02/25/19 08:16 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H0089A1

1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read
1.4	Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit
1.5	a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with
1.6	others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason
1.7	to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work.
1.8	Any person who violates this subdivision paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be
1.9	sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more
1.10	than \$20,000 for the first offense and \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both
1.11	(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
1.12	imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000
1.13	or both, if:
1.14	(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section
1.15	or section 617.247;
1.16	(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section
1.17	<u>243.166; or</u>
1.18	(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.
1.19	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 89 as follows:

1.1

Section 1.

committed on or after that date.

1.20

02/25/19 08:16 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/RK	H0089A1
U2/23/19 U8 ID am	HUUSE KESEAKUH	JIJ/KK	HUUXYAT

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 2.1 Subd. 3. Operation or ownership of business. (a) A person who owns or operates a 2.2 business in which a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is disseminated to an 23 adult or a minor or is reproduced, and who knows the content and character of the 2.4 pornographic work disseminated or reproduced, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced 2.5 to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than 2.6 \$20,000 for the first offense and \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both. 2.7 (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 2.8 imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, 2.9 or both, if: 2.10 (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 2.11 or section 617.247; 2.12 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 2.13 243.166; or 2.14 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years. 2.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes 2.16 committed on or after that date. 2.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 2.18 Subd. 4. **Dissemination.** (a) A person who, knowing or with reason to know its content 2.19 and character, disseminates for profit to an adult or a minor a pornographic work, as defined 2.20 in this section, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 2.21 than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000 for the first offense and 2.22 \$40,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both. 2.23 (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 2.24 imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$40,000, 2.25 or both, if: 2.26 (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 2.27 or section 617.247; 2.28 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 2.29 243.166; or 2.30 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years. 2.31

Sec. 3. 2

02/25/19 08:16 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/RK	H0089A1

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes 3.1 committed on or after that date. 3.2 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.246, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 3.3 Subd. 7. **Conditional release term.** Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence 3.4 otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a 3.5 court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this 3.6 section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the 3.7 commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has 3.8 previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 3.9 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this 3.10 state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten 3.11 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 3.12 8. 3.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes 3.14 committed on or after that date. 3.15 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 3.16 Subd. 3. **Dissemination prohibited.** (a) A person who disseminates pornographic work 3.17 to an adult or a minor, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, is guilty 3.18 of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years and or to 3.19 payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000 for a first offense and for not more than 15 3.20 years and a fine of not more than \$20,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both. 3.21 3.22 (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, 3.23 or both, if: 3.24 (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 3.25 or section 617.246; 3.26 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 3.27 243.166; or 3.28

3.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.

Sec. 5. 3

3.29

02/25/19 08:16 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H0089A1

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

4.1

42

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

Subd. 4. **Possession prohibited.** (a) A person who possesses a pornographic work or a computer disk or computer or other electronic, magnetic, or optical storage system or a storage system of any other type, containing a pornographic work, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years and or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000 for a first offense and for not more than ten years and a fine of not more than \$10,000 for a second or subsequent offense, or both.

- (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both, if:
- 4.12 (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 4.13 or section 617.246;
- 4.14 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 4.15 243.166; or
- 4.16 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 13 years.
- 4.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 617.247, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 9. **Conditional release term.** Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.246, or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for ten 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 8.
- 4.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes
  4.31 committed on or after that date.

Sec. 7. 4

02/25/19 08:16 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H0089A1

## Sec. 8. **SENTENCING GUIDELINES MODIFICATION.**

modifying how the Senter	cing Guidelines and the sex offender grid address the crimes
described in Minnesota St	atutes, sections 617.246 and 617.247, as compared to similar
crimes, including other se	x offenses and other offenses with similar maximum penaltie

5.6 Amend the title accordingly

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

Sec. 8. 5