
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 865 as follows:​

1.2 Page 4, after line 18, insert:​

1.3 "Subd. 7. Housing support supplemental service rates. Supplemental service rates​

1.4 for individuals in settings according to sections 144D.025, 256I.04, subdivision 3, paragraph​

1.5 (a), clause (3), and 256I.05, subdivision 1g, shall be reduced by one-half over a two-year​

1.6 period. This reduction only applies to supplemental service rates for individuals eligible for​

1.7 housing support services under this section."​

1.8 Page 4, delete lines 19 and 20 and insert:​

1.9 "EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) Subdivisions 1 to 6 are contingent upon federal approval​

1.10 and not effective until nine months after federal approval is obtained. The commissioner of​

1.11 human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

1.12 (b) Subdivision 7 is contingent upon federal approval of subdivisions 1 to 6 and not​

1.13 effective until ten months after federal approval is obtained. The commissioner of human​

1.14 services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained."​

1.15 Page 4, before line 21, insert:​

1.16 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256D.44, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

1.17 Subd. 5. Special needs. In addition to the state standards of assistance established in​

1.18 subdivisions 1 to 4, payments are allowed for the following special needs of recipients of​

1.19 Minnesota supplemental aid who are not residents of a nursing home, a regional treatment​

1.20 center, or a group residential housing facility.​

1.21 (a) The county agency shall pay a monthly allowance for medically prescribed diets if​

1.22 the cost of those additional dietary needs cannot be met through some other maintenance​

1.23 benefit. The need for special diets or dietary items must be prescribed by a licensed physician.​

1.24 Costs for special diets shall be determined as percentages of the allotment for a one-person​

1.25 household under the thrifty food plan as defined by the United States Department of​
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2.1 Agriculture. The types of diets and the percentages of the thrifty food plan that are covered​

2.2 are as follows:​

2.3 (1) high protein diet, at least 80 grams daily, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;​

2.4 (2) controlled protein diet, 40 to 60 grams and requires special products, 100 percent of​

2.5 thrifty food plan;​

2.6 (3) controlled protein diet, less than 40 grams and requires special products, 125 percent​

2.7 of thrifty food plan;​

2.8 (4) low cholesterol diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;​

2.9 (5) high residue diet, 20 percent of thrifty food plan;​

2.10 (6) pregnancy and lactation diet, 35 percent of thrifty food plan;​

2.11 (7) gluten-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;​

2.12 (8) lactose-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;​

2.13 (9) antidumping diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan;​

2.14 (10) hypoglycemic diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan; or​

2.15 (11) ketogenic diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan.​

2.16 (b) Payment for nonrecurring special needs must be allowed for necessary home repairs​

2.17 or necessary repairs or replacement of household furniture and appliances using the payment​

2.18 standard of the AFDC program in effect on July 16, 1996, for these expenses, as long as​

2.19 other funding sources are not available.​

2.20 (c) A fee for guardian or conservator service is allowed at a reasonable rate negotiated​

2.21 by the county or approved by the court. This rate shall not exceed five percent of the​

2.22 assistance unit's gross monthly income up to a maximum of $100 per month. If the guardian​

2.23 or conservator is a member of the county agency staff, no fee is allowed.​

2.24 (d) The county agency shall continue to pay a monthly allowance of $68 for restaurant​

2.25 meals for a person who was receiving a restaurant meal allowance on June 1, 1990, and​

2.26 who eats two or more meals in a restaurant daily. The allowance must continue until the​

2.27 person has not received Minnesota supplemental aid for one full calendar month or until​

2.28 the person's living arrangement changes and the person no longer meets the criteria for the​

2.29 restaurant meal allowance, whichever occurs first.​

2.30 (e) A fee of ten percent of the recipient's gross income or $25, whichever is less, is​

2.31 allowed for representative payee services provided by an agency that meets the requirements​
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3.1 under SSI regulations to charge a fee for representative payee services. This special need​

3.2 is available to all recipients of Minnesota supplemental aid regardless of their living​

3.3 arrangement.​

3.4 (f)(1) Notwithstanding the language in this subdivision, an amount equal to one-half of​

3.5 the maximum allotment authorized by the federal Food Stamp Program federal Supplemental​

3.6 Security Income payment amount for a single individual which is in effect on the first day​

3.7 of July of each year will be added to the standards of assistance established in subdivisions​

3.8 1 to 4 for adults under the age of 65 who qualify as shelter needy and are: (i) relocating​

3.9 from an institution, group residential housing, or an adult mental health residential treatment​

3.10 program under section 256B.0622; or (ii) home and community-based waiver recipients​

3.11 living in their own home or rented or leased apartment which is not owned, operated, or​

3.12 controlled by a provider of service not related by blood or marriage, unless allowed under​

3.13 paragraph (g).​

3.14 (2) Notwithstanding subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an individual eligible for the shelter​

3.15 needy benefit under this paragraph is considered a household of one. An eligible individual​

3.16 who receives this benefit prior to age 65 may continue to receive the benefit after the age​

3.17 of 65.​

3.18 (3) "Shelter needy" means that the assistance unit incurs monthly shelter costs that exceed​

3.19 40 percent of the assistance unit's gross income before the application of this special needs​

3.20 standard. "Gross income" for the purposes of this section is the applicant's or recipient's​

3.21 income as defined in section 256D.35, subdivision 10, or the standard specified in subdivision​

3.22 3, paragraph (a) or (b), whichever is greater. A recipient of a federal or state housing subsidy,​

3.23 that limits shelter costs to a percentage of gross income, shall not be considered shelter​

3.24 needy for purposes of this paragraph.​

3.25 (g) Notwithstanding this subdivision, to access housing and services as provided in​

3.26 paragraph (f), the recipient may choose housing that may be owned, operated, or controlled​

3.27 by the recipient's service provider. When housing is controlled by the service provider, the​

3.28 individual may choose the individual's own service provider as provided in section 256B.49,​

3.29 subdivision 23, clause (3). When the housing is controlled by the service provider, the​

3.30 service provider shall implement a plan with the recipient to transition the lease to the​

3.31 recipient's name. Within two years of signing the initial lease, the service provider shall​

3.32 transfer the lease entered into under this subdivision to the recipient. In the event the landlord​

3.33 denies this transfer, the commissioner may approve an exception within sufficient time to​

3.34 ensure the continued occupancy by the recipient. This paragraph expires June 30, 2016."​
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4.1 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

4.2 Amend the title accordingly​
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