## \_\_\_\_\_ Superintendents Innovation Discussion Group \_\_\_\_\_ Leaders seeking better results through innovation

April 29, 2020

Senator Carla Nelson Chair of Senate E-12 Finance and Policy Committee 3235 Minnesota State Senate Office Building Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Representative Cheryl Youakim Chair of House Education Policy Committee 591 State Office Building Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155 Representative Jim Davnie Chair House Education Finance Division 443 State Office Building Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155

Dear Senator Nelson, Representative Youakim and Representative Davnie:

We are an informal group of superintendents from district and chartered schools across Minnesota who have worked on the Innovation Research Zone (IRZ) bill this session. Thanks to both of the authors, you Senator Nelson and also Representative Steve Sandell, for being so supportive. Unfortunately, because of cancellations, your Committees did not hear testimony from us as to the innovations we are planning.

Although some of us have individually e-mailed or telephoned you, other legislators and the Commissioner in support of this bill, we are sending you this group letter because our experience with this pandemic has only heightened the need for this bill. We are asking you to please enact this bill.

When this pandemic is over education will never be the same again. Yet, we have the same system; the same laws; the same rules; the same everything. To create new models, schools need flexibility so we can personalize learning for every single student knowing their needs, aspirations and aptitudes are different. But frankly Madam Chairs, we can't do that as well as we'd like as the current system provides weak support for innovation. We need the Legislature to provide several statutory exemptions to permit a few schools to conduct solid research on new and different models. That is what the IRZ is all about.

The bill has no mandates. No appropriation is requested. No school has to use it. Only three rural and three metro applications are added. The bill is supported by the 30 of us and also MSBA, MASA, AMSD, MREA, SEE, MESPA and MSSPA. We know the COVID-19 virus matter is taking all of your time. Ours too. But we must not let the virus halt everything else as the future is not waiting. Our schools have ideas we want to implement this summer and next fall that will close achievement gaps, enhance equity, redesign high schools, empower teachers, provide career certifications to high school students so they have middle-class jobs when they exit high school, and the list goes on. We are asking for your trust.

Thank you for your work this session to help Minnesotans survive this pandemic. And thank you for enacting the Innovation Research Zone bill. The list of supporting superintendents is attached.

Sincerely,

Dennis L. CarlsonJay HaugenBob WedlFacilitators of the Superintendents Innovation Discussion Group

Denny dennislcarlson@yahoo.com - -Jay jchaugen@mac.com -- Bob robert\_wedl@yahoo.com

## -----Superintendents Innovation Discussion Group-----Leaders seeking better results through innovation

Members of this Group Co-signing the letter to Senator Carla Nelson and Representative Cheryl Youakim

Andrew Almos Superintendent of East-Central District Schools

Carrie Bakken Coordinator of Avalon Charter School

Ben Barton Superintendent of Princeton District Schools

Jason Berg Interim Superintendent of Farmington District Schools

Joseph Brown Superintendent of Fairmont District Schools

Julie Critz, PhD Superintendent of Alexandria District Schools

Barbara Duffrin Superintendent of Mahtomedi District Schools

Brian Erlandson Superintendent of Minnesota Transitions Charter School

Julia Espe, EdD Retired Superintendent of Princeton District Schools

Les Fujitake Superintendent of Bloomington District Schools

Matt Grose Superintendent of Deer River District Schools and Superintendent of Grand Rapids District Schools effective July 1

Deb Henton, EdD Superintendent of North Branch District Schools and Executive Director of MASA effective July 1

Ted Kolderie Co-founder of Education Evolving

Charlie Kyte, PhD Retired Executive Director of MASA and Retired Superintendent of Northfield District Schools Keith Lester Retired Superintendent of Brooklyn Center District Schools

Phil Moye, PhD Retired Superintendent of Inver Grove Heights District Schools

Denise Pontrelli, PhD Superintendent of Stillwater District Schools

Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed, PhD Superintendent of Hopkins District Schools

Jerry Robicheau, PhD Retired Superintendent of Inver Grove Heights District Schools and Current member of the Board of Education of Faribault District Schools

Jeff Ronneberg, EdD Superintendent of Spring Lake Park District Schools

Mark Schmitz CEO/Executive Director of Resource Training & Solutions and Former Superintendent of Staples-Motley District Schools

John Schultz, PhD Superintendent of Edina District Schools

Teri Staloch, EdD Superintendent of Prior Lake-Savage District Schools

Chris Swenson, EdD Superintendent of Holdingford District Schools

Tom Tapper, PhD Executive Director of Innovative Quality Schools and Retired Superintendent of Owatonna District Schools

Jason Vold Superintendent of Onamia District Schools

Patrick Walsh Superintendent of Brooten, Belgrade, Elrosa District Schools