
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2705 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this act. The appropriations are from the general fund, or​

1.8 another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The​

1.9 figures "2020" and "2021" used in this act mean that the appropriations listed under them​

1.10 are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, or June 30, 2021, respectively. "The​

1.11 first year" is fiscal year 2020. "The second year" is fiscal year 2021. "The biennium" is​

1.12 fiscal years 2020 and 2021.​

1.13 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.14 Available for the Year​
1.15 Ending June 30​

2021​1.16 2020​

1.17 Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT​

61,146,000​$​58,974,000​$​1.18 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.19 The amounts that may be spent for each​

1.20 purpose are specified in the following​

1.21 subdivisions.​

44,858,000​43,608,000​1.22 Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations​

1.23 (a) Contingent Account​

1.24 $5,000 each year is for a contingent account​

1.25 for expenses necessary for the normal​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 operation of the court for which no other​

2.2 reimbursement is provided.​

2.3 (b) Judges' Compensation​

2.4 Judges' compensation is increased by three​

2.5 percent each year.​

2.6 (c) Cybersecurity Program​

2.7 $2,500,000 each year is for a cybersecurity​

2.8 program.​

2.9 (d) Early Neutral Evaluation​

2.10 $50,000 the first year is to contract with the​

2.11 Board of Regents of the University of​

2.12 Minnesota for its Extension Service to develop​

2.13 and conduct a survey of all early neutral​

2.14 evaluation participants and provide a report​

2.15 to the legislature pursuant to article 2, section​

2.16 8.​

16,288,000​15,366,000​2.17 Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services​

2.18 Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in​

2.19 Family Law Matters. $1,062,000 the first​

2.20 year and $1,125,000 the second year are to​

2.21 improve the access of low-income clients to​

2.22 legal representation in family law matters.​

2.23 This appropriation must be distributed under​

2.24 Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, to the​

2.25 qualified legal services program described in​

2.26 Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242,​

2.27 subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Any​

2.28 unencumbered balance remaining in the first​

2.29 year does not cancel and is available in the​

2.30 second year.​

13,258,000​$​12,878,000​$​2.31 Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS​

2.32 Judges' Compensation. Judges' compensation​

2.33 is increased by three percent each year.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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321,221,000​$​311,282,000​$​3.1 Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS​

3.2 (a) Judges' Compensation​

3.3 Judges' compensation is increased by four​

3.4 percent each year.​

3.5 (b) New Trial Judges​

3.6 $912,000 the first year and $846,000 the​

3.7 second year are for two new trial court judge​

3.8 units in the Seventh Judicial District.​

3.9 (c) Mandated Psychological Services​

3.10 $1,070,000 each year is for mandated court​

3.11 services.​

3.12 (d) Treatment Courts Stability​

3.13 $306,000 each year is for treatment courts​

3.14 stability.​

22,578,000​$​21,876,000​$​3.15 Sec. 5. GUARDIAN AD LITEM BOARD​

3.16 Compliance Positions. $4,205,000 the first​

3.17 year and $4,443,000 the second year are for​

3.18 new positions to maintain compliance with​

3.19 federal and state mandates.​

1,808,000​$​1,807,000​$​3.20 Sec. 6. TAX COURT​

98,000​$​98,000​$​3.21 Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION​

509,000​$​535,000​$​3.22 Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS​

3.23 Major Disciplinary Actions. $125,000 each​

3.24 year is for special investigative and hearing​

3.25 costs for major disciplinary actions undertaken​

3.26 by the board. This appropriation does not​

3.27 cancel. Any unencumbered and unspent​

3.28 balances remain available for these​

3.29 expenditures until June 30, 2023.​

111,657,000​$​100,029,000​$​3.30 Sec. 9. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE​

3.31 (a) New Positions​

3​Article 1 Sec. 9.​
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4.1 $3,296,000 the first year and $9,472,000 the​

4.2 second year are for new positions. These​

4.3 appropriations are contingent on participation​

4.4 in veteran's specialty courts.​

4.5 (b) Forfeiture Representation​

4.6 $205,000 the first year and $515,000 the​

4.7 second year are for providing representation​

4.8 in forfeiture proceedings for individuals​

4.9 entitled to be represented in criminal matters.​

4.10 (c) Base Adjustment​

4.11 The general fund base is increased by​

4.12 $108,000 beginning in fiscal year 2022.​

6,775,000​$​6,497,000​$​4.13 Sec. 10. HUMAN RIGHTS​

4.14 $10,000 the second year is for a microgrant​

4.15 program for capacity building by local units​

4.16 of government and local groups.​

4.17 $76,000 the first year and $77,000 the second​

4.18 year are for the purposes of Minnesota​

4.19 Statutes, sections 171.12 and 363A.28,​

4.20 subdivision 11.​

413,000​$​2,200,000​$​
4.21 Sec. 11. BUREAU OF MEDIATION​
4.22 SERVICES​

4.23 $2,200,000 the first year and $413,000 the​

4.24 second year are to develop and implement the​

4.25 online cooperative private divorce program​

4.26 under article 5, section 4. The cooperative​

4.27 private divorce program must be made​

4.28 available on the Bureau of Mediation Services​

4.29 website by January 1, 2021.​

7,000​$​7,000​$​
4.30 Sec. 12. LEGISLATIVE COORDINATING​
4.31 COMMISSION​

4​Article 1 Sec. 12.​
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5.1 $7,000 each year is for the Legislative​

5.2 Commission on Intelligence and Technology​

5.3 under article 4, section 1.​

5.4 Sec. 13. TRANSFER.​

5.5 $10,000 the first year and $20,000 the second year and annually thereafter are​

5.6 appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget for transfer to the special​

5.7 revenue fund for use by the displaced homemaker program.​

5.8 ARTICLE 2​

5.9 COURTS​

5.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.99, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:​

5.11 Subd. 1c. Notice of surcharge. All parts of the uniform traffic ticket must give provide​

5.12 conspicuous notice of the fact that, if convicted, the person to whom it was issued must may​

5.13 be required to pay a state-imposed surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision 6, and the​

5.14 current amount of the required surcharge.​

5.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019. The changes to the​

5.16 uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time​

5.17 it is revised.​

5.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.99, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

5.19 read:​

5.20 Subd. 1d. Financial hardship. The first paragraph on the reverse side of the summons​

5.21 on the uniform traffic ticket must include the following, or substantially similar, language:​

5.22 "All or part of the cost of this summons may be waived on a showing of indigency or undue​

5.23 hardship on you or your family. You may schedule a court appearance to request a waiver​

5.24 based on your ability to pay by calling the Minnesota Court Payment Center (CPC) [followed​

5.25 by the Court Payment Center telephone number]. For more information, call the CPC or​

5.26 visit www.mncourts.gov/fines."​

5.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019. The changes to the​

5.28 uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time​

5.29 it is revised.​

5​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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6.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

6.2 Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court administrator​

6.3 shall be as follows:​

6.4 (1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under​

6.5 the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff,​

6.6 petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said​

6.7 action, a fee of $285 $335, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $315.​

6.8 The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several​

6.9 defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others,​

6.10 shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $285 $335, except​

6.11 in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $315. This subdivision does not apply to the filing​

6.12 of an Application for Discharge of Judgment. Section 548.181 applies to an Application​

6.13 for Discharge of Judgment.​

6.14 The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $100.​

6.15 The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective of​

6.16 whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial, and​

6.17 shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified​

6.18 copies of any papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions​

6.19 therein as to appeals.​

6.20 (2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, $14, and $8​

6.21 for an uncertified copy.​

6.22 (3) Issuing a subpoena, $16 for each name.​

6.23 (4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and​

6.24 guardianship cases, $75.​

6.25 (5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment,​

6.26 injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically​

6.27 mentioned, $55.​

6.28 (6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment​

6.29 from another court, $40.​

6.30 (7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of​

6.31 judgment, $5.​

6​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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7.1 (8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for each name​

7.2 certified to.​

7.3 (9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording​

7.4 certificate of physicians, osteopathic physicians, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists,​

7.5 $5.​

7.6 (10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, $55.​

7.7 (11) For the deposit of a will, $27.​

7.8 (12) For recording notary commission, $20.​

7.9 (13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of​

7.10 $50.​

7.11 (14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee as compares​

7.12 favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.​

7.13 (15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the amount of​

7.14 $75 must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each adoption​

7.15 petition filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52.​

7.16 The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the​

7.17 public authority represents.​

7.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.​

7.19 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

7.20 read:​

7.21 Subd. 2c. Court cybersecurity fee. In addition to any other filing fee under this chapter,​

7.22 the court administrator shall collect a $1 cybersecurity fee on filings made under subdivision​

7.23 2, clauses (1) to (13). The court administrator shall transmit the fee monthly to the​

7.24 commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the general fund. This subdivision​

7.25 expires June 30, 2021.​

7.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.​

7.27 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

7.28 Subd. 6. Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders. (a) Except as provided in this​

7.29 paragraph subdivision, the court shall impose and the court administrator shall collect a $75​

7.30 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or​

7​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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8.1 petty misdemeanor offense, other than a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle​

8.2 parking, for which there shall be a $12 surcharge. When a defendant is convicted of more​

8.3 than one offense in a case, the surcharge shall be imposed only once in that case. In the​

8.4 Second Judicial District, the court shall impose, and the court administrator shall collect,​

8.5 an additional $1 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor,​

8.6 misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, including a violation of a law or ordinance​

8.7 relating to vehicle parking, if the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes the​

8.8 $1 surcharge. The surcharge shall be imposed whether or not the person is sentenced to​

8.9 imprisonment or the sentence is stayed. The surcharge shall not be imposed when a person​

8.10 is convicted of a petty misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed.​

8.11 (b) If the court fails to impose a surcharge as required by this subdivision, the court​

8.12 administrator shall show the imposition of the surcharge, collect the surcharge, and correct​

8.13 the record.​

8.14 (c) (b) The court may not reduce the amount or waive payment of the surcharge required​

8.15 under this subdivision. Upon on a showing of indigency or undue hardship upon the convicted​

8.16 person or the convicted person's immediate family, the sentencing court may authorize​

8.17 payment of the surcharge in installments. Additionally, the court may permit the defendant​

8.18 to perform community work service in lieu of a surcharge.​

8.19 (d) (c) The court administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge shall forward it to​

8.20 the commissioner of management and budget.​

8.21 (e) (d) If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment and has not paid the surcharge​

8.22 before the term of imprisonment begins, the chief executive officer of the correctional​

8.23 facility in which the convicted person is incarcerated shall collect the surcharge from any​

8.24 earnings the inmate accrues from work performed in the facility or while on conditional​

8.25 release. The chief executive officer shall forward the amount collected to the court​

8.26 administrator or other entity collecting the surcharge imposed by the court.​

8.27 (f) (e) A person who enters a diversion program, continuance without prosecution,​

8.28 continuance for dismissal, or stay of adjudication for a violation of chapter 169 must pay​

8.29 the surcharge described in this subdivision. A surcharge imposed under this paragraph shall​

8.30 be imposed only once per case.​

8.31 (g) (f) The surcharge does not apply to administrative citations issued pursuant to section​

8.32 169.999.​

8​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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9.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 484.85, is amended to read:​

9.2 484.85 DISPOSITION OF FINES, FEES, AND OTHER MONEY; ACCOUNTS;​

9.3 RAMSEY COUNTY DISTRICT COURT.​

9.4 (a) In all cases prosecuted in Ramsey County District Court by an attorney for a​

9.5 municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County for violation of a statute;​

9.6 an ordinance; or a charter provision, rule, or regulation of a city; all fines, penalties, and​

9.7 forfeitures collected by the court administrator shall be deposited in the state treasury and​

9.8 distributed according to this paragraph. Except where a different disposition is provided by​

9.9 section 299D.03, subdivision 5, or other law, on or before the last day of each month, the​

9.10 court shall pay over all fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the court administrator​

9.11 during the previous month as follows:​

9.12 (1) for offenses committed within the city of St. Paul, two-thirds paid to the treasurer​

9.13 of the city of St. Paul municipality or subdivision of government within Ramsey County​

9.14 and one-third credited to the state general fund; and.​

9.15 (2) for offenses committed within any other municipality or subdivision of government​

9.16 within Ramsey County, one-half paid to the treasurer of the municipality or subdivision of​

9.17 government and one-half credited to the state general fund.​

9.18 All other fines, penalties, and forfeitures collected by the district court shall be distributed​

9.19 by the courts as provided by law.​

9.20 (b) Fines, penalties, and forfeitures shall be distributed as provided in paragraph (a)​

9.21 when:​

9.22 (1) a city contracts with the county attorney for prosecutorial services under section​

9.23 484.87, subdivision 3; or​

9.24 (2) the attorney general provides assistance to the city attorney under section 484.87,​

9.25 subdivision 5.​

9.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.​

9.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.101, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

9.28 Subd. 5. Waiver prohibited; reduction and installment payments. (a) The court may​

9.29 not waive payment of the minimum fine required by this section.​

9.30 (b) If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on​

9.31 the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the fine would​

9.32 create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family, the court​

9​Article 2 Sec. 7.​
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10.1 may reduce the amount of the minimum fine to not less than $50. Additionally, the court​

10.2 may permit the defendant to perform community work service in lieu of a fine.​

10.3 (c) The court also may authorize payment of the fine in installments.​

10.4 (d) Before sentencing a person convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor,​

10.5 or petty misdemeanor to pay money for a fine, fee, or surcharge, the court shall make a​

10.6 finding on the record as to indigency or the convicted person's ability to comply with an​

10.7 order to pay without undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate​

10.8 family. In determining indigency or whether the defendant is able to comply with an order​

10.9 to pay a fine, fee, or surcharge without undue hardship to the convicted person or that​

10.10 person's immediate family, the court shall consider:​

10.11 (1) income;​

10.12 (2) dependents;​

10.13 (3) financial resources, including assets and liabilities;​

10.14 (4) basic living expenses;​

10.15 (5) receipt of means-tested public assistance program; and​

10.16 (6) any special circumstances that may bear on the person's ability to pay.​

10.17 (e) Paragraph (d) shall not apply when a conviction for a violation that is included on​

10.18 the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101, subdivision 4, is entered without​

10.19 a hearing before the court.​

10.20 Sec. 8. EARLY NEUTRAL EVALUATION STUDY AND REPORT.​

10.21 (a) The supreme court is requested to contract with the Board of Regents of the University​

10.22 of Minnesota to develop and conduct a survey and report as provided in this section.​

10.23 (b) The board, through its Extension Service, is requested to develop and conduct a​

10.24 survey of all early neutral evaluation participants from November 1, 2019, to November 1,​

10.25 2020. At a minimum, the survey must seek the following information:​

10.26 (1) the participant's demographic information, including age, gender, and race;​

10.27 (2) a participant's satisfaction levels with the early neutral evaluation process and outcome​

10.28 as it relates to the following:​

10.29 (i) custody arrangements;​

10.30 (ii) parenting time;​

10​Article 2 Sec. 8.​
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11.1 (iii) property division;​

11.2 (iv) legal expenses;​

11.3 (v) length of time of the process;​

11.4 (vi) level of cooperation of each party; and​

11.5 (vii) the effectiveness of the neutral or neutrals;​

11.6 (3) the participant's opinion regarding fairness of the early neutral evaluation process,​

11.7 whether the participant's expectations were met, whether the participant made decisions​

11.8 voluntarily, and whether the participant would recommend the early neutral evaluation to​

11.9 others; and​

11.10 (4) the participant's recommendations related to the early neutral evaluation process and​

11.11 outcome.​

11.12 (c) The Extension Service is requested to aggregate the results of the survey and report​

11.13 summary data, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 13.03, subdivision 19, to the chairs​

11.14 and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction​

11.15 over children, families, and the judiciary by January 15, 2021. The report is requested to​

11.16 include the following:​

11.17 (1) the total number of early neutral evaluation participants;​

11.18 (2) the total number of social-early neutral evaluation participants;​

11.19 (3) the total number of financial-early neutral evaluation participants;​

11.20 (4) all disaggregated data, including survey data, collected by judicial district;​

11.21 (5) a description of the methods used to collect data; and​

11.22 (6) a description of general trends, findings, and conclusions based on data collected.​

11.23 (d) Data collected by the Extension Service in individual participant surveys are private​

11.24 data on individuals, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

11.25 ARTICLE 3​

11.26 FORFEITURE​

11.27 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 84.7741, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

11.28 Subd. 13. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report on​

11.29 forfeitures occurring under this section as described in section 609.5315, subdivision 6​

11.30 609.112, subdivision 35.​

11​Article 3 Section 1.​
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12.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 97A.221, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

12.2 Subd. 5. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report on​

12.3 forfeitures of firearms, bows, and motor vehicles occurring under this section as described​

12.4 in section 609.5315, subdivision 6 609.112, subdivision 35.​

12.5 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 97A.223, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

12.6 Subd. 6. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report on​

12.7 forfeitures of firearms, bows, and motor vehicles occurring under this section as described​

12.8 in section 609.5315, subdivision 6 609.112, subdivision 35.​

12.9 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 97A.225, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

12.10 Subd. 10. Reporting. The appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall report on​

12.11 forfeitures occurring under this section as described in section 609.5315, subdivision 6​

12.12 609.112, subdivision 35.​

12.13 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 152.21, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

12.14 Subd. 6. Exemption from criminal sanctions. For the purposes of this section, the​

12.15 following are not violations under this chapter:​

12.16 (1) use or possession of THC, or both, by a patient in the research program;​

12.17 (2) possession, prescribing use of, administering, or dispensing THC, or any combination​

12.18 of these actions, by the principal investigator or by any clinical investigator; and​

12.19 (3) possession or distribution of THC, or both, by a pharmacy registered to handle​

12.20 Schedule I substances which stores THC on behalf of the principal investigator or a clinical​

12.21 investigator.​

12.22 THC obtained and distributed pursuant to this section is not subject to forfeiture under​

12.23 sections 609.531 to 609.5316 section 609.112.​

12.24 For the purposes of this section, THC is removed from Schedule I contained in section​

12.25 152.02, subdivision 2, and inserted in Schedule II contained in section 152.02, subdivision​

12.26 3.​

12.27 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 152.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

12.28 Subd. 2. Criminal and civil protections. (a) Subject to section 152.23, the following​

12.29 are not violations under this chapter:​

12​Article 3 Sec. 6.​
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13.1 (1) use or possession of medical cannabis or medical cannabis products by a patient​

13.2 enrolled in the registry program, or possession by a registered designated caregiver or the​

13.3 parent or legal guardian of a patient if the parent or legal guardian is listed on the registry​

13.4 verification;​

13.5 (2) possession, dosage determination, or sale of medical cannabis or medical cannabis​

13.6 products by a medical cannabis manufacturer, employees of a manufacturer, a laboratory​

13.7 conducting testing on medical cannabis, or employees of the laboratory; and​

13.8 (3) possession of medical cannabis or medical cannabis products by any person while​

13.9 carrying out the duties required under sections 152.22 to 152.37.​

13.10 (b) Medical cannabis obtained and distributed pursuant to sections 152.22 to 152.37 and​

13.11 associated property is not subject to forfeiture under sections 609.531 to 609.5316 section​

13.12 609.112.​

13.13 (c) The commissioner, the commissioner's staff, the commissioner's agents or contractors,​

13.14 and any health care practitioner are not subject to any civil or disciplinary penalties by the​

13.15 Board of Medical Practice, the Board of Nursing, or by any business, occupational, or​

13.16 professional licensing board or entity, solely for the participation in the registry program​

13.17 under sections 152.22 to 152.37. A pharmacist licensed under chapter 151 is not subject to​

13.18 any civil or disciplinary penalties by the Board of Pharmacy when acting in accordance​

13.19 with the provisions of sections 152.22 to 152.37. Nothing in this section affects a professional​

13.20 licensing board from taking action in response to violations of any other section of law.​

13.21 (d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner, the governor of​

13.22 Minnesota, or an employee of any state agency may not be held civilly or criminally liable​

13.23 for any injury, loss of property, personal injury, or death caused by any act or omission​

13.24 while acting within the scope of office or employment under sections 152.22 to 152.37.​

13.25 (e) Federal, state, and local law enforcement authorities are prohibited from accessing​

13.26 the patient registry under sections 152.22 to 152.37 except when acting pursuant to a valid​

13.27 search warrant.​

13.28 (f) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, neither the commissioner nor a public​

13.29 employee may release data or information about an individual contained in any report,​

13.30 document, or registry created under sections 152.22 to 152.37 or any information obtained​

13.31 about a patient participating in the program, except as provided in sections 152.22 to 152.37.​

13.32 (g) No information contained in a report, document, or registry or obtained from a patient​

13.33 under sections 152.22 to 152.37 may be admitted as evidence in a criminal proceeding​

13​Article 3 Sec. 6.​
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14.1 unless independently obtained or in connection with a proceeding involving a violation of​

14.2 sections 152.22 to 152.37.​

14.3 (h) Notwithstanding section 13.09, any person who violates paragraph (e) or (f) is guilty​

14.4 of a gross misdemeanor.​

14.5 (i) An attorney may not be subject to disciplinary action by the Minnesota Supreme​

14.6 Court or professional responsibility board for providing legal assistance to prospective or​

14.7 registered manufacturers or others related to activity that is no longer subject to criminal​

14.8 penalties under state law pursuant to sections 152.22 to 152.37.​

14.9 (j) Possession of a registry verification or application for enrollment in the program by​

14.10 a person entitled to possess or apply for enrollment in the registry program does not constitute​

14.11 probable cause or reasonable suspicion, nor shall it be used to support a search of the person​

14.12 or property of the person possessing or applying for the registry verification, or otherwise​

14.13 subject the person or property of the person to inspection by any governmental agency.​

14.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 299A.681, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

14.15 Subd. 11. Forfeiture. Property seized by the task force is subject to forfeiture pursuant​

14.16 to sections 609.531, 609.5312, 609.5313, and 609.5315 if ownership cannot be established.​

14.17 The task force shall receive the proceeds from the sale of all property properly seized and​

14.18 forfeited under section 609.112.​

14.19 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 357.021, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

14.20 Subd. 1a. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of management and budget. (a) Every​

14.21 person, including the state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall​

14.22 transact any business in the district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court​

14.23 the sundry fees prescribed in subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court​

14.24 administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner of management and budget​

14.25 for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund. $30 of each fee collected in​

14.26 a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be deposited by the commissioner​

14.27 of management and budget in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the​

14.28 commissioner of employment and economic development for the displaced homemaker​

14.29 program under section 116L.96.​

14.30 (b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant​

14.31 to this subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the​

14.32 fees first to reimburse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector​
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15.1 position. The balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of​

15.2 management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund.​

15.3 In a county in a judicial district under section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which​

15.4 has a screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to​

15.5 the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited​

15.6 to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an​

15.7 employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the incomes​

15.8 of potential clients of the public defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service.​

15.9 (c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public​

15.10 authority represents in an action for:​

15.11 (1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or​

15.12 establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;​

15.13 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;​

15.14 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under​

15.15 chapters 252A and 525;​

15.16 (4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery​

15.17 of overpayments of public assistance;​

15.18 (5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C;​

15.19 (6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317 section​

15.20 609.112;​

15.21 (7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under​

15.22 sections 246.52, 252.27, 256.045, 256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37,​

15.23 260B.331, and 260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance;​

15.24 (8) restitution under section 611A.04; or​

15.25 (9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D.14,​

15.26 subdivision 5.​

15.27 (d) $20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2,​

15.28 clause (13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general​

15.29 fund and $35 from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be​

15.30 used by the county to pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys.​
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16.1 Sec. 9. [609.112] CRIMINAL FORFEITURE.​

16.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

16.3 meanings given them.​

16.4 (b) "Abandoned property" means personal property left by an owner who relinquishes​

16.5 all rights to its control. Real property may not be abandoned.​

16.6 (c) "Actual knowledge" means direct and clear awareness of information, a fact, or a​

16.7 condition.​

16.8 (d) "Appropriate agency" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; the Department​

16.9 of Commerce Fraud Bureau; the Minnesota Division of Driver and Vehicle Services; the​

16.10 Minnesota State Patrol; a county sheriff's department; the Three Rivers Park District park​

16.11 rangers; the University of Minnesota Police Department; the Department of Corrections​

16.12 Fugitive Apprehension Unit; a city, metropolitan transit, or airport police department; or a​

16.13 multijurisdictional entity established under section 299A.642 or 299A.681.​

16.14 (e) "Contraband" means goods that, in themselves, are unlawful to possess. Contraband​

16.15 includes but is not limited to scheduled drugs without a valid prescription; bullet-resistant​

16.16 vests, as defined in section 609.486, worn or possessed during the commission or attempted​

16.17 commission of a crime; and weapons upon conviction of the weapon's owner or possessor​

16.18 for:​

16.19 (1) a controlled substance crime;​

16.20 (2) any offense of this chapter or chapter 624; or​

16.21 (3) a violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01, subdivision 14.​

16.22 In this chapter, contraband does not include proceeds derived from an alleged crime or an​

16.23 instrumentality used in an alleged crime.​

16.24 (f) "Conveyance" means a device used for transportation and includes a motor vehicle,​

16.25 trailer, snowmobile, airplane, vessel, or any equipment attached to one of these devices.​

16.26 The term does not include property that is stolen or taken in violation of the law.​

16.27 (g) "Designated offense" means:​

16.28 (1) for weapons used, any violation of this chapter or chapter 152 or 624;​

16.29 (2) for driver's license or identification card transactions, any violation of section 171.22;​

16.30 (3) all controlled substances that were manufactured, distributed, dispensed, or acquired​

16.31 in violation of chapter 152, and all property, real and personal, that has been used or is​
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17.1 intended for use, or has in any way facilitated, in whole or in part, the manufacturing,​

17.2 compounding, processing, delivering, importing, cultivating, exporting, transporting, or​

17.3 exchanging of contraband, or a controlled substance that has not been lawfully manufactured,​

17.4 distributed, dispensed, and acquired, is subject to forfeiture under this section, except as​

17.5 provided in this section;​

17.6 (4) a violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under the circumstances​

17.7 described in section 169A.24 (first-degree driving while impaired) or 169A.25 (second-degree​

17.8 driving while impaired);​

17.9 (5) a violation of section 169A.20 or an ordinance in conformity with it:​

17.10 (i) by a person whose driver's license or driving privileges have been canceled as inimical​

17.11 to public safety under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), and not reinstated; or​

17.12 (ii) by a person who is subject to a restriction on the person's driver's license under​

17.13 section 171.09 (commissioner's license restrictions), which provides that the person may​

17.14 not use or consume any amount of alcohol or a controlled substance; or​

17.15 (6) for all other purposes, a felony violation of or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy​

17.16 to violate section 325E.17; 325E.18; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.2112; 609.2113;​

17.17 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.2335; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25;​

17.18 609.255; 609.282; 609.283; 609.322; 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.343,​

17.19 subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e) and (h) to (j);​

17.20 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e) and (h) to (j); 609.352; 609.42; 609.425; 609.466;​

17.21 609.485; 609.487; 609.52; 609.525; 609.527; 609.528; 609.53; 609.54; 609.551; 609.561;​

17.22 609.562; 609.563; 609.582; 609.59; 609.595; 609.611; 609.631; 609.66, subdivision 1e;​

17.23 609.671, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 8, and 12; 609.687; 609.821; 609.825; 609.86; 609.88; 609.89;​

17.24 609.893; 609.895; 617.246; or 617.247; or a gross misdemeanor or felony violation of​

17.25 section 609.891 or 624.7181; or any violation of section 609.324; or a felony violation of​

17.26 or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy to violate Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21.​

17.27 (h) "Instrumentality" means property otherwise lawful to possess that is used in the​

17.28 commission of a designated offense. An instrumentality includes but is not limited to land,​

17.29 buildings, a container, a conveyance, equipment, materials, products, a tool, a computer,​

17.30 computer software, a telecommunications device, a firearm, or ammunition.​

17.31 (i) "Proceeds" means money, securities, negotiable instruments, or other means of​

17.32 exchange obtained by the sale of property.​

17.33 Subd. 2. Purpose. Forfeiture is disfavored. The purpose of this chapter is to:​
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18.1 (1) deter criminal activity by reducing its economic incentives;​

18.2 (2) confiscate property used in violation of the law and disgorge the fruits of illegal​

18.3 conduct; and​

18.4 (3) protect rights due to defendants and innocent owners.​

18.5 Subd. 3. Seizure of personal property with process. At the request of the state at any​

18.6 time, a court may issue an ex parte preliminary order to attach, seize, or secure personal​

18.7 property for which forfeiture is sought and to provide for its custody. Application, issuance,​

18.8 execution, and return are subject to state statute and court rules.​

18.9 Subd. 4. Seizure of personal property without process. (a) Personal property is subject​

18.10 to forfeiture and may be seized without a court order if:​

18.11 (1) the personal property is the subject of a prior judgment in favor of the state;​

18.12 (2) the seizure of personal property is incident to a lawful arrest for a designated offense,​

18.13 the property was discovered in a lawful search, and the appropriate agency has probable​

18.14 cause to believe the property:​

18.15 (i) was used in any manner or part to commit or to facilitate the commission of the​

18.16 designated offense; or​

18.17 (ii) constitutes or was derived directly from proceeds of a designated offense; or​

18.18 (3) the appropriate agency has probable cause to believe that the delay occasioned by​

18.19 the necessity to obtain process would result in the removal or destruction of the property​

18.20 and that:​

18.21 (i) the property was used or is intended to be used in commission of a felony; or​

18.22 (ii) the property is dangerous to health or safety.​

18.23 (b) Mere presence or possession of United States currency, without other indicia of an​

18.24 offense that authorizes forfeiture of property, is insufficient probable cause for seizure of​

18.25 United States currency.​

18.26 Subd. 5. Seizure or restraint of real property with process. (a) Seizure or restraint of​

18.27 real property requires a court order. Except as provided in subdivision 6, a court may issue​

18.28 an order to seize or secure real property for which forfeiture is sought only after proper​

18.29 notice to property owners and an opportunity for a contested hearing to determine the​

18.30 sufficiency of probable cause for the seizure.​
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19.1 (b) Except as provided in subdivision 6, nothing in this section prohibits the prosecuting​

19.2 authority from seeking a lis pendens or restraining order to hinder the sale or destruction​

19.3 of the real property. However, if the prosecuting attorney obtains a lis pendens or restraining​

19.4 order, the prosecuting authority shall notify any party with an interest in any real property​

19.5 within 30 days.​

19.6 (c) Application, filing, issuance, execution, and return of any order are subject to state​

19.7 law.​

19.8 Subd. 6. Rental property. (a) When contraband or a controlled substance manufactured,​

19.9 distributed, or acquired in violation of chapter 152 is seized on residential rental property​

19.10 incident to a lawful search or arrest, the prosecuting authority shall give the notice required​

19.11 by this subdivision to (1) the landlord of the property or the fee owner identified in the​

19.12 records of the county assessor, and (2) the agent authorized by the owner to accept service​

19.13 pursuant to section 504B.181. The notice is not required during an ongoing investigation.​

19.14 The notice shall state what has been seized and specify the applicable duties and penalties​

19.15 under this subdivision. The notice shall state that the landlord who chooses to assign the​

19.16 right to bring an eviction action retains all rights and duties, including removal of a tenant's​

19.17 personal property following issuance of the writ of recovery and delivery of the writ to the​

19.18 sheriff for execution. The notice shall also state that the landlord may contact the prosecuting​

19.19 authority if threatened by the tenant. Notice shall be sent by certified letter, return receipt​

19.20 requested, within 30 days of the seizure. If receipt is not returned, notice shall be given in​

19.21 the manner provided by law for service of summons in a civil action.​

19.22 (b) Within 15 days after notice of the first occurrence, the landlord shall bring or assign​

19.23 to the prosecuting authority of the county in which the real property is located the right to​

19.24 bring an eviction action against the tenant. The assignment must be in writing on a form​

19.25 prepared by the prosecuting authority. If the landlord chooses to assign the right to bring​

19.26 an eviction action, the assignment shall be limited to those rights and duties up to and​

19.27 including delivery of the writ of recovery to the sheriff for execution.​

19.28 (c) Upon notice of a second occurrence on any residential rental property owned by the​

19.29 same landlord in the same county and involving the same tenant, and within one year after​

19.30 notice of the first occurrence, the property is subject to forfeiture under this section unless​

19.31 an eviction action has been commenced as provided in paragraph (b) or the right to bring​

19.32 an eviction action was assigned to the prosecuting authority as provided in paragraph (b).​

19.33 If the right has been assigned and not previously exercised, or if the prosecuting authority​

19.34 requests an assignment and the landlord makes an assignment, the prosecuting authority​

19.35 may bring an eviction action rather than an action for forfeiture.​
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20.1 (d) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize real​

20.2 property for the purposes of forfeiture as described in paragraphs (a) to (c).​

20.3 (e) It is a defense against a proceeding under paragraph (b) that the tenant had no​

20.4 knowledge or reason to know of the presence of the contraband or controlled substance or​

20.5 could not prevent its being brought onto the property. It is a defense against a proceeding​

20.6 under paragraph (c) that the landlord made every reasonable attempt to evict a tenant or to​

20.7 assign the prosecuting authority the right to bring an eviction action against the tenant or​

20.8 that the landlord did not receive notice of the seizure.​

20.9 (f) This subdivision shall not apply if the retail value of the controlled substance is less​

20.10 than $100, but this subdivision does not subject real property to forfeiture unless (1) the​

20.11 retail value of the controlled substance is $1,000 or more, or (2) there have been two previous​

20.12 controlled substance seizures involving the same tenant.​

20.13 Subd. 7. Exemptions. (a) The following property is exempt from seizure and forfeiture:​

20.14 (1) homestead real property;​

20.15 (2) United States currency totaling no more than $300; and​

20.16 (3) a motor vehicle of no more than $2,500 in market value, except that this provision​

20.17 does not apply to a motor vehicle used in violation of section 609.66, subdivision 1e.​

20.18 (b) A prosecuting authority may establish an exemption with a minimum dollar amount​

20.19 larger than those in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), in the prosecuting authority's​

20.20 jurisdiction.​

20.21 Subd. 8. Contraband. No property right exists in contraband. Contraband is subject to​

20.22 seizure and shall be disposed of according to law.​

20.23 Subd. 9. Waiver prohibition. (a) An appropriate agency may not request, require, or​

20.24 in any manner induce any person to execute a document purporting to waive, for purposes​

20.25 of forfeiture under this section, the person's interest in or rights to property seized. This​

20.26 prohibition does not apply to the prosecuting agency responsible for the litigation of the​

20.27 forfeiture case.​

20.28 (b) Any document in violation of paragraph (a) purporting to waive a person's interest​

20.29 in, or right to, property seized under this chapter is null, void, and inadmissible in court.​

20.30 Subd. 10. Receipt. When property is seized, the appropriate agency shall give an itemized​

20.31 receipt to the person possessing the property or, in the absence of any person, leave a receipt​

20.32 in the place where the property was found, if reasonably possible.​
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21.1 Subd. 11. Criminal forfeiture; property subject to forfeiture. When a person is​

21.2 convicted of violating a designated offense, the court, consistent with this chapter, may​

21.3 order the person to forfeit:​

21.4 (1) any property constituting or derived directly from proceeds of the underlying offense​

21.5 for which the person is convicted; or​

21.6 (2) any of the person's property used in any manner or part to commit or to facilitate the​

21.7 commission of the offense for which the person is convicted.​

21.8 Subd. 12. Conviction required; standard of proof. (a) There shall be no civil forfeiture​

21.9 under this chapter.​

21.10 (b) Property may be forfeited if (1) the offense is a designated offense, (2) the offense​

21.11 is established by proof of a criminal conviction, and (3) the state establishes that the property​

21.12 is subject to forfeiture under subdivision 11 by clear and convincing evidence.​

21.13 (c) Nothing in this section prevents property from being forfeited by plea agreement​

21.14 approved by the presiding criminal court except the court shall not accept a plea agreement​

21.15 or other arrangement that prevents the claims of any person who filed a statement of interest​

21.16 or ownership pursuant to subdivision 20 or 21 from being adjudicated.​

21.17 (d) The court may waive the conviction requirement if the prosecuting authority shows​

21.18 by clear and convincing evidence that, before conviction, the defendant:​

21.19 (1) died;​

21.20 (2) no longer resides in the United States;​

21.21 (3) was granted immunity or reduced punishment in exchange for testifying or assisting​

21.22 a law enforcement investigation or prosecution;​

21.23 (4) fled state jurisdiction; or​

21.24 (5) abandoned the property.​

21.25 (e) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the court shall order the sale of personal​

21.26 property that is (1) seized from a person who flees state jurisdiction, or (2) abandoned to​

21.27 be credited to the state general fund.​

21.28 (f) The court shall order currency that is (1) seized from a person who flees the​

21.29 jurisdiction, or (2) abandoned to be credited to the state general fund.​
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22.1 Subd. 13. Forfeiture indictment. (a) In any case in which the state seeks forfeiture of​

22.2 property except through a complaint as provided in subdivision 14, the prosecuting authority​

22.3 shall file an indictment or information that includes:​

22.4 (1) a criminal charge; and​

22.5 (2) a charge for which forfeiture of property under this chapter may be ordered. This​

22.6 property-related charge shall identify the specific assets to be forfeited, if known, or the​

22.7 relevant forfeiture statutes if specific assets to be forfeited are not known at the time the​

22.8 prosecuting authority requests the issuance of the indictment.​

22.9 (b) Upon application of the prosecuting authority, the court may enter a restraining order​

22.10 or injunction, or take other action to preserve the availability of property only:​

22.11 (1) upon the issuance of an indictment or information according to paragraph (a); or​

22.12 (2) prior to the issuance of such an indictment or information if the court determines​

22.13 there is a substantial probability the state will prevail on the issue of criminal forfeiture and​

22.14 that failure to enter the order will result in property being destroyed, removed from the​

22.15 jurisdiction, or otherwise made unavailable for forfeiture.​

22.16 (c) Any order entered pursuant to paragraph (b) shall be effective for not more than 90​

22.17 days, unless extended by the court for good cause shown or unless an indictment or​

22.18 information described in paragraph (b), clause (1), has been subsequently issued.​

22.19 (d) Notice must be provided as set forth in the complaint process provided in subdivision​

22.20 14 to all persons known to have an interest in the property who are not named in the​

22.21 indictment or information.​

22.22 Subd. 14. Forfeiture complaint; service of process. (a) In any case in which the state​

22.23 seeks forfeiture of property, except when the state seeks forfeiture through indictment or​

22.24 information as provided in subdivision 13, the prosecuting authority shall file a criminal​

22.25 complaint that includes (1) criminal charges, and (2) the information identified in paragraph​

22.26 (b) before the defendant's first appearance in court. Upon motion by the prosecuting authority,​

22.27 a court may permit the filing of an amended criminal complaint within seven days of the​

22.28 first appearance for good cause shown. Service of an amended criminal complaint on a​

22.29 represented party must be made on the attorney. Service on the attorney or party must be​

22.30 made in the manner provided by the rules of practice of the court, including by electronic​

22.31 means as authorized by the court. The court shall verify service at the defendant's next​

22.32 appearance.​

22.33 (b) A complaint in any case in which the state seeks forfeiture of property must include:​
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23.1 (1) a description of the property seized;​

23.2 (2) the date and place of the seizure;​

23.3 (3) the name and address of the appropriate agency responsible for the seizure;​

23.4 (4) a statement of facts establishing probable cause to believe that the charged offense​

23.5 has been committed, that the defendant committed it, and that the seized property is an​

23.6 instrument or represents the proceeds of the underlying offense;​

23.7 (5) the name of any person known to the prosecuting authority to have an interest in the​

23.8 property and the nature of that interest; and​

23.9 (6) references to the relevant statutory provisions required to show the property is the​

23.10 type of property that may be forfeited under subdivision 11.​

23.11 (c) If notice is not served in accordance with paragraphs (a) and (b) to all persons​

23.12 appearing to have an interest in the property and no time extension is granted or the extension​

23.13 period has expired, the appropriate agency shall, upon the owner's request, return the property​

23.14 to the person from whom the property was seized, if known. The agency shall not be required​

23.15 to return contraband.​

23.16 (d) Failure to file a forfeiture complaint required by this subdivision shall not invalidate​

23.17 prosecution for the underlying criminal offense.​

23.18 (e) Unless otherwise specified in law, the prosecuting authority shall provide notice of​

23.19 the forfeiture proceeding to the registered owner of any vehicle and any other individual​

23.20 known to have an interest in any property subject to forfeiture under this section who is not​

23.21 charged with a crime in the complaint. Notice must be given within seven days of the filing​

23.22 of the complaint pursuant to paragraph (a) or, if an interest was not known at the time of​

23.23 the filing, within seven days of discovery of an individual with an interest in the property​

23.24 and may be made by personal service if the owner is a resident of this state, or by certified​

23.25 mail if the person is a resident of another state.​

23.26 (f) The notice must be in writing and contain:​

23.27 (1) a description of the property seized;​

23.28 (2) the date of seizure; and​

23.29 (3) a copy of the complaint filed pursuant to paragraph (a).​

23.30 (g) Substantially, the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:​
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24.1 "WARNING: You may lose the right to be heard in court if you do not file a petition​

24.2 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.112, subdivision 20 or 21. You do not have to​

24.3 pay a filing fee to file your notice."​

24.4 Subd. 15. Title. (a) Title to the property subject to forfeiture vests with the state when​

24.5 the court issues a forfeiture judgment and relates back to the time when the state seizes or​

24.6 restrains the property.​

24.7 (b) Title to substitute assets vests when the court issues an order forfeiting substitute​

24.8 assets.​

24.9 (c) For either paragraph (a) or (b), title is subject to claims by third parties adjudicated​

24.10 under this chapter.​

24.11 Subd. 16. Defendant's pretrial replevin hearing. (a) Following the seizure of property,​

24.12 a defendant has a right to a pretrial hearing to determine the validity of the seizure.​

24.13 (b) The court shall hold the hearing at the time the defendant enters a plea or no later​

24.14 than 14 days after the defendant's first appearance under rule 5 of the Rules of Criminal​

24.15 Procedure.​

24.16 (c) Either party may, by agreement or for good cause, move the court for one extension​

24.17 of no more than ten days. This motion may be supported by affidavits or other submissions.​

24.18 (d) The court shall issue a writ of replevin if it finds that:​

24.19 (1) it is likely the final judgment will be that the state must return the property to the​

24.20 defendant;​

24.21 (2) the property is not reasonably required to be held for evidentiary reasons; and​

24.22 (3) the property is the only reasonable means for the defendant to pay for legal​

24.23 representation and minimum living expenses in the forfeiture or criminal proceeding unless​

24.24 the prosecuting authority shows by clear and convincing evidence that the property is the​

24.25 instrument or proceeds of an offense for which the defendant is charged. At the court's​

24.26 discretion, it may order the return of funds or property sufficient to obtain counsel of choice​

24.27 but less than the total amount seized.​

24.28 Subd. 17. Discovery. Discovery is subject to the Rules of Criminal Procedure.​

24.29 Subd. 18. Venue; trial proceedings. (a) The district court with jurisdiction over the​

24.30 related criminal matter has jurisdiction over the forfeiture proceeding.​

24.31 (b) The litigation related to the forfeiture of property shall be held in a single proceeding​

24.32 following entry of a plea of guilty or the trial of the related alleged offense. The litigation​
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25.1 associated with the forfeiture of property of less than $10,000 in value shall be held before​

25.2 only a judge.​

25.3 (c) The court is not bound by the rules of evidence or technical or formal rules of pleading​

25.4 or procedure in the litigation related to the forfeiture of property when a property owner​

25.5 engages in pro se representation in a case before a judge.​

25.6 (d) If the defendant in the related criminal matter was represented by the public defender,​

25.7 the state public defender or chief public defender of the judicial district may authorize​

25.8 representation of the defendant in the forfeiture proceeding.​

25.9 Subd. 19. Proportionality hearing. (a) At any time during a hearing pursuant to​

25.10 subdivision 16 or 18, the defendant may petition the court to determine whether the forfeiture​

25.11 is unconstitutionally excessive under the state or federal constitution.​

25.12 (b) The defendant has the burden of proving the forfeiture is disproportional to the​

25.13 seriousness of the offense by a preponderance of the evidence at a hearing conducted by​

25.14 the court without a jury.​

25.15 (c) In determining whether the forfeiture of an instrumentality is unconstitutionally​

25.16 excessive, the court may consider all relevant factors, including but not limited to:​

25.17 (1) the seriousness of the offense and its impact on the community, including the duration​

25.18 of the activity and the harm caused by the defendant;​

25.19 (2) the extent to which the defendant participated in the offense;​

25.20 (3) the extent to which the property was used in committing the offense;​

25.21 (4) the sentence imposed for committing the crime authorizing forfeiture; and​

25.22 (5) whether the offense was completed or attempted.​

25.23 (d) In determining the value of the instrumentality subject to forfeiture, the court may​

25.24 consider the fair market value of the property.​

25.25 (e) The court may also consider:​

25.26 (1) the hardship to the defendant if the forfeiture is realized and if the forfeiture would​

25.27 deprive the property owner of the owner's livelihood; and​

25.28 (2) the hardship from the loss of a primary residence, motor vehicle, or other property​

25.29 to the defendant's family members or others if the property is forfeited.​

25.30 (f) The court may not consider the value of the instrumentality to the state in determining​

25.31 whether the forfeiture of an instrumentality is constitutionally excessive.​
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26.1 Subd. 20. Secured interest. (a) Property encumbered by a bona fide security interest is​

26.2 not subject to forfeiture. A person claiming a security interest must establish by clear and​

26.3 convincing evidence the validity of the interest.​

26.4 (b) The prosecuting authority summarily and without unreasonable delay shall return​

26.5 seized property to the person with a bona fide security interest, up to the value of the secured​

26.6 interest.​

26.7 (c) If the person alleges a valid security interest but the state seeks to proceed with the​

26.8 forfeiture against the property claimed by the person, the state shall prove by clear and​

26.9 convincing evidence that the person had actual knowledge of the underlying crime giving​

26.10 rise to the forfeiture. Either party may ask the court for a hearing at any time before the​

26.11 court enters a judgment in the criminal prosecution.​

26.12 Subd. 21. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, including an heir but excluding the defendant​

26.13 or a secured-interest holder, asserting a legal interest in property that has been seized or​

26.14 restrained may, at any time before the court enters judgment in the criminal prosecution,​

26.15 petition the court for a hearing to adjudicate the validity of the person's alleged interest in​

26.16 the property. The hearing shall be held before the court without a jury.​

26.17 (b) The petitioner shall file a simple statement of interest or ownership. The petitioner​

26.18 shall sign the petition under penalty of perjury and shall set forth the nature and extent of​

26.19 the petitioner's right, title, or interest in the property; the time and circumstances of the​

26.20 petitioner's acquisition of the right, title, or interest in the property; any additional facts​

26.21 supporting the petitioner's claim; and the relief sought.​

26.22 (c) The filing fee for the statement under this subdivision is waived.​

26.23 (d) The hearing on the petition shall, to the extent practicable and consistent with the​

26.24 interests of justice, be held within 30 days of the filing of the petition. The court may​

26.25 consolidate the hearing on the petition with a hearing on any other petition filed by a person​

26.26 other than the defendant under this subdivision.​

26.27 (e) At the hearing, the petitioner may testify and present evidence and witnesses on the​

26.28 petitioner's own behalf and cross-examine witnesses who appear at the hearing. The state​

26.29 may present evidence and witnesses in rebuttal and in defense of its claim to the property​

26.30 and cross-examine witnesses who appear at the hearing.​

26.31 (f) The petitioner who has an ownership interest in property subject to forfeiture at the​

26.32 time the commission of the crime giving rise to forfeiture occurred and who claims to be​
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27.1 an innocent owner bears the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the​

27.2 person has a legal right, title, or interest in the property seized under this chapter.​

27.3 (g) If paragraph (f) is satisfied and the state seeks to proceed with the forfeiture of the​

27.4 property, the state shall prove by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioner had actual​

27.5 knowledge of the underlying crime giving rise to the forfeiture.​

27.6 (h) A petitioner who acquired an ownership interest in property subject to forfeiture​

27.7 after the commission of the crime giving rise to the forfeiture and who claims to be an​

27.8 innocent owner bears the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the person​

27.9 has a legal right, title, or interest in the property seized under this chapter.​

27.10 (i) If paragraph (h) is satisfied and the state seeks to proceed with the forfeiture of the​

27.11 property, the state shall prove by clear and convincing evidence that, at the time the petitioner​

27.12 acquired the property, the person:​

27.13 (1) had actual knowledge that the property was subject to forfeiture; or​

27.14 (2) was not a bona fide purchaser without notice of any defect in title and for valuable​

27.15 consideration.​

27.16 (j) If the state fails to meet its burden in paragraph (g) or (i), the court shall find that the​

27.17 petitioner is an innocent owner and shall order the state to relinquish all claims of title to​

27.18 the property.​

27.19 (k) No information in the statement of interest or ownership filed pursuant to this section​

27.20 shall be used as evidence in the criminal matter. Nothing in this section prohibits the​

27.21 petitioner who has filed a statement of interest or ownership under this section from providing​

27.22 information to any prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter​

27.23 or representatives of any prosecuting authority or defendant, or from testifying in any​

27.24 criminal trial as to facts within the petitioner's knowledge.​

27.25 (l) The defendant or convicted offender may invoke the right against self-incrimination​

27.26 or the marital privilege during the forfeiture-related stage of the prosecution. The trier of​

27.27 fact at the hearing may draw an adverse inference from the invocation of the right or​

27.28 privilege.​

27.29 Subd. 22. Judgment. (a) If the prosecuting authority fails to meet its burden as to any​

27.30 claimant, the court must enter judgment dismissing the forfeiture proceeding and delivering​

27.31 the property to the prevailing owner, unless the owner's possession of the property is illegal.​

27.32 (b) If the prosecuting authority meets its burden as to all claimants, the court shall enter​

27.33 judgment forfeiting the seized property.​
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28.1 (c) A court may enter judgment following a hearing or pursuant to a stipulation or plea​

28.2 agreement.​

28.3 Subd. 23. Substitution of assets. Upon the state's motion following conviction, the court​

28.4 may order the forfeiture of substitute property owned by the defendant up to the value of​

28.5 unreachable property that is beyond the court's jurisdiction or cannot be located through​

28.6 due diligence only if the state proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant​

28.7 intentionally:​

28.8 (1) dissipated property;​

28.9 (2) transferred, sold, or deposited property with a third party to avoid forfeiture;​

28.10 (3) diminished substantially the value of the property; or​

28.11 (4) commingled property with other property that cannot be divided without difficulty.​

28.12 Subd. 24. No additional remedies. The state may not seek personal money judgments​

28.13 or other remedies related to the forfeiture of property not provided for in this section.​

28.14 Subd. 25. No joint and several liability. A defendant is not jointly and severally liable​

28.15 for forfeiture awards owed by other defendants. When ownership is unclear, a court may​

28.16 order each defendant to forfeit property on a pro rata basis or by another means the court​

28.17 finds equitable.​

28.18 Subd. 26. Appeal. (a) A party to forfeiture litigation, other than the defendant, may​

28.19 appeal the district court's decision regarding the seizure, on an interlocutory basis, or​

28.20 forfeiture of property under this chapter.​

28.21 (b) The defendant may appeal the district court's decision regarding the seizure or​

28.22 forfeiture of property following judgment in the forfeiture litigation.​

28.23 Subd. 27. Attorney fees. In any proceeding in which a property owner's claims prevail​

28.24 by recovering at least half, by value, of the property or currency claimed, the seizing agency​

28.25 shall be liable for:​

28.26 (1) attorney fees and other litigation costs reasonably incurred by the claimant;​

28.27 (2) postjudgment interest; and​

28.28 (3) in cases involving currency, other negotiable instruments, or the proceeds of an​

28.29 interlocutory sale, any interest actually paid from the date of seizure.​

28.30 Subd. 28. Return of property; damages; costs. (a) If the court orders the return of​

28.31 property, the appropriate agency that holds the property shall return the property to the​
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29.1 owner or other prevailing claimant within a reasonable period of time not to exceed five​

29.2 days after entry of judgment.​

29.3 (b) Any owner to whom property is returned shall not be subject to any charges for​

29.4 storage of the property or expenses incurred in the preservation of the property.​

29.5 (c) The appropriate agency that holds the property is responsible for any damages, storage​

29.6 fees, and related costs applicable to property returned under this section.​

29.7 Subd. 29. Disposition of property and proceeds. (a) At any time when contraband held​

29.8 for evidentiary purposes is no longer needed for that purpose, the court may order that it be​

29.9 destroyed pursuant to state law.​

29.10 (b) At any time when abandoned property held for evidentiary purposes is no longer​

29.11 needed for that purpose, the court may order the property to be sold and the proceeds​

29.12 distributed pursuant to subdivision 12, paragraphs (e) and (f).​

29.13 (c) If forfeiture is granted, the proceeds from the sale of forfeited personal property shall​

29.14 first be used to pay all outstanding recorded liens on the forfeited property.​

29.15 (d) The court may then order that a portion of the currency seized or proceeds from the​

29.16 sale of forfeited property be used to (1) pay the victim of the crime for which the defendant​

29.17 is convicted, and (2) pay reasonable nonpersonnel expenses for the seizure, storage, and​

29.18 maintenance of any forfeited property.​

29.19 (e) The court must then order remaining funds be credited equally to:​

29.20 (1) the account of the Office of Justice Programs;​

29.21 (2) the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services organizations that provide​

29.22 services to sexually exploited youth, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 31;​

29.23 (3) the Minnesota Board of Public Defense; and​

29.24 (4) the state general fund.​

29.25 Subd. 30. Prohibition on retaining property; sale restrictions. No appropriate agency​

29.26 may retain forfeited or abandoned property for its own use or sell it directly or indirectly​

29.27 to any employee of the agency, to a person related to an employee by blood or marriage,​

29.28 or to another appropriate agency or any other law enforcement agency.​

29.29 Subd. 31. Prohibition of federal adoption. A local, county, or state law enforcement​

29.30 agency shall not refer, transfer, or otherwise relinquish possession of property seized under​

29.31 state law to a federal agency by way of adoption of the seized property or other means by​

29.32 the federal agency for the purpose of the property's forfeiture under the federal Controlled​
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30.1 Substances Act, United States Code, title 21, section 881, or the Comprehensive Drug Abuse​

30.2 Prevention and Control Act of 1970, Public Law 91-513, section 413.​

30.3 Subd. 32. Limit on receiving forfeiture proceeds from joint task forces. (a) In a case​

30.4 in which the aggregate net equity value of the property and currency seized has a value of​

30.5 $50,000 or less, excluding the value of contraband, a local, county, or state law enforcement​

30.6 agency or participant in a joint task force or other multijurisdictional collaboration with the​

30.7 federal government shall transfer responsibility for the seized property to the state prosecuting​

30.8 authority for forfeiture under state law.​

30.9 (b) If the federal government prohibits the transfer of seized property and currency to​

30.10 the state prosecuting authority as required by paragraph (a) and instead requires the property​

30.11 be transferred to the federal government for forfeiture under federal law, the agency is​

30.12 prohibited from accepting payment of any kind or distribution of forfeiture proceeds from​

30.13 the federal government.​

30.14 (c) Nothing in paragraph (a) or (b) shall be construed to restrict an agency from​

30.15 transferring responsibility to the federal government for forfeiture of seized property and​

30.16 currency that has an aggregate net equity value of greater than $50,000, excluding the value​

30.17 of contraband.​

30.18 (d) Nothing in paragraph (a) or (b) or subdivision 31 shall be construed to restrict a local,​

30.19 county, or state law enforcement agency from acting alone or collaborating with a federal​

30.20 agency or other agency to seize contraband or property a law enforcement agent has probable​

30.21 cause to believe is the proceeds or instruments of a crime that subjects property to forfeiture.​

30.22 (e) Nothing in paragraph (a) or (b) or subdivision 31 shall be construed to prohibit the​

30.23 federal government, acting without the involvement of a local, county, or state law​

30.24 enforcement agency, from seizing property and seeking forfeiture under federal law.​

30.25 Subd. 33. Preemption. This chapter preempts laws by other governments in the state​

30.26 that regulate forfeiture of property in crimes related to controlled substances and driving​

30.27 while impaired.​

30.28 Subd. 34. Exception. The provisions of this section other than the reporting requirement​

30.29 under subdivision 35 do not apply to seizure or forfeiture proceedings under chapter 84 or​

30.30 97A.​

30.31 Subd. 35. Reporting requirement. (a) For each forfeiture occurring in the state, the​

30.32 appropriate agency and the prosecuting authority shall provide a written record of the​

30.33 forfeiture incident to the state auditor. The record shall include the amount forfeited, the​
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31.1 statutory authority for the forfeiture, the date, a brief description of the circumstances​

31.2 involved, and whether the forfeiture was contested. The record shall also list the number of​

31.3 firearms forfeited and the make, model, and serial number of each firearm forfeited. The​

31.4 record shall indicate how the property was or is to be disposed of.​

31.5 (b) An appropriate agency or the prosecuting authority shall report to the state auditor​

31.6 all instances in which property seized for forfeiture is returned to its owner either because​

31.7 forfeiture is not pursued or for any other reason.​

31.8 (c) Reports shall be made on a monthly basis in a manner prescribed by the state auditor.​

31.9 The state auditor shall report annually to the legislature on the nature and extent of forfeitures.​

31.10 (d) For forfeitures resulting from the activities of multijurisdictional law enforcement​

31.11 entities, the entity on its own behalf shall report the information required in this subdivision.​

31.12 (e) The prosecuting authority is not required to report information required by this​

31.13 subdivision unless the prosecuting authority has been notified by the state auditor that the​

31.14 appropriate agency has not reported it.​

31.15 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.66, subdivision 1d, is amended to read:​

31.16 Subd. 1d. Possession on school property; penalty. (a) Except as provided under​

31.17 paragraphs (d) and (f), whoever possesses, stores, or keeps a dangerous weapon while​

31.18 knowingly on school property is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment​

31.19 for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.​

31.20 (b) Whoever uses or brandishes a replica firearm or a BB gun while knowingly on school​

31.21 property is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.​

31.22 (c) Whoever possesses, stores, or keeps a replica firearm or a BB gun while knowingly​

31.23 on school property is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

31.24 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), (b), or (c), it is a misdemeanor for a person authorized​

31.25 to carry a firearm under the provisions of a permit or otherwise to carry a firearm on or​

31.26 about the person's clothes or person in a location the person knows is school property.​

31.27 Notwithstanding section 609.531 any law to the contrary, a firearm carried in violation of​

31.28 this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.​

31.29 (e) As used in this subdivision:​

31.30 (1) "BB gun" means a device that fires or ejects a shot measuring .18 of an inch or less​

31.31 in diameter;​

31.32 (2) "dangerous weapon" has the meaning given it in section 609.02, subdivision 6;​
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32.1 (3) "replica firearm" has the meaning given it in section 609.713; and​

32.2 (4) "school property" means:​

32.3 (i) a public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and its improved​

32.4 grounds, whether leased or owned by the school;​

32.5 (ii) a child care center licensed under chapter 245A during the period children are present​

32.6 and participating in a child care program;​

32.7 (iii) the area within a school bus when that bus is being used by a school to transport​

32.8 one or more elementary, middle, or secondary school students to and from school-related​

32.9 activities, including curricular, cocurricular, noncurricular, extracurricular, and supplementary​

32.10 activities; and​

32.11 (iv) that portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a​

32.12 public or private school, a school district, or an association of such entities where conspicuous​

32.13 signs are prominently posted at each entrance that give actual notice to persons of the​

32.14 school-related use.​

32.15 (f) This subdivision does not apply to:​

32.16 (1) active licensed peace officers;​

32.17 (2) military personnel or students participating in military training, who are on-duty,​

32.18 performing official duties;​

32.19 (3) persons authorized to carry a pistol under section 624.714 while in a motor vehicle​

32.20 or outside of a motor vehicle to directly place a firearm in, or retrieve it from, the trunk or​

32.21 rear area of the vehicle;​

32.22 (4) persons who keep or store in a motor vehicle pistols in accordance with section​

32.23 624.714 or 624.715 or other firearms in accordance with section 97B.045;​

32.24 (5) firearm safety or marksmanship courses or activities conducted on school property;​

32.25 (6) possession of dangerous weapons, BB guns, or replica firearms by a ceremonial​

32.26 color guard;​

32.27 (7) a gun or knife show held on school property;​

32.28 (8) possession of dangerous weapons, BB guns, or replica firearms with written​

32.29 permission of the principal or other person having general control and supervision of the​

32.30 school or the director of a child care center; or​
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33.1 (9) persons who are on unimproved property owned or leased by a child care center,​

33.2 school, or school district unless the person knows that a student is currently present on the​

33.3 land for a school-related activity.​

33.4 (g) Notwithstanding section 471.634, a school district or other entity composed​

33.5 exclusively of school districts may not regulate firearms, ammunition, or their respective​

33.6 components, when possessed or carried by nonstudents or nonemployees, in a manner that​

33.7 is inconsistent with this subdivision.​

33.8 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.762, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

33.9 Subd. 2. Seizure. Forfeiture of property subject to forfeiture under identified in​

33.10 subdivision 1 may be seized by any law enforcement agency upon process issued by any​

33.11 court having jurisdiction over the property. Seizure without process may be made if: must​

33.12 be made pursuant to section 609.112.​

33.13 (1) the seizure is incident to an arrest or a search under a search warrant;​

33.14 (2) the property subject to seizure has been the subject of a prior judgment in favor of​

33.15 the state in a criminal injunction or forfeiture proceeding; or​

33.16 (3) the law enforcement agency has probable cause to believe that the property was used​

33.17 or is intended to be used in a gambling violation and the delay occasioned by the necessity​

33.18 to obtain process would result in the removal, loss, or destruction of the property.​

33.19 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.856, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

33.20 Subd. 2. Forfeiture. A radio or device defined in subdivision 1 that is used in the​

33.21 commission of a felony or violation of section 609.487 or attempt to commit a felony or​

33.22 violation of section 609.487 is contraband property and subject to the forfeiture provisions​

33.23 of section 609.531 609.112.​

33.24 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.895, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

33.25 Subd. 5. Forfeiture. Property used to commit or facilitate the commission of a violation​

33.26 of this section, and all money and property representing proceeds of a violation of this​

33.27 section, shall be forfeited in accordance with sections 609.531 to 609.5316 section 609.112.​

33.28 Notwithstanding any provision of section 609.5315 609.112 to the contrary, forfeited items​

33.29 bearing or identified by a counterfeit mark must be destroyed unless the intellectual property​

33.30 owner consents to another disposition.​
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34.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.908, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

34.2 Subd. 3. Sale proceeds. The proceeds of a sale or other disposition of forfeited property​

34.3 under this section whether by final judgment, settlement, or otherwise, must be applied as​

34.4 follows:​

34.5 (1) to the fees and costs of the forfeiture and sale including expenses of seizure,​

34.6 maintenance, and custody of the property pending its disposition, advertising, and court​

34.7 costs;​

34.8 (2) to all costs and expenses of investigation and prosecution including costs of resources​

34.9 and personnel incurred in investigation and prosecution; and​

34.10 (3) the balance to the appropriate agencies under section 609.5315, subdivision 5 609.112,​

34.11 subdivision 28.​

34.12 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609B.515, is amended to read:​

34.13 609B.515 DWI; VEHICLE FORFEITURE.​

34.14 Under section 169A.63 609.112, a motor vehicle is subject to forfeiture if a driver is​

34.15 convicted of a "designated offense," as defined in section 169A.63, subdivision 1 609.112,​

34.16 subdivision 1.​

34.17 Section 169A.63, subdivision 7, 609.112 specifies limitations on vehicle forfeiture.​

34.18 Section 169A.63, subdivisions 8 and 9, provide for administrative forfeiture procedure and​

34.19 judicial forfeiture procedure. Section 169A.63, subdivisions 10 and 11, provide for disposition​

34.20 of a forfeited vehicle.​

34.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 611.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

34.22 Subd. 2. Proceedings at time of apprehension or arrest. Following the apprehension​

34.23 or arrest of a person disabled in communication for an alleged violation of a criminal law,​

34.24 the arresting officer, sheriff or other law enforcement official shall immediately make​

34.25 necessary contacts to obtain a qualified interpreter and shall obtain an interpreter at the​

34.26 earliest possible time at the place of detention. A law enforcement officer shall, with the​

34.27 assistance of the interpreter, explain to the person disabled in communication, all charges​

34.28 filed against the person, and all procedures relating to the person's detainment and release.​

34.29 If the property of a person is seized under section 609.531, subdivision 4 609.112, the seizing​

34.30 officer, sheriff, or other law enforcement official shall, upon request, make available to the​

34.31 person at the earliest possible time a qualified interpreter to assist the person in understanding​

34.32 the possible consequences of the seizure and the person's right to judicial review. If the​

34​Article 3 Sec. 16.​

REVISOR KLL/LN A19-0359​04/02/19   ​



35.1 seizure is governed by section 609.5314, subdivision 2, a request for an interpreter must be​

35.2 made within 15 days after service of the notice of seizure and forfeiture. For a person who​

35.3 requests an interpreter under this section because of a seizure of property under section​

35.4 609.5314, the 60 days for filing a demand for a judicial determination of a forfeiture begins​

35.5 when the interpreter is provided. The interpreter shall also assist the person with all other​

35.6 communications, including communications relating to needed medical attention. Prior to​

35.7 interrogating or taking the statement of the person disabled in communication, the arresting​

35.8 officer, sheriff, or other law enforcement official shall make available to the person a​

35.9 qualified interpreter to assist the person throughout the interrogation or taking of a statement.​

35.10 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.714, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

35.11 Subd. 1b. Display of permit; penalty. (a) The holder of a permit to carry must have the​

35.12 permit card and a driver's license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo​

35.13 identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display​

35.14 the permit card and identification document upon lawful demand by a peace officer, as​

35.15 defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1. A violation of this paragraph is a petty misdemeanor.​

35.16 The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112,​

35.17 a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.​

35.18 (b) A citation issued for violating paragraph (a) must be dismissed if the person​

35.19 demonstrates, in court or in the office of the arresting officer, that the person was authorized​

35.20 to carry the pistol at the time of the alleged violation.​

35.21 (c) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder must write a sample signature​

35.22 in the officer's presence to aid in verifying the person's identity.​

35.23 (d) Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder shall disclose to the officer​

35.24 whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.​

35.25 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.714, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:​

35.26 Subd. 7a. Change of address; loss or destruction of permit. (a) Within 30 days after​

35.27 changing permanent address, or within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card,​

35.28 the permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff of the change, loss, or destruction. Failure​

35.29 to provide notification as required by this subdivision is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for​

35.30 a first offense must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112, a firearm​

35.31 carried in violation of this paragraph is not subject to forfeiture.​
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36.1 (b) After notice is given under paragraph (a), a permit holder may obtain a replacement​

36.2 permit card by paying $10 to the sheriff. The request for a replacement permit card must​

36.3 be made on an official, standardized application adopted for this purpose under section​

36.4 624.7151, and, except in the case of an address change, must include a notarized statement​

36.5 that the permit card has been lost or destroyed.​

36.6 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.714, subdivision 17, is amended to read:​

36.7 Subd. 17. Posting; trespass. (a) A person carrying a firearm on or about his or her person​

36.8 or clothes under a permit or otherwise who remains at a private establishment knowing that​

36.9 the operator of the establishment or its agent has made a reasonable request that firearms​

36.10 not be brought into the establishment may be ordered to leave the premises. A person who​

36.11 fails to leave when so requested is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense​

36.12 must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112, a firearm carried in violation​

36.13 of this subdivision is not subject to forfeiture.​

36.14 (b) As used in this subdivision, the terms in this paragraph have the meanings given.​

36.15 (1) "Reasonable request" means a request made under the following circumstances:​

36.16 (i) the requester has prominently posted a conspicuous sign at every entrance to the​

36.17 establishment containing the following language: "(INDICATE IDENTITY OF OPERATOR)​

36.18 BANS GUNS IN THESE PREMISES."; or​

36.19 (ii) the requester or the requester's agent personally informs the person that guns are​

36.20 prohibited in the premises and demands compliance.​

36.21 (2) "Prominently" means readily visible and within four feet laterally of the entrance​

36.22 with the bottom of the sign at a height of four to six feet above the floor.​

36.23 (3) "Conspicuous" means lettering in black arial typeface at least 1-1/2 inches in height​

36.24 against a bright contrasting background that is at least 187 square inches in area.​

36.25 (4) "Private establishment" means a building, structure, or portion thereof that is owned,​

36.26 leased, controlled, or operated by a nongovernmental entity for a nongovernmental purpose.​

36.27 (c) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry​

36.28 or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area.​

36.29 (d) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry​

36.30 or possession of firearms by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1,​

36.31 paragraph (c), within the private establishment or deny the officer access thereto, except​

36.32 when specifically authorized by statute. The owner or operator of the private establishment​
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37.1 may require the display of official credentials issued by the agency that employs the peace​

37.2 officer prior to granting the officer entry into the private establishment.​

37.3 (e) This subdivision does not apply to private residences. The lawful possessor of a​

37.4 private residence may prohibit firearms, and provide notice thereof, in any lawful manner.​

37.5 (f) A landlord may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or​

37.6 their guests.​

37.7 (g) Notwithstanding any inconsistent provisions in section 609.605, this subdivision sets​

37.8 forth the exclusive criteria to notify a permit holder when otherwise lawful firearm possession​

37.9 is not allowed in a private establishment and sets forth the exclusive penalty for such activity.​

37.10 (h) This subdivision does not apply to a security guard acting in the course and scope​

37.11 of employment. The owner or operator of a private establishment may require the display​

37.12 of official credentials issued by the company, which must be licensed by the Private Detective​

37.13 and Protective Agent Services Board, that employs the security guard and the guard's permit​

37.14 card prior to granting the guard entrance into the private establishment.​

37.15 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 624.7142, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

37.16 Subd. 6. Penalties. (a) A person who violates a prohibition under subdivision 1, clauses​

37.17 (1) to (5), is guilty of a misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation is a gross​

37.18 misdemeanor.​

37.19 (b) A person who violates subdivision 1, clause (6), is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

37.20 (c) In addition to the penalty imposed under paragraph (a), if a person violates subdivision​

37.21 1, clauses (1) to (5), the person's authority to carry a pistol in a public place on or about the​

37.22 person's clothes or person under the provisions of a permit or otherwise is revoked and the​

37.23 person may not reapply for a period of one year from the date of conviction.​

37.24 (d) In addition to the penalty imposed under paragraph (b), if a person violates subdivision​

37.25 1, clause (6), the person's authority to carry a pistol in a public place on or about the person's​

37.26 clothes or person under the provisions of a permit or otherwise is suspended for 180 days​

37.27 from the date of conviction.​

37.28 (e) Notwithstanding section 609.531 609.112, a firearm carried in violation of subdivision​

37.29 1, clause (6), is not subject to forfeiture.​
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38.1 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 629.715, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

38.2 Subd. 2. Surrender of firearms. The judge may order as a condition of release that the​

38.3 person surrender to the local law enforcement agency all firearms, destructive devices, or​

38.4 dangerous weapons owned or possessed by the person, and may not live in a residence​

38.5 where others possess firearms. Any firearm, destructive device, or dangerous weapon​

38.6 surrendered under this subdivision shall be inventoried and retained, with due care to preserve​

38.7 its quality and function, by the local law enforcement agency, and must be returned to the​

38.8 person upon the person's acquittal, when charges are dismissed, or if no charges are filed.​

38.9 If the person is convicted, the firearm must be returned when the court orders the return or​

38.10 when the person is discharged from probation and restored to civil rights. If the person is​

38.11 convicted of a designated an offense as defined in section 609.531, under which the firearm​

38.12 is subject to forfeiture, it is subject to forfeiture as provided under that section 609.112.​

38.13 This condition may be imposed in addition to any other condition authorized by rule 6.02​

38.14 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure.​

38.15 Sec. 22. REPEALER.​

38.16 Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 169A.63; 609.531, subdivisions 1, 1a, 4, 5, 5a, 6a, 7,​

38.17 and 8; 609.5311; 609.5312; 609.5313; 609.5314; 609.5315; 609.5316; 609.5317; 609.5318;​

38.18 609.5319; 609.762, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, and 6; and 609.905, subdivision 3, are repealed.​

38.19 Sec. 23. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

38.20 This article is effective July 1, 2019.​

38.21 ARTICLE 4​

38.22 CIVIL POLICY​

38.23 Section 1. [3.8844] LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON INTELLIGENCE AND​

38.24 TECHNOLOGY.​

38.25 Subdivision 1. Established. The Legislative Commission on Intelligence and Technology​

38.26 is created to study and make recommendations on issues relating to the effect of emerging​

38.27 technology on privacy. The commission has investigatory and oversight jurisdiction over​

38.28 government surveillance programs and technology, including subpoena power.​

38.29 Subd. 2. Membership. The commission consists of four members of the senate, two​

38.30 appointed by the majority leader and two appointed by the minority leader, and four members​

38.31 of the house of representatives, two appointed by the speaker of the house and two appointed​
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39.1 by the minority leader. Each appointing authority must make appointments as soon as​

39.2 possible after the beginning of the regular legislative session in an odd-numbered year. Each​

39.3 member of the commission must take an oath, swearing to faithfully discharge the duties​

39.4 of members of the commission in compliance with the laws governing the commission.​

39.5 Subd. 3. Terms; vacancies. Commission member terms begin upon appointment and​

39.6 end at the beginning of the regular legislative session in the next odd-numbered year. In the​

39.7 case of a vacancy, the appropriate appointing authority must fill the vacancy for the remainder​

39.8 of the unexpired term.​

39.9 Subd. 4. Officers. The commission must elect a chair and vice-chair and may elect other​

39.10 officers as the commission determines is necessary. The chair alternates between a member​

39.11 of the senate and a member of the house of representatives in January of each odd-numbered​

39.12 year.​

39.13 Subd. 5. Staff. Legislative staff must provide administrative and research assistance to​

39.14 the commission.​

39.15 Subd. 6. Meetings; data. Notwithstanding any other laws or legislative rules to the​

39.16 contrary, the commission may determine that a meeting shall not be open to the public.​

39.17 Notwithstanding any contrary provision of chapter 13 or other law, the commission may​

39.18 require a law enforcement official to disclose not public data to the commission, as the​

39.19 commission determines is necessary for performance of the commission's duties. If data​

39.20 provided to the commission is disseminated by the commission or its members or agents​

39.21 in violation of section 13.05, subdivision 4, the commission is subject to liability under​

39.22 section 13.08, subdivisions 1 and 3. Disclosure of not public data by a member of the​

39.23 commission is grounds for an ethics complaint to the committee with jurisdiction over ethics​

39.24 in the chamber in which the member serves.​

39.25 Subd. 7. Subpoena power. The chair or vice-chair or a member of the commission​

39.26 designated by the chair may issue subpoenas requiring the appearance of persons, producing​

39.27 relevant records, and giving relevant testimony on matters within the jurisdiction of the​

39.28 commission. The person issuing the subpoena may request the issuance of an attachment​

39.29 to compel the attendance of a witness who, having been duly subpoenaed to attend, fails to​

39.30 do so. Section 3.153 applies to issuance of subpoenas under this section, except as otherwise​

39.31 provided in this section.​

39.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

39.33 Appointing authorities must make initial appointments by June 1, 2019. The speaker of the​
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40.1 house must designate one member of the commission to convene the first meeting of the​

40.2 commission by June 15, 2019.​

40.3 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.599, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

40.4 read:​

40.5 Subd. 5. State Arts Board. Notwithstanding subdivision 3, responses submitted by a​

40.6 grantee to the State Arts Board or to a regional arts council under chapter 129D become​

40.7 public data at the public review meeting at which they are considered, except for trade secret​

40.8 data as defined and classified in section 13.37.​

40.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 257.56, is amended to read:​

40.10 257.56 ARTIFICIAL INSEMINATION ASSISTED REPRODUCTION.​

40.11 Subdivision 1. Husband Spouse treated as biological father parent. If, under the​

40.12 supervision of a licensed physician and with the consent of her husband spouse, a wife is​

40.13 inseminated artificially woman conceives through assisted reproduction with semen or ova​

40.14 or both, donated by a man not her husband donor or donors not her spouse, the husband​

40.15 spouse is treated in law as if he were the biological father the parent of a child thereby​

40.16 conceived. The husband's spouse's consent must be in writing and signed by him and his​

40.17 wife the spouse and the woman conceiving through assisted reproduction. The consent must​

40.18 be retained by the physician for at least four years after the confirmation of a pregnancy​

40.19 that occurs during the process of artificial insemination assisted reproduction.​

40.20 All papers and records pertaining to the insemination assisted reproduction, whether​

40.21 part of the permanent record of a court or of a file held by the supervising physician or​

40.22 elsewhere, are subject to inspection only upon an order of the court for good cause shown.​

40.23 Subd. 2. Donor not treated as biological father parent. The donor of semen or ova​

40.24 provided to a licensed physician for use in artificial insemination of assisted reproduction​

40.25 by a married woman other than the donor's wife spouse is treated in law as if he were the​

40.26 donor is not the biological father parent of a child thereby conceived, unless a court finds​

40.27 satisfactory evidence that the donor and the woman intended for the donor to be a parent.​

40.28 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.03, subdivision 43, is amended to read:​

40.29 Subd. 43. Sexual harassment. (a) "Sexual harassment" includes unwelcome sexual​

40.30 advances, requests for sexual favors, sexually motivated physical contact or other verbal or​

40.31 physical conduct or communication of a sexual nature when:​
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41.1 (1) submission to that conduct or communication is made a term or condition, either​

41.2 explicitly or implicitly, of obtaining employment, public accommodations or public services,​

41.3 education, or housing;​

41.4 (2) submission to or rejection of that conduct or communication by an individual is used​

41.5 as a factor in decisions affecting that individual's employment, public accommodations or​

41.6 public services, education, or housing; or​

41.7 (3) that conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering​

41.8 with an individual's employment, public accommodations or public services, education, or​

41.9 housing, or creating an intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive employment, public​

41.10 accommodations, public services, educational, or housing environment.​

41.11 (b) Paragraph (a), clause (3), does not require the harassing conduct or communication​

41.12 to be severe or pervasive. Conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of creating​

41.13 an intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive environment when:​

41.14 (1) a reasonable person in similar circumstances to the plaintiff would find the​

41.15 environment intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive; and​

41.16 (2) the plaintiff found the environment intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive.​

41.17 The intimidating, hostile, or materially offensive environment must be determined based​

41.18 on the totality of the circumstances.​

41.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to causes​

41.20 of action arising on or after that date.​

41.21 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.35, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

41.22 Subd. 3. Access to closed files. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision,​

41.23 human rights investigative data contained in a closed case file are private data on individuals​

41.24 or nonpublic data. The name and address of the charging party and respondent, factual basis​

41.25 of the allegations, the statute under which the action is brought, the part of the summary of​

41.26 the investigation that does not contain identifying data on a person other than the complainant​

41.27 or respondent, and the commissioner's memorandum determining whether probable cause​

41.28 has been shown are public data.​

41.29 (b) The commissioner may make human rights investigative data contained in a closed​

41.30 case file inaccessible to the charging party or the respondent in order to protect medical or​

41.31 other security interests of the parties or third persons.​
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42.1 (c) Except for paragraph (b), when the charging party files a case in district court, the​

42.2 commissioner may provide private data or nonpublic data in a closed case file to the charging​

42.3 party and respondent.​

42.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

42.5 Subdivision 1. Scope of application. (a) For all contracts for goods and services in​

42.6 excess of $100,000, no department or agency of the state shall accept any bid or proposal​

42.7 for a contract or agreement from any business having more than 40 full-time employees​

42.8 within this state on a single working day during the previous 12 months, unless the​

42.9 commissioner is in receipt of the business' affirmative action plan for the employment of​

42.10 minority persons, women, and qualified disabled individuals. No department or agency of​

42.11 the state shall execute any such contract or agreement until the affirmative action plan has​

42.12 been approved by the commissioner. Receipt of a certificate of compliance issued by the​

42.13 commissioner shall signify that a firm or business has an affirmative action plan that has​

42.14 been approved by the commissioner. A certificate shall be valid for a period of four years.​

42.15 A department, an agency of the state, the Metropolitan Council, an agency subject to section​

42.16 473.143, subdivision 1, or a public officer or agency subject to section 16A.695 shall not​

42.17 execute a contract for goods or services in excess of $100,000 with a business that has 40​

42.18 or more full-time employees in this state or a state where the business has its primary place​

42.19 of business on a single day during the prior 12 months, unless the business has a workforce​

42.20 certificate, as created in sections 363A.36 and 363A.37, from the commissioner of human​

42.21 rights or has certified in writing that it is exempt. Determinations of exempt status shall be​

42.22 made by the commissioner of human rights. A certificate is valid for four years. A​

42.23 municipality as defined in section 466.01, subdivision 1, that receives state money for any​

42.24 reason is encouraged to prepare and implement an affirmative action plan for the employment​

42.25 of minority persons, people with disabilities, people of color, and women, and the qualified​

42.26 disabled and to submit the plan to the commissioner.​

42.27 (b) This paragraph applies to a contract for goods or services in excess of $100,000 to​

42.28 be entered into between a department or agency of the state and a business that is not subject​

42.29 to paragraph (a), but that has more than 40 full-time employees on a single working day​

42.30 during the previous 12 months in the state where the business has its primary place of​

42.31 business. A department or agency of the state may not execute a contract or agreement with​

42.32 a business covered by this paragraph unless the business has a certificate of compliance​

42.33 issued by the commissioner under paragraph (a) or the business certifies that it is in​

42.34 compliance with federal affirmative action requirements.​
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43.1 (c) (b) This section does not apply to contracts entered into by the State Board of​

43.2 Investment for investment options under section 356.645.​

43.3 (d) (c) The commissioner shall issue a certificate of compliance or notice of denial within​

43.4 15 days of the application submitted by the business or firm.​

43.5 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.36, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

43.6 Subd. 4. Revocation of contract. A contract awarded by a department or agency of the​

43.7 state, the Metropolitan Council, an agency subject to section 473.143, subdivision 1, or a​

43.8 public officer or agency subject to section 16A.695, may be terminated or abridged by the​

43.9 department or agency, the Metropolitan Council, an agency subject to section 473.143,​

43.10 subdivision 1, or a public officer or agency subject to section 16A.695, because of suspension​

43.11 or revocation of a certificate based upon a contractor's failure to implement or make a good​

43.12 faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan approved by the commissioner under​

43.13 this section. If a contract is awarded to a person who does not have a contract compliance​

43.14 certificate required under subdivision 1, the commissioner may void the contract on behalf​

43.15 of the state.​

43.16 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.36, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

43.17 read:​

43.18 Subd. 6. Access to data. Data created, collected, and maintained by the commissioner​

43.19 for a business to receive and retain a certificate of compliance under this section is private​

43.20 data or nonpublic data. Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business​

43.21 seeking a certificate of compliance is public data. A letter that states the commissioner's​

43.22 decision to issue, not issue, revoke, or suspend a certificate of compliance is public data.​

43.23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 363A.44, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

43.24 Subdivision 1. Scope. (a) No A department, an agency of the state, the Metropolitan​

43.25 Council, or an agency subject to section 473.143, subdivision 1, or a public officer or agency​

43.26 subject to section 16A.695 shall not execute a contract for goods or services or an agreement​

43.27 for goods or services in excess of $500,000 with a business that has 40 or more full-time​

43.28 employees in this state or a state where the business has its primary place of business on a​

43.29 single day during the prior 12 months, unless the business has an equal pay certificate or it​

43.30 has certified in writing that it is exempt. A certificate is valid for four years.​

43.31 (b) This section does not apply to a business with respect to a specific contract if the​

43.32 commissioner of administration determines that application of this section would cause​
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44.1 undue hardship to the contracting entity. This section does not apply to a contract to provide​

44.2 goods and services to individuals under chapters 43A, 62A, 62C, 62D, 62E, 256B, 256I,​

44.3 256L, and 268A, with a business that has a license, certification, registration, provider​

44.4 agreement, or provider enrollment contract that is prerequisite to providing those goods and​

44.5 services. This section does not apply to contracts entered into by the State Board of​

44.6 Investment for investment options under section 352.965, subdivision 4.​

44.7 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.02, is amended to read:​

44.8 517.02 PERSONS CAPABLE OF CONTRACTING.​

44.9 Every A person who has attained the full age of 18 years is capable in law of contracting​

44.10 into a civil marriage, if otherwise competent. A person of the full age of 16 years may, with​

44.11 the consent of the person's legal custodial parents, guardian, or the court, as provided in​

44.12 section 517.08, receive a license to marry, when, after a careful inquiry into the facts and​

44.13 the surrounding circumstances, the person's application for a license and consent for civil​

44.14 marriage of a minor form is approved by the judge of the district court of the county in​

44.15 which the person resides. If the judge of the district court of the county in which the person​

44.16 resides is absent from the county and has not by order assigned another judge or a retired​

44.17 judge to act in the judge's stead, then the court commissioner or any judge of district court​

44.18 of the county may approve the application for a license.​

44.19 The consent for civil marriage of a minor must be in the following form:​

44.20 STATE OF MINNESOTA, COUNTY OF .................... (insert county name)​

44.21 I/We ........................... (insert legal custodial parent or guardian names) under oath or​

44.22 affirmation say:​

44.23 That I/we are the legal custodial parent(s) or guardian of ........................... (insert name​

44.24 of minor), who was born at ........................... (insert place of birth) on ...........................​

44.25 (insert date of birth) who is presently the age of ....... (insert age).​

44.26 That the minor has not been previously married.​

44.27 That I/we consent to the civil marriage of this minor to ........................... (insert name​

44.28 of the person minor intends to marry) who is of the age of ....... (insert age).​

44.29 That affidavit is being made for the purpose of requesting the judge's consent to allow​

44.30 this minor to marry and make this civil marriage legal.​

44.31 Date: .............................​

44.32 .....................................................................................................​
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45.1 .....................................................................................................​

45.2 (Signature of legal custodial parents or guardian)​

45.3 Sworn to or affirmed and acknowledged before me on this ....... day of .................... .​

45.4 ..........................................​

45.5 NOTARY PUBLIC​

45.6 STATE OF MINNESOTA, COUNTY OF .................... (insert county name).​

45.7 The undersigned is the judge of the district court where the minor resides and grants the​

45.8 request for the minor to marry.​

45.9 ................................ (judge of district court)​

45.10 ................................ (date).​

45.11 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and​

45.12 applies to marriages entered into on or after that date.​

45.13 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.14 Subdivision 1. General. (a) The following civil marriages are prohibited:​

45.15 (1) a civil marriage entered into before the dissolution of an earlier civil marriage of one​

45.16 of the parties becomes final, as provided in section 518.145 or by the law of the jurisdiction​

45.17 where the dissolution was granted;​

45.18 (2) a civil marriage between an ancestor and a descendant, or between siblings, whether​

45.19 the relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption; and​

45.20 (3) a civil marriage between an uncle or aunt and a niece or nephew, or between first​

45.21 cousins, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood, except as to civil marriages​

45.22 permitted by the established customs of aboriginal cultures.; and​

45.23 (4) a civil marriage entered into between persons when both have not attained the full​

45.24 age of 18 years.​

45.25 (b) A civil marriage prohibited under paragraph (a), clause (4), that is recognized by​

45.26 another state or foreign jurisdiction under common law or statute is void and against the​

45.27 public policy of this state unless neither party was a resident of this state at the time the​

45.28 marriage was entered into.​

45.29 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and​

45.30 applies to marriages entered into on or after that date.​
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46.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

46.2 Subd. 1a. Form. Application for a civil marriage license shall be made by both of the​

46.3 parties upon a form provided for the purpose and shall contain the following information:​

46.4 (1) the full names of the parties and the sex of each party;​

46.5 (2) their post office addresses and county and state of residence;​

46.6 (3) their full ages;​

46.7 (4) if either party has previously been married, the party's married name, and the date,​

46.8 place and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved or annulled or the date and place​

46.9 of death of the former spouse;​

46.10 (5) if either party is a minor, the name and address of the minor's parents or guardian;​

46.11 (6) (5) whether the parties are related to each other, and, if so, their relationship;​

46.12 (7) (6) the address of the parties after the civil marriage is entered into to which the local​

46.13 registrar shall send a certified copy of the civil marriage certificate;​

46.14 (8) (7) the full names the parties will have after the civil marriage is entered into and​

46.15 the parties' Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers must be collected for the​

46.16 application but must not appear on the civil marriage license. If a party listed on a civil​

46.17 marriage application does not have a Social Security number, the party must certify on the​

46.18 application, or a supplement to the application, that the party does not have a Social Security​

46.19 number;​

46.20 (9) (8) if one or both of the parties to the civil marriage license has a felony conviction​

46.21 under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, the parties shall​

46.22 provide to the county proof of service upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the​

46.23 attorney general, as required by section 259.13; and​

46.24 (10) (9) notice that a party who has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law​

46.25 of another state or federal jurisdiction may not use a different name after a civil marriage​

46.26 except as authorized by section 259.13, and that doing so is a gross misdemeanor.​

46.27 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and​

46.28 applies to applications submitted to the local registrar on or after that date.​

46.29 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

46.30 Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall​

46.31 examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the​
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47.1 contemplated civil marriage. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar.​

47.2 If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent​

47.3 applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage​

47.4 application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the​

47.5 appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be​

47.6 accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be​

47.7 released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local​

47.8 registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including​

47.9 the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license,​

47.10 containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and​

47.11 state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance.​

47.12 The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b),​

47.13 the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of $115 for administering the oath,​

47.14 issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state​

47.15 registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license​

47.16 should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating​

47.17 circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case​

47.18 a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A​

47.19 local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other​

47.20 than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed​

47.21 $1,000.​

47.22 (b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of​

47.23 premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must​

47.24 submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated,​

47.25 and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital​

47.26 education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must​

47.27 be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized​

47.28 to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage​

47.29 and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital​

47.30 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.​

47.31 (c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph​

47.32 (b) must be in the following form:​

47.33 "I, .......................... (name of educator), confirm that .......................... (names of both​

47.34 parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital​

47.35 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed​
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48.1 or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota​

48.2 Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under​

48.3 Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."​

48.4 The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names​

48.5 of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding​

48.6 section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time​

48.7 it may be destroyed.​

48.8 (d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar​

48.9 shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the​

48.10 local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the​

48.11 conviction:​

48.12 (1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name​

48.13 change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no​

48.14 objection has been filed under section 259.13; or​

48.15 (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil​

48.16 marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name​

48.17 change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request.​

48.18 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and​

48.19 applies to applications submitted to the local registrar on or after that date.​

48.20 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 517.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

48.21 read:​

48.22 Subd. 1d. Proof of age. For purposes of this section, proof of age of a party may be​

48.23 established in the form of:​

48.24 (1) an original or certified copy of a birth certificate or birth record;​

48.25 (2) a driver's license or other identification card issued by a government entity or school;​

48.26 or​

48.27 (3) a school record, immigration record, naturalization record, court record, or other​

48.28 document or record issued by a government entity that contains the date of birth of a party.​
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49.1 ARTICLE 5​

49.2 COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE PROGRAM​

49.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 62A.21, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

49.4 Subd. 2a. Continuation privilege. Every policy described in subdivision 1 shall contain​

49.5 a provision which permits continuation of coverage under the policy for the insured's​

49.6 dependent children, which is defined as required by section 62A.302, and former spouse,​

49.7 who was covered on the day before the entry of a valid decree of dissolution of marriage​

49.8 or a certificate of marital dissolution. The coverage shall be continued until the earlier of​

49.9 the following dates:​

49.10 (a) (1) the date the insured's former spouse becomes covered under any other group​

49.11 health plan; or​

49.12 (b) (2) the date coverage would otherwise terminate under the policy.​

49.13 If the coverage is provided under a group policy, any required premium contributions​

49.14 for the coverage shall be paid by the insured on a monthly basis to the group policyholder​

49.15 for remittance to the insurer. The policy must require the group policyholder to, upon request,​

49.16 provide the insured with written verification from the insurer of the cost of this coverage​

49.17 promptly at the time of eligibility for this coverage and at any time during the continuation​

49.18 period. In no event shall the amount of premium charged exceed 102 percent of the cost to​

49.19 the plan for such period of coverage for other similarly situated spouses and dependent​

49.20 children with respect to whom the marital relationship has not dissolved, without regard to​

49.21 whether such cost is paid by the employer or employee.​

49.22 Upon request by the insured's former spouse, who was covered on the day before the​

49.23 entry of a valid decree of dissolution, or dependent child, a health carrier must provide the​

49.24 instructions necessary to enable the child or former spouse to elect continuation of coverage.​

49.25 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518.191, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

49.26 read:​

49.27 Subd. 6. Summary real estate disposition judgment following certificate of marital​

49.28 dissolution. A summary real estate disposition judgment may also be obtained after a​

49.29 certificate of marital dissolution is issued in accordance with section 518.80, subdivision​

49.30 5. Upon the filing of the certificate the district court administrator shall provide to a​

49.31 participant upon request certified copies of a summary real estate disposition judgment​

49.32 submitted by the participants that contains the following information:​
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50.1 (1) the dates of the participants' marriage and of the issuance of the certificate of marital​

50.2 dissolution;​

50.3 (2) the legal description of each parcel of real estate;​

50.4 (3) the name or names of the persons awarded an interest in each parcel of real estate​

50.5 and a description of the interest awarded;​

50.6 (4) liens, mortgages, encumbrances, or other interests in the real estate described in the​

50.7 declaration of divorce; and​

50.8 (5) triggering or contingent events set forth in the declaration of divorce affecting the​

50.9 disposition of each parcel of real estate.​

50.10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518.195, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

50.11 read:​

50.12 Subd. 5. Issuance of qualified domestic relations order following certificate of marital​

50.13 dissolution. A certificate of marital dissolution issued in accordance with section 518.80,​

50.14 subdivision 5, may be filed with the district court administrator. Upon the filing of the​

50.15 certificate, the district court administrator shall enter a decree of dissolution and shall issue​

50.16 a qualified domestic relations order submitted by the participants and approved by the​

50.17 retirement plan administrator for the assignment of an interest in a retirement plan as provided​

50.18 in the declaration of divorce.​

50.19 Sec. 4. [518.80] COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE PROGRAM.​

50.20 Subdivision 1. Commissioner. For purposes of this section, "commissioner" means the​

50.21 commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services.​

50.22 Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish a cooperative private divorce​

50.23 program as provided in this section.​

50.24 Subd. 3. Requirements. The cooperative private divorce program must, at a minimum:​

50.25 (1) be made available on the Bureau of Mediation Services website;​

50.26 (2) make available to the participants of the program the notices and instructions provided​

50.27 under subdivisions 9 and 10 and section 518.82;​

50.28 (3) allow participants of the program to electronically complete and submit to the​

50.29 commissioner an intent to divorce and a declaration of divorce as provided under subdivision​

50.30 11;​
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51.1 (4) require a separate unique login and password for each participant to access the​

51.2 program;​

51.3 (5) provide a notification system that automatically contacts one participant when the​

51.4 other participant accesses the program;​

51.5 (6) provide a list of supportive services and service providers that may be helpful to​

51.6 participants;​

51.7 (7) provide a method to authenticate the identities of the signatories of the forms required​

51.8 under subdivision 11;​

51.9 (8) employ security measures to protect the confidentiality and personal information of​

51.10 the participants submitting information through the program; and​

51.11 (9) encrypt all data sent and received through the program website.​

51.12 Subd. 4. Residency requirement. Married participants seeking dissolution under this​

51.13 section qualify for the cooperative private divorce program if the residency requirements​

51.14 under section 518.07 have been met by the participants.​

51.15 Subd. 5. Procedure. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, married participants​

51.16 who meet the criteria under subdivision 4 may dissolve their marital status through the​

51.17 cooperative private divorce program made available on the Bureau of Mediation Services​

51.18 website by:​

51.19 (1) signing and submitting the intent to divorce under subdivision 11; and​

51.20 (2) completing, signing, and submitting the declaration of divorce under subdivision 11​

51.21 at least 90 days after but not more than two years after the intent to divorce was submitted​

51.22 by both participants.​

51.23 (b) Upon receipt of the completed declaration of divorce, the commissioner shall issue​

51.24 a certificate of marital dissolution that includes the following information:​

51.25 (1) the name and any prior names of the two participants to the cooperative private​

51.26 divorce dissolution;​

51.27 (2) the name of any living minor or dependent children of the participants;​

51.28 (3) that the marriage of the participants is dissolved and the date of the dissolution; and​

51.29 (4) the Social Security numbers of the participants and any living minor or dependent​

51.30 children of the participants.​
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52.1 (c) A certificate of marital dissolution issued under this section completely dissolves​

52.2 the marital status of the participants.​

52.3 (d) Upon receipt of a declaration of divorce, the commissioner shall issue a certificate​

52.4 of marital dissolution that is accessible to each participant through the online cooperative​

52.5 private divorce program. The certificate of marital dissolution is conclusive evidence of the​

52.6 divorce.​

52.7 (e) The commissioner shall maintain a public registry containing the following:​

52.8 (1) the name and any prior names of any participant of the cooperative private divorce​

52.9 program;​

52.10 (2) the name of any living minor or dependent children of a participant; and​

52.11 (3) that the marriage of the participants is dissolved and the date of the dissolution.​

52.12 (f) Before the commissioner issues a certificate of marital dissolution to married​

52.13 participants who are parents of minor children, the married participants must attend a​

52.14 four-hour parent education program as required under section 518.81.​

52.15 Subd. 6. Certain agreements. (a) Any agreement made by the participants as part of​

52.16 the declaration of divorce that allocates expenses for their child or children is an enforceable​

52.17 contract between the participants under section 518.1705.​

52.18 (b) It is the intent of this paragraph that agreements recorded in a declaration of divorce​

52.19 shall be deemed to be a decree of divorce wherever a decree of divorce is referred to in the​

52.20 Internal Revenue Code, and agreements between the participants in a declaration of divorce​

52.21 regarding alimony or maintenance shall be deemed to be a divorce or separation agreement​

52.22 for purposes of deductibility under the Internal Revenue Code.​

52.23 (c) Any issue that is not specifically addressed by the participants in the declaration of​

52.24 divorce agreement is considered to be reserved for future agreement by the participants or​

52.25 de novo review by the court.​

52.26 Subd. 7. Modification. Any agreement made by the participants in their declaration of​

52.27 divorce may be modified at any time after a declaration of divorce agreement is submitted​

52.28 to the commissioner through the cooperative private divorce program if both participants​

52.29 agree to the amendment and submit an amended declaration of divorce.​

52.30 Subd. 8. Court involvement. (a) At any time prior to the submission of a declaration​

52.31 of divorce, participants in a cooperative private divorce may initiate an action for marriage​

52.32 dissolution under this chapter in district court. Any action under this chapter pending in​
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53.1 district court must be resolved or dismissed before participants may submit a declaration​

53.2 of divorce.​

53.3 (b) Cooperative private divorce agreements contained in a declaration of divorce may​

53.4 be enforced, modified, or vacated by the district court, or the court may address issues that​

53.5 were reserved by the participants according to the provisions of this chapter.​

53.6 (c) Upon the filing of a certificate of marital dissolution by the participants, the court​

53.7 administrator shall enter a decree of dissolution as provided in section 518.195 without​

53.8 necessity of court approval or a judgment and decree and without regard to the criteria or​

53.9 procedures in section 518.195, subdivisions 1 and 2.​

53.10 (d) By executing a declaration of divorce with the Bureau of Mediation Services that​

53.11 may be filed with the court, each participant consents to the continuing personal jurisdiction​

53.12 of the Minnesota courts as to all matters related to the declaration of divorce.​

53.13 (e) A participant in a cooperative private divorce may by petition initiate an action in​

53.14 district court to:​

53.15 (1) enforce, modify, or vacate the declaration of divorce;​

53.16 (2) petition the court to address any issue reserved by the participants;​

53.17 (3) obtain a summary real estate disposition judgment;​

53.18 (4) obtain a qualified domestic relations order; or​

53.19 (5) obtain a court decree of dissolution when necessary to comply with state or federal​

53.20 law involving interstate enforcement of the participants' divorce.​

53.21 A participant initiating an action under this paragraph must, by personal service, provide​

53.22 to the other participant notice of filing the certificate of marital dissolution with the district​

53.23 court together with any motion for relief. Any subsequent court action related to the certificate​

53.24 of marital dissolution may be initiated by notice of motion and motion. An action initiated​

53.25 under this paragraph shall be venued in a county located in this state where either participant​

53.26 was residing at the time the certificate of marital dissolution was issued by the Bureau of​

53.27 Mediation Services. The filing fee for any action under this paragraph is $315. For a motion​

53.28 to vacate the declaration of divorce under section 518.145, the one-year period of limitation​

53.29 begins on the date of the participants' dissolution.​

53.30 Subd. 9. Notices; introduction to private divorce; form. The commissioner shall make​

53.31 available the following form for use in the cooperative private divorce program:​

53.32 NOTICE: Introduction to Cooperative Private Divorce​
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54.1 You are considering obtaining a Cooperative Private Divorce rather than going to court​

54.2 to get divorced. Cooperative Private Divorce is a simplified procedure for couples who want​

54.3 to avoid the expense, emotional strain, and arbitrary time frames that often accompany​

54.4 adversarial court proceedings. To obtain a Cooperative Private Divorce you will need to​

54.5 reach an agreement with your spouse about the issues in your divorce. Many public and​

54.6 private services are available to help you.​

54.7 The Cooperative Private Divorce process is based on the assumption that most people​

54.8 have the capacity to divorce with respect and fairness if they are supported in that direction.​

54.9 To that end, a Cooperative Private Divorce differs in two important ways from a court​

54.10 divorce. First, the two of you have total control over your divorce and no one will oversee​

54.11 or scrutinize the decisions you make. Second, it is a completely private process.​

54.12 This leaves you with a great deal of flexibility. After you have educated yourself, you​

54.13 can choose how detailed or simple to make your divorce decisions, and whether to postpone​

54.14 some decisions to a later time. You can also create your own understanding of fairness​

54.15 unique to your own situation.​

54.16 These special features of a Cooperative Private Divorce, eliminating the anxiety of​

54.17 someone else having control over your family, and lessening the pressure to resolve​

54.18 everything all at once during a very stressful time are intended to replace conflict with your​

54.19 spouse by creating a healthy transition for you and your family. You are encouraged to view​

54.20 each other as partners in creating the best solution for you and your family in parenting and​

54.21 financial matters.​

54.22 Basic Principles​

54.23 Cooperative Private Divorce is not for everyone. Because of the need to create a fair​

54.24 and healthy plan without coercion or oversight, it is intended for couples who can work​

54.25 together in good faith for the best interests of everyone in the family.​

54.26 Here are the six principles underlying Cooperative Private Divorce. If you and your​

54.27 spouse believe you can fashion your divorce according to these principles, then a Cooperative​

54.28 Private Divorce may be the best procedure for you.​

54.29 1. The preventing unnecessary divorce principle: You have reached a decision to initiate​

54.30 a divorce only after exhausting other options to solve your problems within your marriage,​

54.31 particularly if you have children.​

54.32 2. The healthy relationships principle: If you have children, your parenting plan promotes​

54.33 safe, nurturing, and stable relationships among the children and with both of their parents.​
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55.1 3. The maximum parent involvement principle: Your parenting plan promotes high​

55.2 levels of involvement of both parents with the children when that is feasible and consistent​

55.3 with the needs of the children.​

55.4 4. The equity principle: Your financial plan promotes equitable and sustainable lifestyles​

55.5 for all family members in light of the unique circumstances of your marriage and family.​

55.6 5. The flexibility principle: Your divorce agreements take into account both the value​

55.7 of having stable arrangements and the likelihood that the needs and circumstances of​

55.8 your family will change over time.​

55.9 6. The optimal timing principle: You create partial or comprehensive agreements with​

55.10 the timing and sequence that work best for you and your family.​

55.11 Two Cautions​

55.12 First, if you feel pressured or intimidated by your spouse to use this process or to agree​

55.13 to specific matters in your divorce, or if you have doubts generally about your spouse's​

55.14 willingness to reach agreements that are best for everyone in your family, consider getting​

55.15 professional assistance before going further.​

55.16 Second, the flexibility of a Cooperative Private Divorce also leaves you with an important​

55.17 responsibility. Some couples have relatively simple issues to address in their divorce. But​

55.18 some couples have more complex financial and parenting matters to resolve. Financial​

55.19 matters are often more complex if you are self-employed or a business owner. If you do not​

55.20 consider such matters carefully, you may face problems such as having agreements that do​

55.21 not work over time or that are not enforceable. You are responsible to educate yourself​

55.22 about the issues in your divorce and to obtain professional assistance if you need it.​

55.23 Professional and Community Resources​

55.24 To begin with, recognize that going ahead with a divorce is a significant decision,​

55.25 especially if you have children. Many research studies have shown that divorce can have​

55.26 an adverse effect on children. If you want help to make sure you are making the right decision​

55.27 for you and your family, you can make use of services available in local communities.​

55.28 If you have made the decision to go ahead with the divorce, you may choose to work​

55.29 with an advocate or with a facilitator who can guide you and your spouse in cooperative​

55.30 processes that focus on your interests and needs and what will work for your family. You​

55.31 may want to consult with an adviser on parenting or financial issues. From private sources​

55.32 you can obtain sample agreements that may help you frame all of the issues you will likely​
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56.1 encounter. Although divorce can seem complex and difficult, these resources and professional​

56.2 services can help make it easier for you and your spouse to reach an agreement.​

56.3 The Bureau of Mediation Services serves as a clearinghouse for information about the​

56.4 types of resources available. It can also provide information about services that are offered​

56.5 for free or on a sliding fee.​

56.6 Subd. 10. Instructions; form. The commissioner shall make available the following​

56.7 form for use in the cooperative private divorce program:​

56.8 Instructions for Cooperative Private Divorce​

56.9 1. Both spouses obtain unique identifiers from the Bureau of Mediation Services.​

56.10 2. Both spouses sign and submit the INTENT TO DIVORCE form with their unique​

56.11 identifiers to register with the Bureau of Mediation Services.​

56.12 3. At any time at least 90 days after but not more than two years after submitting the INTENT​

56.13 TO DIVORCE form, submit the Declaration of Divorce form signed by both spouses.​

56.14 4. Upon submitting the Declaration of Divorce form, both spouses will receive a certification​

56.15 that your marriage is dissolved.​

56.16 5. Most complete divorce agreements address the issues set forth in the Declaration of​

56.17 Divorce form. It is up to you whether you want to record agreements in all or any of these​

56.18 areas. But recognize that if your agreements are vague or incomplete or if you do not record​

56.19 your agreements, it may be difficult for you to recall them, live up to your obligations, or​

56.20 later ask a court to enforce an agreement. Use attachments if you want to record agreements​

56.21 that are longer than space here permits. No one will review or approve the agreements you​

56.22 set forth here before your divorce is certified. They are for your use only.​

56.23 6. At any time, either spouse can retrieve the Declaration of Divorce form containing your​

56.24 agreements by providing your unique identifier. No one except you and your spouse will​

56.25 have access to this form.​

56.26 7. At any time, you and your former spouse can retrieve the Declaration of Divorce form,​

56.27 make additions or modifications that you both agree to, and resubmit it.​

56.28 8. If you want to modify your previous agreements but you and your former spouse cannot​

56.29 agree on the modifications, or if you want to seek enforcement of a previous agreement,​

56.30 you are encouraged to seek assistance from professionals in the community who specialize​

56.31 in helping former spouses reach fair agreements. You also have the option of going to court​

56.32 to submit your Declaration of Divorce form.​
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57.1 9. Remember that by creating a smooth family transition now and working on issues that​

57.2 may arise in the future, developing a trustworthy working relationship with your spouse​

57.3 will be just as helpful as written agreements.​

57.4 Subd. 11. Intent to divorce; declaration of divorce; form. The commissioner shall​

57.5 make available the following form for use in the cooperative private divorce program:​

57.6 Intent to Divorce​

57.7 We hereby declare that we are legally married, have both been residents of Minnesota​

57.8 for at least 180 days, and intend to divorce. We understand that our divorce will be certified​

57.9 if we submit the Declaration of Divorce form signed by both spouses at least 90 days after​

57.10 but not more than two years after the date this INTENT TO DIVORCE form is submitted.​

..............................................57.11 Date and place of marriage:​

..............................................57.12 Signature, date:​

..............................................57.13 E-mail address:​

..............................................57.14 Social Security number:​

..............................................57.15 Signature, date:​

..............................................57.16 E-mail address:​

..............................................57.17 Social Security number:​

57.18 Declaration of Divorce​
57.19 Facts​
57.20 1. We agree that the following is a list of all our assets and their approximate value:​

57.21 2. We agree that the following is a list of all our debts:​

57.22 3. Spouse A name, previous name(s) if any, and yearly income, including any bonuses:​

57.23 4. Spouse B name, previous name(s) if any, and yearly income, including any bonuses:​

57.24 5. The names, dates of birth, and Social Security numbers of our minor or dependent​
57.25 children covered by this agreement are:​

57.26 Agreements​

57.27 1. We agree to the following plan for parenting our child or children together after the​

57.28 divorce. If our plan is temporary, we agree to the following process for updating it. (A​

57.29 comprehensive plan would include: (a) how you will make important decisions like those​

57.30 about school, health care, and religion; (b) how you will allocate your time with the children​

57.31 during the school year, summer, holidays, and vacations to provide a nurturing environment​

57.32 and rich relationships with both of you; and (c) how you will communicate with each other​

57.33 and work out differences of opinion.)​

57.34 2. We agree to the following plan for sharing the expenses of raising our child or children.​

57.35 Guideline Child Support​

57​Article 5 Sec. 4.​

REVISOR KLL/LN A19-0359​04/02/19   ​



58.1 The guideline child support for our child(ren) is $........ We agree that ............... will pay​

58.2 the guideline child support amount.​

58.3 (The Minnesota Child Support guidelines calculator can be accessed at ...............)​

58.4 Attach the guidelines printout.​

58.5 Non-Guideline Child Support​

58.6 We agree to deviate from the guideline child support amount after considering the​

58.7 following factors that support deviation (Make a check or "X" on all that apply):​

each of our earnings, income, circumstances, and resources, including our​
58.9 real and personal property, but excluding income from excess employment​
58.8 ....​

58.10 of the obligor or obligee that meets the criteria of Minnesota Statutes,​
58.11 section 518A.29, paragraph (b);​

the extraordinary financial needs and resources, physical and emotional​
58.13 condition, and educational needs of our child(ren) to be supported;​
58.12 ....​

the standard of living our child would enjoy if we were currently living​
58.15 together, but recognizing that we now have separate households;​
58.14 ....​

whether our child resides for more than one year in a foreign country that​
58.17 has a substantially higher or lower cost of living than this country;​
58.16 ....​

the income taxation dependency exemption and the financial benefit that​
58.19 one of us receives from it;​
58.18 ....​

our agreed-upon plan for paying off our debts under paragraph 4;​58.20 ....​
the obligor's total payments for court-ordered child support exceed the​

58.22 limitations set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section 571.922;​
58.21 ....​

an allocation of the expenses of our children that enables us to maintain a​
58.24 suitable place for our children, taking into account our current standard of​
58.25 living;​

58.23 ....​

the following factor: ...............​58.26 ....​

58.27 Make a check or "X" on one of the following:​

Because of the factor(s) we have checked above, we agree that ...............​
58.29 will pay $....... in child support on the ............... of each month;​
58.28 ....​

We will be sharing the following children's expenses: (list items) with​
58.31 ............... paying ... percent and ............... paying ... percent; or​
58.30 ....​

We agree that no child support will be exchanged between us, as we are​
58.33 each paying the children's expenses directly.​
58.32 ....​

58.34 Make a check or "X" on all that apply:​

We agree to modify the amount of child support from time to time as our​
58.36 circumstances may change.​
58.35 ....​

We agree to a biennial adjustment in the amount of child support to be​
58.38 paid based on cost-of-living changes using a cost-of-living index published​
58.39 by the Department of Labor.​

58.37 ....​

58.40 (If either parent is receiving public assistance, the county attorney must approve this​

58.41 agreement or it is not enforceable. The county attorney may ask the court to modify any​
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59.1 child support agreement you make if a minor or dependent child receives or begins to receive​

59.2 public assistance.)​

59.3 Caution​

59.4 If your former spouse does not pay you the child support agreed upon in the declaration​

59.5 of divorce, you should act promptly to address the matter because if you decide to go to​

59.6 court, the court may not order the payment of arrears.​

59.7 3. We agree to the following plan for providing health insurance for our children.​

59.8 4. We agree to the following plan for paying off our debts. (This agreement will not change​

59.9 your obligations to any creditor. It is simply an agreement between the two of you about​

59.10 who will be paying a debt.)​

59.11 5. We agree to the following plan for dividing our property and assets. (If an allocation of​

59.12 assets or debts, or both, deviates from a nearly equal division, provide the reasons for the​

59.13 allocation. Educate yourself about the difference between marital and nonmarital property.)​

59.14 a. Real estate (Include who will pay any mortgages or agreements to refinance a mortgage,​

59.15 and make provisions for recording necessary documents with the county recorder. This​

59.16 declaration of divorce does not transfer an interest in real estate. To transfer interest in​

59.17 real estate, you must prepare a quitclaim deed or a summary real estate disposition​

59.18 judgment for the court administrator, either of which you would need to file with the​

59.19 county recorder. It is advisable to seek professional assistance about this process.)​

59.20 b. Personal property, such as household furnishings, vehicles, and other objects you​

59.21 own.​

59.22 c. Financial assets, such as retirements, investments, stock, bank accounts, and business​

59.23 interests. (This declaration of divorce has no effect on the division of a retirement account​

59.24 or pension plan unless the account or plan receives proper instructions. Many retirement​

59.25 assets cannot be divided unless they receive a qualified domestic relations order from a​

59.26 court. Often a draft of such an order is approved by the pension plan administrator before​

59.27 it is submitted to the court. It is advisable to seek professional assistance about this​

59.28 process.)​

59.29 6. We agree to the following schedule of payments for spousal support (alimony) which​

59.30 ends upon the death of either of us or the remarriage of the payee spouse. (If there is a large​

59.31 difference in your incomes and you agree to a minimal amount or no amount of spousal​

59.32 support, provide the reasons for the spousal support agreement. For purposes of federal tax​

59.33 deductibility, this agreement is deemed to be a divorce or separation instrument. Be aware​
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60.1 that, upon motion, a court has the authority to modify the amount of spousal support you​

60.2 agree on here at any time during the time period in which spousal support is being paid.)​

60.3 7. We agree to the following plan to maintain health insurance coverage for both spouses.​

60.4 (If one spouse is interested in continuing health insurance coverage under the other spouse's​

60.5 employer-provided policy, certain laws apply, including a requirement that an election must​

60.6 be made and submitted to the other spouse's employer and health insurance carrier within​

60.7 60 days of your divorce.)​

60.8 8. We agree to the following plan for paying any past joint tax liability or future tax liability,​

60.9 or both, and we agree to the following plan for who will claim the child or dependency​

60.10 exemptions or credits for our child or children.​

60.11 9. We have reached the following additional agreements which we wish to record.​

60.12 (You may not use the cooperative private divorce program to legally change a name. A​

60.13 name can be changed only by a court.)​

60.14 Dissolution​

60.15 We hereby agree to the dissolution of our marriage according to the preceding terms.​

60.16 We hereby warrant that we have made complete disclosure to each other of all information​

60.17 and documents that are important to these agreements, and that the list of assets and debts​

60.18 contained in paragraph (1) are complete and accurate and there are no open court cases​

60.19 involving these issues.​

......................................................................60.20 Signature, date:​

......................................................................60.21 Signature, date:​

60.22 Subd. 12. Fee. The commissioner shall charge the participants of the cooperative private​

60.23 divorce program a fee of $1,062. Collected fees must be deposited in the cooperative divorce​

60.24 account established under subdivision 13. The commissioner may reduce the fee to ensure​

60.25 that revenue more closely matches the expenses of the program.​

60.26 Subd. 13. Cooperative divorce account. The cooperative divorce account is established​

60.27 as a separate account in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Money in the account​

60.28 is appropriated to the commissioner to administer and manage the online program under​

60.29 this section.​

60.30 Subd. 14. Data. Data collected under this section is classified as private data on​

60.31 individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.​
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61.1 Sec. 5. [518.81] PARENT EDUCATION; COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE.​

61.2 Subdivision 1. Parent education requirements. Married participants who are parents​

61.3 of minor children shall attend a four-hour parent education program prior to receiving a​

61.4 certificate of marital dissolution under section 518.80, subdivision 5. The parent education​

61.5 program must provide information on:​

61.6 (1) constructive parenting in the dissolution process, including risk factors for families,​

61.7 how marriage dissolution affects children of different ages, and skills that parents can learn​

61.8 to increase cooperation and minimize conflict, particularly conflict arising when parents​

61.9 place children in the middle, creating conflicting loyalty. This component of the program​

61.10 must be aimed at increasing a parent's sensitivity to a child's needs and at giving a parent​

61.11 skills to improve the parent's and the child's adjustment to the dissolution of the marriage.​

61.12 The primary emphasis of the program must be on constructive parenting information, and​

61.13 its content must be consistent with and promote the principles of cooperative private divorce​

61.14 as described in section 518.80, subdivision 9;​

61.15 (2) assessing if a parent is perpetrating domestic violence against the other parent and​

61.16 when cooperation in co-parenting may not be desirable because of safety risks, and providing​

61.17 information on local domestic violence resources;​

61.18 (3) information on the option of reconciliation, including research on reconciliation​

61.19 interests among couples considering marriage dissolution, the potential benefits of avoiding​

61.20 marriage dissolution, resources to assist with reconciliation for interested couples, and​

61.21 information on when the risk of domestic violence should exclude consideration of​

61.22 reconciliation; and​

61.23 (4) an overview of the legal process of marital dissolution and the advantages and​

61.24 disadvantages of litigation and alternative processes, including but not limited to mediation,​

61.25 collaborative and cooperative law, and restorative circles.​

61.26 Subd. 2. Program requirements. A parent education program under this section may​

61.27 be conducted in person or online.​

61.28 Subd. 3. Confidentiality. Unless all parties agree in writing, statements made by a party​

61.29 during participation in a parent education program are inadmissible as evidence for any​

61.30 purpose, including impeachment. No record may be made regarding a party's participation​

61.31 in a parent education program, except a record of completion of the program as required​

61.32 under this section. Instructors shall not disclose information regarding an individual​

61.33 participant obtained as a result of participation in a parent education program. Parent​

61.34 education instructors may not be subpoenaed or called as witnesses in court proceedings.​
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62.1 Subd. 4. Costs and program providers. Each parent education program must enable​

62.2 persons to have timely and reasonable access to education sessions. A party who qualifies​

62.3 for a waiver of filing fees under section 563.01 is exempt from paying the parent education​

62.4 program fee. Program providers shall implement a sliding fee scale.​

62.5 Sec. 6. [518.82] COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE SCREENING; NOTICE;​

62.6 FORM.​

62.7 The commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services shall make available the following​

62.8 notice for use in the cooperative private divorce program under section 518.80 before full​

62.9 access to the program is granted to a user. The data maintained by the coercion screening​

62.10 tool are private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and shall​

62.11 not be tracked or recorded by any means at any time.​

62.12 COERCION SCREENING TOOL​

62.13 WHEN NOT TO USE COOPERATIVE PRIVATE DIVORCE​

62.14 Cooperative private divorce is not for everyone. It is probably not appropriate for you if​

62.15 any of the following statements are true. Choices you make in this section are private. No​

62.16 record of any choice you make in this section will be recorded or tracked.​

62.17 You are feeling undue pressure or intimidation from your spouse to use​
cooperative private divorce.​62.18 ...​

62.19 You have serious doubts about your spouse's willingness to reach agreements​
that are best for everyone in the family.​62.20 ...​

62.21 Your spouse has made threats of physical or emotional harm during discussions​
of divorce.​62.22 ...​

62.23 Your spouse has unilaterally ruled out involving any professionals in your divorce​
process even though you want this kind of support.​62.24 ...​
Your spouse is telling you not to discuss your divorce options with anyone.​62.25 ...​

62.26 Information on resources can be provided upon request if any of the above risks are occurring.​

62.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 518A.43, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

62.28 Subdivision 1. General factors. Among other reasons, deviation from the presumptive​

62.29 child support obligation computed under section 518A.34 is intended to encourage prompt​

62.30 and regular payments of child support and to prevent either parent or the joint children from​

62.31 living in poverty. In addition to the child support guidelines and other factors used to calculate​

62.32 the child support obligation under section 518A.34, the court must take into consideration​

62.33 the following factors in setting or modifying child support or in determining whether to​

62.34 deviate upward or downward from the presumptive child support obligation:​
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63.1 (1) all earnings, income, circumstances, and resources of each parent, including real and​

63.2 personal property, but excluding income from excess employment of the obligor or obligee​

63.3 that meets the criteria of section 518A.29, paragraph (b);​

63.4 (2) the extraordinary financial needs and resources, physical and emotional condition,​

63.5 and educational needs of the child to be supported;​

63.6 (3) the standard of living the child would enjoy if the parents were currently living​

63.7 together, but recognizing that the parents now have separate households;​

63.8 (4) whether the child resides in a foreign country for more than one year that has a​

63.9 substantially higher or lower cost of living than this country;​

63.10 (5) which parent receives the income taxation dependency exemption and the financial​

63.11 benefit the parent receives from it;​

63.12 (6) the parents' debts as provided in subdivision 2; and​

63.13 (7) the obligor's total payments for court-ordered child support exceed the limitations​

63.14 set forth in section 571.922.; and​

63.15 (8) an allocation of expenses of the children in a parenting plan under section 518.1705,​

63.16 subdivision 8, or in a declaration of dissolution under section 518.80, subdivision 6, paragraph​

63.17 (a), that enables both parents to maintain a suitable place for their children, taking into​

63.18 account their current standard of living.​

63.19 Sec. 8. REPORT.​

63.20 The commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services shall conduct an evaluation of​

63.21 the cooperative private divorce program after the first and second years of operation. The​

63.22 areas of evaluation shall include but not be limited to:​

63.23 (1) number of users of the cooperative private divorce program, both initially and​

63.24 transferring to and from a court divorce;​

63.25 (2) costs of the cooperative private divorce program to government and families in​

63.26 comparison to court divorces;​

63.27 (3) user satisfaction with the cooperative private divorce program process and with their​

63.28 agreements; and​

63.29 (4) any correlation between use of the cooperative private divorce program system and​

63.30 subsequent use of court services for the same case or related cases."​
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