STATE OF MINNESOTA FORTIETH MN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY FIRST SESSION

EDUCATION FINANCE DIVISION MINUTES

Representative Jim Davnie, Chair of the Education Finance Division, called the virtual meeting to order at 4:03pm on April 7, 2020 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

DAVNIE, Jim SANDSTEDE, Julie KRESHA, Ron BENNETT, Peggy DANIELS, Brian DETTMER, Bob DEMUTH, Lisa EDELSON, Heather ERICKSON, Sondra HUOT, John JURGENS, Tony KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary MARQUART, Paul MURPHY, Mary NORNES, Bud PRYOR, Laurie RICHARDSON, Ruth SANDELL, Steve YOUAKIM, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Informational hearing on HF 4415 DE 10.

HF 4415 DE 10 (Davnie) Provides for compensation for hourly school employees and allows entities that contract with schools to provide services to be reimbursed for paying their employees, for changes in school employment practices related to COVID-19 related school closures and the conversion to distance learning programs. The bill addresses school finance formula glitches resulting from the conversion to the distance learning model. The bill also creates and legislatively approves certain waivers of state law regarding assessments, graduation

and course re	equirements,	and potential	licensure	issues	faced 1	by prospe	ctive and	d current
teachers.								

Testifiers:

Becky Hespen, Special Education Support Personnel, Park Center High School Sarah Nichols, Paraprofessional, Roseville Public Schools
Tim Benz, President, Minnesota Independent School Forum
Holly Neitzke, Food Service Professional, Sartell Public Schools
Kate Schmidt, President, Dakota County United Educators
Gary Amoroso, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of School Administrators
Matthew Shaver, Middle School Science Teacher, Northeast College Prep

The meeting of the Education Finance Division was adjourned 5:23 pm.
Representative Jim Davnie, Chair
Brittney Sunderland, Committee Legislative Assistant