

Minnesota Child Care Provider Information Network PO Box 1136 Prior Lake, MN 55372 651-636-1989 www.mccpin.org

Re: HF3701

Mister Chair and Committee Members:

My name is Cyndi Cunningham. I have been a Licensed Family Child Care Provider in St. Paul for 24 years and am the current Public Policy Chairperson for Minnesota Child Care Provider Information Network (MCCPIN), a 501c3 sitewide association for Licensed Child Care Providers.

I am writing on behalf of MCCPIN to support HF3701.

Children need to be safe in care. Any injury troubles us all and a death is horrific.

2013 legislation brought focus to safe sleep standards. I was deeply involved in working through legislation with DHS, other providers, and the previous state association MLFCCA.

Providers needed and received through legislation clearer direction and regulation regarding Safe Sleep. Communication and clarification were established. So was oversight by the counties deepened.

In the same light, care providers can do everything right and children can still be injured, and deaths may happen due to causes outside of their powers.

Since 2013, products have changed and expanded. I was bringing a sleep sack to hearings. There was essentially only one product on the market. Now there too many product styles to count. Parents are inundated with information and working to do their best, but marketing is often not aligned with safe sleep. Practices have modified. Swaddling with a blanket was custom, now not allowed. Parents are doing their best as are providers.

In 2018 I began discussion with DHS and legislators (Rep Rosen & Sen Marty) to update this section of statute to bring it into the current environment. The Modernization of Regulations was not on the table at that time. Legislators directed DHS to create a working group of family child care and centers to dig through and find wording which would best communicate safe sleep expectations and stay aligned with American Institute of Pediatrics and other experts on this topic.

We met, we worked, and this is the results!

This legislation provides an updated view of current products and practices, improves wording to be clear both to follow and for consistency in oversight.

All programs which care for infants should have the same rules and the same consequences for safe sleep which this bill brings to licensed centers and family child care.

We would welcome DHS including Certified Centers to be brought under these regulations as they are also inspected by DHS. In these certified settings, a 16-year-old can care for 4 infants and is required to have no more training than the SUIDS/AHT and no standards of safe sleep.

Thank you for hearing this bill and we trust that moving it forward, providers and licensors will have clarity on the rules to follow and children will continue to be safely cared for.

Sincerely,

Cyndi Cunningham