's website

5.25
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5.9
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(8) the business has not previously received private equity investments of more than

$4,000,000;

(9) the business is not an entity disqualifîed under section 804.50, paragraph(b), clause

(3); and

(1) "qualified high-technology field" includes aerospace, agricultural processing,

renewable energy, energy efficiency and conservation, environmental engineering, food

technology, cellulosic ethanol, information technolo gy, matenals science technology,

nanotechnology, telecommunications, biotechnology, medical device products,

pharmaceuticals, diagnostics, biologicals, chemistry, veterinary science, and similar fields;

5.19 (2) the business must not have issued securities that are traded on a public exchange;

5.22

5.27 (g) For putposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:

5

5.32
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6.24 Sec. 3. Miruresota Statutes 2078, section 1161.8737, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
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(2) "proprietary technology" means the technical innovations that are unique and legally

owned or licensedby abusiness and includes, without limitation, those innovations that are

patented, patent pending, a subject of trade secrets, or copyrighted; and

(3) "greater Minnesota" means the area of Minnesota located outside of the metropolitan

area as defined in section 473.12I, subdivision 2.

(h) To receive certification as a qualified greater Minnesota business, a business must

satisfy all of the requirements of paragraph (c) and must satisfy the following conditions:

(1) the business has its headquarters in greater Minnesota; and

(2) atleast: (Ð 51 percent of the business's employees are employed in greaterMinnesota;

(iÐ 51 percent of the business's total payroll is paid or incurred in greater Minnesota; and

(iiÐ 51 percent of the total value of all contractual agreements to which the business is a

party in connection with its primary business activity is for services performed under contract

in greater Minnesota, unless the business obtains a waiver under paragraph (i).

(i) The commissioner must exempt a business from the requirement under paragraph

(c), clause (2), item (iii), if the business certifies to the commissioner that the services

required under a contract in connection with the primary business activity cannot be

performed in Minnesota if the business otherwise qualif,res as a qualified small business, or

in greater Minnesota if the business otherwise qualifies as a quali{ied greater Minnesota

business. The business must submit the certification required under this paragraph every

six months from the month the exemption was granted. The exemption allowed under this

paragraph must be submitted in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner.

EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginnine after December

31,2018.

Subd. 3. Certifïcation of qualified investors. (a) Investors may apply to the

commissioner for certification as a qualif,red investor for a taxable year. The application

must be in the form and be made under the procedures specified by the commissioner,

accompanied by an application fee of $350. Application fees are deposited in the small

business investment tax credit administration account in the special revenue fund. The

@ Applications for $*bseqpensyear# certification must be made available

on the department's website by Novernber 1 of the preceding year.
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(b) Within 30 days of receiving an.application for certification under this subdivision,

the commissioner must either certiff the investor as satisfying the conditions required of a

qualified investor, request additional information from the investor, or reject the application

for certification. If the commissioner requests additional information from the investor, the

commissioner must either certifu the investor or reject the application within 30 days of

receiving the additional information. If the commissioner neither certifies the investor nor

rejects the application within 30 days of receiving the original application or within 30 days

of receiving the additional inforrnation requested, whichever is iater, then the application

is deemed rejected, and the commissioner must refirnd the $350 application fee. An investor

who applies for certification and is rejected may reapply.

(c) To receive certification, an investor must (1) be a natural person; and (2) certify to

the commissioner that the investor will only invest in a transaction that is exempt under

section 804.46, clause (13) or (14), in a security exempt under section 804.461, or in a

security registered under section 804.50, paragraph (b).

(d) In order for a qualified investment in a qualified small business to be eligible for tax

credits, a qualified investor who makes the investment must have applied for and received

certif,rcation for the calendar year prior to making the qualified investment, except in the

case of an investor who is not an accredited investor, within the meaning of Regulation D

of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Code of Federal Reguiations, title 17, section

230.501, paragraph (a), application for certification may be made within 30 days after

making the qualified investment.

EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31,2019.

Subd. 4. Certification of qualified funds. (a) A pass-through entity may apply to the

commissioner for certification as a qualified fund for a calendar year. The application must

be in the form and be made rurder the procedures specified by the commissioner, accompanied

by an application fee of $1,000. Application fees are deposited in the small business

investment tax credit administration account in the special revenue fund. +ne-æpHea*ien

@ Applications for sì*bsequen#1rear$ certification must be made

available by November 1 of the preceding year.

(b) Within 30 days of receiving an application for certification under this subdivision,

the commissioner must either certifu the fund as satisfying the conditions required of a

7.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section II6J.8737, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
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qualified fund, request additional information from the fund, or reject the application for

certification. If the commissioner requests additional information from the fund, the

commissioner must either certiff the fund or reject the application within 30 days ofreceiving

the additional information. If the commissioner neither certifies the fund nor rejects the

application within 30 days of receiving the original application or within 30 days of receiving

the additional inforrnation requested, whichever is later, then the application is deemed

rejected, and the commissioner must refund the $1,000 application fee. A fund that applies

for certification and is rejected may reapply.

8.9 (c) To receive certification, a fund must:

8.10 (1) invest or intend to invest in qualified small businesses;

8.1 1 (2) be organized as a pass-through entity; and

(3) have at least three separate investors, of whom at least three whose investment is

made in the certified business and who seek a tax credit aliocation satisfy the conditions in

subdivision 3, paragraph (c).

(d) Investments in the fund may consist of equit¡r investments or notes that pay interest

or other fixed amounts, or any combination of both

(e) In order for a qualified investment in a qualified small business to be eligible for tax

credits, a qualified fund that makes the investment must have applied for and received

certification for the calendar year prior to making the quaiified investment.

Subd. 5. Credit allowed. (aXÐ A qualified investor or qualified fund is eligible for a

credit equal to 25 percent of the qualified investment in a qualified small business.

Investments made by a pass-through entity qualiõ'for a credit only if the entity is a qualified

fund. The commissioner must not ailocate more than $*fB0Op00 $20,000,000 per taxabie

8.27 yearincreditstoqua1ifiedinvestorsorqua1ifiedfunds

50 percent must be allocated

to credits for qualifying investments in qualified greater Minnesota businesses and minority-

or lvomen-owned qualified small businesses in Minnesota. Any portion of a taxable year's

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

8.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective fortaxable years beginnine after December

B.2T 31,2019.

8.22 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 1161.8737, subdivision 5, is amended to read

8
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credits that is reserved for qualifying investments in greater Minnesota businesses and

minority- or women-owned qualified small businesses in Minnesota that is not allocated

by September 30 of the taxable year is available for allocation to other credit applications

beginning on October 1. Any portion of a taxable year's credits that is not allocated by the

commissioner does not cancel and may be carried forward to subsequent taxable years until

all credits have been allocated.

(b) The commissioner may not allocate more than a total maximum amount in credits

for a taxable year to a qualified investor for the investor's cumulative qualifîed investments

as an individual qualified investor and as an investor in a qualified fund; for ma¡ried couples

filing joint returns the maximum is $250,000, and for all other filers the maximum is

$125,000. The commissioner may not allocate more than a total of $1,000,000 in credits

over all taxable years for qualified investments in any one qualified small business.

(c) The commissioner may not ailocate a credit to a qualified investor either as an

individual qualified investor or as an investor in a qualified fund if, at the time the investment

is proposed:

9.r6 (1) the investor is an officer or principal of the qualified small business; or

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.s

9.6

9.1

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.r1

9.12
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9.14

9.15

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.30

9.31

9.32

9.33

9.20 A member of the family of an individual disqualifîed by this paragraph is not eligible for a

9.21 credit under this section, except for a credit for a qualified investment in a qualified greater

9.22 Minnesota business or minority- or women-owned business. For a married couple filing a

joint return, the limitations in this paragraph apply collectively to the investor and spouse.

For purposes of determining the ownership interest of an investor under this paragraph, the

rules under section 267(c) and267(e) of the Internal Revenue code apply.

9.23

(2) the investor, either individually or in combination with one or more members of the

investor's family, owns, conkols, or holds the power to vote 20 percent or more of the

outstanding securities of the qualified small business.

(d) Applications for tax credits for 2010 must be made available on the department's

website by Septemb er 1,2010., and the departrnent must begin accepting applications by

September l,2}Iï.Applications for subsequentyears mustbe made availablebyNovember

1 of the preceding year.

(e) Qualified investors and qualified funds must apply to the commissioner for tax credits.

Tax credits must be allocated to qualif,red investors or qualified funds in the order that the

tax credit request applications are filed with the department. The commissioner must approve

or reject tax credit request applications within 15 days of receiving the application. The

investment specified in the application must be made within 60 days of the allocation of

9.29

9

9.34

Sec. 5



10. i

r0.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.i0

10.1 I

1 0.12

10.13

r0.14

10.15

10.1 6

10.t7

04lrU19 REVISOR EAPA4O DrVH1268CR1

the credits. If the investment is not made within 60 days, the credit allocation is canceled

and avaiiable for reallocation. A qualified. investor or qualified fund that fails to invest as

specified in the application, within 60 days of allocation of the credits, must noti$ the

commissioner of the failure to invest within five business days of the expiration of the

60-day investment period.

(Ð All tax credit request applications f,rled with the department on the same day must

be treated as having been filed contemporaneously. If two or more qualified investors or

qualified funds file tax credit request applications on the same day, and the aggregate amount

of credit ailocation claims exceeds the aggregate limit of credits under this section or the

lesser amount of credits that remain unailocated on that day, then the credits must be allocated

among the quaiified investors or qualified funds who filed on that day on a pro rata basis

with respect to the amounts claimed. The pro rata allocation for any one qualified investor

or qualified fund is the product obtained by multiptying a fraction, the numerator of which

is the amount of the credit allocation claim filed on behalf of a quaiified investor and the

denominator of which is the total of all credit allocation claims filed on behalf of all

applicants on that day, by the amount of credits that remain unallocated on that day for the

taxable year.

(1) the investment by the qualified investor or qualified fund becomes worthless before

the end of the three-year period;

(2) 80 percent or more of the assets of the qualified small business is sold before the end

of the three-year period;

10.18 (g) A qualified investor or qualified fund, or a qualified small business acting on their

10.19 behalf, must notify the commissioner when an investment for which credits were allocated

10.20 has been made, and the taxable year in which the invesknent was made. A qualified fund

rc.T must also provide the commissioner with a statement indicating the amount invested by

10.22 each investor in the qualified fi,rnd based on each investor's share of the assets of the qualified

10.23 fund at the time of the qualified investment. After receiving notification that the investment

10.24 was made, the commissioner must issue credit certificates for the taxable year in which the

10.2s investment was made to the qualified investor or, for an investment made by a qualified

10.26 fund, to each qualified investor who is an investor in the fund. The certificate must state

10.27 that the credit is subject to revocation if the qualified investor or qualified fund does not

10.28 hold the investment in the qualified small business for at least three years, consisting of the

10.29 calendar year in which the investment was made and the two foilowing years. The three-year

10.30 holding period does not apply if:

10.3 1
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I 1.20

11.21

11.22

tl.23

11.24

|t.25

1t.26

11.27

I 1.28

11.29

1 1.30

tl.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years be ginning after December

11.8 31,2079.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section L16J.8737, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Annual reports. (a) By February 1 of each year each qualified small business

that received an investment that qualified for a credit, and each qualified investor and

qualified fund that made an investment that qualified for a credit, must submit an annual

report to the commissioner and pay a filing fee of $100 as required under this subdivision.

Each qualified investor and qualified fund must submit reports for three years following

each year in which it made an investment that qualified for a credit, and each qualified small

business must submit reports for five years following the year in which it received an

investment qualiõring for a credit. Reports must be made in the form required by the

commissioner. All filing fees collected are deposited in the small business investment tax

credit administration account in the special revenue filnd.

(b) A report from a qualified small business must certifu that the business satisfîes the

following requirements:

(1) the business has its headquarters in Minnesota;

(2) at least 51 percent of the business's employees are employed in Minnesota, and 51

percent of the business's total payroll is paid or incurred in the state;

(3) that the business is engaged in, or is committed to engage in, innovation in Minnesota

as defined under subdivisionZ; and

(4) that the business meets the payroll requirements in subdivision2,paragraph (c),

clause (6).

(c) Reports from qualified investors must certify that the investor remains invested in

the qualif,red small business as required by subdivision 5, paragraph (g).

04lrU19 REVISOR EAP/I\{O DTVH1268CRl

(3) the qualified small business is sold before the end of the three-year period;

(4) the qualified small business's çommon stock begins trading on a public exchange

before the end of the three-year period; or

(5) the qualified investor dies before the end of the three-year period.

(h) The commissioner must notiff the commissioner of revenue of credit certificates

issued under this section.
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(d) Reports from qualified funds must certifi that the fund remains invested in the

qualified smail business as required by subdivision 5, paragraph (g).

(e) A qualified small business that ceases all operations andbecomes insolventmust file

aftnalannual report in the form required by the commissioner documenting its insolvency.

In following years the business is exempt from the annual reporting requirement, the report

filing fee, and the fine for failure to file a report.

(f) A qualified small business, qualified investor, or qualified fund that fails to file an

annual report !y.Igþru3ÐL1 as required under this subdivision is subject to a $500 $100

fine.

12.10 (g) A qualified investor or qualified fund that fails to fîle an annual report bv April 1

r2.tr may, atthe commis sioner's discretion, have any credit allocated and certifîed to the investor

Lz.r2 or fund revoked and such credit must be repaid by the investor,

t2.13 (h) A qualified business that fails to fîle an annual report by April 1 may, at the

12.14 commissioner's discretion, be subject to the credit repayment provisions in subdivision 7

12.15 paragraph (b).

t2.16 EFFECTTVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

t2.t7 3 1, 2018.

12.I8 Sec. 7. APPLICATION OF SMALL BUSINESS INVESTMENT TAX CREDIT FOR

12.19 TAXABLE YEAR 2019.

12.20 Applications for (1) certification as a qualified small business, qualified investor, or

12.21 qualified fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8731. subdivisions 2, 3, and 4, and

12.22 (2) the credit under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8737. subdivision 5 , for taxable year

12.23 2019 must be made available on the Department of Emplor,¡ment and Economic

t2.24 Development's website within 30 days of the day followine final enactment of this act. The

r2.2s provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section II6J.8737, generally apply to the taxable year

tz.z6 2019 extension of the credit in sections 1 to 6.

t2.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

12.28 Sec. 8. REPEALER.

12.29 Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections I16J.8737, subdivisionl2: and290.0692

12.30 6, are repealed."

tz.3r Delete the title and insert

Sec. 8 T2
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"A bill for an act

relating to taxation; income; making the small business investment credit
permanent; making technical and conforming changes; amending Minnesota
Statutes 2018, section 116J.8737, subdivisions 1, 2,3,4,5, 6; repealing Minnesota
Statutes 2078, sections II 6J .87 37, subdivisi on 12; 290.0692, subdivision 6. "

V/ith the recornmendation that when so amended the biil be returned to the Committee

on'Ways and Means.

This Division action taken April ll,2019

Chair
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