1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 1717 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 244.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 4. Minimum imprisonment, life sentence. (a) An inmate serving a mandatory
1.5	life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 2, or 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph
1.6	(a), must not be given supervised release under this section.
1.7	(b) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence
1.8	under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); or Minnesota Statutes 2004,
1.9	section 609.109, subdivision 3, must not be given supervised release under this section
1.10	without having served a minimum term of 30 years.
1.11	(c) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.385 must not be given
1.11	supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment
1.12	of 17 years.
1.15	
1.14	(d) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3
1.15	or 4, must not be given supervised release under this section without having served the
1.16	minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence.
1.17	(e) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 3,
1.18	or 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), must not be given supervised release under this
1.19	section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment of 25 years.
1.20	(f) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence for a crime described in paragraph (b)
1.21	who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense must not be
1.22	given supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of
1.23	imprisonment of 25 years.

1

2.1

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 244.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Supervised release, life sentence. (a) The commissioner of corrections may,
under rules promulgated by the commissioner, give supervised release to an inmate serving
a mandatory life sentence under section <u>609.106</u>, subdivision 3; 609.185, paragraph (a),
clause (3), (5), or (6); 609.3455, subdivision <u>2</u>, paragraph (c), <u>3</u>, or 4; 609.385; or Minnesota
Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3, after the inmate has served the minimum
term of imprisonment specified in subdivision 4.

(b) The commissioner shall require the preparation of a community investigation report 2.8 and shall consider the findings of the report when making a supervised release decision 2.9 under this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the various elements of the 2.10 community toward the inmate, both at the time of the offense and at the present time. The 2.11 report shall include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any law enforcement 2.12 personnel who may have been involved in the case, and any successors to these individuals 2.13 who may have information relevant to the supervised release decision. The report shall also 2.14 include the views of the victim and the victim's family unless the victim or the victim's 2.15 family chooses not to participate. 2.16

(c) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to notify the victim, in advance, of
the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a right
to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement may summarize
the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's recommendation
on whether the inmate should be given supervised release at this time. The commissioner
must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised release decision.

(d) When considering whether to give supervised release to an inmate serving a life
sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4, the commissioner shall consider, at a
minimum, the following: the risk the inmate poses to the community if released, the inmate's
progress in treatment, the inmate's behavior while incarcerated, psychological or other
diagnostic evaluations of the inmate, the inmate's criminal history, and any other relevant
conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration. The commissioner may
not give supervised release to the inmate unless:

2.30 (1) while in prison:

2.31 (i) the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment;

2.32 (ii) the inmate has been assessed for chemical dependency needs and, if appropriate, has
2.33 successfully completed chemical dependency treatment; and

2

03/05/19 09:26 am

3.1	(iii) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, has
3.2	successfully completed mental health treatment; and
3.3	(2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that ensures that,
3.4	after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and
3.5	community-based treatment. The comprehensive plan also must include a postprison
3.6	employment or education plan for the inmate.
3.7	(e) As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the individual who suffered harm as a
3.8	result of the inmate's crime or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving spouse
3.9	or next of kin.
3.10	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.106, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
3.11	Subd. 2. Life without release. Except as provided in subdivision 3, the court shall
3.12	sentence a person to life imprisonment without possibility of release under the following
3.13	circumstances:
3.14	(1) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),
3.15	clause (1), (2), (4), or (7);
3.16	(2) the person is convicted of committing first-degree murder in the course of a
3.17	kidnapping under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); or
3.18	(3) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),
3.19	clause (3), (5), or (6), and the court determines on the record at the time of sentencing that
3.20	the person has one or more previous convictions for a heinous crime.
3.21	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.106, is amended by adding a subdivision to
3.22	read:
3.23	Subd. 3. Offender under age 18; life imprisonment. The court shall sentence a person
3.24	who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of an offense under the
3.25	circumstances described in subdivision 2 to imprisonment for life.
3.26	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.3455, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
3.27	Subd. 2. Mandatory life sentence without release; egregious first-time and repeat
3.28	offenders. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), notwithstanding the statutory maximum
3.29	penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person convicted
3.30	under section 609.342, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h); or 609.343,
3.31	subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h), to life without the possibility of release if:

3

03/05/19 09:26 am

(1) the fact finder determines that two or more heinous elements exist; or 4.1 (2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction for a violation of section 609.342, 4.2 609.343, or 609.344, and the fact finder determines that a heinous element exists for the 4.3 present offense. 4.4 (b) A fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlying 4.5 specified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343. In addition, when determining whether 4.6 two or more heinous elements exist, the fact finder may not use the same underlying facts 4.7 to support a determination that more than one element exists. 4.8 (c) The court shall sentence a person who was under 18 years of age at the time of the 4.9 commission of an offense described in paragraph (a) to imprisonment for life. 4.10 Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE. 4.11 Sections 1 to 5 are effective the day following final enactment and apply to offenders 4.12 4.13 sentenced on or after that date, and retroactively to offenders sentenced to life imprisonment without possibility of release following a conviction under Minnesota Statutes, section 4.14 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), (4), or (7) for an offense committed when the offender 4.15

4.16 was under 18 years of age and when a sentence was imposed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,

4.17 <u>section 609.106</u>, subdivision 2, clause (1)."