04/09/19

Approved by Revisor of Statutes

REVISOR

| 1.1 | Lesch from the Judiciary Finance and Civil La | w Divis | ion to which was ref | Ferred: |
|------------------------------|--|-----------|--|---------------|
| 1.2 1.3 1.4 | H. F. No. 2705, A bill for an act relating to jud human rights, Guardian Ad Litem Board, Uniform Standards, and Board of Public Defense. | | | |
| 1.5 | Reported the same back with the following am | lendmer | nts: | |
| 1.6 | Delete everything after the enacting clause and | l insert: | | |
| 1.7 | "ARTICLE | E 1 | | |
| 1.8 | APPROPRIAT | IONS | | |
| 1.9 | Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS. | | | |
| 1.10 | The sums shown in the columns marked "Appro | priation | s" are appropriated to | the agencies |
| 1.11 | and for the purposes specified in this act. The app | ropriatio | ons are from the gen | eral fund, or |
| 1.12 | another named fund, and are available for the fisc | al years | indicated for each p | urpose. The |
| 1.13 | figures "2020" and "2021" used in this act mean t | hat the a | appropriations listed | under them |
| 1.14 | are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 20 | 020, or J | June 30, 2021, respec | ctively. "The |
| 1.15 | first year" is fiscal year 2020. "The second year" | is fiscal | year 2021. "The bier | nnium" is |
| 1.16 | fiscal years 2020 and 2021. | | | |
| 1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 | | | APPROPRIATIO Available for the Y Ending June 30 2020 | Year |
| 1.21 | Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT | | | |
| 1.22 | Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation | <u>\$</u> | <u>59,131,000</u> \$ | 61,304,000 |
| 1.23 | The amounts that may be spent for each | | | |
| 1.24 | purpose are specified in the following | | • | |
| 1.25 | subdivisions. | | | |
| 1.26 | Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations | | 43,608,000 | 44,858,000 |

| 2.1 | (a) Contingent Account | | | |
|------|---|------------|----------|------------|
| 2.2 | \$5,000 each year is for a contingent account | | | |
| 2.3 | for expenses necessary for the normal | | | |
| 2.4 | operation of the court for which no other | | | |
| 2.5 | reimbursement is provided. | 6 | | |
| 2.6 | (b) Judges' Compensation | | | |
| 2.7 | Judges' compensation is increased by three | | | |
| 2.8 | percent each year. | | | |
| 2.9 | (c) Cybersecurity Program | | | |
| 2.10 | \$2,500,000 each year is for a cybersecurity | | | |
| 2.11 | program. | | | |
| 2.12 | (d) Early Neutral Evaluation | | | |
| 2.13 | \$50,000 the first year is to contract with the | | | |
| 2.14 | Board of Regents of the University of | | | |
| 2.15 | Minnesota for its Extension Service to develop | | | |
| 2.16 | and conduct a survey of all early neutral | | | |
| 2.17 | evaluation participants and provide a report | | | |
| 2.18 | to the legislature pursuant to article 2, section | | | |
| 2.19 | <u>8.</u> | | | |
| 2.20 | Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services | 15,523,000 | <u>)</u> | 16,446,000 |
| 2.21 | Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in | | | |
| 2.22 | Family Law Matters. \$1,062,000 the first | | | |
| 2.23 | year and \$1,125,000 the second year are to | | | |
| 2.24 | improve the access of low-income clients to | | | |
| 2.25 | legal representation in family law matters. | | | |
| 2.26 | This appropriation must be distributed under | | | |
| 2.27 | Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, to the | | | |
| 2.28 | qualified legal services program described in | | | |
| 2.29 | Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, | | | |
| 2.30 | subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Any | | | |
| 2.31 | unencumbered balance remaining in the first | | | |
| 2.32 | year does not cancel and is available in the | | | |
| 2.33 | second year. | | | |

| | 04/09/19 R | REVISOR | | KLL/CH | DIVH2705CR1 |
|------|---|----------|-----------|-------------|--|
| 3.1 | Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS | 5 | <u>\$</u> | 12,878,000 | <u>13,258,000</u> |
| 3.2 | Judges' Compensation. Judges' compensati | ion | | | |
| 3.3 | is increased by three percent each year. | | | | |
| 3.4 | Sec. 4. <u>DISTRICT COURTS</u> | 5 | <u>\$</u> | 311,201,000 | <u>321,140,000</u> |
| 3.5 | (a) Judges' Compensation | | | | |
| 3.6 | Judges' compensation is increased by four | | | | ě |
| 3.7 | percent each year. | | | | |
| 3.8 | (b) New Trial Judges | | | | |
| 3.9 | \$912,000 the first year and \$846,000 the | | | | |
| 3.10 | second year are for two new trial court jud | lge | | | |
| 3.11 | units in the Seventh Judicial District. | | | | |
| 3.12 | (c) Mandated Psychological Services | | | | |
| 3.13 | \$1,070,000 each year is for mandated coun | rt | | | |
| 3.14 | services. | | | | |
| 3.15 | (d) Treatment Courts Stability | | | | in the second se |
| 3.16 | \$306,000 each year is for treatment courts | 3 | | | |
| 3.17 | stability. | | | | |
| 3.18 | (e) Gun Violence Prevention | 28 | | | |
| 3.19 | \$81,000 each year is to process petitions f | or | | | |
| 3.20 | extreme risk protection orders. | | | | |
| 3.21 | Sec. 5. GUARDIAN AD LITEM BOAR | <u>D</u> | <u>\$</u> | 21,876,000 | <u>\$</u> <u>22,578,000</u> |
| 3.22 | Compliance Positions. \$4,205,000 the fir | rst | | | |
| 3.23 | year and \$4,443,000 the second year are for | or | | | |
| 3.24 | new positions to maintain compliance wit | <u>h</u> | | | |
| 3.25 | federal and state mandates. | | | | |
| 3.26 | Sec. 6. TAX COURT | | \$ | 1,807,000 | <u>\$</u> <u>1,808,000</u> |
| 3.27 | Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION | ON | <u>\$</u> | 98,000 | \$ 98,000 |
| 3.28 | Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STAND | DARDS | <u>\$</u> | 535,000 | <u>\$ 509,000</u> |
| 3.29 | Major Disciplinary Actions. \$125,000 e. | ach | | | |
| 3.30 | year is for special investigative and hearing | ng | | | |

COMMISSION

\$

| 5.1 | \$7,000 each year is for the Legislative |
|------|--|
| 5.2 | Commission on Intelligence and Technology |
| 5.3 | under article 4, section 1. |
| 5.4 | Sec. 13. TRANSFER. |
| 5.5 | \$10,000 the first year and \$20,000 the second year and annually thereafter are |
| 5.6 | appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget for transfer to the special |
| 5.7 | revenue fund for use by the displaced homemaker program. |
| 5.8 | Sec. 14. TRANSFER. |
| 5.9 | \$1,075,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget |
| 5.10 | for transfer to the Minnesota State Patrol's forfeited property account in the special revenue |
| 5.11 | fund for use by the Minnesota State Patrol as a supplement to the agency's operating fund |
| | |
| 5.12 | Sec. 15. TRANSFER. |
| 5.13 | \$763,000 annually is appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget for |
| 5.14 | transfer to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension's forfeited property account for use by the |
| 5.15 | Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as a supplement to the agency's operating fund. |
| 5.16 | ARTICLE 2 |
| 5.17 | COURTS |
| 5.18 | Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.99, subdivision 1c, is amended to read: |
| 5.19 | Subd. 1c. Notice of surcharge. All parts of the uniform traffic ticket must give provide |
| 5.20 | conspicuous notice of the fact that, if convicted, the person to whom it was issued must may |
| 5.21 | be required to pay a state-imposed surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision 6, and the |
| 5.22 | current amount of the required surcharge. |
| 5.23 | EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019. The changes to the |
| 5.24 | uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time |
| 5.25 | it is revised. |
| 5.26 | Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.99, is amended by adding a subdivision to |
| 5.27 | read: |
| 5.28 | Subd. 1d. Financial hardship. The first paragraph on the reverse side of the summons |
| 5 29 | on the uniform traffic ticket must include the following, or substantially similar, language |

| An or part of the cost of this summons may be warved on a showing of indigency of undue |
|--|
| hardship on you or your family. You may schedule a court appearance to request a waiver |
| based on your ability to pay by calling the Minnesota Court Payment Center (CPC) [followed |
| by the Court Payment Center telephone number]. For more information, call the CPC or |
| visit www.mncourts.gov/fines." |
| EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019. The changes to the |
| uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time |
| it is revised. |
| Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read: |
| Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court administrator |
| shall be as follows: |
| (1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under |
| the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff, |
| petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said |
| action, a fee of \$285 \$335, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is \$315. |
| The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several |
| defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others, |
| shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of \$285 \(\) \$335, except |
| in marriage dissolution actions the fee is \$315. This subdivision does not apply to the filing |
| of an Application for Discharge of Judgment. Section 548.181 applies to an Application |
| for Discharge of Judgment. |
| The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay \$100. |
| The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective of |
| whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial, and |
| shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified |
| copies of any papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions |
| therein as to appeals. |
| (2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, \$14, and \$8 |
| for an uncertified copy. |
| (3) Issuing a subpoena, \$16 for each name. |
| (4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and |

guardianship cases, \$75.

- (5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment,
 injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically
 mentioned, \$55.
- 7.4 (6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment 7.5 from another court, \$40.
- 7.6 (7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of judgment, \$5.
- 7.8 (8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, \$5 for each name certified to.
- 7.10 (9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording certificate of physicians, osteopathic physicians, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists, \$5.
- 7.13 (10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, \$55.
- 7.14 (11) For the deposit of a will, \$27.
- 7.15 (12) For recording notary commission, \$20.
- 7.16 (13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of \$50.
- 7.18 (14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee as compares 7.19 favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.
- 7.20 (15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the amount of 7.21 \$75 must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each adoption 7.22 petition filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52.
- 7.23 The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the public authority represents.
- 7.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 5.28 Subd. 2c. Court cybersecurity fee. In addition to any other filing fee under this chapter,
 the court administrator shall collect a \$1 cybersecurity fee on filings made under subdivision
 clauses (1) to (13). The court administrator shall transmit the fee monthly to the

commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the general fund. This subdivision expires June 30, 2021.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders. (a) Except as provided in this paragraph subdivision, the court shall impose and the court administrator shall collect a \$75 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, other than a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle parking, for which there shall be a \$12 surcharge. When a defendant is convicted of more than one offense in a case, the surcharge shall be imposed only once in that case. In the Second Judicial District, the court shall impose, and the court administrator shall collect, an additional \$1 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, including a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle parking, if the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes the \$1 surcharge. The surcharge shall be imposed whether or not the person is sentenced to imprisonment or the sentence is stayed. The surcharge shall not be imposed when a person is convicted of a petty misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed.
- (b) If the court fails to impose a surcharge as required by this subdivision, the court administrator shall show the imposition of the surcharge, collect the surcharge, and correct the record.
- (e) (b) The court may not reduce the amount or waive payment of the surcharge required under this subdivision. Upon on a showing of indigency or undue hardship upon the convicted person or the convicted person's immediate family, the sentencing court may authorize payment of the surcharge in installments. Additionally, the court may permit the defendant to perform community work service in lieu of a surcharge.
- (d) (c) The court administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge shall forward it to the commissioner of management and budget.
- (e) (d) If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment and has not paid the surcharge before the term of imprisonment begins, the chief executive officer of the correctional facility in which the convicted person is incarcerated shall collect the surcharge from any earnings the inmate accrues from work performed in the facility or while on conditional release. The chief executive officer shall forward the amount collected to the court administrator or other entity collecting the surcharge imposed by the court.

| | 04/09/19 | REVISOR | KLL/CH | DIVH2705CR1 |
|------|---------------------------------|--------------------------------|---------------------|-----------------------|
| 9.1 | (f) (e) A person who enter | rs a diversion program, con | tinuance witho | ut prosecution, |
| 9.2 | continuance for dismissal, or | stay of adjudication for a v | riolation of chap | oter 169 must pay |
| 9.3 | the surcharge described in this | s subdivision. A surcharge i | mposed under t | his paragraph shall |
| 9.4 | be imposed only once per cas | e. | | |
| 9.5 | (g) (f) The surcharge does | not apply to administrative | citations issued | pursuant to section |
| 9.6 | 169.999. | | | |
| 9.7 | Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2 | 2018, section 484.85, is am | ended to read: | |
| 9.8 | 484.85 DISPOSITION O | F FINES, FEES, AND O | THER MONE | Y; ACCOUNTS; |
| 9.9 | RAMSEY COUNTY DISTR | RICT COURT. | | |
| 9.10 | (a) In all cases prosecuted | in Ramsey County Distric | t Court by an a | torney for a |
| 9.11 | municipality or subdivision of | government within Ramse | y County for vi | olation of a statute; |
| 9.12 | an ordinance; or a charter pro- | vision, rule, or regulation of | of a city; all fine | es, penalties, and |

- forfeitures collected by the court administrator shall be deposited in the state treasury and distributed according to this paragraph. Except where a different disposition is provided by section 299D.03, subdivision 5, or other law, on or before the last day of each month, the court shall pay over all fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the court administrator during the previous month as follows:
- (1) for offenses committed within the city of St. Paul, two-thirds paid to the treasurer of the eity of St. Paul municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County and one-third credited to the state general fund; and.
- (2) for offenses committed within any other municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County, one-half paid to the treasurer of the municipality or subdivision of government and one-half credited to the state general fund.
- All other fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the district court shall be distributed 9.24 by the courts as provided by law. 9.25
- (b) Fines, penalties, and forfeitures shall be distributed as provided in paragraph (a) 9.26 when: 9.27
- (1) a city contracts with the county attorney for prosecutorial services under section 9.28 484.87, subdivision 3; or 9.29
- (2) the attorney general provides assistance to the city attorney under section 484.87, 9.30 subdivision 5. 9.31
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2019. 9.32

9

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

| 10.1 | Sec. 7. Minnesota | Statutes 2018, sec | ction 609.101, | subdivision 5, is | amended to read: |
|------|-------------------|--------------------|----------------|-------------------|------------------|
| | | | | | |

- Subd. 5. Waiver prohibited; reduction and installment payments. (a) The court may not waive payment of the minimum fine required by this section.
- (b) If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the fine would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family, the court may reduce the amount of the minimum fine to not less than \$50. Additionally, the court may permit the defendant to perform community work service in lieu of a fine.
- (c) The court also may authorize payment of the fine in installments.
- (d) Before sentencing a person convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor to pay money for a fine, fee, or surcharge, the court shall make a finding on the record as to indigency or the convicted person's ability to comply with an order to pay without undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family. In determining indigency or whether the defendant is able to comply with an order to pay a fine, fee, or surcharge without undue hardship to the convicted person or that person's immediate family, the court shall consider:
- 10.17 (1) income;

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

- 10.18 (2) dependents;
- 10.19 (3) financial resources, including assets and liabilities;
- 10.20 (4) basic living expenses;
- 10.21 (5) receipt of means-tested public assistance program; and
- 10.22 (6) any special circumstances that may bear on the person's ability to pay.
- (e) Paragraph (d) shall not apply when a conviction for a violation that is included on
 the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101, subdivision 4, is entered without
 a hearing before the court.

10.26 Sec. 8. EARLY NEUTRAL EVALUATION STUDY AND REPORT.

- (a) The supreme court is requested to contract with the Board of Regents of the University
 of Minnesota to develop and conduct a survey and report as provided in this section.
- (b) The board, through its Extension Service, is requested to develop and conduct a survey of all early neutral evaluation participants from November 1, 2019, to November 1, 2020. At a minimum, the survey must seek the following information:

| 11.1 | (1) the participant's demographic information, including age, gender, and race; |
|-------|---|
| 11.2 | (2) a participant's satisfaction levels with the early neutral evaluation process and outcome |
| 11.3 | as it relates to the following: |
| 11.4 | (i) custody arrangements; |
| 11.5 | (ii) parenting time; |
| 11.6 | (iii) property division; |
| 11.7 | (iv) legal expenses; |
| 11.8 | (v) length of time of the process; |
| 11.9 | (vi) level of cooperation of each party; and |
| 11.10 | (vii) the effectiveness of the neutral or neutrals; |
| 11.11 | (3) the participant's opinion regarding fairness of the early neutral evaluation process, |
| 11.12 | whether the participant's expectations were met, whether the participant made decisions |
| 11.13 | voluntarily, and whether the participant would recommend the early neutral evaluation to |
| 11.14 | others; and |
| 11.15 | (4) the participant's recommendations related to the early neutral evaluation process and |
| 11.16 | outcome. |
| 11.17 | (c) The Extension Service is requested to aggregate the results of the survey and report |
| 11.18 | summary data, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 13.03, subdivision 19, to the chairs |
| 11.19 | and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction |
| 11.20 | over children, families, and the judiciary by January 15, 2021. The report is requested to |
| 11.21 | include the following: |
| 11.22 | (1) the total number of early neutral evaluation participants; |
| 11.23 | (2) the total number of social-early neutral evaluation participants; |
| 11.24 | (3) the total number of financial-early neutral evaluation participants; |
| 11.25 | (4) all disaggregated data, including survey data, collected by judicial district; |
| 11.26 | (5) a description of the methods used to collect data; and |
| 11.27 | (6) a description of general trends, findings, and conclusions based on data collected. |
| 11.28 | (d) Data collected by the Extension Service in individual participant surveys are private |
| 11.29 | data on individuals, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 13.02, subdivision 12. |

| 12.1 | ARTICLE 3 |
|-------|--|
| 12.2 | FORFEITURE |
| 12.3 | Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 84.7741, subdivision 13, is amended to read |
| 12.4 | Subd. 13. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report or |
| 12.5 | forfeitures occurring under this section as described in section 609.5315, subdivision 6 |
| 12.6 | 609.112, subdivision 35. |
| 12.7 | Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 97A.221, subdivision 5, is amended to read: |
| 12.8 | Subd. 5. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report on |
| 12.9 | forfeitures of firearms, bows, and motor vehicles occurring under this section as described |
| 12.10 | in section 609.5315, subdivision 6 609.112, subdivision 35. |
| 9 | |
| 12.11 | Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 97A.223, subdivision 6, is amended to read: |
| 12.12 | Subd. 6. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report on |
| 12.13 | forfeitures of firearms, bows, and motor vehicles occurring under this section as described |
| 12.14 | in section 609.5315, subdivision 6 609.112, subdivision 35. |
| 12.15 | Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 97A.225, subdivision 10, is amended to read: |
| 12.16 | Subd. 10. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report or |
| 12.17 | forfeitures occurring under this section as described in section 609.5315, subdivision 6 |
| 12.18 | 609.112, subdivision 35. |
| 12.19 | Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 152.21, subdivision 6, is amended to read: |
| 12.20 | Subd. 6. Exemption from criminal sanctions. For the purposes of this section, the |
| 12.21 | following are not violations under this chapter: |
| 12.22 | (1) use or possession of THC, or both, by a patient in the research program; |
| 12.23 | (2) possession, prescribing use of, administering, or dispensing THC, or any combination |
| 12.24 | of these actions, by the principal investigator or by any clinical investigator; and |
| 12.25 | (3) possession or distribution of THC, or both, by a pharmacy registered to handle |
| 12.26 | Schedule I substances which stores THC on behalf of the principal investigator or a clinical |
| 12.27 | investigator. |
| 12.28 | THC obtained and distributed pursuant to this section is not subject to forfeiture under |
| 12.29 | sections 609.531 to 609.5316 section 609.112. |

For the purposes of this section, THC is removed from Schedule I contained in section 13.1 152.02, subdivision 2, and inserted in Schedule II contained in section 152.02, subdivision 13.2 3. 13.3

- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 152.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 13.4
- Subd. 2. Criminal and civil protections. (a) Subject to section 152.23, the following 13.5 are not violations under this chapter: 13.6
- (1) use or possession of medical cannabis or medical cannabis products by a patient enrolled in the registry program, or possession by a registered designated caregiver or the parent or legal guardian of a patient if the parent or legal guardian is listed on the registry verification; 13.10
 - (2) possession, dosage determination, or sale of medical cannabis or medical cannabis products by a medical cannabis manufacturer, employees of a manufacturer, a laboratory conducting testing on medical cannabis, or employees of the laboratory; and
- (3) possession of medical cannabis or medical cannabis products by any person while 13.14 carrying out the duties required under sections 152.22 to 152.37. 13.15
- (b) Medical cannabis obtained and distributed pursuant to sections 152.22 to 152.37 and 13.16 associated property is not subject to forfeiture under sections 609.531 to 609.5316 section 13.17 609.112. 13.18
 - (c) The commissioner, the commissioner's staff, the commissioner's agents or contractors, and any health care practitioner are not subject to any civil or disciplinary penalties by the Board of Medical Practice, the Board of Nursing, or by any business, occupational, or professional licensing board or entity, solely for the participation in the registry program under sections 152.22 to 152.37. A pharmacist licensed under chapter 151 is not subject to any civil or disciplinary penalties by the Board of Pharmacy when acting in accordance with the provisions of sections 152.22 to 152.37. Nothing in this section affects a professional licensing board from taking action in response to violations of any other section of law.
 - (d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner, the governor of Minnesota, or an employee of any state agency may not be held civilly or criminally liable for any injury, loss of property, personal injury, or death caused by any act or omission while acting within the scope of office or employment under sections 152.22 to 152.37.
- (e) Federal, state, and local law enforcement authorities are prohibited from accessing 13.31 the patient registry under sections 152.22 to 152.37 except when acting pursuant to a valid 13.32 search warrant. 13.33

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

(f) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, neither the commissioner nor a public employee may release data or information about an individual contained in any report, document, or registry created under sections 152.22 to 152.37 or any information obtained about a patient participating in the program, except as provided in sections 152.22 to 152.37.

- (g) No information contained in a report, document, or registry or obtained from a patient under sections 152.22 to 152.37 may be admitted as evidence in a criminal proceeding unless independently obtained or in connection with a proceeding involving a violation of sections 152.22 to 152.37.
- (h) Notwithstanding section 13.09, any person who violates paragraph (e) or (f) is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
- (i) An attorney may not be subject to disciplinary action by the Minnesota Supreme Court or professional responsibility board for providing legal assistance to prospective or registered manufacturers or others related to activity that is no longer subject to criminal penalties under state law pursuant to sections 152.22 to 152.37.
- (j) Possession of a registry verification or application for enrollment in the program by a person entitled to possess or apply for enrollment in the registry program does not constitute probable cause or reasonable suspicion, nor shall it be used to support a search of the person or property of the person possessing or applying for the registry verification, or otherwise subject the person or property of the person to inspection by any governmental agency.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.681, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. **Forfeiture.** Property seized by the task force is subject to forfeiture pursuant to sections 609.531, 609.5312, 609.5313, and 609.5315 if ownership cannot be established.

 The task force shall receive the proceeds from the sale of all property properly seized and forfeited under section 609.112.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 1a. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of management and budget. (a) Every person, including the state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall transact any business in the district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court the sundry fees prescribed in subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund. \$30 of each fee collected in a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be deposited by the commissioner

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

of management and budget in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner of employment and economic development for the displaced homemaker program under section 116L.96.

- (b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant to this subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the fees first to reimburse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector position. The balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. In a county in a judicial district under section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which has a screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the incomes of potential clients of the public defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service.
- 15.15 (c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public authority represents in an action for:
- 15.17 (1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or 15.18 establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;
- 15.19 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

- 15.20 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under chapters 252A and 525;
- 15.22 (4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery of overpayments of public assistance;
- 15.24 (5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C;
- 15.25 (6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317 section
 15.26 609.112;
- 15.27 (7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under sections 246.52, 252.27, 256.045, 256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37, 260B.331, and 260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance;
- 15.30 (8) restitution under section 611A.04; or
- 15.31 (9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D.14, subdivision 5.

(d) \$20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2, 16.1 clause (13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general 16.2 fund and \$35 from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be 16.3 used by the county to pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys. 16.4 Sec. 9. [609.112] CRIMINAL FORFEITURE. 16.5 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 16.6 meanings given them. 16.7 (b) "Abandoned property" means personal property left by an owner who relinquishes 16.8 all rights to its control. Real property may not be abandoned. 16.9 (c) "Actual knowledge" means direct and clear awareness of information, a fact, or a 16.10 condition. 16.11 (d) "Appropriate agency" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; the Department 16.12 of Commerce Fraud Bureau; the Minnesota Division of Driver and Vehicle Services; the 16.13 Minnesota State Patrol; a county sheriff's department; the Three Rivers Park District park 16.14 rangers; the University of Minnesota Police Department; the Department of Corrections 16.15 Fugitive Apprehension Unit; a city, metropolitan transit, or airport police department; or a 16.16 multijurisdictional entity established under section 299A.642 or 299A.681. 16.17 (e) "Contraband" means goods that, in themselves, are unlawful to possess. Contraband 16.18 includes but is not limited to scheduled drugs without a valid prescription; bullet-resistant 16.19 vests, as defined in section 609.486, worn or possessed during the commission or attempted 16.20 commission of a crime; and weapons upon conviction of the weapon's owner or possessor 16.21 16.22 for: (1) a controlled substance crime; 16.23 (2) any offense of this chapter or chapter 624; or 16.24 (3) a violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01, subdivision 14. 16.25 In this chapter, contraband does not include proceeds derived from an alleged crime or an 16.26 instrumentality used in an alleged crime. 16.27 (f) "Conveyance" means a device used for transportation and includes a motor vehicle, 16.28 trailer, snowmobile, airplane, vessel, or any equipment attached to one of these devices. 16.29 The term does not include property that is stolen or taken in violation of the law. 16.30

16.31

(g) "Designated offense" means:

| 17.1 | (1) for weapons used, any violation of this chapter or chapter 152 or 624; |
|-------|--|
| 17.2 | (2) for driver's license or identification card transactions, any violation of section 171.22; |
| 17.3 | (3) all controlled substances that were manufactured, distributed, dispensed, or acquired |
| 17.4 | in violation of chapter 152, and all property, real and personal, that has been used or is |
| 17.5 | intended for use, or has in any way facilitated, in whole or in part, the manufacturing, |
| 17.6 | compounding, processing, delivering, importing, cultivating, exporting, transporting, or |
| 17.7 | exchanging of contraband, or a controlled substance that has not been lawfully manufactured, |
| 17.8 | distributed, dispensed, and acquired, is subject to forfeiture under this section, except as |
| 17.9 | provided in this section; |
| 17.10 | (4) a violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under the circumstances |
| 17.11 | described in section 169A.24 (first-degree driving while impaired) or 169A.25 (second-degree |
| 17.12 | driving while impaired); |
| 17.13 | (5) a violation of section 169A.20 or an ordinance in conformity with it: |
| 17.14 | (i) by a person whose driver's license or driving privileges have been canceled as inimical |
| 17.15 | to public safety under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), and not reinstated; or |
| 17.16 | (ii) by a person who is subject to a restriction on the person's driver's license under |
| 17.17 | section 171.09 (commissioner's license restrictions), which provides that the person may |
| 17.18 | not use or consume any amount of alcohol or a controlled substance; or |
| 17.19 | (6) for all other purposes, a felony violation of or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy |
| 17.20 | to violate section 325E.17; 325E.18; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.2112; 609.2113; |
| 17.21 | 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.2335; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25; |
| 17.22 | 609.255; 609.282; 609.283; 609.322; 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.343, |
| 17.23 | subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e) and (h) to (j); |
| 17.24 | 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e) and (h) to (j); 609.352; 609.42; 609.425; 609.466; |
| 17.25 | 609.485; 609.487; 609.52; 609.525; 609.527; 609.528; 609.53; 609.54; 609.551; 609.561; |
| 17.26 | 609.562; 609.563; 609.582; 609.59; 609.595; 609.611; 609.631; 609.66, subdivision 1e; |
| 17.27 | 609.671, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 8, and 12; 609.687; 609.821; 609.825; 609.86; 609.88; 609.89; |
| 17.28 | 609.893; 609.895; 617.246; or 617.247; or a gross misdemeanor or felony violation of |
| 17.29 | section 609.891 or 624.7181; or any violation of section 609.324; or a felony violation of |
| 17.30 | or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy to violate Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21. |
| 17.31 | (h) "Instrumentality" means property otherwise lawful to possess that is used in the |
| 17 32 | commission of a designated offense. An instrumentality includes but is not limited to land, |

| 18.1 | buildings, a container, a conveyance, equipment, materials, products, a tool, a computer, |
|-------|--|
| 18.2 | computer software, a telecommunications device, a firearm, or ammunition. |
| 18.3 | (i) "Proceeds" means money, securities, negotiable instruments, or other means of |
| 18.4 | exchange obtained by the sale of property. |
| 18.5 | Subd. 2. Purpose. Forfeiture is disfavored. The purpose of this chapter is to: |
| 18.6 | (1) deter criminal activity by reducing its economic incentives; |
| 18.7 | (2) confiscate property used in violation of the law and disgorge the fruits of illegal |
| 18.8 | conduct; and |
| 18.9 | (3) protect rights due to defendants and innocent owners. |
| 18.10 | Subd. 3. Seizure of personal property with process. At the request of the state at any |
| 18.11 | time, a court may issue an ex parte preliminary order to attach, seize, or secure personal |
| 18.12 | property for which forfeiture is sought and to provide for its custody. Application, issuance, |
| 18.13 | execution, and return are subject to state statute and court rules. |
| 18.14 | Subd. 4. Seizure of personal property without process. (a) Personal property is subject |
| 18.15 | to forfeiture and may be seized without a court order if: |
| 18.16 | (1) the personal property is the subject of a prior judgment in favor of the state; |
| 18.17 | (2) the seizure of personal property is incident to a lawful arrest for a designated offense, |
| 18.18 | the property was discovered in a lawful search, and the appropriate agency has probable |
| 18.19 | cause to believe the property: |
| 18.20 | (i) was used in any manner or part to commit or to facilitate the commission of the |
| 18.21 | designated offense; or |
| 18.22 | (ii) constitutes or was derived directly from proceeds of a designated offense; or |
| 18.23 | (3) the appropriate agency has probable cause to believe that the delay occasioned by |
| 18.24 | the necessity to obtain process would result in the removal or destruction of the property |
| 18.25 | and that: |
| 18.26 | (i) the property was used or is intended to be used in commission of a felony; or |
| 18.27 | (ii) the property is dangerous to health or safety. |
| 18.28 | (b) Mere presence or possession of United States currency, without other indicia of an |
| 18.29 | offense that authorizes forfeiture of property, is insufficient probable cause for seizure of |
| 18.30 | United States currency. |

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

19.32

19.33

| Subd. 5. Seizure or restraint of real property with process. (a) Seizure or restrain | nt of |
|--|-------|
| real property requires a court order. Except as provided in subdivision 6, a court may | ssue |
| an order to seize or secure real property for which forfeiture is sought only after proper | er |
| notice to property owners and an opportunity for a contested hearing to determine the | |
| sufficiency of probable cause for the seizure. | |

- (b) Except as provided in subdivision 6, nothing in this section prohibits the prosecuting authority from seeking a lis pendens or restraining order to hinder the sale or destruction of the real property. However, if the prosecuting attorney obtains a lis pendens or restraining order, the prosecuting authority shall notify any party with an interest in any real property within 30 days.
- (c) Application, filing, issuance, execution, and return of any order are subject to state 19.11 19.12 law.
 - Subd. 6. Rental property. (a) When contraband or a controlled substance manufactured, distributed, or acquired in violation of chapter 152 is seized on residential rental property incident to a lawful search or arrest, the prosecuting authority shall give the notice required by this subdivision to (1) the landlord of the property or the fee owner identified in the records of the county assessor, and (2) the agent authorized by the owner to accept service pursuant to section 504B.181. The notice is not required during an ongoing investigation. The notice shall state what has been seized and specify the applicable duties and penalties under this subdivision. The notice shall state that the landlord who chooses to assign the right to bring an eviction action retains all rights and duties, including removal of a tenant's personal property following issuance of the writ of recovery and delivery of the writ to the sheriff for execution. The notice shall also state that the landlord may contact the prosecuting authority if threatened by the tenant. Notice shall be sent by certified letter, return receipt requested, within 30 days of the seizure. If receipt is not returned, notice shall be given in the manner provided by law for service of summons in a civil action.
 - (b) Within 15 days after notice of the first occurrence, the landlord shall bring or assign to the prosecuting authority of the county in which the real property is located the right to bring an eviction action against the tenant. The assignment must be in writing on a form prepared by the prosecuting authority. If the landlord chooses to assign the right to bring an eviction action, the assignment shall be limited to those rights and duties up to and including delivery of the writ of recovery to the sheriff for execution.
 - (c) Upon notice of a second occurrence on any residential rental property owned by the same landlord in the same county and involving the same tenant, and within one year after

| 20.1 | notice of the first occurrence, the property is subject to forfeiture under this section unless |
|-------|--|
| 20.2 | an eviction action has been commenced as provided in paragraph (b) or the right to bring |
| 20.3 | an eviction action was assigned to the prosecuting authority as provided in paragraph (b). |
| 20.4 | If the right has been assigned and not previously exercised, or if the prosecuting authority |
| 20.5 | requests an assignment and the landlord makes an assignment, the prosecuting authority |
| 20.6 | may bring an eviction action rather than an action for forfeiture. |
| 20.7 | (d) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize real |
| 20.8 | property for the purposes of forfeiture as described in paragraphs (a) to (c). |
| 20.9 | (e) It is a defense against a proceeding under paragraph (b) that the tenant had no |
| 20.9 | knowledge or reason to know of the presence of the contraband or controlled substance or |
| 20.10 | could not prevent its being brought onto the property. It is a defense against a proceeding |
| 20.11 | under paragraph (c) that the landlord made every reasonable attempt to evict a tenant or to |
| 20.12 | assign the prosecuting authority the right to bring an eviction action against the tenant or |
| 20.13 | that the landlord did not receive notice of the seizure. |
| 20.17 | |
| 20.15 | (f) This subdivision shall not apply if the retail value of the controlled substance is less |
| 20.16 | than \$100, but this subdivision does not subject real property to forfeiture unless (1) the |
| 20.17 | retail value of the controlled substance is \$1,000 or more, or (2) there have been two previous |
| 20.18 | controlled substance seizures involving the same tenant. |
| 20.19 | Subd. 7. Exemptions. (a) The following property is exempt from seizure and forfeiture: |
| 20.20 | (1) homestead real property; |
| 20.21 | (2) United States currency totaling no more than \$300; and |
| 20.22 | (3) a motor vehicle of no more than \$2,500 in market value, except that this provision |
| 20.23 | does not apply to a motor vehicle used in violation of section 609.66, subdivision 1e. |
| 20.24 | (b) A prosecuting authority may establish an exemption with a minimum dollar amount |
| 20.25 | larger than those in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), in the prosecuting authority's |
| 20.26 | jurisdiction. |
| 20.27 | Subd. 8. Contraband. No property right exists in contraband. Contraband is subject to |
| 20.28 | seizure and shall be disposed of according to law. |
| 20.29 | Subd. 9. Waiver prohibition. (a) An appropriate agency may not request, require, or |
| 20.30 | in any manner induce any person to execute a document purporting to waive, for purposes |
| 20.31 | of forfeiture under this section, the person's interest in or rights to property seized. This |
| 20.32 | prohibition does not apply to the prosecuting agency responsible for the litigation of the |
| 20.33 | forfeiture case. |

| 21.1 | (b) Any document in violation of paragraph (a) purporting to waive a person's interest |
|-------|---|
| 21.2 | in, or right to, property seized under this chapter is null, void, and inadmissible in court. |
| 21.3 | Subd. 10. Receipt. When property is seized, the appropriate agency shall give an itemized |
| 21.4 | receipt to the person possessing the property or, in the absence of any person, leave a receipt |
| 21.5 | in the place where the property was found, if reasonably possible. |
| 21.6 | Subd. 11. Criminal forfeiture; property subject to forfeiture. When a person is |
| 21.7 | convicted of violating a designated offense, the court, consistent with this chapter, may |
| 21.8 | order the person to forfeit: |
| 21.9 | (1) any property constituting or derived directly from proceeds of the underlying offense |
| 21.10 | for which the person is convicted; or |
| 21.11 | (2) any of the person's property used in any manner or part to commit or to facilitate the |
| 21.12 | commission of the offense for which the person is convicted. |
| 21.13 | Subd. 12. Conviction required; standard of proof. (a) There shall be no civil forfeiture |
| 21.14 | under this chapter. |
| 21.15 | (b) Property may be forfeited if (1) the offense is a designated offense, (2) the offense |
| 21.16 | is established by proof of a criminal conviction, and (3) the state establishes that the property |
| 21.17 | is subject to forfeiture under subdivision 11 by clear and convincing evidence. |
| 21.18 | (c) Nothing in this section prevents property from being forfeited by plea agreement |
| 21.19 | approved by the presiding criminal court except the court shall not accept a plea agreement |
| 21.20 | or other arrangement that prevents the claims of any person who filed a statement of interest |
| 21.21 | or ownership pursuant to subdivision 20 or 21 from being adjudicated. |
| 21.22 | (d) The court may waive the conviction requirement if the prosecuting authority shows |
| 21.23 | by clear and convincing evidence that, before conviction, the defendant: |
| 21.24 | (1) died; |
| 21.25 | (2) no longer resides in the United States; |
| 21.26 | (3) was granted immunity or reduced punishment in exchange for testifying or assisting |
| 21.27 | a law enforcement investigation or prosecution; |
| 21.28 | (4) fled state jurisdiction; or |
| 21 29 | (5) abandoned the property. |

| 22.1 | (e) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the court shall order the sale of personal |
|-------|---|
| 22.2 | property that is (1) seized from a person who flees state jurisdiction, or (2) abandoned to |
| 22.3 | be credited to the state general fund. |
| 22.4 | (f) The court shall order currency that is (1) seized from a person who flees the |
| 22.5 | jurisdiction, or (2) abandoned to be credited to the state general fund. |
| 22.6 | Subd. 13. Forfeiture indictment. (a) In any case in which the state seeks forfeiture of |
| 22.7 | property except through a complaint as provided in subdivision 14, the prosecuting authority |
| 22.8 | shall file an indictment or information that includes: |
| 22.9 | (1) a criminal charge; and |
| 22.10 | (2) a charge for which forfeiture of property under this chapter may be ordered. This |
| 22.11 | property-related charge shall identify the specific assets to be forfeited, if known, or the |
| 22.12 | relevant forfeiture statutes if specific assets to be forfeited are not known at the time the |
| 22.13 | prosecuting authority requests the issuance of the indictment. |
| 22.14 | (b) Upon application of the prosecuting authority, the court may enter a restraining order |
| 22.15 | or injunction, or take other action to preserve the availability of property only: |
| 22.16 | (1) upon the issuance of an indictment or information according to paragraph (a); or |
| 22.17 | (2) prior to the issuance of such an indictment or information if the court determines |
| 22.18 | there is a substantial probability the state will prevail on the issue of criminal forfeiture and |
| 22.19 | that failure to enter the order will result in property being destroyed, removed from the |
| 22.20 | jurisdiction, or otherwise made unavailable for forfeiture. |
| 22.21 | (c) Any order entered pursuant to paragraph (b) shall be effective for not more than 90 |
| 22.22 | days, unless extended by the court for good cause shown or unless an indictment or |
| 22.23 | information described in paragraph (b), clause (1), has been subsequently issued. |
| 22.24 | (d) Notice must be provided as set forth in the complaint process provided in subdivision |
| 22.25 | 14 to all persons known to have an interest in the property who are not named in the |
| 22.26 | indictment or information. |
| 22.27 | Subd. 14. Forfeiture complaint; service of process. (a) In any case in which the state |
| 22.28 | seeks forfeiture of property, except when the state seeks forfeiture through indictment or |
| 22.29 | information as provided in subdivision 13, the prosecuting authority shall file a criminal |
| 22.30 | complaint that includes (1) criminal charges, and (2) the information identified in paragraph |
| 22.31 | (b) before the defendant's first appearance in court. Upon motion by the prosecuting authority, |
| 22.32 | a court may permit the filing of an amended criminal complaint within seven days of the |
| 22.22 | first appearance for good cause shown. Service of an amended criminal complaint on a |

| 23.1 | represented party must be made on the attorney. Service on the attorney or party must be |
|-------|---|
| 23.2 | made in the manner provided by the rules of practice of the court, including by electronic |
| 23.3 | means as authorized by the court. The court shall verify service at the defendant's next |
| 23.4 | appearance. |
| 23.5 | (b) A complaint in any case in which the state seeks forfeiture of property must include: |
| 23.6 | (1) a description of the property seized; |
| 23.7 | (2) the date and place of the seizure; |
| 23.8 | (3) the name and address of the appropriate agency responsible for the seizure; |
| 23.9 | (4) a statement of facts establishing probable cause to believe that the charged offense |
| 23.10 | has been committed, that the defendant committed it, and that the seized property is an |
| 23.11 | instrument or represents the proceeds of the underlying offense; |
| 23.12 | (5) the name of any person known to the prosecuting authority to have an interest in the |
| 23.13 | property and the nature of that interest; and |
| 23.14 | (6) references to the relevant statutory provisions required to show the property is the |
| 23.15 | type of property that may be forfeited under subdivision 11. |
| 23.16 | (c) If notice is not served in accordance with paragraphs (a) and (b) to all persons |
| 23.17 | appearing to have an interest in the property and no time extension is granted or the extension |
| 23.18 | period has expired, the appropriate agency shall, upon the owner's request, return the property |
| 23.19 | to the person from whom the property was seized, if known. The agency shall not be required |
| 23.20 | to return contraband. |
| 23.21 | (d) Failure to file a forfeiture complaint required by this subdivision shall not invalidate |
| 23.22 | prosecution for the underlying criminal offense. |
| 23.23 | (e) Unless otherwise specified in law, the prosecuting authority shall provide notice of |
| 23.24 | the forfeiture proceeding to the registered owner of any vehicle and any other individual |
| 23.25 | known to have an interest in any property subject to forfeiture under this section who is not |
| 23.26 | charged with a crime in the complaint. Notice must be given within seven days of the filing |
| 23.27 | of the complaint pursuant to paragraph (a) or, if an interest was not known at the time of |
| 23.28 | the filing, within seven days of discovery of an individual with an interest in the property |
| 23.29 | and may be made by personal service if the owner is a resident of this state, or by certified |
| 23.30 | mail if the person is a resident of another state. |
| 23.31 | (f) The notice must be in writing and contain: |
| 23.32 | (1) a description of the property seized; |

| 24.1 | (2) the date of seizure; and |
|-------|---|
| 24.2 | (3) a copy of the complaint filed pursuant to paragraph (a). |
| 24.3 | (g) Substantially, the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice: |
| 24.4 | "WARNING: You may lose the right to be heard in court if you do not file a petition |
| 24.5 | pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.112, subdivision 20 or 21. You do not have to |
| 24.6 | pay a filing fee to file your notice." |
| 24.7 | Subd. 15. Title. (a) Title to the property subject to forfeiture vests with the state when |
| 24.8 | the court issues a forfeiture judgment and relates back to the time when the state seizes or |
| 24.9 | restrains the property. |
| 24.10 | (b) Title to substitute assets vests when the court issues an order forfeiting substitute |
| 24.11 | assets. |
| 24.12 | (c) For either paragraph (a) or (b), title is subject to claims by third parties adjudicated |
| 24.13 | under this chapter. |
| 24.14 | Subd. 16. Defendant's pretrial replevin hearing. (a) Following the seizure of property, |
| 24.15 | a defendant has a right to a pretrial hearing to determine the validity of the seizure. |
| 24.16 | (b) The court shall hold the hearing at the time the defendant enters a plea or no later |
| 24.17 | than 14 days after the defendant's first appearance under rule 5 of the Rules of Criminal |
| 24.18 | Procedure. |
| 24.19 | (c) Either party may, by agreement or for good cause, move the court for one extension |
| 24.20 | of no more than ten days. This motion may be supported by affidavits or other submissions. |
| 24.21 | (d) The court shall issue a writ of replevin if it finds that: |
| 24.22 | (1) it is likely the final judgment will be that the state must return the property to the |
| 24.23 | defendant; |
| 24.24 | (2) the property is not reasonably required to be held for evidentiary reasons; and |
| 24.25 | (3) the property is the only reasonable means for the defendant to pay for legal |
| 24.26 | representation and minimum living expenses in the forfeiture or criminal proceeding unless |
| 24.27 | the prosecuting authority shows by clear and convincing evidence that the property is the |
| 24.28 | instrument or proceeds of an offense for which the defendant is charged. At the court's |
| 24.29 | discretion, it may order the return of funds or property sufficient to obtain counsel of choice |
| 24.30 | but less than the total amount seized. |
| 24 31 | Subd. 17. Discovery. Discovery is subject to the Rules of Criminal Procedure. |

| 25.1 | Subd. 18. Venue; trial proceedings. (a) The district court with jurisdiction over the |
|-------|---|
| 25.2 | related criminal matter has jurisdiction over the forfeiture proceeding. |
| 25.3 | (b) The litigation related to the forfeiture of property shall be held in a single proceeding |
| 25.4 | following entry of a plea of guilty or the trial of the related alleged offense. The litigation |
| 25.5 | associated with the forfeiture of property of less than \$10,000 in value shall be held before |
| 25.6 | only a judge. |
| 25.7 | (c) The court is not bound by the rules of evidence or technical or formal rules of pleading |
| 25.8 | or procedure in the litigation related to the forfeiture of property when a property owner |
| 25.9 | engages in pro se representation in a case before a judge. |
| 25.10 | (d) If the defendant in the related criminal matter was represented by the public defender, |
| 25.11 | the state public defender or chief public defender of the judicial district may authorize |
| 25.12 | representation of the defendant in the forfeiture proceeding. |
| 25.13 | Subd. 19. Proportionality hearing. (a) At any time during a hearing pursuant to |
| 25,14 | subdivision 16 or 18, the defendant may petition the court to determine whether the forfeiture |
| 25.15 | is unconstitutionally excessive under the state or federal constitution. |
| 25.16 | (b) The defendant has the burden of proving the forfeiture is disproportional to the |
| 25.17 | seriousness of the offense by a preponderance of the evidence at a hearing conducted by |
| 25.18 | the court without a jury. |
| 25.19 | (c) In determining whether the forfeiture of an instrumentality is unconstitutionally |
| 25.20 | excessive, the court may consider all relevant factors, including but not limited to: |
| 25.21 | (1) the seriousness of the offense and its impact on the community, including the duration |
| 25.22 | of the activity and the harm caused by the defendant; |
| 25.23 | (2) the extent to which the defendant participated in the offense; |
| 25.24 | (3) the extent to which the property was used in committing the offense; |
| 25.25 | (4) the sentence imposed for committing the crime authorizing forfeiture; and |
| 25.26 | (5) whether the offense was completed or attempted. |
| 25.27 | (d) In determining the value of the instrumentality subject to forfeiture, the court may |
| 25.28 | consider the fair market value of the property. |
| 25.29 | (e) The court may also consider: |
| 25.30 | (1) the hardship to the defendant if the forfeiture is realized and if the forfeiture would |
| 25 21 | denrive the property owner of the owner's livelihood; and |

| 26.1 | (2) the hardship from the loss of a primary residence, motor vehicle, or other property |
|-------|--|
| 26.2 | to the defendant's family members or others if the property is forfeited. |
| 26.3 | (f) The court may not consider the value of the instrumentality to the state in determining |
| 26.4 | whether the forfeiture of an instrumentality is constitutionally excessive. |
| 26.5 | Subd. 20. Secured interest. (a) Property encumbered by a bona fide security interest is |
| 26.6 | not subject to forfeiture. A person claiming a security interest must establish by clear and |
| 26.7 | convincing evidence the validity of the interest. |
| 26.8 | (b) The prosecuting authority summarily and without unreasonable delay shall return |
| 26.9 | seized property to the person with a bona fide security interest, up to the value of the secured |
| 26.10 | interest. |
| 26.11 | (c) If the person alleges a valid security interest but the state seeks to proceed with the |
| 26.12 | forfeiture against the property claimed by the person, the state shall prove by clear and |
| 26.13 | convincing evidence that the person had actual knowledge of the underlying crime giving |
| 26.14 | rise to the forfeiture. Either party may ask the court for a hearing at any time before the |
| 26.15 | court enters a judgment in the criminal prosecution. |
| 26.16 | Subd. 21. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, including an heir but excluding the defendant |
| 26.17 | or a secured-interest holder, asserting a legal interest in property that has been seized or |
| 26.18 | restrained may, at any time before the court enters judgment in the criminal prosecution, |
| 26.19 | petition the court for a hearing to adjudicate the validity of the person's alleged interest in |
| 26.20 | the property. The hearing shall be held before the court without a jury. |
| 26.21 | (b) The petitioner shall file a simple statement of interest or ownership. The petitioner |
| 26.22 | shall sign the petition under penalty of perjury and shall set forth the nature and extent of |
| 26.23 | the petitioner's right, title, or interest in the property; the time and circumstances of the |
| 26.24 | petitioner's acquisition of the right, title, or interest in the property; any additional facts |
| 26.25 | supporting the petitioner's claim; and the relief sought. |
| 26.26 | (c) The filing fee for the statement under this subdivision is waived. |
| 26.27 | (d) The hearing on the petition shall, to the extent practicable and consistent with the |
| 26.28 | interests of justice, be held within 30 days of the filing of the petition. The court may |
| 26.29 | consolidate the hearing on the petition with a hearing on any other petition filed by a person |
| 26.30 | other than the defendant under this subdivision. |
| 26.31 | (e) At the hearing, the petitioner may testify and present evidence and witnesses on the |
| 26.32 | petitioner's own behalf and cross-examine witnesses who appear at the hearing. The state |

may present evidence and witnesses in rebuttal and in defense of its claim to the property 27.1 and cross-examine witnesses who appear at the hearing. 27.2 (f) The petitioner who has an ownership interest in property subject to forfeiture at the 27.3 time the commission of the crime giving rise to forfeiture occurred and who claims to be 27.4 an innocent owner bears the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the 27.5 person has a legal right, title, or interest in the property seized under this chapter. 27.6 (g) If paragraph (f) is satisfied and the state seeks to proceed with the forfeiture of the 27.7 property, the state shall prove by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioner had actual 27.8 27.9 knowledge of the underlying crime giving rise to the forfeiture. (h) A petitioner who acquired an ownership interest in property subject to forfeiture 27.10 after the commission of the crime giving rise to the forfeiture and who claims to be an 27.11 innocent owner bears the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the person 27.12 has a legal right, title, or interest in the property seized under this chapter. 27.13 (i) If paragraph (h) is satisfied and the state seeks to proceed with the forfeiture of the 27.14 property, the state shall prove by clear and convincing evidence that, at the time the petitioner 27.15 acquired the property, the person: 27.16 (1) had actual knowledge that the property was subject to forfeiture; or 27.17 (2) was not a bona fide purchaser without notice of any defect in title and for valuable 27.18 consideration. 27.19 (j) If the state fails to meet its burden in paragraph (g) or (i), the court shall find that the 27.20 petitioner is an innocent owner and shall order the state to relinquish all claims of title to 27.21 the property. 27.22 (k) No information in the statement of interest or ownership filed pursuant to this section 27.23 shall be used as evidence in the criminal matter. Nothing in this section prohibits the 27.24 petitioner who has filed a statement of interest or ownership under this section from providing 27.25 information to any prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter 27.26 or representatives of any prosecuting authority or defendant, or from testifying in any 27.27 criminal trial as to facts within the petitioner's knowledge. 27.28 (1) The defendant or convicted offender may invoke the right against self-incrimination 27.29 or the marital privilege during the forfeiture-related stage of the prosecution. The trier of 27.30 fact at the hearing may draw an adverse inference from the invocation of the right or 27.31 privilege. 27.32

| 28.1 | Subd. 22. Judgment. (a) If the prosecuting authority fails to meet its burden as to any |
|-------|---|
| 28.2 | claimant, the court must enter judgment dismissing the forfeiture proceeding and delivering |
| 28.3 | the property to the prevailing owner, unless the owner's possession of the property is illegal. |
| 28.4 | (b) If the prosecuting authority meets its burden as to all claimants, the court shall enter |
| 28.5 | judgment forfeiting the seized property. |
| 28.6 | (c) A court may enter judgment following a hearing or pursuant to a stipulation or plea |
| 28.7 | agreement. |
| 28.8 | Subd. 23. Substitution of assets. Upon the state's motion following conviction, the court |
| 28.9 | may order the forfeiture of substitute property owned by the defendant up to the value of |
| 28.10 | unreachable property that is beyond the court's jurisdiction or cannot be located through |
| 28.11 | due diligence only if the state proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant |
| 28.12 | intentionally: |
| 28.13 | (1) dissipated property; |
| 28.14 | (2) transferred, sold, or deposited property with a third party to avoid forfeiture; |
| 28.15 | (3) diminished substantially the value of the property; or |
| 28.16 | (4) commingled property with other property that cannot be divided without difficulty. |
| 28.17 | Subd. 24. No additional remedies. The state may not seek personal money judgments |
| 28.18 | or other remedies related to the forfeiture of property not provided for in this section. |
| 28.19 | Subd. 25. No joint and several liability. A defendant is not jointly and severally liable |
| 28.20 | for forfeiture awards owed by other defendants. When ownership is unclear, a court may |
| 28.21 | order each defendant to forfeit property on a pro rata basis or by another means the court |
| 28.22 | finds equitable. |
| 28.23 | Subd. 26. Appeal. (a) A party to forfeiture litigation, other than the defendant, may |
| 28.24 | appeal the district court's decision regarding the seizure, on an interlocutory basis, or |
| 28.25 | forfeiture of property under this chapter. |
| 28.26 | (b) The defendant may appeal the district court's decision regarding the seizure or |
| 28.27 | forfeiture of property following judgment in the forfeiture litigation. |
| 28.28 | Subd. 27. Attorney fees. In any proceeding in which a property owner's claims prevail |
| 28.29 | by recovering at least half, by value, of the property or currency claimed, the seizing agency |
| 28.30 | shall be liable for: |
| 28.31 | (1) attorney fees and other litigation costs reasonably incurred by the claimant; |

| 29.1 | (2) postjudgment interest; and |
|-------|---|
| 29.2 | (3) in cases involving currency, other negotiable instruments, or the proceeds of an |
| 29.3 | interlocutory sale, any interest actually paid from the date of seizure. |
| 29.4 | Subd. 28. Return of property; damages; costs. (a) If the court orders the return of |
| 29.5 | property, the appropriate agency that holds the property shall return the property to the |
| 29.6 | owner or other prevailing claimant within a reasonable period of time not to exceed five |
| 29.7 | days after entry of judgment. |
| 29.8 | (b) Any owner to whom property is returned shall not be subject to any charges for |
| 29.9 | storage of the property or expenses incurred in the preservation of the property. |
| 29.10 | (c) The appropriate agency that holds the property is responsible for any damages, storage |
| 29.11 | fees, and related costs applicable to property returned under this section. |
| 29.12 | Subd. 29. Disposition of property and proceeds. (a) At any time when contraband held |
| 29.13 | for evidentiary purposes is no longer needed for that purpose, the court may order that it be |
| 29.14 | destroyed pursuant to state law. |
| 29.15 | (b) At any time when abandoned property held for evidentiary purposes is no longer |
| 29.16 | needed for that purpose, the court may order the property to be sold and the proceeds |
| 29.17 | distributed pursuant to subdivision 12, paragraphs (e) and (f). |
| 29.18 | (c) If forfeiture is granted, the proceeds from the sale of forfeited personal property shall |
| 29.19 | first be used to pay all outstanding recorded liens on the forfeited property. |
| 29.20 | (d) The court may then order that a portion of the currency seized or proceeds from the |
| 29.21 | sale of forfeited property be used to (1) pay the victim of the crime for which the defendant |
| 29.22 | is convicted, and (2) pay reasonable nonpersonnel expenses for the seizure, storage, and |
| 29.23 | maintenance of any forfeited property. |
| 29.24 | (e) The court must then order remaining funds be credited equally to: |
| 29.25 | (1) the justice programs forfeiture account in the special revenue fund and is appropriated |
| 29.26 | to the commissioner of public safety for grants administered through the Office of Justice |
| 29.27 | Programs; |
| 29.28 | (2) the commissioner of health to be deposited in the safe harbor for youth account in |
| 29.29 | the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the commissioner of health for distribution |
| 29.30 | to crime victims services organizations that provide services to sexually exploited youth, |
| 29.31 | as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 31; |

| 30.1 | (3) the public defender forfeiture account in the special revenue fund and is appropriated |
|-------|---|
| 30.2 | to the Minnesota Board of Public Defense; and |
| 30.3 | (4) the state general fund. |
| 30.4 | (f) A justice programs forfeiture account is established as a special account in the state |
| 30.5 | treasury. |
| 30.6 | (g) A public defender forfeiture account is established as a special account in the state |
| 30.7 | treasury. |
| 30.8 | Subd. 30. Prohibition on retaining property; sale restrictions. No appropriate agency |
| 30.9 | may retain forfeited or abandoned property for its own use or sell it directly or indirectly |
| 30.10 | to any employee of the agency, to a person related to an employee by blood or marriage, |
| 30.11 | or to another appropriate agency or any other law enforcement agency. |
| 30.12 | Subd. 31. Prohibition of federal adoption. A local, county, or state law enforcement |
| 30.13 | agency shall not refer, transfer, or otherwise relinquish possession of property seized under |
| 30.14 | state law to a federal agency by way of adoption of the seized property or other means by |
| 30.15 | the federal agency for the purpose of the property's forfeiture under the federal Controlled |
| 30.16 | Substances Act, United States Code, title 21, section 881, or the Comprehensive Drug Abuse |
| 30.17 | Prevention and Control Act of 1970, Public Law 91-513, section 413. |
| 30.18 | Subd. 32. Limit on receiving forfeiture proceeds from joint task forces. (a) In a case |
| 30.19 | in which the aggregate net equity value of the property and currency seized has a value of |
| 30.20 | \$50,000 or less, excluding the value of contraband, a local, county, or state law enforcement |
| 30.21 | agency or participant in a joint task force or other multijurisdictional collaboration with the |
| 30.22 | federal government shall transfer responsibility for the seized property to the state prosecuting |
| 30.23 | authority for forfeiture under state law. |
| 30.24 | (b) If the federal government prohibits the transfer of seized property and currency to |
| 30.25 | the state prosecuting authority as required by paragraph (a) and instead requires the property |
| 30.26 | be transferred to the federal government for forfeiture under federal law, the agency is |
| 30.27 | prohibited from accepting payment of any kind or distribution of forfeiture proceeds from |
| 30.28 | the federal government. |
| 30.29 | (c) Nothing in paragraph (a) or (b) shall be construed to restrict an agency from |
| 30.30 | transferring responsibility to the federal government for forfeiture of seized property and |
| 30.31 | currency that has an aggregate net equity value of greater than \$50,000, excluding the value |
| 30.32 | of contraband. |

| 31.1 | (d) Nothing in paragraph (a) or (b) or subdivision 31 shall be construed to restrict a local, |
|-------|---|
| 31.2 | county, or state law enforcement agency from acting alone or collaborating with a federal |
| 31.3 | agency or other agency to seize contraband or property a law enforcement agent has probable |
| 31.4 | cause to believe is the proceeds or instruments of a crime that subjects property to forfeiture. |
| 31.5 | (e) Nothing in paragraph (a) or (b) or subdivision 31 shall be construed to prohibit the |
| 31.6 | federal government, acting without the involvement of a local, county, or state law |
| 31.7 | enforcement agency, from seizing property and seeking forfeiture under federal law. |
| 31.8 | Subd. 33. Preemption. This chapter preempts laws by other governments in the state |
| 31.9 | that regulate forfeiture of property in crimes related to controlled substances and driving |
| 31.10 | while impaired. |
| 31.11 | Subd. 34. Exception. The provisions of this section other than the reporting requirement |
| 31.12 | under subdivision 35 do not apply to seizure or forfeiture proceedings under chapter 84 or |
| 31.13 | <u>97A.</u> |
| 31.14 | Subd. 35. Reporting requirement. (a) For each forfeiture occurring in the state, the |
| 31.15 | appropriate agency and the prosecuting authority shall provide a written record of the |
| 31.16 | forfeiture incident to the state auditor. The record shall include the amount forfeited, the |
| 31.17 | statutory authority for the forfeiture, the date, a brief description of the circumstances |
| 31.18 | involved, and whether the forfeiture was contested. The record shall also list the number of |
| 31.19 | firearms forfeited and the make, model, and serial number of each firearm forfeited. The |
| 31.20 | record shall indicate how the property was or is to be disposed of. |
| 31.21 | (b) An appropriate agency or the prosecuting authority shall report to the state auditor |
| 31.22 | all instances in which property seized for forfeiture is returned to its owner either because |
| 31.23 | forfeiture is not pursued or for any other reason. |
| 31.24 | (c) Reports shall be made on a monthly basis in a manner prescribed by the state auditor. |
| 31.25 | The state auditor shall report annually to the legislature on the nature and extent of forfeitures. |
| 31.26 | (d) For forfeitures resulting from the activities of multijurisdictional law enforcement |
| 31.27 | entities, the entity on its own behalf shall report the information required in this subdivision. |
| 31.28 | (e) The prosecuting authority is not required to report information required by this |
| 31.29 | subdivision unless the prosecuting authority has been notified by the state auditor that the |

appropriate agency has not reported it.

| 32.1 | Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.66, subdivision 1d, is amended to read: |
|-------|---|
| 32.2 | Subd. 1d. Possession on school property; penalty. (a) Except as provided under |
| 32.3 | paragraphs (d) and (f), whoever possesses, stores, or keeps a dangerous weapon while |
| 32.4 | knowingly on school property is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment |
| 32.5 | for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both. |
| 32.6 | (b) Whoever uses or brandishes a replica firearm or a BB gun while knowingly on school property is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. |
| 32.7 | |
| 32.8 | (c) Whoever possesses, stores, or keeps a replica firearm or a BB gun while knowingly |
| 32.9 | on school property is guilty of a misdemeanor. |
| 32.10 | (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), (b), or (c), it is a misdemeanor for a person authorized |
| 32.11 | to carry a firearm under the provisions of a permit or otherwise to carry a firearm on or |
| 32.12 | about the person's clothes or person in a location the person knows is school property. |
| 32.13 | Notwithstanding section 609.531 any law to the contrary, a firearm carried in violation of |
| 32.14 | this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture. |
| 32.15 | (e) As used in this subdivision: |
| 32.16 | (1) "BB gun" means a device that fires or ejects a shot measuring .18 of an inch or less |
| 32.17 | in diameter; |
| 32.18 | (2) "dangerous weapon" has the meaning given it in section 609.02, subdivision 6; |
| 32.19 | (3) "replica firearm" has the meaning given it in section 609.713; and |
| 32.20 | (4) "school property" means: |
| 32.21 | (i) a public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and its improved |
| 32.22 | grounds, whether leased or owned by the school; |
| 32.23 | (ii) a child care center licensed under chapter 245A during the period children are present |
| 32.24 | and participating in a child care program; |
| 32.25 | (iii) the area within a school bus when that bus is being used by a school to transport |
| 32.26 | one or more elementary, middle, or secondary school students to and from school-related |
| 32.27 | activities, including curricular, cocurricular, noncurricular, extracurricular, and supplementary |
| 32.28 | activities; and |
| 32.29 | (iv) that portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a |
| 32.30 | public or private school, a school district, or an association of such entities where conspicuous |
| 32.31 | signs are prominently posted at each entrance that give actual notice to persons of the |
| 32.32 | school-related use. |

| 33.1 | (1) This subdivision does not apply to: |
|-------|---|
| 33.2 | (1) active licensed peace officers; |
| 33.3 | (2) military personnel or students participating in military training, who are on-duty, |
| 33.4 | performing official duties; |
| 33.5 | (3) persons authorized to carry a pistol under section 624.714 while in a motor vehicle |
| 33.6 | or outside of a motor vehicle to directly place a firearm in, or retrieve it from, the trunk or |
| 33.7 | rear area of the vehicle; |
| 33.8 | (4) persons who keep or store in a motor vehicle pistols in accordance with section |
| 33.9 | 624.714 or 624.715 or other firearms in accordance with section 97B.045; |
| 33.10 | (5) firearm safety or marksmanship courses or activities conducted on school property; |
| 33.11 | (6) possession of dangerous weapons, BB guns, or replica firearms by a ceremonial |
| 33.12 | color guard; |
| 33.13 | (7) a gun or knife show held on school property; |
| 33.14 | (8) possession of dangerous weapons, BB guns, or replica firearms with written |
| 33.15 | permission of the principal or other person having general control and supervision of the |
| 33.16 | school or the director of a child care center; or |
| 33.17 | (9) persons who are on unimproved property owned or leased by a child care center, |
| 33.18 | school, or school district unless the person knows that a student is currently present on the |
| 33.19 | land for a school-related activity. |
| 33.20 | (g) Notwithstanding section 471.634, a school district or other entity composed |
| 33.21 | exclusively of school districts may not regulate firearms, ammunition, or their respective |
| 33.22 | components, when possessed or carried by nonstudents or nonemployees, in a manner that |
| 33.23 | is inconsistent with this subdivision. |
| 33.24 | Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.762, subdivision 2, is amended to read: |
| 33.25 | Subd. 2. Seizure. Forfeiture of property subject to forfeiture under identified in |
| 33.26 | subdivision 1 may be seized by any law enforcement agency upon process issued by any |
| 33.27 | court having jurisdiction over the property. Seizure without process may be made if: must |
| 33.28 | be made pursuant to section 609.112. |
| 33.29 | (1) the seizure is incident to an arrest or a search under a search warrant; |
| 33.30 | (2) the property subject to seizure has been the subject of a prior judgment in favor of |
| 33.31 | the state in a criminal injunction or forfeiture proceeding; or |

(3) the law enforcement agency has probable cause to believe that the property was used 34.1 or is intended to be used in a gambling violation and the delay occasioned by the necessity 34.2 to obtain process would result in the removal, loss, or destruction of the property. 34.3 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.856, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 34.4 Subd. 2. Forfeiture. A radio or device defined in subdivision 1 that is used in the 34.5 commission of a felony or violation of section 609.487 or attempt to commit a felony or 34.6 violation of section 609.487 is contraband property and subject to the forfeiture provisions 34.7 of section 609.531 609.112. 34.8 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.895, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 34.9 Subd. 5. Forfeiture. Property used to commit or facilitate the commission of a violation 34.10 of this section, and all money and property representing proceeds of a violation of this 34.11 section, shall be forfeited in accordance with sections 609.531 to 609.5316 section 609.112. 34.12 Notwithstanding any provision of section 609.5315 609.112 to the contrary, forfeited items 34.13 bearing or identified by a counterfeit mark must be destroyed unless the intellectual property 34.14 owner consents to another disposition. 34.15 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.908, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 34.16 Subd. 3. Sale proceeds. The proceeds of a sale or other disposition of forfeited property 34.17 under this section whether by final judgment, settlement, or otherwise, must be applied as 34.18 follows: 34.19 (1) to the fees and costs of the forfeiture and sale including expenses of seizure, 34.20 maintenance, and custody of the property pending its disposition, advertising, and court 34.21 costs; 34.22 (2) to all costs and expenses of investigation and prosecution including costs of resources 34.23 and personnel incurred in investigation and prosecution; and 34.24

(3) the balance to the appropriate agencies under section 609.5315, subdivision 5 609.112,

subdivision 28.

34.25

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609B.515, is amended to read:

609B.515 DWI; VEHICLE FORFEITURE.

35.1

35.2

35.3

35.4

35.5

35.6

35.7

35.8

35.9

35.10

35.11

35.12

35.13

35.14

35.15

35.16

35.17

35.18

35.19

35.20

35.21

35.22

35.23

35.24

35.25

35.26

35.27

35.28

35.29

35.30

35.31

35.32

35.33

Under section 169A.63 609.112, a motor vehicle is subject to forfeiture if a driver is convicted of a "designated offense," as defined in section 169A.63, subdivision 1 609.112, subdivision 1.

Section 169A.63, subdivision 7, 609.112 specifies limitations on vehicle forfeiture. Section 169A.63, subdivisions 8 and 9, provide for administrative forfeiture procedure and judicial forfeiture procedure. Section 169A.63, subdivisions 10 and 11, provide for disposition of a forfeited vehicle.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 611.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Proceedings at time of apprehension or arrest. Following the apprehension or arrest of a person disabled in communication for an alleged violation of a criminal law, the arresting officer, sheriff or other law enforcement official shall immediately make necessary contacts to obtain a qualified interpreter and shall obtain an interpreter at the earliest possible time at the place of detention. A law enforcement officer shall, with the assistance of the interpreter, explain to the person disabled in communication, all charges filed against the person, and all procedures relating to the person's detainment and release. If the property of a person is seized under section 609.531, subdivision 4 609.112, the seizing officer, sheriff, or other law enforcement official shall, upon request, make available to the person at the earliest possible time a qualified interpreter to assist the person in understanding the possible consequences of the seizure and the person's right to judicial review. If the seizure is governed by section 609.5314, subdivision 2, a request for an interpreter must be made within 15 days after service of the notice of seizure and forfeiture. For a person who requests an interpreter under this section because of a seizure of property under section 609.5314, the 60 days for filing a demand for a judicial determination of a forfeiture begins when the interpreter is provided. The interpreter shall also assist the person with all other communications, including communications relating to needed medical attention. Prior to interrogating or taking the statement of the person disabled in communication, the arresting officer, sheriff, or other law enforcement official shall make available to the person a qualified interpreter to assist the person throughout the interrogation or taking of a statement.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.714, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. **Display of permit; penalty.** (a) The holder of a permit to carry must have the permit card and a driver's license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo

identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document upon lawful demand by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1. A violation of this paragraph is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed \$25. Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.

- (b) A citation issued for violating paragraph (a) must be dismissed if the person demonstrates, in court or in the office of the arresting officer, that the person was authorized to carry the pistol at the time of the alleged violation.
- 36.9 (c) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder must write a sample signature 36.10 in the officer's presence to aid in verifying the person's identity.
- 36.11 (d) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder shall disclose to the officer whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.714, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7a. Change of address; loss or destruction of permit. (a) Within 30 days after changing permanent address, or within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card, the permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff of the change, loss, or destruction. Failure to provide notification as required by this subdivision is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed \$25. Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.
 - (b) After notice is given under paragraph (a), a permit holder may obtain a replacement permit card by paying \$10 to the sheriff. The request for a replacement permit card must be made on an official, standardized application adopted for this purpose under section 624.7151, and, except in the case of an address change, must include a notarized statement that the permit card has been lost or destroyed.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.714, subdivision 17, is amended to read:
- Subd. 17. **Posting; trespass.** (a) A person carrying a firearm on or about his or her person or clothes under a permit or otherwise who remains at a private establishment knowing that the operator of the establishment or its agent has made a reasonable request that firearms not be brought into the establishment may be ordered to leave the premises. A person who fails to leave when so requested is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed \$25. Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112, a firearm carried in violation of this subdivision is not subject to forfeiture.

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

| 37.1 | (b) As used in this subdivision, the terms in this paragraph have the meanings given. |
|-------------------------|---|
| 37.2 | (1) "Reasonable request" means a request made under the following circumstances: |
| 37.3 37.4 37.5 | (i) the requester has prominently posted a conspicuous sign at every entrance to the establishment containing the following language: "(INDICATE IDENTITY OF OPERATOR) BANS GUNS IN THESE PREMISES."; or |
| 37.6 37.7 | (ii) the requester or the requester's agent personally informs the person that guns are prohibited in the premises and demands compliance. |
| 37.8 37.9 | (2) "Prominently" means readily visible and within four feet laterally of the entrance with the bottom of the sign at a height of four to six feet above the floor. |
| 37.10 37.11 | (3) "Conspicuous" means lettering in black arial typeface at least 1-1/2 inches in height against a bright contrasting background that is at least 187 square inches in area. |
| 37.12 37.13 | (4) "Private establishment" means a building, structure, or portion thereof that is owned, leased, controlled, or operated by a nongovernmental entity for a nongovernmental purpose. |
| 37.14 37.15 | (c) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area. |
| 37.16 37.17 37.18 | (d) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), within the private establishment or deny the officer access thereto, except |
| 37.19 37.20 | when specifically authorized by statute. The owner or operator of the private establishment may require the display of official credentials issued by the agency that employs the peace |
| 37.21 37.22 37.23 | officer prior to granting the officer entry into the private establishment. (e) This subdivision does not apply to private residences. The lawful possessor of a private residence may prohibit firearms, and provide notice thereof, in any lawful manner. |
| 37.24 37.25 | (f) A landlord may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests. |
| 37.26 37.27 37.28 | (g) Notwithstanding any inconsistent provisions in section 609.605, this subdivision sets forth the exclusive criteria to notify a permit holder when otherwise lawful firearm possession is not allowed in a private establishment and sets forth the exclusive penalty for such activity. |
| 37.29 | (h) This subdivision does not apply to a security guard acting in the course and scope |

37.31

of employment. The owner or operator of a private establishment may require the display

of official credentials issued by the company, which must be licensed by the Private Detective

04/09/19 REVISOR KLL/CH DIVH2705CR1

and Protective Agent Services Board, that employs the security guard and the guard's permit card prior to granting the guard entrance into the private establishment.

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.7142, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Penalties.** (a) A person who violates a prohibition under subdivision 1, clauses
- 38.5 (1) to (5), is guilty of a misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation is a gross
- 38.6 misdemeanor.
- 38.7 (b) A person who violates subdivision 1, clause (6), is guilty of a misdemeanor.
- 38.8 (c) In addition to the penalty imposed under paragraph (a), if a person violates subdivision
 38.9 1, clauses (1) to (5), the person's authority to carry a pistol in a public place on or about the
 38.10 person's clothes or person under the provisions of a permit or otherwise is revoked and the
 38.11 person may not reapply for a period of one year from the date of conviction.
- 38.12 (d) In addition to the penalty imposed under paragraph (b), if a person violates subdivision
 38.13 1, clause (6), the person's authority to carry a pistol in a public place on or about the person's
 38.14 clothes or person under the provisions of a permit or otherwise is suspended for 180 days
 38.15 from the date of conviction.
- (e) Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112, a firearm carried in violation of subdivision 1, clause (6), is not subject to forfeiture.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 629.715, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Surrender of firearms. The judge may order as a condition of release that the 38.19 person surrender to the local law enforcement agency all firearms, destructive devices, or 38.20 dangerous weapons owned or possessed by the person, and may not live in a residence 38.21 where others possess firearms. Any firearm, destructive device, or dangerous weapon 38.22 surrendered under this subdivision shall be inventoried and retained, with due care to preserve 38.23 its quality and function, by the local law enforcement agency, and must be returned to the 38.24 person upon the person's acquittal, when charges are dismissed, or if no charges are filed. 38.25 If the person is convicted, the firearm must be returned when the court orders the return or 38.26 when the person is discharged from probation and restored to civil rights. If the person is 38.27 convicted of a designated an offense as defined in section 609.531, under which the firearm 38.28 is subject to forfeiture, it is subject to forfeiture as provided under that section 609.112. 38.29 This condition may be imposed in addition to any other condition authorized by rule 6.02 38.30 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure. 38.31

| 39.1 | Sec. 22. <u>REPEALER.</u> |
|-------|---|
| 39.2 | Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 169A.63; 609.531, subdivisions 1, 1a, 4, 5, 5a, 6a, 7, |
| 39.3 | and 8; 609.5311; 609.5312; 609.5313; 609.5314; 609.5315; 609.5316; 609.5317; 609.5318; |
| 39.4 | 609.5319; 609.762, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, and 6; and 609.905, subdivision 3, are repealed. |
| 39.5 | Sec. 23. EFFECTIVE DATE. |
| 39.6 | This article is effective July 1, 2019. |
| 39.7 | ARTICLE 4 |
| 39.8 | CIVIL POLICY |
| 39.9 | Section 1. [3.8844] LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON INTELLIGENCE AND |
| 39.10 | TECHNOLOGY. |
| 39.11 | Subdivision 1. Established. The Legislative Commission on Intelligence and Technology |
| 39.12 | is created to study and make recommendations on issues relating to the effect of emerging |
| 39.13 | technology on privacy. The commission has investigatory and oversight jurisdiction over |
| 39.14 | government surveillance programs and technology, including subpoena power. |
| 39.15 | Subd. 2. Membership. The commission consists of four members of the senate, two |
| 39.16 | appointed by the majority leader and two appointed by the minority leader, and four members |
| 39.17 | of the house of representatives, two appointed by the speaker of the house and two appointed |
| 39.18 | by the minority leader. Each appointing authority must make appointments as soon as |
| 39.19 | possible after the beginning of the regular legislative session in an odd-numbered year. Each |
| 39.20 | member of the commission must take an oath, swearing to faithfully discharge the duties |
| 39.21 | of members of the commission in compliance with the laws governing the commission. |
| 39.22 | Subd. 3. Terms; vacancies. Commission member terms begin upon appointment and |
| 39.23 | end at the beginning of the regular legislative session in the next odd-numbered year. In the |
| 39.24 | case of a vacancy, the appropriate appointing authority must fill the vacancy for the remainder |
| 39.25 | of the unexpired term. |
| 39.26 | Subd. 4. Officers. The commission must elect a chair and vice-chair and may elect other |
| 39.27 | officers as the commission determines is necessary. The chair alternates between a member |
| 39.28 | of the senate and a member of the house of representatives in January of each odd-numbered |
| 39.29 | <u>year.</u> |
| 39.30 | Subd. 5. Staff. Legislative staff must provide administrative and research assistance to |
| 39.31 | the commission. |

| 40.1 | Subd. 6. Meetings; data. Notwithstanding any other laws or legislative rules to the |
|-------|--|
| 40.2 | contrary, the commission may determine that a meeting shall not be open to the public. |
| 40.3 | Notwithstanding any contrary provision of chapter 13 or other law, the commission may |
| 40.4 | require a law enforcement official to disclose not public data to the commission, as the |
| 40.5 | commission determines is necessary for performance of the commission's duties. If data |
| 40.6 | provided to the commission is disseminated by the commission or its members or agents |
| 40.7 | in violation of section 13.05, subdivision 4, the commission is subject to liability under |
| 40.8 | section 13.08, subdivisions 1 and 3. Disclosure of not public data by a member of the |
| 40.9 | commission is grounds for an ethics complaint to the committee with jurisdiction over ethics |
| 40.10 | in the chamber in which the member serves. |
| 40.11 | Subd. 7. Subpoena power. The chair or vice-chair or a member of the commission |
| 40.12 | designated by the chair may issue subpoenas requiring the appearance of persons, producing |
| 40.13 | relevant records, and giving relevant testimony on matters within the jurisdiction of the |
| 40.14 | commission. The person issuing the subpoena may request the issuance of an attachment |
| 40.15 | to compel the attendance of a witness who, having been duly subpoenaed to attend, fails to |
| 40.16 | do so. Section 3.153 applies to issuance of subpoenas under this section, except as otherwise |
| 40.17 | provided in this section. |
| 40.18 | EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. |
| 40.19 | Appointing authorities must make initial appointments by June 1, 2019. The speaker of the |
| 40.20 | house must designate one member of the commission to convene the first meeting of the |
| 40.21 | commission by June 15, 2019. |
| | |
| 40.22 | Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.599, is amended by adding a subdivision to |
| 40.23 | read: |
| 40.24 | Subd. 5. State Arts Board. Notwithstanding subdivision 3, responses submitted by a |
| 40.25 | grantee to the State Arts Board or to a regional arts council under chapter 129D become |
| 40.26 | public data at the public review meeting at which they are considered, except for trade secret |
| 40.27 | data as defined and classified in section 13.37. |
| | |
| 40.28 | Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 257.56, is amended to read: |
| 40.29 | 257.56 ARTIFICIAL INSEMINATION ASSISTED REPRODUCTION. |
| 40.30 | Subdivision 1. Husband Spouse treated as biological father parent. If, under the |
| 40.31 | supervision of a licensed physician and with the consent of her husband spouse, a wife is |
| 40.32 | inseminated artificially woman conceives through assisted reproduction with semen or ovar |
| 40.33 | or both, donated by a man not her husband donor or donors not her spouse, the husband |

spouse is treated in law as if he were the biological father the parent of a child thereby conceived. The husband's spouse's consent must be in writing and signed by him and his wife the spouse and the woman conceiving through assisted reproduction. The consent must be retained by the physician for at least four years after the confirmation of a pregnancy that occurs during the process of artificial insemination assisted reproduction.

All papers and records pertaining to the <u>insemination</u> <u>assisted reproduction</u>, whether part of the permanent record of a court or of a file held by the supervising physician or elsewhere, are subject to inspection only upon an order of the court for good cause shown.

- Subd. 2. **Donor not treated as biological father parent.** The donor of semen <u>or ova</u> provided to a licensed physician for use in <u>artificial insemination of assisted reproduction</u> by a married woman other than the donor's <u>wife spouse</u> is treated in law as if <u>he were the donor is not the biological father parent</u> of a child thereby conceived, <u>unless a court finds</u> satisfactory evidence that the donor and the woman intended for the donor to be a parent.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.03, subdivision 43, is amended to read:
- Subd. 43. **Sexual harassment.** (a) "Sexual harassment" includes unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, sexually motivated physical contact or other verbal or physical conduct or communication of a sexual nature when:
 - (1) submission to that conduct or communication is made a term or condition, either explicitly or implicitly, of obtaining employment, public accommodations or public services, education, or housing;
 - (2) submission to or rejection of that conduct or communication by an individual is used as a factor in decisions affecting that individual's employment, public accommodations or public services, education, or housing; or
 - (3) that conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual's employment, public accommodations or public services, education, or housing, or creating an intimidating, hostile, or <u>materially</u> offensive employment, public accommodations, public services, educational, or housing environment.
- (b) Paragraph (a), clause (3), does not require the harassing conduct or communication
 to be severe or pervasive. Conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of creating
 an intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive environment when:
- 41.31 (1) a reasonable person in similar circumstances to the plaintiff would find the
 41.32 environment intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive; and

41.1

41.2

41.3

41.4

41.5

41.6

41.7

41.8

41.9

41.10

41.11

41.12

41.13

41.18

41.19

41.20

41.21

41.22

41.23

41.24

41.25

41.26

(2) the plaintiff found the environment intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive. 42.1 The intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive environment must be determined based 42.2 on the totality of the circumstances. 42.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to causes 42.4 of action arising on or after that date. 42.5 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.35, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 42.6 Subd. 3. Access to closed files. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, 42.7 human rights investigative data contained in a closed case file are private data on individuals 42.8 or nonpublic data. The name and address of the charging party and respondent, factual basis 42.9 of the allegations, the statute under which the action is brought, the part of the summary of 42.10 the investigation that does not contain identifying data on a person other than the complainant 42.11 or respondent, and the commissioner's memorandum determining whether probable cause 42.12 has been shown are public data. 42.13 (b) The commissioner may make human rights investigative data contained in a closed 42.14 case file inaccessible to the charging party or the respondent in order to protect medical or 42.15 other security interests of the parties or third persons. 42.16 (c) Except for paragraph (b), when the charging party files a case in district court, the 42.17 commissioner may provide private data or nonpublic data in a closed case file to the charging 42.18 party and respondent. 42.19 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363Å.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 42.20 Subdivision 1. Scope of application. (a) For all contracts for goods and services in 42.21 excess of \$100,000, no department or agency of the state shall accept any bid or proposal 42.22 for a contract or agreement from any business having more than 40 full-time employees 42.23 within this state on a single working day during the previous 12 months, unless the 42.24 commissioner is in receipt of the business' affirmative action plan for the employment of 42.25 minority persons, women, and qualified disabled individuals. No department or agency of 42.26 the state shall execute any such contract or agreement until the affirmative action plan has 42.27

A department, an agency of the state, the Metropolitan Council, an agency subject to section 42.31 473.143, subdivision 1, or a public officer or agency subject to section 16A.695 shall not

been approved by the commissioner. Receipt of a certificate of compliance issued by the

commissioner shall signify that a firm or business has an affirmative action plan that has

been approved by the commissioner. A certificate shall be valid for a period of four years.

42.28

42.29

42.30

execute a contract for goods or services in excess of \$100,000 with a business that has 40 or more full-time employees in this state or a state where the business has its primary place of business on a single day during the prior 12 months, unless the business has a workforce certificate, as created in sections 363A.36 and 363A.37, from the commissioner of human rights or has certified in writing that it is exempt. Determinations of exempt status shall be made by the commissioner of human rights. A certificate is valid for four years. A municipality as defined in section 466.01, subdivision 1, that receives state money for any reason is encouraged to prepare and implement an affirmative action plan for the employment of minority persons, people with disabilities, people of color, and women, and the qualified disabled and to submit the plan to the commissioner.

- (b) This paragraph applies to a contract for goods or services in excess of \$100,000 to be entered into between a department or agency of the state and a business that is not subject to paragraph (a), but that has more than 40 full-time employees on a single working day during the previous 12 months in the state where the business has its primary place of business. A department or agency of the state may not execute a contract or agreement with a business covered by this paragraph unless the business has a certificate of compliance issued by the commissioner under paragraph (a) or the business certifies that it is in compliance with federal affirmative action requirements.
- 43.19 (e) (b) This section does not apply to contracts entered into by the State Board of
 43.20 Investment for investment options under section 356.645.
- 43.21 (d) (c) The commissioner shall issue a certificate of compliance or notice of denial within
 43.22 15 days of the application submitted by the business or firm.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.36, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. **Revocation of contract.** A contract awarded by a department or agency of the state, the Metropolitan Council, an agency subject to section 473.143, subdivision 1, or a public officer or agency subject to section 16A.695, may be terminated or abridged by the department or agency, the Metropolitan Council, an agency subject to section 473.143, subdivision 1, or a public officer or agency subject to section 16A.695, because of suspension or revocation of a certificate based upon a contractor's failure to implement or make a good faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan approved by the commissioner under this section. If a contract is awarded to a person who does not have a contract compliance certificate required under subdivision 1, the commissioner may void the contract on behalf of the state.

43.1

43.2

43.3

43.4

43.5

43.6

43.7

43.8

43.9

43.10

43.11

43.12

43.13

43.14

43.15

43.16

43.17

43.18

43.24

43.25

43.26

43.27

43.28

43.29

43.30

43.31

43.32

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.36, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 6. Access to data. Data created, collected, and maintained by the commissioner for a business to receive and retain a certificate of compliance under this section is private data or nonpublic data. Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business seeking a certificate of compliance is public data. A letter that states the commissioner's decision to issue, not issue, revoke, or suspend a certificate of compliance is public data.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.44, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Scope.** (a) No A department, an agency of the state, the Metropolitan Council, or an agency subject to section 473.143, subdivision 1, or a public officer or agency subject to section 16A.695 shall not execute a contract for goods or services or an agreement for goods or services in excess of \$500,000 with a business that has 40 or more full-time employees in this state or a state where the business has its primary place of business on a single day during the prior 12 months, unless the business has an equal pay certificate or it has certified in writing that it is exempt. A certificate is valid for four years.
- (b) This section does not apply to a business with respect to a specific contract if the commissioner of administration determines that application of this section would cause undue hardship to the contracting entity. This section does not apply to a contract to provide goods and services to individuals under chapters 43A, 62A, 62C, 62D, 62E, 256B, 256I, 256L, and 268A, with a business that has a license, certification, registration, provider agreement, or provider enrollment contract that is prerequisite to providing those goods and services. This section does not apply to contracts entered into by the State Board of Investment for investment options under section 352.965, subdivision 4.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.02, is amended to read:

517.02 PERSONS CAPABLE OF CONTRACTING.

Every A person who has attained the full age of 18 years is capable in law of contracting into a civil marriage, if otherwise competent. A person of the full age of 16 years may, with the consent of the person's legal custodial parents, guardian, or the court, as provided in section 517.08, receive a license to marry, when, after a careful inquiry into the facts and the surrounding circumstances, the person's application for a license and consent for civil marriage of a minor form is approved by the judge of the district court of the county in which the person resides. If the judge of the district court of the county in which the person resides is absent from the county and has not by order assigned another judge or a retired

44.1

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.6

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.11

44.12

44.13

44.14

44.15

44.16

44.17

44.18

44.19

44.20

44.21

44.22

44.23

44.25

44.26

44.27

44.28

44.29

44.30

44.31

44.32

| 45.1 | judge to act in the judge's stead, then the court commissioner or any judge of district court | | |
|-------|---|--|--|
| 45.2 | of the county may approve the application for a license. | | |
| 45.3 | The consent for civil marriage of a minor must be in the following form: | | |
| 45.4 | STATE OF MINNESOTA, COUNTY OF (insert county name) | | |
| 45.5 | I/We (insert legal custodial parent or guardian names) under oath or | | |
| 45.6 | affirmation say: | | |
| 45.7 | That I/we are the legal custodial parent(s) or guardian of (insert name | | |
| 45.8 | of minor), who was born at (insert place of birth) on | | |
| 45.9 | (insert date of birth) who is presently the age of (insert age). | | |
| 45.10 | That the minor has not been previously married. | | |
| 45.11 | That I/we consent to the civil marriage of this minor to (insert name | | |
| 45.12 | of the person minor intends to marry) who is of the age of (insert age). | | |
| 45.13 | That affidavit is being made for the purpose of requesting the judge's consent to allow | | |
| 45.14 | this minor to marry and make this civil marriage legal. | | |
| 45.15 | Date: | | |
| 45.16 | | | |
| 45.17 | ······································ | | |
| 45.18 | (Signature of legal custodial parents or guardian) | | |
| 45.19 | Sworn to or affirmed and acknowledged before me on this day of | | |
| 45.20 | | | |
| 45.21 | NOTARY PUBLIC | | |
| 45.22 | STATE OF MINNESOTA, COUNTY OF (insert county name). | | |
| 45.23 | The undersigned is the judge of the district court where the minor resides and grants the | | |
| 45.24 | request for the minor to marry. | | |
| 45.25 | (judge of district court) | | |
| 45.26 | (date). | | |
| 45.27 | EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and | | |
| 45.28 | applies to marriages entered into on or after that date. | | |

| 46.1 | Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read: | | | |
|-------|---|--|--|--|
| 46.2 | Subdivision 1. General. (a) The following civil marriages are prohibited: | | | |
| 46.3 | (1) a civil marriage entered into before the dissolution of an earlier civil marriage of one | | | |
| 46.4 | of the parties becomes final, as provided in section 518.145 or by the law of the jurisdiction | | | |
| 46.5 | where the dissolution was granted; | | | |
| 46.6 | (2) a civil marriage between an ancestor and a descendant, or between siblings, whether | | | |
| 46.7 | the relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption; and | | | |
| 46.8 | (3) a civil marriage between an uncle or aunt and a niece or nephew, or between first | | | |
| 46.9 | cousins, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood, except as to civil marriages | | | |
| 46.10 | permitted by the established customs of aboriginal cultures-; and | | | |
| 46.11 | (4) a civil marriage entered into between persons when both have not attained the full | | | |
| 46.12 | age of 18 years. | | | |
| 46.13 | (b) A civil marriage prohibited under paragraph (a), clause (4), that is recognized by | | | |
| 46.14 | another state or foreign jurisdiction under common law or statute is void and against the | | | |
| 46.15 | public policy of this state unless neither party was a resident of this state at the time the | | | |
| 46.16 | marriage was entered into. | | | |
| 46.17 | EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and | | | |
| 46.18 | applies to marriages entered into on or after that date. | | | |
| 46.19 | Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: | | | |
| 46.20 | Subd. 1a. Form. Application for a civil marriage license shall be made by both of the | | | |
| 46.21 | parties upon a form provided for the purpose and shall contain the following information: | | | |
| 46.22 | (1) the full names of the parties and the sex of each party; | | | |
| 46.23 | (2) their post office addresses and county and state of residence; | | | |
| 46.24 | (3) their full ages; | | | |
| 46.25 | (4) if either party has previously been married, the party's married name, and the date, | | | |
| 46.26 | place and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved or annulled or the date and place | | | |
| 46.27 | of death of the former spouse; | | | |
| 46.28 | (5) if either party is a minor, the name and address of the minor's parents or guardian; | | | |

(6) (5) whether the parties are related to each other, and, if so, their relationship;

47.2

47.3

47.4

47.5

47.6

47.7

47.8

47.9

47.10

47.11

- (7) (6) the address of the parties after the civil marriage is entered into to which the local registrar shall send a certified copy of the civil marriage certificate;
- (8) (7) the full names the parties will have after the civil marriage is entered into and the parties' Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers must be collected for the application but must not appear on the civil marriage license. If a party listed on a civil marriage application does not have a Social Security number, the party must certify on the application, or a supplement to the application, that the party does not have a Social Security number;
- (9) (8) if one or both of the parties to the civil marriage license has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, the parties shall provide to the county proof of service upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general, as required by section 259.13; and
- 47.13 (10) (9) notice that a party who has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction may not use a different name after a civil marriage except as authorized by section 259.13, and that doing so is a gross misdemeanor.
- 47.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to applications submitted to the local registrar on or after that date.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall 47.19 examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the 47.20 contemplated civil marriage. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar. 47.21 If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent 47.22 applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage 47.23 application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the 47.24 appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be 47.25 accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be 47.26 released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local 47.27 registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including 47.28 the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license, 47.29 containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and 47.30 state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance. 47.31 The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b), 47.32 the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of \$115 for administering the oath, 47.33 issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state 47.34

registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed \$1,000.

- (b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is \$40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated, and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
- (c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph
 (b) must be in the following form:

 - The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time it may be destroyed.
 - (d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the conviction:

48.1

48.2

48.3

48.4

48.5

48.6

48.7

48.8

48.9

48.10

48.11

48.12

48.13

48.14

48.15

48.16

48.19

48.20

48.21

48.22

48.23

48.24

48.25

48.26

48.27

48.28

48.29

48.30

48.31

| 49.1 | (1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name | |
|-------|---|--|
| 49.2 | change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no | |
| 49.3 | objection has been filed under section 259.13; or | |
| 49.4 | (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil | |
| 49.5 | marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name | |
| 49.6 | change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request. | |
| 49.7 | EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and | |
| 49.8 | applies to applications submitted to the local registrar on or after that date. | |
| 49.9 | Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to | |
| 49.10 | read: | |
| 49.11 | Subd. 1d. Proof of age. For purposes of this section, proof of age of a party may be | |
| 49.12 | established in the form of: | |
| 49.13 | (1) an original or certified copy of a birth certificate or birth record; | |
| 49.14 | (2) a driver's license or other identification card issued by a government entity or school; | |
| 49.15 | <u>or</u> | |
| 49.16 | (3) a school record, immigration record, naturalization record, court record, or other | |
| 49.17 | document or record issued by a government entity that contains the date of birth of a party. | |
| 49.18 | ARTICLE 5 | |
| 49.19 | COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE PROGRAM | |
| 49.20 | Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 62A.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read: | |
| 49.21 | Subd. 2a. Continuation privilege. Every policy described in subdivision 1 shall contain | |
| 49.22 | a provision which permits continuation of coverage under the policy for the insured's | |
| 49.23 | dependent children, which is defined as required by section 62A.302, and former spouse, | |
| 49.24 | who was covered on the day before the entry of a valid decree of dissolution of marriage | |
| 49.25 | or a certificate of marital dissolution. The coverage shall be continued until the earlier of | |
| 49.26 | the following dates: | |
| 49.27 | (a) (1) the date the insured's former spouse becomes covered under any other group | |
| 49.28 | health plan; or | |
| 49.29 | (b) (2) the date coverage would otherwise terminate under the policy. | |
| 49.30 | If the coverage is provided under a group policy, any required premium contributions | |
| 49.31 | for the coverage shall be paid by the insured on a monthly basis to the group policyholder | |

REVISOR

| 50.1 | for remittance to the insurer. The policy must require the group policyholder to, upon request, |
|-------|---|
| 50.2 | provide the insured with written verification from the insurer of the cost of this coverage |
| 50.3 | promptly at the time of eligibility for this coverage and at any time during the continuation |
| 50.4 | period. In no event shall the amount of premium charged exceed 102 percent of the cost to |
| 50.5 | the plan for such period of coverage for other similarly situated spouses and dependent |
| 50.6 | children with respect to whom the marital relationship has not dissolved, without regard to |
| 50.7 | whether such cost is paid by the employer or employee. |
| 50.8 | Upon request by the insured's former spouse, who was covered on the day before the |
| 50.9 | entry of a valid decree of dissolution, or dependent child, a health carrier must provide the |
| 50.10 | instructions necessary to enable the child or former spouse to elect continuation of coverage. |
| 50.11 | Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518.191, is amended by adding a subdivision to |
| 50.12 | read: |
| 50.13 | Subd. 6. Summary real estate disposition judgment following certificate of marital |
| 50.14 | dissolution. A summary real estate disposition judgment may also be obtained after a |
| 50.14 | certificate of marital dissolution is issued in accordance with section 518.80, subdivision |
| 50.15 | 5. Upon the filing of the certificate the district court administrator may provide to a participant |
| 50.17 | upon request certified copies of a summary real estate disposition judgment submitted by |
| 50.17 | the participants that contains the following information: |
| | (1) the dates of the participants' marriage and of the issuance of the certificate of marital |
| 50.19 | |
| 50.20 | dissolution; |
| 50.21 | (2) the legal description of each parcel of real estate; |
| 50.22 | (3) the name or names of the persons awarded an interest in each parcel of real estate |
| 50.23 | and a description of the interest awarded; |
| 50.24 | (4) liens, mortgages, encumbrances, or other interests in the real estate described in the |
| 50.25 | declaration of divorce; and |
| 50.26 | (5) triggering or contingent events set forth in the declaration of divorce affecting the |
| 50.27 | disposition of each parcel of real estate. |
| | |
| 50.28 | Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518.195, is amended by adding a subdivision to |
| 50.29 | read: |
| 50.30 | Subd. 5. Issuance of qualified domestic relations order following certificate of marital |
| 50.31 | dissolution. A certificate of marital dissolution issued in accordance with section 518.80, |
| 50.32 | subdivision 5, may be filed with the district court administrator. Upon the filing of the |

certificate, the district court administrator may enter a decree of dissolution and may issue 51.1 a qualified domestic relations order submitted by the participants and approved by the 51.2 retirement plan administrator for the assignment of an interest in a retirement plan as provided 51.3 in the declaration of divorce. 51.4 Sec. 4. [518.80] COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE PROGRAM. 51.5 Subdivision 1. Commissioner. For purposes of this section, "commissioner" means the 51.6 commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services. 51.7 Subd. 2. **Establishment.** The commissioner shall establish a cooperative private divorce 51.8 program as provided in this section. 51.9 Subd. 3. Requirements. The cooperative private divorce program must, at a minimum: 51.10 (1) be made available on the Bureau of Mediation Services website; 51.11 (2) make available to the participants of the program the notices and instructions provided 51.12 under subdivisions 9 and 10 and section 518.82; 51.13 (3) allow participants of the program to electronically complete and submit to the 51.14 commissioner an intent to divorce and a declaration of divorce as provided under subdivision 51.15 11; 51.16 (4) require a separate unique login and password for each participant to access the 51.17 51.18 program; (5) provide a notification system that automatically contacts one participant when the 51.19 other participant accesses the program; 51.20 (6) provide a list of supportive services and service providers that may be helpful to 51.21 participants; 51.22 (7) provide a method to authenticate the identities of the signatories of the forms required 51.23 under subdivision 11; 51.24 (8) employ security measures to protect the confidentiality and personal information of 51.25 the participants submitting information through the program; and 51.26 (9) encrypt all data sent and received through the program website. 51.27 Subd. 4. Residency requirement. Married participants seeking dissolution under this 51.28 section qualify for the cooperative private divorce program if the residency requirements 51.29 51.30 under section 518.07 have been met by the participants.

51

04/09/19 REVISOR KLL/CH DIVH2705CR1

| 52.1 | Subd. 5. Procedure. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, married participants |
|-------|---|
| 52.2 | who meet the criteria under subdivision 4 may dissolve their marital status through the |
| 52.3 | cooperative private divorce program made available on the Bureau of Mediation Services |
| 52.4 | website by: |
| 52.5 | (1) signing and submitting the intent to divorce under subdivision 11; and |
| 52.6 | (2) completing, signing, and submitting the declaration of divorce under subdivision 11 |
| 52.7 | at least 90 days after but not more than two years after the intent to divorce was submitted |
| 52.8 | by both participants. |
| 52.9 | (b) Upon receipt of the completed declaration of divorce, the commissioner shall issue |
| 52.10 | a certificate of marital dissolution that includes the following information: |
| 52.11 | (1) the name and any prior names of the two participants to the cooperative private |
| 52.12 | divorce dissolution; |
| 52.13 | (2) the name of any living minor or dependent children of the participants; |
| 52.14 | (3) that the marriage of the participants is dissolved and the date of the dissolution; and |
| 52.15 | (4) the Social Security numbers of the participants and any living minor or dependent |
| 52.16 | children of the participants. |
| 52.17 | (c) A certificate of marital dissolution issued under this section completely dissolves |
| 52.18 | the marital status of the participants. |
| 52.19 | (d) Upon receipt of a declaration of divorce, the commissioner shall issue a certificate |
| 52.20 | of marital dissolution that is accessible to each participant through the online cooperative |
| 52.21 | private divorce program. The certificate of marital dissolution is conclusive evidence of the |
| 52.22 | divorce. |
| 52.23 | (e) The commissioner shall maintain a public registry containing the following: |
| 52.24 | (1) the name and any prior names of any participant of the cooperative private divorce |
| 52.25 | program; |
| 52.26 | (2) the name of any living minor or dependent children of a participant; and |
| 52.27 | (3) that the marriage of the participants is dissolved and the date of the dissolution. |
| 52.28 | (f) Before the commissioner issues a certificate of marital dissolution to married |
| 52.29 | participants who are parents of minor children, the married participants must attend a |
| 52.30 | four-hour parent education program as required under section 518.81. |

Subd. 6. Certain agreements. (a) Any agreement made by the participants as part of 53.1 the declaration of divorce that allocates expenses for their child or children is an enforceable 53.2 contract between the participants under section 518.1705. 53.3 (b) It is the intent of this paragraph that agreements recorded in a declaration of divorce 53.4 shall be deemed to be a decree of divorce wherever a decree of divorce is referred to in the 53.5 Internal Revenue Code, and agreements between the participants in a declaration of divorce 53.6 regarding alimony or maintenance shall be deemed to be a divorce or separation agreement 53.7 for purposes of deductibility under the Internal Revenue Code. 53.8 (c) Any issue that is not specifically addressed by the participants in the declaration of 53.9 divorce agreement is considered to be reserved for future agreement by the participants or 53.10 de novo review by the court. 53.11 Subd. 7. Modification. Any agreement made by the participants in their declaration of 53.12 divorce may be modified at any time after a declaration of divorce agreement is submitted 53.13 to the commissioner through the cooperative private divorce program, but prior to the parties 53.14 modifying or vacating an agreement under subdivision 8, if both participants agree to the 53.15 amendment and submit an amended declaration of divorce. 53.16 Subd. 8. Court involvement. (a) At any time prior to the submission of a declaration 53.17 of divorce, participants in a cooperative private divorce may initiate an action for marriage 53.18 dissolution under this chapter in district court. Any action under this chapter pending in 53.19 district court must be resolved or dismissed before participants may submit a declaration 53.20 of divorce. 53.21 (b) Cooperative private divorce agreements contained in a declaration of divorce may 53.22 be enforced, modified, or vacated by the district court, or the court may address issues that 53.23 were reserved by the participants according to the provisions of this chapter. Review of a 53.24 cooperative private divorce agreement under paragraph (e) in district court are de novo and 53.25 determined by existing statute. 53.26 (c) Upon the filing of a certificate of marital dissolution by the participants, the court 53.27 administrator shall enter a decree of dissolution as provided in section 518.195 without 53.28 necessity of court approval or a judgment and decree and without regard to the criteria or 53.29 procedures in section 518.195, subdivisions 1 and 2. 53.30 (d) By executing a declaration of divorce with the Bureau of Mediation Services that 53.31 may be filed with the court, each participant consents to the continuing personal jurisdiction 53.32

53.33

of the Minnesota courts as to all matters related to the declaration of divorce.

| 54.1 | (e) A participant in a cooperative private divorce may by petition initiate an action in | |
|-------|--|--|
| 54.2 | district court to: | |
| 54.3 | (1) enforce, modify, or vacate the declaration of divorce; | |
| 54.4 | (2) petition the court to address any issue reserved by the participants; | |
| 54.5 | (3) obtain a summary real estate disposition judgment; | |
| 54.6 | (4) obtain a qualified domestic relations order; or | |
| 54.7 | (5) obtain a court decree of dissolution when necessary to comply with state or federal | |
| 54.8 | law involving interstate enforcement of the participants' divorce. | |
| 54.9 | A participant initiating an action under this paragraph must, by personal service, provide | |
| 54.10 | to the other participant notice of filing the certificate of marital dissolution with the district | |
| 54.11 | court together with any motion for relief. Any subsequent court action related to the certificate | |
| 54.12 | of marital dissolution may be initiated by notice of motion and motion. An action initiated | |
| 54.13 | under this paragraph shall be venued in a county located in this state where either participant | |
| 54.14 | was residing at the time the certificate of marital dissolution was issued by the Bureau of | |
| 54.15 | Mediation Services. Matters reviewed by the court under this section are reviewed by the | |
| 54.16 | court de novo and governed by this chapter, chapter 518A, and other applicable laws. The | |
| 54.17 | filing fee for any action under this paragraph is \$315. For a motion to vacate the declaration | |
| 54.18 | of divorce under section 518.145, the one-year period of limitation begins on the date of | |
| 54.19 | the participants' dissolution, which is the date of the certificate of marital dissolution in | |
| 54.20 | subdivision 5, paragraph (d). | |
| 54.21 | Subd. 9. Notices; introduction to private divorce; form. The commissioner shall make | |
| 54.22 | available the following form for use in the cooperative private divorce program: | |
| 54.23 | NOTICE: Introduction to Cooperative Private Divorce | |
| 54.24 | You are considering obtaining a Cooperative Private Divorce rather than going to court | |
| 54.25 | to get divorced. Cooperative Private Divorce is a simplified procedure for couples who want | |
| 54.26 | to avoid the expense, emotional strain, and arbitrary time frames that often accompany | |
| 54.27 | adversarial court proceedings. To obtain a Cooperative Private Divorce you will need to | |
| 54.28 | reach an agreement with your spouse about the issues in your divorce. Many public and | |
| 54.29 | private services are available to help you. | |
| 54.30 | The Cooperative Private Divorce process is based on the assumption that most people | |
| 54.31 | have the capacity to divorce with respect and fairness if they are supported in that direction. | |
| 54.32 | To that end, a Cooperative Private Divorce differs in two important ways from a court | |

04/09/19 REVISOR KLL/CH DIVH2705CR1

divorce. First, the two of you have total control over your divorce and no one will oversee 55.1 or scrutinize the decisions you make. Second, it is a completely private process. 55.2 55.3 This leaves you with a great deal of flexibility. After you have educated yourself, you can choose how detailed or simple to make your divorce decisions, and whether to postpone 55.4 some decisions to a later time. You can also create your own understanding of fairness 55.5 unique to your own situation. 55.6 These special features of a Cooperative Private Divorce, eliminating the anxiety of 55.7 someone else having control over your family, and lessening the pressure to resolve 55.8 everything all at once during a very stressful time are intended to replace conflict with your 55.9 spouse by creating a healthy transition for you and your family. You are encouraged to view 55.10 each other as partners in creating the best solution for you and your family in parenting and 55.11 financial matters. 55.12 **Basic Principles** 55.13 Cooperative Private Divorce is not for everyone. Because of the need to create a fair 55.14 and healthy plan without coercion or oversight, it is intended for couples who can work 55.15 together in good faith for the best interests of everyone in the family. 55.16 Here are the six principles underlying Cooperative Private Divorce. If you and your 55.17 spouse believe you can fashion your divorce according to these principles, then a Cooperative 55.18 Private Divorce may be the best procedure for you. 55.19 1. The preventing unnecessary divorce principle: You have reached a decision to initiate 55.20 a divorce only after exhausting other options to solve your problems within your marriage, 55.21 particularly if you have children. 55.22 2. The healthy relationships principle: If you have children, your parenting plan promotes 55.23 safe, nurturing, and stable relationships among the children and with both of their parents. 55.24 3. The maximum parent involvement principle: Your parenting plan promotes high 55.25 levels of involvement of both parents with the children when that is feasible and consistent 55.26 with the needs of the children. 55.27 4. The equity principle: Your financial plan promotes equitable and sustainable lifestyles 55.28 for all family members in light of the unique circumstances of your marriage and family. 55.29 5. The flexibility principle: Your divorce agreements take into account both the value 55.30 of having stable arrangements and the likelihood that the needs and circumstances of 55.31 your family will change over time. 55.32

6. The optimal timing principle: You create partial or comprehensive agreements with
 the timing and sequence that work best for you and your family.
 Two Cautions

First, if you feel pressured or intimidated by your spouse to use this process or to agree to specific matters in your divorce, or if you have doubts generally about your spouse's willingness to reach agreements that are best for everyone in your family, consider getting professional assistance before going further.

Second, the flexibility of a Cooperative Private Divorce also leaves you with an important responsibility. Some couples have relatively simple issues to address in their divorce. But some couples have more complex financial and parenting matters to resolve. Financial matters are often more complex if you are self-employed or a business owner. If you do not consider such matters carefully, you may face problems such as having agreements that do not work over time or that are not enforceable. You are responsible to educate yourself about the issues in your divorce and to obtain professional assistance if you need it.

Professional and Community Resources

To begin with, recognize that going ahead with a divorce is a significant decision, especially if you have children. Many research studies have shown that divorce can have an adverse effect on children. If you want help to make sure you are making the right decision for you and your family, you can make use of services available in local communities.

If you have made the decision to go ahead with the divorce, you may choose to work with an advocate or with a facilitator who can guide you and your spouse in cooperative processes that focus on your interests and needs and what will work for your family. You may want to consult with an adviser on parenting or financial issues. From private sources you can obtain sample agreements that may help you frame all of the issues you will likely encounter. Although divorce can seem complex and difficult, these resources and professional services can help make it easier for you and your spouse to reach an agreement.

The Bureau of Mediation Services serves as a clearinghouse for information about the types of resources available. It can also provide information about services that are offered for free or on a sliding fee.

Subd. 10. Instructions; form. The commissioner shall make available the following form for use in the cooperative private divorce program:

Instructions for Cooperative Private Divorce

1. Both spouses obtain unique identifiers from the Bureau of Mediation Services.

56.4

56.5

56.6

56.7

56.8

56.9

56.10

56.11

56.12

56.13

56.14

56.15

56.16

56.17

56.18

56.19

56.20

56.21

56.22

56.23

56.24

56.25

56.26

56.27

56.28

56.29

56.30

56.31

56.32

| 57.1 | 2. Both spouses sign and submit the INTENT TO DIVORCE form with their unique |
|-------|--|
| 57.2 | identifiers to register with the Bureau of Mediation Services. |
| 57.3 | 3. At any time at least 90 days after but not more than two years after submitting the INTENT |
| 57.4 | TO DIVORCE form, submit the Declaration of Divorce form signed by both spouses. |
| 57.5 | 4. Upon submitting the Declaration of Divorce form, both spouses will receive a certification |
| 57.6 | that your marriage is dissolved. |
| 57.7 | 5. Most complete divorce agreements address the issues set forth in the Declaration of |
| 57.8 | Divorce form. It is up to you whether you want to record agreements in all or any of these |
| 57.9 | areas. But recognize that if your agreements are vague or incomplete or if you do not record |
| 57.10 | your agreements, it may be difficult for you to recall them, live up to your obligations, or |
| 57.11 | later ask a court to enforce an agreement. Use attachments if you want to record agreements |
| 57.12 | that are longer than space here permits. No one will review or approve the agreements you |
| 57.13 | set forth here before your divorce is certified. They are for your use only. |
| 57.14 | 6. At any time, either spouse can retrieve the Declaration of Divorce form containing your |
| 57.15 | agreements by providing your unique identifier. No one except you and your spouse will |
| 57.16 | have access to this form. |
| 57.17 | 7. At any time, you and your former spouse can retrieve the Declaration of Divorce form, |
| 57.18 | make additions or modifications that you both agree to, and resubmit it. |
| 57.19 | 8. If you want to modify your previous agreements but you and your former spouse cannot |
| 57.20 | agree on the modifications, or if you want to seek enforcement of a previous agreement, |
| 57.21 | you are encouraged to seek assistance from professionals in the community who specialize |
| 57.22 | in helping former spouses reach fair agreements. You also have the option of going to court |
| 57.23 | to submit your Declaration of Divorce form. |
| 57.24 | 9. Remember that by creating a smooth family transition now and working on issues that |
| 57.25 | may arise in the future, developing a trustworthy working relationship with your spouse |
| 57.26 | will be just as helpful as written agreements. |
| 57.27 | Subd. 11. Intent to divorce; declaration of divorce; form. The commissioner shall |
| 57.28 | make available the following form for use in the cooperative private divorce program: |
| 57.29 | <u>Intent to Divorce</u> |
| 57.30 | We hereby declare that we are legally married, have both been residents of Minnesota |
| 57.31 | for at least 180 days, and intend to divorce. We understand that our divorce will be certified |
| 57.32 | if we submit the Declaration of Divorce form signed by both spouses at least 90 days after |
| 57.22 | but not more than two years after the date this INTENT TO DIVORCE form is submitted |

| 58.1 | Date and place of marriage: | <u></u> |
|----------------|--|---|
| 58.2 | Signature, date: | |
| 58.3 | E-mail address: | |
| 58.4 | Social Security number: | |
| 58.5 | Signature, date: | |
| 58.6 | E-mail address: | <u></u> |
| 58.7 | Social Security number: | <u></u> |
| 58.8 | | Declaration of Divorce |
| 58.9 | | Facts |
| 58.10 | 75 1244 15 | g is a list of all our assets and their approximate value: |
| 58.11 | 2. We agree that the following | <u> </u> |
| 58.12 | 3. Spouse A name, previous | name(s) if any, and yearly income, including any bonuses: |
| 58.13 | 4. Spouse B name, previous | name(s) if any, and yearly income, including any bonuses: |
| 58.14 58.15 | 5. The names, dates of birth, children covered by this agree | and Social Security numbers of our minor or dependent sement are: |
| 58.16 | Agreements | |
| 58.17 | 1. We agree to the following | plan for parenting our child or children together after the |
| 58.18 | divorce. If our plan is temporary, we agree to the following process for updating it. (A | |
| 58.19 | comprehensive plan would include: (a) how you will make important decisions like those | |
| 58.20 | about school, health care, and religion; (b) how you will allocate your time with the children | |
| 58.21 | during the school year, summer, holidays, and vacations to provide a nurturing environment | |
| 58.22 | and rich relationships with both of you; and (c) how you will communicate with each other | |
| 58.23 | and work out differences of o | ppinion.) |
| 58.24 | 2. We agree to the following | plan for sharing the expenses of raising our child or children. |
| 58.25 | Guideline Child Suppor | <u>t</u> |
| 58.26 | The guideline child suppo | ort for our child(ren) is \$ We agree that will pay |
| 58.27 | the guideline child support as | mount. |
| 58.28 | (The Minnesota Child Su | pport guidelines calculator can be accessed at) |
| 58.29 | Attach the guidelines prin | ntout. |
| 58.30 | Non-Guideline Child Su | <u>ipport</u> |
| 58.31 | We agree to deviate from | the guideline child support amount after considering the |
| 58.32 | following factors that support | t deviation (Make a check or "X" on all that apply): |
| 58.33 | | earnings, income, circumstances, and resources, including our |
| 58.34 | real and pers | sonal property, but excluding income from excess employment |

| 59.1 59.2 | | of the obligor or obligee that meets the criteria of Minnesota Statutes, section 518A.29, paragraph (b); |
|----------------|--|--|
| 59.3 59.4 | **** | the extraordinary financial needs and resources, physical and emotional condition, and educational needs of our child(ren) to be supported; |
| 59.5 59.6 | | the standard of living our child would enjoy if we were currently living together, but recognizing that we now have separate households; |
| 59.7 | <u></u> | whether our child resides for more than one year in a foreign country that |
| 59.8 59.9 | <u></u> | has a substantially higher or lower cost of living than this country; the income taxation dependency exemption and the financial benefit that |
| 59.10 | | one of us receives from it; |
| 59.11 | **** | our agreed-upon plan for paying off our debts under paragraph 4; |
| 59.12 59.13 | | the obligor's total payments for court-ordered child support exceed the limitations set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section 571.922; |
| 59.14 59.15 | · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · | an allocation of the expenses of our children that enables us to maintain a suitable place for our children, taking into account our current standard of |
| 59.16 | | living; |
| 59.17 | <u>••••</u> | the following factor: |
| 59.18 | Make a chec | ck or "X" on one of the following: |
| 59.19 59.20 | ···· | Because of the factor(s) we have checked above, we agree thatwill pay \$ in child support on the of each month; |
| 59.21 | | We will be sharing the following children's expenses: (list items) with |
| 59.21 | **** | paying percent and paying percent; or |
| 59.23 59.24 | <u></u> | We agree that no child support will be exchanged between us, as we are each paying the children's expenses directly. |
| 59.25 | | |
| 59.26 | | We agree to modify the amount of child support from time to time as our |
| 59.27 | 1111 | circumstances may change. |
| 59.28 | **** | We agree to a biennial adjustment in the amount of child support to be |
| 59.29 | | paid based on cost-of-living changes using a cost-of-living index published |
| 59.30 | 9 | by the Department of Labor. |
| 59.31 | (If either pa | rent is receiving public assistance, the county attorney must approve this |
| 59.32 | agreement or it | is not enforceable. The county attorney may ask the court to modify any |
| 59.33 | child support ag | reement you make if a minor or dependent child receives or begins to receive |
| 59.34 | public assistance.) | |
| 59.35 | Caution | |
| 59.36 | If your form | ner spouse does not pay you the child support agreed upon in the declaration |
| 59.37 | of divorce, you | should act promptly to address the matter because if you decide to go to |
| 59.38 | court, the court | may not order the payment of arrears. |
| 59.39 | 3. We agree to the following plan for providing health insurance for our children. | |

| i0.1 | 4. We agree to the following plan for paying off our debts. (This agreement will not change |
|-------|---|
| 50.2 | your obligations to any creditor. It is simply an agreement between the two of you about |
| 50.3 | who will be paying a debt.) |
| 50.4 | 5. We agree to the following plan for dividing our property and assets. (If an allocation of |
| 50.5 | assets or debts, or both, deviates from a nearly equal division, provide the reasons for the |
| 50.6 | allocation. Educate yourself about the difference between marital and nonmarital property.) |
| 50.7 | a. Real estate (Include who will pay any mortgages or agreements to refinance a mortgage, |
| 50.8 | and make provisions for recording necessary documents with the county recorder. This |
| 60.9 | declaration of divorce does not transfer an interest in real estate. To transfer interest in |
| 50.10 | real estate, you must prepare a quitclaim deed or a summary real estate disposition |
| 60.11 | judgment for the court administrator, either of which you would need to file with the |
| 50.12 | county recorder. It is advisable to seek professional assistance about this process.) |
| 60.13 | b. Personal property, such as household furnishings, vehicles, and other objects you |
| 60.14 | own. |
| 60.15 | c. Financial assets, such as retirements, investments, stock, bank accounts, and business |
| 60.16 | interests. (This declaration of divorce has no effect on the division of a retirement account |
| 60.17 | or pension plan unless the account or plan receives proper instructions. Many retirement |
| 60.18 | assets cannot be divided unless they receive a qualified domestic relations order from a |
| 60.19 | court. Often a draft of such an order is approved by the pension plan administrator before |
| 60.20 | it is submitted to the court. It is advisable to seek professional assistance about this |
| 60.21 | process.) |
| 60.22 | 6. We agree to the following schedule of payments for spousal support (alimony) which |
| 60.23 | ends upon the death of either of us or the remarriage of the payee spouse. (If there is a large |
| 60.24 | difference in your incomes and you agree to a minimal amount or no amount of spousal |
| 60.25 | support, provide the reasons for the spousal support agreement. For purposes of federal tax |
| 60.26 | deductibility, this agreement is deemed to be a divorce or separation instrument. Be aware |
| 60.27 | that, upon motion, a court has the authority to modify the amount of spousal support you |
| 60.28 | agree on here at any time during the time period in which spousal support is being paid.) |
| 60.29 | 7. We agree to the following plan to maintain health insurance coverage for both spouses. |
| 60.30 | (If one spouse is interested in continuing health insurance coverage under the other spouse's |
| 60.31 | employer-provided policy, certain laws apply, including a requirement that an election must |
| 60.32 | be made and submitted to the other spouse's employer and health insurance carrier within |
| 60.33 | 60 days of your divorce.) |

| 61.1 | 8. We agree to the following plan for paying any past joint tax liability or future tax liability, |
|-------|--|
| 61.2 | or both, and we agree to the following plan for who will claim the child or dependency |
| 61.3 | exemptions or credits for our child or children. |
| 61.4 | 9. We have reached the following additional agreements which we wish to record. |
| 61.5 | (You may not use the cooperative private divorce program to legally change a name. A |
| 61.6 | name can be changed only by a court.) |
| 61.7 | Dissolution |
| 61.8 | We hereby agree to the dissolution of our marriage according to the preceding terms. |
| 61.9 | We hereby warrant that we have made complete disclosure to each other of all information |
| 61.10 | and documents that are important to these agreements, and that the list of assets and debts |
| 61.11 | contained in paragraph (1) are complete and accurate and there are no open court cases |
| 61.12 | involving these issues. |
| 61.13 | Signature, date: |
| 61.14 | Signature, date: |
| 61.15 | Subd. 12. Fee. The commissioner shall charge the participants of the cooperative private |
| 61.16 | divorce program a fee of \$1,062. Collected fees must be deposited in the cooperative divorce |
| 61.17 | account established under subdivision 13. The commissioner may reduce the fee to ensure |
| 61.18 | that revenue more closely matches the expenses of the program. |
| 61.19 | Subd. 13. Cooperative divorce account. The cooperative divorce account is established |
| 61.20 | as a separate account in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Money in the account |
| 61.21 | is appropriated to the commissioner to administer and manage the online program under |
| 61.22 | this section. |
| 61.23 | Subd. 14. Data. Data collected under this section is classified as private data on |
| 61.24 | individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. |
| 61.25 | Subd. 15. Notice; translations. Notices provided in this section and section 518.82 must |
| 61.26 | be provided in languages that participants can understand and versions of the notices must |
| 61.27 | be available online in languages commonly spoken in Minnesota. |
| | C. C. 1510 041 DADENT EDITICATION, COOPED ATINE DRIVET DIVIDECE |
| 61.28 | Sec. 5. [518.81] PARENT EDUCATION; COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE. |
| 61.29 | Subdivision 1. Parent education requirements. Married participants who are parents |
| 61.30 | of minor children shall attend a four-hour parent education program prior to receiving a |
| 61.31 | certificate of marital dissolution under section 518.80, subdivision 5. The parent education |
| 61.32 | program must provide information on: |

| (1) constructive parenting in the dissolution process, including risk factors for families, |
|--|
| how marriage dissolution affects children of different ages, and skills that parents can learn |
| to increase cooperation and minimize conflict, particularly conflict arising when parents |
| place children in the middle, creating conflicting loyalty. This component of the program |
| must be aimed at increasing a parent's sensitivity to a child's needs and at giving a parent |
| skills to improve the parent's and the child's adjustment to the dissolution of the marriage. |
| The primary emphasis of the program must be on constructive parenting information, and |
| its content must be consistent with and promote the principles of cooperative private divorce |
| as described in section 518.80, subdivision 9; |
| (2) assessing if a parent is perpetrating domestic violence against the other parent and |
| when cooperation in co-parenting may not be desirable because of safety risks, and providing |
| information on local domestic violence resources; |
| (3) information on the option of reconciliation, including research on reconciliation |
| interests among couples considering marriage dissolution, the potential benefits of avoiding |
| marriage dissolution, resources to assist with reconciliation for interested couples, and |
| information on when the risk of domestic violence should exclude consideration of |
| reconciliation; and |
| (4) an overview of the legal process of marital dissolution and the advantages and |
| disadvantages of litigation and alternative processes, including but not limited to mediation, |
| collaborative and cooperative law, and restorative circles. |
| Subd. 2. Program requirements. A parent education program under this section may |
| be conducted in person or online. |
| Subd. 3. Confidentiality. Unless all parties agree in writing, statements made by a party |
| during participation in a parent education program are inadmissible as evidence for any |
| purpose, including impeachment. No record may be made regarding a party's participation |
| in a parent education program, except a record of completion of the program as required |
| under this section. Instructors shall not disclose information regarding an individual |
| participant obtained as a result of participation in a parent education program. Parent |
| education instructors may not be subpoenaed or called as witnesses in court proceedings. |
| Subd. 4. Costs and program providers. Each parent education program must enable |
| persons to have timely and reasonable access to education sessions. A party who qualifies |
| for a waiver of filing fees under section 563.01 is exempt from paying the parent education |
| program fee Program providers shall implement a sliding fee scale. |

62.2

62.3

62.4

62.5

62.6

62.7

62.8

62.9

62.10

62.11

62.12

62.13

62.14

62.15

62.16

62.17

62.18

62.19

62.20

62.21

62.22

62.23

62.24

62.25

62.26

62.27

62.28

62.29

62.30

62.31

62.32

| 63.1 | Sec. 6. [518.82] | COOPERATIVE | PRIVATE DIVO | DRCE SCREENI | NG: NOTICE: |
|------|------------------|-------------|--------------|--------------|-------------|

The commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services shall make available the following notice for use in the cooperative private divorce program under section 518.80 before full access to the program is granted to a user. The data maintained by the coercion screening tool are private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and shall not be tracked or recorded by any means at any time.

COERCION SCREENING TOOL

WHEN NOT TO USE COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE

Cooperative private divorce is not for everyone. It is probably not appropriate for you if
any of the following statements are true. Choices you make in this section are private. No
record of any choice you make in this section will be recorded or tracked.

You are feeling undue pressure or intimidation from your spouse to use cooperative private divorce.

You have serious doubts about your spouse's willingness to reach agreements that are best for everyone in the family.

Your spouse has made threats of physical or emotional harm during discussions of divorce.

Your spouse has unilaterally ruled out involving any professionals in your divorce process even though you want this kind of support.

... Your spouse is telling you not to discuss your divorce options with anyone.

Information on resources can be provided upon request if any of the above risks are occurring.

63.23 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518A.43, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **General factors.** Among other reasons, deviation from the presumptive child support obligation computed under section 518A.34 is intended to encourage prompt and regular payments of child support and to prevent either parent or the joint children from living in poverty. In addition to the child support guidelines and other factors used to calculate the child support obligation under section 518A.34, the court must take into consideration the following factors in setting or modifying child support or in determining whether to deviate upward or downward from the presumptive child support obligation:

- (1) all earnings, income, circumstances, and resources of each parent, including real and personal property, but excluding income from excess employment of the obligor or obligee that meets the criteria of section 518A.29, paragraph (b);
- 63.34 (2) the extraordinary financial needs and resources, physical and emotional condition, 63.35 and educational needs of the child to be supported;

FORM.

63.2

63.3

63.4

63.5

63.6

63.7

63.8

63.9

63.21

63.22

63.24

63.25

63.26

63.27

63.28

63.29

63.30

63.31

63.32

| 04/09/19 | REVISOR | KLL/CH | DIVH2705CR |
|----------|---------|--------|------------|
| | | | |

| 64.1 | (3) the standard of living the child would enjoy if the parents were currently living |
|-------|---|
| 64.2 | together, but recognizing that the parents now have separate households; |
| 64.3 | (4) whether the child resides in a foreign country for more than one year that has a |
| 64.4 | substantially higher or lower cost of living than this country; |
| 64.5 | (5) which parent receives the income taxation dependency exemption and the financial |
| 64.6 | benefit the parent receives from it; |
| 64.7 | (6) the parents' debts as provided in subdivision 2; and |
| 64.8 | (7) the obligor's total payments for court-ordered child support exceed the limitations |
| 64.9 | set forth in section 571.922-; and |
| 64.10 | (8) an allocation of expenses of the children in a parenting plan under section 518.1705, |
| 64.11 | subdivision 8, or in a declaration of dissolution under section 518.80, subdivision 6, paragraph |
| 64.12 | (a), that enables both parents to maintain a suitable place for their children, taking into |
| 64.13 | account their current standard of living. |
| 64.14 | Sec. 8. REPORT. |
| | The commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services shall conduct an evaluation of |
| 64.15 | |
| 64.16 | the cooperative private divorce program after the first and second years of operation. The |
| 64.17 | areas of evaluation shall include but not be limited to: |
| 64.18 | (1) number of users of the cooperative private divorce program, both initially and |
| 64.19 | transferring to and from a court divorce; |
| 64.20 | (2) costs of the cooperative private divorce program to government and families in |
| 64.21 | comparison to court divorces; |
| 64.22 | (3) user satisfaction with the cooperative private divorce program process and with their |
| 64.23 | agreements; and |
| 64.24 | (4) any correlation between use of the cooperative private divorce program system and |
| 64.25 | subsequent use of court services for the same case or related cases." |
| 64.26 | Delete the title and insert: |
| 64.27 | "A bill for an act |
| 64.28 | relating to judiciary; appropriating money for courts, civil legal services, human |
| 64.29 | rights, Guardian Ad Litem Board, Uniform Laws Commission, Board on Judicial |
| 64.30 | Standards, Board of Public Defense, Bureau of Mediation Services, and Legislative |
| 64.31 | Coordinating Commission; modifying certain provisions related to courts and |
| 64.32 | forfeiture; raising the age of marriage to 18; establishing a cooperative private divorce program; providing for studies; requiring reports; amending Minnesota |
| 64.33 | Statutes 2018 sections 13 599 by adding a subdivision: 62A 21 subdivision 2a: |

| 65.1 | 84.7741, subdivision 13; 97A.221, subdivision 5; 97A.223, subdivision 6; 97A.225, |
|-------|--|
| 65.2 | subdivision 10; 152.21, subdivision 6; 152.32, subdivision 2; 169.99, subdivision |
| 65.3 | 1c, by adding a subdivision; 257.56; 299A.681, subdivision 11; 357.021, |
| 65.4 | subdivisions 1a, 2, 6, by adding a subdivision; 363A.03, subdivision 43; 363A.35, |
| 65.5 | subdivision 3; 363A.36, subdivisions 1, 4, by adding a subdivision; 363A.44, |
| 65.6 | subdivision 1; 484.85; 517.02; 517.03, subdivision 1; 517.08, subdivisions 1a, 1b, |
| 65.7 | by adding a subdivision; 518.191, by adding a subdivision; 518.195, by adding a |
| 65.8 | subdivision; 518A.43, subdivision 1; 609.101, subdivision 5; 609.66, subdivision |
| 65.9 | 1d; 609.762, subdivision 2; 609.856, subdivision 2; 609.895, subdivision 5; |
| 65.10 | 609.908, subdivision 3; 609B.515; 611.32, subdivision 2; 624.714, subdivisions |
| 65.11 | 1b, 7a, 17; 624.7142, subdivision 6; 629.715, subdivision 2; proposing coding for |
| 65.12 | new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 3; 518; 609; repealing Minnesota Statutes |
| 65.13 | 2018, sections 169A.63; 609.531, subdivisions 1, 1a, 4, 5, 5a, 6a, 7, 8; 609.5311; |
| 65.14 | 609.5312; 609.5313; 609.5314; 609.5315; 609.5316; 609.5317; 609.5318; |
| 65.15 | 609.5319; 609.762, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 6; 609.905, subdivision 3." |
| | |

With the recommendation that when so amended the bill be returned to the Committee

65.17 on Ways and Means.

65.16

65.18 This Division action taken April 9, 2019

65.19 , Chair